التشخيص

سيُجري طبيبك فحصًا جسديًا وسيسأل عن التاريخ الطبي لك ولعائلتك. وتعتمد الاختبارات التي تحتاج إلى إجرائها لتشخيص مرض القلب لديك على الحالة التي يعتقد طبيبك أنك مصاب بها. وفضلاً عن اختبارات الدم والأشعة السينية على الصدر، قد تتضمن اختبارات تشخيص مرض القلب ما يلي:

  • تخطيط كهربية القلب. تخطيط كهربية القلب هو اختبار سريع وغير مؤلم يسجل الإشارات الكهربائية في قلبك. ويمكن من خلاله اكتشاف النبض القلبي غير الطبيعي. قد يُطلب منك إجراء تخطيط كهربية القلب أثناء الراحة أو أثناء ممارسة التمارين (تخطيط كهربائية القلب الإجهادي).
  • المراقبة باستخدام جهاز هولتر. جهاز هولتر هو جهاز صغير يمكن حمله أثناء فحص تخطيط كهربية القلب لتسجيل نَظم القلب بصورة مستمرة، عادةً لمدة تتراوح من 24 إلى 72 ساعة. ويُستخدم جهاز هولتر للكشف عن مشكلات نَظم القلب التي لم تُكتشف عبر فحص تخطيط كهربية القلب العادي.
  • مخطط صدى القلب. يستخدم هذا الفحص غير المتوغل موجات صوتية لالتقاط صور مفصَّلة لبنية القلب. وهو يوضح كيفية نبض قلبك وكفاءته في ضخ الدم.
  • اختبار الجهد. في هذا النوع من الاختبارات، تُرفع سرعة القلب عبر ممارسة تمرين أو تناول دواء أثناء إجراء اختبارات القلب وفحوصات التصوير لمعرفة كيفية استجابة القلب.
  • القسطرة القلبية. في هذا الاختبار، يُدخل الطبيب أنبوبًا قصيرًا (غِمد) في وريد أو شريان بالساق (الأربية) أو الذراع. ثم يُدخل أنبوبًا مرنًا ومجوفًا وأطول (قسطرة توجيهية) في الغِمد. ويمرِّر الطبيب القسطرة التوجيهية بعناية في الشريان حتى يصل إلى القلب، مستعينًا في ذلك بصور الأشعة السينية التي تظهر على الشاشة.

    وخلال قسطرة القلب، يمكن قياس الضغط داخل غرف قلبك، ويمكن حقن الصبغة. وتظهر الصبغة في الأشعة السينية، وهذا يساعد طبيبك على رؤية تدفُّق الدم من خلال القلب والأوعية الدموية والصمامات للكشف عن المشاكل.

  • الفحص بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب للقلب. أثناء الفحص بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب للقلب، تستلقي على طاولة داخل جهاز أشعة سينية حَلَقي الشكل. يدور أنبوب الأشعة السينية الموجود داخل الجهاز حول جسمك ويلتقط صورًا لقلبك وصدرك.
  • تصوير القلب بالرنين المغناطيسي. أثناء تصوير القلب بالرنين المغناطيسي، يستخدم الجهاز مجالاً مغناطيسيًّا وموجات راديوية ينتجها الكمبيوتر لالتقاط صور مفصلة لقلبك.

العلاج

يعتمد نوع العلاج الذي تتلقاه على نوع المرض القلبي. وعادةً ما يتضمن علاج أمراض القلب بصفة عامة ما يلي:

  • تغيير نمط الحياة. يمكن تقليل مخاطر أمراض القلب عن طريق اتباع نظام غذائي قليل الدهون والأملاح، وممارسة الرياضة لمدة 30 دقيقة على الأقل من التمارين المعتدلة معظم أيام الأسبوع والإقلاع عن التدخين والحد من احتساء الكحوليات.
  • الأدوية. إذا لم يكن تغيير نمط الحياة كافيًا، فقد يصف الطبيب أدويةً للسيطرة على حالة المرض القلبي. ويعتمد نوع العلاج المأخوذ على نوع المرض القلبي.
  • الإجراءات الطبية أو التدخل الجراحي. إذا كانت الأدوية غير كافية، فمن الممكن أن ينصح الطبيب بإجراءات أو تدخلات جراحية علاجية معينة. ويعتمد نوع الإجراء أو الجراحة على نوع المرض القلبي ومدى تضرُر القلب.

