概述

心脏肥大(心脏扩大)不是一种疾病,但它可能是存在另一种疾病的迹象。

“心脏扩大”是指在任何影像学检查(包括胸部 X 线检查)中看到的心脏肥大。然后还需要进行其他检测来诊断导致心脏肥大的原因。

心脏肥大可能是身体短期压力造成,如怀孕或疾病,如心肌衰弱、冠状动脉疾病、心脏瓣膜问题或心律失常。

某些疾病可能导致心肌变厚或其中一个心腔扩张,使心脏变大。根据所患疾病,心脏肥大可能是暂时的,也可能是永久的。

心脏肥大可以通过纠正病因来治疗。心脏肥大的治疗方案包括用药、医疗操作或手术。

症状

对于一些人,心脏肥大不会引起任何体征或症状。其他人的体征和症状可能包括:

  • 气短
  • 心律异常(心律失常)
  • 肿胀(水肿)

何时就诊

心脏肥大越早发现越容易治疗,所以如果您担心您的心脏,请咨询您的医生。

如果您出现任何以下体征和症状,可能暗示您会心脏病发作,应寻求紧急医护:

  • 胸部疼痛
  • 一只或两只手臂、背部、颈部、下颚或胃部等上半身其他部分不适
  • 重度气短
  • 昏厥

如果您出现可能与您的心脏有关的新体征或症状,应预约就诊。

病因

心脏扩大的病因是导致心脏跳动比平时更剧烈或心肌受损的疾病。有时候,心脏会因不明原因变大或变弱。这称为原发性心脏扩大。

先天性心脏病(先天性)、心脏病发作造成的损伤或心跳异常(心律失常)都会导致心脏扩大。与心脏肥大相关的其他疾病包括:

  • 高血压。心脏可能必须得更用力才能将血液泵送到身体的其他部位,使肌肉扩大和增厚。

    高血压会导致左心室扩大,最终导致心肌变弱。高血压还可能扩大心脏的上腔室。

  • 心脏瓣膜疾病。心脏有四个瓣膜,保证血流方向正确。如果瓣膜因风湿热、心脏缺陷、感染(感染性心内膜炎)、心跳不规则(心房颤动)、结缔组织病等疾病、某些癌症药物或放疗受损,心脏可能扩大。
  • 心肌病。这种心脏疾病导心脏更难向全身泵送血液。随着病情的发展,心脏可能会扩大以泵送更多的血液。
  • 连接心脏和肺部的动脉存在高血压(肺高压)。您的心脏可能需要更用力地泵血才能使血液在肺和心脏之间流动。因此,心脏右侧可能会扩大。
  • 心脏周围积液(心包积液)。心包积液可能导致心脏在胸部 X 线检查中显示扩大。
  • 心脏动脉阻塞(冠状动脉疾病)。患有这种疾病时,心脏动脉中的脂肪斑块会阻碍血液流经心脏血管,从而导致心脏病发作。当一部分心肌坏死时,心脏就必须更用力地泵送足够的血液到身体的其他部位,从而导致心脏扩大。
  • 低红细胞计数(贫血)。贫血是指体内没有足够数量的健康红细胞可以将足量的氧气输送至各组织。慢性贫血如果不治疗可导致心跳过快或心跳不规律。而且心脏必须泵送更多血液才能弥补血液缺氧。
  • 甲状腺疾病。甲状腺活性不足(甲状腺功能减退症)和甲状腺功能亢进(甲状腺功能亢进症)都可能导致心脏问题,包括心脏肥大。
  • 体内铁含量过高(血色素沉着症)。血色素沉着症指身体无法正常代谢铁,从而导致铁在包括心脏在内的各种器官中聚积。这种疾病可能因心肌虚弱而导致左心室扩大。
  • 可能影响您心脏的罕见疾病,如淀粉样变性。淀粉样变性指异常的蛋白质在血液中循环并可能沉积在心脏中,从而干扰心脏功能并导致心脏扩大。

风险因素

如果您有以下任一风险因素,您更有可能出现心脏肥大:

  • 高血压。血压测量值高于 140/90 毫米汞柱。
  • 心脏肥大或心肌病家族史。如果父母或兄弟姐妹等近亲出现心脏肥大,那么您可能更易患病。
  • 先天性心脏病。如果您天生患有影响心脏结构的疾病,那么您的风险可能会增加。
  • 心脏瓣膜疾病。心脏有四个瓣膜,即主动脉瓣、二尖瓣、肺动脉瓣和三尖瓣,这些瓣膜会开合引导血液流经心脏。损伤瓣膜的疾病可能导致心脏肥大。

并发症

心脏肥大的并发症风险取决于心脏肥大的部位和原因。

心脏肥大的症状可能包括:

  • 心力衰竭。左心室扩大是最严重的心脏肥大类型之一,会导致心力衰竭的风险增加。出现心力衰竭时,心肌会变得无力,心室会伸展(扩大)并导致心脏无法高效地为全身泵送血液。
  • 血凝块。心脏肥大可能会导致心脏内膜中更容易出现血凝块。如果血凝块进入血流,则可能阻碍血液流向重要器官,甚至导致心脏病发作或卒中。在心脏右侧形成的血凝块可能移动到肺部,这种危险情况被称为肺栓塞。
  • 心脏杂音。对于心脏肥大的患者而言,心脏四个瓣膜中的两个瓣膜(二尖瓣和三尖瓣)可能会因为出现扩张而无法正常闭合,导致血液回流。这种流动会产生被称为心脏杂音的声音。尽管不一定会对身体有害,但医生应该监测心脏杂音。
  • 心搏骤停和猝死。心脏肥大有时可能导致心脏节律中断。当由于心律过慢导致血液无法流动或者由于心律过快导致心脏无法正常跳动时,可能导致昏厥,在某些情况下甚至会导致心搏骤停或猝死。

预防

如果您有可导致心脏肥大的家族病史(如心肌病),请告诉医生。如果心肌病或其他心脏疾病能够尽早确诊,则治疗可能会防止疾病恶化。

控制冠状动脉疾病的风险因素(吸烟、高血压、高胆固醇和糖尿病)可减少心脏病发作的风险,从而降低心脏肥大和心力衰竭的风险。

您可以通过确保健康饮食、不滥用酒精或不使用违禁药物来减少发生心力衰竭的几率。通过饮食、运动和某些药物控制高血压也可以防止很多心脏肥大患者发展成心力衰竭。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. What is heart failure? American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/what-is-heart-failure#.WCH1wFUrJ0w. Accessed Nov. 12, 2019.
  2. Colucci WS. Evaluation of the patient with suspected heart failure. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 12, 2019.
  3. Cardiomyopathy. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/cardiomyopathy#. Accessed Nov. 12, 2019.
  4. Mankad R (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Nov. 16, 2016.
  5. Warning signs of a heart attack. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-attack/warning-signs-of-a-heart-attack. Accessed Nov. 12, 2019.
  6. Cooper LT. Definition and classification of the cardiomyopathies. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 3, 2016.
  7. Lifestyle changes for heart failure. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/treatment-options-for-heart-failure/lifestyle-changes-for-heart-failure#.WCH7KVUrJ0x. Accessed Nov. 12, 2019.
  8. Bonow RO, et al., eds. The dilated, restrictive, and infiltrative cardiomyopathies. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 12, 2019.
  9. Cardiac procedures and surgeries. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-attack/treatment-of-a-heart-attack/cardiac-procedures-and-surgeries#.WCDYQlUrJ0w. Accessed Nov. 12, 2019.

Overview

An enlarged heart (cardiomegaly) isn't a disease, but rather a sign of another condition.

The term "cardiomegaly" refers to an enlarged heart seen on any imaging test, including a chest X-ray. Other tests are then needed to diagnose the condition that's causing the enlarged heart.

Heart damage and certain types of heart disease can cause an enlarged heart. Sometimes short-term stress on the body, such as pregnancy, can cause the heart to get larger. Depending on the condition, an enlarged heart may be temporary or permanent.

Treatment for an enlarged heart may include medications, medical procedures or surgery.

Symptoms

In some people, an enlarged heart (cardiomegaly) causes no signs or symptoms. Others may have these signs and symptoms of cardiomegaly:

  • Shortness of breath, especially while lying flat
  • Waking up short of breath
  • Irregular heart rhythm (arrhythmia)
  • Swelling (edema) in the belly or in the legs

When to see a doctor

An enlarged heart may be easier to treat when it's detected early. Talk to your health care provider if you have concerns about your heart.

Call 911 or your local emergency number if you have signs and symptoms of a potential heart attack:

  • Chest pain
  • Discomfort in other areas of the upper body, including one or both arms, the back, neck, jaw, or stomach
  • Severe shortness of breath
  • Fainting

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

An enlarged heart (cardiomegaly) can be caused by damage to the heart muscle or any condition that makes the heart pump harder than usual, including pregnancy. Sometimes the heart gets larger and becomes weak for unknown reasons. This condition is called idiopathic cardiomyopathy.

