نهج Mayo Clinic

فريق من الأطباء والعاملين في مناقشة. فريق زراعة القلب في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

فريق من الأطباء وغيرهم من الموظفين يعملون معًا ويناقشون الرعاية للأشخاص الذين قد يحتاجون إلى عملية زراعة القلب.

نهج الفريق متعدد التخصصات

في Mayo Clinic، يتعاون الأطباء المُدربين على أمراض القلب (أخصائيو أمراض القلب)، وجراحة القلب والرئة (جراحو القلب والصدر)، وإدارة الأمراض المُعدية، وحالات الصحة العقلية (أطباء نفسيون)، وأخصائيون آخرون كفريق متعدد التخصصات لنوفر لك رعاية منسقة وشاملة. يعمل الأطباء يدًا بيدٍ مع محترفي الرعاية الصحية في العديد من المحالات من أجل ما يخصك من تقييم، وإجراء لزراعة القلب، وتنسيق رعاية المتابعة.

صورة لأخصائيي الرعاية الصحية في العديد من التخصصات الطبية. أدوار فريق الرعاية

يتعاون أخصائيو الرعاية الصحية المدربون في عدة تخصصات طبية سويًا كفريق لضمان تحقيق نتائج إيجابية من زراعة القلب لديك.

يعمل أطباء أمراض القلب للأطفال وجراحين القلب للأطفال وغيرهم من المتخصصين معا لتقييم وعلاج الأطفال الذين قد يحتاجون إلى عملية زراعة القلب في فرع Mayo Clinic في ولاية مينيسوتا. في Mayo Clinic في أريزونا، يشارك أطباء القلب مستشفى Phoenix Children في علاج المراهقين والشباب المصابين بمرض خلقي في القلب.

الخبرة في مجال عمليات زراعة الأعضاء المتعددة

يتمتع أطباء وجراحو Mayo Clinic بخبرة في تقييم ومعالجة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالات مرضية معقدة والذين قد يحتاجون إلى عمليات زراعة أعضاء متعددة. يتمتع الجراحون بخبرة في إجراء عمليات زراعة أعضاء متعددة، مثل القلب والكلى والقلب والكبد وزراعة القلب والرئة. ويتعاون فريق من الأطباء المدربين في مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات في مركز زرع Mayo Clinic لعلاج الناس الذين قد يحتاجون إلى عمليات زراعة أعضاء متعددة.

خبرة في الداء النشواني

يتمتع أطباء Mayo بخبرة ومعرفة هائلة في تقييم مرضى الداء النشواني وعلاجهم.

الداء النشواني هو مرض نادر يحدث عندما تتراكم مادة تسمى الأميلويد في أعضاء الجسم. الداء النشواني يمكن أن يؤثر على وظيفة عدة أعضاء في الجسم.

إذا كان للداء النشواني تأثير خطير على قلبك، فقد تكون مؤهلا لعملية زراعة قلب أو زراعة كبد وقلب معًا. يقوم أطباء Mayo والفريق المعالج لك بتقييم حالتك وتحديد ما إذا كانت زراعة القلب أو غيرها هي الأنسب لحالتك. يتمتع الأطباء في Mayo Clinic بخبرة في علاج الداء النشواني باستخدام الكثير من أساليب العلاج، منها زراعة القلب لمَن هم مؤهلون لذلك.

النهج المخصص لكل شخص على حدة

يستغرق أطباء Mayo Clinic وقتهم للتعرف عليك والعمل معك لتوفير الرعاية التي تحتاج إليها بالضبط. سوف يعمل أطباؤك وفريق الزراعة الخاص بك معك ويناقشون احتياجاتك ورغباتك الفردية ونمط حياتك الخاص لتحديد أنسب علاج لك.

وبناءً على حالتك واحتياجاتك الفردية، قد يوصي أطباؤك وفريق الزراعة بإجراء زراعة قلب أو علاجات أخرى، مثل جهاز مساعدة بطينية.

طبيبان يتناقشان. يتعاون أطباء Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك) لتوفير الرعاية

يتعاون أطباء Mayo (مايو) كفريق لرعاية الأشخاص الذين قد يكونون بحاجة إلى عملية زراعة قلب.

توصيات مشتركة والعلاج في جميع مواقع Mayo Clinic

يقوم فريق عمليات الزراعة في فروع Mayo Clinic في ولايات أريزونا، وفلوريدا، ومينيسوتا بتقييم حالة المرضى الذين قد يحتاجون إلى عمليات زرع الرئة وعلاجهم. تقدم Mayo Clinic توصيات مشتركة، وعمليات التقييم والعلاج والرعاية لما بعد الجراحة ورعاية المتابعة لمرشحي زرع الرئة في فروع Mayo Clinic في أريزونا وفلوريدا ومينيسوتا. تستخدم Mayo Clinic التكنولوجيا للمساعدة في جعل معلومات المريض متاحة حسب الحاجة في جميع المواقع الثلاثة.

ينسق طاقم Mayo Clinic الرعاية حسب الحاجة بين الثلاثة مواقع. قد يتم تقييمك لعملية زرع قلب في موقع Mayo Clinic، ولكن قد تخضع لعملية زرع قلب في مكان آخر إذا كان ذلك في مصلحتك الفضلى. إذا كنت تحصل على التقييم الخاص بك وجراحة الزراعة في مواقع مختلفة، فطاقم Mayo من كلا الموقعين يتعاون كفريق واحد لتزويدك بالرعاية الشاملة خلال عملية الزراعة.

البحث والابتكار

يجري باحثو Mayo Clinic العاملون في مركز زراعات الأعضاء الدراسات المستمرة والتجارب السريرية لتحسين العمليات الجراحية، بما يحسن النتائج والرعاية المقدمة للمرضي الذين يحتاجون إلى عمليات الزراعة. وتدرس الأبحاث أيضًا أشكال العلاج البديلة للمرضى الذين قد لا يحتاجون إلى عملية زراعة.

كما يدرس باحثو Mayo الأدوية والعلاجات للمرضى الذين خضعوا لعمليات زراعة القلب، بما في ذلك الأدوية الجديدة (الأدوية المثبطة للمناعة) لمنع جسمك من رفض القلب المزروع.

على سبيل المثال، درس أطباء Mayo استخدام دواء سيروليموس (رابامون) كمثبط مناعي للمرضى الذين خضعوا لعمليات زراعة القلب. قد يوصي أطباء Mayo Clinic أن يستخدم بعض المرضى سيروليموس بدلا من مثبطات الكالسينيورين. قد يحتاج بعض المرضى إلى المداومة على استخدام مثبطات الكالسينيورين مع سيروليموس، لكن قد يتم خفض جرعة مثبطات الكالسينيورين.

قد يساعد سيروليموس على عدم تفاقم مشاكل الكلى بشكل سريع أو تحسين وظائف الكلى. كما أنه قد يمنع أو يبطئ تفاقم أي مرض يمكن أن يحدث بعد عملية زراعة القلب، وهي الحالة التي تُعرف باعتلال الأوعية الدموية للقلب المزروع. في هذه الحالة، يزيد سمك جدران الشرايين في قلبك (الشرايين التاجية) وتزداد صلابة، مما يسبب تدفقًا محدودًا للدم عبر القلب.

يستخدم أطباء Mayo Clinic أيضًا إجراء الفحوص المبتكرة بالأشعة التصويرية للكشف عن العلامات التي تشير إلى حدوث مضاعفات في الشرايين التاجية الخاصة بك بعد زراعة القلب، مثل اعتلال الأوعية الدموية للقلب المزروع.

على سبيل المثال، قد يستخدم أطباء Mayo تصوير التماسك البصري المقطعي (OCT) — فحص بالأشعة التصويرية يستخدم الموجات الضوئية لتوفير صور مقطعية للشرايين — لرصد علامات وجود ضيق أو انسداد في الشرايين التاجية. في Mayo Clinic، يمكن استخدام تصوير التماسك البصري المقطعي في بعض الأحيان مع تصوير الأوعية التاجية للكشف عن مرض الشريان التاجي.

يقف طبيب بجانب شخص ويجري اختبار التصوير استخدام اختبارات التصوير للكشف عن أي أمراض بالشريان التاجي

قد يستخدم الأطباء في Mayo (مايو) اختبارات التصوير، مثل التصوير المقطعي للاتساق البصري (OCT)؛ وذلك للبحث عن علامات تدل على ضيق في الشرايين التاجية وانسدادها.

الخبرة وتصنيفات

فريق من الأطباء والعاملين في مناقشة. فريق زراعة القلب في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

يعمل الأطباء مع أطباء وطاقم طبي في تخصصات متعددة لتقديم رعاية زراعة قلب.

خبرة التعامل مع أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية

يتمتع أطباء القلب وجراحو القلب والصدر في Mayo Clinic بخبرة كبيرة في تشخيص وعلاج الأفراد الذين يعانون من قصور قلبي وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية الأخرى. يعتني الأطباء والجراحون بأكثر من 200,000 فرد يعانون من أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية سنويًا.

