概述

磁共振成像 (MRI) 是一种医学成像技术,其利用磁场和计算机生成的无线电波来创建体内器官和组织的详细图像。

大多数的磁共振成像机都是大型的管状磁体。躺在磁共振成像机内时,磁场会暂时重组体内的水分子。无线电波使这些排列好的原子产生微弱的信号,并将其用于创建横截面磁共振成像图像——如一条面包中的切片。

磁共振成像机还可产生能从不同角度观看的三维图像。

做手术的理由

MRI 是医生检查您的器官、组织和骨骼系统的一种无创方法。MRI 可以产生人体内部的高分辨率图像,帮助诊断各种问题。

脑部和脊髓的 MRI

磁共振成像(MRI)是大脑和脊髓部位最常用的影像学检查。通常用于帮助诊断以下疾病:

  • 脑血管动脉瘤
  • 眼睛和内耳疾病
  • 多发性硬化症
  • 脊髓疾病
  • 卒中
  • 肿瘤
  • 创伤造成的脑损伤

磁共振成像(MRI)的一种特殊类型是脑部功能磁共振成像(fMRI)。fMRI 产生流向大脑特定区域的血流图像。可用于检查大脑的解剖结构,并确定大脑的哪些部分正在处理关键功能。

这有助于为正在考虑进行脑部手术的患者确定大脑中重要的语言和运动控制区域。功能磁共振成像也可用于评估因头部受伤或阿尔茨海默病等疾病引起的损害。

心脏和血管的磁共振成像

将心脏或血管作为重点的 磁共振成像 (MRI) 可以评估:

  • 心腔大小及功能
  • 心脏壁厚度及运动
  • 心脏病发作或心脏病造成的损害程度
  • 主动脉的结构问题,如动脉瘤或夹层
  • 血管发炎或堵塞

其他内部器官的 MRI

磁共振成像(MRI)可以检查体内许多器官的肿瘤或其他异常情况,包括以下各项:

  • 肝和胆管
  • 肾脏
  • 脾脏
  • 胰腺
  • 子宫
  • 卵巢
  • 前列腺

骨骼和关节 MRI

MRI可以帮助评估:

  • 由创伤性或重复性损伤引起的关节异常,如软骨或韧带撕裂
  • 脊柱中椎间盘异常
  • 骨感染
  • 骨骼和软组织的肿瘤

乳腺 MRI

MRI 可以与乳腺 X 线检查一起使用,以检测乳腺癌,特别是在乳腺组织密集或患该疾病风险较高的女性体内的乳腺癌。

更多信息

风险

由于 MRI 使用了强力磁铁,如果您体内有金属,就可能会被磁铁吸引,从而造成安全隐患。即使不会被磁铁吸引,金属物体也可能扭曲 MRI 的影像。接受 MRI 之前,您需要完成一份问卷,其中会询问您体内是否有金属或电子器械。

除非您的器械经过 MRI 安全认证,否则您可能无法进行 MRI 扫描。这类器械包括:

  • 金属关节假体
  • 人工心脏瓣膜
  • 植入式心脏除颤器
  • 植入式药物输注泵
  • 植入式神经刺激器
  • 起搏器
  • 金属夹
  • 金属针、螺钉、钢板、支架或手术缝合钉
  • 人工电子耳蜗
  • 子弹、弹片或任何其他类型的金属碎片
  • 宫内节育器

如果您有文身或永久纹绣,请向医生咨询这种情况是否会影响您的 MRI 检查。一些颜色较深的油墨中含有金属。

预约 MRI 检查之前,如果您认为自己已经怀孕,请及时告知您的医生。磁场对胎儿的影响目前尚不明确。您的医生可能会建议您接受另一种检查或者推迟 MRI。如果您正处于母乳喂养期,尤其是需要在检查中注射造影剂时,切记告知您的医生。

与医生和技术人员探讨肾脏或肝脏的问题也很重要,因为这些器官的问题可能会限制在扫描时使用注射的造影剂。

准备怎么做

在进行 MRI 检查之前,除非另有说明,否则请正常饮食并继续服用常规药物。通常会要求您换上病号服,并摘掉可能影响磁共振成像的物品,例如:

