概述

负荷试验也称为运动负荷试验,可以显示心脏在身体运动期间如何工作。因为运动会使心脏跳动地更快更剧烈,所以运动负荷试验可以显示心脏中血液流动的问题。

运动负荷试验通常需要您在跑步机上行走或骑健身车,同时监测心律、血压和呼吸。也可以使用一种可以模仿运动效果的药物。

如果您出现了冠状动脉疾病或心律不齐(心律失常)的症状,医生可能会建议您做运动负荷试验。如果您已经确诊患有心脏病,这个试验还可以指导治疗、衡量治疗效果或确定疾病严重程度。

目的

医生可能会建议进行运动负荷试验以:

  • 诊断冠状动脉疾病。冠状动脉是为心脏提供血液、氧气和营养物质的重要血管。当这些动脉受损或患病时,就会发展成冠状动脉疾病——通常由于含有胆固醇和其他物质(斑块)的沉积物堆积所致。
  • 诊断心律不齐(心律失常)。当协调心律的电脉冲无法正常运行时,就会出现心律不齐,从而导致心脏跳动过快、过慢或不规则。
  • 指导心脏疾病的治疗。如果经诊断患有心脏疾病,则运动负荷试验能够帮助医生了解治疗效果。还可通过显示心脏可以做多少运动来帮助制定治疗计划。

    医生可能会利用运动负荷试验来帮助确定心脏手术的时机,例如瓣膜置换术。在某些患有心力衰竭的人群中,运动负荷试验结果有助于医生确定是否需要接受心脏移植手术或其他先进疗法。

如果运动负荷试验无法确定症状的原因,医生可能会建议进行影像学检查,例如核素负荷试验或超声心动图负荷试验。

风险

运动负荷试验通常很安全,并发症很少。但是,与其他医疗操作一样,它也有并发症风险,包括:

  • 低血压。血压可能会在运动期间或运动后下降,导致头晕或昏厥。停止运动后,这些症状会消失。
  • 异常心律(心律不齐)。运动负荷试验引起的心律不齐通常会在您停止运动后很快消失。
  • 心脏病发作(心肌梗塞)。尽管极为罕见,但运动负荷试验可能会导致心脏病发作。

如何进行准备

您的医生会详细指导您如何准备负荷试验。

饮食和用药

医生会要求您在运动负荷试验前一段时间内避免进食、饮水和抽烟。您可能需要在试验前一天和当天避免摄入咖啡因。

询问您的医生,在检查之前继续服用所有处方药和非处方药是否安全,因为它们可能会干扰某些运动负荷试验。

如果您因哮喘或其他呼吸问题使用吸入器,请随身携带。确保监测运动负荷试验的医生和医务团队成员知道您使用吸入器。

衣物和个人物品

穿上或带上舒适的衣服和步行鞋。如果要进行核素负荷试验,试验当天不要在皮肤上涂抹油、乳液或乳霜。

可能出现的情况

运动负荷试验大约需要一个小时,包括准备时间和执行实际试验所需的时间。实际试验大约只需要 15 分钟。在进行运动负荷试验的过程中,您可能在跑步机上行走或踩踏健身车。如果您无法进行锻炼,将通过静脉为您注射一种药物,这种药物通过增加流向心脏的血液来模拟锻炼。

负荷试验前

首先,医生会询问一些关于病史以及运动频率和强度的问题。这有助于确定检查期间适合的运动量。医生也会对心脏和肺部进行听诊,判断是否具有可能影响检查结果的任何异常。

负荷试验过程中

护士或技术人员会在胸部、腿部和臂部放置粘性贴片(电极)。有些地方可能需要刮去汗毛,以帮助粘黏电极。电极有连接到心电图机的导线,心电图机用于记录心脏活动时所产生的生理电信号。手臂上的袖带可在检测过程中检查您的血压。在检测过程中,医生可能会让您对着一根管子呼吸,以此来检测您在运动过程中的呼吸能力。

如果您没进行运动,医生会将药物注射到您的静脉中,以增加流向心脏的血液。您可能会感到脸红或气短,就像在运动一样。还可能出现头痛。

您可能需要在跑步机或固定自行车上运动,慢慢开始。随着试验的进行,运动会变得越来越困难。您可以使用跑步机上的栏杆来保持平衡。但不要紧握栏杆,因为这样可能会影响检查结果。

