概述

瑞氏综合征是一种罕见但严重的疾病,会导致肝脏和大脑肿胀。瑞氏综合征在刚从病毒感染(最常见的是流感或水痘)中恢复的儿童和青少年身上最为常见。

精神错乱、癫痫发作和意识丧失等体征和症状需要急救护理。瑞氏综合征的早期诊断和治疗可挽救一个孩子的生命。

阿司匹林与瑞氏综合征有关,所以在给儿童或青少年治疗发热或疼痛时应慎用阿司匹林。尽管阿司匹林已获批用于 3 岁以上的儿童,但切勿给处于水痘或流感样症状恢复期的儿童和青少年使用阿司匹林。

对于发热或疼痛的治疗,考虑给孩子服用婴儿或儿童非处方药退烧和止痛药物,如对乙酰氨基酚(Tylenol 等)或布洛芬(Advil、Motrin 等),作为阿司匹林更安全的替代物。如果您有疑问,请咨询医生。

症状

患有瑞氏综合征后,孩子的血糖水平通常会下降,而血液中的氨和酸性水平会上升。同时,肝脏可能肿胀并形成脂肪沉积。大脑也可能出现肿胀,从而导致癫痫发作、惊厥或失去意识。

瑞氏综合征的症状和体征通常出现在病毒感染(如流行性感冒或水痘)或上呼吸道感染(如感冒)后 3-5 天左右。

初期体征和症状

2岁以下瑞氏综合征儿童患者的初始症状最初体包括:

  • 腹泻
  • 呼吸急促

2岁及2岁以上儿童和青少年患者的早期体征和症状可能包括:

  • 持续呕吐
  • 异常嗜睡或昏睡

其他体征和症状

随着病情进展,体征和症状可能会变得更加严重,包括:

  • 易怒、攻击性或非理性行为
  • 意识混乱、迷失方向或产生幻觉
  • 四肢无力或瘫痪
  • 癫痫发作
  • 过度嗜睡
  • 意识水平下降

这些症状和体征需要紧急治疗。

何时就诊

瑞氏综合征的早期诊断和治疗可挽救一个孩子的生命。如您怀疑孩子患有瑞氏综合征,迅速采取措施至关重要。

如您的孩子有下列症状,请寻求紧急医疗

  • 癫痫发作或抽搐
  • 失去意识

如您的孩子在流感或水痘后出现下列症状,请立即就医

  • 反复呕吐
  • 变得异常困倦或昏昏欲睡
  • 突然行为改变

病因

瑞氏综合征的确切病因尚不清楚,尽管有几个因素可能在其形成中起作用。瑞氏综合征似乎是由于使用阿司匹林治疗基础性脂肪酸氧化紊乱儿童和青少年患者的病毒性疾病或感染(特别是流行性感冒和水痘)所致。

脂肪酸氧化紊乱是一组遗传性代谢性疾病,患者身体无法分解脂肪酸,因为一种酶缺失或工作不正常。需要进行一个筛查检测,才能确定您的孩子是否患脂肪酸氧化紊乱。

在某些情况下,瑞氏综合征可能与病毒性疾病所显露的某个基础性代谢病有同样的症状和体征。这些罕见疾病中最常见的是中链酰基辅酶 A 脱氢酶 (MCAD) 缺乏症。接触某些毒素(如杀虫剂、除草剂和油漆稀释剂),可能会产生类似瑞氏综合征的症状,不过这些毒素并不会引起瑞氏综合征。

风险因素

下列因素(通常在合并出现时)可能会增加儿童患上瑞氏综合征的风险:

  • 使用阿司匹林治疗病毒感染,例如流感、水痘或上呼吸道感染
  • 患有基础脂肪酸氧化紊乱

并发症

虽然患有瑞氏综合征的儿童和青少年可能会面临不同程度的脑损伤,但他们中的大多数都能存活。如果瑞氏综合征未获得相应的诊断和治疗,则可能在几天内致命。

预防

儿童或青少年要慎用阿司匹林。尽管阿司匹林已获批用于 3 岁以上的儿童,但千万不要给处于水痘或流感样症状恢复期的儿童和青少年使用阿司匹林。这包括普通阿司匹林和含有阿司匹林的药物。

