妙佑医疗国际提供的二尖瓣反流护理

二尖瓣概述

我是一个修鞋工,做这门营生已经有五六十年了。我通常一天工作八九个小时,一周工作五六天。

Shavos 先生的状况称为二尖瓣反流。实际上,他是去医生那里进行常规体验,去了他的主要照料者那里。主要照料者听到他的心脏杂音变大了很多,于是非常恰当地给他做了超声心动图,也叫声波检查,以检查心脏并了解心脏的泵血情况。检查结果表明,心脏变大,瓣膜严重渗漏。

大多数接受这项手术的患者都会进行胸骨切开术,这需要切开胸骨,使外科医生能够触及患病部位。现在有了机器人,就不需要做胸骨切开术,而是可以做一些让机器人可以穿过的小孔。术中采用内窥镜,使医生能够通过屏幕看到实时情况并利用外面的控制装置修复瓣膜。因此,患者术后恢复更快。

我没有任何问题。我的恢复情况好得让他们大吃一惊。

他在重症监护室过了一夜,但在里面走来走去。护士们说,他为什么走来走去?不如送他去普通病房吧。于是他第二天就去了普通病房,两天后就出院了。这很不寻常,但这是未来的趋势。

我醒来后一点不适的感觉都没有。我状态很好。我准备第二天出院。除了他们要我服用阿司匹林外,我根本不需要吃药。就是这样。

Shavos 先生今天的预后好得叫人难以置信。现在,他的心脏已经缩回正常大小。泵血功能正常。瓣膜功能正常。他恢复了以前的所有活动,车速能达到每小时 144 千米,即大约 90 英里。

我感觉自己和以前一样健康。我一辈子都在那家店里工作,现在我站起来了。我几乎没有坐下来过,因为我总有事情要做。

很多地方都有优秀的外科医生,但优秀的团队却很少。所以团队极其重要,世界上没有比妙佑医疗更好的团队了。

我身体的其他部位一直保持良好状态,所以他们认为,我能活到 100 岁左右。或许更久。

一群人围着笔记本电脑在讨论 妙佑医疗国际的团队

妙佑医疗国际的医务人员组成团队通力合作。

妙佑医疗国际医疗团队

在妙佑医疗国际,心脏病学家心血管外科医生和其他专家共同努力,为您提供协调、全面的护理。因此您不是只听一家之言,而是受益于多学科团队中各领域专家的经验和知识。这种协作方式意味着妙佑医疗的医务人员通常可以在两三天内对您进行评估并制定个体化治疗计划。

  • 个体化的护理。妙佑医疗国际的医生和医务人员为您提供全人护理。他们会花时间了解您并与您合作,以提供您所需的恰当治疗。
  • 儿童心脏护理。妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州院区先天性心脏病中心儿童心内科和心血管外科医生为心脏瓣膜病和其他先天性心脏病的儿童患者提供全面治疗。
  • 先进的诊断。凭借最先进的研究和实验室设施,妙佑医疗国际的二尖瓣内外科医生使用先进的技术和影像学检查,帮助准确诊断二尖瓣疾病并确定可能需要修复的二尖瓣部分。

    妙佑医疗国际的超声心动图实验室配备有先进的 3D 技术,与传统 2D 成像相比,有助于提供更为详细的心脏瓣膜图像。

  • 创新的治疗。妙佑医疗国际的心脏科医生和心血管外科医生可实施二尖瓣修复术和二尖瓣置换术来治疗某些类型的二尖瓣疾病。外科医生会尽可能采用二尖瓣修复术,因为这样可以保留瓣膜,并有可能保留心脏机能。如果瓣膜无法修复,外科医生可能建议进行二尖瓣置换术。

    妙佑医疗的心血管外科医生可实施微创心脏手术(包括机器人辅助的心脏手术),以修复二尖瓣。这种手术的切口小于心内直视手术的切口。

    妙佑医疗的心脏科医生可能会在导管室运用低创插管术治疗二尖瓣疾病,包括二尖瓣反流。在这些手术中,心脏科医生可能使用夹具或栓塞物修复二尖瓣。医生也可能使用经导管医疗程序,在已不再正常工作的生物组织置换瓣膜中插入置换瓣膜。

机器人心脏手术:您应该了解和咨询的内容

大家好,我是 Joseph Dearani,妙佑医疗国际心血管外科主任。我们今天要介绍的是机器人心脏手术,以及对于该手术您应该了解和咨询的信息。机器人技术可谓是微创手术的终极武器。手术过程中不会损坏骨骼,也没有明显的肌肉切割。机器人实际上是三只机械臂,它们将用作外科医生双手的延伸。所以,医生实际上是不会触及患者心脏的。成功实施机器人心脏手术需要整个医护团队齐心协力,并通过许多病例累积经验,方可确保获得最佳结果。因此,妙佑医疗的医护团队通常包括:一群精心挑选的负责术前阶段的心脏病医生、一支精心打造的由外科医生、技术人员和麻醉师组成的手术室团队,以及重症监护团队和负责术后阶段的联合护理团队。患者出院后,我们会与家庭医生进行沟通,从而保证护理的连续性。值得一提的是,我们在手术中会安排两名外科医生,一名在手术床边,一名在控制台边。我们认为这对于最大限度地缩短手术时间极为重要,尤其是使用心肺机的时间。除外科医生外,手术室团队还包括一名负责超声心动图检查的心脏病医生,以及一名精通导管通路微创技术的麻醉师。术后,麻醉团队将患者转交给重症监护团队。我们的方案可以最大限度地减少患者的 ICU 护理时间,并确定移除管线和导管的最佳时机。患者将受到专业且悉心的照护。我们收治过大量病例,累积了丰富的经验,并已针对该手术建立常规程序,这对于患者也非常重要。

机器人心脏手术主要适用于治疗二尖瓣疾病,同时也可用于治疗许多其他病症,例如:三尖瓣疾病和小型心脏肿瘤(不常用);某些先天性心脏缺陷;间隔缺损(如房间隔缺损);以及其他属于先天性疾病范畴的结构性问题。除此之外,冠状动脉搭桥手术的某些步骤可借助机器人技术或微创技术来完成,某些心律失常也可借助机器人技术来完成。

也有些患者不适合接受机器人心脏手术。如果患者需要进行多个手术,特别是多个瓣膜手术,或者瓣膜和冠状动脉搭桥组合手术,则不适合使用机器人技术。既往接受过心脏手术的患者,或者接受过涉及右胸切口的手术的患者,目前也不符合使用机器人手术的条件。受限于机器人的技术规格,例如机械臂长度等,体型较大或病态肥胖的患者可能也不适合该手术。此外,外周血管疾病的重症患者不适合机器人手术,因为这种微创手术必须将患者的腹股沟和颈部血管连接到心肺机。

用于治疗二尖瓣疾病时,一般来说,该手术通常适用于具有以下既往症状的患者:气短、运动耐力下降或单纯的疲劳感。如果存在心室功能下降或心脏体积增大的症状,则通常需要对患者进行外科会诊。值得一提的是,我们已经知道二尖瓣疾病是一种结构性心脏缺陷,即便是无症状患者也应接受手术。当然,前提是患者存在严重的二尖瓣反流,并伴有心脏变大和/或心律失常发作的迹象。总之,该手术适用于有极高可能性需要瓣膜修复的患者。

可能有人会问,相比心内直视手术,机器人手术是否存在技术方面的差距?值得一提的是,我们会将心内直视手术的黄金标准应用于机器人手术。作为患者,您有必要了解,在进行机器人手术时,我们不会在手术技术方面做出任何让步。事实上,机器人手术的技术要领与需要做一个完整切口的心内直视手术完全相同。这正是我们践行的黄金标准。可能还有人会问,该手术是否有风险?安全性如何?实际上,我们已经实施了近 600 台机器人心脏修复手术,其中大多数是二尖瓣修复术。幸运的是,迄今为止,我们的修复成功率一直是 100%,而且死亡率极低,不到 0.5%。还没有任何一台机器人手术被迫转换为心内直视手术,我们通常会事先告知患者存在这种风险。幸运的是,在我们整个医护团队的齐心协力下,迄今为止还没有任何一台手术发生过转换。从住院总时长来看,我们发现,接受机器人手术的患者住院时间更短。他们使用呼吸机的时间更短,接受 ICU 护理的时间更短,接受病房护理的时间更短,总住院时间大约只要三天。我们会坚持一懈地进行长达五年的随访。目前,几乎 100% 的患者都进行了随访,结果非常鼓舞人心。

该手术可以为患者带来许多益处。首先,无论您选择心内直视手术还是机器人手术,手术操作都是完全一样的,并且修复成功率均超过 99%。接受机器人手术后,您的疼痛感更轻、出血更少、感染风险也更小,并且您出现暂时性心律失常的可能性也更小,即便该症状在心脏瓣膜病中很常见。您的住院时间将更短,恢复起来也更容易。我们还发现,机器人手术可以提高患者的术后生活质量。心内直视手术固然是极好的,但机器人手术能够在所有这些方面给您带来更多益处。此外,您还可以更早地重返工作岗位。根据所从事的工作类型,许多患者能够在手术后两到三周内重返工作岗位。因此,请您务必注意,心内直视手术和机器人手术的修复结果并无不同。两者的手术技术也完全相同。但是,机器人手术确实需要一支经验丰富的精英团队,其中包括心血管外科、心脏病科、麻醉科、重症监护以及所有必要的联合护理团队成员。接受该手术的患者住院时间更短、更容易恢复、生活质量总体上得到改善,并且能更快返回工作岗位。

如果您正在考虑接受机器人手术,应该向医生咨询哪些问题?首先,您应该了解医护团队的手术经验。特别重要的是,我认为,您应该了解他们在心内直视手术方面的经验,因为在心内直视手术方面拥有丰富经验的团队,通常也能在机器人手术中取得非常好的结果,毕竟他们过去积累了丰富的经验。团队的特点是什么?分工如何?按照惯例,我们会为每台手术安排两名外科医生,一名在手术床边,一名在控制台边。虽然这不是一项强制要求,但确实很有帮助。至少要保证手术床边的团队在心脏手术的这个特定领域中拥有相当丰富的经验。所有这些信息都很重要,因为结果的好坏通常与手术时间的长短有关,特别是使用心肺机的时间。经验丰富的团队能够缩短手术时间,带来更好的结果。该项目共计完成了多少台手术?该团队每周要做多少台手术?团队每周要接诊一定数量的病例,以便所有成员都能磨练各种技能、累积经验,并能够从容应对该技术的所有细枝末节。对于早期和晚期病例,机器人手术转换为心内直视手术的频率如何?成功率如何?

我很自豪能在妙佑医疗国际工作并加入机器人心脏治疗团队,也很自豪能为整个心血管外科事业献上绵薄之力。感谢您的观看。

在机器人辅助心脏手术期间,外科小组在手术台旁提供协助。 妙佑医疗国际的机器人辅助心脏手术团队

妙佑医疗国际的一名外科医生和手术团队协助进行机器人辅助心脏手术,另一名外科医生则坐在远程控制台前操控机械臂。

专长与排名

一群医生站在走廊上。 心血管疾病和心脏外科团队

妙佑医疗国际的心脏病专家和心脏外科医生团队共同合作。

妙佑医疗国际的心脏病专家心血管外科医生拥有丰富的经验和专业知识,能够利用二尖瓣修补和二尖瓣置换以及其他类型的心脏瓣膜手术治疗二尖瓣反流。

妙佑医疗的心脏瓣膜病门诊医生可为患有二尖瓣反流和其他心脏瓣膜病的患者提供治疗。

妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州院区的小儿心脏病医生和心血管外科医生拥有丰富的经验,能够治疗患有二尖瓣反流和其他心脏病的儿童。

全美公认的专业实力

妙佑医疗的医生每年评估和治疗超过 19,000 名二尖瓣疾病患者,包括二尖瓣反流患者。

妙佑医疗国际各院区在心脏病学和心血管外科方面的专业技能在全美广受认可:

  • 在《美国新闻与世界报道》的评比中,妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区被列为心脏和心脏外科领域“最佳医院”。
  • 在《美国新闻与世界报道》的 2023–2024 年“最佳儿童医院”排名中,设于罗切斯特的妙佑医疗国际儿童中心在明尼苏达州以及五州地区(爱荷华、明尼苏达、北达科他、南达科他和威斯康星州)名列榜首。
  • 在《美国新闻与世界报道》的评比中,妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区和佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区均被列为心脏和心脏外科领域“最佳医院”。

妙佑医疗国际非常重视合作式医疗护理,亚利桑那州、明尼苏达州和佛罗里达州每个院区的专家都与其他院区和妙佑区域医疗系统的同事密切互动。

了解更多关于妙佑医疗国际心血管医学心血管外科科室的专业知识和排名。

位置、旅行和住宿

Mayo Clinic 在亚利桑那州的凤凰城和斯克茨戴尔、佛罗里达州的杰克逊威尔,以及明尼苏达州的罗切斯特都有主要院区。Mayo Clinic 健康系统在几个州拥有十几个工作地点。

有关参观 Mayo Clinic 的更多信息,请在下面选择您的位置:

费用与保险

Mayo Clinic与数百家保险公司合作,为数百万人提供网络内服务。

在大多数情况下,Mayo Clinic 不需要医师转诊。某些保险要求转诊,或有其它特定医疗方面的要求。所有优先预约都基于医疗需求。

了解更多关于在 Mayo Clinic 预约

请联系您的保险公司,核实医保范围,并在就医之前获得任何所需的许可。您保险公司的客户服务号码通常印在您的保险卡背面。

March 23, 2023

Mitral valve regurgitation care at Mayo Clinic

Mitral valve overview

I'm a shoe repairman. I've had my business for about 50 some years, 60 now. I usually work eight or nine hours a day, five or six days a week.

Mr. Shavos has a condition called mitral valve regurgitation. He actually went to see his physician for a routine physical, went to see his primary caregiver, who heard his murmur was quite a bit louder, and very appropriately got an echocardiogram, or a sound wave test, to look at the heart and see how well the heart is pumping. It showed the heart had gotten big, and the valve leaked tremendously.

Most patients that get this surgery have a sternotomy, so it opens the breastbone so the surgeon can get in. Now with the robotics, they don't have to do the sternotomy. They can do small holes that the robotics can go in through. They have a video scope so they can see what's going on and repair the valve with the screen and controls outside. So the patient has a much quicker recovery time.

I had no problems at all. They were just really surprised and fascinated how well I had turned out.

He went to the intensive care unit, spent the night, but walked around the intensive care unit. The nurses were saying why is he walking around? Let's send him out to the regular floor, so he went there the next day. Left the hospital two days later. So very unusual, but this is the wave of future.

I woke up, and I didn't feel a thing. I was fine. I was ready to go the following day. I have to take no pills at all, except that they want me to take aspirin. And that's about it.

Mr. Shavos' prognosis today is unbelievably good. His heart now has shrunk back to normal size. It pumps normally. The valve functions normally. He's back doing all the activities he's done before and going 90 miles an hour.

I feel as healthy then as I did beforehand. All my life worked in that shop, and I'm standing up. I hardly ever sat down because I was always doing something.

There are great surgeons a lot of places, but there are very few great teams. So the team is overwhelmingly important, and there's no better team the world like Mayo.

The rest of my body has been in good shape, so as far as they were concerned, I should be around for 100 years or so. Maybe longer.

A group of people in a discussion looking at a laptop A team at Mayo Clinic

A team works together to evaluate and treat people at Mayo Clinic.

Your Mayo Clinic care team

At Mayo Clinic, cardiologists, cardiovascular surgeons and other specialists work together to provide you with coordinated, comprehensive care. You're not getting just one opinion — you benefit from the knowledge and experience of each specialist on the multidisciplinary team. This collaborative approach means Mayo care providers can often evaluate you and develop an individualized treatment plan within two or three days.

  • Individualized care. Doctors and care providers at Mayo Clinic provide care for you as a whole person. They take the time to get to know you and work with you to provide exactly the care you need.
  • Pediatric heart care. Pediatric cardiologists and cardiovascular surgeons in the Center for Congenital Heart Disease at Mayo Clinic's campus in Minnesota provide comprehensive care for children with heart valve disease and other congenital heart conditions.
  • Advanced diagnosis. With state-of-the-art research and laboratory facilities, Mayo Clinic mitral valve surgeons and doctors use advanced technology and imaging tests to help accurately diagnose mitral valve disease and determine which sections of the mitral valve may need repair.

    The echocardiography laboratories at Mayo Clinic are equipped with advanced 3D technology that helps provide a more detailed look at the heart valves than does conventional 2D imaging.

  • Innovative treatment. Mayo Clinic cardiologists and cardiovascular surgeons perform mitral valve repair and mitral valve replacement to treat some types of mitral valve disease. Surgeons do mitral valve repair when possible, as it saves the valve and may preserve heart function. If a valve can't be repaired, the surgeon may recommend mitral valve replacement.

    Mayo cardiovascular surgeons may perform minimally invasive heart surgery, including robot-assisted heart surgery, to repair a mitral valve. Such surgery involves the use of smaller incisions than those used in open-heart surgery.

    Mayo cardiologists may use less-invasive catheter procedures in the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory to treat mitral valve disease, including mitral valve regurgitation. In these procedures, cardiologists may use clips or plugs to repair mitral valves. Doctors may also use a transcatheter procedure to insert a replacement valve into a biological tissue replacement valve that's no longer working.

Robotic heart surgery – What you should know and what you should ask

Hello, my name is Joseph Dearani, and I'm the Chair of Cardiovascular Surgery at the Mayo Clinic. And we're going to talk about robotic heart surgery. What you should know, and what questions you should ask. So robotics is really the ultimate in minimally invasive surgery. There is no bone breaking, and there's no significant muscle cutting. And the robot is really three arms that are an extension of the surgeon's hands. So actually we're not able to touch the heart. And success in robotic heart surgery really requires the cohesive team with a high volume of cases, in order to optimize results. So the Mayo team includes a careful selection of cardiologists for the preoperative phase, and then a polished operating room team that consists of surgeons and technicians and anesthesia, and then critical care, and allied health in the post-operative phase. And then after the patient leaves the hospital, we have communication with the home physician, so continuity is maintained. Now importantly, in our program, we utilize two staff surgeons--one at the bedside and one at the console, and we feel that this is very, very important in terms of minimizing operating time, particularly on the heart-lung machine. The OR team, beyond the surgeons, consists of a cardiologist who is doing the echocardiogram, and an anesthesiologist who is well versed with the minimally invasive techniques in the passage of catheters. Postoperatively, the anesthesia team does a hand-off to the critical care team. We have protocols that minimize time in the ICU, determines when lines and tubes are removed. Patients are cared for with competence and compassion. And having a high volume of cases allows us to do this so that it becomes routine, which is very important for you.

Now the indications for robotic heart surgery generally revolve around mitral valve disease, although there are many other indications where it could be considered-- tricuspid valve problems, small cardiac tumors, although they are not very common, selected congenital heart defects, septal defects, like atrial septal defect, and other structural problems that fall into the congenital arena. In addition, aspects of coronary bypass surgery can be done robotically or minimally invasively, and then selected arrhythmia procedures can also be done robotically.

Now there are some patients that are not able to have robotic heart surgery. If they need multiple procedures, particularly multiple valve procedures, or a combination of valve and coronary bypass surgery, it just may be too much to do with the robot. Patients that have had previous cardiac surgery, or they've had a previous operation that involves an incision in the right chest, they are also not eligible for the robot at the current time. Patients who are very large, or morbidly obese, may also not be a candidate because of the limitations with the technology at the present time with the length of arms and such, related to the robot. Also, patients must not have significant peripheral vascular disease because in order to do this minimally invasively, we rely on attachment to the heart-lung machine utilizing vessels in the groin and in the neck.

Now with regard to mitral valve disease, generally speaking, the indications for surgery have historically revolved around the presence of symptoms--shortness of breath, decreased exercise tolerance, or simple fatigue. And when the ventricular function has been going down, or the size of the heart has been enlarging, these have been traditional indications to transfer somebody for a surgical consultation. Importantly now, we have learned that mitral valve disease is one of the structural heart defects where the asymptomatic patient, in fact, should be referred for surgery. And this requires the presence of severe mitral regurgitation with some notice of heart enlargement, and/or the onset of arrhythmias. And importantly, the probability of valve repair must be very high.

Now, some may ask, are there any technical compromises with doing this robotically? Importantly in our practice, we apply the gold standard open approach robotically and this is important for you as a patient to understand that we have not compromised on the operation that we are doing robotically. In fact, if we were to do it in an open manner, with a full incision, it would be the same exact operation. That is the gold standard for what we do. Some patients may ask, is it risky, or is it safe? And, in fact, now we are approaching 600 robotic heart repairs, most of which have been mitral valve repair. Our repair rate fortunately, to date, has been 100%. And the mortality is exceedingly low, less than 1/2 of a percent. We've not had any conversions to an open procedure, which is something that we always mention to patients in advance. But fortunately, with a cohesive team, we have not had to do this to date. Robotic times we have found are shorter from an overall length of stay in the hospital. The time on the ventilator is shorter. The time in the ICU is shorter. The time on the floor is shorter. And the total hospital stay is roughly about three days. We have good solid five-year follow-up, now in almost 100% of the patients, and the results have been very encouraging.

There are real advantages for you as a patient. First, you get the same operation whether it's done open or whether it's done robotically, and the repair rate here exceeds 99%. There is less pain, there's less bleeding, there's less infection, and you're also less likely to have transient arrhythmias after surgery, which can be quite common with valvular heart disease. The length of hospital stay is short and the recovery is generally easier. The quality of life, we have learned, is better with the robotic approach. It's excellent with the open approach, but you have an advantage having it done robotically in terms of all of these other favorable aspects. And there is earlier return to work. And many patients, depending upon the type of work they do, are able to return to work within two to three weeks of surgery. So the most important points for you to remember is that the outcome is similar to the open repair with the robotic approach. The technique of operation should be identical to the open operation. But it does require the presence of an elite, experienced team that includes cardiovascular surgery, cardiology, anesthesia, critical care, and all of the many essential allied health care members. The length of stay is shorter, and the recovery year is easier, and the quality of life, in general, is improved, with an earlier time returning to work.

So what questions should you ask your surgeon or cardiologist if you're being considered for a robotic approach? First is, you should ask what the experience of the team is. And importantly, I think it's helpful to know what their experience is with the open operation, because programs that have extensive experience with the open operation generally have incredibly good results with the robotic approach because of all of the experience that they have accrued. What is the nature of the team, and who is doing what? It has been our practice to have two staff surgeons involved with each and every patient--one at the bedside and one at the console. Now while this is not mandatory, we do find it helpful. And at the very, very least, the team at the bedside needs to be very, very experienced in this niche area of cardiac surgery. All of this is important because outcome is generally related to the length of time in the operating room, and most importantly the length of time on the heart-lung machine. So having experience reduces these time intervals which generally result in improved outcome. How many have been done totally in the program? And how many is the team doing each week? There needs to be some regularity with cases going on every week so that everybody stays versatile and experienced and comfortable with all of the nuance that surround this technology. How many have needed to be converted to an open procedure, and what has been the success rate, both early and late?

I'm proud to work at Mayo Clinic and be part of this robotic heart team, and proud to be part of the whole cardiovascular surgery enterprise, in general. Thank you very much for listening.

A surgical team assists at the operating table during robot-assisted heart surgery. Robot-assisted heart surgery team at Mayo Clinic

A Mayo Clinic surgeon and surgical team assist with robot-assisted heart surgery, while another surgeon sits at a remote console controlling the robotic arms.

Expertise and rankings

A group of doctors stand in a hallway. Cardiovascular diseases and cardiac surgery team

A team of cardiologists and cardiac surgeons work together at Mayo Clinic.

Mayo Clinic cardiologists and cardiovascular surgeons have experience and expertise treating mitral valve regurgitation with mitral valve repair and mitral valve replacement and other types of heart valve surgery.

Doctors in Mayo's Valvular Heart Disease Clinic treat people with mitral valve regurgitation and other heart valve diseases.

Pediatric cardiologists and cardiovascular surgeons at Mayo Clinic's campus in Minnesota have experience treating children with mitral valve regurgitation and other heart conditions.

Nationally recognized expertise

Mayo doctors evaluate and treat more than 19,000 people with mitral valve disease, including mitral valve regurgitation, each year.

Mayo Clinic campuses are nationally recognized for expertise in cardiology and cardiovascular surgery:

  • Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., is ranked among the Best Hospitals for heart and heart surgery by U.S. News & World Report.
  • Mayo Clinic Children's Center in Rochester is ranked the No. 1 hospital in Minnesota, and the five-state region of Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin, according to U.S. News & World Report's 2022–2023 "Best Children's Hospitals" rankings.
  • Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Ariz., is ranked among the Best Hospitals for heart and heart surgery by U.S. News & World Report.

With Mayo Clinic's emphasis on collaborative care, specialists at each of the campuses —Arizona, Minnesota and Florida — interact very closely with colleagues at the other campuses and the Mayo Clinic Health System.

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's Cardiovascular Surgery and Cardiovascular Medicine departments' expertise and rankings.

Locations, travel and lodging

Mayo Clinic has major campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona; Jacksonville, Florida; and Rochester, Minnesota. The Mayo Clinic Health System has dozens of locations in several states.

For more information on visiting Mayo Clinic, choose your location below:

Costs and insurance

Mayo Clinic works with hundreds of insurance companies and is an in-network provider for millions of people.

In most cases, Mayo Clinic doesn't require a physician referral. Some insurers require referrals, or may have additional requirements for certain medical care. All appointments are prioritized on the basis of medical need.

Learn more about appointments at Mayo Clinic.

Please contact your insurance company to verify medical coverage and to obtain any needed authorization prior to your visit. Often, your insurer's customer service number is printed on the back of your insurance card.

More information about billing and insurance:

Mayo Clinic in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota

Mayo Clinic Health System

Feb. 08, 2022