كوفيد 19 (فيروس كورونا) لدى الرُّضَّع والأطفال

By Mayo Clinic Staff

يمكن أن يصاب الأطفال من جميع الأعمار بمرض فيروس كورونا 2019 (كوفيد 19). لكن أعراض معظم الأطفال المصابين لا تكون عادة بنفس حدة أعراض البالغين، وقد لا تَظهر على بعضهم أي أعراض على الإطلاق. تعرفي على أعراض كوفيد 19 لدى الرضع والأطفال، بالإضافة إلى أسباب تأثر الأطفال بشكل مختلف عند إصابتهم به، وما يمكنك فعله لمنع انتشار الفيروس.

ما مدى احتمال مرض الأطفال عند إصابتهم بفيروس كورونا 2019 (كوفيد 19)؟

في حين أن كل الأطفال معرضون للإصابة بالفيروس المسبب لكوفيد 19، فإن معدل الأطفال الذين يمرضون عند الإصابة به أقل مما تم ملاحظته لدى البالغين. ونادرًا ما يُصاب الأطفال بأعراض شديدة عند تعرضهم لعدوى كوفيد 19. على الرغم من ظهور فاشيات مرضية واسعة النطاق حول العالم، مات منها عدد قليل جدًا من الأطفال.

وفقًا لمراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها، فإن مِن بين 150 ألف حالة تقريبًا من حالات كوفيد 19 في الولايات المتحدة في الفترة ما بين 12 شباط/فبراير و 2 نيسان/أبريل، حوالي 2500 حالة فقط كانت بين الأطفال (أي 1.7٪). وهذا مشابه لما تم الإبلاغ عنه في دول أخرى، مثل الصين وإيطاليا، واللتان شهدتا حدوث فاشيات واسعة النطاق. فقد كانت معدلات إدخال الأطفال للمستشفيات أقل بكثير من البالغين.

ومع ذلك، بغض النظر عن العمر، إذا كان أي شخص مصابًا بحالات كامنة معينة، مثل السكري من النوع 2، فإنه يعتبر أكثر عرضة للمرض الشديد في حال إصابته بكوفيد 19. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الأطفال المصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية أو الحالات الوراثية أو الحالات التي تؤثر على الجهاز العصبي أو على التمثيل الغذائي هم أيضًا أكثر عرضة للمرض الشديد في حال أصيبوا بكوفيد 19.

ما تفسير اختلاف ردة فعل الأطفال تجاه كوفيد 19؟

الجواب غير واضح بعد. يشير بعض الخبراء إلى أن الأطفال قد لا يتأثرون بشدة بكوفيد 19 لأن هناك فيروسات كورونا أخرى منتشرة في المجتمع وتسبب بعض الأمراض مثل الزكام. ونظرًا لأن الأطفال يصابون كثيرًا بالزكام، فقد تكون لديهم أجسام مضادة توفر لهم بعض الوقاية من كوفيد 19. ومن الممكن أيضًا أن أجهزة المناعة لدى الأطفال تتفاعل مع الفيروس بشكل مختلف عن أجهزة المناعة لدى البالغين. يبدو أن بعض البالغين يَمرضون من الفيروس لأن أجهزتهم المناعية تبالغ في رد فعلها تجاهه، مما يُلحق مزيدًا من الضرر بأجسامهم. قد يكون هذا الأمر أقل حدوثًا بين الأطفال.

كيف يتأثر الأطفال بكوفيد 19؟

على الرغم من ندرة هذا الأمر، فإن الأطفال دون عُمْر سَنة (الرُّضَّع) أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بأعراض شديدة في حال العدوى بكوفيد 19. يُحتمل أن أن يكون ذلك بسبب عدم نضج مناعتهم بشكل كامل، ولأن شعبهم الهوائية أصغر، مما يجعلهم أكثر عرضة للمشاكل التنفسية في حال العدوى بفيروسات الجهاز التنفسي.

أظهرت دراسة أجريت على أكثر من 2100 طفل مصاب أو مشتبه بإصابته بكوفيد 19 في الصين بين أواخر كانون الأول/ديسمبر وأوائل شباط/فبراير أن نسبة تقل بقليل عن 11٪ من الرضع حدثت لديهم أعراض شديدة أو حرجة. وبالمقارنة، كانت معدلات الحالات الشديدة أو الحرجة حوالي 7٪ بين الأطفال الذين تراوحت أعمارهم بين 1 و 5 سنوات، و 4٪ بين الأطفال من 6 إلى 10 سنوات، و 4٪ بين الأطفال من 11 إلى 15 سنة، و 3٪ بين الأطفال بعمر 16 سنة أو أكثر.