Conditions associated with an enlarged heart include:

  • Heart condition present at birth (congenital heart defect). Problems with the structure and function of the heart can cause the heart muscle to get larger and weak.
  • Damage from a heart attack. Scarring and other structural heart damage can make it harder for the heart to pump enough blood to the body. The strain can lead to heart swelling and eventual heart failure.
  • Diseases of the heart muscle (cardiomyopathy). Cardiomyopathy often makes the heart rigid or thick. It can make it harder for the heart to pump blood.
  • Fluid buildup in the sac around the heart (pericardial effusion). A collection of fluid in the sac that contains the heart can cause heart enlargement that can be seen on a chest X-ray.
  • Heart valve disease. Four valves in the heart keep blood flowing in the right direction. Disease or damage to any of the valves may interrupt blood flow and cause the heart chambers to get larger.
  • High blood pressure (hypertension). If you have high blood pressure, the heart may have to pump harder to deliver blood to the rest of the body. The strain can cause the heart muscle to grow larger and become weak.
  • High blood pressure in the arteries in the lungs (pulmonary hypertension). The heart has to work harder to move blood between the lungs and the heart. The strain may lead to thickening or enlargement of the right side of the heart.
  • Low red blood cell count (anemia). In anemia, there's a lack of healthy red blood cells to carry proper levels of oxygen to the body's tissues. The heart must pump more blood to make up for the lack of oxygen in the blood.
  • Thyroid disorders. Both an underactive thyroid gland (hypothyroidism) and an overactive thyroid gland (hyperthyroidism) can lead to heart problems, including an enlarged heart.
  • Too much iron in the body (hemochromatosis). Iron can build up in various organs, including the heart. This can cause the lower left heart chamber to swell.
  • Unusual protein deposits in the heart (cardiac amyloidosis). This rare disease causes a protein called amyloid to collect in the blood and get stuck in body organs, including the heart. Amyloid protein deposits in the heart cause an irreversible thickening of the heart wall. The heart has to work harder to fill with blood.
  • Aerobic exercise. In some athletes, the heart becomes enlarged as a response to frequent and prolonged exercise. Usually, this type of enlarged heart isn't considered a disease and doesn't need treatment.
  • Fat around the heart. Some people have extra fat around the heart that can appear on a chest X-ray. Unless there are other heart conditions associated, no treatment is necessary.

Risk factors

Things that can increase the risk of an enlarged heart (cardiomegaly) include:

  • A family history of heart muscle disease (cardiomyopathy). Some types of cardiomyopathy run in families. Tell your health care provider if a parent or sibling has a history of a thick, rigid or enlarged heart.
  • High blood pressure. This means having a blood pressure measurement higher than 140/90 millimeters of mercury.
  • Heart diseases. Any problem affecting the heart, including congenital heart defects or heart valve disease, may lead to heart enlargement. It's important to follow a healthy lifestyle and have regular health checkups to manage heart disease.

Complications

The risk of complications from an enlarged heart depends on the part of the heart affected and the cause. Complications of an enlarged heart can include:

  • Heart failure. Heart failure may occur if the left lower heart chamber (left ventricle) becomes enlarged. In heart failure, the heart can't pump the proper amount of blood throughout the body.
  • Blood clots. Blood clots may form in the lining of the heart. A blood clot that forms on the right side of the heart can travel to the lungs (pulmonary embolism). If a clot blocks blood flow, you could have a heart attack or stroke.
  • Leaky heart valve (regurgitation). Heart enlargement may prevent the mitral and tricuspid heart valves from closing, causing blood to leak backward. The interrupted blood flow creates a sound called a heart murmur. Although not necessarily harmful, heart murmurs should be monitored by a health care provider.
  • Cardiac arrest and sudden death. An enlarged heart may cause the heart to beat too fast or too slow. The irregular heartbeat (arrhythmia) may lead to fainting, cardiac arrest or sudden death.

Prevention

Tell your health care provider if anyone in your family has or had cardiomyopathy or other health conditions that caused an enlarged heart. When diagnosed early, proper treatment of the underlying condition may prevent the enlarged heart from getting worse.

Following a heart-healthy lifestyle can help prevent or manage some conditions that can lead to an enlarged heart. Take these steps to help prevent an enlarged heart:

  • Monitor and manage high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes.
  • Take any prescribed medications as directed.
  • Eat a nutritious, balanced diet.
  • Get regular exercise.
  • Avoid or limit alcohol.
  • Don't smoke.
  • Don't use illegal drugs.

May 04, 2022
  1. What is heart failure? American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/what-is-heart-failure. Accessed Nov. 30, 2021.
  2. Colucci WS, et al. Heart failure: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 16, 2021.
  3. Cardiomyopathy. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/cardiomyopathy. Accessed Oct. 16, 2021.
  4. Mankad R (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 16, 2021.
  5. Warning signs of a heart attack. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-attack/warning-signs-of-a-heart-attack. Accessed Nov. 30, 2021.
  6. Cooper LT. Definition and classification of the cardiomyopathies. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 16, 2021.
  7. Lifestyle changes for heart failure. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/treatment-options-for-heart-failure/lifestyle-changes-for-heart-failure. Accessed Nov. 30, 2021.
  8. Libby P, et al., eds. The dilated, restrictive, and infiltrative cardiomyopathies. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 12th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 30, 2021.
  9. Heart procedures and surgeries. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-attack/treatment-of-a-heart-attack/cardiac-procedures-and-surgeries. Accessed Nov. 30, 2021.
  10. Lopez-Jimenez F (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 20, 2022.