إليك ما تحتاج إلى معرفته حول لقاح كوفيد 19 للأطفال

من إعداد فريق مايو كلينك

لقاح كوفيد 19 متاح الآن للأطفال بعمر 5 سنوات أو أكثر في الولايات المتحدة. فيما يلي ما يحتاج الأهل والأطفال لمعرفته حول سلامة اللقاح وفعاليته وآثاره الجانبية المحتملة وفوائد الحصول عليه.

في حال عدم إصابة الأطفال بأعراض حادة لفيروس كوفيد-19 بشكلٍ متكرر، فما الحاجة إذن لتلقيهم اللقاح المضاد لفيروس كوفيد-19؟

قد يؤدي تلقي أحد اللقاحات المضادة لكوفيد 19 إلى وقاية طفلك من الإصابة بمرض كوفيد 19 ونقله إلى غيره في البيت أو المدرسة.

وفي حالة إصابة الطفل بفيروس كوفيد 19، قد يفيد اللقاح المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19 في الوقاية من إصابته بأعراض حادة.

إن تلقى طفلك للقاح كوفيد 19 سيمكِّنه أيضًا من الذهاب إلى المدرسة واللعب مع الآخرين والمشاركة في الرياضات والأنشطة الجماعية الأخرى بشكل أكثر أمانًا.

ما اللقاحات المضادة لفيروس كوفيد 19 واللقاحات الأولية الإضافية والجرعات المعزِّزة المصرح بإعطائها للأطفال في الولايات المتحدة؟

تتاح اللقاحات المضادة لكوفيد 19 للأطفال في الولايات المتحدة حسب الفئات العمرية الآتية:

  • من عمر 5 سنوات حتى عمر 11 عامًا. صرحت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية بالاستخدام الطارئ للقاح فايزر-بايونتك المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19 لهذه الفئة العمرية. ويشتمل هذا اللقاح على جرعتين، يفصل بينهما ثلاثة أسابيع. ويحتوي هذا اللقاح على جرعة أقل من لقاح فايزر-بيونتك المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19 المخصص للأشخاص من سن 12 عامًا فأكبر. ووفقًا لما أشارت إليه الأبحاث، فإن فاعلية هذا اللقاح في وقاية الأطفال من عمر 5 سنوات حتى 11 عامًا من الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد 19 تبلغ نحو 91%.
  • من عمر 12 عامًا حتى عمر 15 عامًا. صرحت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية بالاستخدام الطارئ للقاح فايزر-بايونتك المضاد لكوفيد 19 لهذه الفئة العمرية. ويتضمن هذا اللقاح جرعتين. ويمكن إعطاء الجرعة الثانية بفاصل زمني عن الجرعة الأولى يتراوح بين ثلاثة وثمانية أسابيع. ويحتوي هذا اللقاح على نفس الجرعة الموجودة في لقاح فايزر-بيونتك المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19 المخصص للأشخاص من سن 16 عامًا فأكبر. أظهرت الأبحاث أن فاعلية هذا اللقاح في الوقاية من الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد 19 تبلغ 100% في الأطفال من عمر 12 عامًا حتى 15 عامًا.
  • من عمر 16 عامًا فأكثر. اعتمدت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية استخدام لقاح فايزر-بيونتك المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19، الذي أصبح يُعرف الآن باسم كوميرناتي، لهذه الفئة العمرية. ويتضمن هذا اللقاح جرعتين. ويمكن إعطاء الجرعة الثانية بفاصل زمني عن الجرعة الأولى يتراوح بين ثلاثة وثمانية أسابيع. وهذا اللقاح فعال بنسبة 91% في وقاية الأشخاص الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 16 عامًا فأكثر من الأعراض الحادة لفيروس كوفيد 19.