一些医院和医疗机构对新生儿进行脂肪酸氧化障碍筛查,以确定哪些儿童患瑞氏综合征的风险更大。已知患有脂肪酸氧化障碍的儿童不应服用阿司匹林或含有阿司匹林的产品。

在给孩子用药前,一定要检查标签,包括非处方药和替代药物或草药。阿司匹林可能存在于一些意想不到的药物中,如 Alka-Seltzer。

阿司匹林也有其他名称,例如:

  • 乙酰水杨酸
  • 乙酰水杨酸盐
  • 水杨酸
  • 水杨酸盐

要治疗与流感、水痘或其他病毒性疾病有关的发热或疼痛,考虑给孩子服用婴儿或儿童非处方退烧药和止痛药,如对乙酰氨基酚(Tylenol 等)或布洛芬(Advil、Motrin 等),作为阿司匹林更安全的替代品。

然而,阿司匹林的使用有一点要注意。患有某些慢性病(如川崎病)的儿童和青少年可能需要使用含阿司匹林的药物进行长期治疗。

如果您的孩子需要阿司匹林治疗,确保他或她接种了最新的疫苗 — 包括两剂水痘疫苗和每年接种的流感疫苗。避免这两种病毒性疾病有助于预防瑞氏综合征。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Stone CK, et al., eds. Neurologic emergencies. In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Emergency Medicine. 8th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://www.accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed May 24, 2018.
  2. Ropper AH, et al. The acquired metabolic disorders of the nervous system. In: Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. 10th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2014. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed May 24, 2018.
  3. What is Reye's syndrome? National Reye's Syndrome Foundation. http://www.reyessyndrome.org/what.html. Accessed May 24, 2018.
  4. Reye syndrome. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/miscellaneous-disorders-in-infants. Accessed May 24, 2018.
  5. Reye syndrome. National Organization for Rare Disorders. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/reye-syndrome/. Accessed May 24, 2018.
  6. What is the role of aspirin in triggering Reye's? National Reye's Syndrome Foundation. http://www.reyessyndrome.org/aspirin.html. Accessed June 22, 2018.
  7. Reye's and chickenpox. National Reye's Syndrome Foundation. http://www.reyessyndrome.org/chickenpox.html. Accessed June, 22, 2018.
  8. Patterson MC (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Aug. 6, 2020.

Overview

Reye's (Ryes) syndrome is a rare but serious condition that causes swelling in the liver and brain. Reye's syndrome most often affects children and teenagers recovering from a viral infection, most commonly the flu or chickenpox.

Signs and symptoms such as confusion, seizures and loss of consciousness require emergency treatment. Early diagnosis and treatment of Reye's syndrome can save a child's life.

Aspirin has been linked with Reye's syndrome, so use caution when giving aspirin to children or teenagers. Though aspirin is approved for use in children older than age 2, children and teenagers recovering from chickenpox or flu-like symptoms should never take aspirin. Talk to your doctor if you have concerns.

Symptoms

In Reye's syndrome, a child's blood sugar level typically drops while the levels of ammonia and acidity in his or her blood rise. At the same time, the liver may swell and develop fatty deposits. Swelling may also occur in the brain, which can cause seizures, convulsions or loss of consciousness.

The signs and symptoms of Reye's syndrome typically appear about three to five days after the onset of a viral infection, such as the flu (influenza) or chickenpox, or an upper respiratory infection, such as a cold.

Initial signs and symptoms

For children younger than age 2, the first signs of Reye's syndrome may include:

  • Diarrhea
  • Rapid breathing

For older children and teenagers, early signs and symptoms may include:

  • Persistent or continuous vomiting
  • Unusual sleepiness or lethargy

Additional signs and symptoms

As the condition progresses, signs and symptoms may become more serious, including:

  • Irritable, aggressive or irrational behavior
  • Confusion, disorientation or hallucinations
  • Weakness or paralysis in the arms and legs
  • Seizures
  • Excessive lethargy
  • Decreased level of consciousness

These signs and symptoms require emergency treatment.

