概述

阿尔茨海默病是一种逐渐加重的脑部疾病。其特征是脑部变化导致某些蛋白质的沉积。阿尔茨海默病会导致脑缩小和脑细胞最终死亡。阿尔茨海默病是最常见的痴呆症病因,后者会导致记忆力、思想、行为和社会技能持续下降,这些变化会影响个人自理能力。

在美国,大约有 650 万 65 岁及以上的人患有阿尔茨海默病。其中,超过 70% 为 75 岁及以上的人。在全球约 5500 万痴呆症患者中,估计 60% 至 70% 患有阿尔茨海默病。

这种疾病的早期症状包括忘记最近发生的事情或对话。随着时间的推移,它会发展成严重的记忆问题,并丧失执行日常任务的能力。

药物或许可以缓解症状或减缓症状进展。有各种项目和服务可以为该病患者及其照料者提供支持。

目前没有治疗方法可以治愈阿尔茨海默病。在晚期阶段,脑功能严重丧失可能引起脱水、营养不良或感染。这些并发症可能导致死亡。

症状

记忆丧失是阿尔茨海默病的主要症状。早期体征包括难以回忆起最近发生的事情或对话。随着病情的发展,记忆会恶化,其他症状也会出现。

阿尔茨海默病患者起初可能会意识到自己难以记起事情和清楚思考。随着症状恶化,家人或朋友可能更容易注意到这些问题。

与阿尔茨海默病相关的大脑变化会导致越来越多的问题:

记忆力

每个人都会偶尔出现短暂失忆,但与阿尔茨海默病有关的记忆丧失会持续存在并加重,逐渐影响工作和生活能力。

阿尔茨海默病患者可能:

  • 不断重复同一句话或同一个问题。
  • 忘记谈话、约会或事件。
  • 把物品放错地方,经常把物品放在不合适的地方。
  • 在他们曾经熟悉的地方迷路。
  • 最终忘记家人姓名和日常品的名称。
  • 难以使用正确的词语来描述物品、表达想法或参与谈话。

思考与推理

阿尔茨海默病会导致难以集中注意力和思考,尤其是对像数字这样的抽象概念。

同时做多项任务尤其困难。管理财务、计算开支和按时支付账单可能具有挑战性。最终,患有阿尔茨海默病的患者可能无法识别和处理数字。

做出判断和决定

阿尔茨海默病会导致在日常生活中做出合理决定和判断的能力下降。例如,患者可能在社交场合做出糟糕的选择,或者穿着不合时令的衣物。患者应对日常生活问题的能力可能下降。例如,患者可能不知道如何应对炉子上食物起火的情况,或在驾驶时难以做出判断。

计划和执行熟悉的任务

曾经按部就班的常规活动会变得十分困难,例如制定计划和做饭或玩喜欢的游戏。最终,病情严重的阿尔茨海默病患者会忘记如何完成一些基本任务,例如穿衣和浸浴。

性格和行为发生变化

阿尔茨海默病导致的大脑变化会影响情绪和行为。问题可能包括:

  • 抑郁症。
  • 对活动失去兴趣。
  • 排斥社交。
  • 情绪波动。
  • 对他人不信任。
  • 愤怒或攻击性。
  • 睡眠习惯发生变化。
  • 游荡。
  • 丧失自制力。
  • 幻想,例如认为有东西被偷了。

保留的技能

尽管阿尔茨海默病患者的记忆力和技能会发生重大变化,但即使症状恶化,其仍能掌握一些技能。这些技能可能包括阅读或听书、讲故事和分享回忆、唱歌、听音乐、跳舞、绘画或做手工。

这些技能之所以能保留更长时间,是因为控制这些技能的大脑部分在病程晚期才会受到影响。

何时就诊

多种状况都可能导致记忆丧失或其他痴呆症状。其中有些状况是可以治疗的。如果您对自己的记忆力或其他思维能力感到担忧,请咨询医疗护理专业人员。

如果您对在家人或朋友身上观察到的思维能力感到担忧,请说出您的担忧,并咨询医疗护理专业人员。

病因

阿尔茨海默病的确切原因尚不完全清楚。但从基本层面来说,是由于脑蛋白质无法正常运作。这扰乱了脑细胞(神经元)的工作,进而引发一系列事件。神经元受损,彼此失去连接能力,最终神经元死亡。

