概述

雷特综合征是一种罕见的遗传性神经和发育障碍,影响大脑的发育方式,导致运动和言语技能逐渐丧失。这种疾病主要影响女孩。

大多数雷特综合征患儿似乎在 6 到 18 个月大的时候发育正常,然后就会失去以前习得的技能 — 比如爬行、行走、交流或用手的能力。

随着时间的推移,雷特综合征患儿在运用控制运动、协调和交流的肌肉时会出现越来越多的问题。雷特综合征也会导致癫痫发作和智力障碍。还会出现没有目的的异常手部动作(如反复摩擦或拍手)。

虽然雷特综合征尚无治愈方法,但是潜在的治疗方法正在研究中。目前的治疗重点是改善运动和交流,治疗癫痫发作,并为患有雷特综合征的儿童和成人及其家人提供护理和支持。

症状

患雷特综合征患儿通常都是经历正常妊娠和分娩出生的婴儿。大多数雷特综合征患儿在前六个月内似乎生长正常。之后,体征和症状会开始出现。

最明显的变化通常发生在 12 至 18 个月大时,会持续几周或几个月。症状及其严重程度可能因人而异。

雷特综合征的体征和症状包括:

  • 生长缓慢。出生后大脑生长缓慢。头部小于正常尺寸(小头症)通常是儿童患有雷特综合征的第一体征。随着孩子年龄的增长,身体其他部位的生长迟缓变得明显。
  • 失去正常的运动和协调能力。最初的体征通常包括手部控制力减弱和正常爬行或行走能力降低。起初,这些能力丧失发生得很快,然后逐渐发展。最终,肌肉变得虚弱无力,或变得僵硬或痉挛,导致运动和定位不正常。
  • 沟通能力丧失。雷特综合征患儿通常会开始失去说话、眼神接触和其他交流能力。他们可能对他人、玩具和周围环境不感兴趣。有些患儿会出现快速变化,例如突然失语。随着时间的推移,患儿可能会逐渐恢复眼神交流,并发展出非语言沟通能力。
  • 异常手部运动。雷特综合征患儿通常会出现无目的的重复手部动作,且可能因人而异。手部动作可能包括揉搓、紧握、拍打、轻敲或摩擦双手。
  • 异常眼球运动。雷特综合征患儿往往出现眼球运动异常,例如凝视、眨眼、交叉眼或一次闭一只眼。
  • 呼吸问题。这包括屏气、异常快速呼吸(换气过度)、用力呼出空气或排出唾液,以及吞咽空气。这些问题往往发生在清醒时,但呼吸障碍(例如浅呼吸或周期性呼吸)也可能在睡眠时发生。
  • 易怒和哭泣。随着年龄的增长,雷特综合征患儿可能变得越来越焦躁和易怒。可能突然开始哭泣或尖叫,没有明显的原因,且持续数小时。有些患儿可能会感到恐惧和焦虑。
  • 其他异常行为。这可能包括突然做奇怪的面部表情和长时间大笑、舔手、抓头发或衣服等。
  • 认知功能障碍。技能的丧失可能伴随着智力的丧失。
  • 癫痫发作。雷特综合征患者大多会在某个时候经历癫痫发作。可能出现多种类型的癫痫发作,并伴有异常脑电图(EEG)。
  • 脊柱异常弯曲(脊柱侧凸)。脊柱侧凸常见于雷特综合征患者。通常始于 8 至 11 岁,并随着年龄的增长不断加剧。如果弯曲严重,可能需要外科手术。
  • 心跳不规则。这对许多雷特综合征儿童和成人患者来说是危及生命的问题,可能导致突然死亡。
  • 睡眠障碍。异常睡眠模式包括睡眠时间不规律,即白天入睡、晚上醒来,或者在夜里大哭或尖叫。
  • 其他症状。还可能出现各种其他症状,例如骨骼薄且脆弱,容易骨折;手脚通常很冷;咀嚼和吞咽问题;肠功能问题;以及磨牙。

雷特综合征的各个阶段

雷特综合征通常分为四个阶段:

