概述

痴呆症是一系列影响记忆、思维和社交技能的症状,严重起来足以影响日常生活。它不是一种特定疾病,有很多种疾病都能导致痴呆症。

虽然痴呆症通常涉及记忆丧失,但记忆丧失有不同的病因。仅记忆丧失并不意味着患有痴呆症。

阿尔茨海默病是老年人进行性痴呆症的最常见原因,但也有许多其他原因会导致痴呆症。根据具体病因,有些痴呆症状是可逆的。

症状

痴呆的症状因病因而异,但常见的体征和症状包括:

认知变化

  • 记忆丧失,通常由配偶或其他人发现
  • 沟通或用词困难
  • 视觉和空间能力有困难,如驾驶时迷路
  • 难以推理或解决问题
  • 难以处理复杂任务
  • 难以计划和组织
  • 协调和运动功能困难
  • 意识模糊和定向障碍

心理变化

  • 性格改变
  • 抑郁
  • 焦虑
  • 行为不当
  • 偏执
  • 激动
  • 幻觉

何时就诊

如果您或您的所爱之人有记忆力障碍或其他痴呆症,请就诊。一些可治疗的健康问题可能导致痴呆症,因此确定基础病因很重要。

病因

痴呆由大脑神经细胞及其连接受损或丧失引起。根据损伤影响的大脑区域的不同,痴呆会对患者产生不同的影响并导致不同的症状。

痴呆通常根据共同点来分类,比如沉积在大脑中的一种或多种蛋白质,或者大脑受影响的部位。某些疾病(如药物或缺乏维生素所引起的疾病)的症状类似于痴呆,可通过治疗改善。

进行性痴呆

进展且不可逆的痴呆类型包括:

  • 阿尔茨海默病。阿尔茨海默病是痴呆最常见的病因。

    虽然不是所有的阿尔茨海默病的病因均为已知,但专家们明确知道,有一小部分与三种基因的突变有关,这些基因可以从父母遗传给孩子。虽然有几种不同的基因可能与阿尔茨海默病有关,但增加风险的一个重要基因是载脂蛋白 E4(APOE)。

    阿尔茨海默病患者的大脑中有斑块和缠结物。斑块是一种叫做 β-淀粉样蛋白的蛋白质团,缠结是由 Tau 蛋白组成的纤维缠结。据称,这些团块可损害健康的神经元及其连接纤维。

    其他遗传因素或许会使人更有可能患上阿尔茨海默病。

  • 血管性痴呆。第二种最常见的痴呆是由供血给大脑的血管受损引起的。血管问题可引发卒中或以其他方式损害大脑,例如破坏大脑白质中的纤维。血管性痴呆最常见的症状包括难以解决问题、思维迟钝、注意力不集中和组织能力较差。这些症状往往比记忆丧失更明显。
  • 路易体痴呆症。路易体是在路易体痴呆症、阿尔茨海默病和帕金森氏病患者的大脑中发现的异常气球状蛋白质团块。这是一种更常见的进行性痴呆。常见的征兆和症状包括在睡眠中做梦、看到不存在的东西(视幻觉)以及注意力问题。其他体征包括运动不协调或缓慢、震颤和僵硬(帕金森综合征)。
  • 额颞叶痴呆症。这是一组以脑额叶和颞叶的神经细胞及其连接崩溃(退化)为特征的疾病,这些区域通常与人格、行为和语言相关。常见症状影响行为、个性、思维、判断、语言和行动。
  • 混合型痴呆。对 80 岁及以上痴呆症患者的脑部尸检研究表明,许多人存在多种病因,如阿尔茨海默病、血管性痴呆和路易体痴呆症。目前正在研究,以确定混合型痴呆如何影响症状和治疗。

与痴呆有关的其他疾病

  • 亨廷顿病。由基因突变引起的这种疾病会导致大脑和脊髓中的某些神经细胞消亡。包括思维(认知)技能严重衰退在内的体征和症状通常在 30 或 40 岁左右出现。
  • 创伤性脑损伤。这种疾病最常由重复性头部创伤引起。拳击手、橄榄球运动员或士兵等人群可能会出现颅脑外伤。

    这种疾病会导致抑郁症、易怒、记忆丧失和言语障碍等痴呆的体征和症状,具体取决于大脑受伤的部位。颅脑外伤也可能会导致帕金森综合征。相关症状可能在创伤后数年才会出现。

  • 克雅氏症。这种罕见的脑部疾病通常发生在没有已知风险因素的人身上。这种疾病可能是由于被称为朊病毒的感染性蛋白质发生沉积所致。克雅氏症通常由不明原因导致,但可以遗传。暴露于病变的大脑或神经系统组织(例如来自角膜移植)也可能会导致这种疾病。

    这种致命疾病的体征和症状通常会在 60 岁以后出现。

  • 帕金森氏病。很多帕金森氏病患者最终都会出现痴呆症状(帕金森氏病导致的痴呆症)。

可以逆转的痴呆样疾病

一些导致痴呆或痴呆样症状的原因可以通过治疗逆转病情。其中包括:

  • 感染和免疫疾病。发热或身体试图抵抗感染导致的其他副作用都可能引起痴呆样症状。多发性硬化症和因人体免疫系统攻击神经细胞引起的其他疾病也会导致痴呆。
  • 代谢问题和内分泌异常。如果您伴有甲状腺问题、低血糖(低血糖症)、钠含量或钙含量过高或过低或是无法适当吸收维生素 B-12,您可能出现痴呆样症状或其他性格变化。
  • 营养缺乏。未饮用充足液体(脱水)、未获得足够的硫胺素也就是维生素 B-1(常见于慢性酒精中毒者)以及饮食肿未含有足够的维生素 B-6 和 B-12 都可能导致痴呆样症状。缺乏铜和维生素 E 也会导致痴呆症状。
  • 药物副作用。药物副作用是指对某种药物产生的反应或几种药物的相互作用,这些副作用可能引起痴呆样症状。
  • 硬脑膜下血肿。老年人在跌倒后,其大脑表面和大脑覆盖物之间通常会出血,这会导致类似痴呆的症状。
  • 中毒。接触重金属(如铅)和其他有毒物质(如杀虫剂),以及服用休闲性药物或大量饮酒都可能导致痴呆症状。这些症状通过治疗可能会消失。
  • 脑肿瘤。脑肿瘤造成的损伤也会导致痴呆,但这种情况较为罕见。
  • 缺氧。这种疾病也被称作缺氧症,发生于器官组织无法获得充足氧气时。严重的睡眠呼吸暂停、哮喘、心脏病发作、一氧化碳中毒或其他原因都可能导致缺氧。
  • 正常压力性脑积水。这种疾病乃因脑室肿大引起,可导致行走问题、排尿困难和记忆丧失。

风险因素

很多因素最终都有可能促发痴呆。有些因素(比如年龄)是无法改变的。也有一些因素可以降低风险。

无法改变的风险因素

  • 年龄。这种风险会随着年龄的增长而增加,尤其是在 65 岁以后。但痴呆并不是衰老过程的必然阶段,而且年轻人也可能患上痴呆。
  • 家族史。有痴呆家族史者发生这种疾病的风险增加。但很多有家族史的人从未出现任何症状,而很多没有家族史的人却出现了症状。可利用检测确定您是否有某种基因突变。
  • 唐氏综合征。很多唐氏综合征患者人到中年便会发展成早发性阿尔茨海默病。

您可以改变的风险因素

您或许能够控制下列痴呆风险因素。

  • 饮食和运动。研究表明,缺乏运动升高痴呆风险。虽然已知没有特定的膳食降低痴呆症的风险,但研究表明,与遵循富含农产品、全谷物、坚果和种子的地中海式膳食的人群相比,膳食不健康者中痴呆症的发病率更高。
  • 酗酒。如果您大量饮酒,痴呆症风险可能更高。虽然有些研究已表明,适量饮酒可能具有保护作用,但结果并不一致。目前尚未充分了解适量饮酒与痴呆风险之间的关系。
  • 心血管风险因素。这些风险因素包括高血压、高胆固醇、动脉壁脂肪堆积(动脉粥样硬化)和肥胖。
  • 抑郁症。虽然尚未充分了解,但晚年抑郁症可能提示痴呆形成。
  • 糖尿病。患上糖尿病可能升高痴呆症风险,尤其当糖尿病控制不佳时。
  • 吸烟。吸烟可能增加您出现痴呆症和血管(脉管)疾病的风险。
  • 睡眠呼吸暂停。打鼾且睡觉时频繁出现呼吸暂停事件的人可能出现可逆性记忆丧失。
  • 维生素缺乏和营养性缺乏。维生素 D、维生素 B-6、维生素 B-12 和叶酸含量低可能增加痴呆症的风险。

