概述

原发性胆汁性胆管炎,以前称为原发性胆汁性肝硬化,是一种慢性疾病,患病时肝脏胆管被缓慢破坏。

胆汁是肝脏产生的一种液体。它有助于消化,能帮助您吸收某些维生素。它还能帮助身体清除胆固醇、毒素和老化的红细胞。慢性肝炎可导致胆管损伤、肝组织出现不可逆瘢痕(肝硬化)并最终导致肝衰竭。

虽然原发性胆汁性胆管炎对男性和女性都有影响,但它对女性的影响相对较大。该疾病是一种自身免疫性疾病,这意味着您身体的免疫系统错误地攻击了健康的细胞和组织。研究人员认为遗传和环境因素共同引发了这种疾病。该病通常进展缓慢。就目前而言,原发性胆汁性胆管炎尚无治愈方法,但药物可以减缓肝损伤,尤其是在及早开始治疗的情况下。

症状

超过半数的原发性胆汁性胆管炎患者在诊断时没有任何明显症状。在因其他原因(例如常规检查)进行血液检查时,可能会诊断出这种疾病。症状最终会在接下来的 5 到 20 年内出现。确诊时有症状的患者通常后果更为严重。

常见的早期症状包括:

  • 疲劳
  • 皮肤瘙痒

后期体征和症状可能包括:

  • 眼睛干涩和口腔干燥
  • 右上腹疼痛
  • 脾脏肿胀(脾肿大)
  • 骨骼、肌肉或关节(肌肉骨骼)疼痛
  • 脚和脚踝肿胀(水肿)
  • 肝衰竭导致腹部积水(腹水)
  • 脂肪沉积(黄瘤)沉积在眼睛、眼睑或手掌、脚掌、肘部或膝盖的褶皱周围的皮肤上
  • 皮肤和眼睛变黄(黄疸)
  • 与日晒无关的皮肤变黑(色素沉着)
  • 骨骼脆弱脆弱(骨质疏松症),可能导致骨折
  • 高胆固醇
  • 腹泻,可能包括大便油腻(脂肪泻)
  • 甲状腺功能低下(甲状腺功能减退症)
  • 体重减轻

病因

原发性胆汁性胆管炎的病因尚不明确。许多专家认为它是一种自身免疫性疾病,是由于免疫系统攻击自身细胞所致。研究人员认为,这种自身免疫反应可能是由环境和遗传因素引发的。

当一种名为 T 细胞的白细胞(T 淋巴细胞)开始聚集在肝脏中时,就会发生原发性胆汁性胆管炎。免疫细胞通常可以检测并帮助抵抗细菌和病毒等微生物。但在原发性胆汁性胆管炎中,免疫细胞会错误地破坏肝脏小胆管内膜的健康细胞。

最小的导管中的炎症会扩散并最终损害肝脏中的其他细胞。当细胞死亡时,它们将被可能导致肝硬化的疤痕组织(纤维化)所替代。肝硬化即肝脏组织出现瘢痕形成,会使您的肝脏难以正常工作。

风险因素

以下因素可能会增加原发性胆汁性胆管炎的风险:

  • 性别。大多数原发性胆汁性胆管炎患者为女性。
  • 年龄。这种疾病最常发生于 30 至 60 岁的人群中。
  • 遗传因素。如果您有家庭成员患或曾患这种疾病,则您更可能患此病。
  • 地理因素。尽管原发性胆汁性胆管炎会影响所有种族,但在北欧血统的人群中最为常见。

研究人员认为,遗传因素与某些环境因素相结合,会诱发原发性胆汁性胆管炎。这些环境因素可能包括:

  • 感染,例如尿路感染
  • 吸烟
  • 有毒化学物质

并发症

随着肝损伤加剧,原发性胆汁性胆管炎会导致严重的健康问题,包括:

  • 肝脏瘢痕形成(肝硬化)。肝硬化会使您的肝脏难以工作,并可能导致肝功能衰竭。它提示原发性胆汁性胆管炎处于晚期。原发性胆汁性胆管炎和肝硬化患者预后较差,发生其他并发症的风险较高。
  • 静脉扩大(静脉曲张)。当流经门静脉的血流减慢或受阻时,血液可能会回流到其他静脉,通常是胃和食管中的静脉。血压升高可能会导致脆弱的静脉破裂出血。胃上部或食管出血是危及生命的紧急情况,需要立即进行医疗护理。
  • 门静脉血压升高(门静脉高压症)。来自肠道、脾脏和胰腺的血流经由一根叫做门静脉的大血管进入肝脏。当肝硬化造成的疤痕组织阻碍肝脏的正常血流时,血液就会回流。这会导致静脉内压力增加。此外,由于血液不能正常流经肝脏,药物和其他毒素无法从血液中过滤出来。
  • 脾脏肿大(脾肿大)。由于您的身体不再像往常那样将毒素从血液中过滤掉,您的脾脏可能因白细胞和血小板而肿胀。
  • 胆结石和胆管结石。如果胆汁不能从胆管中流出,它可能硬化成结石,引起疼痛和感染。
  • 肝癌。肝脏瘢痕形成(肝硬化)会增加您患肝癌的风险。如果您有肝脏瘢痕形成,则需要定期进行癌症筛查。
  • 骨骼脆弱(骨质疏松症)。原发性胆汁性胆管炎患者骨骼脆弱无力、折断的风险更高。
  • 维生素缺乏。胆汁缺乏会影响消化系统吸收脂肪和脂溶性维生素 A、D、E 和 K 的能力。因此,一些晚期原发性胆汁性胆管炎患者体内这些维生素的水平可能偏低。这些维生素缺乏可能导致多种健康问题,包括夜盲症和出血障碍。
  • 高胆固醇(高脂血症)。多达 80% 的原发性胆汁性胆管炎患者同时患有高胆固醇。
  • 精神功能下降(肝性脑病)。一些晚期原发性胆汁性胆管炎和肝硬化患者会出现人格改变以及记忆力和注意力问题。
  • 患其他疾病的风险增加。原发性胆汁性胆管炎与代谢或免疫系统紊乱有关,包括甲状腺问题、限制型硬皮病(CREST 综合征)、类风湿关节炎以及干眼症和口干(干燥综合征)。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Aug. 29, 2022
  1. Corpechot C, et al. New treatments/targets for primary biliary cholangitis. JHEP Reports. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.jhepr.2019.05.005.
  2. Louie JS, et al. Primary biliary cholangitis: A brief overview. Clinical Liver Disease. 2020; doi:10.1002/cld.867.
  3. Primary biliary cholangitis (primary biliary cirrhosis). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/primary-biliary-cholangitis. Accessed March 3, 2021.
  4. Primary biliary cholangitis. National Organization for Rare Disorders. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/primary-biliary-cholangitis/. Accessed March 3, 2021.
  5. Tanaka A. Current understanding of primary biliary cholangitis. Clinical and Molecular Hepatology. 2021; doi:10.3350/cmh.2020.0028.
  6. Galoosian A, et al. Clinical updates in primary biliary cholangitis: Trends, epidemiology, diagnostics, and new therapeutic approaches. Journal of Clinical and Translational Hepatology. 2020; doi:10.14218/JCTH.2019.00049.
  7. Feldman M, et al., eds. Primary biliary cholangitis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 3, 2021.
  8. Survival tips. Sjogren's Foundation. https://www.sjogrens.org/living-with-sjogrens/survival-tips. Accessed March 3, 2021.
  9. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Dec. 22, 2020.
  10. Wiesner RH (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. April 3, 2021.

相关

Associated Procedures

Overview

Primary biliary cholangitis is an autoimmune disease in which the bile ducts are inflamed and slowly destroyed. It previously was called primary biliary cirrhosis.

Bile is a fluid made in the liver. It helps with digestion and absorbing certain vitamins. It also helps the body absorb fats and get rid of cholesterol, toxins and worn-out red blood cells. Ongoing inflammation in the liver can lead to bile duct inflammation and damage known as cholangitis. At times, this can lead to permanent scarring of liver tissue, called cirrhosis. It also can eventually lead to liver failure.

Although it affects both sexes, primary biliary cholangitis mostly affects women. It's considered an autoimmune disease, which means your body's immune system is mistakenly attacking healthy cells and tissue. Researchers think a combination of genetic and environmental factors triggers the disease. It usually develops slowly. At this time, there's no cure for primary biliary cholangitis, but medicines may slow liver damage, especially if treatment begins early.

Symptoms

More than half of people with primary biliary cholangitis do not have any noticeable symptoms when diagnosed. The disease may be diagnosed when blood tests are done for other reasons, such as routine testing. Symptoms eventually develop over the next 5 to 20 years. Those who do have symptoms at diagnosis typically have poorer outcomes.

Common early symptoms include:

  • Fatigue.
  • Itchy skin.

Later signs and symptoms may include:

  • Yellowing of the skin and eyes, called jaundice.
  • Dry eyes and mouth.
  • Pain in the upper right abdomen.
  • Swelling of the spleen, called splenomegaly.
  • Bone, muscle or joint pain.
  • Swollen feet and ankles.
  • Buildup of fluid in the abdomen due to liver failure, called ascites.
  • Fatty deposits, called xanthomas, on the skin around the eyes, eyelids or in the creases of the palms, soles, elbows or knees.
  • Darkening of the skin that's not related to sun exposure, called hyperpigmentation.
  • Weak and brittle bones, called osteoporosis, which can lead to fractures.
  • High cholesterol.
  • Diarrhea that may include greasy stools, called steatorrhea.
  • Underactive thyroid, called hypothyroidism.
  • Weight loss.

