لماذا الأشخاص ذوو البشرة الملونة في الولايات المتحدة أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بمضاعفات فيروس كورونا؟

إجابة من William F. Marshall, III M.D.

تشير الأبحاث بشكل متزايد إلى أن الأقليات العريقة والإثنية في الولايات المتحدة تتأثر بنسبة أكبر بكوفيد 19.

حسب بيانات محدثة صادرة عن مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC)، فإن معدّل إدخال الهنود الأمريكيين من أصول غير لاتينية أو سُكّان أَلاسكا الأصليين للمستشفى بعد إصابتهم بكوفيد 19 أكبر بـ 5,3 مرات من معدّل إدخال البيض من أصول غير لاتينية، وذلك مع ضبط حساب المعدّل حسب العُمر. وكانت معدلات إدخال اللاتينيين والسود غير اللاتينيين للمستشفى بعد إصابتهم بكوفيد 19 أعلى بـ 4,7 مرات تقريبا من معدل إدخال البيض غير اللاتينيين.

رغم عدم وجود دليل على أن ذوي البشرة الملونة لديهم عوامل وراثية أو بيولوجية أخرى تجعلهم أكثر عرضة للتأثر بكوفيد 19، فإن احتمال وجود حالات صحية كامنة لديهم يعتبر أكبر. إن وجود حالات صحية معينة، مثل السكري من النوع 2، يزيد من احتمال الإصابة بأعراض شديدة في حال العدوى بكوفيد 19. لكن الخبراء يَعْرفون أيضًا أن مكان السكن والعمل يؤثر على صحة أولئك الأشخاص. بمرور الوقت، تؤدي هذه العوامل إلى مخاطر صحية متفاوتة بين المجموعات والأقليات العرقية والإثنية.

فمكان سكنك والأشخاص الذين تعيش معهم من العوامل التي تفرض تحديات أمام قدرتك على تجنب الإصابة بكوفيد 19 والحصول على العلاج. على سبيل المثال، قد يميل أفراد الأقليات العرقية والإثنية أكثر من غيرهم للعيش في منازل متعددة الأجيال، وضمن بيئة مكتظة، وفي مناطق ذات كثافة سكانية عالية، مثل مدينة نيويورك. ويمكن لذلك أن يصعّب التباعد الاجتماعي.

وقد تسهم طبيعة العمل الذي تزاوله أيضًا في احتمال الإصابة بكوفيد 19. يزاول العديد من ذوي البشرة الملونة في الولايات المتحدة وظائف تُصنف على أنها أساسية أو لا يمكن مزاولتها عن بُعد وتتضمن تفاعلًا مع عامة الناس. في الولايات المتحدة، وفقًا لمراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC)، يعمل ما يقرب من 25٪ من المنحدرين من أمريكا اللاتينية وذوي البشرة السوداء أو الأمريكيين من أصول أفريقية في قطاع الخدمات، مقارنة بـ 16٪ فقط من العمال البيض غير المنحدرين من أمريكا اللاتينية. يمثل الأمريكيون ذوو البشرة السوداء أو المنحدرون من أصول أفريقية أيضًا 30٪ من الممرضين الممارسين المجازين والممرضين المُمتهِنين المُجازين. يعتمد العديد من الأشخاص ذوي البشرة الملونة في الولايات المتحدة أيضًا على وسائل النقل العام للوصول إلى أماكن عملهم. يمكن أن تؤدي هذه العوامل إلى التعرض للفيروس.

تؤثر قدرتك على الاستفادة من خدمات الرعاية الصحية أيضًا على المخاطر الصحية التي قد تتعرض لها. من المرجح أن يواجه أفراد الأقليات العرقية والإثنية عوائق أثناء سعيهم للحصول على الرعاية الصحية، مثل عدم التغطية بالتأمين الصحي أو انقطاع الدخل عند الغياب عن العمل بهدف تلقي الرعاية الصحية. في عام 2017، وفقًا لمراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها، كان معدل غير المؤمن عليهم صحيًا من ذوي البشرة البيضاء غير المنحدرين من أمريكا اللاتينية حوالي 6٪ فقط، في حين كان 18٪ تقريبًا من المنحدرين من أمريكا اللاتينية غير مشتركين بالتأمين، وكان 10٪ من ذوي البشرة السوداء غير المنحدرين من أمريكا اللاتينية غير مؤمن عليهم.

وقد تلعب العنصرية أيضًا دورًا في المخاطر الصحية. يمكن أن يؤثر التوتر الناتج عن التعرض للتمييز العنصري على جسمك، مما يسبب الشيخوخة المبكرة. وقد تم ربط ذلك بالحالات الصحية الكامنة، والتي يمكن أن تزيد من خطر الإصابة بأعراض كوفيد 19 الخطيرة.

تساهم كل هذه العوامل — الحالات الصحية الكامنة، والعيش في بيئة مكتظة، والعمال في قطاع الخدمات أو كموظف أساسي، والعنصرية، وعدم القدرة على الاستفادة من خدمات الرعاية الصحية — في تأثير كوفيد 19 على ذوي البشرة الملونة في الولايات المتحدة. ولكن هذه القضايا موجودة منذ زمن طويل. إذ تظهر الأبحاث أن الأقليات العرقية والإثنية في الولايات المتحدة عادة ما يتأثرون على نحو أكبر بالكوارث الصحية العامة، مثل إعصار كاترينا.

لقد سلَّطَت جائحة كوفيد 19 الضوء على الحاجة إلى تعزيز الوضع الصحي والرفاه لدى الأقليات العرقية والإثنية.

With

William F. Marshall, III M.D.