تشتمل كل من مقرات Mayo Clinic في أريزونا، وفلوريدا، ومينيسوتا على عيادة قصور القلب يديرها فريق من أطباء أمراض القلب وأخصائيون آخرون مدربون على تقييم وعلاج القصور القلبي.

خبرة في المجال الجراحي

لقد أجرى جراحو زراعة القلب في Mayo Clinic مئات العمليات باستخدام أحدث التقنيات منذ بدء برنامج زراعة القلب في عام 1988.

وتُعتبر نتائج Mayo Clinic في عمليات زراعة القلب واعدة مقارنةً بمتوسط المعدل الوطني. تعرَّف على المزيد عن قدر عمليات زراعة القلب ونتائجها في Mayo Clinic.

جراحان يتناقشان في غرفة عمليات. جراحو القلب في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

يعمل جراحو القلب في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك) معًا لتقديم رعاية للأفراد الذين يحتاجون إلى زراعات قلب.

تجربة مرضى زراعة القلب

تشير دراسات مستقلة لتجارب المرضى إلى أن عددًا كبيرًا من مرضى Mayo Clinic ممن يخضعون لرعاية فريق زراعة القلب يشعرون بالرضا التام حيال الرعاية التي يتلقونها ويوصون آخرين بإجراء الممارسة نفسها.

خبرة معترف بها على الصعيد الوطني

تم تصنيف مُجمعات Mayo Clinic في روشيستر في ولاية مينيسوتا وفي فينيكس/سكوتديل في ولاية أريزونا وفي جاكسونفيل في ولاية فلوريدا في مراتب أفضل المستشفيات في مجال أمراض وجراحة القلب وفقاً لمؤسسة U.S. News & World Report. وتم تصنيف مركز Mayo Clinic للأطفال في روشيستر في مينيسوتا ضمن مراتب أفضل مستشفيات الأطفال المتخصصة في علاج أمراض وجراحة القلب حسب مؤسسة U.S. News & World Report.

نظراً للتركيز الذي تضعه Mayo Clinic على الرعاية التعاونية يتفاعل الأخصائيون في كل مقر من مقراتها — الكائنة في ولايات مينيسوتا وأريزونا وفلوريدا — بعناية فائقة مع الزملاء في المقرات الأخرى وفي منظومة Mayo Clinic الصحية.

القدرات والنتائج

 

تؤدي خبرة أطباء Mayo Clinic ونهج الفريق المتكامل إلى نتائج تضاهي بشكل إيجابي المعدلات الوطنية فيما يخص عمليات زرع الأعضاء. وتعمل الفرق مع متلقي عمليات الزراعة قبل الجراحة وفي أثنائها وبعدها لضمان تحقيق أفضل النتائج إلى أكبر حد احتمال ممكن.

يتم الاحتفاظ بالمجلدات والإحصاءات بشكل منفصل لمواقع Mayo Clinic الثلاثة. يتمتع متلقو عمليات الزراعة في Mayo Clinic بنتائج رائعة، سواء تم تقييمها مجتمعة أو كل على حدة.

تعرَّف على المزيد عن قدر عمليات زراعة القلب ونتائجها في Mayo Clinic.

المواقع والسفر والإقامة

تقدم مساكن Village at Mayo Clinic في فينيكس بولاية أريزونا خدمات الإسكان منخفض التكاليف لمرضى عمليات الزرع وعائلاتهم.

وتقدم مساكن Gabriel House of Care في جاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا خدمات الإسكان منخفض التكاليف لمرضى عمليات الزرع وعائلاتهم.

وتقدم Gift of Life Transplant House في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا خدمات الإسكان منخفض التكاليف لمرضى عمليات الزرع وعائلاتهم.

تقع مُجمعات Mayo Clinic الرئيسة في فينيكس وسكوتديل في ولاية أريزونا، وفي جاكسونفيل في ولاية فلوريدا، وفي روشيستر في ولاية مينيسوتا. وتتوزع مقرات منظومة Mayo Clinic الصحية على عشرات المواقع في عدة ولايات.

للمزيد من المعلومات عن Mayo Clinic حدد الموقع الذي ترغب بزيارته من الخيارات أدناه:

التكاليف والتأمين

خصصت Mayo Clinic أخصائيين اجتماعيين وممثلي خدمات مالية لعمليات الزراعة يمكن أن يساعدوك في استفساراتك المتعلقة بالتأمين والأمور المالية بشأن عملية زراعة القلب.

