概述

非典型增生是一种影响乳腺细胞的癌前病变。非典型增生是指乳房中异常细胞的堆积。

非典型增生并非癌症,但可能是罹患乳腺癌的前兆。如果非典型增生细胞持续分裂而且异常程度逐渐加剧,就有可能转化为非浸润性乳腺癌(原位癌)或浸润性乳腺癌。

如果被诊断为非典型增生,那么您日后罹患乳腺癌的风险会较高。为此,医生经常建议加强乳腺癌筛查并进行药物治疗,以降低乳腺癌的风险。

症状

非典型增生通常不会引起任何特殊症状。

何时就诊

如果您对任何体征或症状感到担心,请与您的医生约诊。

非典型增生通常不会引起症状,但它可能会导致乳房 X 光检查出现改变。非典型增生通常是在乳房活检时发现的,活检是为了检查乳房 X 光检查中的异常。有时非典型增生是在为另一种疾病进行的活检中发现的。

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have any signs or symptoms that worry you.

Atypical hyperplasia is typically found during a breast biopsy to investigate an abnormality found on a mammogram or ultrasound. Sometimes atypical hyperplasia is discovered on a biopsy done to investigate a breast concern, such as a lump or nipple discharge.

Get the latest breast cancer information from Mayo Clinic delivered in your inbox.

Sign up for free and receive the latest on breast cancer treatment, care and management.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

病因

导致不典型增生的原因目前尚不清楚。

乳腺细胞在数量、大小、形状、生长方式和外观上出现异常时,就会出现不典型增生。不典型增生的类型取决于异常细胞的外观:

  • 不典型导管上皮增生导致与乳腺导管细胞相似的异常细胞。
  • 不典型小叶增生导致与乳腺小叶细胞相似的异常细胞。

人们认为,不典型增生是可能演变成乳腺癌的复杂细胞转变的一部分。乳腺癌的演变过程通常包括:

  • 增生。正常细胞的发育和生长受到干扰,增生开始,从而导致外观正常的细胞过剩(增生)。
  • 不典型增生。多余的细胞堆叠在一起,开始呈现出一种不正常的外观。此时,细胞会发生一些变化,这些变化构成转变为癌症所需变化的一部分。
  • 非浸润性(原位)癌症。这些不正常的细胞在外观上继续发展和繁殖,演变成原位癌,癌细胞仍然局限在它们开始生长的区域。
  • 浸润性癌。如果不治疗,癌细胞最终可能变成侵袭性癌症,侵入周围组织、血管或淋巴通道。

并发症

乳腺癌的发病风险升高

如果您确诊为非特异性增生,那么您日后罹患乳腺癌的风险会增加。

患有非特异性增生的女性终生都要面对乳腺癌的发病风险,且其风险比没有非特异性增生的女性高四倍。患有非特异性导管增生的女性与患有非特异性小叶增生的女性罹患乳腺癌的风险相同。

最近的研究发现,在确诊为非特异性增生后的数年内,患者患乳腺癌的风险会增加:

  • 诊断后第 5 年,大约 7% 的非特异性增生女性可能罹患乳腺癌。换句话说,每 100 例确诊为非特异性增生的女性,预计有 7 例会在诊断后五年内患上乳腺癌。93 例不会患上乳腺癌。
  • 诊断后第 10 年,大约 13% 的非特异性增生女性患者可能罹患乳腺癌。即每 100 例确诊为非特异性增生的女性,预计有 13 例会在诊断后 10 年内患上乳腺癌。87 例不会患上乳腺癌。
  • 诊断后第 25 年,大约 30% 的非特异性增生女性患者可能罹患乳腺癌。换句话说,每 100 例确诊为非特异性增生的女性,预计有 30 例会在诊断后 25 年内患上乳腺癌。70 例不会患上乳腺癌。

在年轻时确诊为非特异性增生会进一步加大日后罹患乳腺癌的风险。例如,在 45 岁之前确诊为非特异性增生的女性,需要终生面对更高的乳腺癌发病风险。

请与医生讨论您罹患乳腺癌的风险。知悉自己的发病风险可以帮助您决定是否参加乳腺癌筛查和接受降低风险的药物治疗。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Kumar V, et al. Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease. 9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 21, 2014.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2014.
  3. Degnim AC, et al. Stratification of breast cancer risk in women with atypia: A Mayo cohort study. Journal of Clinical Oncology. 2007;25:2671.
  4. Breast cancer risk reduction. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Aug. 21, 2014.
  5. Breast cancer screening and diagnosis. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed Aug. 21, 2014.
  6. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 6, 2014.
  7. Hartmann LC, et al. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast — Risk assessment and management options. New England Journal of Medicine. 2015;372:78.
  8. Hartmann LC, et al. Understanding the premalignant potential of atypical hyperplasia through its natural history: A longitudinal cohort study. Cancer Prevention Research. 2014;7:211.

