概述

卓艾综合征是一种罕见的疾病,患者胰腺或小肠上部(十二指肠)会形成一个或多个肿瘤。这些肿瘤称为胃泌素瘤,可分泌大量的胃泌素激素,导致您的胃产生过多的酸。过量的酸会导致消化性溃疡、腹泻和其他症状。

卓艾综合征可发生于任何年龄,但常见于 20 至 60 岁人群。卓艾综合征的常见治疗方法是用药物减少胃酸和治愈溃疡。

症状

卓艾综合征的体征和症状可能包括:

  • 腹痛
  • 腹泻
  • 上腹部灼热、疼痛、啃咬感或不适
  • 胃酸反流和胃灼热
  • 打嗝
  • 恶心和呕吐
  • 消化道出血
  • 体重意外减轻
  • 食欲下降

何时就诊

如果上腹部持续有灼烧痛、酸痛或咬痛,尤其是还有恶心、呕吐和腹泻症状时,请及时就诊。

告诉医生您是否长期使用非处方降酸药物,比如奥美拉唑(Prilosec、Zegerid)、西咪替丁(Tagamet HB)或法莫替丁(Pepcid AC)。服用这些药物可能会掩盖您的症状,从而延误诊断。

病因

卓艾综合征的确切病因尚不清楚。但发生于卓艾综合征患者的事件的顺序很清楚。当胰腺或十二指肠长有一个或多个肿瘤(胃泌素瘤),或其他部位(例如胰腺附近的淋巴结)长出肿瘤时,就会开始出现这种综合征。

胰腺位于胃的后下方,负责产生消化食物所必需的酶。胰腺还会产生多种激素,包括有助于控制血糖的胰岛素。

十二指肠是靠近胃的一段小肠,来自胰腺、肝脏和胆囊的消化液在此处混合。消化活动在此处达到顶峰。

伴随卓艾综合征生长的肿瘤由分泌大量胃泌素激素的细胞构成。胃泌素增加会使胃产生过多的酸。过量的酸会导致消化性溃疡,有时还会导致腹泻。

这些肿瘤会产生过多的酸外,通常为癌性(恶性)。尽管肿瘤往往生长缓慢,但癌症可以扩散到其他部位(最常见的是附近淋巴结或肝脏)。

与 MEN 1 的联系

卓艾综合征可能由遗传疾病多发性内分泌腺瘤病 1 型(MEN 1)导致。MEN 1患者的甲状旁腺有肿瘤,垂体腺可能也有肿瘤。

约 25% 的促胃液素瘤患者是由Men 1 导致。此类患者的胰腺和其他器官也有肿瘤。

风险因素

如果您的血亲(如兄弟姐妹或父母)患有 MEN 1,则您患有卓艾综合征的可能性也会增加。

July 02, 2022
  1. Cameron AM, et al. Management of Zollinger-Ellison syndrome. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 30, 2020.
  2. Zollinger-Ellison syndrome. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/zollinger-ellison-syndrome. Accessed Sept. 30, 2020.
  3. Zollinger-Ellison syndrome. National Organization for Rare Disorders. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/zollinger-ellison-syndrome/. Accessed Sept. 30, 2020.
  4. Bergsland E. Zollinger-Ellison syndrome (gastrinoma): Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 30, 2020.

Overview

Zollinger-Ellison syndrome is a rare condition in which one or more tumors form in your pancreas or the upper part of your small intestine (duodenum). These tumors, called gastrinomas, secrete large amounts of the hormone gastrin, which causes your stomach to produce too much acid. The excess acid then leads to peptic ulcers, as well as to diarrhea and other symptoms.

Zollinger-Ellison syndrome (ZES) is rare. The disease may occur at any time in life, but people are usually diagnosed between ages 20 and 50. Medications to reduce stomach acid and heal the ulcers is the usual treatment for Zollinger-Ellison syndrome.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of Zollinger-Ellison syndrome may include:

  • Abdominal pain
  • Diarrhea
  • Burning, aching, gnawing or discomfort in your upper abdomen
  • Acid reflux and heartburn
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Bleeding in your digestive tract
  • Unintended weight loss
  • Decreased appetite

When to see a doctor

See your doctor if you have a persistent, burning, aching or gnawing pain in your upper abdomen, especially if you've also been experiencing nausea, vomiting and diarrhea.

Tell your doctor if you've used over-the-counter acid-reducing medications such as omeprazole (Prilosec), cimetidine (Tagamet), famotidine (Pepcid) or ranitidine (Zantac) for long periods of time. These medications may mask your symptoms, which could delay your diagnosis.

Causes

The exact cause of Zollinger-Ellison syndrome remains unknown. But the sequence of events that occurs in Zollinger-Ellison syndrome is clear. The syndrome begins when a tumor (gastrinoma) or tumors form in your pancreas, duodenum or the lymph nodes adjacent to your pancreas.

Your pancreas sits behind and below your stomach. It produces enzymes that are essential to digesting food. The pancreas also produces several hormones including insulin, a hormone that helps to control your blood glucose.

Digestive juices from the pancreas, liver and gallbladder mix in the duodenum, the part of the small intestine next to your stomach. This is where digestion reaches its peak.

The tumors that occur with Zollinger-Ellison syndrome are made up of cells that secrete large amounts of gastrin, which in turn causes the stomach to produce far too much acid. The excessive acid then leads to peptic ulcers and sometimes to diarrhea.

Besides causing excess acid production, the tumors are cancerous (malignant). Although the tumors tend to grow slowly, the cancer can spread elsewhere — most commonly to nearby lymph nodes or your liver.

Association with MEN 1

Zollinger-Ellison syndrome may be caused by an inherited condition called multiple endocrine neoplasia, type 1 (MEN 1). People with MEN 1 also have tumors in the parathyroid glands and may have tumors in their pituitary glands.

About 25 percent of people who have gastrinomas have them as part of MEN 1. They may have also have tumors in the pancreas and other organs.

Risk factors

If you have a blood relative, such as a sibling or parent, with MEN 1, it's more likely that you'll have Zollinger-Ellison syndrome.

Oct. 17, 2015
References
  1. Greenberger NJ, et al. Zollinger-Ellison syndrome. Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Endoscopy. 2nd ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 2, 2015.
  2. Zollinger-Ellison syndrome. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/digestive-diseases/zollinger-ellison-syndrome/Pages/facts.aspx. Accessed Aug. 2, 2015.
  3. Cameron JL, et al, eds. Zollinger-Ellison syndrome. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 11th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.; Saunders Elsevier: 2014. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 2, 2015.
  4. Goldfinger SE. Zollinger-Ellison syndrome (gastrinoma): Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. http://www.uptodate.com. Accessed Aug. 2, 2015.
  5. Krampitz GW, et al. Current management of the Zollinger-Ellison syndrome. Advances in Surgery. 2013;47:59.
  6. FDA Drug Safety Communication: Possible increased risk of fractures of the hip, wrist, and spine with the use of proton pump inhibitors. http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/DrugSafety/PostmarketDrugSafetyInformationforPatientsandProviders/ucm213206.htm. Accessed Aug. 5, 2015.

Zollinger-Ellison syndrome