تعمل Mayo Clinic مع مئاتٍ من شركات التأمين وهي بمثابة مقدم خدمة داخل شبكة متصلة مقدمة لملايين من الناس. في معظم الحالات، لا تحتاج Mayo Clinic إلى إحالة من طبيب. تطلب بعض شركات التأمين إحالات أو قد تطلب متطلبات إضافية لتلقي رعاية طبية معينة. تطلب منك العديد من شركات التأمين الحصول على إذن موافقة مسبقة قبل توفير خدمات عمليات الزرع.

يمكنك قراءة المزيد عن التأمين وتكاليف الزراعة في Mayo Clinic.

في مجالي الاختبارات والإجراءات حيث يكتشف الباحثون كيفية الحفاظ على سلامة الناس في العيادات السريرية. اِطَّلِع على الدراسات التي تقوم بها عيادة Mayo Clinic ]مايو كلينك[

18/08/2016
References
  1. ما هي زراعة القلب؟ المعهد القومي لأمراض القلب والرئة والدم (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute). http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/ht. تم الاطلاع في 8 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  2. Mancini D. Indications and contraindications for cardiac transplantation (دواعي وموانع اللجوء إلى زراعة القلب). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الاطلاع في 8 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  3. Colvin M, et al. تقرير بيانات OPTN/SRTR السنوي لعام 2014: القلب. المجلة الأمريكية لعمليات زراعة الأعضاء (American Journal of Transplantation). 2016;16:115.
  4. ما جهاز مساعدة البطين؟ المعهد القومي لأمراض القلب والرئة والدم (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute). http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/vad. تم الاطلاع في 7 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  5. ما القلب الاصطناعي الكلي؟ المعهد القومي لأمراض القلب والرئة والدم (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute). http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/tah. تم الاطلاع في 12 أبريل، عام 2016.
  6. Flynn B, et al. Heart and lung transplantation (زراعة الرئة والقلب). Current Opinion in Anaesthesiology (وجهة النظر الحالية عن التخدير). 2014;27:153.
  7. Goldman L, et al., eds. زراعة القلب. في: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier؛ 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. تم الاطلاع في 7 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  8. Pham MX. توقعات سير المرض بعد زراعة القلب. http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الاطلاع في 12 أبريل، عام 2016.
  9. Pham MX. دواعي اللجوء إلى والمداومة على العلاج المثبط للمناعة في عملية زراعة القلب. http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الاطلاع في 12 أبريل، عام 2016.
  10. Pina IL. Rehabilitation after cardiac transplantation (إعادة التأهيل بعد عملية زراعة القلب). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الاطلاع في 12 أبريل، عام 2016.
  11. McKenna WJ. Treatment of amyloid cardiomyopathy (علاج اعتلال عضلة القلب النشواني). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الاطلاع في 1 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  12. ما هي مخاطر العمليات الجراحية في القلب؟ المعهد القومي لأمراض القلب والرئة والدم (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute). http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/hs/risks. تم الاطلاع في 12 أبريل، عام 2016.
  13. مركز Barbara Woodward Lips (باربرا وودوارد ليبس) لتثقيف المرضى. عملية زراعة قلب. روتشستر، ولاية مينيسوتا: مؤسسة Mayo للتعليم والأبحاث الطبية؛ 2013.
  14. الشراكة مع فريق عملية الزراعة الخاص بك: دليل المريض لعمليات الزراعة. وزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية في الولايات المتحدة. https://optn.transplant.hrsa.gov/learn/patient-education/. تم الاطلاع في 12 أبريل، عام 2016.
  15. ما الذي يحتاج أن يعرفه كل مريض. الشبكة المتحدة لمشاركة الأعضاء (United Network for Organ Sharing). http://www.transplantliving.org/community/patient-resources/publications/. تم الاطلاع في 13 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  16. النظام الغذائي والتمارين. الشبكة المتحدة لمشاركة الأعضاء (United Network for Organ Sharing): التعايش مع عملية الزراعة. http://www.transplantliving.org/after-the-transplant/staying-healthy/diet-and-exercise/. تم الاطلاع في 13 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  17. Eisen HJ. Treatment of amyloid cardiomyopathy (منع وعلاج الاعتلال الوعائي بالطعم الخيفي القلبي). http://www.uptodate.com/home. تم الاطلاع في 13 من أبريل، عام 2016.
  18. Topilsky Y, et al. Sirolimus as primary immunosuppression attenuates allograft vasculopathy with improved late survival and decreased cardiac events after cardiac transplantation (يخفف سيروليموس كدواء مثبط للمناعة أساسي من الاعتلال الوعائي بالطعم الخيفي ويحسن معدل النجاة اللاحقة ويقلل الأزمات القلبية بعد عملية زراعة القلب). الدورة الدموية. 2012;125:708.
  19. تعطي عملية الزراعة فرصة للمتلقي لإعادة تأسيس الأولويات. Mayovox. أغسطس 1988;39:1.
  20. برنامج زراعة القلب بصدد الاستئناف في خريف عام 1986. Mayovox. يناير 1986;37:1.
  21. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic، روتشستر، مينيسوتا. 8 أبريل 2016.
  22. Matsuo Y, et al. Attenuation of cardiac allograft vasculopathy by sirolimus: Relationship to time interval after heart transplantation (التخفيف من الاعتلال الوعائي بالطعم الخيفي القلبي باستخدام سيروليموس: علاقته بالفاصل الزمني بعد عملية زراعة القلب). مجلة زراعة القلب والرئة (The Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation). 2013;32:784.
  23. Gertz MA, et al. Pathophysiology and treatment of cardiac amyloidosis (الفيسيولوجيا المرضية للداء النشواني القلبي وعلاجه). Nature Reviews Cardiology. 2015;12:91.
  24. Williams BA, et al. Heart failure and heart rhythm disorders (الفشل القلبي واضطرابات نبض القلب). في: Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Geriatrics (التشخيص الحالي والعلاج: أمراض الشيخوخة). 2nd ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2014. http://www.accessmedicine.com. تم الدخول في 21 أبريل 2016.
  25. Guddetti RR, et al. Clinical implications of intracoronary imaging in cardiac allograft vasculopathy (النتائج السريرية للتصوير داخل الشرايين التاجية في حالة الاعتلال الوعائي بالطعم الخيفي القلبي). دورة: Cardiovascular Imaging (مجلة تصوير القلب والأوعية الدموية). 2015;8:e002636.
  26. Yancy CW, et al. المبادئ التوجيهية الخاصة بـ ACC/AHA لعام 2013 لتدبير الفشل القلبي: تقرير من مؤسسة الكلية الأمريكية لطب القلب/فرقة عمل جمعية القلب الأمريكية المعنية بالمبادئ التوجيهية للممارسة. مجلة الكلية الأمريكية لأمراض القلب (Journal of the American College of Cardiology). 2013;62: e147.
  27. Yip DS (رأي الخبراء). Mayo Clinic، جاكسونفيل، فلوريدا. 24 مايو 2016.
  28. تقرير الممارسات الطبية: عملية زراعة قلب. Press Ganey. http://www.pressganey.com/. تم الدخول في 24 مايو 2016.
  29. Lund LH, et al. The Registry of the International Society for Heart and Lung Transplantation (سجل الجمعية الدولية المعنية بعمليات زراعة القلب والرئة): Thirty-second official adult heart transplantation report — 2015; focus theme: Early graft failure (التقرير الرسمي الثاني والثلاثون عن عملية زراعة القلب في البالغين — 2015؛ موضوع التركيز: فشل الطعم في وقت مبكر). مجلة زراعة القلب والرئة (The Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation). 2015;34:1244.

