نظرة عامة

فرط التنسُّج اللانمطي هو من الحالات المرضية محتملة التسرطن التي تؤثر على الثدي. وهو عبارة عن تراكم الخلايا الشاذة في قنوات الحليب والفصيصات في الثدي.

على الرغم من أن فرط التنسج اللانمطي غير سرطاني، إلا أنه يزيد من مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي. فإذا تراكمت على مدار العمر خلايا فرط التنسج اللانمطي في قنوات الحليب أو الفصيصات حتى أصبحت طبيعتها أكثر شذوذًا، فقد يتحول ذلك إلى سرطان ثدي غير متوغل (سرطانة لابدة) أو سرطان ثدي متوغل.

في حال تشخيص وجود فرط تنسُج لانمطي، فإنه من الوارد تزايد مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي في المستقبل. ولهذا السبب، ينصح الأطباء عادةً بفحص سرطان الثدي بشكل مكثف وأخذ الأدوية اللازمة لتقليل مخاطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي.

الأعراض

لا يتسبب فرط التنسج اللانمطي عادةً في ظهور أي أعراض محددة.

متى يجب زيارة الطبيب؟

يجب زيارة الطبيب في حال وجود مؤشرات أو أعراض تثير قلقك.

يُكتشف فرط التنسج اللانمطي للثدي أثناء إجراء خزعة الثدي للتحقق من أي أعراض غير طبيعية تظهر في صورة الثدي الشعاعية (الماموغرام) أو التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية (ألتراساوند). وأحيانًا يُكتشف فرط التنسج اللانمطي للثدي عند إجراء خزعة بغرض التحقق من أي أعراض مقلقة في الثدي مثل وجود كتلة أو خروج إفرازات من الحلمة.

الأسباب

لا يوجد سبب واضح للإصابة بفرط التنسج اللانمطي.

ويتكوّن فرط التنسج اللانمطي عندما تصبح خلايا الثدي غير طبيعية من حيث العدد والحجم والشكل ونمط النمو والمظهر. ويحدد مظهر الخلايا الشاذة نوع فرط التنسج اللانمطي:

  • فرط التنسج القنوي اللانمطي، والذي تكون فيه الخلايا الشاذة داخل قنوات الثدي.
  • فرط التنسج الفصيصي اللانمطي، والذي تكون فيه الخلايا الشاذة داخل فصيصات الثدي.

ويُعتقد أن فرط التنسج اللانمطي جزء من عملية الانتقال المعقدة للخلايا، والتي قد تتراكم وتتطور إلى سرطان الثدي. وعادةً ما يتضمن تطور الإصابة بسرطان الثدي ما يلي:

  • فرط التنسج. تكون البداية مع تعطل عملية تطور ونمو الخلايا الطبيعية، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة إنتاج الخلايا ذات المظهر الطبيعي (فرط التنسج).
  • فرط التنسج اللانمطي. وفيه تتراكم الخلايا الزائدة على بعضها وتبدأ في الظهور بمظهر غير طبيعي.
  • سرطان غير غزوي (لابِد). في هذه المرحلة، تستمر الخلايا الشاذة في التحول لمظهر غير طبيعي والتكاثر، ثم تتحول إلى سرطان موضعي (لابِد)، والذي تكون فيه الخلايا السرطانية محصورة في قنوات الحليب.
  • سرطان غزوي. وهي المرحلة التي يحدث فيها تراكم الخلايا الشاذة داخل القناة، وتستمر في التكاثر والانتقال لتصبح خلايا سرطانية. وغالبًا ما يبدأ السرطان الغزوي في غزو الأنسجة أو الأوعية الدموية أو القنوات اللمفية المحيطة بالمنطقة.

المضاعفات

في حال تشخيص حالتكِ بفرط التنسج اللانمطي، فهذا يعني أن لديكِ عامل خطر يزيد من احتمالية إصابتكِ بسرطان الثدي في المستقبل. فإن احتمالية الإصابة بسرطان الثدي بين النساء اللاتي لديهن فرط التنسج اللانمطي أعلى بمعدل أربع مرات تقريبًا من احتمالية الإصابة بين النساء اللاتي ليست لديهن هذه الحالة. في حين تتساوى احتمالية الإصابة في حالة فرط التنسج اللانمطي داخل قنوات الثدي وفرط التنسج اللانمطي في فصيصات الثدي.

كشف الباحثون أن خطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي يزيد بين النساء المصابات بفرط التنسج اللانمطي خلال السنوات التالية للتشخيص:

  • بعد 5 أعوام من التشخيص، قد تُصاب حوالي 7 بالمئة من النساء اللاتي لديهن فرط التنسج اللانمطي بسرطان الثدي. بعبارة أخرى، من بين كل 100 امرأة لديها فرط التنسج اللانمطي، من المتوقع أن تُصاب 7 منهن بسرطان الثدي بعد خمس سنوات من التشخيص. ولن تُصاب بقية السيدات بسرطان الثدي وعددهن 93 امرأة.
  • بعد 10 أعوام من التشخيص، قد تُصاب حوالي 13 بالمئة من النساء اللاتي لديهن فرط التنسج اللانمطي بسرطان الثدي. وهذا يعني أنه من بين كل 100 امرأة لديها فرط التنسج اللانمطي، من المتوقع أن تُصاب 13 امرأة منهن بسرطان الثدي بعد 10 سنوات من التشخيص. ولن تُصاب بقية السيدات بسرطان الثدي وعددهن 87 امرأة.
  • بعد 25 عامًا من التشخيص، قد تُصاب حوالي 30 بالمئة من النساء اللاتي لديهم فرط التنسج اللانمطي بسرطان الثدي. وبعبارة أخرى، من بين كل 100 امرأة لديها فرط التنسج اللانمطي، من المتوقع أن تُصاب 30 امرأة منهم بسرطان الثدي بعد 25 عامًا من التشخيص. ولن تُصاب بقية السيدات بسرطان الثدي وعددهن 70 امرأة.

