婴儿和儿童 COVID-19(冠状病毒)感染

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

所有年龄段的儿童都可能患上 2019 冠状病毒病(COVID-19)。但大多数被感染的孩子通常不会像成人那样生病,有些孩子可能根本没有任何症状。了解 2019 冠状病毒病(COVID-19)在婴儿和儿童中的症状,为什么2019 冠状病毒病(COVID-19)对儿童的作用有所不同,以及您可以采取什么措施防止病毒的传播。

儿童感染 2019 冠状病毒病 (COVID-19) 的可能性有多大?

虽然所有儿童都可能感染COVID-19,但他们的症状通常比成人轻。大多数儿童症状轻微或无症状。

根据美国儿科学会和儿童医院协会的资料,在美国,儿童COVID-19 病例约占所有病例的 10%。研究表明,与 20 岁及以上的人群相比,10 至14 岁以下儿童感染 COVID-19 的可能性较小。儿童的住院率也远低于成人。然而,根据美国疾病控制和预防中心的研究,如果儿童住院,他们需要像住院的成人一样经常在重症监护室接受治疗。

此外,患有肥胖症、糖尿病和哮喘等基础病的儿童患COVID-19 的风险更高。患有先天性心脏病、遗传性疾病或影响神经系统或新陈代谢的疾病的儿童患COVID-19 的风险也较高。

研究还表明,西裔和非西裔黑人儿童患COVID-19的比例高于非西裔白人儿童。西裔和非西裔黑人儿童的住院率也更高。

罕见情况下,一些儿童也可能出现似乎与 COVID-19相关的严重疾病。

COVID-19 对婴儿有何影响?

虽然罕见,但 1 岁以下儿童似乎比大一点的儿童更容易出现严重的 COVID-19 病情。这可能是因为他们的免疫系统不成熟且气道较窄小,更可能出现气道病毒感染引起的呼吸问题。

新生儿可能在分娩期间或分娩后因接触患病照料者而感染 COVID-19 病毒。如果您感染 COVID-19 或因出现相关症状而等待检测结果,建议您在产后住院治疗期间配戴布口罩,并在护理新生儿时清洁双手。住院期间可以将新生儿婴儿床放在病床边,但也建议尽可能与婴儿保持适当距离。采取这些措施后,新生儿感染 COVID-19 病毒的风险变低。研究表明,在邻近分娩时感染 COVID-19 的女性生产的婴儿中,只有 2% 到 5% 左右的婴儿在出生后几天内的病毒检测结果呈阳性。但如果您的 COVID-19 病情严重,可能需要暂时与新生儿隔离。

感染 COVID-19 或因无法提供检测而无法完成检查且无症状的婴儿可能根据具体情况允许出院。建议婴儿照料者配戴口罩并洗手,保护自己。需要通过电话、在线就诊或面对面就诊等方式经常让婴儿的医务人员复诊,持续 14 天。COVID-19 检测结果呈阴性的婴儿可以出院回家。

COVID-19 儿童患者的症状

当儿童和成人都出现COVID-19 症状时,儿童症状相对轻微,类似感冒。大多数儿童在一到两周内就会康复。可能出现的症状包括:

  • 发热
  • 鼻塞或鼻漏
  • 咳嗽
  • 咽喉痛
  • 气短或呼吸困难
  • 疲劳
  • 头痛
  • 肌肉酸痛
  • 恶心或呕吐
  • 腹泻
  • 食欲不振或胃口不佳
  • 味觉和嗅觉丧失
  • 肚子疼痛
  • 红眼病(结膜炎)

如果您的孩子出现COVID-19 症状,并且您认为他或她可能感染了COVID-19,则需要咨询医务人员。除了就医以外,尽量让您的孩子待在家里,远离他人。如果可能的话,让您的孩子单独使用一间卧室和浴室,与家人隔开。请遵循 CDC、世界卫生组织(WHO)和贵国政府关于合理检疫和隔离措施的意见。

决定您的孩子是否需要进行 COVID-19 检测的因素可能会不同,这取决于您居住在哪里。在美国,医生会基于您的孩子的体征和症状以及您的孩子是否与COVID-19 确诊病例有过接触,进而决定是否对孩子进行COVID-19 检测。如果您的孩子患重病的风险较高,医生也可能考虑进行检测。

为了检测COVID-19,医务人员将使用长棉签从鼻子后部采集样本。然后将样本送到实验室检测。如果您的孩子咳痰,则可送去检测。

COVID-19 鼻拭子检查期间安抚您的孩子

本视频是为了帮儿童做好 COVID-19 鼻拭子检查准备,帮助他们缓解一些潜在恐惧和焦虑。儿童做好准备接受医学检验时,他们变得更配合、更顺从,这为他们创造了积极的应对体验。制作本视频供 4 岁及 4 岁以上儿童观看。

妙佑医疗国际的儿童生活项目负责人 Jennifer Rodemeyer: 你好,我是 Jennifer,妙佑医疗国际儿童生活专家。我的工作就是帮助你这样的小朋友们做好医学检验准备。

你们可能听说了,有一种可能让人生病的病毒正在肆虐。病毒是一种微生物,小到你甚至看不到它。

一些感染这种病毒的人会发热或咳嗽,可能感觉浑身疼痛、劳累,而有些人可能感染了这种病毒但完全不会生病。人们可能因接触某些东西感染这种病毒。这就是为何需要经常用肥皂和清水洗手的原因。这种病毒还会通过咳嗽或打喷嚏传播。因此,务必在咳嗽或打喷嚏时掩住口鼻。

今天,不管你有没有生病,我们都需要给你做个检查,以便知道我们如何能将对你的医疗护理做到最好。这项医学检验会告诉我们你是否感染病毒。

在你做检查时,医生会穿上专用防护服。他们穿上这种衣服是为了保证自己和你的安全,免于感染。他们会戴上口罩遮住口鼻,戴上透明塑料面罩保护眼睛。

检查期间你要做的最重要事情就是坐好不要动,像个雕像一样。为了辅助确保你不移动,你的家长或其他照料者会在检查期间协助你保持不动和安静。医护人员需要用一根细长棉签探入到鼻子后部。为此,你需要抬起下巴,然后医护人员会把一根棉签在你的鼻子里放一小会儿,采集样本。

在这期间,你可能想要推开棉签,但请尽可能地保持不动,这点真的很重要,这样医务人员才能完成检查。棉签会在数秒内进出你的鼻子。

一些小朋友告诉我,进行检查前数到 3 或深呼吸能使他们放松,还有些小朋友告诉我,他们喜欢抱着最喜欢的毛绒玩具或毛毯。或许你有自己的放松方式。

记住,检查期间最重要的就是保持身体完全不动。

看到穿着不同衣服的医护人员,你可能会想很多,但你要知道,这个人很有爱心,而且想要帮你。

感谢你协助我们完成检查,让我们知道如何继续把对你的医疗护理做到最好。

"什么是儿童多系统炎症综合征(MIS-C)?

儿童多系统炎症综合征(MIS-C)是一种身体的某些部位(如心脏、肺、血管、肾脏、消化系统、大脑、皮肤或眼睛)出现重度发炎的严重疾病。炎症通常包括手和脚的肿胀,通常伴有红肿。有证据表明,患病儿童中许多最近感染了COVID-19 病毒,抗体检测结果呈阳性。说明 MIS-C 是由与 COVID-19 有关的免疫系统反应引起的。

MIS-C 可能的体征和症状包括:

  • 发热持续 24 小时或以上
  • 呕吐
  • 腹泻
  • 胃部疼痛
  • 皮疹
  • 心跳加速
  • 呼吸急促
  • 红眼
  • 嘴唇和舌头发红或肿胀
  • 感觉异常疲惫
  • 手脚发红或肿胀
  • 头痛、头晕或头重脚轻
  • 淋巴结肿大

儿童多系统炎症综合征(MIS-C)的预警体征:

  • 无法醒来或持续清醒
  • 呼吸困难
  • 新出现的意识模糊
  • 嘴唇或面部发青
  • 重度胃疼

如果您的孩子出现任何紧急预警征兆或出现其他严重疾病的体征和症状,请带您的孩子去最近的急诊室或拨打 911 或您当地的紧急电话。如果您的孩子病情不严重,但仍出现 MIS-C 的体征或症状,请立即咨询医生。

COVID-19 预防技巧

您可以采取许多措施防止孩子感染 COVID-19 致病病毒,如果孩子生病,用来避免传播给他人。CDC (美国疾病控制与预防中心)和 WHO (世界卫生组织)建议您和您的家庭:

  • 保持手部洁净。经常用肥皂和清水洗手至少 20 秒。如果没有肥皂和清水可用,用酒精含量至少 60% 的消毒洗手液。咳嗽或打喷嚏时用手肘或纸巾遮住口鼻。扔掉用过的纸巾并洗手。避免触摸眼睛、鼻子和口腔。回到家后立刻让孩子洗手,上完洗手间以及进食或准备食物前也要洗手。向幼儿展示如何用双手搓出小肥皂泡以及如何在指间搓好肥皂后一直抹到指尖,包括拇指和手背。鼓励孩子唱两遍完整的“生日快乐歌”(大约 20 秒),这样他们就有足够的时间把手洗干净。
  • 保持社交距离。避免与生病或出现症状的任何人密切接触(约 6 英尺或 2 米内)。尽量减少外出。外出时,尽可能将孩子留在家中。由于无症状群体也可能传播病毒,因此不要让孩子与其他家庭的孩子面对面玩耍,即使那些孩子感觉良好。如果孩子在外面玩,请确保孩子与外人保持 6 英尺距离。您可以向孩子描述此距离,约为门或成人自行车的长度。请勿让孩子玩以下游戏或进行以下运动:需要共享设备,例如篮球,或无法保持身体距离。推迟孩子与老年人的会面。鼓励孩子通过电话或视频聊天联系朋友和亲人。考虑组织线上家庭用餐、游戏之夜或约会,保持孩子的参与度。
  • 清洁房屋并消毒。每天侧重清洁经常接触的公共区域表面,例如桌子、门把手、靠背椅子、电灯开关、遥控器、电子设备、把手、书桌、卫生间和水槽。另外,清洁容易弄脏的区域,例如婴儿的尿布台,以及孩子经常触摸的表面,例如孩子的床架、工艺桌、玩具箱和玩具。用肥皂和清水清洗孩子入嘴的玩具。一定要冲洗肥皂并擦干玩具。在尽可能温暖的环境下按需清洗孩子的床上用品和可洗毛绒玩具。完全干燥物品。处理完孩子的物品后要洗手。如果您要照顾 COVID-19 患儿,换完尿布或处理完婴儿的床上用品、玩具或奶瓶请洗手。
  • 佩戴布料口罩。CDC 建议,在杂货店等难免与他人密切接触的公共场所佩戴布料口罩。在持续性社区传播的区域尤其建议。提出这一建议是因为有数据表明,COVID-19 感染者在发现患病前就可能传播病毒。如果孩子 2 岁或更大,出门进入社区也要戴布料口罩,以防将 COVID-19 传播给他人。2 岁以下儿童、存在任何呼吸问题的儿童或由于疾病原因在无人帮助时无法自行取下口罩的儿童不得佩戴口罩。

另外,请坚持做好孩子的健康检查和疫苗接种。这对于 2 岁以下的婴幼儿尤其重要。COVID-19 受累社区中的许多医务人员在他们诊所的隔离区域或其他地方为患病儿童看诊,想方设法隔离健康检查与患病检查。如果孩子到时进行健康检查,咨询孩子的医生安全性措施实施情况。不要因恐惧感染 COVID-19 致病病毒而阻止孩子接种预防其他严重疾病的疫苗。

孩子可能特别难以遵循防止 COVID-19 病毒传播的指南。保持耐心。做个好榜样,您的孩子将更有可能效法您的行为。

July 02, 2022 了解更多深度信息

也可查阅

  1. 抗生素:您是否正滥用?
  2. COVID-19 与维生素 D
  3. 恢复期血浆疗法
  4. 2019 冠状病毒病(COVID-19)
  5. 冠状病毒:什么是冠状病毒?如何保护自己?
  6. 咳嗽
  7. 群体免疫和冠状病毒
  8. COVID-19 与宠物
  9. 2019 冠状病毒病 (COVID-19) 和您的心理健康
  10. COVID-19 抗体检测
  11. COVID-19, cold, allergies and the flu
  12. COVID-19(冠状病毒)药物:是否有有效药物?
  13. 2019 冠状病毒病的长期作用
  14. 2019 冠状病毒病检测
  15. 新冠病毒感染的种族差异
  16. 冠状病毒旅行建议
  17. COVID-19 vaccine: Should I reschedule my mammogram?
  18. COVID-19 vaccines for kids: What you need to know
  19. 2019 冠状病毒病疫苗
  20. COVID-19 variant
  21. 冠状病毒与流行性感冒:相似之处和不同之处
  22. 2019 冠状病毒病(COVID-19):谁面临更高的严重症状风险?
  23. 揭穿冠状病毒谬论
  24. 腹泻
  25. Different COVID-19 vaccines
  26. 体外膜肺氧合(ECMO)
  27. 发热
  28. 发烧:急救
  29. 发热治疗:治疗发热的快速指南
  30. 在家里抗击冠状病毒传播
  31. 蜂蜜:有效的止咳药?
  32. COVID-19 抗体检测与诊断检测有何不同?
  33. 如何获得脉搏
  34. 如何测量呼吸频率
  35. 如何量体温
  36. 2019 冠状病毒病(COVID-19):口罩能提供哪些保护?
  37. 嗅觉丧失
  38. 妙佑医疗国际一分钟:您一直在错误地洗手
  39. 妙佑医疗国际一分钟 (Mayo Clinic Minute):常见物品表面有多脏?
  40. 儿童多系统炎症综合征(MIS-C)
  41. 恶心和呕吐
  42. 怀孕和 COVID-19
  43. 红眼
  44. 在 2019 冠状病毒病疫情期间进行安全的户外活动
  45. COVID-19 疫情期间返校的安全提示
  46. 性行为与 COVID-19
  47. 气短
  48. 温度计:了解选项
  49. COVID-19 居家治疗
  50. 冠状病毒的异常症状
  51. 泪溢

COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Children of all ages can become ill with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). But most kids who are infected typically don't become as sick as adults and some might not show any symptoms at all. Know the symptoms of COVID-19 in babies and children, why children might be affected differently by COVID-19 and what you can do to prevent the spread of the virus.

How likely is it for a child to become sick with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)?

While all children are capable of getting the virus that causes COVID-19, they don't become sick as often as adults. Most children have mild symptoms or no symptoms.

According to the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Children's Hospital Association, in the United States children represent about 10% of all COVID-19 cases. Research suggests that children younger than ages 10 to 14 are less likely to become infected with the virus that causes COVID-19 compared to people age 20 and older. Hospitalization rates for children are also much lower than for adults. However, if children are hospitalized, they need to be treated in the intensive care unit as often as hospitalized adults, according to research from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

In addition, children with underlying conditions, such as obesity, diabetes and asthma, are at higher risk of serious illness with COVID-19. Children who have congenital heart disease, genetic conditions or conditions affecting the nervous system or metabolism are also at higher risk of serious illness with COVID-19.

Research also suggests disproportionately higher rates of COVID-19 in Hispanic and non-Hispanic Black children than in non-Hispanic white children. Hispanic and non-Hispanic Black children also have had higher rates of hospitalization.

Rarely, some children might also develop a serious condition that appears to be linked to COVID-19.

Why do children react differently to COVID-19?

