概述

良性阵发性位置性眩晕(BPPV)又称耳石症,是最常见的眩晕原因之一;眩晕是指突然感到自己在旋转或感觉头部内出现旋转。

BPPV 可导致轻度至强烈的短暂头晕发作。通常是由您头部位置的某些特定变化引起。当您抬头或低头、躺下、翻身或在床上坐起来时,都有可能会发生。

尽管 BPPV 令人烦恼,但除了会增加跌倒概率外,很少有其他严重问题。您可以通过就诊得到 BPPV 的有效治疗。

症状

良性阵发性位置性眩晕(BPPV)的症状和体征可能包括:

  • 头晕
  • 感觉到您或您周围的人在旋转或移动(眩晕)
  • 失去平衡或不稳定
  • 恶心
  • 呕吐

耳石性眩晕的症状和体征可能时有时无,通常持续不到一分钟。耳石性眩晕发作可能消失一段时间,然后复发。

导致耳石性眩晕(BPPV)症状和体征的活动因人而异,但几乎都是由头部位置变化引起的。有些人在站立或行走时也会感到不平衡。

异常节律性眼球运动通常伴随良性阵发性位置性眩晕的症状。

何时就诊

一般而言,如果出现复发性、突发性、重度或持续性不明原因的头晕或眩晕,请就医。

请寻求急救护理

虽然头晕很少表明是患有严重疾病,但是如果您感觉头晕目眩并伴以下任何一种情况,请立即就医:

  • 新发不同形式或严重的头痛
  • 发热
  • 视力丧失或复视
  • 听力减退
  • 说话困难
  • 腿或手臂无力
  • 失去意识
  • 跌倒或行走困难
  • 麻木感或刺痛感

上述体征和症状可能表示存在更严重的问题。

病因

BPPV 的病因往往未知。这种 BPPV 称为特发性 BPPV

如果原因已知,则 BPPV 往往与轻微至严重的头部撞击有关。BPPV 不太常见的原因包括疾病导致内耳损伤,极少病例是由于耳外科手术造成的损伤或长时间仰卧(如躺在牙医的椅子上)。BPPV 也与偏头痛有关。

耳朵的作用

在您的耳内的小型器官称为前庭迷宫。它包括三个环形结构(半规管),其中包含液体和精细的毛发状传感器,能监测您头部的旋转。

耳内的其他结构(耳石器官)监测着您头部上下、左右、前后的运动,以及头部重心位置。这些耳石器官含有晶体,能使您对重力敏感。

由于多种原因,这些晶体可能脱落。当它们移位时,会进入半规管中 — 尤其是当您躺下的时候。这会导致半规管对正常情况下不会引起其反应的头部位置变化变得敏感,这就是让您感到头晕的原因。

风险因素

良性阵发性位置性眩晕常见于年龄为 50 岁及以上的人群,但也可能出现在任意年龄段的人群身上。相较于男性,BPPV 在女性中更为常见。头部受伤或耳内平衡器官的其他疾病可能会让您更容易患上 BPPV

并发症

虽然 良性阵发性位置性眩晕 令人不适,但很少引起并发症。良性阵发性位置性眩晕带来的头晕会让您不稳,可能增加跌倒的风险。

Aug. 05, 2022
  1. Barton JJS, et al. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 17, 2020.
  2. Elsevier Point of Care. Clinical Overview: Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 17, 2020.
  3. Ferri FF. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed July 17, 2020.
  4. Lalwani AK. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment Otolaryngology — Head & Neck Surgery. 4th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2020. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed July 17, 2020.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Vertigo and vestibular disorders (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  6. Furman JM. Causes of vertigo. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed July 17, 2020.
  7. Libi SE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Aug. 6, 2020.

良性阵发性位置性眩晕(BPPV)

Overview

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV) is one of the most common causes of vertigo — the sudden sensation that you're spinning or that the inside of your head is spinning.

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo causes brief episodes of mild to intense dizziness. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo is usually triggered by specific changes in the position of your head. This might occur when you tip your head up or down, when you lie down, or when you turn over or sit up in bed.

Although benign paroxysmal positional vertigo can be a bothersome problem, it's rarely serious except when it increases the chance of falls. You can receive effective treatment for benign paroxysmal positional vertigo during a doctor's office visit.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV) may include:

  • Dizziness
  • A sense that you or your surroundings are spinning or moving (vertigo)
  • A loss of balance or unsteadiness
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting

The signs and symptoms of BPPV can come and go, with symptoms commonly lasting less than one minute. Episodes of benign paroxysmal positional vertigo can disappear for some time and then recur.

Activities that bring about the signs and symptoms of BPPV can vary from person to person, but are almost always brought on by a change in the position of your head. Some people also feel out of balance when standing or walking.

Abnormal rhythmic eye movements (nystagmus) usually accompany the symptoms of benign paroxysmal positional vertigo.

When to see a doctor

Generally, see your doctor if you experience any unexplained dizziness or vertigo that recurs periodically for more than one week.

Seek emergency care

Although it's uncommon for dizziness to signal a serious illness, see your doctor immediately if you experience dizziness or vertigo along with any of the following:

  • A new, different or severe headache
  • A fever
  • Double vision or loss of vision
  • Hearing loss
  • Trouble speaking
  • Leg or arm weakness
  • Loss of consciousness
  • Falling or difficulty walking
  • Numbness or tingling

The signs and symptoms listed above may signal a more serious problem.

Causes

Often, there's no known cause for BPPV. This is called idiopathic BPPV.

When a cause can be determined, BPPV is often associated with a minor to severe blow to your head. Less common causes of BPPV include disorders that damage your inner ear or, rarely, damage that occurs during ear surgery or during prolonged positioning on your back, such as in a dentist chair. BPPV also has been associated with migraines.

The ear's role

Inside your ear is a tiny organ called the vestibular labyrinth. It includes three loop-shaped structures (semicircular canals) that contain fluid and fine, hair-like sensors that monitor the rotation of your head.

Other structures (otolith organs) in your ear monitor movements of your head — up and down, right and left, back and forth — and your head's position related to gravity. These otolith organs contain crystals that make you sensitive to gravity.

For a variety of reasons, these crystals can become dislodged. When they become dislodged, they can move into one of the semicircular canals — especially while you're lying down. This causes the semicircular canal to become sensitive to head position changes it would normally not respond to, which is what makes you feel dizzy.

Risk factors

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo occurs most often in people age 50 and older, but can occur at any age. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo is also more common in women than in men. A head injury or any other disorder of the balance organs of your ear may make you more susceptible to BPPV.

Complications

Although benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV) is uncomfortable, it rarely causes complications. The dizziness of BPPV can make you unsteady, which may put you at greater risk of falling.

May 28, 2015
References
  1. Kim JS, et al. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. New England Journal of Medicine. 2014;370:1138.
  2. Hilton MP, et al. The Epley (canalith repositioning) manoeuvre for benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. http://www.cochrane.org/CD003162/ENT_the-epley-manoeuvre-for-benign-paroxysmal-positional-vertigo-bppv. Accessed May 4, 2015.
  3. Furman JM. Pathophysiology, etiology, and differential diagnosis of vertigo. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 4, 2015.
  4. Barton JJS. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 4, 2015.
  5. Lalwani AK. Vestibular disorders. In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Otolaryngology--Head & Neck Surgery. 3rd ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2012. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed May 4, 2015.

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV)