نظرة عامة

التليف الكيسي هو اضطراب موروث يُلحق ضررًا شديدًا بالرئتين والجهاز الهضمي وأعضاء أخرى في الجسم.

يُؤثر التليف الكيسي على الخلايا التي تُنتج المخاط والعرق والعصارات الهاضمة. عادة ما تكون السوائل المُفرزة هذه خفيفة وزلقة. ولكن بالنسبة للأفراد المصابين بالتليف الكيسي، فإن الجين المعيب يَتسبب في جعل الإفرازات لزجة وسميكة. وبدلًا من أن تلعب الإفرازات دور المُزلق، فإنها تَسد الأنابيب والقنوات والممرات، وخاصة في الرئتين والبنكرياس.

على الرغم من أن التليف الكيسي يَتطلب رعاية يومية، فإن الأشخاص المصابين به عادة ما يمكنهم الذهاب إلى المدرسة والعمل، وغالبًا ما يَتمتعون بنوعية حياة أفضل من الأشخاص الذين أُصيبوا به في العقود السابقة. وقد أدت التحسينات التي أُجريت في مجال الفحوص والعلاجات اليوم إلى احتمالية بقاء الأشخاص المصابين بالتليف الكيسي على قيد الحياة حتى بلوغ منتصف الثلاثينات إلى أواخر الثلاثينات، في المتوسط، وبعضهم قد يَعيش إلى الأربعينات والخمسينات.

الأعراض

فحص حديثو الولادة بحثًا عن التليف الكيسي يجرى حاليًا في كل ولاية. كنتيجة لذلك يمكن تشخيص الحالة في خلال الشهر الأول من عمر الطفل قبل تطور الأعراض. بالنسبة للأشخاص المولودين قبل إجراء اختبارات حديثي الولادة من الضروري المعرفة بعلامات وأعراض التليف الكيسي.

علامات وأعراض التليف الكيسي تتنوع بناء على حدة المرض. حتى في نفس الشخص قد تزداد الأعراض سوءًا أو تتحسن مع مرور الوقت. قد لا يختبر بعض الأشخاص أعراضًا حتى فترة المراهقة أو البلوغ.

الأشخاص المصابين بالتليف الكيسي لديهم مستويات أعلى من الطبيعي من الملح في عرقهم. يمكن للآباء عادة تذوق الملح عنما يقبلون أبنائهم. معظم العلامات والأعراض الأخرى للتليف الكيسي تؤثر على الجهاز التنفسي والجهاز الهضمي. على العموم الأشخاص المصابين بالتليف الكيسي هم أكثر عرضة لحدوث أعراض غير تقليدية مثل نوبات متكررة من التهاب البنكرياس (التهاب البنكرياس)، والعقم والالتهاب الرئوي.

العلامات والأعراض التنفسية

المخاط السميك واللزج المصاحب للتليف الكيسي يسد الأنابيب الحاملة للهواء من وإلى رئتيك. يمكن لهذا التسبب في علامات وأعراض مثل:

  • الكحة المستمرة التي تنتج المخاط السميك (البلغم)
  • صفير الصدر
  • انقطاع النفس
  • عدم القدرة على التمرين
  • التهابات المثانة المُكرِّرة
  • الممرات الأنفية الملتهبة أو الأنف الممتلئ

العلامات والأعراض الهضمية

المخاط السميك يمكنه أيضًا سد الأنابيب التي تحمل الإنزيمات الهضمية من بنكرياسك وإلى أمعاءك الدقيقة. بدون هذه الإنزيمات الهضمية لن تتمكن أمعاءك من امتصاص العناصر المغذية في الطعام الذي تتناوله تمامًا. تكون النتيجة عادة:

  • رائحة كريهة، وبراز دهني
  • ضعف في اكتساب الوزن والنمو
  • انسداد في الأمعاء وخاصة في حديثي الولادة (انسداد الأمعاء العقي)
  • إمساك حاد

الحزق المستمر أثناء إخراج البراز يمكنه التسبب في بروز المستقيم — نهاية الأمعاء الغليظة — خارج الشرج (الهبوط الشرجي). عندما يحدث هذا في الأطفال قد يكون علامة على التليف الكيسي. ينبغي على الوالدين استشارة طبيب على دراية بالتليف الكيسي. هبوط المستقيم في الأطفال قد يتطلب جراحة في بعض الأحيان. هبوط المستقيم في الأطفال المصابين بالتليف الكيسي أقل شيوعًا مما قبل، الأمر الذي قد يرجع إلى الاختبارات والتشخيص والعلاج المبكر للتليف الكيسي.