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول التطورات الجديدة في مجال العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والاختبارات المستخدمة للوقاية من هذه الحالة الصحية وعلاجها وإدارتها.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

من الممكن أن يساعد إجراء بعض التغييرات على نمط الحياة في تحسين أمراض القلب أو حتى الوقاية منها. ويمكن أن تساعد التغييرات التالية أي شخص يرغب في تحسين صحة القلب:

  • الإقلاع عن التدخين. التدخين هو أحد عوامل الخطورة الرئيسية التي تسبب أمراض القلب، وخاصةً تصلب الشرايين. والإقلاع عن التدخين هو أفضل طريقة لتقليل خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب ومضاعفاتها.
  • ضبط ضغط الدم. اطلب من طبيبك قياس ضغط دمك مرة كل عامين على الأقل. وقد يوصيك الطبيب بزيادة عدد مرات القياس إذا كان ضغط دمك أعلى من الطبيعي أو كان لديك تاريخ للإصابة بأمراض القلب. ويكون المستوى المثالي لضغط الدم أقل من 120 انقباضي و80 انبساطي، قياسًا بوحدة الملليمتر من الزئبق (ملم زئبقي).
  • مراقبة مستوى الكوليسترول في الدم. اطلب من طبيبك إجراء اختبار الكوليسترول الأساسي عندما تكون في العشرينيات من العمر، ثم بعد ذلك كل خمس سنوات على الأقل. وقد تحتاج إلى بدء إجراء الاختبارات مبكرًا إذا كان ارتفاع الكوليسترول متوراثًا في عائلتك. وإذا لم تُظهر نتائج الاختبار معدلات جيدة، فقد يوصي طبيبك بإجراء قياسات على نحو أكثر تكرارًا.

    ينبغي أن يهدف معظم الأشخاص إلى أن يكون مستوى البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة أقل من 130 ملليغرام لكل ديسي لتر (ملغم/دل)، أو 3.4 ملليمول لكل لتر (ملليمول/لتر). وإذا كانت لديك عوامل خطر أخرى للإصابة بأمراض القلب، فينبغي أن يكون مستوى البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة أقل من 100 ملغم/دل (2.6 ملليمول/لتر). وإذا كنت معرضًا لخطر كبير للإصابة بأمراض القلب، مثل أن تكون قد أصبت بالفعل بنوبة قلبية أو مصاب بداء السكري، فاستهدف الوصول إلى مستوى البروتين الدهني منخفض الكثافة أقل من ملغم/دل (1.8 ملليمول/لتر).

  • الحفاظ على داء السكري تحت السيطرة. إذا كنت مصابًا بداء السكري، فمن الممكن أن يساعدك التحكم الدقيق في نسبة السكر في الدم على تقليل مخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب.
  • الحرص على ممارسة الرياضة. يساعدك النشاط البدني على الوصول إلى وزن صحي والحفاظ عليه، بالإضافة إلى التحكم في داء السكري وارتفاع الكوليسترول وارتفاع ضغط الدم، وجميع عوامل الخطر لأمراض القلب. وإذا كنت مصابًا بعدم انتظام ضربات القلب أو عيب في القلب، فقد تكون هناك بعض القيود على الأنشطة التي يمكنك القيام بها، لذا تحدث إلى طبيبك حول هذا الأمر. وبعد الحصول على موافقة طبيبك، يمكنك تخصيص 30 إلى 60 دقيقة من النشاط البدني معظم أيام الأسبوع.
  • تناوُل الأطعمة الصحية. يمكن أن يساعدك اتباع نظام غذائي صحي مفيد للقلب يعتمد على الفواكه والخضروات والحبوب الكاملة، وقليل الدهون المشبعة والكوليسترول والصوديوم والسكر المضاف، على التحكم في وزنك وفي معدلات ضغط الدم والكوليسترول.
  • الحفاظ على وزن صحي. تؤدي زيادة الوزن إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب. ويمثل مؤشر كتلة الجسم الذي يقل عن 25 ومحيط الخصر 35 بوصة (88.9 سم) أو أقل الهدف للوقاية من أمراض القلب وعلاجها.
  • التحكم في التوتر. حاول تقليل التوتر الذي تتعرض له قدر الإمكان. وتمرَّن على أساليب التحكم في التوتر، مثل إرخاء العضلات والتنفس العميق.
  • علاج الاكتئاب. يمكن أن يزيد الاكتئاب من خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب بشكل كبير. تحدث إلى طبيبك إذا كنت تشعر باليأس أو عدم الاهتمام بحياتك.
  • ممارِسة عادات صحية جيدة. احرص على غسل يديك بانتظام وغسل أسنانك بالفرشاة والخيط للحفاظ على صحتك.