ما زالت أقصر مدة فاصلة موصى بها بين الجرعتين الأولى والثانية من لقاحات الحمض النووي الريبوزي المرسال (mRNA) المضاد لكوفيد 19 للأشخاص الذين يعانون من ضعف جهاز المناعة وغيرهم ممن يحتاجون إلى حماية عاجلة بسبب مخاوف من انتقال العدوى إليهم من المجتمع المحيط بهم أو احتمالية تعرضهم لمضاعفات مرضية خطيرة. وقد تكون فترة ثمانية أسابيع بين الجرعة الأولى والجرعة الثانية الخيار الأفضل لمن يبلغون من العمر 12 عامًا فأكثر، خاصةً الذكور الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و39 عامًا.

قد يساعد تلقي جرعة أساسية إضافية من لقاح مضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19 الأشخاص الذين سبق لهم الحصول على اللقاح، ولم تتكون لديهم استجابة مناعية قوية بما يكفي. يوصي مركز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها بأن يحصل الأطفال الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 5 سنوات أو أكثر والذين يعانون من ضعف متوسط أو شديد في الجهاز المناعي على جرعة إضافية من لقاح فايزر-بيونتك المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19. وينبغي أن تُعطى هذه الجرعة الإضافية عقب أربعة أسابيع على الأقل من تلقي الجرعة الثانية.

بينما قد تفيد الجرعات المعزِّزة من سبق لهم تلقي اللقاح، وضعفت استجابتهم المناعية بمرور الوقت. تشير الأبحاث إلى أن تلقي جرعة معززة من اللقاح قد يقلل من مخاطر التعرض للعدوى والمضاعفات المرضية الخطيرة المصاحبة لفيروس كوفيد 19. ينبغي أن يتلقى الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 أعوام و17 عامًا حقنة معززة من لقاح فايزر-بيونتك المضاد لكوفيد 19 إذا كانوا قد تلقوا الجرعتين الأوليين من لقاح فايزر-بيونتك المضاد لكوفيد 19، ومرت عليهما خمسة أشهر على الأقل.

كيف تأكدَت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية من سلامة لقاح فايزر-بيوإنتيك لكوفيد 19 وفعاليته للأطفال؟

بالنسبة للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 و 11 سنة، استعرضت إدارة الأغذية والدواء الأمريكية دراسة عن اللقاح شملت أكثر من 4600 طفل في هذه الفئة العمرية. وقد تلقى 3100 منهم تقريبًا لقاح فايزر-بيوإنتيك لكوفيد 19. بينما أخذ بقية الأطفال حقنة وهمية عديمة المفعول. وخضع الأطفال الذين تلقوا اللقاح لمراقبة للآثار الجانبية لمدة شهرين على الأقل بعد الجرعة الثانية. وكانت الآثار الجانبية عموماً بين خفيفة ومعتدلة.

كما عايَنَتْ إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية باكرًا حالات كوفيد 19 التي حدثت بعد أسبوع واحد من إعطاء الأطفال الجرعة الثانية من اللقاح. علمًا بأنه الأطفال المشاركين في هذه الدراسة لم يصابوا بكوفيد 19 قبل مشاركتهم فيها. وكانت النتيجة أن أصيب 3 أطفال بكوفيد 19 من بين 1,305 طفلًا أخذوا حقنة اللقاح الحقيقي. بينما أصيب 16 طفلًا بكوفيد 19 من بين 663 طفلًا أخذوا حقنة الدواء الوهمي. وتشير هذه النتائج إلى أن اللقاح فعال بنسة 91% في الوقاية من كوفيد 19 لدى هذه الفئة العُمْرية.

بالنسبة للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و 15 سنة، استعرضت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية دراسة عن اللقاح شملت أكثر من 2200 طفل في الولايات المتحدة ضمن هذه الفئة العمرية. وقد تلقى نصف الأطفال في هذه الدراسة لقاح كوفيد 19 الذي أنتجته فايزر-بيوإنتيك. بينما أخذ بقية الأطفال حقنة وهمية.

وبعد أسبوع من الجرعة الثانية، لم تظهر إصابات بكوفيد 19 لدى الأطفال الذين أخذو لقاح فايزر-بيوإنتيك، وكان عدد الأطفال 1005. بينما أصيب 16 طفلًا بكوفيد 19 من بين 978 طفلًا أخذوا الحقنة الوهمية. ولم يُشخَّص أي من الأطفال سابقًا بكوفيد 19. وتشير هذه النتائج إلى أن اللقاح فعال بنسة 100% في الوقاية من كوفيد 19 لدى هذه الفئة العُمْرية.