متى تزور الطبيب

إذا كانت لديك أنت أو طفلك أعراض التليف الكيسي — أو شخص في عائلتك مصاب بالتليف الكيسي — فتحدث مع طبيبك عن الفحص للمرض.

اطلب رعايةٍ طبيةٍ عاجلةٍ إذا أصبت أنت أو طفلك بصعوبة في التنفس.

الأسباب

في التليف الكيسي يغير عيب في جين (طفرة) البروتين الذي ينظم حركة الملح من وإلى الخلايا. النتيجة مخاط سميك ولزج في أجهزتك التنفسية والهضمية والتناسلية بالإضافة إلى زيادة الملح في العرق.

يمكن للكثير من العيوب الظهور في الجينات. نوع طفرة الجينات مرتبطة بحدة الحالة.

يحتاج الأطفال لوراثة نسخة واحدة من الجين من كل والد للإصابة بالمرض. إذا ورث الأطفال نسخة واحدة فلن يصابوا بالتليف الكيسي. على العموم سيصبحون حاملين للمرض وقد ينقلون الجين لأطفالهم هم.

عوامل الخطر

  • تاريخ العائلة. لأن التليُّف الكيسي هو اضطراب وراثي، فإنه يُوَرَّث في العائلات.
  • العِرق. على الرغم من أن التليُّف الكيسي يَحدُث في جميع الأجناس، فإنه أكثر شيوعًا عند الأشخاص البيض من أصل أوروبي شمالي.

المضاعفات

مضاعفات الجهاز التنفسي

  • ممرات الهواء التالفة (توسع الشعب). التليف الكيسي هو أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لتوسع الشعب، وهو مرض يضر بالممرات الهوائية. يصعب هذا حركة الهواء داخل الرئتين وخارجهما وإخلاء الممرات الهوائية (أنابيب الشعب الهوائية) من المخاط.
  • حالات العدوى المزمنة. يوفر المخاط السميك في الرئتين والجيوب أرضية مثالية لتكاثر البكتيريا والفطريات. الأشخاص الذين يعانون من التليف الكيسي غالبًا ما يعانون حالات عدوى الجيوب، والتهاب الشعب الهوائية أو الالتهاب الرئوي.
  • نمو ورم في الأنف (السلائل الأنفية). لأن البطانة داخل الأنف ملتهبة ومتورمة، فإنه يمكنها تطوير أورام لينة ولحمية (سلائل).
  • سعال الدم (نفث الدم). مع مرور الوقت، يمكن للتليف الكيسي أن يسبب ترقق جدران ممرات الهواء. ونتيجة لذلك، قد يعاني المراهقون والبالغون المصابون بأمراض التليف الكيسي من سعال الدم.
  • استرواح الصدر. يعد هذا المرض، الذي يتجمع فيه الهواء في المساحة التي تفصل بين الرئتين وجدار الصدر، أكثر شيوعًا في كبار السن المصابين بالتليف الكيسي. يمكن لاسترواح الصدر أن يسبب ألمًا في الصدر وضيقًا في التنفس.
  • فشل الجهاز التنفسي. مع مرور الوقت، يمكن للتليف الكيسي أن يتلف أنسجة الرئة بدرجة تعطل عملها. وتسوء وظيفة الرئة عادة تدريجيًا، ويمكن في النهاية أن يصبح الأمر مهددًا للحياة.
  • التفاقم الحاد للأعراض. قد يعاني الأشخاص المصابون بالتليف الكيسي من تفاقم أعراض الجهاز التنفسي، مثل السعال وضيق في التنفس، من عدة أيام إلى أسابيع. ويعرف هذا بالتفاقم الحاد ويتطلب العلاج في المستشفى.