The answer isn't clear yet. Some experts suggest that children might not be as severely affected by COVID-19 because there are other coronaviruses that spread in the community and cause diseases such as the common cold. Since children often get colds, their immune systems might be primed to provide them with some protection against COVID-19. It's also possible that children's immune systems interact with the virus differently than do adults' immune systems. Some adults are getting sick because their immune systems seem to overreact to the virus, causing more damage to their bodies. This may be less likely to happen in children.

How are babies affected by COVID-19?

Although rare, children under age 1 appear to be at higher risk of severe illness with COVID-19 than older children. This is likely due to their immature immune systems and smaller airways, which make them more likely to develop breathing issues with respiratory virus infections.

Newborns can become infected with the virus that causes COVID-19 during childbirth or by exposure to sick caregivers after delivery. If you have COVID-19 or are waiting for test results due to symptoms, it's recommended during hospitalization after childbirth that you wear a cloth face mask and have clean hands when caring for your newborn. Keeping your newborn's crib by your bed while you are in the hospital is OK, but it's also recommended that you maintain a reasonable distance from your baby when possible. When these steps are taken, the risk of a newborn becoming infected with the COVID-19 virus is low. Research suggests that only about 2% to 5% of infants born to women with COVID-19 near the time of delivery test positive for the virus in the days after birth. However, if you are severely ill with COVID-19, you might need to be temporarily separated from your newborn.

Infants who have COVID-19 or who can't be tested due to a lack of availability and have no symptoms might be discharged from the hospital, depending on the circumstances. It's recommended that the baby's caregivers wear face masks and wash their hands to protect themselves. Frequent follow-up with the baby's health care provider is needed — by phone, virtual visits or in-office visits — for 14 days. Infants who test negative for COVID-19 can be sent home from the hospital.

Children's COVID-19 symptoms

While children and adults experience similar symptoms of COVID-19, children's symptoms tend to be mild and cold-like. Most children recover within one to two weeks. Possible symptoms can include:

  • Fever
  • Nasal congestion or runny nose
  • Cough
  • Sore throat
  • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
  • Fatigue
  • Headache
  • Muscle aches
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Poor feeding or poor appetite
  • New loss of taste or smell
  • Belly pain
  • Pink eye (conjunctivitis)

If your child has symptoms of COVID-19 and you think he or she might have COVID-19, call your child's health care provider. Keep your child at home and away from others as much as possible, except to get medical care. If possible, have your child use a separate bedroom and bathroom from family members. Follow recommendations from the CDC, the World Health Organization (WHO) and your government regarding quarantine and isolation measures as appropriate.

Factors used to decide whether to test your child for COVID-19 may differ depending on where you live. In the U.S., the doctor will determine whether to conduct tests for COVID-19 based on your child's signs and symptoms, as well as whether your child has had close contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19. The doctor may also consider testing if your child is at higher risk of serious illness.

To test for COVID-19, a health care provider uses a long swab to take a sample from the back of the nose (nasopharyngeal swab). The sample is then sent to a lab for testing. If your child is coughing up phlegm (sputum), that may be sent for testing.

Supporting Your Child During COVID-19 Nasal Swab Testing

The purpose of this video is to prepare children for a COVID-19 nasal swab test, to help ease some of their potential fear and anxiety. When children are prepared to take a medical test, they become more cooperative and compliant, which creates a positive coping experience for them. This video has been made to be watched by children as young as 4 years old.

Jennifer Rodemeyer, Child Life Program Manager, Mayo Clinic: Hi, I'm Jennifer and I am a child life specialist at Mayo Clinic. My job is to help kids like you prepare for medical tests.

You may have heard there is a virus going around that can make people feel sick. A virus is a germ and it is so tiny you can't even see it.

Some people who get this virus can have a fever or a cough and may feel achy and tired, while some people can have this virus and not feel sick at all. People may get this virus from touching things. That's why it's important to wash your hands often with soap and water. The virus also can spread through a cough or a sneeze. So it's important to always cover your cough or sneeze.

Today, even though you may or may not be feeling sick, we will need to give you a test so we know how to best proceed with your medical care. This medical test will tell us if you have the virus.