ما هي الأعراض الجانبية للقاحات فايزر-بيوإنتيك لكوفيد 19 عند إعطائها للأطفال؟

ظهرت على الأطفال ممن تلقوا لقاحات فايزر-بيونتيك المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19 أعراض جانبية مشابهة للأعراض التي أصابت الأشخاص الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 16 عامًا فأكثر. تشمل الآثار الجانبية الأكثر شيوعًا:

  • ألم أو احمرار أو تورّم في مكان أخذ الحقنة
  • الإرهاق
  • الصداع
  • القشعريرة
  • الألم العضلي
  • الحُمّى
  • ألم المفاصل
  • تورم العقد اللمفية
  • الغثيان والقيء
  • الشعور بالإعياء

مثلما هو الحال مع الكبار، يتعرض الأطفال للآثار الجانبية في غضون يومين بعد الحصول على اللقاح وتستمر من يوم إلى ثلاثة أيام عادةً. وظهرت هذه الآثار الجانبية لدى الأطفال بصورة أوسع انتشارًا، باستثناء الألم في موضع الحقن، بعد تلقي الجرعة الثانية من اللقاح. وفي المقابل، بعض الأشخاص لا تظهر عليهم أي آثار جانبية.

بعد تلقي الطفل اللقاح المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19، يظل تحت المراقبة لمدة 15 إلى 30 دقيقة للتأكد إن كان لديه تفاعل تحسُّسي يتطلب العلاج أم لا.

ولا يوصى بإعطاء الطفل مسكنًا للألم دون وصفة طبية قبل تلقيه اللقاح لتجنب حدوث الآثار الجانبية. ولا مانع من إعطائه هذا النوع من الأدوية بعد تلقي لقاح كوفيد 19.

هل يمكن أن يؤثر فيروس كوفيد-19 على القلب؟

شهدت الولايات المتحدة ارتفاعًا في عدد حالات الإصابة بالتهاب عضلة القلب والتهاب التأمور بعد تلقي لقاح الحمض النووي الريبوزي المرسال (mRNA) المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19، وخاصة بين الذكور الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و29 عامًا. والتهاب عضلة القلب هو التهاب يصيب عضلة القلب، أما التهاب التأمور فهو التهاب الغشاء المحيط بعضلة القلب. لكن هذه الحالات نادرة الحدوث.

وفيما يتعلق بالحالات المسجلة، تحدث المشكلة غالبًا بعد تلقي الجرعة الثانية من اللقاح المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19، وعادةً خلال أسبوع من تلقي اللقاح المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19. وسرعان ما شعر معظم الأشخاص الذين تلقوا الرعاية العاجلة بتحسن بعد تناول الدواء وأخذ قسط من الراحة. وتشمل الأعراض التي يجب الانتباه لها ما يلي:

  • ألم الصدر
  • ضيق النفس
  • الشعور بتسارع ضربات القلب، أو الخفقان السريع، أو عدم انتظام ضربات القلب

اطلب المساعدة الطبية إذا أُصيب طفلك بأيٍّ من هذه الأعراض خلال أسبوع بعد تلقي اللقاح المضاد لفيروس كوفيد 19.

إذا أصيب طفلك بالتهاب عضلة القلب بعد تلقي إحدى جرعات لقاحات الحمض النووي الريبوزي المرسال (mRNA) المضادة لفيروس كوفيد 19، فيوصي مركز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها بتجنب تلقي جرعة أخرى من أي من اللقاحات المضادة لكوفيد 19.

هل هناك أي أبحاث عن الآثار طويلة الأمد للقاحات فايزر-بيوإنتيك لكوفيد 19؟

نظرًا لأن التجارب السريرية على لقاحات كوفيد 19 لم تبدأ إلا في صيف عام 2020، فليس من الواضح بعد ما إذا كانت لهذه اللقاحات آثار على المدى البعيد. لكن نادرًا ما تسبب اللقاحات آثارًا طويلة الأمد.