Mayo Clinic's approach

A team of doctors and staff in a discussion. Mayo Clinic heart transplant team

A team of doctors and other staff work together and discuss care for people who may need a heart transplant.

Multidisciplinary team approach

At Mayo Clinic, doctors trained in heart disease (cardiologists), heart and lung surgery (cardiac and thoracic surgeons), infectious disease management, mental health conditions (psychiatrists), and other specialties collaborate as a multidisciplinary team to provide you with coordinated, comprehensive care. Doctors work together with health care professionals in many areas to evaluate you, perform your heart transplant and coordinate follow-up care.

Image of health care professionals in many medical specialties. Care team roles

Health care professionals trained in many medical specialties work together as a team to ensure favorable outcomes from your heart transplant.

Pediatric cardiologists, pediatric heart surgeons and other specialists work together to evaluate and treat children who may need heart transplants at Mayo Clinic's campus in Minnesota. At Mayo Clinic's campus in Arizona, cardiologists partner with Phoenix Children's Hospital to treat teenagers and young adults with congenital heart disease.

Multiorgan transplant experience

Mayo Clinic doctors and surgeons have experience evaluating and treating people with complex conditions who may need multiorgan transplants. Surgeons have experience performing multiorgan transplant procedures, such as heart-kidney, heart-liver and heart-lung transplants. A team of doctors trained in a wide array of specialties works together in Mayo Clinic's Transplant Center to treat people who may need multiorgan transplants.

Amyloidosis expertise

Mayo doctors have extensive experience and expertise evaluating and treating people with amyloidosis.

