نظرة عامة

نوبة توقُّف القلب المفاجئ هي فقدان كامل ومفاجئ لوظيفة القلب والتنفس وفقدان الوعي. وعادةً ما تنجم هذه الحالة عن اضطراب في النظام الكهربائي للقلب، حيث يتعطل نشاط الضخ ويتوقف تدفق الدم إلى الجسم.

وتختلف نوبة توقُّف القلب المفاجئ عن النوبة القلبية التي يتوقف فيها تدفق الدم إلى جزء من عضلة القلب. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تؤدي النوبة القلبية في بعض الأحيان إلى حدوث اضطراب في النظام الكهربائي للقلب، ما يؤدي بدوره إلى توقُّف القلب المفاجئ.

يمكن أن يؤدي توقُّف القلب المفاجئ إلى الوفاة، إذا لم يُعالَج على الفور. ومن الممكن إنقاذ المريض إذا قُدِّمت له الرعاية الطبية السريعة والمناسبة. يُمكِن أن يُحسن الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي، باستخدام مُزيل الرجفان أو حتى الضغط على الصدر، فرص البقاء على قيد الحياة حتى وصول اختصاصيي الطوارئ.

الأعراض

تكون مؤشرات النوبة القلبية المفاجئة فورية وشديدة، وتتضمن ما يلي:

  • الانهيار المفاجئ
  • توقف النبض
  • توقف التنفس
  • فقدان الوعي

وفي بعض الأحيان، تظهر مؤشرات وأعراض أخرى قبل النوبة القلبية المفاجئة. قد تتضمن هذه الأعراض والمؤشرات ما يلي:

  • الشعور بعدم الراحة في منطقة الصدر
  • ضيق النفس
  • الضعف
  • سرعة النبض أو الرفرفة أو الخفقان الشديد بالقلب

لكن عادةً ما تحدث النوبة القلبية المفاجئة دون سابق إنذار.

متى تزور الطبيب

إذا كانت لديك أي من المُؤشِّرات أو الأعراض التالية، فاتصل برقم الطوارئ أو المساعدة الطبية الطارئة:

  • الشعور بألم أو انزعاج في منطقة الصدر
  • خفقان القلب
  • سرعة نبضات القلب أو عدم انتظامها
  • أزيز في الصدر مجهول السبب
  • ضيق النفَس
  • فقدان الوعي أو الاقتراب من فقدان الوعي
  • الدوار أو الدوخة

عندما يتوقف القلب، من الممكن أن يتسبب نقص الدم المُشبّع بالأكسجين في الوفاة أو في تلف دائم في المخ في غضون دقائق. في حالة قيامك بمساعدة شخص فاقد للوعي ولا يتنفس، يكون الوقت عاملاً جوهريًا.

إذا رأيت شخصًا فاقدًا للوعي ولا يتنفس بشكل طبيعي، فافعل ما يلي:

  • اتصل برقم الطوارئ أو المساعدة الطبية الطارئة. إذا كان الهاتف في متناول يدك، فاتصل قبل أن تبدأ في الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي.
  • قم بإجراء الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي. تحقَّق بسرعة من تنفس الشخص المصاب. إذا لم يكن الشخص يتنفس بشكل طبيعي، فابدأ الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي. اضغط بقوة وبسرعة على صدر الشخص المصاب؛ بمعدل يتراوح بين 100 و120 ضغطة في الدقيقة. إذا كنت مدرَّبًا على عمل الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي، فتحقّق من مجرى تنفس الشخص المصاب وزوِّده بأنفاس الإنقاذ بعد كل 30 ضغطة.

    وإذا لم تكن مدرَّبًا، فاستمر فقط في إجراء الضغطات على الصدر. اسمح للصدر بأن يرتفع بشكل كامل بين كل ضغطة والأخرى. استمر في القيام بذلك حتى يتوافر لديك جهاز مُزيل رجفان محمول أو وصول طاقم الطوارئ.

  • استخدم جهاز مُزيل رجفان محمولاً، إذا كان متوافرًا. سيعطيك الجهاز إرشادات صوتية عما يجب فعله خطوة بخطوة. استمر في إجراء الضغطات على الصدر أثناء شحن مُزيل الرَّجَفان. وعندما يكون جهاز مُزيل الرجفان مشحونًا، سيتحقق من نبض قلب المصاب ويوصي بصدمة إذا لزم الأمر. نفّذ صدمة واحدة إذا نصحك الجهاز بذلك ثم استأنف الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي فورًا بادئًا بالضغط على الصدر، أو مكتفيًا بالضغط على الصدر، لمدة دقيقتين تقريبًا.

    تحقَّق من نظم قلب المصاب باستخدام مُزيل الرَّجَفان. سيعطي مُزيل الرَّجَفان صدمة أخرى إذا لزم الأمر. كرِّر هذه الدورة إلى أن يستعيد المصاب وعيه أو يتولى طاقم الطوارئ علاجه.

تتوافر أجهزة مزيل الرجفان الخارجية الآلية في العديد من الأماكن العامة، ومن ضمنها المطارات والنوادي ومراكز التسوق. ويمكنك أيضًا شراء الجهاز للاستخدام المنزلي. وتأتي مع أجهزة مزيل الرجفان الخارجية الآلية إرشادات الاستخدام الخاصة بها. كما أنها مبرمجة للسماح بإجراء صدمة عندما يقتضي الأمر ذلك فقط.

الأسباب

إن السبب المعتاد لتوقُّف القلب المفاجئ هو وجود نظم غير طبيعي للقلب (اضطراب النظم القلبي)، الذي يحدث عندما لا يعمل النظام الكهربي للقلب بشكل صحيح.

يتحكَّم النظام الكهربي للقلب في سرعة نبضات القلب ونظمها. وإذا حدثت مشكلة، فمن الممكن أن ينبض قلبك بسرعة كبيرة أو ببطء شديد أو يكون غير منتظم (اضطراب النظم القلبي). وعلى الرغم من قِصَر مدة اضطرابات النظم القلبية وأنها غير مؤذية، فإن بعض أنواعها من الممكن أن تؤدي إلى توقُّف القلب المفاجئ.

إنَّ أكثر أنواع النّظم القلبي شيوعًا في وقت توقُّف القلب المفاجئ هو اضطراب النظم القلبي في إحدى حجرتَي القلب السُّفليتين (البُطَين). وتتسبَّب النبضات الكهربائية السريعة غير المنتظمة في ارتجاف البطينين عبثًا، بدلاً من ضخ الدم (الرجفان البُطَيْني).

حالات القلب التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى سكتة قلبية مفاجئة

يمكن أن يحدث توقُّف القلب المفاجئ لدى الأشخاص غير المصابين بأمراض قلب معروفة. لكن عادةً ما يصيب اضطراب النظم القلبي المهدِّد للحياة الأشخاصَ الذين لديهم مشكلة في القلب موجودة بالفعل لكن ربما لم تُشخَّص. وتشمل المشكلات ما يأتي:

  • مرض الشريان التاجي. تحدث معظم حالات توقُّف القلب المفاجئ للأشخاص المصابين بمرض الشريان التاجي، الذي تصبح فيه الشرايين مسدودة بالكوليسترول والترسّبات الأخرى، ما يقلل من تدفق الدم إلى القلب.
  • النوبة القلبية. إذا حدثت نوبة قلبية، وهي غالبًا ما تكون ناتجة عن مرض الشريان التاجي الحاد، فيمكن أن تؤدي إلى حدوث الرجفان البطيني وتوقُّف القلب المفاجئ. يمكن أن تُسبب النوبة القلبية كذلك نسيجًا ندبيًا في القلب. ويمكن أن تؤدي الدارّات الكهربائية القصيرة حول النسيج الندبي إلى اضطرابات في نظم القلب.
  • تضخُّم القلب (اعتلال عضلة القلب). يحدث هذا في المقام الأول عندما تتمدد الجدران العضلية للقلب وتتضخم أو يزداد سُمكها. حينها تصبح عضلة القلب غير طبيعية، وهذه حالة تؤدي في أغلب الأحيان إلى اضطراب النظم القلبي.
  • مرض القلب الصمامي. يمكن أن يؤدي تسريب الصمامات القلبية أو تضيّقها إلى تمديد عضلة القلب أو زيادة سُمكها. وعندما تصبح غرف القلب متضخمة أو ضعيفة نتيجةً للإجهاد الذي يسببه الصمام الضيق أو المسرِّب، يزداد خطر الإصابة باضطراب النظم القلبي.
  • عيب القلب الموجود منذ الولادة (مرض القلب الخلقي). عندما يحدث توقُّف القلب المفاجئ لدى الأطفال أو البالغين، قد يكون السبب هو الإصابة بمرض القلب الخلقي. أما البالغون الذين خضعوا لجراحة تصحيحية بسبب عيب خلقي في القلب، فهم أيضًا أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بتوقف القلب المفاجئ.
  • المشكلات الكهربائية في القلب. في حالة بعض الأشخاص، تكون المشكلة كامنة في النظام الكهربي للقلب نفسه، ولا تكون مشكلة متعلقة بعضلة القلب أو صماماته. وتُسمَّى هذه المشكلات بالاضطرابات الأولية في نظم القلب، وتشمل حالات مثل متلازمة بروغادا ومتلازمة QT الطويلة.

عوامل الخطر

نظرًا إلى أن توقف القلب المفاجئ يرتبط غالبًا بمرض الشريان التاجي، فإن العوامل نفسها التي تجعلك عرضة لخطر الإصابة بمرض الشريان التاجي قد تجعلك أيضًا عرضة للإصابة بتوقف القلب المفاجئ. وتتضمن هذه العوامل ما يلي:

  • وجود تاريخ مرضي للعائلة بالإصابة بمرض الشريان التاجي
  • التدخين
  • ارتفاع ضغط الدم
  • ارتفاع مستوى الكوليسترول في الدم
  • السِمنة
  • داء السكري
  • نمط الحياة غير النشط

تتضمن العوامل الأخرى التي قد تؤدي إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بتوقف القلب المفاجئ ما يلي:

  • وجود نوبة سابقة من توقف القلب أو تاريخ مرضي للعائلة بالإصابة بتوقف القلب
  • نوبة قلبية سابقة
  • وجود تاريخ مرضي شخصي أو عائلي للإصابة بأنواع أخرى من أمراض القلب، مثل اضطراب نظم القلب وعيوب القلب الخلقية وفشل القلب واعتلال عضلة القلب
  • التقدم في السن، حيث يزداد خطر الإصابة بتوقف القلب المفاجئ مع التقدم في السن
  • كونك ذكرًا
  • استخدام العقاقير غير المشروعة، مثل الكوكايين أو الأمفيتامينات
  • عدم وجود توازن غذائي، مثل انخفاض مستويات البوتاسيوم أو المغنيسيوم
  • انقطاع النفس الانسدادي النومي
  • مرض الكلى المزمن

المضاعفات

عند حدوث السكتة القلبية المفاجئة، يَقلُّ تدفُّق الدم إلى دماغكَ مُسبِّبًا فقدانًا للوعي. وإذا لم يعُد نظم قلبكَ لحالته الطبيعة بسرعة، فيُمكن أن يحدُث تلفًا بالدماغ ومن ثم الموت. وقد تَظهَر علامات تَلَف الدماغ على الأشخاص الناجين من السكتة القلبية

الوقاية

قلّل احتمالية تعرضك لتوقُّف القلب المفاجئ بالخضوع للفحص الدوري، وفحوصات القلب بحثًا عن أي مشكلة فيه، واتباع نظام حياة صحي للقلب.

توقف القلب المفاجئ - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

03/12/2020
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Cardiovascular collapse, cardiac arrest, and sudden cardiac death. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. McGraw Hill; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Nov. 9, 2020.
  2. Sudden cardiac arrest. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/scda/. Accessed Nov. 9, 2020.
  3. Podrid PJ. Overview of sudden cardiac arrest and sudden cardiac death. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. Nov. 9, 2020.
  4. Stouffer GA, et al. Sudden cardiac death. In: Netter's Cardiology. 3rd ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 9, 2020.
  5. CPR steps: Learn how to save a life. National Safety Council. https://www.nsc.org/community-safety/resources/infographics/cpr-steps. Accessed Nov. 9, 2020.
  6. Heart failure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-failure#Diagnosis. Accessed Nov. 9, 2020.
  7. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Cardiac arrest and sudden cardiac death. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 9, 2020.
  8. Krokhaleva Y, et al. Update on prevention and treatment of sudden cardiac arrest. Trends in Cardiovascular Medicine. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.tcm.2018.11.002.
  9. Cardiac arrest. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/critical-care-medicine/cardiac-arrest-and-cpr/cardiac-arrest?query=sudden cardiac arrest#. Accessed Nov. 10, 2020.
  10. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 8, 2020.

Overview

Sudden cardiac arrest is the abrupt loss of heart function, breathing and consciousness. The condition usually results from an electrical disturbance in your heart that disrupts its pumping action, stopping blood flow to your body.

Sudden cardiac arrest differs from a heart attack, when blood flow to a part of the heart is blocked. However, a heart attack can sometimes trigger an electrical disturbance that leads to sudden cardiac arrest.

If not treated immediately, sudden cardiac arrest can lead to death. With fast, appropriate medical care, survival is possible. Giving cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), using a defibrillator — or even just giving compressions to the chest — can improve the chances of survival until emergency workers arrive.

Sudden cardiac arrest care at Mayo Clinic

Symptoms

Sudden cardiac arrest signs and symptoms are immediate and drastic and include:

  • Sudden collapse
  • No pulse
  • No breathing
  • Loss of consciousness

Sometimes other signs and symptoms occur before sudden cardiac arrest. These might include:

  • Chest discomfort
  • Shortness of breath
  • Weakness
  • Palpitations

But sudden cardiac arrest often occurs with no warning.

When to see a doctor

See your doctor promptly if you have episodes of:

  • Chest pain or discomfort
  • Heart palpitations
  • Rapid or irregular heartbeats
  • Unexplained wheezing
  • Shortness of breath
  • Fainting or near fainting
  • Lightheadedness or dizziness

If you're currently having these symptoms, call 911 or emergency medical help.

When the heart stops, the lack of oxygenated blood can cause death or permanent brain damage in minutes. Time is critical when you're helping an unconscious person who isn't breathing.

If you see someone who's unconscious and not breathing normally, do the following:

  • Call 911 or the emergency number in your area. If you have immediate access to a telephone, call before beginning CPR.
  • Perform CPR. Quickly check the breathing. If the person isn't breathing normally, begin CPR. Push hard and fast on the person's chest — at the rate of 100 to 120 compressions a minute. If you've been trained in CPR, check the person's airway and deliver rescue breaths after every 30 compressions.

    If you haven't been trained, just continue chest compressions. Allow the chest to rise completely between compressions. Keep doing this until a portable defibrillator is available or emergency workers arrive.

  • Use a portable defibrillator, if one is available. It will give you step-by-step voice instructions. Continue chest compressions while the defibrillator is charging. Deliver one shock if advised by the device and then immediately resume CPR, starting with chest compressions, or give chest compressions only, for about two minutes.

    Using the defibrillator, check the person's heart rhythm. If necessary, the defibrillator will give another shock. Repeat this cycle until the person recovers consciousness or emergency workers take over.

Portable automated external defibrillators (AEDs) are available in many places, including airports, casinos and shopping malls. You can also purchase one for your home. AEDs come with built-in instructions for their use. They're programmed to allow a shock only when appropriate.

Causes

A problem in your heart rhythm (arrhythmia) — the result of a problem with your heart's electrical system — is the usual cause of sudden cardiac arrest.

The heart's electrical system controls the rate and rhythm of your heartbeat. If something goes wrong, your heart can beat too fast, too slowly or irregularly (arrhythmia). Often these arrhythmias are brief and harmless, but some types can lead to sudden cardiac arrest.

The most common heart rhythm at the time of cardiac arrest is an arrhythmia in a lower chamber of your heart (ventricle). Rapid, erratic electrical impulses cause your ventricles to quiver uselessly instead of pumping blood (ventricle fibrillation).

Heart conditions that can lead to sudden cardiac arrest

Sudden cardiac arrest can happen in people who have no known heart diease. However, a life-threatening arrhythmia usually develops in a person with a pre-existing, possibly undiagnosed heart condition. Conditions include:

  • Coronary artery disease. Most cases of sudden cardiac arrest occur in people who have coronary artery disease, in which your arteries become clogged with cholesterol and other deposits, reducing blood flow to your heart.
  • Heart attack. If a heart attack occurs, often as a result of severe coronary artery disease, it can trigger ventricular fibrillation and sudden cardiac arrest. Also, a heart attack can leave scar tissue in your heart. Electrical short circuits around the scar tissue can lead to abnormalities in your heart rhythm.
  • Enlarged heart (cardiomyopathy). This occurs primarily when your heart's muscular walls stretch and enlarge or thicken. Then your heart's muscle is abnormal, a condition that often leads to arrhythmias.
  • Valvular heart disease. Leaking or narrowing of your heart valves can lead to stretching or thickening of your heart muscle. When the chambers become enlarged or weakened because of stress caused by a tight or leaking valve, there's an increased risk of developing arrhythmia.
  • Congenital heart disease. When sudden cardiac arrest occurs in children or adolescents, it can be due to a heart defect that was present at birth (congenital heart disease). Adults who've had corrective surgery for a congenital heart defect still have a higher risk of sudden cardiac arrest.
  • Electrical problems in the heart. In some people, the problem is in the heart's electrical system itself instead of a problem with the heart muscle or valves. These are called primary heart rhythm abnormalities and include conditions such as Brugada's syndrome and long QT syndrome.

Risk factors

Because sudden cardiac arrest is so often linked with coronary artery disease, the same factors that put you at risk of coronary artery disease can also put you at risk of sudden cardiac arrest. These include:

  • A family history of coronary artery disease
  • Smoking
  • High blood pressure
  • High blood cholesterol
  • Obesity
  • Diabetes
  • A sedentary lifestyle

Other factors that might increase your risk of sudden cardiac arrest include:

  • A previous episode of cardiac arrest or a family history of cardiac arrest
  • A previous heart attack
  • A personal or family history of other forms of heart disease, such as heart rhythm disorders, congenital heart defects, heart failure and cardiomyopathy
  • Age — the incidence of sudden cardiac arrest increases with age
  • Being male
  • Using illegal drugs, such as cocaine or amphetamines
  • Nutritional imbalance, such as low potassium or magnesium levels
  • Obstructive sleep apnea
  • Chronic kidney disease

Complications

When sudden cardiac arrest occurs, reduced blood flow to your brain causes unconsciousness. If your heart rhythm doesn't rapidly return to normal, brain damage occurs and death results. Survivors of cardiac arrest might show signs of brain damage.

Prevention

Reduce your risk of sudden cardiac arrest by getting regular checkups, being screened for heart disease and living a heart-healthy lifestyle.

Sudden cardiac arrest care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 18, 2018
References
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Cardiovascular collapse, cardiac arrest, and sudden cardiac death. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  2. Sudden cardiac arrest. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/scda/. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  3. Podrid PJ. Overview of sudden cardiac arrest and sudden cardiac death. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  4. About cardiac arrest. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/cardiac-arrest/about-cardiac-arrest. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  5. CPR steps: How to save a life. National Safety Council. https://www.nsc.org/home-safety/tools-resources/infographics/cprsteps?gclid=CjwKCAjwyOreBRAYEiwAR2mSkgMUOGmOKcYNNGV9ZM-eyhHhM38XfqGDG6FzITGlBdHfCfbExXGySBoCoWIQAvD_BwE. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  6. Heart failure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-failure#Diagnosis. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  7. Common tests for heart failure. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/diagnosing-heart-failure/common-tests-for-heart-failure. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  8. Ejection fraction heart failure measurement. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/diagnosing-heart-failure/ejection-fraction-heart-failure-measurement. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  9. Sudden cardiac arrest (SCA). Heart Rhythm Society. https://www.hrsonline.org/Patient-Resources/Heart-Diseases-Disorders/Sudden-Cardiac-Arrest-SCA . Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  10. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 14, 2018.