ولقد راقَبَ الخبراءُ مؤشرات السلامة لدى الأطفال في كل من هذه الفئات العمرية، واستمروا بمراقبة هذه المؤشرات لمدة شهرين على الأقل بعد إعطائهم الجرعة الثانية من لقاح كوفيد 19.

وضعَت شركة فايزر خطة لرصد سلامة اللقاح في إطار طلبها الأول للحصول على تصريح استخدام طارئ للقاح كوفيد 19 في عام 2020. وتشمل الخطة الآن مراقبة الحالة الصحية للأطفال والمراهقين الذين يأخذون لقاح كوفيد 19.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُطلب من جميع مقدمي خدمات التطعيم في الولايات المتحدة إرسال البلاغات عن حوادث التضرر الخطيرة (مثل ردود الفعل التحسسية) إلى برنامج وطني يسمى نظام الإبلاغ عن حوادث التضرر باللقاحات (Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System).

ما هي آلية عمل لقاحات كوفيد 19 التي أنتجتها فايزر-بيوإنتيك؟

تستخدم لقاحات فايزر-بيونتك المضادة لفيروس كوفيد 19 تقنية الحمض النووي الريبوزي المرسال (mRNA). وقد عكف الباحثون على دراسة لقاحات الحمض النووي الريبوزي المرسال لعدة عقود.

تتخذ فيروسات كورونا بنية ذات نتوءات شوكية على سطحها تسمى بروتين S. وتعطي لقاحات كوفيد 19 التي تستخدم الحمض النووي الريبوزي المرسال تعليمات للخلايا بكيفية صنع قطعة غير ضارة من بروتين S. وبعد تلقي اللقاح، تبدأ خلايا العضلات في إنتاج قطع بروتين S ثم توزيعها على سطح الخلايا. من ثم، يتعرّف الجهاز المناعي على هذا النوع من البروتين، ويبدأ في بناء استجابة مناعية مع تكوين أجسام مضادة. وبعد توصيل التعليمات، يُكسَّر الحمض النووي الريبوزي المرسال على الفور. ولا ينفذ أبدًا إلى نواة الخلية، حيث يوجد الحمض النووي.

هل هناك أي اختلاف في المكونات أو الجرعات حسب الفئة العمرية فيما يخص لقاحات فايزر-بيونتيك لكوفيد 19؟

يحتوي لقاح فايزر-بيوإنتيك للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 و 11 سنة على جرعة أقل (10 مايكروغرام) مقارنة باللقاح المستخدم للأطفال الأكبر سناً وللبالغين (30 مايكروغرام). تُستخدم إبر لقاح أصغر لحقن الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 و 11 سنة.

يحتوي لقاح فايزر-بيوإنتيك للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 و 11 سنة على مادة دارئة (معادِلة) نوعها مختلف عن تلك المستخدمة في اللقاح المخصص للأطفال الأكبر سناً وللبالغين. تساعد هذه المادة الدارئة، والتي تُستخدم في لقاحات أخرى معتمدة من إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية، في الحفاظ على استقرار اللقاح في درجات حرارة باردة لفترة أطول.

إن مكونات وجرعات لقاح فايزر-بيوإنتيك لكوفيد 19 المستخدم للأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و 15 سنة هي نفس المكونات المستخدمة للأشخاص بعمر 16 سنة فما فوق.

هل هناك فئات من الأطفال يجب أن لا يأخذوا لقاح فايزر-بيونتيك لكوفيد 19؟

هذا اللقاح غير متاح حتى الآن للأطفال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 5 سنوات. وتُجرى حاليًا تجارب سريرية على الأطفال الأصغر سنًا.

لا ينبغي أيضًا إعطاء اللقاح لأي طفل لديه تاريخ مَرَضي يتضمن حدوث رد فعل تحسسي شديد تجاه أي من مكونات اللقاح. وفي هذه الحالة، قد يتمكن الطفل من أخذ لقاح مختلف لكوفيد 19 في المستقبل.