Amyloidosis is a rare disease that occurs when a substance called amyloid builds up in organs in your body. Amyloidosis can affect the function of many organs in your body.

If amyloidosis has seriously affected your heart, you may be eligible for a heart transplant or a heart-liver transplant. Your Mayo doctors and treatment team will evaluate your condition and determine if a heart transplant or other treatment may be most appropriate for your condition. Doctors at Mayo Clinic have experience treating amyloidosis with many treatments, including heart transplant for people who are eligible.

Individualized approach

Mayo Clinic doctors take the time to get to know you and work with you to provide exactly the care you need. Your doctors and transplant team will work with you and discuss your individual needs, desires and lifestyle to determine the most appropriate treatment for you.

Depending on your individual condition and needs, your doctors and transplant team may recommend a heart transplant or other therapies, such as a ventricular assist device.

Two doctors having a discussion. Mayo Clinic doctors collaborate to provide care

Mayo doctors collaborate as a team to care for people who may need a heart transplant.

Common recommendations and treatment at all Mayo Clinic locations

Mayo Clinic's Transplant Center staff at Mayo Clinic's campuses in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota works together to evaluate and treat people who may need a heart transplant. Mayo Clinic offers common recommendations, evaluation processes, treatment, post-surgical care and follow-up care for heart transplant candidates at Mayo Clinic's campuses in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota. Mayo Clinic uses technology to help make patient information available as needed at all three locations.

Mayo Clinic staff coordinates care as needed between the three sites. You may be evaluated for a heart transplant at one Mayo Clinic location, but you may have a heart transplant at another location if it's in your best interest. If you have your evaluation and transplant surgery at different locations, Mayo staff from both locations collaborates as a team to provide you with comprehensive care through the transplant process.

Research and innovation

Mayo Clinic researchers in the Transplant Center conduct ongoing studies and clinical trials in improving surgical procedures, improving outcomes and caring for people who need transplants. Research also studies alternative therapies for people who may not need a transplant.

Mayo researchers also study medications and treatments for people who have had heart transplants, including new medications (immunosuppressant medications) to keep your body from rejecting your heart transplant.

For example, Mayo doctors have studied using sirolimus (Rapamune) as an immunosuppressant for people who have had heart transplants. Mayo Clinic doctors may recommend that some people use sirolimus instead of calcineurin inhibitors. Some people may need to continue using calcineurin inhibitors with sirolimus, but the dose of the calcineurin inhibitors may be lowered.

Sirolimus may help slow the progress of kidney problems or improve kidney function. It may also prevent or slow the progress of a disease that can occur after a heart transplant called cardiac allograft vasculopathy. In this disease, the walls of the arteries in your heart (coronary arteries) thicken and harden, which can cause limited blood flow through your heart.

Mayo Clinic doctors also use innovative imaging tests to detect signs of complications in your coronary arteries, such as cardiac allograft vasculopathy, after your heart transplant.

For example, Mayo doctors may use optical coherence tomography (OCT) — an imaging test that uses light waves to provide cross-sectional images of the arteries — to monitor for signs of narrowing and blockages in the coronary arteries. At Mayo Clinic, OCT may sometimes be used in combination with coronary angiography to detect coronary artery disease.

A doctor stands by a person and conducts an imaging test Using imaging tests to detect coronary artery disease

Mayo doctors may use imaging tests, such as optical coherence tomography (OCT), to monitor for signs of narrowing and blockages in the coronary arteries.

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

  1. Defying Odds to Make it Through to a Heart-Lung Transplant

    Aryn Clark needed a heart-lung transplant, but the wait was almost sure to be a long one. Advanced technology that did the work of her heart and lungs during that wait kept her healthy enough to be ready once transplant organs became available. Aryn Clark was born with two holes in her heart, a condition [...]

  2. Chronicling a Transplant Through the Eyes of a Caregiver

    Throughout Bob Washnock's journey to a heart transplant, his wife, Pam, was dedicated to being his caregiver. Pam then turned that experience into a book about caregiving in hopes of encouraging and supporting others who find themselves in that role. In the early morning hours of Feb. 20, 2013, Bob Washnock announced to his wife, [...]

  3. New Heart, New Hope and a Real Chance at a Future

    After years of struggling with cardiomyopathy, a heart transplant at Mayo Clinic renewed Thomas Kim's health and rekindled his confidence in the future. Thomas Kim had all but forgotten what it was like to make long-term plans. With his wife, Yona, by his side, the 48-year-old spent years focused on trying to figure out what [...]

  4. Rough Beginnings, Now Running: 12-year-old's Dream Comes True

    After a heart transplant and two months of cardiovascular rehabilitation, Mischa Melby has finally joined her classmates out on the playground. Like most 12-year-olds, Mischa Melby loves to run. She runs up the stairs. She runs in gym class. She does have to walk in the hallways at school. But if given the option, she [...]

  5. Comprehensive Care Offers Virginia Man a Path to Transplant

    When congestive heart failure led to the need for a heart transplant, Vincent Arnold turned to Mayo Clinic. The care he received took all his medical concerns into account, providing him a way to return to better health. It's been almost four years since Vincent Arnold began feeling winded and feeling like his heart was [...]

  6. A Sudden Detour for Heart Transplant, Then Back in Stride

    When Yasmin Mullings found out she needed a heart transplant, she wasn't sure she could go through with it. But with support and encouragement from her Mayo Clinic care team, Yasmin successfully navigated the transplant. Today, with a healthy heart, she's back to her active life. In 2015, Yasmin Mullings was relishing a fast-paced life. [...]

  7. Young Mom?s Long Wait Ends With Gift of a New Heart

    Sarah Bradley's heart failed when she was only 27 years old. Today, after more than two years living with the assistance of a device that kept her blood flowing and her health stable, she?s the grateful recipient of a new heart. For more than two years, Sarah Bradley lived with a broken heart. The muscle [...]

  8. Heart Transplant Puts an Active Athlete Back in Action

    Kraig Gresham was 47 years old when he received his heart transplant, but his journey to that life-changing surgery began years earlier. Kraig was born with aortic stenosis ? a birth defect that causes heart valves to narrow and obstruct blood flow. As a child he had heart problems as a result of his condition. [...]

  9. Teen Receives Thorough, Compassionate Care Before, During and After a Heart Transplant at Mayo Clinic

    When most people think of their happy place, they envision something like a warm, sunny beach or a cozy mountain cabin. But when Lisa Fairbairn thinks about a place that gives her comfort, Mayo Clinic?s Rochester campus comes to mind. She?s happiest there because it?s where her son Chase was given a second chance. Not [...]

  10. Coordination and Teamwork Make Simultaneous Surgeries Seamless for Heart Transplant Recipients

    Michael Tyler and William Tiger didn't know one another before the summer of 2016. But they now share a unique life event. Both 55-year-olds underwent heart transplant surgery at Mayo Clinic's Arizona campus on the same day, at the same time. Completing the simultaneous procedures was a milestone for the Transplant Center team in Arizona, [...]

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. Next

Expertise and rankings

A team of doctors and staff in a discussion. Mayo Clinic heart transplant team

Doctors work together with doctors and staff in many specialties to provide heart transplant care.

Cardiovascular disease experience

Mayo Clinic cardiologists and cardiac and thoracic surgeons have extensive experience diagnosing and treating people with heart failure and other cardiovascular diseases. Doctors and surgeons care for more than 200,000 people who have cardiovascular disease each year.

Mayo Clinic's campuses in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota each offer a Heart Failure Clinic staffed by a team of cardiologists and other specialists trained in evaluating and treating heart failure.

Surgical expertise

Mayo Clinic heart transplant surgeons have performed hundreds of procedures using state-of-the-art technology since the heart transplant program began in 1988.

Heart transplant outcomes compare favorably with the national average. Learn more about Mayo Clinic's heart transplant volumes and outcomes.

Two surgeons in a discussion in an operating room. Mayo Clinic heart surgeons

Mayo Clinic heart surgeons work together to provide care for people who need heart transplants.

Heart transplant patient experience

Independent patient experience surveys indicate that a high number of Mayo Clinic patients who are being cared for by the heart transplant team are very satisfied with their care and would recommend the practice to others.

Nationally recognized expertise

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Ariz., and Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Fla., are ranked among the Best Hospitals for heart and heart surgery by U.S. News & World Report. Mayo Clinic Children's Center in Rochester, Minn., is ranked among the Best Children's Hospitals for heart and heart surgery by U.S. News & World Report.

With Mayo Clinic's emphasis on collaborative care, specialists at each of the campuses — Minnesota, Arizona and Florida — interact very closely with colleagues at the other campuses and the Mayo Clinic Health System.

Volumes and outcomes

 

Mayo Clinic doctors' experience and integrated team approach result in transplant outcomes that compare favorably with national averages. Teams work with transplant recipients before, during and after surgery to ensure the greatest likelihood of superior results.

Volumes and statistics are maintained separately for the three Mayo Clinic locations. Taken together or separately, transplant recipients at Mayo Clinic enjoy excellent results.

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's heart transplant volumes and outcomes.

Locations, travel and lodging

The Village at Mayo Clinic in Phoenix, Arizona, offers low-cost housing for transplant patients and their caregivers.

The Gabriel House of Care in Jacksonville, Florida, offers low-cost housing for transplant patients and their caregivers.

The Gift of Life Transplant House in Rochester, Minnesota, offers low-cost housing for transplant patients and their caregivers.

Mayo Clinic has major campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona; Jacksonville, Florida; and Rochester, Minnesota. The Mayo Clinic Health System has dozens of locations in several states.

For more information on visiting Mayo Clinic, choose your location below:

Costs and insurance

Mayo Clinic has dedicated transplant financial services representatives and social workers who can assist you with insurance and financial questions regarding your heart transplant.

Mayo Clinic works with hundreds of insurance companies and is an in-network provider for millions of people. In most cases, Mayo Clinic doesn't require a physician referral. Some insurers require referrals or may have additional requirements for certain medical care. Many insurance companies require you to get preapproval authorization prior to transplant services.

Read more about heart transplant costs and insurance at Mayo Clinic.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

March 23, 2018
References
  1. What is a heart transplant? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/ht. Accessed April 8, 2016.
  2. Mancini D. Indications and contraindications for cardiac transplantation. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 8, 2016.
  3. Colvin M, et al. OPTN/SRTR annual data report 2014: Heart. American Journal of Transplantation. 2016;16:115.
  4. What is a ventricular assist device? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/vad. Accessed April 7, 2016.
  5. What is a total artificial heart? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/tah. Accessed April 12, 2016.
  6. Flynn B, et al. Heart and lung transplantation. Current Opinion in Anaesthesiology. 2014;27:153.
  7. Goldman L, et al., eds. Cardiac transplantation. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 7, 2016.
  8. Pham MX. Prognosis after cardiac transplantation. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 12, 2016.
  9. Pham MX. Induction and maintenance of immunosuppressive therapy in cardiac transplantation. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 12, 2016.
  10. Pina IL. Rehabilitation after cardiac transplantation. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 12, 2016.
  11. McKenna WJ. Treatment of amyloid cardiomyopathy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 1, 2016.
  12. What are the risks of heart surgery? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/hs/risks. Accessed April 12, 2016.
  13. Barbara Woodward Lips Patient Education Center. Heart transplant. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2013.
  14. Partnering with your transplant team: The patient's guide to transplantation. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. https://optn.transplant.hrsa.gov/learn/patient-education/. Accessed April 12, 2016.
  15. What every patient needs to know. United Network for Organ Sharing. http://www.transplantliving.org/community/patient-resources/publications/. Accessed April 13, 2016.
  16. Diet and exercise. United Network for Organ Sharing: Transplant living. http://www.transplantliving.org/after-the-transplant/staying-healthy/diet-and-exercise/. Accessed April 13, 2016.
  17. Eisen HJ. Prevention and treatment of cardiac allograft vasculopathy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 13, 2016.
  18. Topilsky Y, et al. Sirolimus as primary immunosuppression attenuates allograft vasculopathy with improved late survival and decreased cardiac events after cardiac transplantation. Circulation. 2012;125:708.
  19. Transplant gives recipient chance to re-establish priorities. Mayovox. August 1988;39:1.
  20. Heart transplant program to resume in fall of 1986. Mayovox. January 1986;37:1.
  21. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 8, 2016.
  22. Matsuo Y, et al. Attenuation of cardiac allograft vasculopathy by sirolimus: Relationship to time interval after heart transplantation. The Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation. 2013;32:784.
  23. Gertz MA, et al. Pathophysiology and treatment of cardiac amyloidosis. Nature Reviews Cardiology. 2015;12:91.
  24. Williams BA, et al. Heart failure and heart rhythm disorders. In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Geriatrics. 2nd ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2014. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed April 21, 2016.
  25. Guddetti RR, et al. Clinical implications of intracoronary imaging in cardiac allograft vasculopathy. Circulation: Cardiovascular Imaging. 2015;8:e002636.
  26. Yancy CW, et al. 2013 ACCF/AHA guideline for the management of heart failure: A report of the American College of Cardiology Foundation/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines. Journal of the American College of Cardiology. 2013;62: e147.
  27. Yip DS (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla. May 24, 2016.
  28. Medical practice report: Heart transplant. Press Ganey. http://www.pressganey.com/. Accessed May 24, 2016.
  29. Lund LH, et al. The Registry of the International Society for Heart and Lung Transplantation: Thirty-second official adult heart transplantation report — 2015; focus theme: Early graft failure. The Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation. 2015;34:1244.