كوفيد 19 والصحة العقلية

قد يشعر المرء بصعوبة السيطرة على مجريات الأمور بسبب التوتر والقلق الناجمَيْن عن كوفيد 19. وتشكل المباعدة الاجتماعية تحديًا إضافيًا. تعلم طرق التأقلم مع هذه الجائحة.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

من المحتمل أن تكون جائحة كوفيد 19 قد تسببت في عدة تغييرات في نمط حياتك، وربما أدت إلى الارتباك والضغوطات المالية والعزلة الاجتماعية وعرقلة الروتين اليومي. قد تقلق من الإصابة بالمرض وإزاء مدة استمرار الجائحة وإمكانية فقدان وظيفتك وما يخبئه المستقبل. يمكن أن تؤدي كثرة المعلومات والشائعات والمعلومات الخاطئة إلى الشعور بفقد السيطرة وإرباك الناس حيال ما يجب فعله.

خلال جائحة كوفيد 19، قد ينتابك التوتر والقلق والخوف والحزن والشعور بالوحدة. كما يمكن أن تتفاقم اضطرابات الصحة العقلية، بما في ذلك القلق والاكتئاب.

تُظْهِرُ الاستبيانات زيادة كبيرة في أعداد البالغين الأمريكيين الذين يُبْلِغون عن إصابتهم بأعراض التوتر والقلق والاكتئاب خلال الجائحة، وذلك مقارنة باستبيانات الفترة السابقة للجائحة. وقد زاد إقبال بعض الناس على الكحول والمخدرات اعتقادًا منهم بأنها ستساعدهم في التأقلم مع مخاوفهم بخصوص الجائحة. يمكن في الواقع أن يؤدي استخدام هذه المواد إلى تفاقم التوتر والاكتئاب.

فالأشخاص المصابون باضطرابات تعاطي المواد، وخاصةً المدمنون على التبغ والأفيونيات، أكثر عرضة من غيرهم للعواقب السيئة في حال إصابتهم بكوفيد 19. وذلك لأن أشكال التعاطي هذه يمكن أن تضر وظائف الرئة وتضعف جهاز المناعة وتسبب حالات مزمنة مثل مرض القلب ومرض الرئة، مما يزيد احتمال الإصابة بأعراض خطيرة في حال التعرض لكوفيد 19.

ولهذه الأسباب جميعها، من الضروري تعلُّم استراتيجيات الرعاية الذاتية، والحصول على الرعاية التي تحتاجها لمساعدتك على التأقلم.

إستراتيجيات الرعاية الذاتية

إستراتيجيات الرعاية الذاتية مفيدة لصحتك العقلية والبدنية، ويمكن أن تساعدك في السيطرة على مسار حياتك. اعتنِ بجسمك وعقلك وتواصَل مع الآخرين من أجل صحتك العقلية.

اعتن بجسمك

انتبه لصحتك الجسدية:

  • احصل على قسط كافٍ من النوم. التزم بمواعيد ثابتة للنوم والاستيقاظ كل يوم. التزم بجدولك المعتاد قدر الإمكان، حتى في حال بقائك في المنزل.
  • مارس الأنشطة البدنية بانتظام. يمكن للنشاط البدني المنتظم وممارسة الرياضة أن يساعداك في تخفيف القلق وتحسين المزاج. جد نشاطًا يساعدك على تحريك جسمك، مثل استخدام تطبيقات الرقص أو التمرين. توجَّه إلى منطقة خارجية يَسهل فيها الالتزام بالتباعد عن الآخرين، مثل المناطق الطبيعية أو حديقتك المنزلية.
  • تناوَل أطعمة صحية. اتبع نظامًا غذائيًا متوازنًا. تجنب الإكثار من الوجبات السريعة والسكر المكرر. قلل من الكافيين لأنه قد يؤدي إلى تفاقم التوتر والقلق.
  • تجنب التبغ والكحول والمخدرات. إذا كنت تدخن التبغ أو السجائر الإلكترونية، فأنت في الأصل أكثر عرضةً للإصابة بأمراض الرئة. ونظرًا لأن كوفيد 19 يؤثر على الرئتين، فإن درجة اختطارك ستكون أعلى أصلًا. يمكن أن يؤدي تعاطي الكحول بحجة التأقلم إلى تفاقم الأمور والإخلال بقدرتك على التأقلم. تجنب تناول العقاقير المخدرة بهدف التأقلم، باستثناء الأدوية التي وصفها لك الطبيب.
  • قلِّل مشاهدة شاشات الأجهزة الإلكترونية. أغلق الأجهزة الإلكترونية لبعض الوقت كل يوم، إضافة إلى إغلاقها قبل النوم بـ 30 دقيقة. احرص على تقليل الوقت الذي تقضيه أمام شاشات التلفاز والحاسوب والهواتف والأجهزة اللوحية.
  • استرخِ وجدد طاقتك. خصص بعض الوقت لنفسك. حتى بضع دقائق من الهدوء يمكن أن تنشطك وتمنحك السَكينة وتقلل من قلقك. يستفيد العديد من الأشخاص من بعض الممارسات، مثل التنفس العميق أو التاي تشي أو اليوغا أو التأمل. استمتع بحمام فقاعي، أو استمع إلى الموسيقى، أو اقرأ كتابًا أو استمع إلى كتاب مسجَّل — أو أي عمل آخر يساعدك على الاسترخاء. اختر أسلوبًا أثبت فعاليته معك ومارسه بانتظام.

اعتن بعقلك

تجنب محفزات التوتر:

  • حافظ على روتينك المعتاد. إن اتباع جدول منتظم مهمٌ لصحتك العقلية. بالإضافة إلى الالتزام بأوقات نوم منتظمة، حافظ على أوقات ثابتة للوجبات والاستحمام وارتداء الملابس ومهمات العمل أو الدراسة والرياضة. خصص أيضًا بعض الوقت للأنشطة التي تستمتع بها. تعزز القدرة على التنبؤ شعورك بأن الأمور تحت السيطرة.
  • قلل متابعتك للأخبار. إن سيل الأخبار المتواصلة حول كوفيد 19 من جميع أنواع الوسائل الإعلامية قد يزيد الخوف من المرض. قلل أيضا من استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التي قد تنتشر فيها الشائعات والمعلومات الكاذبة. قلل أيضًا من قراءة مصادر الأخبار الأخرى أو مشاهدتها أو الاستماع إليها، ولكن ابق على اطلاع على التوجيهات الرسمية الوطنية والمحلية. احرص على أخذ المعلومات من مصادر موثوقة مثل مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) ومنظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO).
  • جد ما تشغل نفسك به. يمكن للانشغال أن يُخرجك من دائرة الأفكار السلبية التي تغذي القلق والاكتئاب. استمتع بالهوايات التي يمكنك القيام بها في المنزل، أو ابدأ مشروعًا جديدًا، أو نظف الخزانة التي طالما رغبت بالتفرغ لها. إن القيام بشيء إيجابي للسيطرة على التوتر هو استراتيجية صحية للتأقلم.
  • ركز على الأفكار الإيجابية. اختر التركيز على الأشياء الإيجابية في حياتك، بدلًا من التركيز على مدى انزعاجك. ونقترح أن تبدأ يومك بسرد الأمور التي تشعر بالامتنان لوجودها في حياتك. حافظ على تفاؤلك، وتقبَّل التغييرات عند حدوثها، وحاول وضع المشاكل في نصابها.
  • استمد العزم من بوصلتك الأخلاقية أو قيمك الروحية. حين تستمد القوة من المبادئ التي تؤمن بها، فقد تجلب لك الراحة في الأوقات الصعبة.
  • حدد أولوياتك. لا تكلف نفسك أكثر من طاقتها بإعداد قائمة تضم تغييرات حياتية كبيرة ترغب بتحقيقها خلال وجودك في المنزل. حدد أهدافًا معقولة كل يوم، وحدد الخطوات التي يمكنك اتخاذها للوصول إلى تلك الأهداف. امنح نفسك الثقة بعد كل خطوة تخطوها في الاتجاه الصحيح مهما بدت صغيرة في نظرك. ستكون بعض الأيام أفضل من غيرها.

تواصَل مع الآخرين

احرص على بناء أواصر الدعم وتعزيز العلاقات:

  • تواصَل. إذا احتجت للبقاء في المنزل والابتعاد عن الآخرين، فتجنب العزلة الاجتماعية. خصص بعضًا من الوقت يوميًا للتواصل الرقمي من خلال البريد الإلكتروني أو الرسائل النصية أو الهاتف أو تطبيقات مكالمات الفيديو أو التطبيقات المشابهة. إذا كنت تعمل عن بُعد في المنزل، فاطمئن على زملائك في العمل وتبادَل معهم النصائح حول كيفية التأقلم. استمتع بالتواصل الاجتماعي الافتراضي وبالتحدث مع المتواجدين معك في المنزل.
  • قدم المعروف للآخرين. حاول إيجاد السعادة من خلال مساعدة الآخرين من حولك. على سبيل المثال، اطمئن على أصدقائك وعائلتك وجيرانك من خلال البريد الإلكتروني أو الرسائل النصية أو المكالمات الهاتفية — خاصةً كبار السن. إذا كنت تعرف شخصًا لا يستطيع مغادرة المنزل، اسأله عما يحتاجه، مثل إحضار المواد التموينية أو الأدوية. احرص على اتباع توصيات مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها ومنظمة الصحة العالمية وحكومتك بخصوص التباعد الاجتماعي والقيود على التجمعات.
  • ساند أسرتك أو أصدقاءك. إذا احتاج فرد من عائلتك أو صديقك إلى العزل لأسباب تتعلق بالسلامة، أو في حال مرضه وحاجته للحجر الصحي في المنزل أو في المستشفى، فجد طرقًا للبقاء على تواصل معه. يمكن أن يكون ذلك من خلال الأجهزة الإلكترونية أو الهاتف أو عن طريق إرسال عبارات لرفع المعنويات مثلًا.

التمييز بين ردود الطبيعية وغير الطبيعية

التوتر رد فعل نفسي وجسدي طبيعي تجاه متطلبات الحياة. يستجيب كل شخص بشكل مختلف للمواقف الصعبة، ومن الطبيعي أن تشعر بالتوتر والقلق أثناء الأزمات. لكن قد تؤدي تحديات يومية متعددة، مثل آثار جائحة كورونا، إلى صعوبة كبيرة في التأقلم.

قد تكون هناك آثار متعلقة بالصحة العقلية لدى العديد من الناس، مثل التوتر والاكتئاب في هذه الأوقات. وقد تتغير المشاعر بمرور الوقت.

حتى عندما تبذل أقصى ما بوسعك للسيطرة على مشاعرك، قد تشعر بالعجز أو الحزن أو الغضب أو الانفعال أو اليأس أو القلق أو الخوف. قد تجد صعوبةً في التركيز على المهام الاعتيادية، أو تواجه تغيرات في الشهية، أو آلامًا وأوجاعًا، أو صعوبةً في النوم.

عندما تستمر هذه العلامات والأعراض لأيام متتالية وتجعلك تعيسًا وتسبب لك المشاكل في حياتك اليومية وتعرقل تنفيذك لمسؤولياتك الاعتيادية، يكون الوقت قد حان لطلب المساعدة.

اطلب المساعدة عندما تحتاج إليها

إنَّ تَرَقُّبَ اختفاء مشاكل الصحة العقلية مثل القلق والاكتئاب من تلقاء نفسها قد يؤدي لتفاقم أعراضها. إذا كانت لديك مخاوف معينة أو إذا شعرت بتفاقم أعراض الصحة العقلية، فاطلب المساعدة عندما تحتاج إليها، وكن صريحًا بشأن حالتك. للحصول على المساعدة ، قد تحتاج إلى:

  • الاتصال هاتفيًا أو عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مع صديق مقرب أو أحد أحبائك، حتى وإن كان من الصعب التحدث عن مشاعرك.
  • تواصل مع القسيس أو المرشد الروحي أو مع شخص تثق به في المجموعة الإيمانية التي تنتمي إليها.
  • اتصل ببرنامج مساعدة الموظفين، إذا كان رب العمل يوفر هذه الميزة، واطلب المشورة أو الإحالة إلى اختصاصي الصحة العقلية.
  • اتصل بمقدم الرعاية الأولية أو اختصاصي الصحة العقلية للاستفسار عن الخيارات المتاحة للحصول على المشورة الطبية بهدف التحدث عن القلق أو الاكتئاب وللحصول على النصح والتوجيه. قد يوفر البعض إمكانية تقديم المشورة عبر الهاتف أو الفيديو أو الإنترنت.
  • تَواصَل مع منظمات معينة مثل التحالف الوطني للأمراض العقلية (NAMI) أو إدارة خدمات الصحة العقلية وحالات تعاطي المخدرات (SAMHSA) للحصول على المساعدة والتوجيه.

إذا راودتك أفكار انتحارية أو كنت تفكر في إلحاق الأذى بنفسك فاطلب المساعدة. اتصل بمزود الرعاية الأولية أو اختصاصي الصحة العقلية. أو اتصل بالخط الساخن المخصص لمنع الانتحار. في الولايات المتحدة، اتصل بالخط الوطني الساخن لمنع حالات الانتحار على ‎1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255)‎ أو تواصل معهم من خلال نظام الدردشة على الرابط التالي: suicidepreventionlifeline.org/chat

استمر في تطبيق استراتيجيات الرعاية الذاتية

يُتوقع أن تتلاشى مشاعرك القوية الحالية عندما تنتهي الجائحة، لكن التوتر لن يختفي من حياتك بانتهاء أزمة كوفيد 19 الصحية. استمر في تطبيق ممارسات الرعاية الذاتية هذه للاعتناء بصحتك العقلية وزيادة قدرتك على التعامل مع تحديات الحياة المستمرة.

19/10/2020 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  2. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  3. Cancer treatment delays due to COVID-19
  4. Safe cancer treatment during the COVID-19 pandemic
  5. Convalescent plasma therapy
  6. Coronavirus safety tips for going out
  7. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  8. Coronavirus: What is it and how can I protect myself?
  9. Coronavirus grief
  10. Coronavirus travel advice
  11. Coronavirus vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  12. Cough
  13. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  14. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  15. COVID-19 and pets
  16. COVID-19 and the risk of suicide
  17. COVID-19 antibody testing
  18. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  19. COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children
  20. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  21. COVID-19 (coronavirus) stigma: What it is and how to reduce it
  22. COVID-19 (coronavirus) vaccine
  23. COVID-19 tests
  24. COVID-19: How much protection do face masks offer?
  25. Coping with unemployment caused by COVID-19
  26. COVID-19 (coronavirus): Quarantine, self-isolation and social distancing
  27. COVID-19: Social distancing, contact tracing are critical
  28. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  29. Debunking coronavirus myths
  30. Diarrhea
  31. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  32. Surgery during the COVID-19 pandemic
  33. Fever
  34. Fever: First aid
  35. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  36. Getting safe emergency care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  37. Kids, loneliness and COVID-19
  38. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  39. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  40. How to take your pulse
  41. How to measure your respiratory rate
  42. How to safely go to your doctor during the COVID-19 pandemic
  43. How to take your temperature
  44. How to talk to your kids about COVID-19
  45. Loss of smell
  46. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  47. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  48. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  49. Nausea and vomiting
  50. Neurosurgery during the COVID-19 pandemic
  51. Parenting and special needs during a pandemic
  52. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  53. Coronavirus infection by race
  54. Red eye
  55. Routine cancer screening during coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
  56. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  57. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  58. Sex and COVID-19
  59. Shortness of breath
  60. Skin care tips during a pandemic
  61. Stay healthy during the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic
  62. Stay on track with medications during a pandemic
  63. Telemedicine online doctor visits
  64. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  65. Thermometers: Understand the options
  66. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  67. Treating COVID-19 at home
  68. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  69. Watery eyes
  70. Fight coronavirus transmission at home
  71. Contact tracing and COVID-19: What is it and how does it work?
  72. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?

COVID-19 and your mental health

Worries and anxiety about COVID-19 and its impact can be overwhelming. Social distancing makes it even more challenging. Learn ways to cope during this pandemic.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

The COVID-19 pandemic may have brought many changes to how you live your life, and with it, at times, uncertainty, altered daily routines, financial pressures and social isolation. You may worry about getting sick, how long the pandemic will last, whether your job will be affected and what the future will bring. Information overload, rumors and misinformation can make your life feel out of control and make it unclear what to do.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, you may experience stress, anxiety, fear, sadness and loneliness. And mental health disorders, including anxiety and depression, can worsen.

Surveys show a major increase in the number of U.S. adults who report symptoms of stress, anxiety, depression and insomnia during the pandemic, compared with surveys before the pandemic. Some people have increased their use of alcohol or drugs, thinking that can help them cope with their fears about the pandemic. In reality, using these substances can worsen anxiety and depression.

People with substance use disorders, notably those addicted to tobacco or opioids, are likely to have worse outcomes if they get COVID-19. That's because these addictions can harm lung function and weaken the immune system, causing chronic conditions such as heart disease and lung disease, which increase the risk of serious complications from COVID-19.

For all of these reasons, it's important to learn self-care strategies and get the care you need to help you cope.

Self-care strategies

Self-care strategies are good for your mental and physical health and can help you take charge of your life. Take care of your body and your mind and connect with others to benefit your mental health.

Take care of your body

Be mindful about your physical health:

  • Get enough sleep. Go to bed and get up at the same times each day. Stick close to your typical sleep-wake schedule, even if you're staying at home.
  • Participate in regular physical activity. Regular physical activity and exercise can help reduce anxiety and improve mood. Find an activity that includes movement, such as dance or exercise apps. Get outside, such as a nature trail or your own backyard.
  • Eat healthy. Choose a well-balanced diet. Avoid loading up on junk food and refined sugar. Limit caffeine as it can aggravate stress, anxiety and sleep problems.
  • Avoid tobacco, alcohol and drugs. If you smoke tobacco or if you vape, you're already at higher risk of lung disease. Because COVID-19 affects the lungs, your risk increases even more. Using alcohol to try to cope can make matters worse and reduce your coping skills. Avoid taking drugs to cope, unless your doctor prescribed medications for you.
  • Limit screen time. Turn off electronic devices for some time each day, including 30 to 60 minutes before bedtime. Make a conscious effort to spend less time in front of a screen — television, tablet, computer and phone.
  • Relax and recharge. Set aside time for yourself. Even a few minutes of quiet time can be refreshing and help to settle your mind and reduce anxiety. Many people benefit from practices such as deep breathing, tai chi, yoga, mindfulness or meditation. Soak in a bubble bath, listen to music, or read or listen to a book — whatever helps you relax. Select a technique that works for you and practice it regularly.

Take care of your mind

Reduce stress triggers:

  • Keep your regular routine. Maintaining a regular daily schedule is important to your mental health. In addition to sticking to a regular bedtime routine, keep consistent times for meals, bathing and getting dressed, work or study schedules, and exercise. Also set aside time for activities you enjoy. This predictability can make you feel more in control.
  • Limit exposure to news media. Constant news about COVID-19 from all types of media can heighten fears about the disease. Limit social media that may expose you to rumors and false information. Also limit reading, hearing or watching other news, but keep up to date on national and local recommendations. Look for reliable sources, such as the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the World Health Organization (WHO).
  • Stay busy. Healthy distractions can get you away from the cycle of negative thoughts that feed anxiety and depression. Enjoy hobbies that you can do at home, such as reading a book, writing in a journal, making a craft, playing games or cooking a new meal. Or identify a new project or clean out that closet you promised you'd get to. Doing something positive to manage anxiety is a healthy coping strategy.
  • Focus on positive thoughts. Choose to focus on the positive things in your life, instead of dwelling on how bad you feel. Consider starting each day by listing things you are thankful for. Maintain a sense of hope, work to accept changes as they occur and try to keep problems in perspective.
  • Use your moral compass or spiritual life for support. If you draw strength from a belief system, it can bring you comfort during difficult and uncertain times.
  • Set priorities. Don't become overwhelmed by creating a life-changing list of things to achieve while you're home. Set reasonable goals each day and outline steps you can take to reach those goals. Give yourself credit for every step in the right direction, no matter how small. And recognize that some days will be better than others.

Connect with others

Build support and strengthen relationships:

  • Make connections. If you work remotely from home or you need to isolate yourself from others for a period of time due to COVID-19, avoid social isolation. Find time each day to make virtual connections by email, texts, phone or video chat. If you're working remotely from home, ask your co-workers how they're doing and share coping tips. Enjoy virtual socializing and talking to those in your home.

    If you're not fully vaccinated, be creative and safe when connecting with others in person, such as going for walks, chatting in the driveway and other outdoor activities, or wearing a mask for indoor activities.

    If you are fully vaccinated, you can more safely return to many indoor and outdoor activities you may not have been able to do because of the pandemic, such as gathering with friends and family. However, if you are in an area with a high number of new COVID-19 cases in the last week, the CDC recommends wearing a mask indoors in public or outdoors in crowded areas or in close contact with unvaccinated people. For unvaccinated people, outdoor activities that allow plenty of space between you and others pose a lower risk of spread of the COVID-19 virus than indoor activities do.

  • Do something for others. Find purpose in helping the people around you. Helping others is an excellent way to help ourselves. For example, email, text or call to check on your friends, family members and neighbors — especially those who are older. If you know someone who can't get out, ask if there's something needed, such as groceries or a prescription picked up.
  • Support a family member or friend. If a family member or friend needs to be quarantined at home or in the hospital due to COVID-19, come up with ways to stay in contact. This could be through electronic devices or the telephone or by sending a note to brighten the day, for example.

Avoid stigma and discrimination

Stigma can make people feel isolated and even abandoned. They may feel depressed, hurt and angry when friends and others in their community avoid them for fear of getting COVID-19.

Stigma harms people's health and well-being in many ways. Stigmatized groups may often be deprived of the resources they need to care for themselves and their families during a pandemic. And people who are worried about being stigmatized may be less likely to get medical care.

People who have experienced stigma related to COVID-19 include people of Asian descent, health care workers, people with COVID-19 and those released from quarantine. People who are stigmatized may be excluded or shunned, treated differently, denied job and educational opportunities, and be targets of verbal, emotional and physical abuse.

You can reduce stigma by:

  • Getting the facts about COVID-19 from reputable sources such as the CDC and WHO
  • Speaking up if you hear or see inaccurate statements about COVID-19 and certain people or groups
  • Reaching out to people who feel stigmatized
  • Showing support for health care workers

Recognize what's typical and what's not

Stress is a normal psychological and physical reaction to the demands of life. Everyone reacts differently to difficult situations, and it's normal to feel stress and worry during a crisis. But multiple challenges, such as the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, can push you beyond your ability to cope.

Many people may have mental health concerns, such as symptoms of anxiety and depression during this time. And feelings may change over time.

Despite your best efforts, you may find yourself feeling helpless, sad, angry, irritable, hopeless, anxious or afraid. You may have trouble concentrating on typical tasks, changes in appetite, body aches and pains, or difficulty sleeping or you may struggle to face routine chores.

When these signs and symptoms last for several days in a row, make you miserable and cause problems in your daily life so that you find it hard to carry out normal responsibilities, it's time to ask for help.

Get help when you need it

Hoping mental health problems such as anxiety or depression will go away on their own can lead to worsening symptoms. If you have concerns or if you experience worsening of mental health symptoms, ask for help when you need it, and be upfront about how you're doing. To get help you may want to:

  • Call or use social media to contact a close friend or loved one — even though it may be hard to talk about your feelings.
  • Contact a minister, spiritual leader or someone in your faith community.
  • Contact your employee assistance program, if your employer has one, and ask for counseling or a referral to a mental health professional.
  • Call your primary care provider or mental health professional to ask about appointment options to talk about your anxiety or depression and get advice and guidance. Some may provide the option of phone, video or online appointments.
  • Contact organizations such as the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), or the Anxiety and Depression Association of America for help and guidance on information and treatment options.

If you're feeling suicidal or thinking of hurting yourself, seek help. Contact your primary care provider or a mental health professional. Or call a suicide hotline. In the U.S., call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255) or use its webchat at suicidepreventionlifeline.org/chat.

Continue your self-care strategies

You can expect your current strong feelings to fade when the pandemic is over, but stress won't disappear from your life when the health crisis of COVID-19 ends. Continue these self-care practices to take care of your mental health and increase your ability to cope with life's ongoing challenges.

Nov. 23, 2021 See more In-depth

See also

  1. After COVID-19 vaccination: Is it OK to visit with loved ones?
  2. Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) spread through food, water, surfaces and pets?
  3. COVID-19 and vitamin D
  4. Convalescent plasma therapy
  5. Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)
  6. COVID-19: How can I protect myself?
  7. Cough
  8. Herd immunity and coronavirus
  9. COVID-19 and high blood pressure
  10. COVID-19 and pets
  11. COVID-19 antibody testing
  12. COVID-19, cold, allergies and the flu
  13. COVID-19 (coronavirus) drugs: Are there any that work?
  14. COVID-19 (coronavirus) in babies and children
  15. Long-term effects of COVID-19
  16. COVID-19 (coronavirus) travel advice
  17. COVID-19 tests
  18. How well do face masks protect against coronavirus?
  19. COVID-19 vaccine: Should I reschedule my mammogram?
  20. COVID-19 vaccines for kids: What you need to know
  21. COVID-19 vaccines
  22. COVID-19 variant
  23. COVID-19 vs. flu: Similarities and differences
  24. COVID-19: Who's at higher risk of serious symptoms?
  25. Debunking coronavirus myths
  26. Diarrhea
  27. Different COVID-19 vaccines
  28. Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO)
  29. Fever
  30. Fever: First aid
  31. Fever treatment: Quick guide to treating a fever
  32. Honey: An effective cough remedy?
  33. How do COVID-19 antibody tests differ from diagnostic tests?
  34. How does COVID-19 affect people with diabetes?
  35. How to take your pulse
  36. How to measure your respiratory rate
  37. How to take your temperature
  38. Loss of smell
  39. Mayo Clinic Minute: You're washing your hands all wrong
  40. Mayo Clinic Minute: How dirty are common surfaces?
  41. Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
  42. Nausea and vomiting
  43. Pregnancy and COVID-19
  44. Coronavirus infection by race
  45. Red eye
  46. Safe outdoor activities during the COVID-19 pandemic
  47. Safety tips for returning to school during COVID-19
  48. Sex and COVID-19
  49. Shortness of breath
  50. Teleworking during the coronavirus
  51. Thermometers: Understand the options
  52. Video: Travel safely for medical care during the COVID-19 pandemic
  53. Treating COVID-19 at home
  54. Unusual symptoms of coronavirus
  55. Watery eyes
  56. Fight coronavirus (COVID-19) transmission at home
  57. What's causing my infant's diarrhea?