ناقشي عوامل خطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي التي لديكِ مع الطبيب. فإن فهم عوامل الخطر يمكن أن يساعدكِ على اتخاذ قرارات بشأن إجراء فحوصات الكشف عن سرطان الثدي وتناول الأدوية التي تقلل من مخاطر الإصابة به.

16/01/2021
  1. Kumar V, et al. The breast. In: Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease. 10th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 11, 2020.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast. Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  3. Hartmann LC, et al. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast — Risk assessment and management options. New England Journal of Medicine. 2015; doi:10.1056/NEJMsr1407164.
  4. Hartmann LC, et al. Understanding the premalignant potential of atypical hyperplasia through its natural history: A longitudinal cohort study. Cancer Prevention Research. 2014; doi:10.1158/1940-6207.CAPR-13-0222.
  5. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 17, 2020.

Overview

Atypical hyperplasia is a precancerous condition that affects cells in the breast. Atypical hyperplasia describes an accumulation of abnormal cells in the milk ducts and lobules of the breast.

Atypical hyperplasia isn't cancer, but it increases the risk of breast cancer. Over the course of your lifetime, if the atypical hyperplasia cells accumulate in the milk ducts or lobules and become more abnormal, this can transition into noninvasive breast cancer (carcinoma in situ) or invasive breast cancer.

If you've been diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, you have an increased risk of developing breast cancer in the future. For this reason, doctors often recommend intensive breast cancer screening and medications to reduce breast cancer risk.

Symptoms

Atypical hyperplasia usually doesn't cause any specific symptoms.

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have any signs or symptoms that worry you.

Atypical hyperplasia is typically found during a breast biopsy to investigate an abnormality found on a mammogram or ultrasound. Sometimes atypical hyperplasia is discovered on a biopsy done to investigate a breast concern, such as a lump or nipple discharge.

Get the latest breast cancer help and advice from Mayo Clinic delivered in your inbox.

Sign up for free and receive the latest on breast cancer treatment, care and management.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

It's not clear what causes atypical hyperplasia.

Atypical hyperplasia forms when breast cells become abnormal in number, size, shape, growth pattern and appearance. The appearance of the abnormal cells determines the type of atypical hyperplasia:

  • Atypical ductal hyperplasia describes abnormal cells within the breast ducts.
  • Atypical lobular hyperplasia describes abnormal cells within the breast lobules.

Atypical hyperplasia is thought to be part of the complex transition of cells that may accumulate and evolve into breast cancer. The progression to breast cancer typically involves:

  • Hyperplasia. The process begins when normal cell development and growth become disrupted, causing an overproduction of normal-looking cells (hyperplasia).
  • Atypical hyperplasia. The excess cells stack upon one another and begin to take on an abnormal appearance.
  • Noninvasive (in situ) cancer. The abnormal cells continue to progress in appearance and multiply, evolving into in situ cancer, in which cancer cells remain confined to milk ducts.
  • Invasive cancer. The abnormal cells accumulate within the duct and continue to multiply and transition to become cancer cells. Invasive cancer tends to invade surrounding tissue, blood vessels or lymph channels.

Complications

If you've been diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, you have a risk factor that increases your risk of developing breast cancer in the future. The risk of breast cancer in those with atypical hyperplasia is about four times higher than in those who don't have hyperplasia. The risk is similar for atypical ductal hyperplasia and atypical lobular hyperplasia.

Researchers who studied women with atypical hyperplasia found breast cancer risk increased over time:

  • At 5 years after diagnosis, about 7% of women with atypical hyperplasia may develop breast cancer. Put another way, for every 100 women diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, 7 can be expected to develop breast cancer five years after diagnosis. And 93 will not be diagnosed with breast cancer.
  • At 10 years after diagnosis, about 13% of women with atypical hyperplasia may develop breast cancer. That means for every 100 women diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, 13 can be expetected to develop breast cancer 10 years after diagnosis. And 87 will not develop breast cancer.
  • At 25 years after diagnosis, about 30% of women with atypical hyperplasia may develop breast cancer. Put another way, for every 100 women diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, 30 can be expected to develop breast cancer 25 years after diagnosis. And 70 will not develop breast cancer.

Discuss your risk of breast cancer with your doctor. Understanding your risk can help you make decisions about breast cancer screening and risk-reducing medications.

Jan. 16, 2021
  1. Kumar V, et al. The breast. In: Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease. 10th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 11, 2020.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast. Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  3. Hartmann LC, et al. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast — Risk assessment and management options. New England Journal of Medicine. 2015; doi:10.1056/NEJMsr1407164.
  4. Hartmann LC, et al. Understanding the premalignant potential of atypical hyperplasia through its natural history: A longitudinal cohort study. Cancer Prevention Research. 2014; doi:10.1158/1940-6207.CAPR-13-0222.
  5. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 17, 2020.