When to see a doctor

Early diagnosis and treatment of Reye's syndrome can save a child's life. If you suspect that your child has Reye's syndrome, it's important to act quickly.

Seek emergency medical help if your child:

  • Has seizures or convulsions
  • Loses consciousness

Contact your child's doctor if your child experiences the following after a bout with the flu or chickenpox:

  • Vomits repeatedly
  • Becomes unusually sleepy or lethargic
  • Has sudden behavior changes

Causes

The exact cause of Reye's syndrome is unknown, although several factors may play a role in its development. Reye's syndrome seems to be triggered by using aspirin to treat a viral illness or infection — particularly flu (influenza) and chickenpox — in children and teenagers who have an underlying fatty acid oxidation disorder.

Fatty acid oxidation disorders are a group of inherited metabolic disorders in which the body is unable to break down fatty acids because an enzyme is missing or not working properly. A screening test is needed to determine if your child has a fatty acid oxidation disorder.

In some cases, Reye's syndrome may be an underlying metabolic condition that's unmasked by a viral illness. Exposure to certain toxins — such as insecticides, herbicides and paint thinner — also may contribute to Reye's syndrome.

Risk factors

The following factors — usually when they occur together — may increase your child's risk of developing Reye's syndrome:

  • Using aspirin to treat a viral infection, such as flu, chickenpox or an upper respiratory infection
  • Having an underlying fatty acid oxidation disorder

Complications

Most children and teenagers who have Reye's syndrome survive, although varying degrees of permanent brain damage are possible. Without proper diagnosis and treatment, Reye's syndrome can be fatal within a few days.

Prevention

Use caution when giving aspirin to children or teenagers. Though aspirin is approved for use in children older than age 2, children and teenagers recovering from chickenpox or flu-like symptoms should never take aspirin. This includes plain aspirin and medications that contain aspirin.

Some hospitals and medical facilities conduct newborn screenings for fatty acid oxidation disorders to determine which children are at greater risk of developing Reye's syndrome. Children with known fatty acid oxidation disorders should not take aspirin or aspirin-containing products.

Always check the label before you give your child medication, including over-the-counter products and alternative or herbal remedies. Aspirin can show up in some unexpected places, such as Alka-Seltzer.

Sometimes aspirin goes by other names, too, such as:

  • Acetylsalicylic acid
  • Acetylsalicylate
  • Salicylic acid
  • Salicylate

If your child has the flu, chickenpox or another viral illness, use other medications — such as acetaminophen (Tylenol, others), ibuprofen (Advil, Children's Motrin, Motrin IB, others) or naproxen (Aleve) — to reduce high fever or relieve pain.

There's one caveat to the aspirin rule, however. Children and teenagers who have certain chronic diseases, such as Kawasaki disease, may need long-term treatment with drugs that contain aspirin.

If your child needs aspirin therapy, make sure his or her vaccines are current — including two doses of the varicella (chickenpox) vaccine and a yearly flu vaccine. Avoiding these two viral illnesses can help prevent Reye's syndrome.

Aug. 12, 2014
References
  1. Ferri FF. Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2014: 5 Books in 1. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2014. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 25, 2014.
  2. Cherry JD, et al. Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2014. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 25, 2014.
  3. NINDS Reye's syndrome information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/reyes_syndrome/reyes_syndrome.htm. Accessed May 25, 2014.
  4. What is Reye's syndrome? National Reye's Syndrome Foundation. http://www.reyessyndrome.org/what.html. Accessed May 25, 2014.
  5. Chiriboga CA. Acute toxic-metabolic encephalopathy in children. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed May 25, 2014.
  6. Reye's syndrome. The Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/miscellaneous_disorders_in_infants_and_children/reyes_syndrome.html. Accessed May 26, 2014.
  7. Medications containing aspirin (acetylsalicylate) and aspirin-like products. National Reye's Syndrome Foundation. http://www.reyessyndrome.org/. Accessed May 28, 2014.
  8. Renaud DL (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. June 2, 2014.