并发症

痴呆症会影响许多身体系统,从而影响其功能的发挥。痴呆症可导致:

  • 营养不良。许多痴呆症患者最终会减少或停止进食,影响其营养摄入。最终,他们可能无法咀嚼和吞咽。
  • 感染性肺炎。吞咽困难会增加食物呛噎或吸入肺部的风险,从而堵塞呼吸道,引起感染性肺炎。
  • 无法完成自我护理。随着痴呆症的发展,洗澡、穿衣、梳头或刷牙、独立使用厕所和准确服用药物都会受到干扰。
  • 个人安全挑战。开车、做饭和独自走路等日常情况可能给痴呆症患者造成安全问题。
  • 死亡。晚期痴呆症导致昏迷和死亡,往往由感染引起。

预防

尚无确切方案可预防痴呆,但是您可以采取一些措施,这些措施可能有帮助作用。虽然还需要开展更多研究,但是以下事项可能会有帮助作用:

  • 保持思维活跃。精神刺激活动(如阅读、解谜、玩文字类游戏及记忆训练)可能会延缓痴呆症的发作并降低其影响。
  • 积极参加体育和社交活动。体育和社交活动可延缓痴呆症的发作并减轻其症状。多运动,目标是每周运动 150 分钟。
  • 戒烟。一些研究表明,在中年以及中年之后,抽烟会增加患痴呆和血管疾病的风险。戒烟可降低这种风险并改善您的健康状况。
  • 摄入足量的维生素。一些研究表明,血液中维生素 D 水平偏低的人更容易患阿尔茨海默病和其他类型的痴呆。您可以通过某些食物、补充剂和晒太阳来获得维生素 D。

    就提升维生素 D 的摄入量来预防痴呆而言,还需要进行更多的研究;但首先,摄入足够的维生素 D 不失为一个好主意。每天服用 B 族维生素和维生素 C 可能也有帮助。

  • 控制心血管风险因素。治疗高血压、高胆固醇、糖尿病和高体重指数(BMI)。高血压会导致罹患某些类型痴呆症的风险升高。目前仍需开展更多研究,才能确定治疗高血压能否降低患痴呆症的风险。
  • 治疗健康问题。如果您出现听力减退、抑郁症或焦虑症,请及时就医治疗。
  • 保持饮食健康。健康的饮食之所以重要,有诸多原因。而已知的的是,地中海饮食(富含于水果、蔬菜、全谷类和常见于某些鱼类和坚果的 omega-3 脂肪酸)之类的饮食方案,不仅可以促进健康,而且可能降低您患痴呆的风险。此类饮食还可以改善心血管健康,有助于降低患痴呆的风险。尝试每周吃三次多脂鱼类,如鲑鱼;或者每天吃一把坚果,尤其是扁桃仁和核桃。
  • 高质量睡眠。养成良好的睡眠保健习惯;如果您的鼾声较大,或者在睡眠期间出现呼吸暂停或气喘,请告之医生。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. What is dementia? Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/what-is-dementia. Accessed Jan. 28, 2019.
  2. The dementias: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Dementia-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed Jan. 28, 2019.
  3. Larson EB. Evaluation of cognitive impairment of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 29, 2019.
  4. Dementia. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/delirium-and-dementia/dementia. Accessed Jan. 28, 2019.
  5. AAN guideline summary for clinicians: Detection, diagnosis and management of dementia. American Academy of Neurology. https://www.aan.com/Guidelines/Home/ByTopic?topicId=15. Accessed Feb. 15, 2016.
  6. Press D, et al. Treatment of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 29, 2019.
  7. Adapting activities for people with Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/adapting-activities-people-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Feb. 20, 2019.
  8. Assessing risk for Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/assessing-risk-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Jan. 29, 2019.
  9. Natural medicines in the clinical management of Alzheimer's disease. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Feb. 20, 2019.
  10. Press D, et al. Prevention of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 19, 2019.
  11. Graff-Radford NR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla. Feb. 22, 2019.
  12. Mukamal KJ. Overview of the risks and benefits of alcohol consumption. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 18, 2019.
  13. Larson EB. Risk factors for cognitive decline and dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 19, 2019.
  14. Press D, et al. Cholinesterase inhibitors in the treatment of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 20, 2019.
  15. AskMayoExpert. Alzheimer disease dementia (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  16. Communication and Alzheimer's. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/daily-care/communications. Accessed Feb. 21, 2019.
  17. Sleep issues and sundowning. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/stages-behaviors/sleep-issues-sundowning. Accessed Feb. 21, 2019.
  18. Caregiver stress. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/caregiver-health/caregiver-stress. Accessed Feb. 21, 2019.
  19. Department of Development. Fifteen healthy brain tips. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  20. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. March 7, 2019.