您需要继续运动,直到心率达到一个设定的目标,或者直到出现无法再继续运动的症状。这些体征和症状包括:

  • 中度至重度胸部疼痛
  • 严重气短
  • 异常的高血压或低血压
  • 心律异常
  • 头晕
  • 疲劳
  • 心电图出现某些变化

和医生讨论运动的安全范围。您可以在感觉不适并无法继续运动的任何时候停止试验。

运动负荷试验后

停止运动后,可能会要求您静止几秒钟,然后带着显示器躺一会。当您的心率和呼吸恢复正常时,您的医生可以观察是否有任何异常。

当您的运动负荷试验完成后,您就可以恢复正常的活动,除非医生告诉您有其他情况。

结果

如果在运动负荷试验过程中收集到的信息表明您的心脏功能正常,则您可能不需要任何进一步的检查。

不过,如果检查结果正常,但您的症状仍继续恶化,医生可能会建议您进行核素负荷试验或另一种压力试验,其中包括为增加流向心脏的血液而进行的运动前后或用药前后的超声心动图。这些检查更准确,可提供有关您的心脏功能的更多信息,但也更昂贵。

如果您的运动负荷试验结果表明您可能患有冠状动脉疾病或出现心律不齐,您的医生将使用该信息制定治疗计划。您可能需要其他检查,例如冠状动脉造影。

如果您进行了运动负荷试验以帮助确定心脏病治疗方法,医生将使用这些结果来计划或更改治疗方案。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. What is stress testing? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/stress. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  2. Yanowitz FG, et al. Exercise ECG testing: Performing the test and determining the ECG results. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  3. Fletcher GF, et al. Exercise standards for testing and training. Circulation. 2013;128:873.
  4. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Exercise testing. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 10th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 11, 2017.
  5. Stress nuclear study. American College of Cardiology. https://www.cardiosmart.org/News-and-Events/2013/01/Video-Stress-Nuclear-Study. Accessed Sept. 11, 2017.
  6. Mankad R (expert opinion). Rochester, Minn. Sept. 14, 2017.

运动负荷试验

Overview

A stress test, also called an exercise stress test, shows how your heart works during physical activity. Because exercise makes your heart pump harder and faster, an exercise stress test can reveal problems with blood flow within your heart.

A stress test usually involves walking on a treadmill or riding a stationary bike while your heart rhythm, blood pressure and breathing are monitored. Or you'll receive a drug that mimics the effects of exercise.

Your doctor may recommend a stress test if you have signs or symptoms of coronary artery disease or an abnormal heart rhythm (arrhythmia).

A stress test can help:

  • Guide treatment decisions
  • Determine how well heart treatment is working
  • Diagnose the severity of an existing heart condition

Why it's done

Your doctor may recommend a stress test to:

  • Diagnose coronary artery disease. Your coronary arteries are the major blood vessels that supply your heart with blood, oxygen and nutrients. Coronary artery disease develops when these arteries become damaged or diseased — usually due to a buildup of deposits containing cholesterol and other substances (plaques).
  • Diagnose heart rhythm problems (arrhythmias). Heart arrhythmias occur when the electrical signals that coordinate your heartbeat don't work properly. An arrhythmia can cause your heart to beat too fast, too slowly or irregularly.
  • Guide treatment of heart disorders. If you've already been diagnosed with a heart condition, an exercise stress test can help your doctor determine if your current treatment is working. The test results also help your doctor decide on the best treatment for you.
  • Check your heart before surgery. Your doctor may use a stress test to determine when you can safely have surgery, such as valve replacement or a heart transplant.

If an exercise stress test doesn't pinpoint the cause of your signs and symptoms, your doctor may recommend a stress test with imaging, such as a nuclear stress test or stress test with an echocardiogram.

Risks

A stress test is generally safe. Complications are rare. Possible complications of an exercise stress test are:

  • Low blood pressure. Your blood pressure may drop during or immediately after exercise, possibly causing you to feel dizzy or faint. The problem should go away after you stop exercising.
  • Abnormal heart rhythms (arrhythmias). Arrhythmias that occur during an exercise stress test usually go away soon after you stop exercising.
  • Heart attack (myocardial infarction). Although very rare, it's possible that an exercise stress test could cause a heart attack.

How you prepare

Your doctor will tell you how to prepare for your stress test.

Food and medications

You may be asked not to eat, drink or smoke for a period of time before a stress test. You may need to avoid caffeine the day before and the day of the test.

Ask your doctor if it's safe for you to continue taking all of your prescription and over-the-counter medications before the test. Some medications might interfere with certain stress tests.

If you use an inhaler for asthma or other breathing problems, bring it to the test. Make sure your doctor and the health care team member monitoring your stress test know that you use an inhaler.

Clothing and personal items

Wear or bring comfortable clothes and walking shoes.

What you can expect

A stress test usually takes about an hour, including both prep time and the time it takes to do the actual test. The actual exercise test takes only around 15 minutes. You'll usually walk on a treadmill or pedal a stationary bicycle. If you aren't able to exercise, you'll receive a drug through an IV that mimics the effect of exercise on your heart.

Before a stress test

Your doctor will ask questions about your medical history and how often and at what level of intensity you exercise. This helps determine the amount of exercise that's appropriate for you during the test. Your doctor will also listen to your heart and lungs for any health problems that might affect your test results.

During a stress test

A nurse or technician will place sticky patches (electrodes) on your chest, legs and arms. Body hair may be shaved to help them stick. Wires connect the sensors to a computer, which records your heart's electrical activity. A cuff on your arm checks your blood pressure during the test. You may be asked to breathe into a tube during the test to show how well you're able to breathe during exercise.

You'll probably exercise on a treadmill or stationary bike, starting slowly. As the test continues, the exercise gets more difficult. You can use the railing on the treadmill for balance. Don't hang on tightly, as this may affect the results.

You continue exercising until your heart rate has reached a target level or until you have signs and symptoms that don't allow you to continue. These signs and symptoms may include:

  • Moderate to severe chest pain
  • Severe shortness of breath
  • Abnormally high or low blood pressure
  • An abnormal heart rhythm
  • Dizziness
  • Fatigue
  • Certain changes in your electrocardiogram

If you can't exercise during the stress test, you'll be given a drug through an IV that increases blood flow to your heart. You might feel flushed or short of breath, just as you would if you were exercising. You might get a headache.

You and your doctor will discuss your safe limits for exercise. You may stop the test anytime you're too uncomfortable. Your doctor will watch your heart activity and stop the test if there are any concerns.

After a stress test

After you stop exercising, you may be asked to stand still for several seconds and then lie down for a period of time with the monitors in place. Your doctor can watch for any problems as your heart rate and breathing return to normal.

When your exercise stress test is complete, you may return to your normal activities unless your doctor tells you otherwise.

Results

If the information gathered during your exercise stress test shows your heart function to be normal, you may not need any further tests.

However, if the results are normal and your symptoms continue to worsen, your doctor might recommend a nuclear stress test or another stress test that includes an echocardiogram before and after exercise or medications to increase blood flow to your heart. These tests are more accurate and provide more information about your heart function, but they are also more expensive.

If your stress test results suggest that you might have coronary artery disease or show an arrhythmia, your doctor will use the information to develop a treatment plan. You may need additional tests, such as a coronary angiogram.

If you had a stress test to help determine treatment for a heart condition, your doctor will use the results to plan or change your treatment.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies of tests and procedures to help prevent, detect, treat or manage conditions.

June 03, 2021
  1. Stress test. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/stress-test. Accessed April 2, 2021.
  2. Chareonthaitawee P, et al. Exercise ECG testing: Performing the test and determining the ECG results. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 2, 2021.
  3. Jonas DE, et al. Screening for cardiovascular disease risk with resting or exercise electrocardiography: Evidence report and systematic review for the US Preventive Services Task Force. JAMA. 2018; doi:10.1001/jama.2018.6897.
  4. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Exercise electrocardiographic testing. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 2, 2021.
  5. Mankad R (expert opinion). Rochester, Minn. Sept. 14, 2017.