When you go to take your test, the health care provider will wear special protective clothing. They wear this clothing to keep themselves and you safe from getting germs. They will wear a mask to cover their nose and mouth and a clear plastic shield to protect their eyes.

The most important thing you can do during your test is to sit perfectly still like a statue. To help make sure you don't move, your parent or caregiver will help keep you still and calm during your test. The health care provider needs to touch the inside of the back of your nose with a long, skinny Q-tip. To do this, you need to hold your chin up, then the health care provider will put the Q-tip in your nose for a short time to collect a sample.

While this happens you may feel like you want to push the Q-tip away, but it's really important to stay as still as possible so the health care provider can finish the test. The Q-tip will be in and out of your nose in a few seconds.

Some kids tell me that counting to 3 or taking a deep breath relaxes them before the test happens, and some tell me they like to hold on to their favorite stuffed animal or blanket. Maybe you have your own way to relax.

Remember that during the test, the most important thing to do is to keep your body perfectly still.

You may have many feelings seeing the health care provider wearing different clothing, but know this person is caring and wants to help you.

Thank you for helping us get this test done, so we know how to proceed with your medical care.

But children also might have COVID-19 and not show symptoms. This is why it's crucial to follow recommendations for preventing the spread of COVID-19.

What is multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)?

Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C) is a serious condition in which some parts of the body — such as the heart, lungs, blood vessels, kidneys, digestive system, brain, skin or eyes — become severely inflamed. Evidence indicates that many of these children were infected with the COVID-19 virus in the past, as shown by positive antibody test results, suggesting that MIS-C is caused by an immune system reaction related to COVID-19.

Possible signs and symptoms of MIS-C include:

  • Fever that lasts 24 hours or longer
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Pain in the stomach
  • Skin rash
  • Fast heartbeat
  • Rapid breathing
  • Red eyes
  • Redness or swelling of the lips and tongue
  • Feeling unusually tired
  • Redness or swelling of the hands or feet
  • Headache, dizziness or lightheadedness
  • Enlarged lymph nodes

Emergency warning signs of MIS-C include:

  • Inability to wake up or stay awake
  • Difficulty breathing
  • New confusion
  • Bluish lips or face
  • Severe stomach pain

If your child shows any emergency warning signs or is severely sick with other signs and symptoms, take your child to the nearest emergency department or call 911 or your local emergency number. If your child isn't severely ill but shows other signs or symptoms of MIS-C, contact your child's doctor right away for advice.

COVID-19 prevention tips

There are many steps you can take to prevent your child from getting the virus that causes COVID-19 and, if he or she does become sick, to avoid spreading it to others. The CDC and WHO recommend that you and your family:

  • Keep your hands clean. Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. If soap and water aren't available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol. Cover your mouth and nose with your elbow or a tissue when you cough or sneeze. Throw away the used tissue and wash your hands. Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth. Have your kids wash their hands immediately after returning home, as well as after going to the bathroom and before eating or preparing food. Show young children how to create tiny soap bubbles by rubbing their hands together and how to get the soap between fingers and all the way to the ends of their fingers, including their thumbs and the backs of their hands. Encourage your kids to sing the entire "Happy Birthday" song twice (about 20 seconds) so they spend the time they need to get their hands clean.
  • Practice social distancing. Avoid close contact (within about 6 feet, or 2 meters) with anyone who is sick or has symptoms. Minimize trips outside your house. When you do go out, leave your children at home — if possible. Since people without symptoms can spread the virus, don't allow your child to have in-person playdates with children from other households — even if they are all feeling well. If your child plays outside, make sure he or she stays 6 feet away from people outside of your household. You can describe this distance to your child as about the length of a door or an adult's bicycle. Don't allow your child to play games or sports that involve shared equipment, such as a basketball, or that can't accommodate physical distancing. Postpone your child's in-person visits with older adults. Encourage your child to keep in touch with friends and loved ones through phone calls or video chats. Consider organizing virtual family meals, game nights or playdates to keep your child engaged.
  • Clean and disinfect your home. Focus on cleaning surfaces every day in common areas that are frequently touched, such as tables, doorknobs, hard-backed chairs, light switches, remotes, electronics, handles, desks, toilets and sinks. Also, clean areas that easily get dirty, such as a baby's changing table, and surfaces that your child often touches, such as his or her bed frame, craft table, toy chest and toys. Use soap and water to clean toys that your child puts in his or her mouth. Be sure to rinse off the soap and dry the toys. Wash your child's bedding and washable plush toys, as needed, in the warmest possible setting. Dry items completely. Wash your hands after handling your child's belongings. If you're caring for a baby with COVID-19, wash your hands after diaper changes or handling the baby's bedding, toys or bottles.
  • Wear cloth face masks. The CDC recommends wearing cloth face coverings in public places, such as the grocery store, where it's difficult to avoid close contact with others. It's especially suggested in areas with ongoing community spread. This advice is based on data showing that people with COVID-19 can transmit the virus before realizing that they have it. If your child is age 2 or older, have him or her wear a cloth face mask when out in the community to prevent the spread of COVID-19 to others. Don't place a face mask on a child younger than age 2, a child who has any breathing problems, or a child who has a condition that would prevent him or her from being able to remove the mask without help.

