نظرة عامة

التهاب القنوات الصفراوية الأولي أحد أمراض المناعة الذاتية الذي يسبب التهاب القنوات الصفراوية وتلفها ببطء. وقد كان يُعرف قبل ذلك بالتشمع الصفراوي الأولي.

والمادة الصفراء عبارة عن سائل يُفرَز في الكبد يدعم عملية الهضم ويساعد على امتصاص بعض الفيتامينات. كما يساعد جسمك على امتصاص الدهون والتخلص من الكوليسترول والسموم وخلايا الدم الحمراء التالفة. ويمكن أن يؤدي التهاب الكبد المزمن إلى حدوث التهاب وتضرر في القنوات الصفراوية، فيما يُعرف بالتهاب القنوات الصفراوية. وفي بعض الأحيان، يمكن أن يسبب ذلك تندُّبًا دائمًا في نسيج الكبد، يُطلق عليه التشمع. وقد يؤدي هذا في نهاية المطاف إلى فشل الكبد.

على الرغم من أن التهاب القنوات الصفراوية يُصيب كلا الجنسين، فإنه يصيب السيدات في أغلب الحالات. ويُعد التهاب القنوات الصفراوية أحد أمراض المناعة الذاتية، أي أنه يدفع الجهاز المناعي للجسم إلى مهاجمة الخلايا والأنسجة السليمة عن طريق الخطأ. ويرى الباحثون أن هناك مجموعة من العوامل الوراثية والبيئية لها دور في الإصابة بهذا المرض. وتتطور مراحل الإصابة بهذا المرض عادةً ببطء. ورغم أنه لا يوجد علاج لالتهاب القنوات الصفراوية الأولي في الوقت الحالي، فإن الأدوية يمكن أن تبطئ تضرر الكبد، وخاصةً عند بدء العلاج مبكرًا.

الأعراض

لا يشعر أكثر من نصف مرضى التهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأوّلي بأي أعراض ملحوظة عند التشخيص. وقد يُكتشف المرض عند إجراء اختبارات الدم لأسباب أخرى، مثل الاختبارات الروتينية. وتتطور الأعراض بعد ذلك خلال مدة تتراوح بين 5 أعوام إلى 20 عامًا. وبالنسبة للأشخاص الذين تظهر عليهم الأعراض بعد التشخيص، تكون نتائجهم أكثر سوءًا عادةً.

تشمل الأعراض المبكرة الشائعة ما يلي:

  • الإرهاق.
  • حكة في الجلد.

قد تشمل الأعراض ومؤشرات المرض المتأخرة ما يلي:

  • اصفرار الجلد والعينَين (اليَرقان).
  • جفاف العينين والفم.
  • ألم في الجزء العلوي الأيمن من البطن.
  • تضخُّم الطحال.
  • ألم العظام أو المفاصل أو العضلات.
  • تورم القدم والكاحلين.
  • تراكم السوائل في البطن نتيجة فشل الكبد (الاستسقاء).
  • ترسّبات دهنية (تُسمى الورم الأصفر) على الجلد وحول العين والجفون أو في ثنايا راحة اليد أو باطن القدم أو المِرفَقين أو الركبتين.
  • اسمرار الجلد بدون التعرض للشمس، يُسمى فرط التصبغ.
  • ضعف العظام وترققها (هشاشة العظام) بدرجة قد تؤدي إلى الإصابة بكسور.
  • ارتفاع مستوى الكوليسترول.
  • الإسهال الذي قد يتضمن البراز الدهني، يُسمى الإسهال الدهني.
  • نقص نشاط الغدة الدرقية، يُسمى قصور الدرقية.
  • فقدان الوزن.

الأسباب

لا يوجد سبب واضح للإصابة بالتهاب القنوات الصفراوية الأولي. ويعتبره الكثير من الاختصاصيين مرضًا في المناعة الذاتية، يهاجم فيه الجسم نفسه. كما يعتقد الباحثون أن استجابة المناعة الذاتية هذه قد تتعرض للتحفيز بفعل عوامل بيئية ووراثية.

ويظهر التهاب الكبد الناجم عن التهاب القنوات الصفراوية الأولي عندما تبدأ أنواع معينة من خلايا الدم البيضاء –يُطلق عليها الخلايا التائية (أو اللمفاويات التائية)– في التجمع داخل الكبد. في الأحوال الطبيعية، ترصد هذه الخلايا المناعية الجراثيم والبكتيريا والفيروسات، وتساعد على الوقاية منها. ولكن في حال التهاب القنوات الصفراوية الأولي، فإنها تهاجم عن طريق الخطأ الخلايا السليمة المُبطِّنة للقنوات المرارية الصغيرة في الكبد.