  • 第 I 阶段:早期发作。在第一阶段,从出生后 6 到 18 个月开始并持续数月甚至一年,体征和症状非常轻微,很容易被忽略。这一阶段的婴儿很少进行眼神交流,并开始对玩具丧失兴趣。坐起和爬行能力的发育也可能延迟。
  • 第 II 阶段:快速退化。从 1 到 4 岁开始,儿童无法再运用曾经掌握的技能。这种能力的丧失可能发展迅速,也可能在几周或数月内逐渐丧失。可能出现雷特综合征的症状,例如头部发育缓慢、手部运动异常、气喘吁吁、无缘无故尖叫或哭泣、运动和协调能力差以及丧失人际互动和沟通能力。
  • 第 III 阶段:停滞期。第三阶段通常从 2 到 10 岁开始,并可能持续很多年。尽管依然存在运动问题,但行为得到一定程度的改善,哭泣和易怒现象减少,用手和沟通能力有所提高。在这一阶段,可能开始出现癫痫发作,这在 2 岁之前通常不会发生。
  • 第 IV 阶段:晚期运动恶化期。这一阶段通常从 10 岁以后开始,并可能持续多年甚至数十年之久。这一阶段体现为活动性下降、肌无力、关节挛缩和脊柱侧凸。理解、沟通和用手技能通常保持稳定或者稍稍改善,癫痫发作次数减少。

何时就诊

雷特综合征的体征和症状在早期可能并不明显。如果您发现诸如下列情况的身体问题或明显正常发育之后行为改变,请立即去看儿科医生:

  • 您孩子头部或身体其他部分生长缓慢
  • 协调性或行动能力下降
  • 反复性手部运动
  • 目光交流减少或对正常玩耍不感兴趣
  • 语言发育延迟或之前获得的语言能力丧失
  • 问题行为或情绪波动明显
  • 之前获得的大运动或精细运动技能明显消失

病因

雷特综合征是一种罕见的遗传病。典型的雷特综合征以及症状更轻微或更严重的多种变体可能因特定基因突变而引起。

导致这种疾病的基因突变随机出现,通常是在 MECP2 基因中。只有少数病例是从上代遗传的遗传病。该突变似乎会导致对脑部发育至关重要的蛋白质生成出现问题。但是,其确切原因并不完全清楚,仍在研究之中。

雷特综合征男性患儿

由于男性的染色体组合不同于女性,因此,能够导致雷特综合征的基因突变会对男性患儿产生破坏性的影响。他们大多胎死腹中或者出生不久便夭折。

很少一部分男性患儿携带另一种突变,导致一种破坏性较小的雷特综合征。与雷特综合征女性患儿相似,这些男性患儿有可能活到成年,但依然面临很多智力和发育问题。

风险因素

雷特综合征很少见。已知的是,导致这种疾病的基因突变是随机的,但目前还没有发现任何导致其发生的风险因素。极少数情况下,遗传因素,例如,亲密家庭成员患雷特综合征可能会增加您患该病的风险。

并发症

雷特综合征的并发症包括:

  • 对患有雷特综合征的人及其家人造成严重睡眠干扰的睡眠问题
  • 进食困难,导致营养不良和发育迟缓
  • 肠道和膀胱问题,如便秘、胃食管反流病(胃食管反流病)、肠道或尿失禁和胆囊疾病
  • 疼痛,伴随有诸如胃肠道问题或骨折等问题。
  • 肌肉、骨骼和关节问题
  • 焦虑和问题行为,可能会阻碍社交功能。
  • 在日常生活方面需要终身护理和帮助
  • 寿命缩短 — 尽管大多数患有雷特综合征的人都能活到成年,但是由于心脏问题和其他健康并发症,他们的寿命可能不会像普通人那么长

预防

尚无确切的方法预防雷特综合征。在大多数情况下,导致这种疾病的基因突变是自然发生的。即便如此,如果您的孩子或其他家庭成员患有雷特综合征,您可能需要向医生询问基因检测的情况。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Rett syndrome fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Rett-Syndrome-Fact-Sheet. Accessed July 19, 2018.
  2. Rett syndrome. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/learning-and-developmental-disorders/rett-syndrome. Accessed July 19, 2018.
  3. Schultz RJ, et al. Rett syndrome: Genetics, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 19, 2018.
  4. Schultz RJ, et al. Rett syndrome: Treatment and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 19, 2018.
  5. Rett syndrome: Condition information. Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. https://www.nichd.nih.gov/health/topics/rett/conditioninfo/default. Accessed July 19, 2018.
  6. Boban S, et al. Sleep disturbances in Rett syndrome: Impact and management including use of sleep hygiene practices. American Journal of Medical Genetics. 2018;176A:1569.
  7. Resources for families. RettSyndrome.org. https://www.rettsyndrome.org/. Accessed July 19, 2018.
  8. Lane JB, et al. Assessment of caregiver inventory for Rett syndrome. Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders. 2017;47:1102.
  9. Leonard H, et al. Clinical and biological progress over 50 years in Rett syndrome. Nature Reviews ― Neurology. 2017;13:37.
  10. Downs J, et al. Environmental enrichment intervention for Rett syndrome: An individually randomised stepped wedge trial. Orphanet Journal of Rare Diseases. 2018;13:1.
  11. Gold WA, et al. Rett syndrome: A genetic update and clinical review focusing on comorbidities. ACS Chemical Neuroscience. 2018;9:167.
  12. Renaud DL (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 24, 2018.
  13. Pagon RA, et al., eds. MECP2-related disorders. In: GeneReviews. Seattle, Wash.: University of Washington, Seattle; 1993-2017. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1116/. Accessed Sept. 25, 2018.

相关

Associated Procedures

Overview

Rett syndrome is a rare genetic neurological and developmental disorder that affects the way the brain develops, causing a progressive inability to use muscles for eye and body movements and speech. It occurs almost exclusively in girls.

Most babies with Rett syndrome seem to develop normally at first, but after about 6 months of age, they lose skills they previously had — such as the ability to crawl, walk, communicate or use their hands.

Over time, children with Rett syndrome have increasing problems with the use of muscles that control movement, coordination and communication. Rett syndrome can also cause seizures and intellectual disability.

Although there's no cure for Rett syndrome, potential treatments are being studied. Current treatment focuses on improving movement and communication and providing care and support for children and adults with Rett syndrome and their families.

Symptoms

Babies with Rett syndrome are generally born after a normal pregnancy and delivery. The age at which symptoms begin and their severity and associated disability varies widely among individuals. However, most babies with Rett syndrome seem to grow and behave normally for the first six months. After that, signs and symptoms start to appear.

The most pronounced changes generally occur at 12 to 18 months of age, suddenly, or over a period of weeks or months.

Rett syndrome signs and symptoms include:

  • Slowed growth. Brain growth slows after birth. Smaller than normal head size (microcephaly) is usually the first sign that a child has Rett syndrome. As children get older, delayed growth in other parts of the body becomes evident.
  • Loss of normal movement and coordination. The first signs often include reduced hand control and a decreasing ability to crawl or walk normally. At first, this loss of abilities occurs rapidly and then it continues more gradually. Eventually muscles become weak or may become rigid or spastic with abnormal movement and positioning.
  • Loss of communication abilities. Children with Rett syndrome typically begin to lose the ability to speak, to make eye contact and to communicate in other ways. They may become disinterested in other people, toys and their surroundings. Some children have rapid changes, such as a sudden loss of speech. Over time, most children gradually regain eye contact and develop nonverbal communication skills.
  • Abnormal hand movements. Children with Rett syndrome typically develop repetitive, purposeless hand movements that may differ for each person. Hand movements may include hand wringing, squeezing, clapping, tapping or rubbing.
  • Unusual eye movements. Children with Rett syndrome tend to have unusual eye movements, such as intense staring, blinking, crossed eyes or closing one eye at a time.
  • Breathing problems. These include breath-holding, abnormally rapid breathing (hyperventilation), forceful exhalation of air or saliva, and swallowing air. These problems tend to occur during waking hours, but not during sleep.
  • Agitation and irritability. Children with Rett syndrome become increasingly agitated and irritable as they get older. Periods of crying or screaming may begin suddenly, for no apparent reason, and last for hours.
  • Other abnormal behaviors. These may include, for example, sudden, odd facial expressions and long bouts of laughter, hand licking, and grasping of hair or clothing.
  • Cognitive disabilities. Loss of skills can be accompanied by a loss of intellectual functioning.
  • Seizures. Most people who have Rett syndrome experience seizures at some time during their lives.
  • Abnormal curvature of the spine (scoliosis). Scoliosis is common with Rett syndrome. It typically begins between 8 and 11 years of age and increases with age. Surgery may be required if the curvature is severe.
  • Irregular heartbeat. This is a life-threatening problem for many children and adults with Rett syndrome and can result in sudden death.
  • Pain. Because of health problems, people with Rett syndrome may have an increased risk of pain. But communication problems may prevent others from recognizing these pain issues. In one small study, one-fourth of the parents estimated that their daughters have more than a week of pain each month.
  • Other symptoms. A variety of other symptoms can occur, such as thin, fragile bones prone to factures; small hands and feet that are usually cold; problems with chewing and swallowing; and teeth grinding. Symptoms can vary greatly from child to child.