Overview

Dementia is a term used to describe a group of symptoms affecting memory, thinking and social abilities severely enough to interfere with your daily life. It isn't a specific disease, but several diseases can cause dementia.

Though dementia generally involves memory loss, memory loss has different causes. Having memory loss alone doesn't mean you have dementia, although it's often one of the early signs of the condition.

Alzheimer's disease is the most common cause of a progressive dementia in older adults, but there are a number of other causes of dementia. Depending on the cause, some dementia symptoms might be reversible.

Symptoms

Dementia symptoms vary depending on the cause, but common signs and symptoms include:

Cognitive changes

  • Memory loss, which is usually noticed by someone else
  • Difficulty communicating or finding words
  • Difficulty with visual and spatial abilities, such as getting lost while driving
  • Difficulty reasoning or problem-solving
  • Difficulty handling complex tasks
  • Difficulty with planning and organizing
  • Difficulty with coordination and motor functions
  • Confusion and disorientation

Psychological changes

  • Personality changes
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Inappropriate behavior
  • Paranoia
  • Agitation
  • Hallucinations

When to see a doctor

See a doctor if you or a loved one has memory problems or other dementia symptoms. Some treatable medical conditions can cause dementia symptoms, so it's important to determine the cause.

Causes

Dementia is caused by damage to or loss of nerve cells and their connections in the brain. Depending on the area of the brain that's damaged, dementia can affect people differently and cause different symptoms.

Dementias are often grouped by what they have in common, such as the protein or proteins deposited in the brain or the part of the brain that's affected. Some diseases look like dementias, such as those caused by a reaction to medications or vitamin deficiencies, and they might improve with treatment.

Progressive dementias

Types of dementias that progress and aren't reversible include:

  • Alzheimer's disease. This is the most common cause of dementia.

    Although not all causes of Alzheimer's disease are known, experts do know that a small percentage are related to mutations of three genes, which can be passed down from parent to child. While several genes are probably involved in Alzheimer's disease, one important gene that increases risk is apolipoprotein E4 (APOE).

    Alzheimer's disease patients have plaques and tangles in their brains. Plaques are clumps of a protein called beta-amyloid, and tangles are fibrous tangles made up of tau protein. It's thought that these clumps damage healthy neurons and the fibers connecting them.

  • Vascular dementia. This type of dementia is caused by damage to the vessels that supply blood to your brain. Blood vessel problems can cause strokes or affect the brain in other ways, such as by damaging the fibers in the white matter of the brain.

    The most common signs of vascular dementia include difficulties with problem-solving, slowed thinking, and loss of focus and organization. These tend to be more noticeable than memory loss.

  • Lewy body dementia. Lewy bodies are abnormal balloonlike clumps of protein that have been found in the brains of people with Lewy body dementia, Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's disease. This is one of the more common types of progressive dementia.

    Common signs and symptoms include acting out one's dreams in sleep, seeing things that aren't there (visual hallucinations), and problems with focus and attention. Other signs include uncoordinated or slow movement, tremors, and rigidity (parkinsonism).

  • Frontotemporal dementia. This is a group of diseases characterized by the breakdown of nerve cells and their connections in the frontal and temporal lobes of the brain. These are the areas generally associated with personality, behavior and language. Common symptoms affect behavior, personality, thinking, judgment, and language and movement.
  • Mixed dementia. Autopsy studies of the brains of people 80 and older who had dementia indicate that many had a combination of several causes, such as Alzheimer's disease, vascular dementia and Lewy body dementia. Studies are ongoing to determine how having mixed dementia affects symptoms and treatments.

Other disorders linked to dementia

  • Huntington's disease. Caused by a genetic mutation, this disease causes certain nerve cells in your brain and spinal cord to waste away. Signs and symptoms, including a severe decline in thinking (cognitive) skills, usually appear around age 30 or 40.
  • Traumatic brain injury (TBI). This condition is most often caused by repetitive head trauma. Boxers, football players or soldiers might develop TBI.

    Depending on the part of the brain that's injured, this condition can cause dementia signs and symptoms such as depression, explosiveness, memory loss and impaired speech. TBI may also cause parkinsonism. Symptoms might not appear until years after the trauma.

  • Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. This rare brain disorder usually occurs in people without known risk factors. This condition might be due to deposits of infectious proteins called prions. Signs and symptoms of this fatal condition usually appear after age 60.

    Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease usually has no known cause but can be inherited. It may also be caused by exposure to diseased brain or nervous system tissue, such as from a cornea transplant.

  • Parkinson's disease. Many people with Parkinson's disease eventually develop dementia symptoms (Parkinson's disease dementia).

Dementia-like conditions that can be reversed

Some causes of dementia or dementia-like symptoms can be reversed with treatment. They include:

  • Infections and immune disorders. Dementia-like symptoms can result from fever or other side effects of your body's attempt to fight off an infection. Multiple sclerosis and other conditions caused by the body's immune system attacking nerve cells also can cause dementia.
  • Metabolic problems and endocrine abnormalities. People with thyroid problems, low blood sugar (hypoglycemia), too little or too much sodium or calcium, or problems absorbing vitamin B-12 can develop dementia-like symptoms or other personality changes.
  • Nutritional deficiencies. Not drinking enough liquids (dehydration); not getting enough thiamin (vitamin B-1), which is common in people with chronic alcoholism; and not getting enough vitamins B-6 and B-12 in your diet can cause dementia-like symptoms. Copper and vitamin E deficiencies also can cause dementia symptoms.
  • Medication side effects. Side effects of medications, a reaction to a medication or an interaction of several medications can cause dementia-like symptoms.
  • Subdural hematomas. Bleeding between the surface of the brain and the covering over the brain, which is common in the elderly after a fall, can cause symptoms similar to those of dementia.
  • Brain tumors. Rarely, dementia can result from damage caused by a brain tumor.
  • Normal-pressure hydrocephalus. This condition, which is caused by enlarged ventricles in the brain, can result in walking problems, urinary difficulty and memory loss.

Risk factors

Many factors can eventually contribute to dementia. Some factors, such as age, can't be changed. Others can be addressed to reduce your risk.

Risk factors that can't be changed

  • Age. The risk rises as you age, especially after age 65. However, dementia isn't a normal part of aging, and dementia can occur in younger people.
  • Family history. Having a family history of dementia puts you at greater risk of developing the condition. However, many people with a family history never develop symptoms, and many people without a family history do. There are tests to determine whether you have certain genetic mutations.
  • Down syndrome. By middle age, many people with Down syndrome develop early-onset Alzheimer's disease.

Risk factors you can change

You might be able to control the following risk factors for dementia.

  • Diet and exercise. Research shows that lack of exercise increases the risk of dementia. And while no specific diet is known to reduce dementia risk, research indicates a greater incidence of dementia in people who eat an unhealthy diet compared with those who follow a Mediterranean-style diet rich in produce, whole grains, nuts and seeds.
  • Excessive alcohol use. Drinking large amounts of alcohol has long been known to cause brain changes. Several large studies and reviews found that alcohol use disorders were linked to an increased risk of dementia, particularly early-onset dementia.
  • Cardiovascular risk factors. These include high blood pressure (hypertension), high cholesterol, buildup of fats in your artery walls (atherosclerosis) and obesity.
  • Depression. Although not yet well-understood, late-life depression might indicate the development of dementia.
  • Diabetes. Having diabetes may increase your risk of dementia, especially if it's poorly controlled.
  • Smoking. Smoking might increase your risk of developing dementia and blood vessel diseases.
  • Air pollution. Studies in animals have indicated that air pollution particulates can speed degeneration of the nervous system. And human studies have found that air pollution exposure — particularly from traffic exhaust and burning wood — is associated with greater dementia risk.
  • Head trauma. People who've had a severe head trauma have a greater risk of Alzheimer's disease. Several large studies found that in people age 50 years or older who had a traumatic brain injury (TBI), the risk of dementia and Alzheimer's disease increased. The risk increases in people with more-severe and multiple TBIs. Some studies indicate that the risk may be greatest within the first six months to two years after the TBI.
  • Sleep disturbances. People who have sleep apnea and other sleep disturbances might be at higher risk of developing dementia.
  • Vitamin and nutritional deficiencies. Low levels of vitamin D, vitamin B-6, vitamin B-12 and folate can increase your risk of dementia.
  • Medications that can worsen memory. Try to avoid over-the-counter sleep aids that contain diphenhydramine (Advil PM, Aleve PM) and medications used to treat urinary urgency such as oxybutynin (Ditropan XL).

