نظرة عامة

التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي أحد أنواع مرض العصبون الحركي الذي يصيب الخلايا العصبية في الدماغ المسؤولة عن الحركة بالفشل مع مرور الوقت. يتسبَّب التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي في ضعف العضلات الإرادية، مثل تلك المستخدمة للتحكُّم في ساقيكَ، وذراعكَ ولسانكَ. قد تواجه مشكلات في الحركة مثل صعوبة الحفاظ على التوازن وبطء الحركة والترنّح. وقد تواجه في النهاية مشكلات عند المضغ والبلع والتحدّث.

يُمكن أن تصيب هذه الحالة المرضية النادرة الإنسان في أي سن، لكنها تصيب الأشخاص عادةً بين 40 و60 عامًا. وهي شائعة لدى الذكور أكثر من الإناث. يوجد نوع ثانوي نادر جدًا من مرضالتصلب الجانبي الأولي يُعرف باسم التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي اليفعي، ويصيب الأشخاص في مرحلة مبكرة من الطفولة، وينتج عن جين شاذ ينتقل من الوالدين إلى الأطفال.

يُخلط عادةً بين التصلب الجانبي الأولي ومرض آخر أكثر شيوعًا من أمراض العصبون الحركي يُسمى بمرض التصلب الجانبي الضموري. ورغم أن التصلب الجانبي الأولي يرتبط على الأرجح بالتصلب الجانبي الضموري، إلّا إن التصلب الجانبي الأولي يتطور بوتيرة أبطأ من التصلب الجانبي الضموري كما أنه غير مميت في أغلب الحالات.

الأعراض

عادةً ما تستغرق مؤشرات التصلب الجانبي الأولي وأعراضه عدة سنوات لتتطور، وتبدأ بصفة عامة في الساقين. وفي حالات نادرة، يبدأ التصلب الجانبي الأولي في اللسان أو اليدين، ثم ينتقل إلى الحبل النخاعي نزولاً إلى الساقين. غير أن آثار المرض تتفاوت بشكل كبير من شخص إلى آخر. ومن مؤشرات المرض وأعراضه ما يلي:

  • تيبّس عضلات الساق وضعفها وتقلصها (فرط التوتر التشنُّجي)، والذي يبدأ في حالات نادرة بإحدى الساقين، ثم يتطور فيما بعد ليصيب الذراعين واليدين واللسان والفك
  • بطء الحركة
  • الترنح والتعثر وصعوبة التوازن
  • ارتعاش اليد
  • بحّة الصوت وبطء الكلام وتداخله وسيلان اللعاب
  • صعوبة المضغ والبلع
  • اضطراب الانفعالات (تقلب المزاج) المتكرر والسريع والحاد في بعض الأحيان
  • في حالات نادرة، مشاكل في التنفس والمثانة في مراحل متأخرة من المرض

متى تزور الطبيب؟

حدد موعدًا لزيارة طبيبك إذا كانت لديك مشاكل متواصلة تتمثل في تيبس ساقيك أو ذراعيك أو ضعفهما أو إذا كنت تعاني من مشاكل في البلغ أو القدرة على الكلام.

إذا كان لدى طفلك تشنُّجات عضلية لا إرادية أو يبدو أنه يفقد توازنه غالبًا أكثر من المعتاد، فحدد موعدًا مع أحد أطباء الأطفال لتقييم حالته.

الأسباب

تُصاب الخلايا العصبية في الدماغ المتحكمة في الحركة (العصبونات الحركية العلوية)، عند الإصابة بمرض التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي، بالارتخاء ببطء والفشلِ مع مرورِ الوقت. يَنتُج عن ذلك عدم قدرة الأعصاب على تنشيط الخلايا العصبية الحركية في الحبل النخاعي التي تتحكَّم في العضلات. تُسبب هذه الخسارة مشكلات في الحركة مثل صعوبة الاتزان والضعف وبطء الحركة والترنّح ومشكلات في النطق والبلع.