  • 首饰
  • 发夹
  • 眼镜
  • 手表
  • 假发
  • 假牙
  • 助听器
  • 钢托胸罩
  • 含有金属颗粒的化妆品

您所能期望的目标

检查期间

MRI 仪器是一种两端开口的细长通道。您需要躺在一张可移动的检查床上,检查床会滑进通道开口。技师将在另一个房间对您进行监测。您可以通过麦克风与技师沟通。

如果您害怕密闭空间(幽闭恐惧症),您可能需要服用一种药物,使您感到困倦,避免过于焦虑。大多数患者都能够顺利完成检查。

MRI 仪器在您周围产生一个强大的磁场,无线电波会定向到您的身体。这项检查不会造成疼痛感。您不会感觉到磁场或无线电波,周围也没有可移动部件。

MRI 扫描期间,磁场内部会产生重复的敲击、砰砰声和其他噪音。您可以戴上耳塞或播放音乐屏蔽噪音。

在某些情况下,造影剂(通常为钆)将通过静脉 (IV) 管注射到您的手或手臂静脉。造影剂能够增强图像的某些细节。钆很少引起过敏反应。

MRI 可能会持续 15 分钟到一个多小时。您必须保持静止,避免因移动造成结果图像发生模糊。

在功能性 MRI 期间,技师可能会要求您完成一些动作 — 例如用拇指触碰手指,摩擦一块砂纸或者回答一些简单的问题。这有助于确定您大脑中控制这些行为的部分。

检查后

如果医生未对您实施镇静,则您可以在扫描后立即恢复正常活动。

结果

经过专业 MRI 阅片培训的医生(放射科医生)将分析您的扫描影像,并将结果报告给您的医生。您的医生将与您讨论任何重要的结果和下一步的治疗方案。

视频:MRI

磁共振成像 (MRI) 利用磁场和无线电波创建清晰和详细的头部和身体横截面图像。不需要为 MRI 做准备。除非另行嘱咐,否则在手术前可以正常进食,如果您在用药,可以继续服用。进入检查室后,您可能需要换上检查室的病号服。

取下所有饰品,如手表、珠宝和发夹。还要摘掉假发、假牙和助听器等类似物品。如果您体内有金属或电子设备,请告知 MRI 技师,因为它们可能存在安全隐患。磁体可能使电子设备失灵或影响 MRI 图像质量。

检查前,MRI 技师可能会确认您的健康问题,最后回答您的任何疑问。

大多数 MRI 设备看上去像一个大号的甜甜圈。一个巨大磁体容纳于一个环状结构内部。您躺在检查台上,该检查台会滑入磁体的开口。根据您需要磁共振成像的部位,会将一个叫做线圈的小型装置放置在被检查的身体部位周围。线圈接收磁共振信号。

技师将从另一个房间进行监测,不过您能用麦克风与技师对话。有些情况下,您的朋友或家人可在检查室里陪伴您。如果您特别焦虑或有幽闭恐惧症,可能会给您用一种温和的镇静剂。

磁共振成像对儿童是安全的,成人可留在扫描室内安抚孩子。幼儿、学步儿童和婴儿可能需要镇静,因为他们必须在整个成像过程中保持不动。

该检查本身不会引起疼痛,但会有噪音。您不会感觉到磁场或无线电波,也看不到运动部件。然而,磁体会产生反复敲打声和撞击声,因此,可能会为您提供耳塞或专用无金属头戴式耳机,以辅助阻隔噪音。要求您的头部放入机器内的 MRI 往往包含一面镜子,能让您向外看。

这是 MRI 的创建方式。多数机器使用管形磁体。通过使电流穿过磁体保护性壳体内部的线回路,产生强磁场。磁体内的其他线圈发送和接收无线电波。

一旦将您置入磁体,体内的一些质子会与磁场对齐。这无害,您感觉不到这在发生。

对齐后,这些质子会对低功率无线电波做出反应,无线电波则会刺激来自身体的信号。无线电波由专用射频线圈(RF 线圈)生成,这些线圈是用于医学成像的天线。

身体返回的信号会被线圈检测到,这些线圈环绕在具体目标成像部位。计算机处理所有信号并重建高度详细的图像。

最终画面呈现的是您身体的复合、三维图像。可以在计算机上电子化创建和显示一个二维平面或切片,以便解读。这些成像图片也能从屏幕上转换成摄影胶卷供进一步研究。

一次 MRI 检查会持续 30 至 90 分钟。由于移动可能所得成像是模糊的,所以,请保持不动并安静地呼吸,同时不要移动头部或身体。

虽然本视频中未显示,但有时会向您的静脉注入造影剂,以增强某些组织或血管的可见性。

一旦完成 MRI 检查之后,还可能要求您等待,直到成像被查看并确定无需再做成像检查为止。如无需进一步研究,则您会完成检查并可以进行正常活动。

借助核磁共振成像观看心脏内部

心脏核磁共振成像提供血液流经心脏的静态或动态图像。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

Sept. 04, 2021
  1. Neurological diagnostic tests and procedures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Neurological-Diagnostic-Tests-and-Procedures-Fact. Accessed July 20, 2021.
  2. Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) safety. American College of Radiology, Radiological Society of North America. https://www.radiologyinfo.org/en/info/safety-mr. Accessed July 20, 2021.
  3. Chernoff D, et al. Principles of magnetic resonance imaging. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 20, 2021.
  4. Tsai LL. Patient evaluation for metallic or electrical implants, devices or foreign bodies before magnetic resonance imaging. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 20, 2021.
  5. AskMayoExpert. MRI of the breast. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  6. Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-attack/diagnosing-a-heart-attack/magnetic-resonance-imaging-mri. Accessed July 20, 2021.
  7. Magnetic resonance, functional (fMRI) – brain. American College of Radiology, Radiological Society of North America. https://www.radiologyinfo.org/en/info/fmribrain. Accessed July 20, 2021.

