概述

血色素沉着症会导致身体从摄入的食物中吸收过多的铁。过多的铁储存在器官中,尤其是肝脏、心脏和胰腺。铁量过多可能引发危及生命的病症,例如肝脏疾病、心脏问题和糖尿病。

血色素沉着症有几种类型,但最常见的一种是由家族遗传的基因突变引起。只有少数拥有这种基因的人会出现严重的问题。症状通常在中年出现。

治疗方法包括定期抽血。由于体内的很多铁都包含在红细胞中,因此这种治疗方法可降低铁含量。

症状

有些血色素沉着症患者从未出现过症状。早期症状经常会与其他常见病的症状有相同之处。

症状可能包括:

  • 关节疼痛。
  • 腹痛。
  • 疲劳。
  • 虚弱。
  • 糖尿病。
  • 性欲丧失。
  • 阳痿。
  • 心力衰竭。
  • 肝功能衰竭。
  • 肤色发青或发灰。
  • 记忆模糊。

症状通常何时出现

最常见的一种血色素沉着症是遗传性血色素沉着症。但大多数患者直到晚年才会出现症状,男性通常在 40 岁以后,而女性通常在 60 岁以后。女性患者的症状更有可能在绝经以后出现,因为此时她们不会再因为月经和怀孕而流失铁元素。

何时就诊

如果您出现血色素沉着症的任何症状,请就医。如果您有直系亲属患有血色素沉着症,请向医生咨询基因检测。基因检测可以确定您是否遗传了可能增加血色素沉着症风险的基因。

病因

血色素沉着症通常由控制身体从食物中摄取铁含量的基因发生突变所引起。这种突变基因具有遗传性,因而这种血色素沉着症也称为遗传性血色素沉着症,是目前为止最常见的类型。

引发血色素沉着症的基因突变

HFE 基因是导致遗传性血色素沉着症的主要原因。您可能会从父母各方分别遗传一个 HFE 基因。HFE 基因有两种常见的突变:C282Y 和 H63D。基因检测可确定 HFE 基因是否存在这些变化。

  • 如果遗传了两种变化基因,则可能会患上血色素沉着症。您也可能将变化的基因传给孩子。但遗传了两种基因的人不一定会出现与血色素沉着症有关的铁超负荷问题。
  • 如果遗传了一种变化的基因,您不大可能会患上血色素沉着症。然而,您会被认为是该突变基因[变化基因]的携带者,可能将变化的基因遗传给孩子。但只要没有从父母另一方遗传获得另一种变化基因,就不会患病。

血色素沉着症如何影响器官

铁对多种身体功能起着至关重要的作用,包括帮助生成血液,但铁过多会导致中毒。

铁调素是一种由肝脏分泌的激素,可控制体内铁的使用和吸收,以及如何在不同器官中储存过量的铁。在血色素沉着症中,铁调素的作用会受到影响,导致身体吸收更多的铁。

多余的铁会储存在主要器官中,尤其是肝脏。经年储存的铁可能造成严重损害,导致器官衰竭,还可能导致慢性疾病,如肝硬化、糖尿病和心力衰竭。尽管许多患者都携带导致血色素沉着症的突变基因,但并非都会出现严重到造成组织和器官损伤的铁超负荷。

遗传性血色素沉着症并非血色素沉着症的唯一类型。其他类型包括:

  • 青少年血色素沉着症。这在年轻人身上引起的问题与遗传性血色素沉着症在成年人身上引起的问题相同。但铁累积开始得更早,通常会在 15-30 岁出现症状。这种疾病由血幼素或铁调素基因突变所引起。
  • 新生儿血色素沉着症。在这种严重疾病中,铁在子宫内正在发育的胎儿的肝脏中迅速积聚。普遍认为这是一种自身免疫性疾病,即身体攻击自身。
  • 继发性血色素沉着症,这种疾病并非遗传性疾病,常称为铁超负荷。某些类型贫血或肝病的患者通常可能需要多次输血,这可能导致铁过量累积。

风险因素

会导致患血色素沉着症的风险增加的因素包括:

  • 携带两个 HFE 突变基因。这是导致遗传性血色素沉着症的最大风险因素。
  • 家族史。如果您的父母一方或兄弟姐妹患有血色素沉着症,则您患该病的可能性增大。
  • 种族。北欧血统的人群比其他种族背景的人群更易患遗传性血色素沉着症。血色素沉着症在非裔、西班牙裔和亚裔中较为少见。
  • 性别。年轻时男性比女性更易出现血色素沉着症的症状。因为女性在经期和孕期损耗铁元素,体内储存的矿物质往往少于男性。女性在绝经或切除子宫后,患该病的风险增加。

并发症

血色素沉着症如不经治疗,可导致多种并发症:这些并发症尤其会影响您的关节和容易储存过量铁的器官(如肝脏、胰腺和心脏)。并发症可能包括:

  • 肝脏问题。肝硬化(肝脏的永久性瘢痕形成)仅仅是可能出现的问题之一。肝硬化会增加您患肝癌和其他危及生命的并发症的风险。
  • 糖尿病。胰腺损伤可能会引发糖尿病。
  • 心脏问题。心脏中过量的铁会导致心脏无法进行充足的血液循环来满足身体需求。这叫做充血性心力衰竭。血色素沉着症还会导致心律异常(心律失常)。
  • 生殖问题。铁过量会导致男性勃起功能障碍和性欲丧失,导致女性月经失调。
  • 皮肤颜色改变。皮肤细胞中的铁沉积可能会使皮肤呈青铜色或灰色。

在妙佑医疗国际的体验与患者故事

患者告诉我们,互动质量、关注细节以及就医效率都是他们从未经历过的医疗体验。查看妙佑医疗国际满意患者的故事。

April 21, 2023

Living with 血色素沉着症?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Transplants support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Transplants Discussions

Lori, Volunteer Mentor
Snapshots of hope: Life on the other side of transplant.

83 Replies Thu, Jun 13, 2024

suzy212
Recurrent Liver Cancer After Liver Transplant

12 Replies Wed, Jun 12, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Feldman M, et al., eds. Hemochromatosis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021.https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  2. Ferri FF. Hemochromatosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  3. Hemochromatosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/hemochromatosis. Accessed Nov. 29, 2022.
  4. Torbenson MS, et al. Hemochromatosis. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2022; doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2021.12.008.
  5. Kellerman RD, et al. Hemochromatosis. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  6. Rajan E (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 6, 2020.

相关

相关医疗程序

Overview

Hemochromatosis (he-moe-kroe-muh-TOE-sis) causes your body to absorb too much iron from the food you eat. Excess iron is stored in your organs, especially your liver, heart and pancreas. Too much iron can lead to life-threatening conditions, such as liver disease, heart problems and diabetes.

There are a few types of hemochromatosis, but the most common type is caused by a gene change passed down through families. Only a few people who have the genes ever develop serious problems. Symptoms usually appear in midlife.

Treatment includes regularly removing blood from your body. Because much of the body's iron is contained in red blood cells, this treatment lowers iron levels.

Symptoms

Some people with hemochromatosis never have symptoms. Early symptoms often overlap with those of other common conditions.

Symptoms may include:

  • Joint pain.
  • Abdominal pain.
  • Fatigue.
  • Weakness.
  • Diabetes.
  • Loss of sex drive.
  • Impotence.
  • Heart failure.
  • Liver failure.
  • Bronze or gray skin color.
  • Memory fog.

When symptoms typically appear

The most common type of hemochromatosis is present at birth. But most people don't experience symptoms until later in life — usually after age 40 in men and after age 60 in women. Women are more likely to develop symptoms after menopause, when they no longer lose iron with menstruation and pregnancy.

When to see a doctor

See your health care provider if you experience any of the symptoms of hemochromatosis. If you have an immediate family member who has hemochromatosis, ask your provider about genetic testing. Genetic testing can check if you have the gene that increases your risk of hemochromatosis.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Hemochromatosis is most often caused by a change in a gene. This gene controls the amount of iron your body absorbs from food. The altered gene is passed from parents to children. This type of hemochromatosis is by far the most common type. It's called hereditary hemochromatosis.

Gene mutations that cause hemochromatosis

A gene called HFE is most often the cause of hereditary hemochromatosis. You inherit one HFE gene from each of your parents. The HFE gene has two common mutations, C282Y and H63D. Genetic testing can reveal whether you have these changes in your HFE gene.

  • If you inherit two altered genes, you may develop hemochromatosis. You also can pass the altered gene on to your children. But not everyone who inherits two genes develops problems linked to the iron overload of hemochromatosis.
  • If you inherit one altered gene, you're unlikely to develop hemochromatosis. However, you are considered a carrier of the mutation [altered gene] and can pass the altered gene on to your children. But your children wouldn't develop the disease unless they also inherited another altered gene from the other parent.

How hemochromatosis affects your organs

Iron plays an essential role in several body functions, including helping produce blood. But too much iron is toxic.

A hormone secreted by the liver, called hepcidin, controls how iron is used and absorbed in the body. It also controls how excess iron is stored in various organs. In hemochromatosis, the role of hepcidin is affected, causing the body to absorb more iron than it needs.

This excess iron is stored in major organs, especially the liver. Over a period of years, the stored iron can cause severe damage that may lead to organ failure. It also can lead to long-lasting diseases, such as cirrhosis, diabetes and heart failure. Many people have gene changes that cause hemochromatosis. However, not everyone develops iron overload to a degree that causes tissue and organ damage.

Hereditary hemochromatosis isn't the only type of hemochromatosis. Other types include:

  • Juvenile hemochromatosis. This causes the same problems in young people that hereditary hemochromatosis causes in adults. But iron buildup begins much earlier, and symptoms usually appear between the ages of 15 and 30. This disorder is caused by changes in the hemojuvelin or hepcidin genes.
  • Neonatal hemochromatosis. In this severe disorder, iron builds up rapidly in the liver of the developing baby in the womb. It is thought to be an autoimmune disease, in which the body attacks itself.
  • Secondary hemochromatosis.This form of the disease is not inherited and is often referred to as iron overload. People with certain types of anemia or liver disease may often need multiple blood transfusions. This can lead to excess iron buildup.

Risk factors

Factors that increase your risk of hemochromatosis include:

  • Having two copies of an altered HFE gene. This is the greatest risk factor for hereditary hemochromatosis.
  • Family history. If you have a parent or sibling with hemochromatosis, you're more likely to develop the disease.
  • Ethnicity. People of Northern European descent are more prone to hereditary hemochromatosis than are people of other ethnic backgrounds. Hemochromatosis is less common in people of Black, Hispanic and Asian ancestry.
  • Your sex. Men are more likely than women to develop symptoms of hemochromatosis at an earlier age. Because women lose iron through menstruation and pregnancy, they tend to store less of the mineral than men do. After menopause or a hysterectomy, the risk increases for women.

Complications

Untreated, hemochromatosis can lead to a number of complications. These complications especially affect your joints and organs where excess iron tends to be stored, such as your liver, pancreas and heart. Complications can include:

  • Liver problems. Cirrhosis — permanent scarring of the liver — is just one of the problems that may occur. Cirrhosis increases your risk of liver cancer and other life-threatening complications.
  • Diabetes. Damage to the pancreas can lead to diabetes.
  • Heart problems. Excess iron in your heart affects the heart's ability to circulate enough blood for your body's needs. This is called congestive heart failure. Hemochromatosis also can cause abnormal heart rhythms, called arrhythmias.
  • Reproductive problems. Excess iron can lead to erectile dysfunction and loss of sex drive in men. It can cause an absence of the menstrual cycle in women.
  • Skin color changes. Deposits of iron in skin cells can make your skin appear bronze or gray in color.

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

Jan. 06, 2023
  1. Feldman M, et al., eds. Hemochromatosis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021.https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  2. Ferri FF. Hemochromatosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  3. Hemochromatosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/hemochromatosis. Accessed Nov. 29, 2022.
  4. Torbenson MS, et al. Hemochromatosis. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2022; doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2021.12.008.
  5. Kellerman RD, et al. Hemochromatosis. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 19, 2020.
  6. Rajan E (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 6, 2020.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services