التصلب الجانبي الأولي الذي يبدأ من سن البلوغ

ما زال سبب الإصابة بالتصلب الجانبي الأولي الذي يبدأ في مرحلة الطفولة مجهولاً. وفي معظم الحالات، لا يُصنَّف على أنه مرض وراثي، ومن غير المعروف سبب حدوثه أو كيفية بدء الإصابة به.

التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي اليفعي

يحدث مرض التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي اليفعي بسبب طفرات في جين ALS2 (التصلُّب الجانبي الضموري 2).

على الرغم من عدم فهم الباحثين لكيفية تسبُّب هذا الجين في الإصابة بالمرض، لكنهم يعلمون أن جين ALS2 يُعطي التعليمات لتكوين بروتين Alsin، والذي يظهر في خلايا العصبونات الحركية. وعندما تتغيَّر التعليمات لدى الشخص المصاب بمرض التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي اليفعي، يصبح بروتين Alsin غير مستقر ولا يعمل بطريقة سليمة، وهو ما يسبب بدوره خللاً في وظيفة العضلة الطبيعية.

يُعد التصلُّب الجانبي الأولي اليفعي مرضًا صبغيًّا جسديًّا متنحِّيًا؛ ما يعني أن كلا الوالدين يجب أن يكونا حاملين للجين حتى يُورَّث للطفل، على الرغم من عدم إصابة كل منهما بالمرض.

المضاعفات

قد يستغرق تفاقم مرض التصلب الجانبي الأولي في المتوسط ما يصل إلى 20 عامًا، وتتفاوت آثاره تفاوتًا كبيرًا من شخص لآخر. قد يظل البعض قادرين على المشي، ولكن سيحتاج البعض الآخر إلى استخدام الكراسي المتحركة أو غيرها من الأجهزة المساعدة في نهاية المطاف.

لا يُعتقد في أغلب الحالات أن التصلب الجانبي الأولي لدى البالغين يُقصِّر متوسط العمر المتوقع، ولكنه قد يؤثر تدريجيًا على جودة الحياة ويصبح عدد العضلات المعاقة أكبر. ويمكن أن تسبب العضلات الضعيفة إلى السقوط، ما قد ينتج عنه إصابات. وقد تسبب مشكلات المضغ والبلع سوء التغذية. وربما يصبح أداء الأنشطة المعيشية اليومية كالاستحمام وارتداء الملابس عسيرًا.

09/10/2021
  1. Primary lateral sclerosis information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Primary-Lateral-Sclerosis-Information-Page. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  2. Turner MR, et al. Primary lateral sclerosis: Consensus diagnostic criteria. Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry. 2020; doi:10.1136/jnnp-2019-322541.
  3. Zhao C, et al Management of primary lateral sclerosis. Current Treatment Options in Neurology. 2020; doi:10.1007/s11940-020-00640-6.
  4. Primary lateral sclerosis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/10684/primary-lateral-sclerosis. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  5. Juvenile primary lateral sclerosis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/4485/juvenile-primary-lateral-sclerosis. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  6. Jankovic J, et al., eds. Disorders of upper and lower motor neurons. In: Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  7. Cifu DX, et al., eds. Motor neuron diseases. In: Braddom's Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  8. Adam MP, et al., eds. ALS2-related disorder. In: GeneReviews. University of Washington, Seattle; 1993-2021. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1116/. Accessed May 21, 2021.
  9. Sorenson, EJ (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 26, 2021.

Overview

Primary lateral sclerosis (PLS) is a type of motor neuron disease that causes the nerve cells in the brain that control movement to fail over time. PLS causes weakness in your voluntary muscles, such as those you use to control your legs, arms and tongue. You may experience movement problems, such as difficulty with balance, slow movements and clumsiness. You may eventually experience problems with chewing, swallowing and speaking.