相关

磁共振成像

Overview

Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) is a medical imaging technique that uses a magnetic field and computer-generated radio waves to create detailed images of the organs and tissues in your body.

Most MRI machines are large, tube-shaped magnets. When you lie inside an MRI machine, the magnetic field temporarily realigns water molecules in your body. Radio waves cause these aligned atoms to produce faint signals, which are used to create cross-sectional MRI images — like slices in a loaf of bread.

The MRI machine can also produce 3D images that can be viewed from different angles.

Why it's done

MRI is a noninvasive way for your doctor to examine your organs, tissues and skeletal system. It produces high-resolution images of the inside of the body that help diagnose a variety of problems.

MRI of the brain and spinal cord

MRI is the most frequently used imaging test of the brain and spinal cord. It's often performed to help diagnose:

  • Aneurysms of cerebral vessels
  • Disorders of the eye and inner ear
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Spinal cord disorders
  • Stroke
  • Tumors
  • Brain injury from trauma

A special type of MRI is the functional MRI of the brain (fMRI). It produces images of blood flow to certain areas of the brain. It can be used to examine the brain's anatomy and determine which parts of the brain are handling critical functions.

This helps identify important language and movement control areas in the brains of people being considered for brain surgery. Functional MRI can also be used to assess damage from a head injury or from disorders such as Alzheimer's disease.

MRI of the heart and blood vessels

MRI that focuses on the heart or blood vessels can assess:

  • Size and function of the heart's chambers
  • Thickness and movement of the walls of the heart
  • Extent of damage caused by heart attacks or heart disease
  • Structural problems in the aorta, such as aneurysms or dissections
  • Inflammation or blockages in the blood vessels

MRI of other internal organs

MRI can check for tumors or other abnormalities of many organs in the body, including the following:

  • Liver and bile ducts
  • Kidneys
  • Spleen
  • Pancreas
  • Uterus
  • Ovaries
  • Prostate

MRI of bones and joints

MRI can help evaluate:

  • Joint abnormalities caused by traumatic or repetitive injuries, such as torn cartilage or ligaments
  • Disk abnormalities in the spine
  • Bone infections
  • Tumors of the bones and soft tissues

MRI of the breasts

MRI can be used with mammography to detect breast cancer, particularly in women who have dense breast tissue or who might be at high risk of the disease.

More Information

Risks

Because MRI uses powerful magnets, the presence of metal in your body can be a safety hazard if attracted to the magnet. Even if not attracted to the magnet, metal objects can distort the MRI image. Before having an MRI, you'll likely complete a questionnaire that includes whether you have metal or electronic devices in your body.

Unless the device you have is certified as MRI safe, you might not be able to have an MRI. Devices include:

  • Metallic joint prostheses
  • Artificial heart valves
  • An implantable heart defibrillator
  • Implanted drug infusion pumps
  • Implanted nerve stimulators
  • A pacemaker
  • Metal clips
  • Metal pins, screws, plates, stents or surgical staples
  • Cochlear implants
  • A bullet, shrapnel or any other type of metal fragment
  • Intrauterine device

If you have tattoos or permanent makeup, ask your doctor whether they might affect your MRI. Some of the darker inks contain metal.

Before you schedule an MRI, tell your doctor if you think you're pregnant. The effects of magnetic fields on fetuses aren't well understood. Your doctor might recommend an alternative exam or postponing the MRI. Also tell your doctor if you're breast-feeding, especially if you're to receive contrast material during the procedure.

It's also important to discuss kidney or liver problems with your doctor and the technologist, because problems with these organs might limit the use of injected contrast agents during your scan.

How you prepare

Before an MRI exam, eat normally and continue to take your usual medications, unless otherwise instructed. You will typically be asked to change into a gown and to remove things that might affect the magnetic imaging, such as:

  • Jewelry
  • Hairpins
  • Eyeglasses
  • Watches
  • Wigs
  • Dentures
  • Hearing aids
  • Underwire bras
  • Cosmetics that contain metal particles

What you can expect

During the test

The MRI machine looks like a long narrow tube that has both ends open. You lie down on a movable table that slides into the opening of the tube. A technologist monitors you from another room. You can talk with the person by microphone.

If you have a fear of enclosed spaces (claustrophobia), you might be given a drug to help you feel sleepy and less anxious. Most people get through the exam without difficulty.