مضاعفات الجهاز الهضمي

  • نقص التغذية. يمكن للمخاط السميك أن يسد الأنابيب التي تنقل إنزيمات الجهاز الهضمي من البنكرياس إلى الأمعاء. من دون هذه الإنزيمات، لا يمكن أن يمتص جسدك البروتين أو الدهون أو الفيتامينات الذائبة في الدهون.
  • داء السكري. ينتج البنكرياس الأنسولين، الذي يحتاجه جسمك لاستهلاك السكر. يزيد التليف الكيسي من خطر الإصابة بمرض السكري. يصاب حوالي 30 في المائة من الأشخاص المصابين بالتليف الكيسي بمرض السكري في سن 30.
  • انسداد القناة الصفراوية. الأنبوب الذي يحمل الصفراء من الكبد والمرارة إلى الأمعاء الدقيقة قد يصبح مسدودًا وملتهبًا، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى مشاكل في الكبد وأحيانًا حصى في المرارة.
  • الانسداد المعوي. يمكن أن يحدث الانسداد المعوي للأشخاص المصابين بالتليف الكيسي في جميع الأعمار. الأطفال والبالغون المصابون بالتليف الكيسي أكثر عرضة من الرضع للإصابة بالانغلاف، وهو مرض ينطوي فيه جزء من الأمعاء إلى الداخل على نفسه مثل الأكورديون.
  • متلازمة انسداد الأمعاء البعيدة (DIOS). متلازمة انسداد الأمعاء البعيدة هي انسداد جزئي أو كامل في مكان التقاء الأمعاء الدقيقة بالأمعاء الغليظة.

مضاعفات النظام التناسلي

يصاب تقريبًا جميع الرجال المصابين بالتليف الكيسي بالعقم لأن الأنبوب الذي يربط الخصيتين وغدة البروستاتا (القناة الناقلة للمني) مسدود بالمخاط أو غير موجود أصلاً. بعض علاجات الخصوبة والإجراءات الجراحية تزيد من إمكانية أن يصبح مرضى التليف الكيسي من الرجال آباءً بيولوجيين.

على الرغم من أن النساء المصابات بالتليف الكيسي قد يكن أقل خصوبة من النساء الأخريات، فمن الممكن لهن الحمل والولادة بشكل ناجح. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يؤدي الحمل إلى تفاقم علامات وأعراض التليف الكيسي، لذا تأكد من مناقشة المخاطر المحتملة مع طبيبك.

مضاعفات أخرى

  • ترقق العظام (هشاشة العظام). الأشخاص المصابون بالتليف الكيسي هم أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بترقق خطير في العظام.
  • اختلالات توازن الكهارل والجفاف. لأن الأشخاص المصابين بالتليف الكيسي ينتجون عرقًا مالحًا، فقد يكون توازن المعادن في دمهم مختلاً. وتشمل الأعراض والمظاهر زيادة معدل ضربات القلب والإرهاق والضعف وانخفاض ضغط الدم.

الوقاية

إذا كنت أنتِ أو شريكك لديكما أقارب يعانون التليف الكيسي، فكلاكما قد تحتاجان إلى الخضوع لاختبار جيني قبل الإنجاب. يمكن أن يُساعد الاختبار، الذي يتم في المختبر على عينة من الدم، في تحديد مدى خطر ولادة طفل يعاني التليف الكيسي.

إذا كنتِ بالفعل حاملاً ويظهر الاختبار الجيني أن طفلك قد يكون عُرضةً لخطر الإصابة بالتليف الكيسي، فعندئذٍ يمكن لطبيبك إجراء اختبارات إضافية على الطفل في طور النمو.

الاختبارات الجينية غير متاحة لجميع الأشخاص. قبل أن تقرر القيام بالفحص، يجب عليك التحدث إلى أحد استشاريي الوراثيات حول الأثر النفسي الذي قد تحمله نتائج الاختبار.