This rare condition can develop at any age, but it usually occurs between ages 40 and 60 and is more common in males than females. A very rare subtype of PLS, known as juvenile primary lateral sclerosis, begins in early childhood and is caused by an abnormal gene passed from parents to children.

PLS is often mistaken for another, more common motor neuron disease called amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). While likely related to ALS, PLS progresses more slowly than ALS and in most cases isn't fatal.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of primary lateral sclerosis usually take years to progress and generally begin in the legs. Rarely, PLS begins in your tongue or hands and then progresses down your spinal cord to your legs. However, the disease has highly variable effects from person to person. Signs and symptoms may include:

  • Stiffness, weakness and muscle spasms (spasticity) in your legs, rarely starting in one leg, and eventually progressing to your arms, hands, tongue and jaw
  • Slowed movement
  • Tripping, clumsiness and difficulty with balance
  • Hand clumsiness
  • Hoarseness, as well as slowed, slurred speech and drooling
  • Difficulties with chewing and swallowing
  • Sometimes, frequent, rapid and intense shifts in emotions (mood lability)
  • Rarely, breathing problems and bladder problems late in the disease

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment to see your doctor if you have persistent problems with stiffness or weakness in your legs or arms, or with swallowing or speaking.

If your child develops involuntary muscle spasms or seems to be losing balance more often than usual, make an appointment with a pediatrician for an evaluation.

Causes

In primary lateral sclerosis, the nerve cells in the brain that control movement (upper motor neurons) slowly break down and fail over time. This makes the nerves unable to activate the motor neurons in the spinal cord, which control voluntary muscles. This loss causes movement problems, such as difficulty with balance, weakness, slowed movement and clumsiness, and problems with speech and swallowing.

Adult-onset primary lateral sclerosis

The cause of PLS that begins in adulthood is unknown. In most cases, it's not an inherited disease, and it's not known why or how it begins.

Juvenile primary lateral sclerosis

Juvenile PLS is caused by mutations in a gene called ALS2.

Although researchers don't understand how this gene causes the disease, they know that the ALS2 gene gives instructions for creating a protein called alsin, which is present in motor neuron cells. When the instructions are changed in someone with juvenile PLS, the protein alsin becomes unstable and doesn't work properly, which in turn impairs normal muscle function.

Juvenile PLS is an autosomal recessive inherited disease, meaning that both parents have to be carriers of the gene to pass it to their child, even though they don't have the disease themselves.

Complications

Average progression of primary lateral sclerosis can take as long as 20 years and has highly variable effects from person to person. Some people continue to walk, but others eventually need to use wheelchairs or other assistive devices.

In most cases, adult-onset PLS isn't thought to shorten life expectancy, but it can gradually affect the quality of your life as more muscles become disabled. Weaker muscles can cause you to fall, which can result in injuries. Problems with chewing and swallowing may result in poor nutrition. Performing activities of daily living, such as bathing and dressing, may become difficult.

Aug. 21, 2021
  1. Primary lateral sclerosis information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Primary-Lateral-Sclerosis-Information-Page. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  2. Turner MR, et al. Primary lateral sclerosis: Consensus diagnostic criteria. Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry. 2020; doi:10.1136/jnnp-2019-322541.
  3. Zhao C, et al Management of primary lateral sclerosis. Current Treatment Options in Neurology. 2020; doi:10.1007/s11940-020-00640-6.
  4. Primary lateral sclerosis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/10684/primary-lateral-sclerosis. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  5. Juvenile primary lateral sclerosis. Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center. https://rarediseases.info.nih.gov/diseases/4485/juvenile-primary-lateral-sclerosis. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  6. Jankovic J, et al., eds. Disorders of upper and lower motor neurons. In: Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  7. Cifu DX, et al., eds. Motor neuron diseases. In: Braddom's Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 19, 2021.
  8. Adam MP, et al., eds. ALS2-related disorder. In: GeneReviews. University of Washington, Seattle; 1993-2021. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1116/. Accessed May 21, 2021.
  9. Sorenson, EJ (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 26, 2021.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services