هل يمكن للقاح أن يَنْقل فيروس كوفيد 19 للطفل؟

لا. الفيروسات الحية المسببة لكوفيد 19 غير مستخدَمة في لقاحات كوفيد 19 التي يجري تطويرها حاليًا في الولايات المتحدة.

هل يمكن للقاح كوفيد-19 أن يؤثر على الخصوبة أو الحيض؟

لا توجد أي أدلة تفيد بأن أي من لقاحات، بما في ذلك اللقاحات المضادة لكوفيد 19، قد تسبب مشكلات تتعلق بالخصوبة لدى الرجال أو النساء.

وليس من الواضح ما إذا كانت الإصابة بكوفيد 19 أو تلقي أحد اللقاحات المضادة له يسببان تغيرات في دورة الحيض أم لا. وتشير دراسة حديثة أجريت على أكثر من 4000 شخص إلى أن تلقي أحد اللقاحات المضادة لكوفيد 19 يرتبط بتغير لا يتجاوز يومًا واحدًا في دورة الحيض مع كل جرعة. وينبغي أن تضعي في حسبانك أن الكثير من العوامل قد تؤثر في دورة الحيض، ومنها العدوى والتوتر ومشكلات النوم وتغيرات النظام الغذائي أو نظام ممارسة التمارين الرياضية.

هل يمكن أن تحدث آثار جانبية طويلة الأمد للأطفال الذين يصابون بكوفيد 19؟

يمكن لأي شخص سبقت إصابته بفيروس كوفيد 19 أن يُصاب بإحدى الأمراض الناتجة عن مرض كوفيد 19. وتشير الأبحاث إلى أن الأطفال المصابين بحالات كوفيد 19 خفيفة وشديدة قد أُصيبوا بأعراض طويلة الأمد. وتتمثل أكثر الأعراض شيوعًا لدى الأطفال فيما يلي:

  • الإرهاق أو التعب
  • الصداع
  • صعوبة النوم
  • صعوبة التركيز
  • ألم المفاصل والعضلات
  • السعال

يمكن أن تؤثر هذه الأعراض في قدرة الطفل على الحضور المنتظم في المدرسة أو أداء أنشطته المعتادة. وإذا ظهرت على الطفل أعراض طويلة الأمد، فيُنصَح بالتواصل مع معلمي الطفل لمناقشة احتياجاته الخاصة.

كيف يمكن للأطفال االحصول على لقاح كوفيد 19؟

استشر إدارة الصحة المحلية أو الصيدلية أو طبيب الأطفال المتابع لأطفالك للاستعلام عن الأماكن التي توفر لطفلك لقاح كوفيد 19. عند تحديد موعد طبي لطفلك لتلقي لقاح كوفيد 19، ننصحك بطرح الأسئلة الآتية:

  • هل يلزم وجود أحد الوالدين أو ولي أمر الطفل أثناء الموعد الطبي؟
  • ما المعلومات المطلوب تقديمها أثناء الموعد الطبي؟
  • هل يوجد حدّ أقصى لعدد أفراد الأسرة -كالأشقاء مثلاً- الذين يمكنهم مرافقة الطفل أثناء الموعد الطبي؟

ما الفترة التي يجب أن تفصل بين حصول الطفل على لقاح كوفيد-19 ولقاح آخر قبله أو بعده؟

يمكن إعطاء لقاح كوفيد 19 وغيره من اللقاحات في اليوم نفسه.

تذكر أن لقاح كوفيد 19 سيحمي الأغلبية من الإصابة بمرض كوفيد 19. إذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة أو مخاوف بخصوص حصول طفلك على لقاح كوفيد 19، فتحدث مع طبيب طفلك. إذ يمكنه مساعدتك على الموازنة بين المخاطر والمنافع.