التليف الكيسي - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

13/10/2016
  1. What is cystic fibrosis (ما هو التليف الكيسي)؟ National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (المعهد القومي لأمراض القلب والرئة والدم). http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/cf. تم الوصول في 1من يوليو 2016.
  2. Goldman L, et al., eds. التليف الكيسي. في: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa. (الإصدار الخامس والعشرون، فيلادلفيا، بنسلفانيا): Saunders Elsevier؛ 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. تم الوصول 13 من أبريل، 2016.
  3. Kliegman RM, et al. التليف الكيسي. في: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics (كتاب نيلسون عن طب الأطفال). 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa. (الإصدار العشرون، فيلادلفيا، بنسلفانيا): Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. تم الوصول 13 من أبريل، 2016.
  4. National Library of Medicine (المكتبة الوطنية لعلم الطب). التليف الكيسي. Genetics Home Reference (المرجع الرئيسي للوراثيات). https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/cystic-fibrosis. تم الوصول في 3 من مايو 2016.
  5. What is bronchiectasis (ما هو توسع الشعب)؟ National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (المعهد القومي لأمراض القلب والرئة والدم). http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/brn. تم الوصول 13 من أبريل، 2016.
  6. تطبيق AskMayoExpert. التليف الكيسي. روتشستر، مينيسوتا: مؤسسة Mayo (مايو) للتعليم والأبحاث الطبية؛ 2016.
  7. Katkin JP. التليف الكيسي: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis (المظاهر السريرية والتشخيص). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الوصول 13 من أبريل، 2016.
  8. Katkin JP. التليف الكيسي: Genetics and pathogenesis (العوامل الوراثية ونشوء المرض). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الوصول في 28 من أبريل 2016.
  9. Anatomic problems of the lower GI tract (المشاكل التشريحية لقناة الجهاز الهضمي السفلية). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (المعهد القومي لداء السكري وأمراض الجهاز الهضمي والكلى). https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/digestive-diseases/anatomic-colon/Pages/facts.aspx#Intussusception. تم الوصول في 24 من يونيو 2016.
  10. Simon RH. التليف الكيسي: Overview of the treatment of lung disease (نظرة عامة لعلاج مرض الرئتين). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الوصول 13 من أبريل، 2016.
  11. Simon RH, et al. التليف الكيسي: Investigational therapies (علاجات خاضعة للبحث). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الوصول في 28 من يونيو 2016.
  12. Quon BS, et al. New and emerging targeted therapies for cystic fibrosis (العلاجات الموجهة المدمجة والجديدة لعلاج التليف الكيسي). BMJ. 2016;352:i859.
  13. Elborn JS. التليف الكيسي. Lancet. قيد الطباعة. تم الوصول في 15 من يونيو 2016.
  14. Orkambi (معلومات وصف الدواء). Boston, Mass.: Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc.; 2016. http://pi.vrtx.com/files/uspi_lumacaftor_ivacaftor.pdf. تم الوصول في 30 من يونيو 2016.
  15. Riggin ER. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic، روتشستر، مينيسوتا. 8 من أبريل 2016.
  16. Erasmus DB (رأي خبير). Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)، جاكسونفيل، فلوريدا. 4 من أغسطس 2016.

Overview

Cystic fibrosis (CF) is an inherited disorder that causes severe damage to the lungs, digestive system and other organs in the body.

Cystic fibrosis affects the cells that produce mucus, sweat and digestive juices. These secreted fluids are normally thin and slippery. But in people with CF, a defective gene causes the secretions to become sticky and thick. Instead of acting as lubricants, the secretions plug up tubes, ducts and passageways, especially in the lungs and pancreas.

Although cystic fibrosis is progressive and requires daily care, people with CF are usually able to attend school and work. They often have a better quality of life than people with CF had in previous decades. Improvements in screening and treatments mean that people with CF now may live into their mid- to late 30s or 40s, and some are living into their 50s.

Symptoms

In the U.S., because of newborn screening, cystic fibrosis can be diagnosed within the first month of life, before symptoms develop. But people born before newborn screening became available may not be diagnosed until the signs and symptoms of CF show up.

Cystic fibrosis signs and symptoms vary, depending on the severity of the disease. Even in the same person, symptoms may worsen or improve as time passes. Some people may not experience symptoms until their teenage years or adulthood. People who are not diagnosed until adulthood usually have milder disease and are more likely to have atypical symptoms, such as recurring bouts of an inflamed pancreas (pancreatitis), infertility and recurring pneumonia.

People with cystic fibrosis have a higher than normal level of salt in their sweat. Parents often can taste the salt when they kiss their children. Most of the other signs and symptoms of CF affect the respiratory system and digestive system.

Respiratory signs and symptoms

The thick and sticky mucus associated with cystic fibrosis clogs the tubes that carry air in and out of your lungs. This can cause signs and symptoms such as:

  • A persistent cough that produces thick mucus (sputum)
  • Wheezing
  • Exercise intolerance
  • Repeated lung infections
  • Inflamed nasal passages or a stuffy nose
  • Recurrent sinusitis

Digestive signs and symptoms

The thick mucus can also block tubes that carry digestive enzymes from your pancreas to your small intestine. Without these digestive enzymes, your intestines aren't able to completely absorb the nutrients in the food you eat. The result is often:

  • Foul-smelling, greasy stools
  • Poor weight gain and growth
  • Intestinal blockage, particularly in newborns (meconium ileus)
  • Chronic or severe constipation, which may include frequent straining while trying to pass stool, eventually causing part of the rectum to protrude outside the anus (rectal prolapse)

When to see a doctor

If you or your child has symptoms of cystic fibrosis — or if someone in your family has CF — talk with your doctor about testing for the disease. Consult a physician who is knowledgeable about CF.

