概述

克雅氏症疾病是一种退行性脑部疾病,可导致痴呆,并最终导致死亡。克雅氏症(CJD)的症状可以类似于其他痴呆样脑部疾病,如阿尔茨海默病的症状。但克雅氏症通常进展得更快。

CJD 在 1990 年代引起了公众的关注,当时英国的一些人在吃了病牛的肉后患病,即变异型 CJD(vCJD)。然而,"典型的"克雅氏症并没有与被污染的牛肉联系起来。

CJD 虽然严重,但很少见,vCJD 是最不常见的形式。在世界范围内,估计每年每百万人中有 1 例诊断为 CJD,多见于老年人。

症状

克雅氏症的标志是在几个月内智力迅速衰退。初期体征和症状通常包括:

  • 性格改变
  • 焦虑
  • 抑郁
  • 记忆丧失
  • 思维能力受损
  • 视力模糊或失明
  • 失眠
  • 说话困难
  • 吞咽困难
  • 突然而急促的动作

随着病情进展,精神症状恶化。大多数人最终陷入昏迷。死亡原因通常是心力衰竭、呼吸衰竭、感染性肺炎或其他感染。通常在一年内死亡。

在较罕见的变异型克雅氏症患者中,精神症状在发病初期可能更为突出,而痴呆症(即丧失思考、推理和记忆的能力)在疾病后期出现。此外,变异型克雅氏症患者的年龄比典型的克雅氏症患者更小,而且似乎持续时间略长,为 12 到 14 个月。

病因

克雅氏症及其变体属于一组广泛的人畜共患的疾病,称为传染性海绵状脑病(TSE)。此名称源自受感染的脑组织中形成的海绵状孔,在显微镜下可见。

克雅氏症和其他 TSE 的病因似乎是一种名为朊病毒的蛋白质的异常变体。通常,这些蛋白质是无害的。但是当它们出现畸形时,就会具有感染性,可能对正常生物过程有害。

CJD 怎样传播

CJD 的风险较低。该疾病不能通过咳嗽或打喷嚏、触摸或性接触传播。它的三种发展方式是:

  • 偶发性。大多数 CJD 患者并没有明显的病因。自发性CJD 或偶发性CJD,这种类型占大多数情况。
  • 遗传性。CJD 患者中只有不到 15% 的人有该疾病的家族病史或CJD 相关基因突变检测呈阳性。这种类型称为家族性 CJD。
  • 受到污染。少数人在手术(例如角膜或皮肤移植)中接触到受感染的人体组织后患上了CJD。另外,由于标准的灭菌方法不会破坏异常的朊病毒,因此,少数人在使用被污染的器械进行脑部手术后患上了CJD。

    与医疗程序有关的 CJD 称为医源性 CJD。变异性CJD 主要与食用感染了疯牛病(牛海绵状脑病或 BSE)的牛肉有关。

风险因素

大部分克雅氏症的发病原因不明,无法确定风险因素。但是,有一些因素似乎与不同类型的克雅氏症有关。

  • 年龄。偶发性克雅氏症通常会发生于年龄较大阶段,通常在 60 岁左右。家族性克雅氏症的发病时间稍早些,而变异型克雅氏症的患病人群年龄较小,通常在 20 岁左右。
  • 遗传学。家族性克雅氏症患者具有导致该疾病的基因突变。这种疾病是以常染色体显性遗传方式遗传,这意味着您只要从父母任一方中遗传一份突变基因就会患上这种疾病。如果您有这种突变,则遗传给孩子的几率为 50%。

    针对医源性和变异性克雅氏症患者的遗传分析表明,如果您接触受污染的组织,则继承朊病毒基因某些变体的相同拷贝可能会增加患克雅氏症的风险。

  • 暴露于受污染的组织。接受过来自人垂体腺的人生长激素或接受过覆盖大脑的组织(硬膜)的移植物的人可能会患上医源性克雅氏症。

    食用受污染的牛肉而感染变异性克雅氏症的风险很难确定。一般而言,如果国家有效执行公共卫生措施,则这种风险几乎不存在。

并发症

与痴呆的其他原因一样,克雅氏病(CJD)会严重影响大脑和身体,但克雅氏症及其变种的发展速度通常要快得多。CJD 患者通常会躲避朋友和家人,最终导致无法辨识他们,也无法与之打交道。他们也丧失了自理能力,许多人最终陷入昏迷。这种疾病最终是致命的。

预防

目前尚无预防散发性 CJD 的方法。如果您有神经系统疾病家族史,与遗传学顾问交谈会让您受益,他可以帮您解决与您情况相关的风险。

预防医源性 CJD

医院和其他医疗机构遵循明确的政策来预防医源性 CJD。这些措施包括:

  • 仅使用人工合成人生长激素,不使用人垂体腺分泌的生长激素
  • 销毁用于已知或疑似 CJD 患者的脑部或神经组织的手术器械
  • 脊椎穿剌一次性套件(腰椎穿刺)

为了帮助确保血液供给的安全性,美国禁止可能暴露于 CJD 或 vCJD 风险的人群献血。这包括以下人员:

  • 有亲属被诊断为 CJD
  • 接受过硬膜脑移植
  • 接受过人生长激素治疗
  • 1980 年至 1996 年在英国至少待过三个月
  • 自 1980 年以来在欧洲至少待过 5 年
  • 1980 年至 1990 年在北欧的美国军事基地居住过至少 6 个月,或 1980 年至 1996 年在欧洲其他地点居住过
  • 自 1980 年以来在英国或法国接受过输血
  • 自 1980 年以来注射过牛胰岛素

英国以及其他一些国家对有暴露于 CJD 或 vCJD 风险的人献血也有一定的限制。

vCJD 预防

在美国,患 变异型克雅氏症(vCJD)的风险一直非常低。美国境内仅报导了三例。根据美国疾病控制与预防中心数据,强有力的证据表明,这三例均来自境外,其中两例来自英国,一例来自沙特阿拉伯。

多数 vCJD 病例发生于英国,而被报导的病例不足 200 例。CJD 发病率在 1999 年至 2000 年之间达到峰值,自此之后下降。

据报告,少量的 vCJD 病例发生在世界其他国家。

监管人类疯牛病的潜在病源

大多数国家已采取措施防止受疯牛病感染的组织进入食品供应,包括:

  • 严格限制从疯牛病流行的国家进口牛
  • 限制动物饲料
  • 制定严格的患病动物处理程序
  • 采用追踪牛健康状况的监视和检测方法
  • 限制可加工成食物的牛部位

在妙佑医疗国际的体验与患者故事

患者告诉我们,互动质量、关注细节以及就医效率都是他们从未经历过的医疗体验。查看妙佑医疗国际满意患者的故事。

Jan. 05, 2021
  1. Ropper AH, et al. Viral infections of the nervous system and prion diseases. In: Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. 11th ed. McGraw Hill; 2019. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  2. Levinson W, et al. Slow viruses and prions. In: Review of Medical Microbiology & Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Diseases. 16th ed. McGraw Hill; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  3. Appleby B, et al. Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  4. Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/what-is-dementia/types-of-dementia/creutzfeldt-jakob-disease. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  5. Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Fact Sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/patient-caregiver-education/fact-sheets/creutzfeldt-jakob-disease-fact-sheet. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  6. Chronic wasting disease (CWD). Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/prions/cwd/prevention.html. Accessed Dec. 4, 2020.
  7. Recommendations to reduce the possible risk of transmission of Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease and Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease by blood and blood components. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/media/124156/download. Accessed Dec. 4, 2020.
  8. Green, AJE. RT-QuIC: A new test for sporadic CJD. Practical Neurology. 2019; doi:10.1136/practneurol-2018-001935.

Overview

Creutzfeldt-Jakob (KROITS-felt YAH-kobe) disease (CJD) is a degenerative brain disorder that leads to dementia and, ultimately, death. Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease symptoms can be similar to those of other dementia-like brain disorders, such as Alzheimer's disease. But Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease usually progresses much more rapidly.

CJD captured public attention in the 1990s when some people in the United Kingdom developed a form of the disease — variant CJD (vCJD) — after eating meat from diseased cattle. However, "classic" Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease hasn't been linked to contaminated beef. All types of CJD are serious, but very rare. Worldwide, about one to two cases of CJD are diagnosed per million people each year, most often in older adults.

Symptoms

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease is marked by rapid mental deterioration, usually within a few months. Early signs and symptoms typically include:

  • Personality changes
  • Memory loss
  • Impaired thinking
  • Blurred vision or blindness
  • Insomnia
  • Incoordination
  • Difficulty speaking
  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Sudden, jerky movements

As the disease progresses, mental symptoms worsen. Most people eventually fall into a coma. Heart failure, lung (respiratory) failure, pneumonia or other infections are generally the cause of death, which usually occurs within a year.

In people with the rarer vCJD, psychiatric symptoms may be more apparent in the beginning. In many cases, dementia — the loss of the ability to think, reason and remember — develops later in the illness. vCJD also affects people at a younger age and appears to last 12 to 14 months.

Causes

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease and its variants belong to a broad group of human and animal diseases known as transmissible spongiform encephalopathies (TSEs). The name derives from the spongy holes, visible under a microscope, that develop in affected brain tissue.

The cause of Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease and other TSEs appears to be abnormal versions of a kind of protein called a prion. Normally these proteins are produced in our bodies and are harmless. But when they're misshapen, they become infectious and can harm normal biological processes.

How CJD is transmitted

The risk of CJD is low. The disease can't be spread through coughing or sneezing, touching, or sexual contact. CJD can develop in three ways:

  • Sporadically. Most people with classic CJD develop the disease for no apparent reason. This type, called spontaneous CJD or sporadic CJD, accounts for most cases.
  • By inheritance. Fewer than 15% of people with CJD have a family history of the disease or test positive for a genetic mutation associated with CJD. This type is referred to as familial CJD.
  • By contamination. A small number of people have developed CJD after being exposed to infected human tissue during a medical procedure, such as a cornea or skin transplant. Also, because standard cleaning methods don't destroy abnormal prions, a few people have developed CJD after undergoing brain surgery with contaminated instruments. A small number of people have also developed the disease from eating contaminated beef.