30/06/2022 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Antibiotics: Are you misusing them?
  2. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  3. Convalescent plasma therapy
  4. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  5. COVID-19: How can I protect myself?
  6. Cough
  7. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  8. COVID-19 and pets
  9. COVID-19 and your mental health
  10. COVID-19 antibody testing
  11. COVID-19, cold, allergies and the flu
  12. COVID-19 drugs: Are there any that work?
  13. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  14. COVID-19 tests
  15. COVID-19 in babies and children
  16. Coronavirus infection by race
  17. COVID-19 travel advice
  18. COVID-19 vaccine: Should I reschedule my mammogram?
  19. COVID-19 vaccines
  20. COVID-19 variant
  21. COVID-19 vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  22. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  23. Debunking coronavirus myths
  24. Diarrhea
  25. Different COVID-19 vaccines
  26. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  27. Fever
  28. Fever: First aid
  29. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  30. Fight coronavirus (COVID-19) transmission at home
  31. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  32. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  33. How to take your pulse
  34. How to measure your respiratory rate
  35. How to take your temperature
  36. How well do face masks protect against COVID-19?
  37. Loss of smell
  38. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  39. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  40. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  41. Nausea and vomiting
  42. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  43. Red eye
  44. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  45. Safety tips for attending school during COVID-19
  46. Sex and COVID-19
  47. Shortness of breath
  48. Thermometers: Understand the options
  49. Treating COVID-19 at home
  50. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  51. Watery eyes

COVID-19 vaccines for kids: What you need to know

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) vaccines are now available to children ages 5 and up in the U.S. Here's what parents and kids need to know about the safety and effectiveness of the vaccine, the possible side effects, and the benefits of getting vaccinated.

If children don't frequently experience severe illness with COVID-19, why do they need a COVID-19 vaccine?

A COVID-19 vaccine can prevent your child from getting COVID-19 and spreading it at home and in school.

If your child gets COVID-19, a COVID-19 vaccine could prevent severe illness.

Getting a COVID-19 vaccine can also help keep your child in school and more safely have playdates and participate in sports and other group activities.

What COVID-19 vaccines, additional primary shots and boosters have been approved for kids in the U.S.?

In the U.S., COVID-19 vaccines are available to children by age group:

  • Ages 5 through 11. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has given emergency use authorization to a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for this age group. This vaccine involves two shots, given three weeks apart. It contains a lower dose than the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine used for people age 12 and older. Research shows that this vaccine is about 91% effective in preventing COVID-19 in children ages 5 through 11.
  • Ages 12 through 15. The FDA has given emergency use authorization to a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for this age group. This vaccine involves two shots. The second dose can be given three to eight weeks after the first dose. It contains the same dose as the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for people ages 16 and older. Research has shown that this vaccine is 100% effective in preventing COVID-19 in children ages 12 through 15.
  • Ages 16 and older. The FDA has approved a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine, now called Comirnaty, for this age group. This vaccine involves two shots. The second dose can be given three to eight weeks after the first dose. This vaccine is 91% effective in preventing severe illness with COVID-19 in people age 16 and older.

The shortest interval between the first and second doses of mRNA COVID-19 vaccines is still recommended for people who have weakened immune systems and others who need rapid protection due to concern about community transmission or risk of severe illness. An eight-week interval between the first and second doses might be best for some people age 12 and older, especially males ages 12 to 39.

An additional primary shot of a COVID-19 vaccine can help people who are vaccinated and might not have had a strong enough immune response. The CDC now recommends that children ages 5 and older who have moderately or severely weakened immune systems should get an additional dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine. This shot should be given at least four weeks after the second shot.

Booster doses can help people who are vaccinated and whose immune response weakened over time. Research suggests that getting a booster dose can decrease the risk of infection and severe illness with COVID-19. Kids ages 5 through 17 should get a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine booster shot if they have been given both doses of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine and it’s been at least five months.

How did the FDA determine the safety and effectiveness of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines for use in kids?

For kids ages 5 through 11, the FDA reviewed a vaccine study of more than 4,600 children in this age range. Of this group, about 3,100 were given the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine. The other children were given an inactive (placebo) shot. Children who were given the vaccine were monitored for side effects for at least 2 months after the second dose. Side effects were generally mild to moderate.