科学家认为,阿尔茨海默病是遗传、生活方式和环境因素共同作用的结果,这些因素会随着时间的推移影响大脑。特定的基因变异也会导致阿尔茨海默病,这种基因变异几乎决定了变异者将患上这一疾病,但这一因素的占比不到 1%。在这种病例中,症状通常从中年开始。

阿尔茨海默病其实在首发症状前几年就已开始发展。这类损伤通常始于负责控制记忆的大脑区域。神经元丢失会以某种可预测的模式扩散到大脑的其他区域。到了疾病晚期,大脑已经明显萎缩。

研究人员在试图了解阿尔茨海默病病因时主要专注于两种蛋白质的作用:

  • 斑块。β-淀粉样蛋白是一种较大蛋白质的片段。这些片段一旦聚集成团块,似乎会对神经元产生毒性作用,破坏大脑细胞之间的通讯。团块形成的较大沉积物被称作淀粉样斑块,其中还含有其他细胞碎片。
  • 缠结。Tau 蛋白在大脑细胞的内部支持和运输系统中发挥携带营养物质和其他必需物质的作用。在阿尔茨海默病患者体内,Tau 蛋白会改变形状,形成被称为神经原纤维缠结的结构。此缠结会破坏运输系统,对细胞造成损伤。

风险因素

年龄

年龄增长是阿尔茨海默病最大的已知风险因素。阿尔茨海默病并不是正常衰老的一部分。但随着年龄的增长,患这种疾病的几率会增加。

一项研究发现,每年每 1000 位 65 至 74 岁的老年人中有 4 例新确诊。每 1000 位 75 至 84 岁的老年人中有 32 例新确诊。每 1000 位 85 岁以上的老年人中有 76 例新确诊。

家族史和遗传

如果您的一级亲属—父母或兄弟姐妹—患有阿尔茨海默病,则罹患该病的风险也会更高。家族中的基因如何影响患病风险在很大程度上尚未得到解释,而且遗传因素可能很复杂。

理解较多的一个遗传因素是一种载脂蛋白 E(APOE)基因形式。这种基因的变体 APOE e4 可增加患阿尔茨海默病的风险。约有 25% 到 30% 的人群携带 APOE e4 等位基因。但并非每个携带这种基因变体的人都会患上此病。

科学家们已在三种基因中发现了罕见变化,几乎可以确定遗传这些基因之一的人将会患上阿尔茨海默病。但是这些变化在阿尔茨海默病患者中所占比例不足 1%。

唐氏综合征

很多唐氏综合征患者会发展出阿尔茨海默病。这可能与 3 个 21 号染色体拷贝有关,而 21 号染色体基因会参与生成形成 β 淀粉样蛋白的蛋白质。β 淀粉样蛋白片段可能会成为大脑中的斑块。唐氏综合征患者的症状往往比一般人群早出现 10 到 20 年。

性别

总体而言,女性患者稍多一些,因为她们的寿命通常比男性更长。

轻度认知损害

有些轻度认知损害(MCI)患者的记忆力或其他思维能力下降的严重程度高于同龄人的正常水平,但这种下降不会妨碍患者的社交或工作。

然而,MCI 患者有罹患痴呆症的显著风险。如果 MCI 主要影响记忆力,由于阿尔茨海默病的影响,该状况更有可能发展为痴呆症。诊断出 MCI 会带来机会,让患者更关注健康的生活方式变化,针对记忆丧失制订相关弥补策略。患者还可以定期安排医疗护理就诊,以监测症状。

头部创伤

几项大型研究发现,50 岁或以上患有创伤性脑损伤(TBI)的患者出现痴呆症和阿尔茨海默病的风险增加。严重和多发性 TBI 患者的风险更高。一些研究发现,在损伤发生后的头六个月至两年内,风险可能最大。

空气污染

动物研究表明,空气污染微粒会加速神经系统衰竭。而人类研究表明,暴露在空气污染中,尤其是交通尾气和木材燃烧污染,会增加患失智症的风险。

过度饮酒

人们早就知道大量饮酒会导致大脑发生变化。多项大型研究和综述发现,酒精使用障碍与痴呆症风险增加有关,尤其是早发性痴呆症。

糟糕的睡眠模式

研究表明,睡眠模式不佳,例如入睡困难或难以保持睡眠,与阿尔茨海默病的风险增加有关。

生活方式和心脏健康

研究表明,与心脏病相关的风险因素也可能增加患痴呆症的风险。目前还不清楚这些因素是通过加重脑内阿尔茨海默病异常还是通过引起脑血管异常来增加痴呆症的风险。其中包括:

  • 缺乏运动。
  • 肥胖症。
  • 吸烟或接触二手烟。
  • 高血压。
  • 高胆固醇。
  • 2 型糖尿病控制不佳。

这些因素都可以被改善。因此,改变生活方式可能在一定程度上改变您的患病风险。例如,定期运动和富含果蔬的健康低脂饮食有助于降低患阿尔茨海默病的风险。

终生学习和参与社会活动

研究发现,社交活动和参与生活中激发思维的活动可降低患阿尔茨海默病的风险。教育水平低(高中以下学历)似乎是一个与阿尔茨海默病相关的风险因素。

并发症

阿尔茨海默病的症状(如记忆丧失、语言丧失、判断力受损以及其他脑部病变)会使其他健康状况更难控制。阿尔茨海默病患者可能无法:

  • 向别人诉说自己的疼痛。
  • 说明另一种疾病的症状。
  • 遵循治疗计划。
  • 说明药物的副作用。

随着阿尔茨海默病进入到晚期,脑部变化开始影响身体功能。这些变化会影响到吞咽、平衡以及大小便的控制能力。这些影响可能会导致其他健康问题,例如:

  • 肺部吸入食物或液体。
  • 流感、肺炎和其他感染。
  • 跌倒。
  • 骨折。
  • 褥疮。
  • 营养不良和脱水。
  • 便秘或腹泻。
  • 口腔溃疡或龋齿等牙科问题。

预防

阿尔茨海默病不是可预防的医疗状况。但是,可以改变一些与生活方式有关的风险因素。

证据显示,采取降低心血管疾病风险的措施也可能降低患上失智症的风险。

以下有益心脏健康的生活方式可降低患失智症的风险:

  • 定期锻炼。
  • 采用以新鲜农产品、健康油脂为主且饱和脂肪含量低的饮食,例如地中海饮食。
  • 按照治疗指导原则管理高血压、糖尿病和高胆固醇。
  • 如果您吸烟,请向医疗护理专业人员寻求帮您戒烟的建议。

