概述

动脉导管未闭(PDA)是指从心脏发出的两条主要血管之间始终有一个开口。这种心脏问题自出生就存在。也就是说,它是一种先天性的心脏缺陷。

这个开口(动脉导管)是子宫内胎儿血流系统的一部分,通常在出生后不久闭合。如果它保持开通,就称为动脉导管未闭。

较小的动脉导管未闭通常不会引起问题,可能永远不需要治疗。然而,未经治疗且较大的动脉导管未闭可能会让贫氧血以错误的方式流动。这可能会削弱心肌,导致心力衰竭和其他并发症。

动脉导管未闭的治疗方案包括定期体检、用药以及通过医疗程序或手术闭合开口。

症状

动脉导管未闭(PDA)的症状取决于开口大小和患者年龄。小 PDA 可能不会引起症状。有些人直到成年后才会察觉到症状。大 PDA 可能在出生后不久就会导致心力衰竭症状。

婴儿期或儿童期发现的大 PDA 可能导致:

  • 进食欠佳,致使发育迟缓。
  • 哭泣或进食时出汗。
  • 持续呼吸急促或呼吸困难。
  • 容易疲劳。
  • 心率过快。

何时就诊

如果孩子出现以下情况,请联系医生:

  • 吃饭或玩耍时容易疲劳。
  • 体重没有增加。
  • 进食或哭泣时容易呼吸困难。
  • 总是呼吸急促或气短。

病因

先天性心脏病的确切原因尚不清楚。在妊娠最初的六周内,胎儿心脏开始形成和跳动。进出心脏的主要血管开始发育。在这段时间内,某些心脏缺陷可能会开始发展。

出生前,在离开胎儿心脏的两根主要血管之间有一个临时开口,叫动脉导管。这两条血管分别为主动脉和肺动脉。在胎儿出生前,这个开口对血液流动是必须的。在胎儿发育过程中,它将血液从胎儿肺部排出。胎儿从母亲的血液中获取氧气。

出生后,动脉导管就不再需要了。通常在 2 至 3 天内关闭。但有些婴儿的开口不会关闭。在它保持开通时,就称为动脉导管未闭。

持续的不闭合会导致过多的血液流向婴儿的肺和心脏。不进行治疗,婴儿的肺部血压可能会升高。婴儿的心脏可能会增大并变弱。

风险因素

动脉导管未闭(PDA)的风险因素包括:

  • 早产。早产儿较足月儿更容易发生动脉导管未闭。
  • 家族史和其他遗传状况。先天性心脏问题的家族史会增加 PDA 风险。出生时多了一条 21 号染色体(唐氏综合征)的婴儿也更有可能出现这种状况。
  • 妊娠期德国麻疹。妊娠期间出现德国麻疹(风疹)会影响胎儿的心脏发育。怀孕前进行的血液检查可以确定您是否对风疹免疫。未免疫者可以接种疫苗。
  • 在高海拔地区出生。8200 英尺(2499 米)海拔以上地区出生的婴儿相比低海拔地区出生的婴儿,患 PDA 的风险更高。
  • 女性。女孩的动脉导管未闭发病率是男孩的 2 倍。

并发症

小型动脉导管未闭可能不会引起并发症。大型动脉导管未闭若不加以治疗,可能会导致:

  • 肺部高血压(肺动脉高压)。大型 PDA 会造成心脏和肺部血流不规律,从而导致肺动脉内的压力上升。久而久之,这种血压升高会损伤肺部小血管,还可能引起艾森曼格综合征(一种危及生命的永久性肺损伤)。
  • 心力衰竭。这种严重并发症的症状包括呼吸急促(常常喘粗气)和体重增长缓慢。
  • 心脏感染(心内膜炎)。动脉导管未闭可能会增加心脏组织出现感染的风险。这种感染称为心内膜炎,可能会危及生命。

动脉导管未闭与怀孕

小型动脉导管未闭患者也有可能成功怀孕。但如果 PDA 较大或存在并发症(例如心力衰竭、心律不齐或肺损伤),则会增加孕期发生严重并发症的风险。

怀孕前,请咨询医务人员潜在的妊娠风险和并发症。有些心脏药物可能会导致正在发育的胎儿出现严重问题。医务人员可能让您在怀孕前停用药物或换用其他药物。

你们可以共同讨论并就您在妊娠期间可能需要的任何特殊护理做好规划。如果孩子有先天性心脏问题的风险很高,那么您在怀孕期间可以进行基因检测和筛查。

预防

动脉导管未闭尚无已知的预防措施。但是,尽可能确保孕期健康非常重要。下面是一些基本因素:

  • 早做产前检查,甚至在怀孕之前即进行检查。戒烟、减少压力和停止避孕都是您在怀孕之前要和医务人员谈论的事项。告知医务人员您服用的所有药物,包括非处方药。
  • 健康饮食。服用含有叶酸的维生素补充剂。经证明,孕前和孕期每天摄入 400 毫克叶酸可以减少胎儿的脑部和脊髓问题。还可能有助于降低心脏问题的风险。
  • 经常锻炼。和医务人员一起制定适合您的运动计划。
  • 不要饮酒或吸烟。这些生活方式可能损害婴儿的健康。此外,也要避免吸入二手烟。
  • 接种推荐的疫苗。在怀孕之前,确保已完成所有最新的疫苗接种。某些类型的感染可能伤害发育中的胎儿。
  • 控制血糖。如果您患有糖尿病,控制好血糖可能会降低出生前出现某些心脏问题的风险。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

April 21, 2023

Living with 动脉导管未闭(pda)?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Heart & Blood Health support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Heart & Blood Health Discussions

pop77
Living with high calcium score

40 Replies Tue, May 21, 2024

csage1010 (Sue)
Anyone else out there with extremely high lipoprotein (a)?

98 Replies Fri, May 17, 2024

ashby1947
Does anyone have experience with Palliative Care?

131 Replies Sun, May 19, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Kleinman K, et al., eds. Neonatology. In: The Harriet Lane Handbook. 22nd ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  2. Congenital heart defects. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/pda. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  3. Patent ductus arteriosus (PDA). The American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/patent-ductus-arteriosus-pda. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  4. Doyle T, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of patent ductus arteriosus in term infants, children, and adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  5. Patent ductus arteriosus (PDA). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/patent-ductus-arteriosus-pda. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  6. Waksmonski CA, et al. Pregnancy in women with congenital heart disease: General principles. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  7. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 4, 2022.
  8. Planning for pregnancy. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/preconception/planning.html. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  9. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Congenital heart disease. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  10. Conrad C, et al. Understanding the pathophysiology, implications and treatment options of patents ductus arteriosus in the neonatal population. Advances in Neonatal Care. 2019; doi:10.1097/ANC.0000000000000590.
  11. Ferri FF. Patent ductus arteriosus. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  12. Kliegman RM, et al., eds. Altitude-associated illness in children (acute mountain sickness). In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  13. Congestive heart failure and congenital defects. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/the-impact-of-congenital-heart-defects/congestive-heart-failure-and-congenital-defects. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.

Overview

Patent ductus arteriosus (PDA) is a persistent opening between the two major blood vessels leading from the heart. The heart problem is present from birth. That means it is a congenital heart defect.

An opening called the ductus arteriosus is part of a baby's blood flow system in the womb. It usually closes shortly after birth. If it remains open, it's called a patent ductus arteriosus.

A small patent ductus arteriosus often doesn't cause problems and might never need treatment. However, a large, untreated patent ductus arteriosus can let oxygen-poor blood move the wrong way. This can weaken the heart muscle, causing heart failure and other complications.

Treatment options for a patent ductus arteriosus include regular health checkups, medicines, and a procedure or surgery to close the opening.

Symptoms

Patent ductus arteriosus symptoms (PDA) depend on the size of the opening and the person's age. A small PDA might not cause symptoms. Some people don't notice symptoms until adulthood. A large PDA can cause symptoms of heart failure soon after birth.

A large PDA found during infancy or childhood might cause:

  • Poor eating, which leads to poor growth.
  • Sweating with crying or eating.
  • Persistent fast breathing or breathlessness.
  • Easy tiring.
  • Rapid heart rate.

When to see a doctor

Contact the doctor if your baby or older child:

  • Tires easily when eating or playing.
  • Isn't gaining weight.
  • Becomes breathless when eating or crying.
  • Always breathes rapidly or is short of breath.

Causes

The exact causes of congenital heart defects are unclear. During the first six weeks of pregnancy, a baby's heart starts to form and beat. The major blood vessels to and from the heart grow. It's during this time that certain heart defects may begin to develop.

Before birth, a temporary opening called the ductus arteriosus is between the two main blood vessels leaving a baby's heart. Those vessels are the aorta and the pulmonary artery. The opening is necessary for a baby's blood flow before birth. It moves blood away from a baby's lungs while they develop. The baby gets oxygen from the mother's blood.

After birth, the ductus arteriosus is no longer needed. It usually closes within 2 to 3 days. But in some infants, the opening doesn't close. When it stays open, it's called a patent ductus arteriosus.

The persistent opening causes too much blood to flow to the baby's lungs and heart. Untreated, the blood pressure in the baby's lungs might increase. The baby's heart might grow larger and get weak.