واحرص أيضًا على إجراء فحوصات طبية منتظمة. حيث يُساعد اكتشاف الأمراض وعلاجها مبكرًا على ضمان حياة صحية أفضل للقلب.

التأقلم والدعم

قد تشعر بالإحباط أو الانزعاج أو الضغط الشديد عند معرفة أنك أو شخص عزيز عليك مصاب بمرض القلب. وفيما يلي بعض الطرق للمساعدة على التعايش مع أمراض القلب أو تحسين حالتك:

  • إعادة تأهيل القلب. بالنسبة إلى الأشخاص المصابين بالمرض القلبي الوعائي الذي تسبب في نوبة قلبية أو تطلب جراحة لتصحيح المشكلة، غالبًا ما يُوصَى بإعادة تأهيل القلب كطريقة لتحسين العلاج والتعافي السريع. ويتضمن برنامج إعادة تأهيل القلب مستويات من التمارين الخاضعة للمراقبة والاستشارات بخصوص التغذية والدعم النفسي والتثقيف والمساعدة بشأن إجراء تغييرات في نمط الحياة لتقليل خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب.
  • مجموعات الدعم. من الضروري اللجوء إلى العائلة والأصدقاء للحصول على الدعم، ولكن استشر طبيبك بشأن الانضمام إلى مجموعة دعم إذا احتجت إلى المزيد من المساعدة. فقد تجد أنه من المفيد أن تتحدث بشأن مخاوفك مع آخرين في ظروف مماثلة.
  • الفحص الطبي المستمر. إذا كنت مصابًا بمشكلة متكررة أو طويلة الأمد (مزمنة) في القلب، فاستشر طبيبك بانتظام للتأكد من أنك تتبع خطة إدارة حالة قلبك بطريقة صحيحة.

الاستعداد لموعدك

تُكتشف بعض أمراض القلب دون موعد، على سبيل المثال، إذا وُلد طفل بعيب قلبي خطير، فسيُكتشف بعد الولادة مباشرةً. في حالات أخرى، قد يُشخَّص مرض القلب في موقف طارئ، مثل النوبة القلبية.

إذا كنت تظن أنك مصاب بمرض بالقلب أو كنت قلقًا من احتمالية إصابتك بمرض بالقلب نظرًا لأن لديك تاريخًا عائليًا من الإصابة بأمراض القلب، فيُرجى زيارة الطبيب. قد تُحال إلى اختصاصي في أمراض القلب (طبيب القلب).

فيما يلي بعض المعلومات للمساعدة في الاستعداد للموعد الطبي المحدد لك.

ما يمكنك فعله

  • كن على علم بأي محاذير يجب تجنبها قبل الموعد الطبي. عند حجز الموعد الطبي، اسأل عما إذا كان هناك ما تحتاج إلى فعله قبل الموعد، مثل الالتزام بنظام غذائي معين. فقد تحتاج، على سبيل المثال، إلى الامتناع عن الطعام والشراب (الصوم) قبل إجراء اختبار الكوليسترول.
  • دوِّن أي أعراض تشعر بها، بما في ذلك أي أعراض قد تبدو غير مرتبطة بمرض القلب.
  • دوِّن المعلومات الشخصية الرئيسية، بما في ذلك التاريخ العائلي للإصابة بمرض القلب أو السكتة الدماغية أو وارتفاع ضغط الدم أو داء السكري، بالإضافة إلى الضغوطات الكبيرة أو التغيرات التي حدثت مؤخرًا في الحياة.
  • جهز قائمة بجميع الأدوية أو الفيتامينات أو المكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • اصطحب معك أحد الأشخاص، إن أمكن. حيث يمكن أن يساعدك الشخص الذي يرافقك على تذكُّر المعلومات التي تتلقَّاها.
  • كن مستعدًّا لمناقشة نظامك الغذائي وعادات التدخين وممارسة الرياضة. وإذا كنت لا تتبع نظامًا غذائيًّا أو ليس لديك نظام متبع لممارسة التمارين الرياضية، فتحدث مع طبيبك بشأن البدء في ذلك.
  • دوِّن الأسئلة التي ستطرحها على الطبيب.

في حالة مرض القلب، تشمل بعض الأسئلة الأساسية التي ينبغي أن تطرحها على طبيبك ما يلي:

  • ما السبب المرجح لظهور الأعراض أو الحالة المرضية التي لديّ؟
  • ما الأسباب الأخرى المحتملة لظهور الأعراض أو الحالة؟
  • ما الاختبارات التي يتعيَّن عليَّ إجراؤها؟
  • ما أفضل علاج؟
  • هل هناك دواء بديل مكافئ للدواء الذي وصفتَه لي؟
  • ما البدائل للطريقة العلاجية الأوَّليَّة التي تقترحها؟
  • ما الأطعمة التي ينبغي لي تناوُلها أو تجنُّبها؟
  • ما مستوى النشاط البدني الملائم؟
  • كم عدد المرات التي ينبغي لي أن أخضع فيها لفحوصات مرض القلب؟ على سبيل المثال، كم مرة سأحتاج إلى فحص الكوليسترول؟
  • لديَّ مشكلات صحية أخرى. كيف يمكنني التعامل معها جميعًا؟
  • هل هناك قيود ينبغي عليّ الالتزام بها؟
  • هل يجب أن أراجع اختصاصيًّا؟
  • هل هناك أي كتيبات أو مطبوعات أخرى يمكنني الحصول عليها؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تنصحني بزيارتها؟

لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة أخرى.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

قد يسألك طبيبك أسئلة، مثل:

  • متى بدأ ظهور الأعراض؟
  • هل الأعراض مستمرة أم متقطعة؟
  • إلى أي مدى تفاقمت الأعراض؟
  • ما الذي يُحسّن أعراضك، إن وُجد؟
  • ما الذي يجعل الأعراض تتفاقم، إن وُجد؟
  • هل لديك تاريخ عائلي للإصابة بمرض القلب أو داء السكري أو ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو أمراض خطيرة أخرى؟

ما الذي يمكنك القيام به في هذه الأثناء

ليس من المبكر أبدًا إجراء تغييرات صحية على نمط الحياة، مثل الإقلاع عن التدخين، وتناول الأطعمة الصحية، وممارسة المزيد من الأنشطة البدنية. فاتباع نمط حياة صحي هو أفضل طرق الوقاية من مرض القلب ومضاعفاته.

مرض القلب - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

09/02/2021
  1. What is cardiovascular disease? American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/consumer-healthcare/what-is-cardiovascular-disease. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  2. Heart-healthy living. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-healthy-living. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  3. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 24, 2020.
  4. Ferry AV, et al. Presenting symptoms in men and women diagnosed with myocardial infarction using sex-specific criteria. Journal of the American Heart Association. 2019; doi:10.1161/JAHA.119.012307.
  5. Symptoms, diagnosis and monitoring of arrhythmia. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/arrhythmia/symptoms-diagnosis--monitoring-of-arrhythmia#.WQ0yvWnyt0w. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  6. Overview of congenital cardiovascular anomalies. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/overview-of-congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  7. Congenital heart defects. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/chd. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  8. What is cardiomyopathy? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/cm#. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  9. What is heart inflammation? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-inflammation#. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  10. Heart failure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-failure. Accessed Nov. 17, 2020.
  11. Bonow RO, et al. Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  12. Grundy SM, et al. 2018 AHA/ACC/AACVPR/AAPA/ABC/ACPM/ADA/AGS/APhA/ASPC/NLA/PCNA guideline on the management of blood cholesterol: A report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Clinical Practice Guidelines. Circulation. 2019; doi:10.1161/CIR.0000000000000625.

ذات صلة

Diagnosis

Your doctor will perform a physical exam and ask about your personal and family medical history. The tests you'll need to diagnose your heart disease depend on what condition your doctor thinks you might have. Besides blood tests and a chest X-ray, tests to diagnose heart disease can include:

  • Electrocardiogram (ECG or EKG). An ECG is a quick and painless test that records the electrical signals in your heart. It can spot abnormal heart rhythms. You may have an ECG while you're at rest or while exercising (stress electrocardiogram).
  • Holter monitoring. A Holter monitor is a portable ECG device you wear to continuously record your heart rhythm, usually for 24 to 72 hours. Holter monitoring is used to detect heart rhythm problems that aren't found during a regular ECG exam.
  • Echocardiogram. This noninvasive exam uses sound waves to produce detailed images of your heart's structure. It shows how your heart beats and pumps blood.
  • Stress test. This type of test involves raising your heart rate with exercise or medicine while performing heart tests and imaging to check how your heart responds.
  • Cardiac catheterization. In this test, a short tube (sheath) is inserted into a vein or artery in your leg (groin) or arm. A hollow, flexible and longer tube (guide catheter) is then inserted into the sheath. Using X-ray images on a monitor as a guide, your doctor carefully threads the catheter through the artery until it reaches your heart.

    During cardiac catheterization, the pressures in your heart chambers can be measured, and dye can be injected. The dye can be seen on an X-ray, which helps your doctor see the blood flow through your heart, blood vessels and valves to check for problems.

  • Cardiac computerized tomography (CT) scan. In a cardiac CT scan, you lie on a table inside a doughnut-shaped machine. An X-ray tube inside the machine rotates around your body and collects images of your heart and chest.
  • Cardiac magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). A cardiac MRI uses a magnetic field and computer-generated radio waves to create detailed images of your heart.

Treatment

The type of treatment you receive depends on the type of heart disease you have. In general, treatment for heart disease usually includes:

  • Lifestyle changes. You can lower your risk of heart disease by eating a low-fat and low-sodium diet, getting at least 30 minutes of moderate exercise on most days of the week, quitting smoking, and limiting alcohol intake.
  • Medications. If lifestyle changes alone aren't enough, your doctor may prescribe medications to control your heart disease. The type of medication you receive will depend on the type of heart disease.
  • Medical procedures or surgery. If medications aren't enough, it's possible your doctor will recommend specific procedures or surgery. The type of procedure or surgery will depend on the type of heart disease and the extent of the damage to your heart.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Heart disease can be improved — or even prevented — by making certain lifestyle changes. The following changes can help anyone who wants to improve heart health:

  • Stop smoking. Smoking is a major risk factor for heart disease, especially atherosclerosis. Quitting is the best way to reduce your risk of heart disease and its complications.
  • Control your blood pressure. Ask your doctor for a blood pressure measurement at least every two years. He or she may recommend more frequent measurements if your blood pressure is higher than normal or you have a history of heart disease. Optimal blood pressure is less than 120 systolic and 80 diastolic, as measured in millimeters of mercury (mm Hg).
  • Check your cholesterol. Ask your doctor for a baseline cholesterol test when you're in your 20s and then at least every five years. You may need to start testing earlier if high cholesterol is in your family. If your test results aren't within desirable ranges, your doctor may recommend more-frequent measurements.

    Most people should aim for a low-density lipoprotein (LDL) level below 130 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL), or 3.4 millimoles per liter (mmol/L). If you have other risk factors for heart disease, you should aim for an LDL level below 100 mg/dL (2.6 mmol/L). If you're at very high risk of heart disease — if you've already had a heart attack or have diabetes, for example — aim for an LDL level below 70 mg/dL (1.8 mmol/L).

  • Keep diabetes under control. If you have diabetes, tight blood sugar control can help reduce the risk of heart disease.
  • Exercise. Physical activity helps you achieve and maintain a healthy weight and control diabetes, high cholesterol and high blood pressure — all risk factors for heart disease. If you have a heart arrhythmia or heart defect, there may be some restrictions on the activities you can do, so talk to your doctor. With your doctor's OK, aim for 30 to 60 minutes of physical activity most days of the week.
  • Eat healthy foods. A heart-healthy diet based on fruits, vegetables and whole grains — and low in saturated fat, cholesterol, sodium and added sugar — can help you control your weight, blood pressure and cholesterol.
  • Maintain a healthy weight. Being overweight increases your risk of heart disease. A body mass index (BMI) of less than 25 and a waist circumference of 35 inches (88.9 centimeters) or less is the goal for preventing and treating heart disease.
  • Manage stress. Reduce stress as much as possible. Practice techniques for managing stress, such as muscle relaxation and deep breathing.
  • Get treatment for depression. Being depressed can increase your risk of heart disease significantly. Talk to your doctor if you feel hopeless or uninterested in your life.
  • Practice good hygiene. Regularly wash your hands and brush and floss your teeth to keep yourself well.

Also, get regular medical checkups. Early detection and treatment can set the stage for a lifetime of better heart health.

Coping and support

You may feel frustrated, upset or overwhelmed upon learning that you or your loved one has heart disease. Here are some ways to help cope with heart disease or improve your condition:

  • Cardiac rehabilitation. For people who have cardiovascular disease that's caused a heart attack or has required surgery to correct, cardiac rehabilitation is often recommended as a way to improve treatment and speed recovery. Cardiac rehabilitation involves levels of monitored exercise, nutritional counseling, emotional support, and support and education about lifestyle changes to reduce your risk of heart problems.
  • Support groups. Turning to friends and family for support is essential, but if you need more help, talk to your doctor about joining a support group. You may find that talking about your concerns with others in similar situations can help.
  • Continued medical checkups. If you have a recurring or long-term (chronic) heart condition, regularly check in with your doctor to make sure you're properly managing your heart condition.

Preparing for your appointment

Some types of heart disease will be discovered without an appointment — for example, if a child is born with a serious heart defect, it will be detected soon after birth. In other cases, your heart disease may be diagnosed in an emergency situation, such as a heart attack.

If you think you have heart disease or are worried about your heart disease risk because of your family history, see your family doctor. You may be referred to a heart specialist (cardiologist).

Here's some information to help you prepare for your appointment.

What you can do

  • Be aware of pre-appointment restrictions. When you make the appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as restrict your diet. You may need to avoid eating or drinking (fast) before a cholesterol test, for example.
  • Write down symptoms you're experiencing, including any that seem unrelated to heart disease.
  • Write down key personal information — including a family history of heart disease, stroke, high blood pressure or diabetes — and major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of medications, vitamins or supplements you're taking.
  • Take someone along, if possible. Someone who goes with you can help you remember information you're given.
  • Be prepared to discuss your diet and your smoking and exercise habits. If you don't already follow a diet or exercise routine, talk to your doctor about getting started.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

For heart disease, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is likely causing my symptoms or condition?
  • What are other possible causes for my symptoms or condition?
  • What tests will I need?
  • What's the best treatment?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • What are alternatives to the primary approach you're suggesting?
  • What foods should I eat or avoid?
  • What's an appropriate level of physical activity?
  • How often should I be screened for heart disease? For example, how often do I need a cholesterol test?
  • I have other health conditions. How do I manage them together?
  • Are there restrictions that I need to follow?
  • Should I see a specialist?
  • Are there brochures or other materials that I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you questions, such as:

  • When did your symptoms begin?
  • Are your symptoms continuous or do they come and go?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • Do you have a family history of heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure or other serious illness?

What you can do in the meantime

It's never too early to make healthy lifestyle changes, such as quitting smoking, eating healthy foods and becoming more physically active. A healthy lifestyle is the main protection against heart disease and its complications.

Heart disease care at Mayo Clinic

Jan. 12, 2021
  1. What is cardiovascular disease? American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/consumer-healthcare/what-is-cardiovascular-disease. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  2. Heart-healthy living. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-healthy-living. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  3. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 24, 2020.
  4. Ferry AV, et al. Presenting symptoms in men and women diagnosed with myocardial infarction using sex-specific criteria. Journal of the American Heart Association. 2019; doi:10.1161/JAHA.119.012307.
  5. Symptoms, diagnosis and monitoring of arrhythmia. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/arrhythmia/symptoms-diagnosis--monitoring-of-arrhythmia#.WQ0yvWnyt0w. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  6. Overview of congenital cardiovascular anomalies. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/overview-of-congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  7. Congenital heart defects. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/chd. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  8. What is cardiomyopathy? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/cm#. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  9. What is heart inflammation? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-inflammation#. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  10. Heart failure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-failure. Accessed Nov. 17, 2020.
  11. Bonow RO, et al. Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 30, 2020.
  12. Grundy SM, et al. 2018 AHA/ACC/AACVPR/AAPA/ABC/ACPM/ADA/AGS/APhA/ASPC/NLA/PCNA guideline on the management of blood cholesterol: A report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Clinical Practice Guidelines. Circulation. 2019; doi:10.1161/CIR.0000000000000625.

Related

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services