在芬兰进行的一项大型长期研究发现,改变生活方式有助于减轻失智症风险人群的认知能力下降。研究参与者接受了专注于饮食、锻炼和社交活动的个人和小组治疗。

在澳大利亚进行的另一项研究中,失智症风险人群接受了饮食、锻炼和其他生活方式改变方面的辅导。与未接受辅导的人相比,他们在一年、两年和三年后的认知测试中表现更佳。

其他研究表明,保持精神和社交活跃有助于在以后的生活中保持思维能力并降低患阿尔茨海默病的风险。这包括参加社交活动、解读、舞蹈、棋盘游戏、艺术创作、演奏乐器以及其他活动。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Aug. 30, 2023
  1. Jankovic J, et al., eds. Alzheimer disease and other dementias. In: Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 21, 2022.
  2. Alzheimer's disease fact sheet. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/alzheimers-disease-fact-sheet. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  3. Livingston G, et al. Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of The Lancet Commission. The Lancet. 2020; doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30367-6.
  4. Chen L, et al. Plasma tau proteins for the diagnosis of mild cognitive impairment and Alzheimer's disease: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience. 2022; doi:10.3389/fnagi.2022.942629.
  5. Dementia. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/dementia. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  6. Alzheimer's disease and related dementias. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/aging/aginginfo/alzheimers.htm. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  7. What is dementia? Symptoms, types, and diagnosis. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/diagnosing-dementia. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  8. Biomarkers for dementia detection and research. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/biomarkers-dementia-detection-and-research. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  9. Middle-stage caregiving. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/stages-behaviors/middle-stage. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  10. Kellerman RD, et al. Alzheimer's disease. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2022. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 21, 2022.
  11. Ferri FF. Alzheimer disease. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  12. Early-stage caregiving. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/stages-behaviors/early-stage. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  13. Alzheimer's disease at a glance. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. https://nccih.nih.gov/health/alzheimer/ataglance. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  14. Budson AE, et al. Alzheimer's disease. In: Memory Loss, Alzheimer's Disease, and Dementia. 3rd ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  15. Coping with late-stage Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/coping-late-stage-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  16. Levenson JL, ed. Dementia. In: The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry. 3rd ed. American Psychiatric Association Publishing; 2019. https://psychiatryonline.org. Accessed Oct. 3, 2022.
  17. Dementia: Lifestyle and management. American Geriatrics Society. https://www.healthinaging.org/a-z-topic/dementia/lifestyle. Accessed Oct. 5, 2022.
  18. Is Alzheimer's genetic? Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/what-is-alzheimers/causes-and-risk-factors/genetics. Accessed Oct. 6, 2022.
  19. Ami T. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 6, 2022.
  20. Alzheimer's disease research centers. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/alzheimers-disease-research-centers#minnesota. Accessed Sept. 26, 2022.
  21. About the Alzheimer's Consortium. Arizona Alzheimer's Consortium. https://azalz.org/about/#institutes. Accessed Sept. 26, 2022.
  22. Graff-Radford J (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Sept. 30, 2022.
  23. Shi M, et al. Impact of anti-amyloid-β monoclonal antibodies on the pathology and clinical profile of Alzheimer's disease: A focus on aducanumab and lecanemab. Frontiers in Aging and Neuroscience. 2022; doi:10.3389/fnagi.2022.870517.
  24. Cummings J, et al. Alzheimer's disease drug development pipeline: 2022. Alzheimer's and Dementia. 2022; doi:10.1002/trc2.12295.
  25. Abdi Beshir S, et al. Aducanumab therapy to treat Alzheimer's disease: A narrative review. International Journal of Alzheimer's Disease. 2022; doi:10.1155/2022/9343514.
  26. Aducanumab approved for treatment of Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/treatments/aducanumab. Accessed Sept. 28, 2022.
  27. 2022 Alzheimer's disease facts and figures. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/facts-figures. Accessed Oct. 4, 2022.
  28. Rosenberg A, et al. Multidomain interventions to prevent cognitive impairment, Alzheimer's disease and dementia: From FINGER to world-wide FINGERS. The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer's Disease. 2020; doi:10.14283/jpad.2019.41.
  29. Bleicher K, et al. Cohort profile update: The 45 and up study. International Journal of Epidemiology. 2022; doi:10.1093/ije/dyac104.
  30. Leqembi (approval letter). Biologic License Application 761269. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/daf/index.cfm?event=overview.process&ApplNo=761269. Accessed July 7, 2023.
  31. Swaddiwudhipong N, et al. Pre-diagnostic cognitive and functional impairment in multiple sporadic neurodegenerative diseases. Alzheimer's and Dementia. 2022; doi:10.1002/alz.12802.
  32. Van Dyck CH, et al. Lecanemab in early Alzheimer's disease. New England Journal of Medicine. 2023; doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2212948.
  33. Leqembi (prescribing information). Eisai Inc.; 2023. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/daf/index.cfm?event=overview.process&varApplNo=761269. Accessed July 10, 2023.
  34. Mintun MA, et al. Donanemab in early Alzheimer's disease. New England Journal of Medicine. 2021; doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2100708.

相关

Overview

Alzheimer's disease is a progressive neurologic disorder that causes the brain to shrink (atrophy) and brain cells to die. Alzheimer's disease is the most common cause of dementia — a continuous decline in thinking, behavioral and social skills that affects a person's ability to function independently.

Approximately 5.8 million people in the United States age 65 and older live with Alzheimer's disease. Of those, 80% are 75 years old and older. Out of the approximately 50 million people worldwide with dementia, between 60% and 70% are estimated to have Alzheimer's disease.

The early signs of the disease include forgetting recent events or conversations. As the disease progresses, a person with Alzheimer's disease will develop severe memory impairment and lose the ability to carry out everyday tasks.

Medications may temporarily improve or slow progression of symptoms. These treatments can sometimes help people with Alzheimer's disease maximize function and maintain independence for a time. Different programs and services can help support people with Alzheimer's disease and their caregivers.

There is no treatment that cures Alzheimer's disease or alters the disease process in the brain. In advanced stages of the disease, complications from severe loss of brain function — such as dehydration, malnutrition or infection — result in death.