The MRI machine creates a strong magnetic field around you, and radio waves are directed at your body. The procedure is painless. You don't feel the magnetic field or radio waves, and there are no moving parts around you.

During the MRI scan, the internal part of the magnet produces repetitive tapping, thumping and other noises. You might be given earplugs or have music playing to help block the noise.

In some cases, a contrast material, typically gadolinium, will be injected through an intravenous (IV) line into a vein in your hand or arm. The contrast material enhances certain details. Gadolinium rarely causes allergic reactions.

An MRI can last anywhere from 15 minutes to more than an hour. You must hold still because movement can blur the resulting images.

During a functional MRI, you might be asked to perform a number of small tasks — such as tapping your thumb against your fingers, rubbing a block of sandpaper or answering simple questions. This helps pinpoint the portions of your brain that control these actions.

After the test

If you haven't been sedated, you can resume your usual activities immediately after the scan.

Results

A doctor specially trained to interpret MRIs (radiologist) will analyze the images from your scan and report the findings to your doctor. Your doctor will discuss important findings and next steps with you.

Video: MRI

Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) uses a magnetic field and radio waves to create clear and detailed cross-sectional images of your head and body. You don't need to prepare for an MRI. Unless otherwise instructed, eat normally (before the procedure) and if you take medications, continue to do so. Once checked in, you'll likely change into a gown and robe.

Remove all accessories, such as your watch, jewelry and hairpins. Also remove things like wigs, dentures and hearing aids. Tell your MRI technologist if you have metal or electronic devices in your body, because their presence may be a safety hazard. The magnet may disable your electronic device or affect the MR image quality.

Before your exam, the MRI technologist may confirm your health issues and answer any last-minute questions.

Most MRI machines look like a big doughnut. A large magnet is housed within a circular structure. You'll lie down on a table that slides into the opening of the magnet. Depending on where you need magnetic resonance imaging, a small device called a coil may be placed around the body part being examined. The coil receives the magnetic resonance signal.

Your technologist will monitor you from another room, but you can talk with him or her by microphone. In some cases, a friend or family member may stay with you. If you are especially anxious or have claustrophobia, you may be offered a mild sedative.

Magnetic resonance imaging is safe for children, and an adult may stay in the scanning room for reassurance. Young children, toddlers and infants may need sedation since they must remain still throughout the imaging process.

The exam itself is painless, but noisy. You don't feel the magnetic field or radio waves, and there are no moving parts to see. However, the magnet produces repetitive tapping and thumping sounds, so you'll likely be offered earplugs or special metal-free headphones to help block the noise. MRIs that require your head to be in the machine often include a mirror for you to see out.

Here's how an MRI is created. Most machines use tube-shaped magnets. The strong magnetic field is produced by passing an electric current through wire loops inside of the magnet's protective housing. Other coils in the magnet send and receive radio waves.

Once you're positioned inside the magnet, some protons within your body will align with the magnetic field. This is harmless and you won't feel it happening.

Once aligned, these protons respond to low-power radio waves that stimulate signals from your body. The radio waves are generated by specialized radio frequency coils (RF coils), which are antennas designed for medical imaging.

The signal that your body returns is detected by the coils surrounding the specific body part targeted for imaging. A computer processes all the signals and reconstructs a highly detailed image.

The final picture is a composite, three-dimensional representation of your body. Any two-dimensional plane — or slice — can be electronically created and displayed on a computer for interpretation. These images can also be converted from the screen into photographic film for further study.

An MRI exam lasts between 30 and 90 minutes. Because movement can blur the resulting images, remain still and breathe quietly without moving your head or body.

Although not shown in this video, contrast agents are sometimes injected into your veins to enhance the appearance of certain tissues or blood vessels.

Once your MRI is complete, you may be asked to wait until the images are reviewed to make sure that no additional imaging is necessary. If no further studies are required, you'll be released and can resume your regular activities.

Seeing Inside the Heart with MRI

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Aug. 03, 2019
  1. Neurological diagnostic tests and procedures fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Neurological-Diagnostic-Tests-and-Procedures-Fact. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  2. Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) safety. American College of Radiology, Radiological Society of North America. http://www.radiologyinfo.org/en/ info.cfm?pg=safety-mr. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  3. Chernoff D, et al. Principles of magnetic resonance imaging. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  4. Tsai LL. Patient evaluation for metallic or electrical implants, devices or foreign bodies before magnetic resonance imaging. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  5. AskMayoExpert. MRI of the breast. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  6. Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-attack/diagnosing-a-heart-attack/magnetic-resonance-imaging-mri. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  7. Magnetic resonance, functional (fMRI) – brain. American College of Radiology, Radiological Society of North America. https://www.radiologyinfo.org/en/info.cfm?pg=fmribrain. Accessed July 19, 2019.

Related