نظرة عامة

ما المقصود بسرطان عنق الرحم؟ فيما يلي الإجابة من أحد خبراء مايو كلينك

تعرفن على المزيد حول سرطان عنق الرحم من اختصاصية الأورام النسائية في مايو كلينك، كريستينا باتلر، دكتورة في الطب وحاصلة على درجة الماجستير

أنا الدكتورة كريستينا باتلر اختصاصية الأورام النسائية في مايو كلينك. في هذا الفيديو، سنستعرض أساسيات سرطان عنق الرحم: ما المقصود بهذا المرض؟ من المُعرَّض للإصابة به؟ الأعراض والتشخيص والعلاج. سواء كانت لديك استفسارات تخصك أو تخص شخصًا عزيزًا عليك، يسرنا أن نقدم أفضل المعلومات المتاحة. يحدث سرطان عنق الرحم عندما تبدأ خلايا عنق الرحم، الجزء المنخفض من الرحم الذي يتصل بالمهبل، بأن تصبح غير طبيعية. حيث تؤدي التغيرات الطفيفة في الحمض النووي للخلايا إلى تكاثر الخلايا بنسبة خارجة عن السيطرة، وتتراكم وتكوِّن ما يسمى الأورام. ولحسن الحظ ساعدت التطورات التكنولوجية الطبية، وخاصة استخدام اختبارات سرطان عنق الرحم، بشكل كبير على اكتشاف سرطان عنق الرحم لدى المريضات في وقت أبكر بخلاف كان عليه الوضع في السابق. وأصبح يُكتشف الآن في مراحله المبكرة ومن ثم أصبح أكثر قابلية للشفاء بعدما كان السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لوفاة النساء الأمريكيات بالسرطان.

من يُصاب به؟

لا يُعرف السبب المحدد الذي يدفع خلايا عنق الرحم إلى تغيير حمضها النووي، ولكن من المؤكد أن فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري أحد العوامل في ذلك. وينتشر فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري عن طريق التلامس الجلدي ويحدث هذا غالبًا أثناء الجماع. ويتعرض للإصابة به أكثر من 85% من عامة السكان. لكن معظم النساء المصابات بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري لا يُصبن بسرطان عنق الرحم. ومع ذلك، فإن تقليل خطر إصابتكِ بأحدهما يساعد على تقليل خطر الإصابة بالآخر. لذا أوصي بالحصول على لقاح فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري والخضوع للاختبارات والفحوصات المنتظمة. وتشمل عوامل الخطر الأخرى لسرطان عنق الرحم تعدد العلاقات الجنسية. لكن يمكن الإصابة بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري عند التلامس مع شخص واحد فقط مصاب به، لذلك يجب اتباع الممارسات الجنسية الآمنة. يرتبط ضعف الجهاز المناعي والتدخين أيضًا بزيادة مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم. وكان هناك دواء يسمى ستيلبوستيرول رائج في خمسينيات القرن الماضي لمنع الإجهاض. فإذا كانت والدتكِ قد تناولته أثناء حملها بكِ، فقد يجعلكِ هذا أكثر عرضة للإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم.

ما الأعراض؟

لسوء الحظ، لا تظهر أي مؤشرات أو أعراض في المراحل المبكرة من سرطان عنق الرحم بشكل عام. ولهذا السبب نؤكد على ضرورة إجراء اختبار سرطان عنق الرحم كل ثلاث إلى خمس سنوات بالإضافة إلى فحوصات الحوض. لكن بمجرد أن يتفاقم السرطان، يمكن أن تظهر هذه الأعراض: نزيف مهبلي غير معتاد، على سبيل المثال، بعد الجماع أو بين فترات دورة الحيض أو بعد انقطاع الطمث. بالإضافة إلى إفرازات مهبلية مائية ودموية قد تكون غزيرة أو ذات رائحة. ويمكن أيضًا الشعور بألم الحوض أو ألم في منطقة أخرى أثناء الجماع.