وينتشر الالتهاب في القنوات الأصغر ليؤدي في النهاية إلى إتلاف الخلايا الأخرى في الكبد. وبموت الخلايا، تحل محلها أنسجة ندبية، تُعرف أيضًا بالتليُّفات، والتي قد تؤدي إلى تشمع الكبد. والتشمع هو تندُّب في نسيج الكبد يؤدي إلى الإخلال بقدرة الكبد على تأدية عملها بشكل طبيعي.

عوامل الخطر

تزيد العوامل التالية عادةً من خطر إصابتك بالتهاب القنوات الصفراوية الأولي:

  • النوع. أغلب الإصابات بالتهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي هي بين النساء.
  • العمر. تكثر الإصابة به في الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 30 و60 عامًا.
  • الخصائص الوراثية. إذا كان أحد أقاربك مصابًا بالمرض، فيعني ذلك ارتفاع احتمال إصابتك به.
  • المنطقة الجغرافية. هذا الالتهاب أكثر شيوعًا بين الأشخاص من أصول شمال أوروبية، ولكنه يمكن أن يصيب جميع الأجناس والأعراق بالأساس.

ويعتقد الباحثون أنه من شأن العوامل الوراثية، مجتمعة مع عوامل بيئية معينة، أن تحفز الإصابة بالتهاب القنوات الصفراوية الأولي. قد تشمل تلك العوامل البيئية ما يلي:

  • العدوى، مثل عدوى المسالك البولية.
  • تدخين السجائر، وخاصة لفترات زمنية طويلة.
  • التعرض للمواد الكيميائية السامّة، مثلما يحدث في بيئات عمل معينة.

المضاعفات

مع تفاقم تضرر الكبد، قد يسبب التهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي حدوث مشكلات صحية خطيرة، من بينها:

  • تندّب الكبد، ويسمى التشمع. يصعِّب التشمع على الكبد أداء وظيفته، وربما يؤدي إلى حدوث فشل الكبد. ويعني ذلك وصول التهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي إلى المرحلة الأخيرة. ففي حال الإصابة بالتهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي مع التشمع، تصبح التوقعات الصحية سيئة. ويكون المصابون عرضة بشكل أكبر لخطر حدوث مضاعفات أخرى.
  • زيادة الضغط داخل الوريد البابي، ويسمى فرط ضغط الدم البابي. يدخل الدم القادم من الأمعاء والطحال والبنكرياس إلى الكبد من خلال وعاء دموي كبير يُسمى الوريد البابي. ولكن تُسبب الأنسجة الندبية الناجمة عن تشمُّع الكبد إيقاف تدفق الدم بصورة طبيعية خلال الكبد، فيرتد الدم إلى الأعلى. وينجم عن هذا زيادة الضغط داخل الوريد البابي. وقد يُسبب عدم تدفق الدم على نحو سليم خلال الكبد أيضًا عدم ترشيح الأدوية وغيرها من المواد السامة جيدًا من مجرى الدم.
  • تضخم الأوردة، وتسمى الدوالي. في حالة بطء تدفق الدم أو توقفه داخل الوريد البابي، قد يعود الدم إلى أوردة أخرى، وغالبًا تلك الواقعة بالمعدة والمريء. ومن ثم تؤدي زيادة الضغط إلى تمزق الأوردة وحدوث نزيف. ويمثل النزيف في الجزء العلوي من المعدة أو المريء حالة طارئة تهدد الحياة، وهو ما يتطلب رعاية طبية عاجلة.
  • تضخم الطحال. قد يصبح الطحال منتفخًا بخلايا الدم البيضاء والصفائح الدموية. وذلك لأن الجسم لم يعد قادرًا على تصفية المواد السامة خارج مجرى الدم كما ينبغي.
  • حصوات المرارة وحصوات القناة الصفراوية. في حال عدم تمكن العصارة الصفراوية من المرور عبر القنوات الصفراوية، فقد تتصلب متحولة بذلك إلى حصوات في القنوات. وتسبب هذه الحصوات الشعور بالألم والإصابة بالعَدوى.
  • سرطان الكبد. يزيد تندّب الكبد من خطر التعرض لسرطان الكبد. لذا يلزم فحص المصابين بتندّب الكبد بانتظام للتحقق من عدم إصابتهم بالسرطان.
  • ضعف العظام، ويسمى هشاشة العظام. يزداد خطر الإصابة بضعف العظام وهشاشتها لدى المصابين بالتهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي؛ الأمر الذي يجعلهم عرضة بشكل أكبر لخطر كسر العظام بسهولة.
  • نقص الفيتامينات. يؤثر عدم كفاية العصارة الصفراوية في قدرة الجهاز الهضمي على امتصاص الدهون والفيتامينات القابلة للذوبان في الدهون، وهي فيتامينات A وD وE وK. ومن ثمّ قد يعاني بعض المصابين بالتهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي من انخفاض مستويات هذه الفيتامينات. وربما ينجم عن انخفاض مستويات الفيتامينات عدة مشكلات صحية، مثل العمى الليلي والاضطرابات المرتبطة بالنزف.
  • ارتفاع مستوى الكوليسترول. تعاني نسبة تصل إلى 80% من المصابين بالتهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي من ارتفاع مستوى الكوليسترول.
  • ضعف الوظائف العقلية، ويسمى الاعتلال الدماغي الكبدي. يشكو بعض المصابين بمرحلة متأخرة من التهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي مع التشمع من تغيّرات في الشخصية. وقد يتعرضون أيضًا لمشكلات في الذاكرة والتركيز.
  • زيادة خطر الإصابة بأمراض أخرى. يرتبط التهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي باضطرابات أخرى، بما في ذلك، تلك التي تصيب الغدة الدرقية والجلد والمفاصل. كذلك يمكن أن يرتبط بجفاف العينين والفم، وهو اضطراب يسمى متلازمة شوغرن.

التهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

30/01/2024

Living with التهاب الأقنية الصفراوية الأولي?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Transplants support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Transplants Discussions

kaegee
Loss of taste after liver transplant

42 Replies Thu, May 23, 2024

Lori, Volunteer Mentor
My Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT/SCT) story: Will you share yours?

382 Replies Sat, May 25, 2024

jovanna
Mood changes after transplant

29 Replies Sat, May 18, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Poupon R. Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and prognosis of primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  2. Poupon R. Overview of the management of primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  3. Elsevier Point of Care. Clinical Overview: Primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  4. Feldman M, et al., eds. Primary biliary cholangitis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  5. Primary biliary cholangitis (primary biliary cirrhosis). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/primary-biliary-cholangitis. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  6. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Aug. 8, 2023.

Overview

Primary biliary cholangitis is an autoimmune disease in which the bile ducts are inflamed and slowly destroyed. It previously was called primary biliary cirrhosis.

Bile is a fluid made in the liver. It helps with digestion and absorbing certain vitamins. It also helps the body absorb fats and get rid of cholesterol, toxins and worn-out red blood cells. Ongoing inflammation in the liver can lead to bile duct inflammation and damage known as cholangitis. At times, this can lead to permanent scarring of liver tissue, called cirrhosis. It also can eventually lead to liver failure.

Although it affects both sexes, primary biliary cholangitis mostly affects women. It's considered an autoimmune disease, which means your body's immune system is mistakenly attacking healthy cells and tissue. Researchers think a combination of genetic and environmental factors triggers the disease. It usually develops slowly. At this time, there's no cure for primary biliary cholangitis, but medicines may slow liver damage, especially if treatment begins early.

Symptoms

More than half of people with primary biliary cholangitis do not have any noticeable symptoms when diagnosed. The disease may be diagnosed when blood tests are done for other reasons, such as routine testing. Symptoms eventually develop over the next 5 to 20 years. Those who do have symptoms at diagnosis typically have poorer outcomes.

Common early symptoms include:

  • Fatigue.
  • Itchy skin.

Later signs and symptoms may include:

  • Yellowing of the skin and eyes, called jaundice.
  • Dry eyes and mouth.
  • Pain in the upper right abdomen.
  • Swelling of the spleen, called splenomegaly.
  • Bone, muscle or joint pain.
  • Swollen feet and ankles.
  • Buildup of fluid in the abdomen due to liver failure, called ascites.
  • Fatty deposits, called xanthomas, on the skin around the eyes, eyelids or in the creases of the palms, soles, elbows or knees.
  • Darkening of the skin that's not related to sun exposure, called hyperpigmentation.
  • Weak and brittle bones, called osteoporosis, which can lead to fractures.
  • High cholesterol.
  • Diarrhea that may include greasy stools, called steatorrhea.
  • Underactive thyroid, called hypothyroidism.
  • Weight loss.

Causes

It's not clear what causes primary biliary cholangitis. Many experts consider it an autoimmune disease in which the body turns against its own cells. Researchers believe this autoimmune response may be triggered by environmental and genetic factors.

