نظرة عامة

ما سرطان الفم؟ إليكم الإجابة من أحد خبراء مايو كلينك

تعرَّف على مزيد من المعلومات عن سرطان الفم من اختصاصية الأورام الدكتورة كاثرين برايس.

أنا الدكتورة كاثرين برايس، اختصاصية أورام في مايو كلينك. في هذا الفيديو، سأعرض بعض المعلومات الأساسية عن سرطان الفم: ما هو؟ ومن يُصاب به؟ الأعراض والتشخيص والعلاج. سواء كانت لديك استفسارات تخصك أو تخص شخصًا عزيزًا عليك، فيسرنا أن نقدم لك أفضل المعلومات المتاحة. ينشأ سرطان الفم في التجويف الفموي الذي يشمل جميع أجزاء فمك التي يمكنك رؤيتها عند فتح الفم على اتساعه والنظر في المرآة. يشمل ذلك شفتيك ولثتك ولسانك وخدّيك وسقف الفم أو قاعه. ينشأ سرطان الفم عندما تحدث طفرة في خلايا شفتيك. وغالبًا ما يبدأ ذلك في الخلايا المسطحة الرقيقة التي تحيط بالشفتين وباطن الفم. ويُطلق على هذه الخلايا اسم الخلايا التوسّفية. تجعل بعض التغيرات البسيطة في الحمض النووي للخلايا التوسّفية تلك الخلايا تنمو نموًا غير طبيعي. وتتراكم هذه الخلايا المتحورة مكوّنة ورمًا ينمو داخل الفم، وغالبًا ما يمتد إلى العقد اللمفية في الرقبة. يمكن علاج سرطان الفم إذا اُكتُشف في مرحلة مبكرة. وكما هي الحال في أنواع السرطان الأخرى، يوجَّه الكثير من الجهد إلى تحديد الأسباب وتحسين طرق العلاج.

يبلغ متوسط أعمار المصابين بسرطان الفم 63 عامًا. ونسبة المرضى الأصغر من 55 عامًا والمصابين بهذا النوع من السرطان لا تتجاوز 20%. ولكنه رغم ذلك قد يصيب أي شخص. هناك العديد من عوامل الخطر المعروفة التي قد تزيد من احتمالية الإصابة بسرطان الفم. فإذا كان الشخص يتعاطى أي نوع من أنواع التبغ والسجائر والسيجار والبايب والتبغ الممضوغ وما شابه ذلك، فهناك احتمالية كبيرة لإصابته بهذا النوع من السرطان. يؤدي الإفراط في تعاطي الكحوليات أيضًا إلى زيادة احتمالية الإصابة. كما أن المصابين بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري من الفئات الأكثر عرضة للإصابة بسرطان الفم. تشمل عوامل الخطر الأخرى الأنظمة الغذائية الفقيرة إلى الفواكه والخضراوات، والالتهاب أو التهيّج المزمنين في الفم، وضعف جهاز المناعة.

قد يظهر سرطان الفم بعدة طرق مختلفة منها: قروح لا تُشفى في الشفة أو الفم، وظهور بقع بيضاء أو مائلة للاحمرار داخل الفم، وتقلقل الأسنان، ونمو ورم أو كتلة داخل الفم، وألم الفم، وألم الأذن، والشعور بصعوبة أو ألم أثناء البلع أو فتح الفم أو المضغ. إذا كانت لديك أي من هذه المشكلات، واستمرت لأكثر من أسبوعين، فتنبغي زيارة الطبيب. وسيتمكن الطبيب من استبعاد الأسباب الأكثر شيوعًا أولاً كالعدوى.

للتأكد مما إذا كان المريض مصابًا بسرطان الفم أم لا، ففي العادة سيجري الطبيب أو طبيب الأسنان فحصًا بدنيًا للكشف عن أي مناطق فيها التهابات كالقروح أو البقع البيضاء. وفي حال شك الطبيب في وجود أمر غير عادي، فقد يسحب خزعة صغيرة من هذه المنطقة لفحصها. وإذا كانت نتيجة التشخيص الإصابة بسرطان الفم، فسيحدد الفريق الطبي مدى انتشار السرطان أو المرحلة التي وصل إليها. وتتراوح مراحل السرطان بين 0 و 4، ويساعد تحديدُها الطبيبَ على تقديم المشورة بشأن احتمالية نجاح العلاج. وكي يحدد الطبيب مرحلة المرض، فقد يُجري تنظيرًا داخليًا تُستخدم فيه كاميرا صغيرة لفحص الحلق، أو قد يجري فحوصًا تصويرية مثل التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) والتصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني (PET) والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) لجمع مزيد من المعلومات.