كيف يُشخَّص هذا المرض؟

توصي معظم الإرشادات التوجيهية بإجراء الفحوصات المنتظمة للتحقق من الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم في عمر 21 عامًا. ويجمع الطبيب الخلايا من عنق الرحم خلال هذه الفحوصات لفحصها في المختبر. وتفحص اختبارات الحمض النووي لفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري الخلايا بحثًا عن فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري تحديدًا حيث يمكن أن يؤدي إلى التعرض لخطر الإصابة بالسرطان. ويفحص اختبار سرطان عنق الرحم الخلايا بحثًا عن التغيرات الشاذة. تكون هذه الاختبارات غير مؤلمة، ولكن من الممكن أن تكون غير مريحة إلى حد ما. إذا اشتبه الطبيب في إصابتكِ بسرطان عنق الرحم، فقد يبدأ بإجراء فحص أكثر شمولاً لعنق الرحم. قد يشمل هذا الفحص تنظير المهبل الذي يستخدم أداة خاصة تضيء المسار عبر المهبل إلى عنق الرحم لإيضاح الرؤية للطبيب. وأثناء تنظير المهبل، قد يأخذ الطبيب عددًا من عينات الخلايا الأعمق لفحصها. يمكن أن يشمل هذا خزعة بالمقراض لجمع عينات دقيقة من الخلايا، أو كشط بطانة عنق الرحم حيث تُستخدم أداة رفيعة لأخذ عينة من الأنسجة الداخلية. وإذا أثارت عينات الأنسجة قلق الطبيب بعد إجراء المزيد من الفحوصات، فقد يجري المزيد من الاختبارات أو يجمع عينات أخرى من أنسجة الطبقات الأعمق من الخلايا. ولجمع هذه العينات قد يُتبع إجراء الاستئصال الجراحي بالعروة الكهربية أو إجراء الخزعة المخروطية للحصول على أوضح نتيجة ممكنة.

ما طريقة العلاج؟

لا يوجد نهج علاجي واحد يناسب جميع المصابات بسرطان عنق الرحم. وسينظر الطبيب إلى حالتكِ الصحية ككل وتفضيلاتكِ الشخصية قبل تقديم أي توصية. وستشمل هذه التوصية طريقة علاجية واحدة أو عدة طرق. يُعالَج سرطان عنق الرحم في مراحله المبكرة بالجراحة لاستئصال الزوائد الشاذة. لكن بالنسبة إلى المراحل المتأخرة لسرطان عنق الرحم، يتوفر العلاج الكيميائي، وهو دواء يسري في الجسم ويقتل الخلايا السرطانية في طريقه. ويوجد أيضًا العلاج الإشعاعي الذي يستخدم حزمًا عالية الطاقة مع تركيز الطاقة على الخلايا السرطانية. وهناك العلاج الدوائي الاستهدافي الذي يركز على نقاط ضعف محددة داخل الخلايا السرطانية. بالإضافة إلى العلاج المناعي الذي يمثل علاجًا دوائيًا يساعد الجهاز المناعي على اكتشاف الخلايا الخطيرة ومهاجمتها.

ماذا الآن؟

لا يمكن لأي شخص استقبال خبر الإصابة بالسرطان ببساطة. لكن تتوفر عدة طرق تساعدنا على الحد من القلق والشعور بالمزيد من السيطرة على الموقف. ويمكن للتعرف على الحالة المَرَضية أن يجعلكِ تشعرين بالمزيد من السيطرة والثقة بالقرارات المتعلقة برعايتكِ الصحية. لذا اطرحي الكثير من الأسئلة واطلبي موارد إضافية. وابحثي عن الدعم. واطلبي المساعدة من عائلتكِ وأصدقائكِ. وإذا كنتِ تشعرين براحة أكبر عند التحدث في مجموعة دعم، فيتوفر الكثير من هذه المجموعات سواء عبر الإنترنت أو بالحضور الشخصي وجهًا لوجه. وضعي أهدافًا يمكنكِ تحقيقها والشعور بالرضا تجاهها. والأهم من ذلك، اعتني بنفسك. حيث يمكن أن يكون هذا المرض صعبًا ومرهقًا. لذا احرصي على تناول طعام جيد واسترخي واحصلي على قسط كافٍ من الراحة. إذا كنتِ ترغبين في معرفة المزيد عن سرطان عنق الرحم، فشاهدي مقاطع الفيديو الأخرى ذات الصلة، أو تفضلي بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني mayoclinic.org. نرجو لكم دوام العافية.