يمكن أن يصاب حديثو الولادة بكوفيد 19 أثناء الولادة أو بسبب انتقال العدوى إليهم بعد الولادة عن طريق مقدمي الرعاية المصابين بالفيروس. توصي الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأطفال بتدابير رعاية خاصة لحديثي الولادة في حال ثبوت إصابة أمهاتهم بكوفيد 19 أو الاشتباه بذلك. قد تشمل تلك التدابير فصل الأم عن المولود مؤقتًا لتقليل خطر إصابة الرضيع، بالإضافة لمراقبته بحثًا عن علامات العدوى بكوفيد 19. وفي حال توفر مستلزمات الفحص، يُنصح باختبار الرضيع للتحقق من إصابته بالفيروس.

بالنسبة للرُّضَّع المصابين بكوفيد 19 أو الذين لا يمكن اختبارهم بسبب عدم توفر الاختبارات، قد يتم إخراجهم من المستشفى إذا لم تكن لديهم أي أعراض، وذلك اعتمادًا على الظروف. يوصى الأطباء بأن يرتدي مقدمو الرعاية للأطفال كمامات الوجه وأن يغسلوا أيديهم لحماية أنفسهم. من المهم المتابعة باستمرار مع طبيب الطفل لمدة 14 يومًا، إما عبر الهاتف أو المراجعة الطبية الافتراضية أو مباشرة في العيادة.

يمكن للأطفال الذين حصلوا على نتيجة سلبية عند فحص إصابتهم بكوفيد 19 أن يغادروا المستشفى إلى المنزل. وإلى أن تتعافى الأم، يُنصَح بتقليل مخالطتها للطفل إلى أدنى حد ممكن واستخدام كمامة وغسل يديها عندما تكون بالقرب منه.

أعراض كوفيد 19 لدى الأطفال

مع أن الأطفال والبالغين يصابون بأعراض متشابهة في حال التعرض لعدوى كوفيد 19، فإن أعراض الأطفال تكون عادة خفيفة وشبيهة بأعراض الزكام. يتعافى معظم الأطفال خلال فترة تتراوح بين أسبوع إلى أسبوعين. ويمكن أن تشمل أعراضهم ما يلي:

  • الحُمّى
  • سيَلان الأنف
  • السعال
  • الإرهاق
  • آلام العضلات
  • القيء
  • الإسهال

إذا ظهرت على طفلِك أعراض كوفيد وكنت تعتقدين أنه مصاب بكوفيد 19، فاتصلي بطبيب طفلك. أَبقي طفلك في المنزل وأبعديه عن الآخرين قدر الإمكان، باستثناء الحالات التي تستدعي الحصول على رعاية طبية. خصصي لطفلك غرفة نوم وحمامًا منفصلَيْن عن باقي أفراد الأسرة إن أمكن ذلك. اتبعي التوصيات الصادرة عن مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها ومنظمة الصحة العالمية وحكومتك فيما يتعلق بتدابير العزل والحجر الصحي.

تتفاوت العوامل المستخدمة لتحديد ما إذا كان طفلك سيخضع لاختبار كوفيد 19 اعتمادًا على المنطقة التي تعيش فيها. في الولايات المتحدة، يعتمد قرار إجراء اختبارات كوفيد 19 على المؤشرات والأعراض التي يرصدها الطبيب لدى طفلك، كما سيأخذ الطبيب بعين الاعتبار ما إذا خالط الطفل شخصًا تم تشخيص إصابته بذلك المرض، أو ما إذا سافر إلى إحدى المناطق التي شهدت انتشارًا محليًا مستمرًا للمرض أو عاش فيها خلال الـ 14 يومًا الماضية. وقد يقرر طبيب الطفل ضرورة إجراء الاختبار إذا كان الطفل أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بأعراض حادة.

لاختبار الإصابة بكوفيد 19، يستخدم مزود الرعاية الصحية مسحةً طويلة لأخذ عينة من الجزء الخلفي للأنف. ثم تُرسَل العينة إلى المختبر لفحصها. إذا كان سعال الطفل مصحوبًا بالبلغم، فقد يتم إرساله للمختبر أيضًا.

كيفية دعم طفلك أثناء اختبار مسحة الأنف للكشف عن كوفيد 19

الغرض من هذا الفيديو هو تحضير الأطفال لاختبار مسحة الأنف المخصص للكشف عن كوفيد 19، وذلك للمساعدة في تقليل احتمال الخوف والقلق لديهم. عندما نُحضّر الأطفال لإجراء فحص طبي، فإنهم يصبحون أكثر تعاونًا وامتثالًا، مما يساعدهم على التأقلم بشكل إيجابي. تم إعداد هذا الفيديو لمشاهدته من قبل الأطفال بعمر 4 سنوات فأكثر.

جينيفر رودماير، مديرة برنامج حياة الأطفال، Mayo Clinic: مرحبًا، اسمي جنيفر، وأنا متخصصة في حياة الأطفال في Mayo Clinic. وظيفتي هي مساعدة الأطفال مثلك على الاستعداد للاختبارات الطبية.

ربما سمعتَ أن هناك فيروسًا يسبب المرض للناس. الفيروس هو جرثومة، وهو صغير جدًا لدرجة أنه لا يمكنك رؤيته.

يمكن أن يصاب الأشخاص الذين يتعرضون لهذا الفيروس بالحمى أو السعال، وقد يشعرون بالألم والتعب. قد ينتقل هذا الفيروس عن طريق لمس الأشياء، لذلك من المهم أن تنتبه ليديك وتغسلهما كثيرًا بالماء والصابون. يمكن أن ينتشر الفيروس أيضًا من خلال السعال أو العطس. لذلك من المهم دائمًا تغطية فمك وأنفك عند السعال أو العطس.

سِمِعْتُ اليوم أن تشعر بعدم الراحة، لذلك سنجري لك اختبارًا طبيًا يساعدنا على فهم سبب شعورك بالمرض. بعد الاختبار، يمكننا إيجاد طرق لمساعدة جسمك.

عندما تذهب لإجراء الاختبار، سيرتدي مقدمو الرعاية الصحية ملابس واقية خاصة. سيرتدون تلك الملابس لحماية أنفسهم وحمايتك من الإصابة بالجراثيم. سيرتدون كمامة لتغطية الأنف والفم وغطاء بلاستيكيًا شفافًا لحماية العينين.

أهم شيء يمكنك القيام به أثناء الاختبار هو الجلوس دون حراك كالتمثال. للمساعدة في منعك من التحرك، سيساعدك أحد والديك أو مقدم الرعاية على الثبات والهدوء أثناء الاختبار. يحتاج مقدم الرعاية الصحية إلى لمس الجزء الداخلي الخلفي من أنفك باستخدام نكاشة رفيعة. لذلك تحتاج إلى رفع ذقنك، ثم سيضع مقدم الرعاية الصحية النكاشة في أنفك لفترة قصيرة لاستخراج عينة.

أثناء حدوث ذلك، قد تشعر برغبة في دفع النكاشة بعيدًا عنك، ولكن من الضروري أن تبقى ثابتًا قدر الإمكان حتى يتمكن مقدم الرعاية الصحية من إنهاء الاختبار. ستدخل النكاشة للأنف وتخرج منه خلال ثوانٍ قليلة.

أخبرني بعض الأطفال أنهم يشعرون بالراحة عند العد إلى 3 أو أخذ نفس عميق قبل إجراء الاختبار، ويقول لي البعض أنهم يحبون التمسك بدميتهم المنفوشة أو بطانيتهم المفضلة. ربما لديك طريقتك الخاصة للاسترخاء.

تذكر إن أهم شيء تفعله أثناء الاختبار هو أن تبقي جسمك ثابتًا تمامًا.

قد تحس بكثير من المشاعر عند رؤية مقدم الرعاية الصحية وهو يرتدي ملابس مختلفة، لكن اعلم أن هذا الشخص لطيف وحريص على مساعدتك.

شكرًا لمساعدتنا على معرفة سبب شعورك بالمرض.

لكن قد يكون الأطفال أيضًا مصابين بكوفيد 19 دون أن تظهر عليهم الأعراض. أظهرت دراسة أجريت على 171 طفلاً مصابًا بكوفيد 19 في الصين بين أواخر كانون الثاني/يناير وشباط/فبراير أن 27 طفلاً، أو تقريبًا 16٪ من المشاركين، لم تظهر عليهم أعراض الإصابة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وجدت دراسة صغيرة أجريت على 36 طفلاً مصابًا بكوفيد 19 في الصين بين كانون الثاني/يناير وآذار/مارس أن الأعراض لم تظهر على نصف الأطفال تقريبًا. وأشارت بعض الدراسات الحديثة أن الفيروس المسبب لكوفيد 19 قد ينتشر عن طريق الأطفال والبالغين الذين لا تظهر عليهم أعراض المرض. وهذا ما يؤكد ضرورة اتباع التوصيات الصحية الهادفة لمنع انتشار كوفيد 19.

ما هي متلازمة التهاب الأجهزة المتعددة لدى الأطفال (MIS-C)؟

متلازمة التهاب الأجهزة المتعددة لدى الأطفال هي حالة خطيرة يحدث خلالها التهاب في بعض أجزاء الجسم، مثل القلب أو الأوعية الدموية أو الكلى أو الجهاز الهضمي أو الدماغ أو الجلد أو العينين. عادة ما يؤدي الالتهاب إلى التورم، مع احمرار وألم في كثير من الأحيان. تشير الأدلة إلى أن العديد من هؤلاء الأطفال كانوا مصابين في الماضي بكوفيد 19، وذلك بناء على نتائج اختبار الأجسام المضادة الإيجابية.

تشمل العلامات والأعراض المحتملة لمتلازمة التهاب الأجهزة المتعددة لدى الأطفال ما يلي:

  • حمى تستمر 24 ساعة أو أكثر
  • القيء
  • الإسهال
  • ألم المعدة
  • الطفح الجلدي
  • احمرار العين
  • احمرار أو تورم الشفتين واللسان
  • الشعور بتعب غير عادي
  • احمرار أو تورم اليدين أو القدمين

تشمل العلامات التحذيرية الطارئة لمتلازمة التهاب الأجهزة المتعددة لدى الأطفال ما يلي:

  • عدم القدرة على الاستيقاظ أو عدم القدرة على البقاء مستيقظًا
  • صعوبة في التنفس
  • ألمًا أو ضغطًا مستمرَّيْن في الصدر
  • تشوشًا ذهنيًا لم يكن موجودًا من قبل
  • مَيْل الشفتين والوجه إلى اللون الأزرق
  • ألمًا شديدًا في المعدة

إذا ظهرت على طفلك أي من تلك العلامات التحذيرية الطارئة، أو أصابه مرض شديد بعلامات وأعراض أخرى، يجب أخذ الطفل إلى أقرب مركز طوارئ أو الاتصال بـ 911 أو برقم الطوارئ المحلي في منطقتك. إذا لم يكن مرض طفلك شديدًا ولكن ظهرت عليه علامات أو أعراض أخرى مماثلة لمتلازمة التهاب الأجهزة المتعددة لدى الأطفال، يجب الاتصال فورًا بطبيب الطفل لاستشارته.

نصائح للوقاية من كوفيد 19

هناك العديد من الخطوات التي يمكنك اتخاذها لوقاية طفلك من الإصابة بالفيروس المسبب لكوفيد 19 ولتجنب نقل العدوى للآخرين في حال إصابة طفلك به. توصي مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) ومنظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) الأهل وأفراد العائلة باتباع النصائح التالية:

  • المحافظة على نظافة اليدين. يجب غسل اليدين بشكل متكرر بالصابون والماء، على أن لا تقل مدة الغسل عن 20 ثانية. إذا لم يتوفر الماء والصابون، يُستخدَم معقم يدوي يحتوي على كحول بنسبة 60% على الأقل. يجب تغطية الفم والأنف بالمرفق أو بمنديل عند السعال أو العطس. كما يجب التخلص من المناديل المستعملة ثم غسل اليدين. ويجب تجنب لمس العينين والأنف والفم. على الأهل أن يطلبوا من أطفالهم غسل أيديهم فورًا بعد العودة إلى المنزل، وكذلك بعد استخدام الحمام وقبل تناول الطعام أو إعداده. ويجب على الأهل أن يوضحوا للأطفال الصغار كيفية تكوين رغوة بالصابون عن طريق فرك أيديهم، وكيفية إدخال الصابون بين أصابعهم وإيصاله لأطراف الأصابع وللإبهام وللجزء الخلفي من اليد. ننصح بتشجيع الأطفال على تأدية أغنية "سنة حلوة يا جميل" بالكامل مرتين (بمجموع 20 ثانية تقريبًا) حتى يقضوا الوقت الذي يحتاجونه لتنظيف أيديهم.
  • الالتزام بالتباعد الاجتماعي. ينبغي تجنّب المخالطة اللصيقة (ضمن مسافة 6 أقدام أو 2 متر) مع أي شخص مريض أو لديه أعراض. ويجب تقليل الخروج من المنزل قدر الإمكان. وعند الاضطرار للخروج، ننصح بترك الأطفال في المنزل إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا. نظرًا لأن الفيروس يمكن أن ينتقل من أشخاص غير مصابين بأي أعراض، يجب منع الطفل من اللعب المباشر مع الأطفال الآخرين، حتى لو كانوا جميعًا في بصحة جيدة. إذا لعب طفلك في الخارج، يجب التأكد من بقائه على بعد 6 أقدام (2 متر تقريبًا) ممن هم خارج إطار أسرتك. لتبسيط الأمر على طفلك، يمكنك وصف هذه المسافة بأنها مقارِبة لطول الباب أو طول الدراجة الهوائية المخصصة للكبار. يجب منع الطفل من ممارسة الألعاب أو الرياضات التي تحتوي أدوات لعب مشتركة، مثل كرة السلة، أو الرياضات التي لا يمكن الحفاظ فيها على مسافة جسدية بين اللاعبين. ينبغي تأجيل زيارات طفلك لكبار السن. بدلا من ذلك، ننصح بتشجيع الطفل على الاستمرار بالتواصل مع الأصدقاء والأعزاء من خلال المكالمات الهاتفية أو محادثات الفيديو. ومن الأفكار الجديرة بالتجريب استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لتنظيم ولائم عائلية عن بُعد، أو استخدام التكنولوجيا لكي يلعب الأطفال مع أقرانهم من العائلة عبر الإنترنت لإبقائهم منشغلين.
  • تنظيف وتطهير المنزل. ينبغي التركيز يوميًا على تنظيف أسطح الأماكن المشتركة التي تُلمَس بشكل متكرر، مثل الطاولات ومقابض الأبواب والأثاث والكراسي ومفاتيح الإنارة وأجهزة التحكم عن بعد والإلكترونيات والمكاتب والمراحيض والأحواض. يجب أيضًا تنظيف المناطق التي تتسخ بسهولة، مثل طاولة تغيير الحفاضات، والأسطح التي يلمسها طفلك كثيرًا، كهيكل سرير الطفل وطاولة اللعب وخزانة الألعاب والألعاب نفسها. وينبغي استخدام الماء والصابون لتنظيف الألعاب التي يضعها الطفل في فمه، مع الحرص على شطف الصابون وتجفيف الألعاب. وعلى الأهل أن يغسلوا فراش الطفل وألعابه المحشوة القابلة للغسل حسب الحاجة على أعلى درجة حرارة مناسبة. ويجب تجفيف هذه الأشياء بالكامل بعد غسلها. ويجب على الأهل أيضًا غسل أيديهم مباشرة بعد لمس أغراض الطفل. في حال اعتناء الأهل بطفل مصاب بكوفيد 19، يجب عليهم غسل أيديهم بعد تغيير الحفاضات أو لمس فراش الطفل أو ألعابه أو زجاجات الإرضاع الخاصة به.
  • ارتداء الكمامات القماشية. توصي مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) في الولايات المتحدة بارتداء أغطية وجه قماشية في الأماكن العامة، مثل محلات البقالة، حيث يصعب تجنب المخالطة اللصيقة بالآخرين. وتزداد أهمية هذه التوصية في المناطق التي تشهد انتشارًا محليًّا للمرض. تستند هذه النصيحة إلى بيانات تظهر أن المصابين بكوفيد 19 يمكنهم نقل الفيروس قبل أن يدركوا أنهم مصابون به. إذا كان الطفل بعُمْر عامين أو أكثر، ننصح الأهل بجعله يرتدي كمامة قماشية عند الخروج من المنزل لمنع انتقال كوفيد 19 للآخرين. يجب عدم وضع كمامة على وجه طفل يقل عمره عن عامين، أو أي طفل لدي أي مشاكل في التنفس، أو أي طفل لديه حالة تمنعه من إزالة الكمامة دون مساعدة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجب على الأهل الالتزام بجدول لقاحات الطفل ومواعيد مراجعته الدورية للطبيب. وهذا مهم خصوصًا للرضع والأطفال الصغار دون عمر سنتين. يَستخدم العديد من مقدمي الرعاية الصحية في المجتمعات المتأثرة بكوفيد 19 استراتيجيات لفصل المراجعات الطبية الدورية عن الزيارات المَرَضية، فيفحصون الأطفال المرضى في مناطق منفصلة في مكاتبهم أو حتى في مواقع مختلفة. إذا حان وقت الفحص الدوري للطفل، ينبغي أن يتحدث الأهل مع طبيبه بشأن تدابير السلامة المتبعة. يجب أن لا يُحرَم طفلك من تلقي لقاحاته بدافع الخوف من الإصابة بالفيروس المسبب لكوفيد 19.

يمكن أن يجد الأطفال بالذات صعوبةً في اتباع إرشادات منع انتشار فيروس كوفيد 19. على الأهل التحلي بالصبر، وأن يكونوا قدوة حسنة لأطفالهم لتشجيعهم على محاكاة تصرفات الأهل.

01/07/2020 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  2. Convalescent plasma therapy
  3. Coronavirus safety tips for going out
  4. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  5. Coronavirus: What is it and how can I protect myself?
  6. Coronavirus grief
  7. Coronavirus travel advice
  8. Cough
  9. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  10. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  11. COVID-19 and pets
  12. COVID-19 and your mental health
  13. COVID-19 antibody testing
  14. COVID-19 (coronavirus): Quarantine, self-isolation and social distancing
  15. COVID-19 (coronavirus) stigma: What it is and how to reduce it
  16. COVID-19 (coronavirus) vaccine
  17. COVID-19 tests
  18. Coping with unemployment caused by COVID-19
  19. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  20. Debunking coronavirus myths
  21. Diarrhea
  22. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  23. Fever
  24. Fever: First aid
  25. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  26. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  27. How to take your pulse
  28. How to measure your respiratory rate
  29. How to safely go to your doctor during the COVID-19 pandemic
  30. How to take your temperature
  31. How to talk to your kids about COVID-19
  32. Loss of smell
  33. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  34. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  35. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  36. Nausea and vomiting
  37. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  38. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  39. Coronavirus infection by race
  40. Red eye
  41. Routine cancer screening during coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
  42. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  43. Sex and COVID-19
  44. Shortness of breath
  45. Skin care tips during a pandemic
  46. Stay healthy during the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic
  47. Stay on track with medications during a pandemic
  48. Telemedicine online doctor visits
  49. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  50. Thermometers: Understand the options
  51. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  52. Treating COVID-19 at home
  53. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  54. Watery eyes
  55. Fight coronavirus transmission at home
  56. Contact tracing and COVID-19: What is it and how does it work?
  57. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?

COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Children of all ages can become ill with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). But most kids who are infected typically don't become as sick as adults and some might not show any symptoms at all. Know the signs and symptoms of COVID-19 in babies and children, why children might be affected differently by COVID-19 and what you can do to prevent the spread of the virus.

How likely is it for a child to become sick with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)?

According to the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Children's Hospital Association, in the U.S. children represent about 16% of all COVID-19 cases. COVID-19 in children has been on the rise in the U.S., with children recently making up 24% of just over 100,000 weekly reported cases of COVID-19.

While all children are capable of getting the virus that causes COVID-19, they don't become sick as often as adults. Most children have mild symptoms or no symptoms.

However, some children become severely ill with COVID-19. They might need to be hospitalized, treated in the intensive care unit or placed on a ventilator to help them breathe, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

In addition, children with other health conditions, such as obesity, diabetes and asthma, might be at higher risk of serious illness with COVID-19. Children who have congenital heart disease, genetic conditions or conditions affecting the nervous system or metabolism also might be at higher risk of serious illness with COVID-19.

Research also suggests disproportionately higher rates of COVID-19 in Hispanic and non-Hispanic Black children than in non-Hispanic white children.

Some children continue to experience symptoms of COVID-19 after their initial recovery. Rarely, some children might also develop a serious condition that appears to be linked to COVID-19.

Why do children react differently to COVID-19?

The answer isn't clear yet. Some experts suggest that children might not be as severely affected by COVID-19 because there are other coronaviruses that spread in the community and cause diseases such as the common cold. Since children often get colds, their immune systems might be primed to provide them with some protection against COVID-19. It's also possible that children's immune systems interact with the virus differently than do adults' immune systems. Some adults are getting sick because their immune systems seem to overreact to the virus, causing more damage to their bodies. This may be less likely to happen in children.

How are babies affected by COVID-19?

Babies under age 1 might be at higher risk of severe illness with COVID-19 than older children. This is likely due to their immature immune systems and smaller airways, which make them more likely to develop breathing issues with respiratory virus infections.

Newborns can become infected with the virus that causes COVID-19 during childbirth or by exposure to sick caregivers after delivery. If you have COVID-19 or are waiting for test results due to symptoms, it's recommended during hospitalization after childbirth that you wear a cloth face mask and have clean hands when caring for your newborn. Keeping your newborn's crib by your bed while you are in the hospital is OK, but it's also recommended that you maintain a reasonable distance from your baby when possible. When these steps are taken, the risk of a newborn becoming infected with the COVID-19 virus is low. However, if you are severely ill with COVID-19, you might need to be temporarily separated from your newborn.

Infants who have COVID-19 or who can't be tested and have no symptoms might be discharged from the hospital, depending on the circumstances. It's recommended that the baby's caregivers wear face masks and wash their hands to protect themselves. Frequent follow-up with the baby's health care provider is needed — by phone, virtual visits or in-office visits — for 14 days. Infants who test negative for COVID-19 can be sent home from the hospital.

What COVID-19 vaccines have been approved for kids?

In the U.S., COVID-19 vaccines are available to children by age group:

  • Ages 5 through 11. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has given emergency use authorization to a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for this age group. This vaccine involves two injections, given three weeks apart. It contains a lower dose than the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine used for people age 12 and older. Research shows that this vaccine is about 91% effective in preventing COVID-19 in children ages 5 through 11.
  • Ages 12 through 15. The FDA has given emergency use authorization to a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for this age group. This vaccine involves two injections, given three weeks apart. It contains the same dose as the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for people ages 16 and older. The second dose can be given up to six weeks after the first dose, if needed. Research has shown that this vaccine is 100% effective in preventing COVID-19 in children ages 12 through 15.
  • Ages 16 and older. The FDA has approved a Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine, now called Comirnaty, for this age group. This vaccine involves two injections, given three weeks apart. The second dose can be given up to six weeks after the first dose, if needed. This vaccine is 91% effective in preventing severe illness with COVID-19 in people age 16 and older.

Studies on the use of COVID-19 vaccines in younger children are also in progress.

Children's COVID-19 symptoms

While children and adults experience similar symptoms of COVID-19, children's symptoms tend to be mild and cold-like. Most children recover within one to two weeks. Possible symptoms can include:

  • Fever
  • Cough that becomes productive
  • New loss of taste or smell
  • Changes in the skin, such as discolored areas on the feet and hands
  • Sore throat
  • Gastrointestinal symptoms, such as nausea, vomiting, belly pain or diarrhea
  • Chills
  • Muscle aches and pain
  • Extreme fatigue
  • New severe headache
  • New nasal congestion

If your child has symptoms of COVID-19 and you think he or she might have COVID-19, call your child's doctor. Keep your child at home and away from others as much as possible, except to get medical care. If possible, have your child use a separate bedroom and bathroom from family members. Follow recommendations from the World Health Organization (WHO) and your government regarding quarantine and isolation measures as appropriate.

If your child has COVID-19 and can be treated at home, focus on relieving his or her symptoms. This might include rest, fluid intake and pain relievers.

Factors used to decide whether to test your child for COVID-19 may differ depending on where you live. In the U.S., the doctor will determine whether to conduct diagnostic tests for COVID-19 based on your child's signs and symptoms, as well as whether your child has had close contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19. The doctor may also consider testing if your child is at higher risk of serious illness.

To test for COVID-19, a health care provider uses a long swab to take a sample from the back of the nose (nasopharyngeal swab). The sample is then sent to a lab for testing. If your child is coughing up phlegm (sputum), that may be sent for testing.

Supporting Your Child During COVID-19 Nasal Swab Testing

The purpose of this video is to prepare children for a COVID-19 nasal swab test, to help ease some of their potential fear and anxiety. When children are prepared to take a medical test, they become more cooperative and compliant, which creates a positive coping experience for them. This video has been made to be watched by children as young as 4 years old.

Jennifer Rodemeyer, Child Life Program Manager, Mayo Clinic: Hi, I'm Jennifer and I am a child life specialist at Mayo Clinic. My job is to help kids like you prepare for medical tests.

You may have heard there is a virus going around that can make people feel sick. A virus is a germ and it is so tiny you can't even see it.

Some people who get this virus can have a fever or a cough and may feel achy and tired, while some people can have this virus and not feel sick at all. People may get this virus from touching things. That's why it's important to wash your hands often with soap and water. The virus also can spread through a cough or a sneeze. So it's important to always cover your cough or sneeze.

Today, even though you may or may not be feeling sick, we will need to give you a test so we know how to best proceed with your medical care. This medical test will tell us if you have the virus.

When you go to take your test, the health care provider will wear special protective clothing. They wear this clothing to keep themselves and you safe from getting germs. They will wear a mask to cover their nose and mouth and a clear plastic shield to protect their eyes.

The most important thing you can do during your test is to sit perfectly still like a statue. To help make sure you don't move, your parent or caregiver will help keep you still and calm during your test. The health care provider needs to touch the inside of the back of your nose with a long, skinny Q-tip. To do this, you need to hold your chin up, then the health care provider will put the Q-tip in your nose for a short time to collect a sample.

While this happens you may feel like you want to push the Q-tip away, but it's really important to stay as still as possible so the health care provider can finish the test. The Q-tip will be in and out of your nose in a few seconds.

Some kids tell me that counting to 3 or taking a deep breath relaxes them before the test happens, and some tell me they like to hold on to their favorite stuffed animal or blanket. Maybe you have your own way to relax.

Remember that during the test, the most important thing to do is to keep your body perfectly still.

You may have many feelings seeing the health care provider wearing different clothing, but know this person is caring and wants to help you.

Thank you for helping us get this test done, so we know how to proceed with your medical care.

But children also might have COVID-19 and not show symptoms. This is why it's crucial to follow recommendations for preventing the spread of COVID-19.

What is multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)?

Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C) is a serious condition in which some parts of the body — such as the heart, lungs, blood vessels, kidneys, digestive system, brain, skin or eyes — become severely inflamed. Evidence indicates that many of these children were infected with the COVID-19 virus in the past, as shown by positive antibody test results, suggesting that MIS-C is caused by an excessive immune response related to COVID-19.

Possible signs and symptoms of MIS-C include:

  • Fever that lasts 24 hours or longer
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Pain in the stomach
  • Skin rash
  • Fast heartbeat
  • Rapid breathing
  • Red eyes
  • Redness or swelling of the lips and tongue
  • Feeling unusually tired
  • Redness or swelling of the hands or feet
  • Headache, dizziness or lightheadedness
  • Enlarged lymph nodes

Emergency warning signs of MIS-C include:

  • Inability to wake up or stay awake
  • Difficulty breathing
  • New confusion
  • Pale, gray or blue-colored skin, lips or nail beds — depending on skin tone
  • Severe stomach pain

If your child shows any emergency warning signs or is severely sick with other signs and symptoms, take your child to the nearest emergency department or call 911 or your local emergency number. If your child isn't severely ill but shows other signs or symptoms of MIS-C, contact your child's doctor right away for advice.

Can children who get COVID-19 experience long-term effects?

Anyone who has had COVID-19 can develop a post-COVID-19 condition. Research suggests that children with both mild and severe COVID-19 have experienced long-term symptoms. The most common symptoms in children include:

  • Tiredness or fatigue
  • Headache
  • Trouble sleeping
  • Trouble concentrating
  • Muscle and joint pain
  • Cough

These symptoms could affect your child’s ability to attend school or do his or her usual activities. If your child is experiencing long-term symptoms, consider talking to your child’s teachers about his or her needs.

If children don’t frequently experience severe illness with COVID-19, why do they need a COVID-19 vaccine?

A COVID-19 vaccine can prevent your child from getting and spreading the virus that causes COVID-19.

If your child gets COVID-19, a COVID-19 vaccine could prevent him or her from becoming severely ill or experiencing short-term or long-term complications. Children with other health conditions, such as obesity, diabetes and asthma, might be at higher risk of serious illness with COVID-19.

Getting a COVID-19 vaccine can also help keep your child in school and more safely have playdates and participate in sports and other group activities.