Symptoms

Memory loss is the key symptom of Alzheimer's disease. Early signs include difficulty remembering recent events or conversations. As the disease progresses, memory impairments worsen and other symptoms develop.

At first, a person with Alzheimer's disease may be aware of having difficulty remembering things and organizing thoughts. A family member or friend may be more likely to notice how the symptoms worsen.

Brain changes associated with Alzheimer's disease lead to growing trouble with:

Memory

Everyone has occasional memory lapses, but the memory loss associated with Alzheimer's disease persists and worsens, affecting the ability to function at work or at home.

People with Alzheimer's may:

  • Repeat statements and questions over and over
  • Forget conversations, appointments or events, and not remember them later
  • Routinely misplace possessions, often putting them in illogical locations
  • Get lost in familiar places
  • Eventually forget the names of family members and everyday objects
  • Have trouble finding the right words to identify objects, express thoughts or take part in conversations

Thinking and reasoning

Alzheimer's disease causes difficulty concentrating and thinking, especially about abstract concepts such as numbers.

Multitasking is especially difficult, and it may be challenging to manage finances, balance checkbooks and pay bills on time. Eventually, a person with Alzheimer's may be unable to recognize and deal with numbers.

Making judgments and decisions

Alzheimer's causes a decline in the ability to make reasonable decisions and judgments in everyday situations. For example, a person may make poor or uncharacteristic choices in social interactions or wear clothes that are inappropriate for the weather. It may be more difficult to respond effectively to everyday problems, such as food burning on the stove or unexpected driving situations.

Planning and performing familiar tasks

Once-routine activities that require sequential steps, such as planning and cooking a meal or playing a favorite game, become a struggle as the disease progresses. Eventually, people with advanced Alzheimer's often forget how to perform basic tasks such as dressing and bathing.

Changes in personality and behavior

Brain changes that occur in Alzheimer's disease can affect moods and behaviors. Problems may include the following:

  • Depression
  • Apathy
  • Social withdrawal
  • Mood swings
  • Distrust in others
  • Irritability and aggressiveness
  • Changes in sleeping habits
  • Wandering
  • Loss of inhibitions
  • Delusions, such as believing something has been stolen

Preserved skills

Many important skills are preserved for longer periods even while symptoms worsen. Preserved skills may include reading or listening to books, telling stories and reminiscing, singing, listening to music, dancing, drawing, or doing crafts.

These skills may be preserved longer because they are controlled by parts of the brain affected later in the course of the disease.

When to see a doctor

A number of conditions, including treatable conditions, can result in memory loss or other dementia symptoms. If you are concerned about your memory or other thinking skills, talk to your doctor for a thorough assessment and diagnosis.

If you are concerned about thinking skills you observe in a family member or friend, talk about your concerns and ask about going together to a doctor's appointment.

Causes

The exact causes of Alzheimer's disease aren't fully understood. But at a basic level, brain proteins fail to function normally, which disrupts the work of brain cells (neurons) and triggers a series of toxic events. Neurons are damaged, lose connections to each other and eventually die.

Scientists believe that for most people, Alzheimer's disease is caused by a combination of genetic, lifestyle and environmental factors that affect the brain over time.

Less than 1% of the time, Alzheimer's is caused by specific genetic changes that virtually guarantee a person will develop the disease. These rare occurrences usually result in disease onset in middle age.

The damage most often starts in the region of the brain that controls memory, but the process begins years before the first symptoms. The loss of neurons spreads in a somewhat predictable pattern to other regions of the brains. By the late stage of the disease, the brain has shrunk significantly.

Researchers trying to understand the cause of Alzheimer's disease are focused on the role of two proteins:

  • Plaques. Beta-amyloid is a fragment of a larger protein. When these fragments cluster together, they appear to have a toxic effect on neurons and to disrupt cell-to-cell communication. These clusters form larger deposits called amyloid plaques, which also include other cellular debris.
  • Tangles. Tau proteins play a part in a neuron's internal support and transport system to carry nutrients and other essential materials. In Alzheimer's disease, tau proteins change shape and organize themselves into structures called neurofibrillary tangles. The tangles disrupt the transport system and are toxic to cells.