    Also limit sedatives and sleeping tablets and talk to your doctor about whether any of the drugs you take might make your memory worse.

Complications

Dementia can affect many body systems and, therefore, the ability to function. Dementia can lead to:

  • Poor nutrition. Many people with dementia eventually reduce or stop eating, affecting their nutrient intake. Ultimately, they may be unable to chew and swallow.
  • Pneumonia. Difficulty swallowing increases the risk of choking or aspirating food into the lungs, which can block breathing and cause pneumonia.
  • Inability to perform self-care tasks. As dementia progresses, it can interfere with bathing, dressing, brushing hair or teeth, using the toilet independently, and taking medications as directed.
  • Personal safety challenges. Some day-to-day situations can present safety issues for people with dementia, including driving, cooking, and walking and living alone.
  • Death. Late-stage dementia results in coma and death, often from infection.

Prevention

There's no sure way to prevent dementia, but there are steps you can take that might help. More research is needed, but it might be beneficial to do the following:

  • Keep your mind active. Mentally stimulating activities, such as reading, solving puzzles and playing word games, and memory training might delay the onset of dementia and decrease its effects.
  • Be physically and socially active. Physical activity and social interaction might delay the onset of dementia and reduce its symptoms. Aim for 150 minutes of exercise a week.
  • Quit smoking. Some studies have shown that smoking in middle age and beyond might increase your risk of dementia and blood vessel conditions. Quitting smoking might reduce your risk and will improve your health.
  • Get enough vitamins. Some research suggests that people with low levels of vitamin D in their blood are more likely to develop Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia. You can get vitamin D through certain foods, supplements and sun exposure.

    More study is needed before an increase in vitamin D intake is recommended for preventing dementia, but it's a good idea to make sure you get adequate vitamin D. Taking a daily B-complex vitamin and vitamin C also might help.

  • Manage cardiovascular risk factors. Treat high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes. Lose weight if you're overweight.

    High blood pressure might lead to a higher risk of some types of dementia. More research is needed to determine whether treating high blood pressure may reduce the risk of dementia.

  • Treat health conditions. See your doctor for treatment for depression or anxiety.
  • Maintain a healthy diet. A diet such as the Mediterranean diet — rich in fruits, vegetables, whole grains and omega-3 fatty acids, which are commonly found in certain fish and nuts — might promote health and lower your risk of developing dementia. This type of diet also improves cardiovascular health, which may help lower dementia risk.
  • Get good-quality sleep. Practice good sleep hygiene, and talk to your doctor if you snore loudly or have periods where you stop breathing or gasp during sleep.
  • Treat hearing problems. People with hearing loss have a greater chance of developing cognitive decline. Early treatment of hearing loss, such as use of hearing aids, might help decrease the risk.

Dementia care at Mayo Clinic

June 17, 2021
  1. What is dementia? Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/what-is-dementia. Accessed Feb. 8, 2021.
  2. The dementias: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Dementia-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed Feb. 8, 2021.
  3. Larson EB. Evaluation of cognitive impairment of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 8, 2021.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Dementia (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  5. Press D, et al. Treatment of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 8, 2021.
  6. Livingston G, et al. Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet Commission. The Lancet. 2020; doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30367-6.
  7. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Feb. 10, 2021.
  8. Creuzfeldt-Jakob disease, classic (CJD): Occurrence and transmission. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/prions/cjd/occurrence-transmission.html?CDC_AA_refVal=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cdc.gov%2Fprions%2Fcjd%2Foccurance-transmisison.html. Accessed Feb. 11, 2021.
  9. Graff-Radford NR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Feb. 11, 2021.
  10. Dementia. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/delirium-and-dementia/dementia. Accessed Feb. 11, 2021.
  11. Press D, et al. Prevention of dementia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 11, 2021.
  12. Assessing risk for Alzheimer's disease. National Institute on Aging. https://www.nia.nih.gov/health/assessing-risk-alzheimers-disease. Accessed Feb. 8, 2021.
  13. Medications for memory. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/treatments/medications-for-memory. Accessed Feb. 11, 2021.
  14. Tips for communicating with a person with dementia. Alzheimer's Association. https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/about-dementia/symptoms-and-diagnosis/symptoms/tips-for-communicating-dementia. Accessed Feb. 11, 2021.
  15. Coupland CA, et al. Anticholinergic drug exposure and the risk of dementia: A nested case-control study. JAMA Internal Medicine. 2019; doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2019.0677.