诊断

医生用听诊器听诊患者的胸部。 妙佑医疗国际例行检查

妙佑医疗国际的医务人员在听诊患者的心脏。

医疗护理专业人员会对您进行检查并使用一种称为听诊器的设备来探听心脏。听诊心脏时,可能会听到心脏杂音。

医护团队成员通常会询问有关您的症状、病史和家族史的问题。如果您有这种医疗状况的家族史,可能建议您进行基因检测或咨询。

检查

将对心脏进行多项检查,查明引发任何症状的病因。

  • 超声心动图。超声心动图通常用于诊断肥厚型心肌病。该检查利用声波生成心脏跳动的图像。可以显示心脏腔室和瓣膜的工作情况。超声心动图还能显示心肌是否出现异常增厚。
  • 心电图(ECG 或 EKG)。这项检查快速无痛,用于测量心脏的电活动。医生会将粘性贴片(称为电极)置于胸部,有时也会置于手臂和腿上。导线将电极连接至电脑,以打印或显示检查结果。ECG 可以显示不规则心跳和心脏增厚的问题。
  • 霍尔特氏心电动态监测仪。这种小巧便携的 ECG 设备可记录心脏活动。您需要在进行日常活动期间佩戴设备一两天。
  • 心脏 MRI这项检查利用强磁体和无线电波来生成心脏的图像。通过它可以了解心肌状况以及心脏和心脏瓣膜的工作情况。这项检查通常使用超声心动图来完成。
  • 运动负荷试验。进行运动负荷试验时,通常需要在跑步机上行走或骑健身车,同时监测心脏。运动负荷试验有助于揭示心脏对身体活动的反应。
  • 心脏 CT 扫描。这项检查很少用于诊断肥厚型心肌病。但如果无法使用 MRI,则可能会建议进行该检查。心脏 CT 扫描使用 X 线生成心脏和胸部图像。这项检查可显示心脏的大小。

治疗

肥厚型心肌病的治疗目标是缓解患者症状,预防高危人群出现心源性猝死。治疗方法取决于症状的严重程度。

如果您有心肌病,并且正处于孕期或考虑怀孕,请咨询医疗护理专业人员。您可能会被转诊给有诊治高危妊娠经验的医生。这位医生可能是围产期医生或母胎医学专科医生。

药物

药物可以帮助降低心肌收缩强度并减慢心率。这样,心脏可以更好地泵血。治疗肥厚型心肌病及其症状的药物可能包括:

  • β 受体阻滞剂,例如美托洛尔(Lopressor、Toprol-XL)、普萘洛尔(Inderal LA、Innopran XL)或阿替洛尔(Tenormin)。
  • 钙通道阻滞剂,例如维拉帕米(Verelan)或地尔硫䓬(Cardizem、Tiazac 等)。
  • 一种名为玛伐凯泰(Camzyos)的药物,能减轻心脏压力,可用于治疗梗阻性 HCM 的有症状成人患者。如果您不能服用 β 受体阻滞剂或维拉帕米或服用后未好转,您的医护团队可能会建议您服用该药。
  • 心律药物,例如胺碘酮(Pacerone)或丙吡胺(Norpace)。
  • 血液稀释剂,例如华法林(Jantoven)、达比加群(Pradaxa)、利伐沙班(Xarelto)或阿哌沙班(Eliquis)。如果您患有心房颤动或心尖型肥厚型心肌病,血液稀释剂有助于防止血凝块形成。心尖型 HCM 会增加心源性猝死的风险。

外科手术或其他手术

有几种外科手术或医疗程序可用于治疗心肌病或其症状,其中包括:

  • 室间隔心肌切除术。如果药物无法改善症状,医生可能会建议进行这项心内直视手术。这项手术需要切除心腔间增厚、过度生长的部分心壁。这里的心壁被称为室间隔。室间隔心肌切除术有助于提高流出心脏的血液量,还能减少血液通过二尖瓣回流。

    根据增厚心肌的位置,可能会采用不同的手术方法。其中一种称为心尖肌切除术,外科医生会从心尖附近切除增厚心肌。有时会同时修复二尖瓣。

  • 间隔消融。这项医疗程序使用酒精来缩小增厚的心肌。一根被称为导管的细长管子被放入向受影响区域供血的动脉中。在管中注入酒精。心脏电信号系统变化(又称为心脏传导阻滞)是并发症之一。心脏传导阻滞必须使用起搏器进行治疗。这种小型装置放置在胸部,可帮助控制心跳。
  • 植入式心律转复除颤器(ICD)。该装置放在锁骨附近皮下。该装置可持续检查心律。如果该装置发现不规则心跳,就会发出低能量或高能量电击,以恢复正常心律。使用 ICD 已被证明有助于预防少数肥厚型心肌病患者中出现的心源性猝死。
  • 心脏再同步治疗(CRT)装置。极少数情况下,使用这种植入装置治疗肥厚型心肌病。这种装置可以帮助心室以更有序且更高效的方式收缩。
  • 心室辅助装置(VAD)。这种植入装置也会在极少数情况下用于治疗肥厚型心肌病。该装置可帮助血液流经心脏。
  • 心脏移植。此手术使用捐赠者的健康心脏替换患病心脏。当药物和其他治疗方法不再有效时,心脏移植可以是治疗终末期心力衰竭的一种选择。

肥厚型心肌病及其治疗方案

Steve R. Ommen(医学博士,妙佑医疗国际心血管疾病部门):肥厚型心肌病是一种在全球都诊断不足和引起过度恐惧的状况。仅在美国,就有超过 50 万人患有肥厚型心肌病,其中许多人完全没有症状,也没有意识到自己患病。有些人可能突然死亡。心源性猝死的发生具有随机性,完全没有征兆。

Hartzell V.Schaff(医学博士,妙佑医疗国际心外科):超过三分之二的患者会有心脏阻塞。左心室流出道梗阻是有症状患者的手术指征。所以我们现在知道,有三分之二的肥厚型心肌病和心脏阻塞患者都适合手术。

Ommen 医生:肥厚型心肌病是最常见的遗传性心肌病或心肌疾病。这种基因是先天性的,但似乎直到少年期、急速发育或之后心肌才开始变得肥厚。婴儿可能在出生时就心肌肥厚,但这种情况非常罕见,通常是肥厚型心肌病更严重的表现。也有描述称四五十岁才发病。所以实际上,肥厚型心肌病可能随时发作。当然,症状也可能伴随一生。

Schaff 医生:梗阻性肥厚型心肌病患者的常见症状是呼吸短促、心绞痛样胸痛和晕厥。不幸的是,有些症状发展非常缓慢,持续时间非常长,以至于患者并不清楚这些症状对自己有何影响。

Ommen 医生:对于因肥厚型心肌病而出现症状的患者,一线治疗应采取医学管理、采用药物。一般是添加特定药物,但有时是患者在服用的药物可能加重病情。因此,一些最有效的治疗方法是停止使用错误药剂,然后可能需要添入正确的药物来帮助后面的症状。

如果医疗调整无效,或者患者对药物副作用不耐受,我们可以选择外科肌切除术等手段,这些手术可以更彻底地缓解患者的症状。

Schaff 医生:转诊来进行手术的患者几乎都经历了医学药物治疗失败或是药物副作用的影响,这些问题给他们造成的限制跟肥厚型心肌病的症状一样严重。而进行减缓流出道阻塞的手术目的就是为了缓解症状。有些患者可以停止服用有不良副作用的药物。

Ommen 医生:对于我们的许多患者来说,肌切除术是一项非常成功的手术。但它并没有得到充分应用,部分原因是之前认为这种手术会增加风险,而且缺乏能够做这种手术的外科医生。但如果由专家中心操作,并发症率极低,我们的成功率会非常高。

Schaff 医生:我们现在采用的是向心尖延伸、涉及范围更广的室间隔心肌切除术。这些年来,我们已经了解到,就缓解症状而言,心肌切除术中的这个远端部分最为重要。。少数患者需要二次手术,他们此前的手术不成功而被转诊到我们这里。我们发现心肌切除术深入心室的程度不够。原因其实不是肌肉的再生,只是因为初次手术不够充分。

Ommen 医生:医生实施心肌切除术,移除一部分肥大隔膜,正是这部分隔膜使流出心脏的血液通道变窄。这项手术改变血液流经心室的方向,它使二尖瓣可以正常工作,并让血液在不增加压力或力度的情况下流出心脏。这块肌肉不会随着时间的推移而再生。这是永久性的修复。

Schaff 医生:我们发现,需要处理二尖瓣的情况很少。如果对二尖瓣做些不必要的处理,会有损伤二尖瓣的风险。因此,我们更愿意做室间隔心肌切除术,在手术过程中暂停心肺机,用超声心动图评估二尖瓣,如果仍有反流,再处理二尖瓣。

心肌切除术后,只要主动脉闭合、心脏重新开始跳动,我们就能立刻判断二尖瓣反流是否得到了缓解。超声心动图在手术室进行,我们可以立刻得知二尖瓣反流有没有缓解。 部分非梗阻性肥厚型心肌病患者可以进行手术。 这是那些心尖部肥厚的患者。

其中部分患者还有与心室腔极小这一问题相关的舒张性心力衰竭。对这些患者行经心尖心肌切除术扩张心室,可以改善其心力衰竭症状。

Ommen 医生:虽然现在的外科心肌切除术已经取得很好的效果,但它仍然只能在真正的卓越中心进行。近期数据表明,在中小规模甚至所谓的“大规模”中心,死亡率呈梯度增加,也就是说小规模中心最高,大规模中心最低。

但是,即使在那些所谓的大规模中心,死亡率也远远高于真正的专家中心。这种手术应由非常熟悉操作并且经验丰富的医生来做。

Schaff 医生:在妙佑医疗国际,我们已经做过3000多例肥厚型心肌病手术,每年有 200 到 250 台手术。这项医疗程序的死亡率低于 1%,尤其是对于其他方面健康的患者。

Ommen 医生:每次我与患者交流时,最主要是帮助他们了解自己的心源性猝死风险,以及他们是否会考虑植入除颤器。我们的患者在手术过后的心源性猝死率较低,除颤器放电率也较低。

Schaff 医生:做完室间隔心肌切除术后,我们的一项发现是,室性心律失常的发生率似乎降低了。有关除颤器放电和猝死率的研究也证明了这一点。

Ommen 医生:肥厚型心肌病的遗传模式是常染色体显性遗传,这意味着肥厚型心肌病(HCM)患者的子女都有 50/50 的几率遗传这种疾病。我们建议对所有直系亲属进行筛查,比如基因检测或超声心动图监测。对于选择超声心动图筛查的家庭,我们建议成年直系亲属每五年进行一次筛查。青少年或运动员直系亲属通常建议每 12 到 18 个月筛查一次。

Schaff 医生:室间隔心肌切除术可以消除梗阻,也就是治愈肥厚型心肌病的症状。但其实患者仍然患有肥厚型心肌病,仍然需要由医生跟踪与肥厚型心肌病相关的其他问题。不过,希望导致手术的呼吸短促、胸部疼痛或头晕眼花等症状得到了缓解。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

改变生活方式可以降低肥厚型心肌病相关并发症的风险。请尝试这些健康的生活习惯:

  • 运动。向医疗护理专业人员了解哪些类型的运动和运动量对您而言是安全的。
  • 健康饮食。坚持健康饮食,减少摄入盐和固体脂肪,增加水果、蔬菜和全谷物。
  • 不要抽烟。如果您吸烟且难以自行戒烟,请向医疗护理专业人员咨询可帮助您戒烟的策略或项目。
  • 保持健康体重。这有助于防止对心脏造成过大压力。还能降低与外科手术或其他医疗程序相关的健康风险。请咨询医护团队,制定切实可行的体重指数(BMI)目标和体重目标。
  • 限量饮酒或戒酒。酒精使用有时会触发或加重心律不齐和血流阻塞。如果您能喝酒,请询问医疗护理专业人员喝多少对您来说是安全的。如果您决定饮酒,请注意适量。对于健康成人来说,适量饮酒是指女性每天最多一杯,男性每天最多两杯。
  • 控制血压和胆固醇。高血压和高胆固醇会增加患心脏病的风险。改变生活方式并遵医嘱服药,从而控制高血压或高胆固醇。定期进行健康检查。医疗护理专业人员可能建议您定期复诊,以检查您的状况。如果您出现新症状或原有症状恶化,请告知医护团队。
  • 养成良好的睡眠习惯。睡眠欠佳可能增加患心脏病和其他慢性医疗状况的风险。成人应争取每天 7 到 9 小时的睡眠。每天在相同时间就寝和起床,包括周末。如果您有睡眠问题,请咨询医疗护理专业人员哪些策略可能有用。

妥善处理与支持

与朋友和家人或互助小组建立联系。您或许会发现,与有相似处境的患者诉说自己的肥厚型心肌病可能有所帮助。

控制情绪压力也很重要。多运动和练习正念可以帮助减轻压力。如果您有焦虑症或抑郁症,请向医护团队咨询帮助缓解的策略。

准备您的预约

您可能会被转诊给在心脏病领域训练有素的医生。这类医疗护理专业人员称为心脏科医生。以下信息可以帮助您做好约诊准备。

您可以做什么

约诊时,请询问是否需要在检查前遵循任何限制。例如,您可能需要改变活动量或饮食。请列出以下各项:

  • 您的症状以及症状开始的时间。
  • 您使用的所有药物、维生素和补充剂,包括相应剂量。
  • 关键医疗信息,包括您的其他医疗状况以及任何心脏病家族史。
  • 要向医疗护理专业人员咨询的问题

要向医疗护理专业人员咨询的问题可能包括:

  • 我的症状最有可能是什么病因导致的?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 哪些治疗方法会有所帮助?
  • 我的心脏状况会带来哪些风险?
  • 我需要多久进行一次复诊?
  • 我需要限制自己的活动吗?
  • 我的孩子或其他直系亲属是否应该接受筛查,我是否应该约诊基因咨询师?
  • 我所患其他状况或使用的药物对我的心脏状况有何影响?

如果还有其他问题,请随时提出。

医生可能做些什么

医疗护理专业人员可能会询问您一些问题,例如:

  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 随着时间的推移,您的症状是否有什么变化?如果是,有哪些变化?
  • 运动或体力活动是否会加重您的症状?
  • 您曾经晕倒过吗?

在此期间您能做些什么

就诊前,请询问您的家人是否有亲属确诊为肥厚型心肌病或发生过不明原因的猝死。

如果运动会加重您的症状,在面诊医疗护理专业人员之前,请勿从事剧烈运动。请询问具体的运动建议。

May 24, 2024

Living with 肥厚型心肌病?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM) support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM) Discussions

Colleen Young, Connect Director
HCM-ers: Introduce yourself or just say hi

827 Replies Sat, Jul 13, 2024

captainterry
Anyone take new drug Camzyos (mavacamten) for HCM?

738 Replies Tue, Jul 09, 2024

hpboss84
I’m getting my ICD soon, anyone care to share their experience?

17 Replies Fri, Jul 05, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Maron MS. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 9, 2021.
  2. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM). American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/cardiomyopathy/what-is-cardiomyopathy-in-adults/hypertrophic-cardiomyopathy. Accessed Dec. 9, 2021.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2022.
  4. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM). American College of Cardiology. https://www.cardiosmart.org/topics/hypertrophic-cardiomyopathy. Accessed Dec. 9, 2021.
  5. Thomas R. Ami. AllScripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Accessed Dec. 6, 2023.
  6. Onmen SR, et al. 2020 AHA/ACC guideline for the diagnosis and treatment of patients with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Executive summary. Circulation. 2020; doi: 10.1161/CIR.0000000000000938.
  7. Cirino AL, et al. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy overview. GeneReviews. 2021; https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/. Accessed Dec. 9, 2021.
  8. Mankad R (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Nov. 15, 2023.
  9. Dearani JA, et al. Surgery insight: Septal myectomy for obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy — The Mayo Clinic experience. Nature Clinical Practice Cardiovascular Medicine. 2007; doi:10.1038/ncpcardio0965.
  10. Kirklin JW, et al. Surgical relief of diffuse subvalvular aortic stenosis. Circulation. 1961; doi:10.1161/01.cir.24.4.739.
  11. Maron BJ, et al. Diagnosis and evaluation of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: JACC state-of-the-art review. Journal of the American College of Cardiology. 2022; doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2021.12.002.
  12. Lloyd-Jones DM, et al. Life's essential 8: Updating and enhancing the American Heart Association's construct of cardiovascular health: A presidential advisory from the American Heart Association. