مناعة القطيع و كوفيد 19 (فيروس كورونا): فيما يلي ما تحتاج إلى معرفته.

اطّلع على المعلومات المتاحة حول مناعة القطيع وما تنطوي عليه من تبعات بخصوص كوفيد 19.

هل لديك تساؤلات حول الفائدة المحتملة لمناعة القطيع في إبطاء انتشاركوفيد 19؟ اطّلع على آلية تكوين مناعة القطيع وما يقوله الخبراء عن تأثيرها المحتمل على جائحة كوفيد 19.

لماذا تُعتبَر مناعة القطيع مهمة؟

تتحقق مناعة القطيع عندما تتكون مناعةٌ ضد المرض لدى نسبة كبيرة من المجتمع، مما يجعل انتقال المرض من شخص لآخر غير مرجح. ونتيجة لذلك، يُصبح المجتمع بأكمله محميًا — وليس فقط أولئك الذين لديهم مناعة.

يتطلب انتشار المرض عادةً أن تصاب به نسبة مئوية معينة من السكان. وهذا ما يسمى النسبة الدنيا. إذا تجاوزت نسبة السكان المحصَّنين ضد المرض هذه النسبة الدنيا، فسوف يتراجع انتشار المرض. ويُعرف هذا بالحد الأدنى لمناعة القطيع.

ما هي نسبة السكان الذين يجب أن تكون لديهم مناعة من أجل تحقيق مناعة القطيع؟ يختلف الأمر من مرض لآخر. كلما كان المرض معديًا أكثر، زادت نسبة السكان الذين يجب أن تتكون لديهم مناعة ضد المرض لوقف انتشاره. على سبيل المثال، الحصبة مرضٌ مُعْدٍ جدًا. تشير التقديرات إلى أن 94٪ من السكان يجب أن تكون لديهم مناعة لقطع سلسلة انتقال العدوى.

كيف يتم تحقيق مناعة القطيع؟

هناك مساران لتحقيق مناعة القطيع فيما يتعلق بكوفيد 19، وهما اللقاحات والعدوى الطبيعية.

اللقاحات

التطعيم ضد الفيروس المسبب لكوفيد 19 هو النهج المثالي لتحقيق مناعة القطيع. تخلق اللقاحات مناعة دون التسبب في المرض أو المضاعفات. إذا تحققت مناعة القطيع، فإنها ستوفر إمكانية حماية المجتمع بشكل عام من المرض، بما في ذلك الأشخاص الذين لا يمكن تطعيمهم، مثل الأطفال حديثي الولادة أو من لديهم جهاز مناعة ضعيف. باستخدام مفهوم مناعة القطيع، نجحت اللقاحات في السيطرة على العديد من الأمراض المُعدية الفتاكة، مثل الجدري وشلل الأطفال والخناق والحصبة الألمانية، وكثير من الأمراض الأخرى.

رغم ذلك، فإن محاولة تحقيق مناعة القطيع من خلال اللقاحات أمرٌ ينطوي على بعض التحديات أحيانًا. يمكن أن تتضاءل الحماية التي توفرها بعض اللقاحات بمرور الوقت، مما يتطلب إعادة التطعيم. وأحيانًا لا يحصل الأشخاص على جميع الجرعات التي يحتاجونها لتتكون لديهم حماية كاملة ضد المرض.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يمتنع بعض الناس عن تلقي اللقاحات بسبب تحفظات دينية أو بسبب خوفهم من المخاطر المحتملة أو بسبب شكهم بفوائد اللقاحات. غالبًا ما يعيش الأشخاص المعترضون على اللقاحات في نفس الأحياء السكنية أو يَحْضرون نفس الشعائر الدينية أو يرتادون نفس الجامعات أو المدارس. إذا كانت نسبة من تم تطعيمهم في مجتمع ما أقل من الحد الأدنى لتحقيق مناعة القطيع، فقد يؤدي التعرض لمرض مُعْدٍ إلى انتشاره بسرعة. عادت الحصبة إلى الظهور في الآونة الأخيرة في عدة مناطق حول العالم كانت لدى سكانها معدلات تطعيم منخفضة نسبياً، ومنها مناطق في داخل الولايات المتحدة. يمكن أن تشكل ظاهرة مناهضة اللقاحات تحديًا حقيقيًا أمام تحقيق مناعة القطيع.

العدوى الطبيعية

يمكن أيضًا الوصول إلى مناعة القطيع عندما يتعافى عدد كافٍ من السكان من المرض ويكوّنون أجسامًا مضادة تقيهم من العدوى في المستقبل. على سبيل المثال، أولئك الذين نجوا من جائحة إنفلونزا 1918 (الإنفلونزا) أصبحت لديهم لاحقًا مناعة ضد إنفلونزا H1N1، وهي نوع فرعي من الإنفلونزا A. خلال موسم الإنفلونزا 2009-2010، سببت إنفلونزا H1N1 ظهور عدوى في الجهاز التنفسي لدى البشر، وكانت تعرف بين الناس باسم إنفلونزا الخنازير.

ومع ذلك، هناك بعض المشاكل الرئيسية الكامنة في الاعتماد على عدوى المجتمع لخلق مناعة القطيع تجاه فيروس كوفيد 19. أولاً، ليس من الواضح حتى الآن ما إذا كانت الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد 19 كفيلة بتكوين مناعةً لدى الشخص ضد الإصابة بالعدوى مستقبَلًا.

تشير الأبحاث إلى أنه من الوارد الإصابة مجددًا بالعدوى بنفس الفيروس بعد عدة أشهر أو سنوات بعدَ الإصابة بفيروسات كورونا والتعافي منها، مع أن الأعراض تكون خفيفة عادة وتحدث لنسبة قليلة من الناس. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الأبحاث لتحديد التأثير الوقائي للأجسام المضادة للفيروس لدى الأشخاص الذين أصيبوا بالعدوى.

حتى إذا كانت الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد 19 كفيلة بتكوين مناعة طويلة الأمد، يجب أن يُصاب عدد كبير من الأشخاص بالعدوى للوصول إلى الحد الأدنى لتحقيق مناعة القطيع. لوقف الوباء في الولايات المتحدة، يُقَدِّرُ الخبراء أنه يجب أن يتعافى 70٪ من سكانها من كوفيد 19، أي أكثر من 200 مليون شخص. إذا أصيب كثير من الناس بكوفيد 19، فقد يفشل نظام الرعاية الصحية بسرعة في مجاراة أعداد المرضى. وقد تؤدي أعداد الإصابات هذه إلى مضاعفات خطيرة ووفاة ملايين الأشخاص، خاصة بين كبار السن والأشخاص المصابين بحالات مزمنة.

كيف يمكنك إبطاء انتقال كوفيد 19؟

إلى أن يتم تطوير لقاح لكوفيد 19، من المهم إبطاء انتشاره وحماية الأفراد المعرضين لخطر الإصابة بأعراض شديدة، بما في ذلك كبار السن، وينبغي كذلك حماية من لديهم حالات صحية كامنة مهما كانت فئتهم العمرية.للحد من خطر العدوى:

  • تجنب حضور الفعاليات والتجمعات الكبيرة.
  • تجنب المخالطة اللصيقة (ضمن مسافة 6 أقدام أو 2 متر) مع أي شخص مريض أو لديه أعراض.
  • الزم منزلك قدر الإمكان، وحافظ على وجود مسافة بينك وبين الآخرين (ضمن 6 أقدام أو 2 متر) إذا كان كوفيد 19 منتشرًا في مجتمعك، خاصة إذا كنت معرضًا بشكل أكبر لخطر الإصابة بدرجة حادة من المرض. ضع في اعتبارك أن بعض الأشخاص قد يكونون مصابين بفيروس كوفيد 19 حتى إذا لم تكن لديهم أعراض أو لم يعرفوا أنهم مصابون به أصلًا، ويمكن أن ينقلوه للآخرين.
  • اغسل يديك كثيرًا بالماء والصابون لمدة 20 ثانية على الأقل، أو استخدم مطهرًا يدويًا يحتوي على الكحول بنسبة 60٪ على الأقل.
  • ارتدِ غطاء وجه قماشي في الأماكن العامة، مثل محلات البقالة، حيث يصعب تجنب المخالطة اللصيقة بالآخرين، خاصة إذا كنت في منطقة تشهد انتشارًا محليًا للمرض. ولا تَستخدِم سوى الكمامات القماشية غير الطبية — أما بالنسبة للكمامات الجراحية وكمامات N-95، فيجب أن يَقتصر استخدامُها على مزودي الرعاية الصحية.
  • يجب تغطية الفم والأنف بالمرفق أو بمنديل عند السعال أو العطس. تخلص من المنديل بعد استخدامه.
  • تجنب لمس عينيك وأنفك وفمك.
  • تجنب مشاركة الأطباق وأكواب الشرب وأغطية الفراش والأدوات المنزلية الأخرى إذا كنت مريضاً.
  • نظّف وعقّم يوميًا الأسطحَ التي تُلمَس بكثرة، مثل مقابض الأبواب ومفاتيح الإضاءة والإلكترونيات والطاولات.
  • إذا كنت مريضًا فالزم منزلك ولا تذهب للعمل أو المدرسة أو الجامعة، وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة للأماكن العامة، إلا إذا كان ذلك بهدف الحصول على رعاية طبية. إذا كنت مريضا، تجنب وسائل النقل العام وسيارات الأجرة، بما فيها تلك التي تُطلَب عبر التطبيقات الذكية.
06/06/2020 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  2. Convalescent plasma therapy
  3. Coronavirus safety tips for going out
  4. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  5. Coronavirus: What is it and how can I protect myself?
  6. Coronavirus grief
  7. Coronavirus travel advice
  8. Cough
  9. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  10. COVID-19 and pets
  11. COVID-19 and your mental health
  12. COVID-19 antibody testing
  13. COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children
  14. COVID-19 (coronavirus): Quarantine, self-isolation and social distancing
  15. COVID-19 (coronavirus) stigma: What it is and how to reduce it
  16. COVID-19 (coronavirus) vaccine
  17. COVID-19 tests
  18. COVID-19: How much protection do face masks offer?
  19. Coping with unemployment caused by COVID-19
  20. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  21. Debunking coronavirus myths
  22. Diarrhea
  23. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  24. Fever
  25. Fever: First aid
  26. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  27. Getting safe emergency care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  28. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  29. How to take your pulse
  30. How to measure your respiratory rate
  31. How to safely go to your doctor during the COVID-19 pandemic
  32. How to take your temperature
  33. How to talk to your kids about COVID-19
  34. Loss of smell
  35. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  36. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  37. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  38. Nausea and vomiting
  39. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  40. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  41. Coronavirus infection by race
  42. Red eye
  43. Routine cancer screening during coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
  44. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  45. Sex and COVID-19
  46. Shortness of breath
  47. Skin care tips during a pandemic
  48. Stay healthy during the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic
  49. Stay on track with medications during a pandemic
  50. Telemedicine online doctor visits
  51. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  52. Thermometers: Understand the options
  53. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  54. Treating COVID-19 at home
  55. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  56. Watery eyes
  57. Fight coronavirus transmission at home
  58. Contact tracing and COVID-19: What is it and how does it work?
  59. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?

Herd immunity and COVID-19 (coronavirus): What you need to know

Understand what's known about herd immunity and what it means for coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

Curious as to whether herd immunity against the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) might slow the spread of the disease? Understand how herd immunity works and what experts are saying about its potential impact on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Why is herd immunity important?

Herd immunity occurs when a large portion of a community (the herd) becomes immune to a disease, making the spread of disease from person to person unlikely. As a result, the whole community becomes protected — not just those who are immune.

Often, a percentage of the population must be capable of getting a disease in order for it to spread. This is called a threshold proportion. If the proportion of the population that is immune to the disease is greater than this threshold, the spread of the disease will decline. This is known as the herd immunity threshold.

What percentage of a community needs to be immune in order to achieve herd immunity? It varies from disease to disease. The more contagious a disease is, the greater the proportion of the population that needs to be immune to the disease to stop its spread. For example, the measles is a highly contagious illness. It's estimated that 94% of the population must be immune to interrupt the chain of transmission.

How is herd immunity achieved?

There are two paths to herd immunity for COVID-19 — vaccines and infection.

Vaccines

A vaccine for the virus that causes COVID-19 would be an ideal approach to achieving herd immunity. Vaccines create immunity without causing illness or resulting complications. Herd immunity makes it possible to protect the population from a disease, including those who can't be vaccinated, such as newborns or those who have compromised immune systems. Using the concept of herd immunity, vaccines have successfully controlled deadly contagious diseases such as smallpox, polio, diphtheria, rubella and many others.

Reaching herd immunity through vaccination sometimes has drawbacks, though. Protection from some vaccines can wane over time, requiring revaccination. Sometimes people don't get all of the shots that they need to be completely protected from a disease.

In addition, some people may object to vaccines because of religious objections, fears about the possible risks or skepticism about the benefits. People who object to vaccines often live in the same neighborhoods or attend the same religious services or schools. If the proportion of vaccinated people in a community falls below the herd immunity threshold, exposure to a contagious disease could result in the disease quickly spreading. Measles has recently resurged in several parts of the world with relatively low vaccination rates, including the United States. Opposition to vaccines can pose a real challenge to herd immunity.

Natural infection

Herd immunity can also be reached when a sufficient number of people in the population have recovered from a disease and have developed antibodies against future infection. For example, those who survived the 1918 flu (influenza) pandemic were later immune to infection with the H1N1 flu, a subtype of influenza A. During the 2009-10 flu season, H1N1 caused the respiratory infection in humans that was commonly referred to as swine flu.

However, there are some major problems with relying on community infection to create herd immunity to the virus that causes COVID-19. First, it isn't yet clear if infection with the COVID-19 virus makes a person immune to future infection.

Research suggests that after infection with some coronaviruses, reinfection with the same virus — though usually mild and only happening in a fraction of people — is possible after a period of months or years. Further research is needed to determine the protective effect of antibodies to the virus in those who have been infected.

Even if infection with the COVID-19 virus creates long-lasting immunity, a large number of people would have to become infected to reach the herd immunity threshold. Experts estimate that in the U.S., 70% of the population — more than 200 million people — would have to recover from COVID-19 to halt the epidemic. If many people become sick with COVID-19 at once, the health care system could quickly become overwhelmed. This amount of infection could also lead to serious complications and millions of deaths, especially among older people and those who have chronic conditions.

How can you slow the transmission of COVID-19?

Until a COVID-19 vaccine is developed, it's crucial to slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus and protect individuals at increased risk of severe illness, including older adults and people of any age with underlying health conditions.To reduce the risk of infection:

  • Avoid large events and mass gatherings.
  • Avoid close contact (within about 6 feet, or 2 meters) with anyone who is sick or has symptoms.
  • Stay home as much as possible and keep distance between yourself and others (within about 6 feet, or 2 meters) if COVID-19 is spreading in your community, especially if you have a higher risk of serious illness. Keep in mind some people may have the COVID-19 virus and spread it to others, even if they don't have symptoms or don't know they have COVID-19.
  • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol.
  • Wear a cloth face covering in public spaces, such as the grocery store, where it's difficult to avoid close contact with others, especially if you're in an area with ongoing community spread. Only use nonmedical cloth masks — surgical masks and N95 respirators should be reserved for health care providers.
  • Cover your mouth and nose with your elbow or a tissue when you cough or sneeze. Throw away the used tissue.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth.
  • Avoid sharing dishes, glasses, bedding and other household items if you're sick.
  • Clean and disinfect high-touch surfaces, such as doorknobs, light switches, electronics and counters, daily.
  • Stay home from work, school and public areas if you're sick, unless you're going to get medical care. Avoid public transportation, taxis and ride-sharing if you're sick.
June 06, 2020 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  2. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  3. Cancer treatment delays due to COVID-19
  4. Safe cancer treatment during the COVID-19 pandemic
  5. Convalescent plasma therapy
  6. Coronavirus safety tips for going out
  7. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  8. Coronavirus: What is it and how can I protect myself?
  9. Coronavirus grief
  10. Coronavirus travel advice
  11. Coronavirus vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  12. Cough
  13. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  14. COVID-19 and pets
  15. COVID-19 and the risk of suicide
  16. COVID-19 antibody testing
  17. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  18. COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children
  19. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  20. COVID-19 (coronavirus) stigma: What it is and how to reduce it
  21. COVID-19 (coronavirus) vaccine
  22. COVID-19 tests
  23. COVID-19: How much protection do face masks offer?
  24. Coping with unemployment caused by COVID-19
  25. COVID-19 (coronavirus): Quarantine, self-isolation and social distancing
  26. COVID-19: Social distancing, contact tracing are critical
  27. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  28. Debunking coronavirus myths
  29. Diarrhea
  30. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  31. Surgery during the COVID-19 pandemic
  32. Fever
  33. Fever: First aid
  34. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  35. Getting safe emergency care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  36. Kids, loneliness and COVID-19
  37. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  38. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  39. How to take your pulse
  40. How to measure your respiratory rate
  41. How to safely go to your doctor during the COVID-19 pandemic
  42. How to take your temperature
  43. How to talk to your kids about COVID-19
  44. Loss of smell
  45. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  46. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  47. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  48. Nausea and vomiting
  49. Neurosurgery during the COVID-19 pandemic
  50. Parenting and special needs during a pandemic
  51. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  52. Coronavirus infection by race
  53. Red eye
  54. Routine cancer screening during coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
  55. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  56. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  57. Sex and COVID-19
  58. Shortness of breath
  59. Skin care tips during a pandemic
  60. Stay healthy during the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic
  61. Stay on track with medications during a pandemic
  62. Telemedicine online doctor visits
  63. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  64. Thermometers: Understand the options
  65. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  66. Treating COVID-19 at home
  67. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  68. Watery eyes
  69. Fight coronavirus transmission at home
  70. Contact tracing and COVID-19: What is it and how does it work?
  71. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?