تعتمد طبيعة خطة العلاج على موضع السرطان ومرحلته، وكذلك الحالة الصحية للمريض وتفضيلاته الشخصية. فقد يتلقى علاجًا واحدًا أو قد يحتاج إلى مجموعة من علاجات السرطان. العلاج الرئيسي لسرطان الفم هو الجراحة. والجراحة تعني عمومًا استئصال الورم وربما العقد اللمفية الموجودة في الرقبة. وفي حال كان الورم كبيرًا، قد يكون من الضروري إجراء عملية استبناء لترميم الفم. أما إذا كان الورم صغيرًا ولم يكن هناك دليل على وصوله إلى العقد اللمفية، فقد تكون الجراحة وحدها علاجًا كافيًا. لكن إذا كان سرطان الفم قد وصل إلى العقد اللمفية الموجودة في الرقبة، أو كان كبيرًا ومتوغلاً في مناطق أخرى من الفم، فستكون هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العلاج بعد الجراحة. وقد يشمل ذلك العلاج الإشعاعي الذي تُستخدم فيه حزم طاقة عالية القوة لاستهداف الخلايا السرطانية المتحورة وتدميرها. وفي بعض الأحيان، يُجمع بين العلاج الكيميائي والعلاج الإشعاعي. العلاج الكيميائي هو خليط قوي من المواد الكيمائية التي تقتل السرطان. يُستخدم أحيانًا العلاج المناعي، وهو أحد طرق العلاج الحديثة التي تساعد الجهاز المناعي على مهاجمة السرطان.

قد تكون لمعرفة الإصابة بسرطان الفم آثار عصيبة. فقد يجعلك تشعر بالعجز وقلة الحيلة. لكن تذكّر أن المعلومات والمعرفة تمنحك القوة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالصحة. والنجاة من هذا المرض ممكنة الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى. فاسع إلى الحصول على المعلومات المفيدة. وتحكم في صحتك. وتعاون مع فريقك الطبي للوصول إلى العلاج المناسب لك. إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد عن سرطان الفم، فشاهد مقاطع الفيديو الأخرى ذات الصلة، أو تفضل بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني mayoclinic.org. نتمنى لكم دوام العافية.

يشير اسم سرطان الفم إلى السرطان الذي يتكون في أي جزء من الأجزاء المكونة للفم (جوف الفم). قد يظهر سرطان الفم على:

  • الشفتين
  • اللثة
  • اللسان
  • بطانة الخدين الداخلية
  • سقف الفم
  • قاع الفم (أسفل اللسان)

أحيانًا ما يُدعى السرطان الذي يظهر في داخل الغم بسرطان الفم أو سرطان جوف الفم.

سرطان الفم هو واحد من عدة أنواع من السرطانات التي تُجمع في فئة تُسمى بسرطانات الرأس والرقبة. عادة ما يُعالج سرطان الفم وسرطانات الرأس والرقبة الأخرى بشكل مماثل.

الأعراض

قد تَتضمن علامات وأعراض سرطان الفم ما يلي:

  • قرحة لا تلتئم في الشفاه أو داخل الفم
  • بقعة بيضاء أو حمراء في الجزء الداخلي من فمك
  • تخلخل الأسنان
  • نموًّا أو تكتلًا في فمك
  • ألمًا في الفم
  • ألم الأذن
  • صعوبة أو ألمًا عند البلع

متى تزور الطبيب

حدد موعدًا مع طبيبك أو طبيب الأسنان إذا كانت لديك أي علامات وأعراض مستمرة تزعجك وتعاني منها لأكثر من أسبوعين. وعلى الأرجح سيقوم طبيبك بالبحث في الأسباب الأخرى الأكثر شيوعًا لهذه العلامات والأعراض أولاً، مثل العدوى.

احصل على تجارب مايو كلينك في علاج السرطان في صندوق بريدك.

اشترك مجانًا وستتلقى دليلاً مفصلاً يمكن الاسترشاد به في مواجهة السرطان، بالإضافة إلى معلومات مفيدة بشأن كيفية استشارة طبيب آخر. ويمكنك إلغاء الاشتراك في أي وقت.