COVID-19 prevention tips

If you or your child haven’t gotten a COVID-19 vaccine, there are many steps you can take to prevent yourselves from getting the COVID-19 virus and spreading it to others. The CDC and WHO recommend that you and your family:

  • Keep your hands clean. Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol. Cover your mouth and nose with your elbow or a tissue when you cough or sneeze. Throw away the used tissue and wash your hands. Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth. Have your kids wash their hands immediately after returning home, as well as after going to the bathroom and before eating or preparing food. Show young children how to get the soap between fingers and all the way to the ends of their fingers, including their thumbs and the backs of their hands. Encourage your kids to sing the entire "Happy Birthday" song twice (about 20 seconds) so they spend the time they need to get their hands clean.
  • Practice social distancing. Make sure your child and everyone in your household avoids close contact (within about 6 feet, or 2 meters) with anyone who doesn’t live in your household. Since people without symptoms may spread the virus, avoiding in-person playdates poses the lowest risk. Having infrequent in-person playdates with the same family or friend who is practicing preventive measures poses a medium risk. If you allow these kinds of playdates, hold them outside and make sure children maintain a distance of 6 feet away from each other. You can describe this distance to your child as about the length of a door or an adult's bicycle. To lower your child’s risk of COVID-19, you may consider limiting involvement in activities that require shared equipment, such as a basketball, or that can't accommodate physical distancing. Encourage your child to keep in touch with friends and loved ones through phone calls or video chats. Consider organizing virtual family meals, game nights or playdates to keep your child engaged.
  • Clean and disinfect your home. Clean surfaces every day in common areas that are frequently touched, such as tables, doorknobs, hard-backed chairs, light switches, remotes, electronics, handles, desks, toilets and sinks. Also, clean areas that easily get dirty, such as a baby's changing table, and surfaces that your child often touches, such as his or her bed frame, craft table, toy chest and toys. Use soap and water to clean toys that your child puts in his or her mouth. Be sure to rinse off the soap and dry the toys. Wash your child's bedding and washable plush toys, as needed, in the warmest possible setting. Dry items completely. Wash your hands after handling your child's belongings. If you're caring for a baby with COVID-19, wash your hands after diaper changes or handling the baby's bedding, toys or bottles.
  • Wear cloth face masks. The CDC recommends wearing a face mask in indoor public spaces and outdoors where there is a high risk of COVID-19 transmission, such as at a crowded event. Further mask guidance differs depending on whether you are fully vaccinated or unvaccinated. If your child is age 2 or older, have him or her wear a cloth face mask when around people who don’t live in your household to prevent the spread of COVID-19 to others. Don't place a face mask on a child younger than age 2, a child who has any breathing problems, or a child who has a condition that would prevent him or her from being able to remove the mask without help.

In addition, keep up with your child's well visits and vaccines. This is especially important for infants and young children under age 2. Many doctors are using strategies to separate well visits from sick visits by seeing sick children in separate areas of their offices or at different locations. If your child is due for a well visit, talk to your child's doctor about safety steps being taken. Don't let fear of getting the virus that causes COVID-19 prevent your child from getting his or her vaccines to prevent other serious illnesses. A COVID-19 vaccine can be given to eligible children on the same day as other vaccines.

Following guidelines to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus can be particularly difficult for kids. Stay patient. Be a good role model and your child will be more likely to follow your lead.

Nov. 16, 2021 See more In-depth

See also

  1. After COVID-19 vaccination: Is it OK to visit with loved ones?
  2. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  3. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  4. Convalescent plasma therapy
  5. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  6. COVID-19: How can I protect myself?
  7. Cough
  8. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  9. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  10. COVID-19 and pets
  11. COVID-19 and your mental health
  12. COVID-19 antibody testing
  13. COVID-19, cold, allergies and the flu
  14. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  15. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  16. COVID-19 (coronavirus) travel advice
  17. COVID-19 tests
  18. How well do face masks protect against coronavirus?
  19. COVID-19 vaccine: Should I reschedule my mammogram?
  20. COVID-19 vaccines for kids: What you need to know
  21. COVID-19 vaccines
  22. COVID-19 variant
  23. COVID-19 vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  24. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  25. Debunking coronavirus myths
  26. Diarrhea
  27. Different COVID-19 vaccines
  28. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  29. Fever
  30. Fever: First aid
  31. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  32. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  33. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  34. How does COVID-19 affect people with diabetes?
  35. How to take your pulse
  36. How to measure your respiratory rate
  37. How to take your temperature
  38. Loss of smell
  39. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  40. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  41. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  42. Nausea and vomiting
  43. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  44. Coronavirus infection by race
  45. Red eye
  46. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  47. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  48. Sex and COVID-19
  49. Shortness of breath
  50. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  51. Thermometers: Understand the options
  52. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  53. Treating COVID-19 at home
  54. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  55. Watery eyes
  56. Fight coronavirus (COVID-19) transmission at home
  57. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?