In addition, keep up with your child's well visits and vaccines. This is especially important for infants and young children under age 2. Many health care providers in communites affected by COVID-19 are using strategies to separate well visits from sick visits by seeing sick children in separate areas of their offices or at different locations. If your child is due for a well visit, talk to your child's doctor about safety steps being taken. Don't let fear of getting the virus that causes COVID-19 prevent your child from getting his or her vaccines to prevent other serious illnesses.

Following guidelines to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus can be particularly difficult for kids. Stay patient. Be a good role model and your child will be more likely to follow your lead.

Nov. 21, 2020 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  2. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  3. Safe cancer treatment during the COVID-19 pandemic
  4. Cancer treatment during COVID-19: How to move ahead safely
  5. Convalescent plasma therapy
  6. Coronavirus safety tips for going out
  7. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  8. Coronavirus: What is it and how can I protect myself?
  9. Coronavirus grief
  10. Coronavirus travel advice
  11. Coronavirus vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  12. Cough
  13. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  14. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  15. COVID-19 and pets
  16. COVID-19 and the risk of suicide
  17. COVID-19 and your mental health
  18. COVID-19 antibody testing
  19. COVID-19 and holidays
  20. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  21. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  22. COVID-19 (coronavirus) stigma: What it is and how to reduce it
  23. COVID-19 (coronavirus) vaccine
  24. COVID-19 tests
  25. COVID-19: How much protection do face masks offer?
  26. Coping with unemployment caused by COVID-19
  27. COVID-19 (coronavirus): Quarantine, self-isolation and social distancing
  28. COVID-19: Social distancing, contact tracing are critical
  29. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  30. Debunking coronavirus myths
  31. Diarrhea
  32. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  33. Surgery during the COVID-19 pandemic
  34. Fever
  35. Fever: First aid
  36. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  37. Getting safe emergency care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  38. Kids, loneliness and COVID-19
  39. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  40. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  41. How to take your pulse
  42. How to measure your respiratory rate
  43. How to safely go to your doctor during the COVID-19 pandemic
  44. How to take your temperature
  45. How to talk to your kids about COVID-19
  46. Loss of smell
  47. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  48. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  49. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  50. Nausea and vomiting
  51. Neurosurgery during the COVID-19 pandemic
  52. Parenting and special needs during a pandemic
  53. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  54. Coronavirus infection by race
  55. Red eye
  56. Routine cancer screening during coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
  57. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  58. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  59. Sex and COVID-19
  60. Shortness of breath
  61. Skin care tips during a pandemic
  62. Stay healthy during the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic
  63. Stay on track with medications during a pandemic
  64. Telemedicine online doctor visits
  65. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  66. Thermometers: Understand the options
  67. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  68. Treating COVID-19 at home
  69. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  70. Watery eyes
  71. Fight coronavirus transmission at home
  72. Contact tracing and COVID-19: What is it and how does it work?
  73. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?