سرطان عنق الرحم هو نوع من السرطان يحدث في خلايا عنق الرحم، وهو الجزء السفلي من الرحِم المتصل بالمهبل.

تلعب سلالات مختلفة من فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (HPV)، والعدوى المنقولة جنسيًّا، دورًا في التسبب في معظم حالات سرطان عنق الرحم.

عند التعرض للإصابة بـ فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري، يمنع جهاز الجسم المناعي الفيروس من إحداث الضرر. رغم ذلك ينجو الفيروس لسنوات في نسبة صغيرة من الأشخاص، ويشارك في تحول بعض خلايا عنق الرحم لخلايا سرطانية.

تستطيعين تقليل خطر إصابتكِ بسرطان عنق الرحم عن طريق عمل اختبارات فحص وتلقي لقاح يحمي من الإصابة بـ فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري.

الأعراض

بشكل عام لا تُسبِّب المرحلة المبكِّرة لسرطان عنق الرحم أيَّ مُؤشِّرات أو أعراض.

تتضمَّن مؤشرات وأعراض سرطان عنق الرحم الأكثر تقدُّمًا ما يلي:

  • نزيفًا مهبليًّا بعد الجماع، أو بين الدَّورات الحيضيَّة، أو بعد انقطاع الطمث
  • إفرازات مهبلية مائية ودموية قد تكون غزيرة وذات رائحة كريهة
  • ألمًا بالحوض أو ألمًا أثناء الجماع

متى يجب مراجعة الطبيب

حدِّد موعدًا مع الطبيب، إذا كان لديك أي علامات أو أعراض تُثير مخاوفك.

الأسباب

يحدث سرطان عنق الرحم عندما تنشأ تغيُّرات (طفرات) في الحمض النووي (DNA) لخلايا عنق الرحم في DNA. يحتوي الحمض النووي DNA للخلية على التعليمات التي تُوجِّه الخلية إلى ما يجب فعله.

تنمو الخلايا السليمة وتنقسم بمعدَّل محدَّد وتموت في وقت محدَّد. تطلب الطفرات من الخلايا النمو والتضاعف خارج نطاق السيطرة، ولا تموت. تُكون الخلايا الشاذة المتراكمة كتلة (ورم). تغزو الخلايا السرطانية الأنسجة القريبة، ويُمكن أن تنفصل عن الورم لتنتشر (تنتقل) في أماكن أخرى في الجسد.

لا يوجد سبب واضح للإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم، لكن بالتأكيد فإن فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري HPV يلعب دورًا في هذا المرض. فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري هو فيروس شائع للغاية، وغالبية الأشخاص المصابين بهذا الفيروس لا يصابون بالسرطان. إن ذلك يعني أن عوامل أخرى — مثل بيئتكِ، أو خيارات نمط حياتكِ — تُحدِّد أيضًا ما إذا كنتِ مصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم.

أنواع سرطان عنق الرحم

تساعد عملية تحديد نوع سرطان عنق الرحم التي لديكِ في تحديد مآل المرض والعلاج. الأنواع الرئيسية لسرطان عنق الرحم هي:

  • سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية. هذا النوع من سرطان عنق الرحم يبدأ في الخلايا الرفيعة المسطحة (الخلية الحرشفية) التي تبطِّن الجزء الخارجي من عنق الرحم، الذي يصل إلى المهبل. معظم سرطانات عنق الرحم من نوع سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية.
  • السرطان الغدي. يبدأ هذا النوع من سرطان عنق الرحم في الخلايا الغدية التي على شكل عمود والتي تبطِّن قناة عنق الرحم.

في بعض الأحيان، يشترك كلا نوعَي الخلايا في سرطان عنق الرحم. نادرًا ما يحدث السرطان في الخلايا الأخرى الموجودة في عنق الرحم.