    Cases of CJD related to medical procedures are referred to as iatrogenic CJD. Variant CJD is linked primarily to eating beef infected with mad cow disease (bovine spongiform encephalopathy, or BSE).

Risk factors

Most cases of Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease occur for unknown reasons, and no risk factors can be identified. However, a few factors seem to be associated with different kinds of CJD:

  • Age. Sporadic CJD tends to develop later in life, usually around age 60. Onset of familial CJD occurs slightly earlier, and vCJD has affected people at a much younger age, usually in their late 20s.
  • Genetics. People with familial CJD have a genetic mutation that causes the disease. To develop familial CJD, a child must have one copy of the mutated gene, which is inherited from either parent. If you have the mutation, the chance of passing it on to your children is 50%.
  • Exposure to contaminated tissue. People who've received infected manufactured human growth hormone, or who've had transplants of the infected tissues that cover the brain (dura mater), may be at risk of iatrogenic CJD.

    The risk of getting vCJD from eating contaminated beef is very low. In general, if countries are effectively implementing public health measures, the risk is virtually nonexistent. Chronic wasting disease (CWD) is a prion disease that affects deer, elk, reindeer and moose. It has been found in some areas of North America. To date, no documented cases of CWD have caused disease in humans.

Complications

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease greatly affects the brain and body. CJD usually progresses quickly. Over time, people with CJD withdraw from friends and family and eventually lose the ability to recognize or relate to them. They also lose the ability to care for themselves and many eventually slip into a coma. The disease is always fatal.

Prevention

There's no known way to prevent sporadic Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (CJD). If you have a family history of neurological disease, you may benefit from talking with a genetics counselor. He or she can help you sort through the risks associated with your situation.

Preventing iatrogenic CJD

Hospitals and other medical institutions follow clear policies to prevent iatrogenic CJD. These measures have included:

  • Exclusive use of man-made human growth hormone, rather than the kind derived from human pituitary glands
  • Destruction of surgical instruments used on the brain or nervous tissue of someone with known or suspected CJD
  • Single-use kits for spinal taps (lumbar punctures)

To help ensure the safety of the blood supply, people with a risk of exposure to CJD or vCJD aren't eligible to donate blood in the United States. This includes people who:

  • Have a biological relative who has been diagnosed with familial CJD
  • Have received a dura mater brain graft
  • Have received cadaveric human growth hormone
  • Spent at least three months in the United Kingdom from 1980 to 1996
  • Spent five years or more in France or Ireland between1980 and 2001
  • Received a blood transfusion in the U.K., France or Ireland since 1980

The U.K., as well as some other countries, also has certain restrictions regarding blood donations from people with a risk of exposure to CJD or vCJD.

Preventing vCJD

The risk of getting vCJD in the United States remains very low. Only four cases have been reported in the U.S. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), strong evidence suggests that these cases were acquired in other countries outside of the U.S.

In the United Kingdom, where the majority of vCJD cases have occurred, fewer than 200 cases have been reported. CJD incidence peaked in the U.K. between 1999 and 2000 and has been declining since. A very small number of other vCJD cases also have been reported in other countries worldwide.

To date, there is no evidence that people can develop vCJD from consuming meat of animals infected with CWD prions. Nonetheless, the CDC recommends that hunters strongly consider having deer and elk tested before eating the meat in areas where CWD is known to be present. In addition, hunters should avoid shooting or handling meat from deer or elk that appear sick or are found dead.

Regulating potential sources of vCJD

Most countries have taken steps to prevent BSE-infected tissue from entering the food supply, including:

  • Tight restrictions on importation of cattle from countries where BSE is common
  • Restrictions on animal feed
  • Strict procedures for dealing with sick animals
  • Surveillance and testing methods for tracking cattle health
  • Restrictions on which parts of cattle can be processed for food

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

Jan. 05, 2021
  1. Ropper AH, et al. Viral infections of the nervous system and prion diseases. In: Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. 11th ed. McGraw Hill; 2019. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  2. Levinson W, et al. Slow viruses and prions. In: Review of Medical Microbiology & Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Diseases. 16th ed. McGraw Hill; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  3. Appleby B, et al. Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  4. Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/what-is-dementia/types-of-dementia/creutzfeldt-jakob-disease. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  5. Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Fact Sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/patient-caregiver-education/fact-sheets/creutzfeldt-jakob-disease-fact-sheet. Accessed Oct. 19, 2020.
  6. Chronic wasting disease (CWD). Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/prions/cwd/prevention.html. Accessed Dec. 4, 2020.
  7. Recommendations to reduce the possible risk of transmission of Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease and Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease by blood and blood components. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/media/124156/download. Accessed Dec. 4, 2020.
  8. Green, AJE. RT-QuIC: A new test for sporadic CJD. Practical Neurology. 2019; doi:10.1136/practneurol-2018-001935.