Cystic fibrosis requires consistent, regular follow-up with your doctor, at least every three months. Contact you doctor if you experience new or worsening symptoms, such as more mucus than usual or a change in the mucus color, lack of energy, weight loss, or severe constipation.

Seek immediate medical care if you're coughing up blood, have chest pain or difficulty breathing, or have severe stomach pain and distention.

Causes

In cystic fibrosis, a defect (mutation) in a gene — the cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator (CFTR) gene — changes a protein that regulates the movement of salt in and out of cells. The result is thick, sticky mucus in the respiratory, digestive and reproductive systems, as well as increased salt in sweat.

Many different defects can occur in the gene. The type of gene mutation is associated with the severity of the condition.

Children need to inherit one copy of the gene from each parent in order to have the disease. If children inherit only one copy, they won't develop cystic fibrosis. However, they will be carriers and could pass the gene to their own children.

Risk factors

Because cystic fibrosis is an inherited disorder, it runs in families, so family history is a risk factor. Although CF occurs in all races, it's most common in white people of Northern European ancestry.

Complications

Complications of cystic fibrosis can affect the respiratory, digestive and reproductive systems, as well as other organs.

Respiratory system complications

  • Damaged airways (bronchiectasis). Cystic fibrosis is one of the leading causes of bronchiectasis, a chronic lung condition with abnormal widening and scarring of the airways (bronchial tubes). This makes it harder to move air in and out of the lungs and clear mucus from the bronchial tubes.
  • Chronic infections. Thick mucus in the lungs and sinuses provides an ideal breeding ground for bacteria and fungi. People with cystic fibrosis may often have sinus infections, bronchitis or pneumonia. Infection with bacteria that is resistant to antibiotics and difficult to treat is common.
  • Growths in the nose (nasal polyps). Because the lining inside the nose is inflamed and swollen, it can develop soft, fleshy growths (polyps).
  • Coughing up blood (hemoptysis). Bronchiectasis can occur next to blood vessels in the lungs. The combination of airway damage and infection can result in coughing up blood. Often this is only a small amount of blood, but it can also be life-threatening.
  • Pneumothorax. In this condition, air leaks into the space that separates the lungs from the chest wall, and part or all of a lung collapses. This is more common in adults with cystic fibrosis. Pneumothorax can cause sudden chest pain and breathlessness. People often feel a bubbling sensation in the chest.
  • Respiratory failure. Over time, cystic fibrosis can damage lung tissue so badly that it no longer works. Lung function usually worsens gradually, and it eventually can become life-threatening. Respiratory failure is the most common cause of death.
  • Acute exacerbations. People with cystic fibrosis may experience worsening of their respiratory symptoms, such as coughing with more mucus and shortness of breath. This is called an acute exacerbation and requires treatment with antibiotics. Sometimes treatment can be provided at home, but hospitalization may be needed. Decreased energy and weight loss also are common during exacerbations.

Digestive system complications

  • Nutritional deficiencies. Thick mucus can block the tubes that carry digestive enzymes from your pancreas to your intestines. Without these enzymes, your body can't absorb protein, fats or fat-soluble vitamins, so you can't get enough nutrients. This can result in delayed growth, weight loss or inflammation of the pancreas.
  • Diabetes. The pancreas produces insulin, which your body needs to use sugar. Cystic fibrosis increases the risk of diabetes. About 20% of teenagers and 40% to 50% of adults with CF develop diabetes.
  • Liver disease. The tube that carries bile from your liver and gallbladder to your small intestine may become blocked and inflamed. This can lead to liver problems, such as jaundice, fatty liver disease and cirrhosis — and sometimes gallstones.
  • Intestinal obstruction. Intestinal blockage can happen to people with cystic fibrosis at all ages. Intussusception, a condition in which a segment of the intestine slides inside an adjacent section of the intestine like a collapsible telescope, also can occur.
  • Distal intestinal obstruction syndrome (DIOS). DIOS is partial or complete obstruction where the small intestine meets the large intestine. DIOS requires urgent treatment.