The liver inflammation seen in primary biliary cholangitis starts when certain types of white blood cells called T cells, also known as T lymphocytes, start to collect in the liver. Usually, these immune cells detect and help defend against germs, such as bacteria and viruses. But in primary biliary cholangitis, they mistakenly destroy the healthy cells that line the small bile ducts in the liver.

Inflammation in the smallest ducts spreads and eventually damages other cells in the liver. As the cells die, they're replaced by scar tissue, also known as fibrosis, that can lead to cirrhosis. Cirrhosis is scarring of liver tissue that makes it difficult for your liver to work properly.

Risk factors

The following factors may increase your risk of primary biliary cholangitis:

  • Sex. Most people with primary biliary cholangitis are women.
  • Age. It's most likely to occur in people 30 to 60 years old.
  • Genetics. You're more likely to get the condition if you have a family member who has or had it.
  • Geography. It's most common in people of northern European descent, but primary biliary cholangitis can affect all ethnicities and races.

Researchers think that genetic factors combined with certain environmental factors trigger primary biliary cholangitis. These environmental factors may include:

  • Infections, such as a urinary tract infection.
  • Smoking cigarettes, especially over long periods of time.
  • Exposure to toxic chemicals, such as in certain work environments.

Complications

As liver damage worsens, primary biliary cholangitis can cause serious health problems, including:

  • Liver scarring, called cirrhosis. Cirrhosis makes it difficult for your liver to work and may lead to liver failure. It means the later stage of primary biliary cholangitis. People with primary biliary cholangitis and cirrhosis have a poor medical outlook. They also have a higher risk of other complications.
  • Increased pressure in the portal vein, called portal hypertension. Blood from your intestine, spleen and pancreas enters your liver through a large blood vessel called the portal vein. When scar tissue from cirrhosis blocks normal blood flow through your liver, blood backs up. This causes increased pressure inside the vein. Also, because blood doesn't flow correctly through your liver, drugs and other toxins aren't filtered properly from your bloodstream.
  • Enlarged veins, called varices. When blood flow through the portal vein is slowed or blocked, blood may back up into other veins. It usually backs up into those in your stomach and esophagus. Increased pressure may cause delicate veins to break open and bleed. Bleeding in the upper stomach or esophagus is a life-threatening emergency. It requires immediate medical care.
  • Enlarged spleen, called splenomegaly. Your spleen may become swollen with white blood cells and platelets. This is because your body no longer filters toxins out of the bloodstream as it should.
  • Gallstones and bile duct stones. If bile cannot flow through the bile ducts, it may harden into stones in the ducts. These stones can cause pain and infection.
  • Liver cancer. Liver scarring increases your risk of liver cancer. If you have liver scarring, you'll need regular cancer screening.
  • Weak bones, called osteoporosis. People with primary biliary cholangitis have an increased risk of weak, brittle bones that may break more easily.
  • Vitamin deficiencies. Not having enough bile affects your digestive system's ability to absorb fats and the fat-soluble vitamins, A, D, E and K. Because of this, some people with advanced primary biliary cholangitis may have low levels of these vitamins. Low levels can result in a variety of health problems, including night blindness and bleeding disorders.
  • High cholesterol. Up to 80% of people with primary biliary cholangitis have high cholesterol.
  • Decreased mental function, called hepatic encephalopathy. Some people with advanced primary biliary cholangitis and cirrhosis have personality changes. They also may have problems with memory and concentration.
  • Increased risk of other disease. Primary biliary cholangitis is associated with other disorders, including those that affect the thyroid, skin and joints. It also can be associated with dry eyes and mouth, a disorder called Sjogren's syndrome.

Primary biliary cholangitis care at Mayo Clinic

Nov. 14, 2023

Living with primary biliary cholangitis?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Transplants support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Transplants Discussions

lmctif
Liver transplant - Let's support each other

1601 Replies Tue, Jun 18, 2024

Lori, Volunteer Mentor
Snapshots of hope: Life on the other side of transplant.

88 Replies Tue, Jun 18, 2024

suzy212
Recurrent Liver Cancer After Liver Transplant

12 Replies Wed, Jun 12, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Poupon R. Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and prognosis of primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  2. Poupon R. Overview of the management of primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  3. Elsevier Point of Care. Clinical Overview: Primary biliary cholangitis. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  4. Feldman M, et al., eds. Primary biliary cholangitis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  5. Primary biliary cholangitis (primary biliary cirrhosis). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/primary-biliary-cholangitis. Accessed Sept. 15, 2023.
  6. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Aug. 8, 2023.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services