Stages of Rett syndrome

Rett syndrome is commonly divided into four stages:

  • Stage I: early onset. Signs and symptoms are subtle and easily overlooked during the first stage, which starts between 6 and 18 months of age and can last for a few months or a year. Babies in this stage may show less eye contact and start to lose interest in toys. They may also have delays in sitting or crawling.
  • Stage II: rapid destruction. Starting between 1 and 4 years of age, children lose the ability to perform skills they previously had. This loss can be rapid or more gradual, occurring over weeks or months. Symptoms of Rett syndrome occur, such as slowed head growth, abnormal hand movements, hyperventilating, screaming or crying for no apparent reason, problems with movement and coordination, and a loss of social interaction and communication.
  • Stage III: plateau. The third stage usually begins between the ages of 2 and 10 years and can last for many years. Although problems with movement continue, behavior may have limited improvement, with less crying and irritability, and some improvement in hand use and communication. Seizures may begin in this stage and generally don't occur before the age of 2.
  • Stage IV: late motor deterioration. This stage usually begins after the age of 10 and can last for years or decades. It's marked by reduced mobility, muscle weakness, joint contractures and scoliosis. Understanding, communication and hand skills generally remain stable or improve slightly, and seizures may occur less often.

When to see a doctor

Signs and symptoms of Rett syndrome can be subtle in the early stages. See your child's doctor right away if you begin to notice physical problems or changes in behavior after apparently normal development, such as:

  • Slowed growth of your child's head or other parts of the body
  • Decreased coordination or mobility
  • Repetitive hand movements
  • Decreasing eye contact or loss of interest in normal play
  • Delayed speech development or loss of previously acquired speech abilities
  • Problem behavior or marked mood swings
  • Any clear loss of previously gained milestones in gross motor or fine motor skills

Causes

Rett syndrome is a rare genetic disorder. Classic Rett syndrome, as well as five known variations (atypical or variant) with milder or more severe symptoms, can occur based on the specific genetic mutation.

The genetic mutation that causes the disease occurs randomly, usually on the MECP2 gene. Only in a few cases is this genetic disorder inherited. The mutation appears to result in problems with the protein production critical for brain development. However, the exact cause is not fully understood and is still being studied.

Rett syndrome in boys

Because males have a different chromosome combination from females, boys who have the genetic mutation that causes Rett syndrome are affected in devastating ways. Most of them die before birth or in early infancy.

A very small number of boys have a different mutation that results in a less destructive form of Rett syndrome. Similar to girls with Rett syndrome, these boys will likely live to adulthood, but they're still at risk of a number of intellectual and developmental problems.

Risk factors

Rett syndrome is rare. The genetic mutations known to cause the disease are random, and no risk factors have been identified. In a few cases, inherited factors — for instance, having close family members with Rett syndrome — may play a role.

Complications

Complications of Rett syndrome include:

  • Needing lifelong care and assistance with activities of daily living
  • Sleep problems, including unusual sleep patterns such as falling asleep during the day or waking up at night
  • Difficulty eating, leading to poor nutrition and delayed growth
  • Constipation, which can be a severe, ongoing problem, as well as other gastrointestinal (GI) problems, such as gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD)
  • Muscle and joint problems
  • Anxiety and problem behavior that may compromise social functioning
  • Shortened life span — people with Rett syndrome don't live as long as most people because of heart problems and other health complications

Prevention

There's no known way to prevent Rett syndrome. In most cases, the genetic mutation that causes the disorder occurs spontaneously. Even so, if you have a child or other family member with Rett syndrome, you may want to ask the doctor about genetic testing.

Sept. 17, 2015
References
  1. Rett syndrome fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/rett/detail_rett.htm. Accessed Aug. 3, 2015.
  2. Rett syndrome. National Organization for Rare Diseases. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/rett-syndrome/. Accessed Aug. 3, 2015.
  3. Rett syndrome. Genetics Home Reference. http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/rett-syndrome. Accessed Aug. 3, 2015.
  4. Schultz RJ, et al. Rett syndrome. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 3, 2015.
  5. Lotan M. Alternative therapeutic intervention for individuals with Rett syndrome. The Scientific World Journal. 2007;29:698.
  6. Rett syndrome: Condition information. Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. https://www.nichd.nih.gov/health/topics/rett/conditioninfo/Pages/default.aspx. Accessed Aug. 5, 2015.
  7. Symons FJ, et al. Parent-reported pain in Rett syndrome. Clinical Journal of Pain. 2013;29:744.
  8. Byiers BJ, et al. Seizures and pain uncertainty associated with parenting stress and Rett syndrome. Journal of Child Neurology. 2014;29:526.
  9. Hoecker JL (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 17, 2015.
  10. Tervo RC (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 28, 2015.