عوامل الخطر

تشمل عوامل خطر سرطان عنق الرحم ما يلي:

  • تعدُّد شركاء العلاقة الجنسية. كلما زاد عدد شركائكِ في العلاقة الجنسية — وكلما زاد عدد شركاء العلاقة الجنسية لشريككِ — زادت فرصة إصابتكِ بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري.
  • النشاط الجنسي المبكِّر. إن ممارسة الجنس في سن مبكِّرة يَزيد من خطورة الإصابة بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري.
  • أنواع العدوى الأخرى المنقولة جنسيًّا. إن الإصابة بأنواع أخرى من العدوى المنقولة جنسيًّا — مثل داء المتدثِّرة، والسَّيَلان، وداء الزهري، وفيروس نقص المناعة البشري/الإيدز — تَزيد من خطر الإصابة بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري.
  • ضعف الجهاز المناعي. قد تزداد احتمالية إصابتكِ بسرطان عنق الرحم إذا كان لديكِ ضعف في الجهاز المناعي بسبب حالة صحية أخرى، وإذا كنتِ مصابة بفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري.
  • التدخين. هناك صلة بين التدخين والإصابة بسرطان الخلايا الحرشفية في عنق الرحم.
  • التعرُّض لأدوية الوقاية من الإجهاض التلقائي. في حالة تناول والدتكِ دواءً يُطْلَق عليه اسم ثنائي إيثيل ستيلبوستيرول (DES) أثناء الحمل في فترة الخمسينيات، فقد يزداد تعرضكِ بشكل أكبر لخطر الإصابة بنوع محدَّد من سرطان عنق الرحم يُسمَّى السرطان الغدي ذو الخلايا الصافية.

الوقاية

لتقليل مخاطر سرطان عنق الرحم عليكِ ما يلي:

  • اسألي طبيبكِ عن لقاحات فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري HPV. قد يقلل تلقِّي اللقاح لمنع عدوى فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (HPV) من خطر الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم والسرطانات الأخرى المرتبطة بـ HPV. اسألي طبيبكِ إذا ما كان هذا لقاحًا لفيروس الورم الحليمي البشري مناسبًا لكِ.
  • أجرِ اختبارات عنق الرحم "باب" بشكل روتيني. يمكن أن تكشف اختبارات عنق الرحم "باب" عن الحالات المحتملة التسرطُن في عنق الرحم، وبذلك يمكن مراقبتها أو علاجها لمنع الإصابة بسرطان عنق الرحم. تقترح أغلب المنظمات الصحية البدء باختبارات عنق الرحم "باب" بعمر 21 بشكل روتيني، وتكراره كل عدة سنوات.
  • ممارسة الجنس الآمن. قللي من مخاطر سرطان عنق الرحم عن طريق اتخاذ التدابير للوقاية من العدوى المنقولة جنسيًّا، مثل استخدام الواقي الذكري في كل مرة، والحد من تعدُّد الشركاء في الجنس.
  • امتنع عن التدخين. إن لم تكن مدخنًا، فلا تُدخِّن. إذا كنتَ تدخِّن بالفعل، فتحدث مع الطبيب بشأن الاستراتيجيات التي تُساعدك على الإقلاع.

سرطان عنق الرحم - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

14/12/2022

Living with سرطان عنق الرحم?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Gynecologic Cancers support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Gynecologic Cancers Discussions

stparker54
CA-125 Results Went Up: Should I be concerned?

48 Replies Sun, Jun 04, 2023

needshope78
Need hope: Neuropathy from chemo

119 Replies Sun, Jun 04, 2023

bobette1
Squamous Cell Vulvar Cancer: Who out there has this cancer?

86 Replies Sat, Jun 03, 2023

See more discussions
  1. AskMayoExpert. Cervical cancer (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2019.
  2. Lobo RA, et al. Malignant diseases of the cervix. In: Comprehensive Gynecology. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancers of the cervix, vulva and vagina. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  4. Cervical cancer. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Cervical cancer screening (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  6. Palliative care. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed June 14, 2019.

ذات صلة

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services

Overview

What is cervical cancer? A Mayo Clinic expert explains

Learn more about cervical cancer from Mayo Clinic gynecologic oncologist Kristina Butler, M.D., M.S.