Risk factors

Age

Increasing age is the greatest known risk factor for Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's is not a part of normal aging, but as you grow older the likelihood of developing Alzheimer's disease increases.

One study, for example, found that annually there were four new diagnoses per 1,000 people ages 65 to 74, 32 new diagnoses per 1,000 people ages 75 to 84, and 76 new diagnoses per 1,000 people age 85 and older.

Family history and genetics

Your risk of developing Alzheimer's is somewhat higher if a first-degree relative — your parent or sibling — has the disease. Most genetic mechanisms of Alzheimer's among families remain largely unexplained, and the genetic factors are likely complex.

One better understood genetic factor is a form of the apolipoprotein E gene (APOE). A variation of the gene, APOE e4, increases the risk of Alzheimer's disease. Approximately 25% to 30% of the population carries an APOE e4 allele, but not everyone with this variation of the gene develops the disease.

Scientists have identified rare changes (mutations) in three genes that virtually guarantee a person who inherits one of them will develop Alzheimer's. But these mutations account for less than 1% of people with Alzheimer's disease.

Down syndrome

Many people with Down syndrome develop Alzheimer's disease. This is likely related to having three copies of chromosome 21 — and subsequently three copies of the gene for the protein that leads to the creation of beta-amyloid. Signs and symptoms of Alzheimer's tend to appear 10 to 20 years earlier in people with Down syndrome than they do for the general population.

Sex

There appears to be little difference in risk between men and women, but, overall, there are more women with the disease because they generally live longer than men.

Mild cognitive impairment

Mild cognitive impairment (MCI) is a decline in memory or other thinking skills that is greater than normal for a person's age, but the decline doesn't prevent a person from functioning in social or work environments.

People who have MCI have a significant risk of developing dementia. When the primary MCI deficit is memory, the condition is more likely to progress to dementia due to Alzheimer's disease. A diagnosis of MCI encourages a greater focus on healthy lifestyle changes, developing strategies to make up for memory loss and scheduling regular doctor appointments to monitor symptoms.

Head trauma

People who've had a severe head trauma have a greater risk of Alzheimer's disease. Several large studies found that in people age 50 years or older who had a traumatic brain injury (TBI), the risk of dementia and Alzheimer's disease increased. The risk increases in people with more-severe and multiple TBIs. Some studies indicate that the risk may be greatest within the first six months to two years after the TBI.

Air pollution

Studies in animals have indicated that air pollution particulates can speed degeneration of the nervous system. And human studies have found that air pollution exposure — particularly from traffic exhaust and burning wood — is associated with greater dementia risk.

Excessive alcohol consumption

Drinking large amounts of alcohol has long been known to cause brain changes. Several large studies and reviews found that alcohol use disorders were linked to an increased risk of dementia, particularly early-onset dementia.

Poor sleep patterns

Research has shown that poor sleep patterns, such as difficulty falling asleep or staying asleep, are associated with an increased risk of Alzheimer's disease.

Lifestyle and heart health

Research has shown that the same risk factors associated with heart disease may also increase the risk of Alzheimer's disease. These include:

  • Lack of exercise
  • Obesity
  • Smoking or exposure to secondhand smoke
  • High blood pressure
  • High cholesterol
  • Poorly controlled type 2 diabetes

These factors can all be modified. Therefore, changing lifestyle habits can to some degree alter your risk. For example, regular exercise and a healthy low-fat diet rich in fruits and vegetables are associated with a decreased risk of developing Alzheimer's disease.

Lifelong learning and social engagement

Studies have found an association between lifelong involvement in mentally and socially stimulating activities and a reduced risk of Alzheimer's disease. Low education levels — less than a high school education — appear to be a risk factor for Alzheimer's disease.