أود أن أعرف المزيد عن

لتزويدك بالمعلومات الأكثر صلة وفائدة، ولمعرفة المعلومات المفيدة لك، قد نجمع بيانات تشمل بريدك الإلكتروني واستخدامك للموقع وغيرها من البيانات المتعلقة بك. إذا كنت تتلقى الرعاية في مايو كلينك، فإن هذه البيانات قد تتضمن معلومات صحية محمية. إذا دمجنا هذه المعلومات مع معلوماتك الصحية المحمية، فسنتعامل مع جميع هذه المعلومات باعتبارها معلومات صحية محمية ولن نستخدمها أو نكشف عنها إلا على النحو المنصوص عليه في إشعار ممارسات الخصوصية المعمول به لدينا. يمكنك إلغاء الاشتراك في مراسلات البريد الإلكتروني في أي وقت بالضغط على رابط إلغاء الاشتراك في البريد الإلكتروني.

الأسباب

تتشكل سرطانات الفم عندما تتطور الخلايا على الشفاه، أو في الفم (طفرات) في حمضها النووي. يحتوي الحمض النووي للخلية على الإرشادات التي تخبر الخلية بما يجب القيام به. إنَّ التغييرات التي تحدثها الطفرات تخبر الخلايا بالاستمرار في النمو والانقسام عندما تموت الخلايا السليمة. قد تشكل خلايا سرطان الفم غير الطبيعية المتراكمة ورمًا. ومع مرور الوقت قد تنتشر داخل الفم، وإلى مناطق أخرى من الرأس والرقبة، أو أجزاء أخرى من الجسم.

عادةً ما تبدأ سرطانات الفم في الخلايا الرفيعة المسطحة (الخلايا الحرشفية) التي تبطن شفتيك وداخل فمك. معظم سرطانات الفم هي سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية.

سبب الطفرات في الخلايا الحرشفية التي تؤدي إلى سرطان الفم ليس واضحًا. لكنَّ الأطباء حددوا العوامل التي قد تزيد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الفم.

عوامل الخطر

تتضمن العوامل التي يمكن أن تزيد من خطر إصابتك بسرطان الفم ما يلي:

  • استخدام أي نوع من التبغ، بما في ذلك السجائر، والسيجار، والغليون، ومضغ التبغ والسعوط، وغير ذلك
  • الإفراط في تناول الكحوليات
  • تعرض شفتيك لأشعة الشمس بشكل زائد
  • فيروس ينتقل عبر الاتصال الجنسي يُسمى بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (HPV)
  • ضعف الجهاز المناعي

الوقاية

ليس ثمَّة طريقة أكيدة للوقاية من سرطان الفم. ومع ذلكَ، يمكنكَ الحد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الفم إذا:

  • توقفتَ عن التدخين، أو ما بدأتَ فيه من الأساس. إذا كنتَ تدخن، فأقلِع عن ذلكَ. إذا لم تكن مدخنًا، فلا تفكِّر في ذلكَ من الأساس. استعمال التبغ، سواء بالتدخين أو بالمضغ، يعرِّض خلايا فمكَ إلى مواد كيمائية خطيرة مسبِّبة للسرطان.
  • تناول الكحول باعتدال فقط، إذا كنت تتناوله. تناوُل الكحول بشكل مفرط ومزمن يسبِّب تهيُّج الخلايا بفمكَ، ويجعله أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالسرطان. إذا اخترت أن تشرب الكحوليات، فتناوليها باعتدال. بالنسبة للبالغين الأصحاء، يعني هذا ما يصل إلى مشروب واحد في اليوم بالنسبة للنساء من جميع الأعمار والرجال الأكبر سنًّا من 65 عامًا، وتصل إلى مشروبين في اليوم للرجال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 65 عامًا أو أقل.
  • تَجنَّب التعرض الزائد لأشعة الشمس على شفتيكَ. احمِ بشرة شفتيكَ من التعرض للشمس بالبقاء في الظل بقدر الإمكان. ارتدِ القبعات العريضة الحواف التي توفر الظل لوجهكَ بالكامل بشكل فعال، بما في ذلكَ فمكَ. استعمِل منتج وقاية الشفتين من الشمس كجزء من نظام الحماية اليومي من الشمس.
  • راجِع طبيب الأسنان الخاص بكَ بانتظام. اطلب من طبيب الأسنان الخاص بكَ فحص الفم بأكمله كجزء من اختبارات الأسنان الروتينية، للبحث عن أي مناطق غير طبيعية قد تكون إشارة إلى وجود سرطان بالفم، أو تغييرات ما قبل الإصابة بالسرطان.