Overview

Atypical hyperplasia is a precancerous condition that affects cells in the breast. Atypical hyperplasia describes an accumulation of abnormal cells in the milk ducts and lobules of the breast.

Atypical hyperplasia isn't cancer, but it increases the risk of breast cancer. Over the course of your lifetime, if the atypical hyperplasia cells accumulate in the milk ducts or lobules and become more abnormal, this can transition into noninvasive breast cancer (carcinoma in situ) or invasive breast cancer.

If you've been diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, you have an increased risk of developing breast cancer in the future. For this reason, doctors often recommend intensive breast cancer screening and medications to reduce breast cancer risk.

Symptoms

Atypical hyperplasia usually doesn't cause any specific symptoms.

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have any signs or symptoms that worry you.

Atypical hyperplasia is typically found during a breast biopsy to investigate an abnormality found on a mammogram or ultrasound. Sometimes atypical hyperplasia is discovered on a biopsy done to investigate a breast concern, such as a lump or nipple discharge.

Get the latest breast cancer help and advice from Mayo Clinic delivered in your inbox.

Sign up for free and receive the latest on breast cancer treatment, care and management.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

It's not clear what causes atypical hyperplasia.

Atypical hyperplasia forms when breast cells become abnormal in number, size, shape, growth pattern and appearance. The appearance of the abnormal cells determines the type of atypical hyperplasia:

  • Atypical ductal hyperplasia describes abnormal cells within the breast ducts.
  • Atypical lobular hyperplasia describes abnormal cells within the breast lobules.

Atypical hyperplasia is thought to be part of the complex transition of cells that may accumulate and evolve into breast cancer. The progression to breast cancer typically involves:

  • Hyperplasia. The process begins when normal cell development and growth become disrupted, causing an overproduction of normal-looking cells (hyperplasia).
  • Atypical hyperplasia. The excess cells stack upon one another and begin to take on an abnormal appearance.
  • Noninvasive (in situ) cancer. The abnormal cells continue to progress in appearance and multiply, evolving into in situ cancer, in which cancer cells remain confined to milk ducts.
  • Invasive cancer. The abnormal cells accumulate within the duct and continue to multiply and transition to become cancer cells. Invasive cancer tends to invade surrounding tissue, blood vessels or lymph channels.

Complications

If you've been diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, you have a risk factor that increases your risk of developing breast cancer in the future. The risk of breast cancer in those with atypical hyperplasia is about four times higher than in those who don't have hyperplasia. The risk is similar for atypical ductal hyperplasia and atypical lobular hyperplasia.

Researchers who studied women with atypical hyperplasia found breast cancer risk increased over time:

  • At 5 years after diagnosis, about 7% of women with atypical hyperplasia may develop breast cancer. Put another way, for every 100 women diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, 7 can be expected to develop breast cancer five years after diagnosis. And 93 will not be diagnosed with breast cancer.
  • At 10 years after diagnosis, about 13% of women with atypical hyperplasia may develop breast cancer. That means for every 100 women diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, 13 can be expetected to develop breast cancer 10 years after diagnosis. And 87 will not develop breast cancer.
  • At 25 years after diagnosis, about 30% of women with atypical hyperplasia may develop breast cancer. Put another way, for every 100 women diagnosed with atypical hyperplasia, 30 can be expected to develop breast cancer 25 years after diagnosis. And 70 will not develop breast cancer.

Discuss your risk of breast cancer with your doctor. Understanding your risk can help you make decisions about breast cancer screening and risk-reducing medications.

Jan. 16, 2021
  1. Kumar V, et al. The breast. In: Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease. 10th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 11, 2020.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast. Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  3. Hartmann LC, et al. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast — Risk assessment and management options. New England Journal of Medicine. 2015; doi:10.1056/NEJMsr1407164.
  4. Hartmann LC, et al. Understanding the premalignant potential of atypical hyperplasia through its natural history: A longitudinal cohort study. Cancer Prevention Research. 2014; doi:10.1158/1940-6207.CAPR-13-0222.
  5. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 17, 2020.