The FDA also took an early look at cases of COVID-19 that occurred one week after children were given a second dose of the vaccine. None of the children in this analysis had been previously diagnosed with COVID-19. Among 1,305 children given the vaccine, there were 3 cases of COVID-19. Among 663 children given the placebo, there were 16 cases of COVID-19. The results suggest that the vaccine is about 91% effective in preventing COVID-19 in this age group.

For kids ages 12 through 15, the FDA reviewed a vaccine study of more than 2,200 U.S. children in this age range. Of this group, about half were given the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine. The other children were given a placebo shot.

A week after the second dose was given, there were no cases of COVID-19 in the 1,005 children given the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine. Among 978 children given the placebo, there were 16 cases of COVID-19. None of the children had previously been diagnosed with COVID-19. The results suggest that the vaccine is 100% effective at preventing COVID-19 in this age group.

What are the side effects of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines for kids?

Children given the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines had side effects similar to those experienced by people age 16 and older. The most commonly reported side effects include:

  • Pain, redness or swelling where the shot was given
  • Fatigue
  • Headache
  • Chills
  • Muscle pain
  • Fever
  • Joint pain
  • Swollen lymph nodes
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Feeling unwell

Similar to adults, children have side effects within 2 days after vaccination that typically last 1 to 3 days. More children reported these side effects, except for injection site pain, after the second dose of the vaccine. However, some people have no side effects.

After your child is given a COVID-19 vaccine, he or she will be monitored for 15 to 30 minutes to see if he or she has an allergic reaction that requires treatment.

It isn't recommended that you give your child an over-the-counter pain reliever before vaccination to prevent side effects. It's OK to give this kind of medication after your child gets a COVID-19 vaccine.

Can COVID-19 vaccines affect the heart?

In the U.S., there has been an increase in reported cases of myocarditis and pericarditis after mRNA COVID-19 vaccination, particularly in males ages 12 to 29. Myocarditis is the inflammation of the heart muscle, while pericarditis is the inflammation of the lining outside the heart. These reports are rare.

Of the cases reported, the problem happened more often after the second dose of the COVID-19 vaccine and typically within one week of COVID-19 vaccination. Most of the people who got care quickly felt better after receiving medicine and resting. Symptoms to watch for include:

  • Chest pain
  • Shortness of breath
  • Feelings of having a fast-beating, fluttering or pounding heart

If your child has any of these symptoms within a week of getting a COVID-19 vaccine, seek medical care.

If your child develops myocarditis or pericarditis after a dose of an mRNA COVID-19 vaccine, the CDC recommends avoiding getting another dose of any COVID-19 vaccine.

Is there any research on the long-term effects of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines?

Because COVID-19 vaccine clinical trials only started in the summer of 2020, it's not yet clear if the vaccines will have long-term effects. However, vaccines rarely cause long-term effects.

A portion of the children in each age group were monitored for safety for at least two months after being given the second dose of the COVID-19 vaccine.

As part of its first request for emergency use authorization of its COVID-19 vaccine in 2020, Pfizer Inc. created a safety monitoring plan. The plan now includes the monitoring of children and adolescents given the COVID-19 vaccine.

In addition, in the U.S. all vaccination providers are required to report serious adverse events, such as allergic reactions, to a national program called the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System.

How do the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines work?

The Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines use messenger RNA (mRNA). Researchers have been studying mRNA vaccines for decades.

Coronaviruses have a spikelike structure on their surface called an S protein. COVID-19 mRNA vaccines give cells instructions for how to make a harmless piece of an S protein. After vaccination, muscle cells begin making the S protein pieces and displaying them on cell surfaces. The immune system recognizes the protein and begins building an immune response and making antibodies. After delivering instructions, the mRNA is immediately broken down. It never enters the nucleus of the cell, where DNA is kept.

Is there any difference in the ingredients or dosing of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines for younger children, older children or adults?

The Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for children ages 5 through 11 contains a lower dose (10 micrograms) than the vaccine used for older children and adults (30 micrograms). Smaller needles are being used to deliver the vaccine to children ages 5 through 11.

The Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for children ages 5 through 11 also contains a different buffer than the vaccine used for older children and adults. This different buffer, which is used in other FDA-approved vaccines, will help keep the vaccine stable in refrigerated temperatures for longer.

The ingredients and dosing of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine are the same for children ages 12 through 15 and people age 16 and older.

Are there any children who shouldn't get the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine?

This vaccine is not yet available to children younger than age 5. Clinical trials involving younger children are in progress.

The vaccine also shouldn’t be given to a child with a known history of a severe allergic reaction to any of its ingredients. If this is the case, your child might be able to get another COVID-19 vaccine in the future.

Can a COVID-19 vaccine give a child COVID-19?

No. The COVID-19 vaccines currently being developed in the U.S. don't use the live virus that causes COVID-19.

Can a COVID-19 vaccine affect fertility or menstruation?

There is no evidence that any vaccines, including COVID-19 vaccines, cause fertility problems in men or women.

It's not clear if getting COVID-19 or a COVID-19 vaccine causes changes in menstruation. A new study of about 4,000 people suggests that getting a COVID-19 vaccine is linked with a less than one-day change in menstrual cycle length for each dose. Keep in mind that many things can affect menstrual cycles, including infections, stress, sleep problems, and changes in diet or exercise.

Can children who get COVID-19 experience long-term effects?

Anyone who has had COVID-19 can develop a post-COVID-19 condition. Research suggests that children with both mild and severe COVID-19 have experienced long-term symptoms. The most common symptoms in children include:

  • Tiredness or fatigue
  • Headache
  • Trouble sleeping
  • Trouble concentrating
  • Muscle and joint pain
  • Cough

These symptoms could affect your child’s ability to attend school or do his or her usual activities. If your child is experiencing long-term symptoms, consider talking to your child’s teachers about his or her needs.

How can children get a COVID-19 vaccine?

Consult your local health department, pharmacy or your child’s doctor for information on where your child can get a COVID-19 vaccine. When making an appointment for your child to get a COVID-19 vaccine, consider asking these questions:

  • Does a parent or guardian need to be present at the appointment?
  • What information will need to be provided during the appointment?
  • Is there a limit on how many family members, such as siblings, can attend the appointment?

How soon can a child get a COVID-19 vaccine before or after getting another vaccine?

A COVID-19 vaccine and other vaccines can be given on the same day.

Remember, COVID-19 vaccination will protect most people from getting sick with COVID-19. If you have questions or concerns about your child getting a COVID-19 vaccine, talk to your child's doctor. He or she might be able to help you weigh the risks and benefits.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

May 20, 2022 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Antibiotics: Are you misusing them?
  2. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  3. Convalescent plasma therapy
  4. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  5. COVID-19: How can I protect myself?
  6. Cough
  7. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  8. COVID-19 and pets
  9. COVID-19 and your mental health
  10. COVID-19 antibody testing
  11. COVID-19, cold, allergies and the flu
  12. COVID-19 drugs: Are there any that work?
  13. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  14. COVID-19 tests
  15. COVID-19 in babies and children
  16. Coronavirus infection by race
  17. COVID-19 travel advice
  18. COVID-19 vaccine: Should I reschedule my mammogram?
  19. COVID-19 vaccines
  20. COVID-19 variant
  21. COVID-19 vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  22. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  23. Debunking coronavirus myths
  24. Diarrhea
  25. Different COVID-19 vaccines
  26. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  27. Fever
  28. Fever: First aid
  29. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  30. Fight coronavirus (COVID-19) transmission at home
  31. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  32. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  33. How does COVID-19 affect people with diabetes?
  34. How to take your pulse
  35. How to measure your respiratory rate
  36. How to take your temperature
  37. How well do face masks protect against COVID-19?
  38. Loss of smell
  39. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  40. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  41. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  42. Nausea and vomiting
  43. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  44. Red eye
  45. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  46. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  47. Sex and COVID-19
  48. Shortness of breath
  49. Thermometers: Understand the options
  50. Treating COVID-19 at home
  51. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  52. Watery eyes