Causes

It's not clear what causes primary biliary cholangitis. Many experts consider it an autoimmune disease in which the body turns against its own cells. Researchers believe this autoimmune response may be triggered by environmental and genetic factors.

The liver inflammation seen in primary biliary cholangitis starts when certain types of white blood cells called T cells, also known as T lymphocytes, start to collect in the liver. Usually, these immune cells detect and help defend against germs, such as bacteria and viruses. But in primary biliary cholangitis, they mistakenly destroy the healthy cells that line the small bile ducts in the liver.

Inflammation in the smallest ducts spreads and eventually damages other cells in the liver. As the cells die, they're replaced by scar tissue, also known as fibrosis, that can lead to cirrhosis. Cirrhosis is scarring of liver tissue that makes it difficult for your liver to work properly.

Risk factors

The following factors may increase your risk of primary biliary cholangitis:

  • Sex. Most people with primary biliary cholangitis are women.
  • Age. It's most likely to occur in people 30 to 60 years old.
  • Genetics. You're more likely to get the condition if you have a family member who has or had it.
  • Geography. It's most common in people of northern European descent, but primary biliary cholangitis can affect all ethnicities and races.

Researchers think that genetic factors combined with certain environmental factors trigger primary biliary cholangitis. These environmental factors may include:

  • Infections, such as a urinary tract infection.
  • Smoking cigarettes, especially over long periods of time.
  • Exposure to toxic chemicals, such as in certain work environments.

Complications

As liver damage worsens, primary biliary cholangitis can cause serious health problems, including:

  • Liver scarring, called cirrhosis. Cirrhosis makes it difficult for your liver to work and may lead to liver failure. It means the later stage of primary biliary cholangitis. People with primary biliary cholangitis and cirrhosis have a poor medical outlook. They also have a higher risk of other complications.
  • Increased pressure in the portal vein, called portal hypertension. Blood from your intestine, spleen and pancreas enters your liver through a large blood vessel called the portal vein. When scar tissue from cirrhosis blocks normal blood flow through your liver, blood backs up. This causes increased pressure inside the vein. Also, because blood doesn't flow correctly through your liver, drugs and other toxins aren't filtered properly from your bloodstream.
  • Enlarged veins, called varices. When blood flow through the portal vein is slowed or blocked, blood may back up into other veins. It usually backs up into those in your stomach and esophagus. Increased pressure may cause delicate veins to break open and bleed. Bleeding in the upper stomach or esophagus is a life-threatening emergency. It requires immediate medical care.
  • Enlarged spleen, called splenomegaly. Your spleen may become swollen with white blood cells and platelets. This is because your body no longer filters toxins out of the bloodstream as it should.
  • Gallstones and bile duct stones. If bile cannot flow through the bile ducts, it may harden into stones in the ducts. These stones can cause pain and infection.
  • Liver cancer. Liver scarring increases your risk of liver cancer. If you have liver scarring, you'll need regular cancer screening.
  • Weak bones, called osteoporosis. People with primary biliary cholangitis have an increased risk of weak, brittle bones that may break more easily.
  • Vitamin deficiencies. Not having enough bile affects your digestive system's ability to absorb fats and the fat-soluble vitamins, A, D, E and K. Because of this, some people with advanced primary biliary cholangitis may have low levels of these vitamins. Low levels can result in a variety of health problems, including night blindness and bleeding disorders.
  • High cholesterol. Up to 80% of people with primary biliary cholangitis have high cholesterol.
  • Decreased mental function, called hepatic encephalopathy. Some people with advanced primary biliary cholangitis and cirrhosis have personality changes. They also may have problems with memory and concentration.
  • Increased risk of other disease. Primary biliary cholangitis is associated with other disorders, including those that affect the thyroid, skin and joints. It also can be associated with dry eyes and mouth, a disorder called Sjogren's syndrome.

Primary biliary cholangitis care at Mayo Clinic

Nov. 14, 2023

Living with primary biliary cholangitis?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Transplants support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Transplants Discussions

lmctif
Liver transplant - Let's support each other

1601 Replies Tue, Jun 18, 2024

Lori, Volunteer Mentor
Snapshots of hope: Life on the other side of transplant.

88 Replies Tue, Jun 18, 2024

suzy212
Recurrent Liver Cancer After Liver Transplant

12 Replies Wed, Jun 12, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Poupon R. Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and prognosis of primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  2. Poupon R. Overview of the management of primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  3. Elsevier Point of Care. Clinical Overview: Primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  4. Feldman M, et al., eds. Primary biliary cholangitis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  5. Primary biliary cholangitis (primary biliary cirrhosis). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/primary-biliary-cholangitis. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  6. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Aug. 8, 2023.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services