سرطان الفم - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

20/10/2020
  1. Flint PW, et al. Malignant neoplasms of the oral cavity. In: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  2. Head and neck cancers. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Head and neck cancers. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  4. Lip and oral cavity cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/head-and-neck/patient/adult/lip-mouth-treatment-pdq. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  5. The oral cancer exam. National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. https://www.nidcr.nih.gov/sites/default/files/2018-10/oral-cancer-exam.pdf. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  6. Cancer-related fatigue. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  7. Erbitux (prescribing information). Branchburg, N.J.: Eli Lilly and Company; 2018. http://www.erbitux.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  8. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 18, 2018.

Overview

What is mouth cancer? A Mayo Clinic expert explains

Learn more about mouth cancer, also called oral cancer, from oncologist Katharine Price, M.D.

Hello, I'm Dr. Katharine Price, an oncologist at Mayo Clinic. In this video, we'll cover the basics of oral cancer: What is it? Who gets it? The symptoms, diagnosis and treatment. Whether you're looking for answers for yourself or someone you love, we're here to give you the best information available. Oral cancer, also called mouth cancer, forms in the oral cavity, which includes all parts of your mouth that you can see if you open wide and look in the mirror. Your lips, gums, tongue, cheeks, roof or floor of the mouth. Oral cancer forms when cells on the lips or in the mouth mutate. Most often they begin in the flat, thin cells that line your lips and the inside of your mouth. These are called squamous cells. Small changes to the DNA of the squamous cells make the cells grow abnormally. These mutated cells accumulate, forming a tumor that grows in the mouth and often spread to lymph nodes in the neck. Oral cancer is curable if detected at an early stage. And like other cancers, a large amount of effort has been dedicated to determining causes and improving treatments.

The average age of those diagnosed with oral cancer is 63. Just over 20% of cases occur in patients younger than 55. However, it can affect anyone. There are several known risk factors that could increase your risk of developing oral cancer. If you use any kind of tobacco, cigarettes, cigars, pipes, chewing tobacco, and others, you're at a greater risk. Heavy alcohol use also increases the risk. Those with HPV, human papillomavirus, have a higher chance of developing oral cancer as well. Other risk factors include a diet that lacks fruit and vegetables, chronic irritation or inflammation in the mouth, and a weakened immune system.

Oral cancer can present itself in many different ways, which could include: a lip or mouth sore that doesn't heal, a white or reddish patch on the inside of your mouth, loose teeth, a growth or lump inside your mouth, mouth pain, ear pain, and difficulty or pain while swallowing, opening your mouth or chewing. If you're experiencing any of these issues and they persist for more than two weeks, see a doctor. They'll be able to rule out more common causes first, like an infection.

To determine if you have oral cancer, your doctor or dentist will usually perform a physical exam to inspect any areas of irritation such as sores or white patches. If they suspect something is abnormal, they may conduct a biopsy where they take a small sample of the area for testing. If oral cancer is diagnosed, your medical team will then determine how far along the cancer is, or the stage of the cancer. The stage of the cancer ranges from 0 to 4 and helps your doctor counsel you on the likelihood of successful treatment. In order to determine the stage, they may perform an endoscopy, where doctors use a small camera to inspect your throat, or they may order imaging tests, like CT scans, PET scans, and MRIs, to gather more information.

What your treatment plan looks like will depend on your cancer's location and stage, as well as your health and personal preferences. You may have just one type of treatment or you may need a combination of cancer treatments. Surgery is the main treatment for oral cancer. Surgery generally means removing the tumor and possibly lymph nodes in the neck. If the tumor is large, reconstruction may be required. If the tumor is small and there's no evidence of spread to lymph nodes, surgery alone may be enough treatment. If the oral cancer has spread to lymph nodes in the neck or is large and invading different areas of the mouth, more treatment is required after surgery. This could include radiation, which uses high-power beams of energy to target and destroy the mutated cancerous cells. Sometimes chemotherapy is combined with the radiation. Chemotherapy is a powerful cocktail of chemicals that kills the cancer. Immunotherapy, a newer treatment which helps your immune system attack the cancer, is also sometimes used.

Learning you have oral cancer can be difficult. It can leave you feeling helpless. But remember, information is power when it comes to your health. This disease is survivable - now more than ever. Be informed. Take control of your health. And partner with your medical team to find a treatment that's right for you. If you'd like to learn even more about mouth cancer, watch our other related videos or visit mayoclinic.org. We wish you well.

