概述

什么是口腔癌?妙佑医疗国际专家为您解答

向肿瘤科医生 Katharine Price(医学博士)了解关于口腔癌的更多信息。

大家好,我是妙佑医疗国际的肿瘤科专家 Katharine Price 医生。在本视频中,我们将介绍口腔癌的基础知识:什么是口腔癌?谁会患这种病?它的症状、诊断和治疗情况如何?无论您是为自己还是为亲友寻找答案,都能在这里找到最可靠的信息。口腔癌发生在口腔内。口腔包括您张开嘴照镜子时能看到的所有口腔部位,其中包括嘴唇、牙龈、舌头、脸颊、上颚或下颚。当嘴唇或口腔中的细胞发生突变时,就会形成口腔癌。口腔癌最常起源于覆盖嘴唇和口腔内部的扁平薄细胞。这些细胞被称为鳞状细胞。鳞状细胞的 DNA 即使发生微小变化,也会使细胞生长异常。这些突变细胞积聚后形成肿瘤,在口腔内生长,且常常扩散到颈部的淋巴结。如果在早期发现,口腔癌可治愈。与其他癌症一样,人们已付出大量努力来确定病因和改进治疗方法。

患者诊断口腔癌时的平均年龄为 63 岁。超过 20% 的病例发生在 55 岁以下。但所有人都有可能患这种癌症。有几个已知风险因素可增加患口腔癌的风险。如果使用任何种类的烟草、香烟、雪茄、烟斗、嚼烟等,患癌风险就会增加。酗酒也会增加风险。人乳头状瘤病毒即 HPV 感染者患口腔癌的几率也更高。其他风险因素包括饮食中缺少水果和蔬菜、慢性口腔刺激或炎症以及免疫功能低下。

口腔癌可能以多种不同的形式出现,包括:嘴唇或口腔溃疡无法愈合,口腔内出现白色或红色斑块,牙齿松动,口腔内出现肿块,口腔疼痛,耳朵疼痛,吞咽、张口或咀嚼困难或疼痛。如果您出现以上任何问题,而且持续两周以上,请就医。医生能够首先排除更常见的原因,如感染。

为确定您是否患有口腔癌,医生或牙医通常会进行体格检查,以检查任何刺激部位,如溃疡或白斑。如果他们怀疑有什么异常,可能会进行活检,在相关部位采集一小份样本进行检测。如果确诊为口腔癌,医疗团队会确定癌症发展程度,或癌症分期。癌症分为 0 至 4 期。癌症分期有助于医生为您确定成功治疗的几率。为确定分期,他们可能会进行内窥镜检查,即使用小型摄像头检查您的喉咙,或者他们可能会要求进行影像学检查,如 CT 扫描、PET 扫描和 MRI,以收集更多信息。

治疗计划取决于癌症的位置和分期,以及您的健康状况和个人偏好。您可能只需要使用一种治疗方法,也可能需要联合使用多种癌症治疗方法。口腔癌的主要治疗方法是手术。手术通常是指切除肿瘤,可能还有颈部的淋巴结。如果肿瘤较大,则可能需要进行重建。如果肿瘤较小,且没有扩散到淋巴结的迹象,那么手术治疗就够了。如果口腔癌已经扩散到颈部淋巴结,或肿瘤较大并侵入口腔的不同部位,则需要在术后进行更多治疗。这些治疗可能包括放疗,即使用高能能量束靶向照射并破坏突变的癌变细胞。有时候,需要联合进行化疗与放疗。化疗通过联合使用多种强效化合物来杀死癌细胞。有时也会采用免疫疗法,这是一种较新的治疗方法,可帮助免疫系统攻击癌症。

得知自己患有口腔癌可能令人很难接受。您会感到无助。但请记住,对于您的健康,信息就是力量。现在,这种疾病的存活率比以往任何时候都要高。掌握病情。掌控您的健康状况。与医疗团队合作,寻找适合您的治疗方法。如欲了解更多关于口腔癌的信息,请观看我们的其他相关视频或访问 mayoclinic.org。祝您健康!

口腔癌是指构成口腔的任何部位发生的癌症。口腔癌可发生于:

  • 嘴唇
  • 牙龈
  • 舌头
  • 脸颊内侧
  • 上颚
  • 口底(舌下)

发生在口腔内部的癌症有时称为口癌或口腔癌。

口腔癌是归类为头颈癌的几种癌症中的一种。口腔癌和其他头颈癌通常采用类似的治疗方法。

症状

口腔癌的体征和症状可能包括:

  • 唇或口疮无法愈合
  • 口腔内部有白色或微红色斑块
  • 牙齿松动
  • 口腔内赘生或肿块
  • 口腔疼痛
  • 耳痛
  • 吞咽困难或疼痛

何时就诊

如果持续存在的体征或症状令您担心并且已持续两周以上,请与您的医生或牙医约诊。医生可能会优先调查引发体征和症状的其他原因(例如感染)。

病因

当嘴唇上或口腔中的细胞的 DNA 发生变化(突变)时,就会形成口腔癌。细胞的 DNA 包含指示细胞该如何做的指令。而突变让正常情况下会死亡的细胞持续生长和分裂。积聚的异常口腔癌细胞会形成肿瘤。它们在口腔内逐渐扩散,还会扩散到头部和颈部的其他区域或身体其他部位。

最常见的口腔癌起源是扁平的薄细胞(鳞状细胞),它们构成嘴唇或口腔内侧的膜。大多数口腔癌是鳞状细胞癌。

导致鳞状细胞突变并引发口腔癌的原因尚不清楚。但医生已确定了可能增加口腔癌风险的因素。

风险因素

可能增加口腔癌风险的因素包括:

  • 使用任何种类的烟草,包括香烟、雪茄、烟斗、嚼烟和鼻烟等
  • 酗酒
  • 唇部过度日晒
  • 一种叫做人乳头瘤病毒(HPV)的性传播病毒
  • 免疫功能低下

预防

关于预防口腔癌,目前还没有经过验证的有效方法。但是,如果您做到以下几点,可以降低罹患口腔癌的风险:

  • 戒烟,或不要开始。如果您使用烟草制品,那么请戒烟。如果您不使用烟草制品,那么请勿开始。使用烟草制品,无论是吸烟还是咀嚼,都会让口腔中的细胞暴露在危险的致癌化学物质中。
  • 如饮酒,请适度。慢性过度酒精使用刺激口腔中的细胞,使其容易患上口腔癌。如果饮酒,需保持适度。对于健康成人,所有年龄段的女性和 65 岁以上男性每天最多喝一杯,而 65 岁及以下的男性每天最多两杯。
  • 避免嘴唇过度暴晒。尽可能呆在阴凉处,保护嘴唇皮肤免受日晒伤害。佩戴能够有效遮盖整个面部(包括嘴唇)的宽边帽。将涂抹防晒唇膏产品作为常规防晒方案的一部分。
  • 定期去看牙医。作为常规牙科检查的一部分,让牙医检查您的整个口腔是否存在可能表示有口腔癌或癌前病变的异常区域。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

April 30, 2024

Living with 口腔癌?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Head & Neck Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Head & Neck Cancer Discussions

dpost2
Radiation therapy and CPAP mask

4 Replies Mon, May 27, 2024

caw
Diagnosed with Ameloblastoma

174 Replies Sat, May 18, 2024

johnbonani
Just Diagnosed with Tonsil Cancer - How to Treat?

42 Replies Tue, May 14, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Flint PW, et al. Malignant neoplasms of the oral cavity. In: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  2. Head and neck cancers. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Head and neck cancers. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  4. Lip and oral cavity cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/head-and-neck/patient/adult/lip-mouth-treatment-pdq. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  5. The oral cancer exam. National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. https://www.nidcr.nih.gov/sites/default/files/2018-10/oral-cancer-exam.pdf. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  6. Cancer-related fatigue. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  7. Erbitux (prescribing information). Branchburg, N.J.: Eli Lilly and Company; 2018. http://www.erbitux.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  8. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 18, 2018.

Overview

What is mouth cancer? A Mayo Clinic expert explains

Learn more about mouth cancer, also called oral cancer, from oncologist Katharine Price, M.D.

Hello, I'm Dr. Katharine Price, an oncologist at Mayo Clinic. In this video, we'll cover the basics of oral cancer: What is it? Who gets it? The symptoms, diagnosis and treatment. Whether you're looking for answers for yourself or someone you love, we're here to give you the best information available. Oral cancer, also called mouth cancer, forms in the oral cavity, which includes all parts of your mouth that you can see if you open wide and look in the mirror. Your lips, gums, tongue, cheeks, roof or floor of the mouth. Oral cancer forms when cells on the lips or in the mouth mutate. Most often they begin in the flat, thin cells that line your lips and the inside of your mouth. These are called squamous cells. Small changes to the DNA of the squamous cells make the cells grow abnormally. These mutated cells accumulate, forming a tumor that grows in the mouth and often spread to lymph nodes in the neck. Oral cancer is curable if detected at an early stage. And like other cancers, a large amount of effort has been dedicated to determining causes and improving treatments.

The average age of those diagnosed with oral cancer is 63. Just over 20% of cases occur in patients younger than 55. However, it can affect anyone. There are several known risk factors that could increase your risk of developing oral cancer. If you use any kind of tobacco, cigarettes, cigars, pipes, chewing tobacco, and others, you're at a greater risk. Heavy alcohol use also increases the risk. Those with HPV, human papillomavirus, have a higher chance of developing oral cancer as well. Other risk factors include a diet that lacks fruit and vegetables, chronic irritation or inflammation in the mouth, and a weakened immune system.

Oral cancer can present itself in many different ways, which could include: a lip or mouth sore that doesn't heal, a white or reddish patch on the inside of your mouth, loose teeth, a growth or lump inside your mouth, mouth pain, ear pain, and difficulty or pain while swallowing, opening your mouth or chewing. If you're experiencing any of these issues and they persist for more than two weeks, see a doctor. They'll be able to rule out more common causes first, like an infection.

To determine if you have oral cancer, your doctor or dentist will usually perform a physical exam to inspect any areas of irritation such as sores or white patches. If they suspect something is abnormal, they may conduct a biopsy where they take a small sample of the area for testing. If oral cancer is diagnosed, your medical team will then determine how far along the cancer is, or the stage of the cancer. The stage of the cancer ranges from 0 to 4 and helps your doctor counsel you on the likelihood of successful treatment. In order to determine the stage, they may perform an endoscopy, where doctors use a small camera to inspect your throat, or they may order imaging tests, like CT scans, PET scans, and MRIs, to gather more information.

What your treatment plan looks like will depend on your cancer's location and stage, as well as your health and personal preferences. You may have just one type of treatment or you may need a combination of cancer treatments. Surgery is the main treatment for oral cancer. Surgery generally means removing the tumor and possibly lymph nodes in the neck. If the tumor is large, reconstruction may be required. If the tumor is small and there's no evidence of spread to lymph nodes, surgery alone may be enough treatment. If the oral cancer has spread to lymph nodes in the neck or is large and invading different areas of the mouth, more treatment is required after surgery. This could include radiation, which uses high-power beams of energy to target and destroy the mutated cancerous cells. Sometimes chemotherapy is combined with the radiation. Chemotherapy is a powerful cocktail of chemicals that kills the cancer. Immunotherapy, a newer treatment which helps your immune system attack the cancer, is also sometimes used.

Learning you have oral cancer can be difficult. It can leave you feeling helpless. But remember, information is power when it comes to your health. This disease is survivable - now more than ever. Be informed. Take control of your health. And partner with your medical team to find a treatment that's right for you. If you'd like to learn even more about mouth cancer, watch our other related videos or visit mayoclinic.org. We wish you well.

Mouth cancer refers to cancer that develops in any of the parts that make up the mouth (oral cavity). Mouth cancer can occur on the:

  • Lips
  • Gums
  • Tongue
  • Inner lining of the cheeks
  • Roof of the mouth
  • Floor of the mouth (under the tongue)

Cancer that occurs on the inside of the mouth is sometimes called oral cancer or oral cavity cancer.

Mouth cancer is one of several types of cancers grouped in a category called head and neck cancers. Mouth cancer and other head and neck cancers are often treated similarly.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of mouth cancer may include:

  • A lip or mouth sore that doesn't heal
  • A white or reddish patch on the inside of your mouth
  • Loose teeth
  • A growth or lump inside your mouth
  • Mouth pain
  • Ear pain
  • Difficult or painful swallowing

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor or dentist if you have any persistent signs and symptoms that bother you and last more than two weeks. Your doctor will likely investigate other more common causes for your signs and symptoms first, such as an infection.

Get Mayo Clinic cancer expertise delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive an in-depth guide to coping with cancer, plus helpful information on how to get a second opinion. You can unsubscribe at any time.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Mouth cancers form when cells on the lips or in the mouth develop changes (mutations) in their DNA. A cell's DNA contains the instructions that tell a cell what to do. The mutations changes tell the cells to continue growing and dividing when healthy cells would die. The accumulating abnormal mouth cancer cells can form a tumor. With time they may spread inside the mouth and on to other areas of the head and neck or other parts of the body.

Mouth cancers most commonly begin in the flat, thin cells (squamous cells) that line your lips and the inside of your mouth. Most oral cancers are squamous cell carcinomas.

It's not clear what causes the mutations in squamous cells that lead to mouth cancer. But doctors have identified factors that may increase the risk of mouth cancer.

Risk factors

Factors that can increase your risk of mouth cancer include:

  • Tobacco use of any kind, including cigarettes, cigars, pipes, chewing tobacco and snuff, among others
  • Heavy alcohol use
  • Excessive sun exposure to your lips
  • A sexually transmitted virus called human papillomavirus (HPV)
  • A weakened immune system

Prevention

There's no proven way to prevent mouth cancer. However, you can reduce your risk of mouth cancer if you:

  • Stop using tobacco or don't start. If you use tobacco, stop. If you don't use tobacco, don't start. Using tobacco, whether smoked or chewed, exposes the cells in your mouth to dangerous cancer-causing chemicals.
  • Drink alcohol only in moderation, if at all. Chronic excessive alcohol use can irritate the cells in your mouth, making them vulnerable to mouth cancer. If you choose to drink alcohol, do so in moderation. For healthy adults, that means up to one drink a day for women of all ages and men older than age 65, and up to two drinks a day for men age 65 and younger.
  • Avoid excessive sun exposure to your lips. Protect the skin on your lips from the sun by staying in the shade when possible. Wear a broad-brimmed hat that effectively shades your entire face, including your mouth. Apply a sunscreen lip product as part of your routine sun protection regimen.
  • See your dentist regularly. As part of a routine dental exam, ask your dentist to inspect your entire mouth for abnormal areas that may indicate mouth cancer or precancerous changes.

Mouth cancer care at Mayo Clinic

Oct. 20, 2020

Living with mouth cancer?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Head & Neck Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Head & Neck Cancer Discussions

wretired2000
Phlegm and Saliva filling in the mouth after tongue sarcoma

8 Replies Wed, Jun 15, 2022

dpost2
Radiation therapy and CPAP mask

3 Replies Sun, Jun 12, 2022

clevyjam
Salivary Duct Recurrence w/ Trismus and Tinnitus

8 Replies Sat, Apr 16, 2022

See more discussions
  1. Flint PW, et al. Malignant neoplasms of the oral cavity. In: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  2. Head and neck cancers. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Head and neck cancers. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  4. Lip and oral cavity cancer treatment (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/head-and-neck/patient/adult/lip-mouth-treatment-pdq. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  5. The oral cancer exam. National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. https://www.nidcr.nih.gov/sites/default/files/2018-10/oral-cancer-exam.pdf. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  6. Cancer-related fatigue. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  7. Erbitux (prescribing information). Branchburg, N.J.: Eli Lilly and Company; 2018. http://www.erbitux.com. Accessed Nov. 28, 2018.
  8. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 18, 2018.