نظرة عامة

إن ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي يجعل البدن يمتص قدرًا كبيرًا جدًا من الحديد من طعامك الذي تتناوله. حيث يتم تخزين الحديد الزائد في الأعضاء، خصوصًا في الكبد، والقلب والبنكرياس. يمكن أن يتسبب الكثير من الحديد في حدوث حالات مرضية تهدد الحياة، مثل أمراض الكبد، ومشاكل القلب والسكري.

تكون الجينات المسببة ترسب الأصبغة الدموية موروثة، ولكن قلة فقط من الناس الذين لديهم الجينات يعانون مشاكل خطيرة. وعادة ما تظهر علامات ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي وأعراضه في منتصف العمر.

يشمل العلاج إزالة الدم بانتظام من جسمك. ولأن الكثير من الحديد في الجسم يوجد في خلايا الدم الحمراء، فإن هذا العلاج يقلل من مستويات الحديد.

الأعراض

لا تظهر أعراض مطلقًا على بعض الأشخاص المصابين بداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي. غالبًا ما تتداخل العلامات والأعراض المبكرة مع حالات مرضية أخرى شائعة.

قد تشمل العلامات والأعراض ما يلي:

  • ألم المفاصل
  • ألم البطن
  • الإرهاق
  • الضعف
  • السكري
  • فقد الدافع الجنسي
  • الضعف الجنسي
  • فشل القلب
  • فشل الكبد
  • جلدًا برونزيًّا أو رمادي اللون
  • تشويش الذاكرة

متى تظهر العلامات والأعراض عادةً

يَظهر داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي عند الميلاد. لكن، لا تَظهر الأعراض والمُؤشِّرات عند معظم الأشخاص حتى وقت لاحق من العمر — عادةً بعد سن الـ 40 في الرجال وبعد سن الـ 60 في النساء. تَظهر الأعراض غالبًا عند النساء بعد انقطاع الطمث، فعندها لا يفقدن الحديد أثناء الحمل أو الحيض.

متى تزور الطبيب

بادر بزيارة طبيبك إذا كنت تعاني أي من علامات داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموي الوراثي وأعراضه. إذا كان أحد أفراد الأسرة المباشرين لديك مصابًا بداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموي الوراثي، فاسأل طبيبك عن الاستشارات الوراثية التي يمكنها تحديد ما إذا كنت قد ورثت الجين الذي يزيد من خطر الإصابة بداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموي الوراثي.

الأسباب

ينتج داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي عن طفرة في جين يتحكم في كمية الحديد التي يمتصها الجسم من الطعام الذي تتناوله. تُوَرّث هذه الطفرات من الآباء إلى الأطفال. هذا النوع من داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية هو أكثر الأنواع شيوعًا.

الطفرات الجينية التي تسبب داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية

غالبًا ما يكون الجين المسمى HFE هو سبب داء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي. أنت ترث جين HFE واحد من كل من والديك. يحتوي جين HFE على طفرتين شائعتين، هما C282Y وH63D. يمكن أن يكشف اختبار الجينات ما إذا كان لديك هذه الطفرات في جين HFE.

  • إذا كنت قد ورِثت جينين غير طبيعيين، فقد تُصاب بداء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية. يمكنك أيضًا نقل الطَّفرة إلى أطفالك. ولكن، ليس كل من يرِث جينين يطوِّر مشاكل مرتبطة بفرط تحميل الحديد في داء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية.
  • إذا كنت قد ورِثت جين واحد غير طبيعي، فمن غير المحتمَل أن تصاب بداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية. ومع ذلك، تُعَد حاملًا للصفة الوراثية ويمكن أن تنقلها إلى أطفالك. لكن أطفالك لن يصابوا بالمرض ما لم يرثوا أيضًا جينًا غير طبيعي آخر من الوالِد الآخر.

كيفية تأثير داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموي في الأعضاء

يلعب الحديد دورًا أساسيًّا في العديد من وظائف الجسم، بما في ذلك المساعدة في تكوين الدم. ولكن، فرط الحديد سام.

يتحكم هرمون يسمى الهيبسيدين، يفرزه الكبد، عادة في كيفية استخدام الحديد وامتصاصه في الجسم، وكذلك كيفية تخزين الحديد الزائد في مختلف الأعضاء. في داء ترسب الأصبِغة الدموية، يتم تعطيل الدور الطبيعي للهيبسيدين؛ مما يجعل جسمك يمتص المزيد من الحديد الذي يحتاجُه.

يتم تخزين هذا الحديد الزائد في الأعضاء الرئيسة، وخاصة الكبد. على مدى سنوات، يمكن أن يسبِّب الحديد المخزَّن أضرارًا شديدة قد تؤدي إلى فشل الأعضاء والأمراض المزمنة، مثل تشمع الكبد والسُّكَّري وفشل عضلة القلب. على الرُّغم من أن العديد من الأشخاص لديهم جينات معيبة تسبب داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية، فإن حوالي 10 بالمائة منهم فقط يعانون من فرط تحميل الحديد إلى درجة تسبب تلَف الأنسجة والأعضاء.

داء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي ليس النوع الوحيد من داء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية. تتضمن الأنواع الأخرى؛ ما يلي:

  • داء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية اليفعي. هذا يسبب نفس المشاكل لدى الشباب التي يسببها داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي لدى البالغين. لكن تراكم الحديد يبدأ قبل ذلك بكثير، وعادة ما تظهر الأعراض بين سن 15 و30. يحدث هذا الاضطراب بسبَب الطفرات في جينات الهيموجوفيلين أو الهيبسيدين.
  • داء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية الوليدي. في هذا الاضطراب الشديد، يتراكم الحديد بسرعة في كبد الجنين النامي. يُعتقد أنه مرض في المناعة الذاتية، يهاجم فيه الجسم نفسه.
  • داء ترسُّب الأصبغة الدموية الثانوي. هذا النوع من المرَض غير وراثي ويشار إليه غالبًا باسم فرط تحميل الحديد. قد يحتاج الأشخاص المصابون بأنواع معينة من فقر الدم أو أمراض الكبد المزمنة إلى عمليات نقل دم متعدِّدة؛ مما قد يؤدي إلى تراكُم الحديد الزائد.

عوامل الخطر

تتضمن العوامل التي تزيد من خطر الإصابة داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي، ما يلي:

  • وجود نسختين من جين HFE المتحول. وهذا عامل شديد الخطورة للإصابة بداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي.
  • التاريخ العائلي. في حالة وجود قريب من الدرجة الأولى، كالوالدين أو الأشقاء، مصاب بداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي، تترجح إصابة الشخص بهذا المرض.
  • الانتماء العرقي. يتصف الأفراد المنحدرون من أصول شمال أوروبية بأنهم أكثر عرضة لداء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي مقارنة بغيرهم من الخلفيات العرقية الأخرى. ويقل انتشار داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي في الأمريكيين من أصول أفريقية والهسبان والأمريكيين من أصول آسيوية.
  • جنسك. تترجح إصابة الرجال أكثر من النساء بعلامات وأعراض داء ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي في مرحلة مبكرة. ولأن النساء يفقدن الحديد في أثناء الحيض والحمل، تميل إلى تخزين معادن أقل من الرجال. وبعد انقطاع الطمث أو استئصال الرحم، تزيد الخطورة لدى النساء.

المضاعفات

يمكن أن يؤدي ترسب الأصبغة الدموية الوراثي غير الخاضع للعلاج إلى عدد من المضاعفات، وخاصةً في المفاصل والأعضاء حيث يميل الكثير من الحديد إلى التخزين، وكذلك الكبد والبنكرياس والقلب. يمكن أن تتضمن المضاعفات ما يلي:

  • مشكلات الكبد. يُعد التشمع، الندبات المستمرة بالكبد، واحدًا من المشكلات التي يمكن أن تحدث. ويزيد التشمع خطر الإصابة بسرطان الكبد وغيره من المضاعفات التي تهدد البقاء قيد الحياة.
  • مشكلات البنكرياس. يمكن أن يؤدي تلف البنكرياس إلى الإصابة بالداء السكري.
  • مشاكل القلب. توثر زيادة الحديد في القلب على قدرة القلب على دفع الدم الكافي عبر الدورة الدموية لتلبية احتياجات الجسم. ويسمَّى هذا بفشل القلب الاحتقاني. يمكن أن يؤدي أيضًا ترسب الأصبغة الدموية إلى شذوذ في نظم القلب (اضطراب نظم القلب).
  • مشكلات تناسلية. يمكن أن يؤدي فرط الحديد إلى ضعف الانتصاب (الضعف الجنسي) وفقدان الدافع الجنسي لدى الرجال وغياب دورة الحيض لدى النساء.
  • تغييرات في لون الجلد. يمكن أن تؤدي ترسبات الحديد في خلايا البشرة إلى ظهور البشرة بلون برونزي أو رمادي.

07/05/2020
  1. Ferri FF. Hemochromatosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2016. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 5, 2015.
  2. Crownover BK, et al. Hereditary hemochromatosis. American Family Physician. 2013;87:183.
  3. Salgia RJ, et al. Diagnosis and management of hereditary hemochromatosis. Clinics in Liver Disease. 2015;19:187.
  4. Hemochromatosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/liver-disease/hemochromatosis/Pages/facts.aspx. Accessed Sept. 5, 2015.
  5. What is hemochromatosis? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/hemo/#. Accessed Sept. 5, 2015.
  6. Guidance for industry — Variances for blood collection from individuals with hereditary hemochromatosis. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/biologicsbloodvaccines/guidancecomplianceregulatoryinformation/guidances/blood/ucm076719.htm. Accessed Sept. 5, 2015.
  7. Picco MF (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla. Sept. 24, 2015.

ذات صلة

Products & Services

Overview

Hemochromatosis (he-moe-kroe-muh-TOE-sis) causes your body to absorb too much iron from the food you eat. Excess iron is stored in your organs, especially your liver, heart and pancreas. Too much iron can lead to life-threatening conditions, such as liver disease, heart problems and diabetes.

There are a few types of hemochromatosis, but the most common type is caused by a gene change passed down through families. Only a few people who have the genes ever develop serious problems. Symptoms usually appear in midlife.

Treatment includes regularly removing blood from your body. Because much of the body's iron is contained in red blood cells, this treatment lowers iron levels.

Symptoms

Some people with hemochromatosis never have symptoms. Early symptoms often overlap with those of other common conditions.

Symptoms may include:

  • Joint pain.
  • Abdominal pain.
  • Fatigue.
  • Weakness.
  • Diabetes.
  • Loss of sex drive.
  • Impotence.
  • Heart failure.
  • Liver failure.
  • Bronze or gray skin color.
  • Memory fog.

When symptoms typically appear

The most common type of hemochromatosis is present at birth. But most people don't experience symptoms until later in life — usually after age 40 in men and after age 60 in women. Women are more likely to develop symptoms after menopause, when they no longer lose iron with menstruation and pregnancy.

When to see a doctor

See your health care provider if you experience any of the symptoms of hemochromatosis. If you have an immediate family member who has hemochromatosis, ask your provider about genetic testing. Genetic testing can check if you have the gene that increases your risk of hemochromatosis.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Hemochromatosis is most often caused by a change in a gene. This gene controls the amount of iron your body absorbs from food. The altered gene is passed from parents to children. This type of hemochromatosis is by far the most common type. It's called hereditary hemochromatosis.

Gene mutations that cause hemochromatosis

A gene called HFE is most often the cause of hereditary hemochromatosis. You inherit one HFE gene from each of your parents. The HFE gene has two common mutations, C282Y and H63D. Genetic testing can reveal whether you have these changes in your HFE gene.

  • If you inherit two altered genes, you may develop hemochromatosis. You also can pass the altered gene on to your children. But not everyone who inherits two genes develops problems linked to the iron overload of hemochromatosis.
  • If you inherit one altered gene, you're unlikely to develop hemochromatosis. However, you are considered a carrier of the mutation [altered gene] and can pass the altered gene on to your children. But your children wouldn't develop the disease unless they also inherited another altered gene from the other parent.

How hemochromatosis affects your organs

Iron plays an essential role in several body functions, including helping produce blood. But too much iron is toxic.

A hormone secreted by the liver, called hepcidin, controls how iron is used and absorbed in the body. It also controls how excess iron is stored in various organs. In hemochromatosis, the role of hepcidin is affected, causing the body to absorb more iron than it needs.

This excess iron is stored in major organs, especially the liver. Over a period of years, the stored iron can cause severe damage that may lead to organ failure. It also can lead to long-lasting diseases, such as cirrhosis, diabetes and heart failure. Many people have gene changes that cause hemochromatosis. However, not everyone develops iron overload to a degree that causes tissue and organ damage.

Hereditary hemochromatosis isn't the only type of hemochromatosis. Other types include:

  • Juvenile hemochromatosis. This causes the same problems in young people that hereditary hemochromatosis causes in adults. But iron buildup begins much earlier, and symptoms usually appear between the ages of 15 and 30. This disorder is caused by changes in the hemojuvelin or hepcidin genes.
  • Neonatal hemochromatosis. In this severe disorder, iron builds up rapidly in the liver of the developing baby in the womb. It is thought to be an autoimmune disease, in which the body attacks itself.
  • Secondary hemochromatosis.This form of the disease is not inherited and is often referred to as iron overload. People with certain types of anemia or liver disease may often need multiple blood transfusions. This can lead to excess iron buildup.

Risk factors

Factors that increase your risk of hemochromatosis include:

  • Having two copies of an altered HFE gene. This is the greatest risk factor for hereditary hemochromatosis.
  • Family history. If you have a parent or sibling with hemochromatosis, you're more likely to develop the disease.
  • Ethnicity. People of Northern European descent are more prone to hereditary hemochromatosis than are people of other ethnic backgrounds. Hemochromatosis is less common in people of Black, Hispanic and Asian ancestry.
  • Your sex. Men are more likely than women to develop symptoms of hemochromatosis at an earlier age. Because women lose iron through menstruation and pregnancy, they tend to store less of the mineral than men do. After menopause or a hysterectomy, the risk increases for women.

Complications

Untreated, hemochromatosis can lead to a number of complications. These complications especially affect your joints and organs where excess iron tends to be stored, such as your liver, pancreas and heart. Complications can include:

  • Liver problems. Cirrhosis — permanent scarring of the liver — is just one of the problems that may occur. Cirrhosis increases your risk of liver cancer and other life-threatening complications.
  • Diabetes. Damage to the pancreas can lead to diabetes.
  • Heart problems. Excess iron in your heart affects the heart's ability to circulate enough blood for your body's needs. This is called congestive heart failure. Hemochromatosis also can cause abnormal heart rhythms, called arrhythmias.
  • Reproductive problems. Excess iron can lead to erectile dysfunction and loss of sex drive in men. It can cause an absence of the menstrual cycle in women.
  • Skin color changes. Deposits of iron in skin cells can make your skin appear bronze or gray in color.

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

Jan. 06, 2023
  1. Feldman M, et al., eds. Hemochromatosis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021.https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  2. Ferri FF. Hemochromatosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  3. Hemochromatosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/hemochromatosis. Accessed Nov. 29, 2022.
  4. Torbenson MS, et al. Hemochromatosis. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2022; doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2021.12.008.
  5. Kellerman RD, et al. Hemochromatosis. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  6. Rajan E (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 6, 2020.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services