Mouth cancer refers to cancer that develops in any of the parts that make up the mouth (oral cavity). Mouth cancer can occur on the:

  • Lips
  • Gums
  • Tongue
  • Inner lining of the cheeks
  • Roof of the mouth
  • Floor of the mouth (under the tongue)

Cancer that occurs on the inside of the mouth is sometimes called oral cancer or oral cavity cancer.

Mouth cancer is one of several types of cancers grouped in a category called head and neck cancers. Mouth cancer and other head and neck cancers are often treated similarly.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of mouth cancer may include:

  • A lip or mouth sore that doesn't heal
  • A white or reddish patch on the inside of your mouth
  • Loose teeth
  • A growth or lump inside your mouth
  • Mouth pain
  • Ear pain
  • Difficult or painful swallowing

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor or dentist if you have any persistent signs and symptoms that bother you and last more than two weeks. Your doctor will likely investigate other more common causes for your signs and symptoms first, such as an infection.

Get Mayo Clinic cancer expertise delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive an in-depth guide to coping with cancer, plus helpful information on how to get a second opinion. You can unsubscribe at any time.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Mouth cancers form when cells on the lips or in the mouth develop changes (mutations) in their DNA. A cell's DNA contains the instructions that tell a cell what to do. The mutations changes tell the cells to continue growing and dividing when healthy cells would die. The accumulating abnormal mouth cancer cells can form a tumor. With time they may spread inside the mouth and on to other areas of the head and neck or other parts of the body.

Mouth cancers most commonly begin in the flat, thin cells (squamous cells) that line your lips and the inside of your mouth. Most oral cancers are squamous cell carcinomas.

It's not clear what causes the mutations in squamous cells that lead to mouth cancer. But doctors have identified factors that may increase the risk of mouth cancer.

Risk factors

Factors that can increase your risk of mouth cancer include:

  • Tobacco use of any kind, including cigarettes, cigars, pipes, chewing tobacco and snuff, among others
  • Heavy alcohol use
  • Excessive sun exposure to your lips
  • A sexually transmitted virus called human papillomavirus (HPV)
  • A weakened immune system

Prevention

There's no proven way to prevent mouth cancer. However, you can reduce your risk of mouth cancer if you:

  • Stop using tobacco or don't start. If you use tobacco, stop. If you don't use tobacco, don't start. Using tobacco, whether smoked or chewed, exposes the cells in your mouth to dangerous cancer-causing chemicals.
  • Drink alcohol only in moderation, if at all. Chronic excessive alcohol use can irritate the cells in your mouth, making them vulnerable to mouth cancer. If you choose to drink alcohol, do so in moderation. For healthy adults, that means up to one drink a day for women of all ages and men older than age 65, and up to two drinks a day for men age 65 and younger.
  • Avoid excessive sun exposure to your lips. Protect the skin on your lips from the sun by staying in the shade when possible. Wear a broad-brimmed hat that effectively shades your entire face, including your mouth. Apply a sunscreen lip product as part of your routine sun protection regimen.
  • See your dentist regularly. As part of a routine dental exam, ask your dentist to inspect your entire mouth for abnormal areas that may indicate mouth cancer or precancerous changes.

Mouth cancer care at Mayo Clinic

Oct. 20, 2020

Living with mouth cancer?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Head & Neck Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Head & Neck Cancer Discussions

wretired2000
Phlegm and Saliva filling in the mouth after tongue sarcoma

8 Replies Wed, Jun 15, 2022

dpost2
Radiation therapy and CPAP mask

3 Replies Sun, Jun 12, 2022

clevyjam
Salivary Duct Recurrence w/ Trismus and Tinnitus

8 Replies Sat, Apr 16, 2022

See more discussions
  1. Flint PW, et al. Malignant neoplasms of the oral cavity. In: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  2. Head and neck cancers. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Head and neck cancers. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  4. Lip and oral cavity cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/head-and-neck/patient/adult/lip-mouth-treatment-pdq. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  5. The oral cancer exam. National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. https://www.nidcr.nih.gov/sites/default/files/2018-10/oral-cancer-exam.pdf. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  6. Cancer-related fatigue. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  7. Erbitux (prescribing information). Branchburg, N.J.: Eli Lilly and Company; 2018. http://www.erbitux.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  8. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 18, 2018.