13/08/2020 See more Expert Answers

اطلع كذلك على

  1. After COVID-19 vaccination: Is it OK to visit with loved ones?
  2. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  3. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  4. Convalescent plasma therapy
  5. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  6. COVID-19: How can I protect myself?
  7. Coronavirus vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  8. Cough
  9. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  10. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  11. COVID-19 and pets
  12. COVID-19 and your mental health
  13. COVID-19 antibody testing
  14. COVID-19, cold, allergies and the flu
  15. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  16. COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children
  17. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  18. COVID-19 (coronavirus) travel advice
  19. COVID-19 tests
  20. How well do face masks protect against coronavirus?
  21. COVID-19 vaccine: Should I reschedule my mammogram?
  22. COVID-19 vaccines for kids: What you need to know
  23. COVID-19 vaccines
  24. COVID-19 variant
  25. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  26. Debunking coronavirus myths
  27. Diarrhea
  28. Different COVID-19 vaccines
  29. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  30. Fever
  31. Fever: First aid
  32. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  33. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  34. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  35. How does COVID-19 affect people with diabetes?
  36. How to take your pulse
  37. How to measure your respiratory rate
  38. How to take your temperature
  39. Loss of smell
  40. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  41. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  42. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  43. Nausea and vomiting
  44. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  45. Red eye
  46. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  47. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  48. Sex and COVID-19
  49. Shortness of breath
  50. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  51. Thermometers: Understand the options
  52. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  53. Treating COVID-19 at home
  54. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  55. Watery eyes
  56. Fight coronavirus (COVID-19) transmission at home
  57. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?

Why are people of color more at risk of coronavirus complications?

Answer From William F. Marshall, III M.D.

Research increasingly shows that racial and ethnic minorities are disproportionately affected by coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) in the United States.

According to recent data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), non-Hispanic American Indian or Alaska Native people had an age-adjusted COVID-19 hospitalization rate about 5.3 times that of non-Hispanic white people. COVID-19 hospitalization rates among non-Hispanic Black people and Hispanic or Latino people were both about 4.7 times the rate of non-Hispanic white people.

While there's no evidence that people of color have genetic or other biological factors that make them more likely to be affected by COVID-19, they are more likely to have underlying health conditions. Having certain conditions, such as type 2 diabetes, increases your risk of severe illness with COVID-19. But experts also know that where people live and work affects their health. Over time, these factors lead to different health risks among racial and ethnic minority groups.

Where you live and who you live with can make it challenging to avoid getting sick with COVID-19 and get treatment. For example, racial and ethnic minority members might be more likely to live in multi-generational homes, crowded conditions and densely populated areas, such as New York City. This can make social distancing difficult.

The type of work you do also may contribute to your risk of getting COVID-19. Many people of color have jobs that are considered essential or can't be done remotely and involve interaction with the public. In the U.S., according to the CDC nearly 25% of employed Hispanic and Black or African Americans work in the service industry, compared with 16% of non-Hispanic white workers. Black or African Americans also account for 30% of licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses. Many people of color also depend on public transportation to get to work. These factors can result in exposure to the virus.

Your access to health care also affects your health risks. Members of racial and ethnic minority groups are more likely to encounter barriers to getting care, such as a lack of health insurance or not being paid when missing work to get care. In 2017, according to the CDC only about 6% of non-Hispanic white people were uninsured, while the rate was nearly 18% for Hispanics and 10% for non-Hispanic Black people.

Racism may also play a role in health risks. The stress of dealing with racial discrimination can take a toll on your body, causing early aging. This has been linked to underlying conditions, which can increase the risk of severe illness with COVID-19.

All of these factors — underlying health conditions, dense living conditions, employment in the service industry or as an essential worker, access to health care and racism — contribute to the impact of COVID-19 on people of color. But these are long-standing issues. Research shows that people of color are often more greatly affected by public health emergencies, such as Hurricane Katrina.

The COVID-19 pandemic highlights the need to promote the health and well-being of racial and ethnic minorities.

With

William F. Marshall, III M.D.

Aug. 13, 2020 See more Expert Answers

See also

  1. After COVID-19 vaccination: Is it OK to visit with loved ones?
  2. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  3. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  4. Convalescent plasma therapy
  5. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  6. COVID-19: How can I protect myself?
  7. Cough
  8. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  9. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  10. COVID-19 and pets
  11. COVID-19 and your mental health
  12. COVID-19 antibody testing
  13. COVID-19, cold, allergies and the flu
  14. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  15. COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children
  16. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  17. COVID-19 (coronavirus) travel advice
  18. COVID-19 tests
  19. How well do face masks protect against coronavirus?
  20. COVID-19 vaccine: Should I reschedule my mammogram?
  21. COVID-19 vaccines for kids: What you need to know
  22. COVID-19 vaccines
  23. COVID-19 variant
  24. COVID-19 vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  25. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  26. Debunking coronavirus myths
  27. Diarrhea
  28. Different COVID-19 vaccines
  29. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  30. Fever
  31. Fever: First aid
  32. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  33. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  34. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  35. How does COVID-19 affect people with diabetes?
  36. How to take your pulse
  37. How to measure your respiratory rate
  38. How to take your temperature
  39. Loss of smell
  40. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  41. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  42. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  43. Nausea and vomiting
  44. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  45. Red eye
  46. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  47. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  48. Sex and COVID-19
  49. Shortness of breath
  50. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  51. Thermometers: Understand the options
  52. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  53. Treating COVID-19 at home
  54. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  55. Watery eyes
  56. Fight coronavirus (COVID-19) transmission at home
  57. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?