I'm Dr. Kristina Butler, a gynecologic oncologist at Mayo Clinic. In this video, we'll cover the basics of cervical cancer: What is it? Who gets it? The symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment. Whether you're looking for answers for yourself or someone you love, we're here to give you the best information available. Cervical cancer happens when cells in the cervix, the lower part of the uterus that connects to the vagina, start to become abnormal. Small changes in the cell DNA tells them to multiply out-of-control, and cells accumulate in growths called tumors. Thankfully, advances in medical technology and specifically the use of Pap tests, have significantly helped us identify cervical cancer in patients earlier than ever before. What was once the most common cause of cancer death for American women is now caught sooner and therefore more curable.

Who gets it?

While it isn't perfectly clear what sparks the cervical cells to change their DNA, it is certain that human papilloma virus, or HPV, plays a role. HPV is spread by skin to skin contact often during sexual encounters. Over 85% of the general population has been exposed. But most people with HPV never develop cervical cancer. However, reducing your risk of one helps reduce your risk of the other. I recommend getting both the HPV vaccine and regular screening tests. Other risk factors for cervical cancer include multiple sexual encounters. But it only takes one to contract HPV, so it's important to always practice safe sex. A weakened immune system and also smoking are linked to higher risk. One drug called DES was popular in the 1950s as a miscarriage prevention drug. So if your mother took it while pregnant, you may have higher risk as well.

What are the symptoms?

Unfortunately, the early stages of cervical cancer generally show no signs or symptoms. And this is why we emphasize getting Pap smears every three to five years and yearly pelvic exams. Once the cancer has progressed, it can show these symptoms: Unusual vaginal bleeding, for example, after intercourse or between periods or after menopause. Watery, bloody vaginal discharge that may be heavy or have an odor. And pelvic pain or other pain can also occur during intercourse.

How is it diagnosed?

Most guidelines suggest starting regular screening for cervical cancer at age 21. And during these screenings, a provider collects cells from the cervix to be tested in the lab. HPV DNA tests examine the cell specifically for HPV that can lead to pre-cancer. A Pap test, or commonly called a Pap smear, tests the cells for abnormalities. The process of these tests are not painful but can be mildly uncomfortable. If your provider suspects cervical cancer, they may start a more thorough examination of the cervix. This may include a colposcopy, which is a special tool that shines light through the vagina into the cervix to magnify the view for your provider. During the colposcopy, your provider might take several deeper samples of cells to examine. This could include a punch biopsy that collects tiny samples of cells, or an endocervical curettage that uses a narrow instrument to take an internal tissue sample. And if after further examination, the sample tissue is worrisome, your doctor may run more tests or collect other tissue samples from deeper layers of the cells. This could use a LEEP or cone biopsy procedure to give the clearest picture possible.

How is it treated?

Treating cervical cancer isn't one-size-fits-all. Your doctor will consider the whole picture of your health and your personal preferences before making a recommendation. And this will include one or several treatment methods. For early cervical cancer, we typically treat with surgery to remove the abnormal growths. For more advanced cervical cancer, there's also chemotherapy, a drug that runs the body killing cancer cells in its path. Radiation therapy uses high-powered beams with energy focused on the cancer cells. There's also targeted drug therapy that blocks specific weaknesses present within the cancer cells. And immune therapy, a drug treatment that helps your immune system recognize cancer cells and attack them.

What now?

No one can be prepared for a cancer diagnosis. However, there are ways we can help reduce anxiety and feel more in control of the situation. Learning about the condition can make you feel more empowered and confident in the decisions about your care. So ask lots of questions and request additional resources. Find support. Ask for help from your family and friends. If you feel more comfortable expressing yourself in a support group, there are many available both online and in-person. Set goals that you can achieve and feel good about. And most importantly, take care of yourself. This time can be difficult and fatiguing. Eat well, relax and get enough rest. If you'd like to learn even more about cervical cancer, watch our other related videos or visit mayoclinic.org. We wish you well.

Cervical cancer is a type of cancer that occurs in the cells of the cervix — the lower part of the uterus that connects to the vagina.

Various strains of the human papillomavirus (HPV), a sexually transmitted infection, play a role in causing most cervical cancer.

When exposed to HPV, the body's immune system typically prevents the virus from doing harm. In a small percentage of people, however, the virus survives for years, contributing to the process that causes some cervical cells to become cancer cells.

