نظرة عامة

داء البروسيلات هو عدوى بكتيرية تنتقل من الحيوانات إلى الإنسان. في أغلب الحالات، يُصاب الأشخاص عن طريق تناول مشتقات الحليب الخام أو غير المُبستَرة. وفي بعض الأحيان، قد تنتقل البكتيريا المتسببة في الإصابة بداء البروسيلات عن طريق الهواء أو التعامل المباشر مع الحيوانات المصابة.

قد تتضمَّن مؤشرات داء البروسيلات وأعراضه الحمى، وألم المفاصل، والإرهاق. يمكن علاج هذه العدوى عادةً بالمضادات الحيوية. إلا أن العلاج يستغرق مدة تتراوح ما بين عدة أسابيع إلى عدة أشهر، وقد يتجدد حدوث العدوى.

يصيب داء البروسيلات مئات الآلاف من البشر والحيوانات في جميع أنحاء العالم. قد يساعد تجنب تناوُل مشتقات الحليب الخام واتخاذ الإجراءات الوقائية عند التعامُل مع الحيوانات أو العمل في أحد المختبرات إلى الوقاية من داء البروسيلات.

الأعراض

قد تظهر أعراض داء البروسيلات في أي وقت بعد الإصابة بالعدوى خلال مدة تتراوح من بضعة أيام إلى بضعة أشهر. وتتشابه مؤشرات المرض وأعراض هذه العدوى مع مؤشرات الإنفلونزا وأعراضها، وتشمل:

  • الحُمَّى
  • القُشَعْريرة
  • فقدان الشهية
  • التعرُّق
  • الضَّعف
  • الإرهاق
  • ألم بالمفاصل، والعضلات، والظهر
  • الصُّداع

قد تختفي أعراض داء البروسيلات لأسابيع أو أشهر ثم تعود. تصبح عدوى البروسيلات مزمنة لدى بعض الأشخاص مع وجود أعراض مستمرة لسنوات، حتى بعد العلاج. تشمل المؤشرات والأعراض طويلة الأمد ما يلي:

  • إرهاق
  • حُمَّى متكررة
  • التهاب الغشاء الداخلي المبطن لحجرات القلب (الشغاف).
  • التهاب المفاصل
  • التهاب مفاصل عظام العمود الفقري (التهاب الفقرات)
  • التهاب المفاصل الواصلة بين العمود الفقري والحوض (التهاب المفصل العجزي الحرقفي)

متى تزور الطبيب

إنه ليَصْعُبُ تحديد داءِ البرُوسِيلَات‎، خاصةً في مراحلِه المُبكِّرة، عندما يتشابه في أحوال كثيرة مع حالات مرضية أخرى كالإنفلونزا. يجب زيارة الطبيب في حالة إصابتكَ بحُمَّى تتصاعد حرارتها سريعًا، أو ألمٍ بالعضلات، أو ضعفٍ غير معتاد وظهر لديكَ أي عامل من عوامل خطر الإصابة بهذا المرض، أو إذا كُنتَ مصابًا بحُمَّى مستمرَّة.

الأسباب

يصيب داء البروسيلات العديد من الحيوانات البرية والأليفة، مثل:

  • ماشية
  • ماعز
  • خروف
  • الخنازير المستأنَسة والخنازير البرية
  • الكلاب، وخاصة تلك المستخدَمة في الصيد
  • الغزال
  • الظبي
  • الثور
  • الكاريبو
  • الغزال الأمريكي الضخم
  • الجِمال

يوجد نوع من داء البروسيلات يصيب الفقمة والخنازير وبعض الحيتان أيضًا.

فيما يلي الطرق الأكثر شيوعًا لانتقال البكتيريا من الحيوانات إلى البشر:

  • تناوُل مشتقات الحليب الخام. يمكن أن تنتقل بكتيريا البرُوسِيلَّا الموجودة في حليب الحيوانات المصابة إلى البشر في اللبن غير المبستر، والآيس كريم، والزبد، والجبن. يمكن أيضًا أن تنتقل البكتيريا في لحوم الحيوانات المصابة النيئة أو غير المطهوَّة جيدًا.
  • استنشاق الهواء الملوَّث. تنتشر بكتيريا البرُوسِيلَّا بسهولة في الهواء. قد يستنشق المزارعون والصيادون وفنيو المختبرات وعمال المسالخ البكتيريا.
  • لمس دم وسوائل جسم الحيوانات المصابة. يمكن أن تدخل البكتيريا الموجودة في دم الحيوان المصاب أو سائله المنوي أو مشيمته إلى مجرى الدم من خلال قطع أو جُرح آخر. لأن الاتصال العادي بالحيوانات — اللمس أو التنظيف بالفرشاة أو اللعب — لا يسبب العدوى، فنادرًا ما يُصاب الناس بداء البرُوسِيلَّا من حيواناتهم الأليفة. ومع ذلك، يجب على الأشخاص الذين لديهم ضعف في الجهاز المناعي تجنُّب التعامل مع الكلاب المعروفة بأنها مصابة بالمرض.

لا ينتشر داء البرُوسِيلَّا عادةً من شخص لآخر، لكن في حالات قليلة، تنقل النساء المرض إلى أطفالهن أثناء الولادة أو من خلال حليب الأم. نادرًا ما ينتشر داء البروسيلات من خلال النشاط الجنسي أو من خلال عمليات نقل الدم الملوّثة أو نخاع العظم.

عوامل الخطر

بينما داء البروسيلات نادر الحدوث في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، إلا إنه شائع في أجزاء أخرى من العالم، وخاصة:

  • أوروبا الجنوبية، بما في ذلك البرتغال، وإسبانيا، وتركيا، وإيطاليا، واليونان، وجنوب فرنسا
  • أوروبا الشرقية
  • المكسيك، وأمريكا الجنوبيية والوسطى
  • آسيا
  • إفريقيا
  • منطقة الكاريبي
  • الشرق الأوسط

المهن المعرضة لدرجة أعلى من الخطورة

يكون الأشخاص الذين يتعاملون مع الحيوانات أو الذين يلامِسون الدم المصاب أكثرَ عرضةً للإصابة بداء البروسيلات. من أمثلتهم:

  • الأطباء البيطريون
  • مزارعو الألبان
  • مُربُّو الماشية
  • عمَّال المَسالِخ
  • الصيَّادون
  • اختصاصيو المكروبيولوجيا

المضاعفات

يُمكن أن يُصيب داء البروسيلات أي جزء من جسمك تقريبًا، بما في ذلك الجهاز التناسلي والكبد والقلب والجهاز العصبي المركزي. قد يُسبِّب داء البروسيلا المزمن مضاعفات في جهاز واحد فقط أو في جميع أجزاء الجسم. ومن مضاعفاته المحتملة ما يلي:

  • التهاب الغشاء الداخلي المبطن لحجرات القلب (الشغاف). هذا هو أخطر مضاعفات عدوى البروسيلات. يُمكن لالتهاب الشغاف غير المُعالَج أن يُتْلِف أو يُدَمِّر صمامات القلب، وهو السبب الرئيسي للوَفَيَات المرتبطة بعدوى البروسيلا.
  • التهاب المفاصل. من أعراض التهاب المفاصل الشعور بألم في المفاصل وتيبّسها وتورُّمها، وخاصة في الركبتين والوركين والكاحلين والمعصمين والعمود الفقري. قد يصعب علاج التهاب مفاصل العمود الفقري (التهاب الفقرات) أو المفاصل التي تربط بين أسفل العمود الفقري والحوض (التهاب المفصل العجزي الحرقفي)، وقد يُسبِّب ضررًا دائمًا.
  • الالتهاب والعدوى في الخصيتين (التهاب البربخ والخصية). يُمكن للبكتيريا التي تُسبِّب داء البروسيلا أن تُصيب البربخ؛ وهو الأنبوب الملتف الذي يربط بين الأسهر والخصية. من هناك، قد تنتشر العدوى إلى الخصية نفسها؛ مما يُسَبِّب تورمًا وألمًا، وقد تكون تلك الأعراض شديدة.
  • الالتهاب والعدوى في الطحال والكبد. يُمكن كذلك أن يؤثر داء البروسيلات على الطحال والكبد؛ فيزيد حجمهما عن الحجم الطبيعي.
  • عدوى الجهاز العصبي المركزي. يشمل ذلك الأمراض المحتملة التي تهدد الحياة؛ مثل التهاب الأغشية المحيطة بالدماغ والحبل النخاعي (التهاب السحايا)، أو التهاب الدماغ نفسه.

الوقاية

لتقليل خطر الإصابة بداء البروسيلات، اتبع هذه الاحتياطات:

  • تجنب الأطعمة التي تحتوي على منتجات الألبان غير المبسترة. في الأعوام الأخيرة في الولايات المتحدة، رُبطت بضع حالات من داء البروسيلات بتناول مشتقات حليب خام مأخوذة من قطعان محلية. ورغم ذلك، من الأفضل تجنب الحليب والجبن والآيس كريم غير المبستر أيًّا كان المصدر. وفي حالة سفرك إلى دول أخرى، تجنب الأطعمة المُصنَّعة من الألبان الخام.
  • اطه اللحوم جيدًا. اطه قطع اللحم كاملةً حتى تصل درجة حرارتها الداخلية إلى 145درجة فهرنهايت (63 درجة مئوية) ودعها ترتاح لمدة 3 دقائق على الأقل؛ بحيث تكون متوسطة النضج. واطه اللحم المفروم حتى تصل درجة حرارته إلى 160 فهرنهايت (71 درجة مئوية)؛ بحيث يكون مطهي جيدًا. واطه جميع الدواجن بما فيها الدواجن المفرومة حتى تصل درجة حرارتها إلى 165 فهرنهايت (74 درجة مئوية). وعند السفر خارج البلاد، تجنّب تناول اللحوم غير المطهية جيّدًا.
  • ارتد القفازات. إذا كنت طبيبًا بيطريًّا أو مزارعًا أو صيادًا أو من عمال المسالخ، ارتدِ قفازات مطاطية عند التعامل مع الحيوانات المريضة أو الميتة أو الأنسجة الحيوانية أو عند مساعدة الحيوان أثناء الولادة.
  • اتخذ احتياطات السلامة في أماكن العمل ذات المخاطر الأعلى بالإصابة. إذا كنت تعمل بمختبر، تعامل مع جميع العينات تحت ظروف تتميز بسلامة بيولوجية ملائمة. يجب أن تتبع المذابح تدابير وقائية، مثل الفصل بين المكان المخصص للذبح والمناطق المخصصة لمعالجة اللحوم، واستخدام الملابس الوقائية.
  • لقِّح الحيوانات المحلية. في الولايات المتحدة، نجح برنامج لقاح مكافح في القضاء تقريبًا على داء البروسيلات بين قطعان الماشية. ولأن لقاح داء البروسيلات لقاح حي، يمكنه أن يُسبب أمراضًا إذا تعرض له الإنسان. ويجب على أي شخص أن يخضع للعلاج في حالة وخزه دون قصد بحقنة أثناء تطعيم أحد الحيوانات.

25/09/2021
  1. Brucellosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/brucellosis/index.html. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  2. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Brucellosis. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Leukopenia (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Periodic fever (child). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Nonmenopausal flushing and sweating (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  6. Yang X. Brucellosis. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2019. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  7. Ryan, ET, et al., eds. Brucellosis. In: Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases. 10th ed. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 31, 2019.
  8. Safe minimum cooking temperatures. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. https://www.foodsafety.gov/food-safety-charts/safe-minimum-cooking-temperature. Accessed July 30, 2021.

ذات صلة

Products & Services

Overview

Brucellosis is a bacterial infection that spreads from animals to people. Most commonly, people are infected by eating raw or unpasteurized dairy products. Sometimes, the bacteria that cause brucellosis can spread through the air or through direct contact with infected animals.

Signs and symptoms of brucellosis may include fever, joint pain and fatigue. The infection can usually be treated with antibiotics. However, treatment takes several weeks to months, and the infection can recur.

Brucellosis affects hundreds of thousands of people and animals worldwide. Avoiding raw dairy products and taking precautions when working with animals or in a laboratory can help prevent brucellosis.

Symptoms

Symptoms of brucellosis may show up anytime from a few days to a few months after you've been infected. Signs and symptoms are similar to those of the flu and include:

  • Fever
  • Chills
  • Loss of appetite
  • Sweats
  • Weakness
  • Fatigue
  • Joint, muscle and back pain
  • Headache

Brucellosis symptoms may disappear for weeks or months and then return. Some people have chronic brucellosis and experience symptoms for years, even after treatment. Long-term signs and symptoms may include fatigue, recurrent fevers, arthritis, inflammation of the heart (endocarditis) and spondylitis — an inflammatory arthritis that affects the spine and nearby joints.

When to see a doctor

Brucellosis can be hard to identify, especially in the early stages, when it often resembles other conditions, such as the flu. See your doctor if you develop a rapidly rising fever, muscle aches or unusual weakness and have any risk factors for the disease, or if you have a persistent fever.

Causes

Brucellosis affects many wild and domestic animals, including:

  • Cattle
  • Goats
  • Sheep
  • Pigs and wild hogs
  • Dogs, especially those used in hunting
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Bison
  • Caribou
  • Moose
  • Camels

A form of brucellosis also affects harbor seals, porpoises and certain whales.

The most common ways that bacteria spread from animals to people are:

  • Eating raw dairy products. Brucella bacteria in the milk of infected animals can spread to humans in unpasteurized milk, ice cream, butter and cheeses. The bacteria can also be transmitted in raw or undercooked meat of infected animals.
  • Inhaling contaminated air. Brucella bacteria spread easily in the air. Farmers, hunters, laboratory technicians and slaughterhouse workers can inhale the bacteria.
  • Touching blood and body fluids of infected animals. Bacteria in the blood, semen or placenta of an infected animal can enter your bloodstream through a cut or other wound. Because normal contact with animals — touching, brushing or playing — doesn't cause infection, people rarely get brucellosis from their pets. Even so, people who have weakened immune systems should avoid handling dogs that are known to have the disease.

Brucellosis normally doesn't spread from person to person, but in a few cases, women have passed the disease to their children during birth or through their breast milk. Rarely, brucellosis may spread through sexual activity or through contaminated blood or bone marrow transfusions.

Risk factors

While brucellosis is rare in the United States, it is more common in other parts of the world, especially:

  • Southern Europe, including Portugal, Spain, Turkey, Italy, Greece, Southern France
  • Eastern Europe
  • Mexico, South and Central America
  • Asia
  • Africa
  • The Caribbean
  • The Middle East

People who live or travel in these areas are more likely to eat unpasteurized goat cheese, sometimes called village cheese.

Occupations at higher risk

People who work with animals or who come into contact with infected blood are at higher risk of brucellosis. Examples include:

  • Veterinarians
  • Dairy farmers
  • Ranchers
  • Slaughterhouse workers
  • Hunters
  • Microbiologists

Complications

Brucellosis can affect almost any part of your body, including your reproductive system, liver, heart and central nervous system. Chronic brucellosis may cause complications in just one organ or throughout your body. Possible complications include:

  • Infection of the heart's inner lining (endocarditis). This is one of the most serious complications of brucellosis. Untreated endocarditis can damage or destroy the heart valves and is the leading cause of brucellosis-related deaths.
  • Arthritis. Joint infection is marked by pain, stiffness and swelling in your joints, especially the knees, hips, ankles, wrists and spine. Spondylitis — inflammation of the joints between the bones (vertebrae) of your spine or between your spine and pelvis — can be particularly hard to treat and may cause lasting damage.
  • Inflammation and infection of the testicles (epididymo-orchitis). The bacteria that cause brucellosis can infect the epididymis, the coiled tube that connects the vas deferens and the testicle. From there, the infection may spread to the testicle itself, causing swelling and pain, which may be severe.
  • Inflammation and infection of the spleen and liver. Brucellosis can also affect the spleen and liver, causing them to enlarge beyond their normal size.
  • Central nervous system infections. These include potentially life-threatening illnesses such as meningitis, an inflammation of the membranes surrounding the brain and spinal cord, and encephalitis, inflammation of the brain itself.

Prevention

To reduce the risk of getting brucellosis, take these precautions:

  • Avoid unpasteurized dairy foods. In recent years in the United States, few cases of brucellosis have been linked to raw dairy products from domestic herds. Still, it's best to avoid unpasteurized milk, cheese and ice cream, no matter what their origin. If you're traveling to other countries, avoid all raw dairy foods.
  • Cook meat thoroughly. Cook all meat until it reaches an internal temperature of 145 to 165 F (63 to 74 C). When eating at a restaurant, order beef and pork at least medium-well. It's unlikely that domestic meat in the United States contains brucella bacteria, but proper cooking destroys other harmful bacteria such as salmonella and Escherichia coli. When traveling abroad, avoid buying meat from street vendors, and ask that all meat be cooked to well-done.
  • Wear gloves. If you're a veterinarian, farmer, hunter or slaughterhouse worker, wear rubber gloves when handling sick or dead animals or animal tissue or when assisting an animal giving birth.
  • Take safety precautions in high-risk workplaces. If you work in a laboratory, handle all specimens under appropriate biosafety conditions. Slaughterhouses should also follow protective measures, such as separating the killing floor from other processing areas and use of protective clothing.
  • Vaccinate domestic animals. In the United States, an aggressive vaccination program has nearly eliminated brucellosis in livestock herds. Because the brucellosis vaccine is live, it can cause disease in people. Anyone who has an accidental needle stick while vaccinating an animal should be treated.

Sept. 12, 2019
References
  1. Brucellosis. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/brucellosis/index.html. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  2. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Brucellosis. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Leukopenia (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Periodic fever (child). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Nonmenopausal flushing and sweating (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  6. Yang X. Brucellosis. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2019. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 19, 2019.
  7. Ryan, ET, et al., eds. Brucellosis. In: Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases. 10th ed. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 31, 2019.
  8. Safe minimum cooking temperatures. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. https://www.foodsafety.gov/food-safety-charts/safe-minimum-cooking-temperature. Accessed July 19, 2019.

Related

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services