Complications

Memory and language loss, impaired judgment and other cognitive changes caused by Alzheimer's can complicate treatment for other health conditions. A person with Alzheimer's disease may not be able to:

  • Communicate that he or she is experiencing pain
  • Explain symptoms of another illness
  • Follow a prescribed treatment plan
  • Explain medication side effects

As Alzheimer's disease progresses to its last stages, brain changes begin to affect physical functions, such as swallowing, balance, and bowel and bladder control. These effects can increase vulnerability to additional health problems such as:

  • Inhaling food or liquid into the lungs (aspiration)
  • Flu, pneumonia and other infections
  • Falls
  • Fractures
  • Bedsores
  • Malnutrition or dehydration
  • Constipation or diarrhea
  • Dental problems such as mouth sores or tooth decay

Prevention

Alzheimer's disease is not a preventable condition. However, a number of lifestyle risk factors for Alzheimer's can be modified. Evidence suggests that changes in diet, exercise and habits — steps to reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease — may also lower your risk of developing Alzheimer's disease and other disorders that cause dementia. Heart-healthy lifestyle choices that may reduce the risk of Alzheimer's include the following:

  • Exercising regularly
  • Eating a diet of fresh produce, healthy oils and foods low in saturated fat such as a Mediterranean diet
  • Following treatment guidelines to manage high blood pressure, diabetes and high cholesterol
  • Asking your doctor for help to quit smoking if you smoke

Studies have shown that preserved thinking skills later in life and a reduced risk of Alzheimer's disease are associated with participating in social events, reading, dancing, playing board games, creating art, playing an instrument, and other activities that require mental and social engagement.

Alzheimer's disease care at Mayo Clinic

June 26, 2021
  1. Daroff RB, et al. Alzheimer's disease and other dementias. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  2. Alzheimer's disease fact sheet. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/alzheimers-disease-fact-sheet. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  3. Wolk DA, et al. Clincal features and diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  4. Keene CD, et al. Epidemiology, pathology, and pathogenesis of Alzheimer's disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  5. Albert MS, et al. The diagnosis of mild cognitive impairment due to Alzheimer's disease: Recommendations from the National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer's Association workgroups on diagnostic guidelines for Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's and Dementia. doi:10.1016/j.jalz.2011.03.008.
  6. Alzheimer's disease: Common medical problems. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/alzheimers-disease-common-medical-problems. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  7. What is dementia? Symptoms, types, and diagnosis. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/diagnosing-dementia. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  8. Biomarkers for dementia detection and research. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/biomarkers-dementia-detection-and-research. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  9. Cholinesterase inhibitors in the treatment of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  10. Press D, et al. Treatment of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  11. Home safety checklist for Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/home-safety-checklist-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  12. Early-stage caregiving. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/stages-behaviors/early-stage. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  13. Alzheimer's disease at a glance. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. https://nccih.nih.gov/health/alzheimer/ataglance. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  14. Staying physically active with Alzheimer's. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/staying-physically-active-alzheimers. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  15. Coping with late-stage Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/coping-late-stage-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  16. Healthy eating and Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/healthy-eating-and-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  17. Adapting activities for people with Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/adapting-activities-people-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  18. Middle-stage caregiving. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/stages-behaviors/middle-stage. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  19. Alzheimer's caregiving: Caring for yourself. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/alzheimers-caregiving-caring-yourself. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  20. Press D, et al. Prevention of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 23, 2020.
  21. Shakersain B, et al. An active lifestyle reinforces the effect of a healthy diet on cognitive function: A population-based longitudinal study. Nutrients. doi:10.3390/nu10091297.
  22. Dauvilliers Y, et al. REM sleep behaviour disorder. Nature Reviews Disease Primers. 2018; doi:10.1038/s41572-018-0016-5.
  23. Spira AP, et al. Impact of sleep on the risk of cognitive decline and dementia. Current Opinion in Psychiatry. 2014;27:478.
  24. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 23, 2020.
  25. 2020 Alzheimer's disease facts and figures. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/facts-figures. Accessed Nov. 24, 2020.
  26. Graff-Radford J (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 4, 2020.
  27. AskMayoExpert . Alzheimer's disease dementia (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  28. Livingston G, et al. Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet commission. The Lancet. 2020; doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30367-6.
  29. Palmqvist S, et al. Discriminative accuracy of plasma phospho-tau217 for Alzheimer disease vs other neurodegenerative disorders. JAMA. doi:10.1001/jama.2020.12134.
  30. Alzheimer's disease research centers. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/alzheimers-disease-research-centers. Accessed Dec. 3, 2020.
  31. Dementia. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/dementia. Accessed Dec. 8, 2020.
  32. FDA's decision to approve new treatment for Alzheimer's disease. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/news-events-human-drugs/fdas-decision-approve-new-treatment-alzheimers-disease. Accessed June 8, 2021.

Related