You can reduce your risk of developing cervical cancer by having screening tests and receiving a vaccine that protects against HPV infection.

Products & Services

Symptoms

Early-stage cervical cancer generally produces no signs or symptoms.

Signs and symptoms of more-advanced cervical cancer include:

  • Vaginal bleeding after intercourse, between periods or after menopause
  • Watery, bloody vaginal discharge that may be heavy and have a foul odor
  • Pelvic pain or pain during intercourse

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have any signs or symptoms that concern you.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Cervical cancer begins when healthy cells in the cervix develop changes (mutations) in their DNA. A cell's DNA contains the instructions that tell a cell what to do.

Healthy cells grow and multiply at a set rate, eventually dying at a set time. The mutations tell the cells to grow and multiply out of control, and they don't die. The accumulating abnormal cells form a mass (tumor). Cancer cells invade nearby tissues and can break off from a tumor to spread (metastasize) elsewhere in the body.

It isn't clear what causes cervical cancer, but it's certain that HPV plays a role. HPV is very common, and most people with the virus never develop cancer. This means other factors — such as your environment or your lifestyle choices — also determine whether you'll develop cervical cancer.

Types of cervical cancer

The type of cervical cancer that you have helps determine your prognosis and treatment. The main types of cervical cancer are:

  • Squamous cell carcinoma. This type of cervical cancer begins in the thin, flat cells (squamous cells) lining the outer part of the cervix, which projects into the vagina. Most cervical cancers are squamous cell carcinomas.
  • Adenocarcinoma. This type of cervical cancer begins in the column-shaped glandular cells that line the cervical canal.

Sometimes, both types of cells are involved in cervical cancer. Very rarely, cancer occurs in other cells in the cervix.

Risk factors

Risk factors for cervical cancer include:

  • Many sexual partners. The greater your number of sexual partners — and the greater your partner's number of sexual partners — the greater your chance of acquiring HPV.
  • Early sexual activity. Having sex at an early age increases your risk of HPV.
  • Other sexually transmitted infections (STIs). Having other STIs — such as chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphilis and HIV/AIDS — increases your risk of HPV.
  • A weakened immune system. You may be more likely to develop cervical cancer if your immune system is weakened by another health condition and you have HPV.
  • Smoking. Smoking is associated with squamous cell cervical cancer.
  • Exposure to miscarriage prevention drug. If your mother took a drug called diethylstilbestrol (DES) while pregnant in the 1950s, you may have an increased risk of a certain type of cervical cancer called clear cell adenocarcinoma.

Prevention

To reduce your risk of cervical cancer:

  • Ask your doctor about the HPV vaccine. Receiving a vaccination to prevent HPV infection may reduce your risk of cervical cancer and other HPV-related cancers. Ask your doctor whether an HPV vaccine is appropriate for you.
  • Have routine Pap tests. Pap tests can detect precancerous conditions of the cervix, so they can be monitored or treated in order to prevent cervical cancer. Most medical organizations suggest beginning routine Pap tests at age 21 and repeating them every few years.
  • Practice safe sex. Reduce your risk of cervical cancer by taking measures to prevent sexually transmitted infections, such as using a condom every time you have sex and limiting the number of sexual partners you have.
  • Don't smoke. If you don't smoke, don't start. If you do smoke, talk to your doctor about strategies to help you quit.

Cervical cancer care at Mayo Clinic

June 17, 2021

Living with cervical cancer?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Gynecologic Cancers support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Gynecologic Cancers Discussions

carla702
Immunotherapy with Clear Cell Carcinoma- Endometrial

5 Replies Thu, Nov 10, 2022

whengzy19
Diagnosed with endometrium adenocarcinoma few days ago

28 Replies Wed, Nov 09, 2022

Becky, Volunteer Mentor
The Patient Portal—Help or Hindrance?

64 Replies Tue, Nov 01, 2022

See more discussions
  1. AskMayoExpert. Cervical cancer (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2019.
  2. Lobo RA, et al. Malignant diseases of the cervix. In: Comprehensive Gynecology. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Cancers of the cervix, vulva and vagina. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  4. Cervical cancer. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed June 14, 2019.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Cervical cancer screening (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  6. Palliative care. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed June 14, 2019.