Risk factors

Risk factors for patent ductus arteriosus (PDA) include:

  • Premature birth. Patent ductus arteriosus occurs more commonly in babies who are born too early than in babies who are born full term.
  • Family history and other genetic conditions. A family history of heart problems present at birth may increase the risk for a PDA. Babies born with an extra 21st chromosome, a condition called Down syndrome, also are more likely to have this condition.
  • German measles during pregnancy. Having German measles, also called rubella, during pregnancy can cause problems in a baby's heart development. A blood test done before pregnancy can determine if you're immune to rubella. A vaccine is available for those who aren't immune.
  • Being born at a high altitude. Babies born above 8,200 feet (2,499 meters) have a greater risk of a PDA than babies born at lower altitudes.
  • Being female. Patent ductus arteriosus is twice as common in girls.

Complications

A small patent ductus arteriosus might not cause complications. Larger, untreated defects could cause:

  • High blood pressure in the lungs, also called pulmonary hypertension. A large PDA causes irregular blood flow in the heart and lungs. As a result, pressure rises in the pulmonary artery. Over time, the increased pressure damages the smaller blood vessels in the lungs. A life-threatening and permanent type of lung damage called Eisenmenger syndrome may occur.
  • Heart failure. Symptoms of this serious complication include rapid breathing, often with gasping breaths, and poor weight gain.
  • Heart infection, called endocarditis. A patent ductus arteriosus can increase the risk of infection of the heart tissue. This infection is called endocarditis. It can be life-threatening.

Patent ductus arteriosus and pregnancy

It may be possible to have a successful pregnancy with a small patent ductus arteriosus. However, having a large PDA or complications such as heart failure, irregular heartbeats or lung damage increases the risk of serious complications during pregnancy.

Before becoming pregnant, talk to your health care provider about possible pregnancy risks and complications. Some heart medicines can cause serious problems for a developing baby. Your health care provider may stop or change your medicines before you become pregnant.

Together you can discuss and plan for any special care needed during pregnancy. If you are at high risk of having a baby with a heart problem present at birth, genetic testing and screening may be done during pregnancy.

Prevention

There is no known prevention for patent ductus arteriosus. However, it's important to do everything possible to have a healthy pregnancy. Here are some of the basics:

  • Seek early prenatal care, even before you're pregnant. Quitting smoking, reducing stress, stopping birth control — these are all things to talk to your health care provider about before you get pregnant. Tell your health care provider about all the medicines you take, including those bought without a prescription.
  • Eat a healthy diet. Include a vitamin supplement that contains folic acid. Taking 400 micrograms of folic acid daily before and during pregnancy has been shown to reduce brain and spinal cord problems in the baby. It also may help reduce the risk of heart problems.
  • Exercise regularly. Work with your health care provider to develop an exercise plan that's right for you.
  • Don't drink or smoke. These lifestyle habits can harm a baby's health. Also avoid secondhand smoke.
  • Get recommended vaccines. Update your vaccinations before becoming pregnant. Certain types of infections can be harmful to a developing baby.
  • Control blood sugar. If you have diabetes, good control of your blood sugar may reduce the risk of certain heart problems before birth.

Jan. 25, 2023

Living with patent ductus arteriosus (pda)?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Heart & Blood Health support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Heart & Blood Health Discussions

sjy70
High calcium score: I'm in shock

177 Replies Tue, Jul 23, 2024

csage1010 (Sue)
Anyone else out there with extremely high lipoprotein (a)?

124 Replies Fri, Jul 19, 2024

ashby1947
Does anyone have experience with Palliative Care?

147 Replies Sat, Jul 13, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Kleinman K, et al., eds. Neonatology. In: The Harriet Lane Handbook. 22nd ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  2. Congenital heart defects. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/pda. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  3. Patent ductus arteriosus (PDA). The American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/patent-ductus-arteriosus-pda. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  4. Doyle T, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of patent ductus arteriosus in term infants, children, and adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  5. Patent ductus arteriosus (PDA). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/patent-ductus-arteriosus-pda. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  6. Waksmonski CA, et al. Pregnancy in women with congenital heart disease: General principles. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  7. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 4, 2022.
  8. Planning for pregnancy. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/preconception/planning.html. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  9. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Congenital heart disease. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  10. Conrad C, et al. Understanding the pathophysiology, implications and treatment options of patents ductus arteriosus in the neonatal population. Advances in Neonatal Care. 2019; doi:10.1097/ANC.0000000000000590.
  11. Ferri FF. Patent ductus arteriosus. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  12. Kliegman RM, et al., eds. Altitude-associated illness in children (acute mountain sickness). In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 21st ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.
  13. Congestive heart failure and congenital defects. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/the-impact-of-congenital-heart-defects/congestive-heart-failure-and-congenital-defects. Accessed Nov. 22, 2022.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services