Reproductive system complications

  • Infertility in men. Almost all men with cystic fibrosis are infertile because the tube that connects the testes and prostate gland (vas deferens) is either blocked with mucus or missing entirely. Certain fertility treatments and surgical procedures sometimes make it possible for men with CF to become biological fathers.
  • Reduced fertility in women. Although women with cystic fibrosis may be less fertile than other women, it's possible for them to conceive and to have successful pregnancies. Still, pregnancy can worsen the signs and symptoms of CF, so be sure to discuss the possible risks with your doctor.

Other complications

  • Thinning of the bones (osteoporosis). People with cystic fibrosis are at higher risk of developing a dangerous thinning of bones. They may also experience joint pain, arthritis and muscle pain.
  • Electrolyte imbalances and dehydration. Because people with cystic fibrosis have saltier sweat, the balance of minerals in their blood may be upset. This makes them prone to dehydration, especially with exercise or in hot weather. Signs and symptoms include increased heart rate, fatigue, weakness and low blood pressure.
  • Mental health problems. Dealing with a chronic illness that has no cure may cause fear, depression and anxiety.

Prevention

If you or your partner has close relatives with cystic fibrosis, you both may choose to have genetic testing before having children. The test, which is performed in a lab on a sample of blood, can help determine your risk of having a child with CF.

If you're already pregnant and the genetic test shows that your baby may be at risk of cystic fibrosis, your doctor can conduct additional tests on your developing child.

Genetic testing isn't for everyone. Before you decide to be tested, you should talk to a genetic counselor about the psychological impact the test results might carry.

Cystic fibrosis care at Mayo Clinic

March 14, 2020
  1. Symdeko (prescribing information). Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc.; 2019. https://www.symdeko.com/how-symdeko-works. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  2. Kalydeco (prescribing information). Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc.; 2019. https://www.kalydeco.com/. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  3. Orkambi (prescribing information). Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc.; 2018. https://www.orkambi.com/. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  4. Chest physiotherapy compared to no chest physiotherapy for cystic fibrosis. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2015; doi:10.1002/14651858.CD001401.pub3.
  5. Cystic fibrosis. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/cystic-fibrosis. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  6. Cystic fibrosis. Genetics Home Reference. https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/cystic-fibrosis. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  7. AskMayoExpert. Cystic fibrosis. Mayo Clinic; 2017.
  8. Bronchiectasis. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/bronchiectasis. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  9. Rafeeq MM, et al. Cystic fibrosis: Current therapeutic targets and future approaches. Journal of Translational Medicine. 2017; doi:10.1186/s12967-017-1193-9.
  10. Cystic fibrosis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/cystic-fibrosis-cf/cystic-fibrosis. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  11. Frequently asked questions: Pregnancy FAQ171: Cystic fibrosis: Prenatal screening and diagnosis. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Patients/FAQs/Cystic-Fibrosis-Prenatal-Screening-and-Diagnosis?IsMobileSet=false. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  12. Simon RH. Cystic fibrosis: Treatment with CFTR modulators. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  13. Simon RH. Cystic fibrosis: Overview of treatment of lung disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 1, 2019.
  14. Solomon M, et al. Nutritional issues in cystic fibrosis. Clinics in Chest Medicine. 2016; doi:10.1016/j.ccm.2015.11.009.
  15. Savant AP, et al. Cystic fibrosis year in review 2018, part 1. Pediatric Pulmonology. 2019; doi:10.1002/ppul.24361.
  16. Savant AP, et al. Cystic fibrosis year in review 2018, part 2. Pediatric Pulmonology. 2019; doi:10.1002/ppul.24365.
  17. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. June 14, 2019.
  18. Drug trials snapshots: Trikafta. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/drug-trials-snapshots-trikafta. Accessed Dec. 21, 2019.
  19. Trikafta (prescribing information). Vertex Pharmaceuticals Inc.; 2019. https://www.trikaftahcp.com/. Accessed Nov. 5, 2019.
  20. Boesch RP (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 11, 2019.
  21. Kayani K, et al. Cystic fibrosis-related diabetes. Frontiers in Endocrinology. 2018; doi:10.3389/fendo.2018.00020.
  22. van de Peppel IP, et al. Diagnosis, follow-up and treatment of cystic fibrosis-related liver disease. Current Opinion in Pulmonary Medicine. 2017; doi:10.1097/MCP.0000000000000428.
  23. Care centers. Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. https://www.cff.org/Care/Care-Centers/. Accessed Nov. 20, 2019.
  24. Moran F, et al. Non-invasive ventilation for cystic fibrosis. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2017; doi:10.1002/14651858.CD002769.pub5.

Related

Associated Procedures

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services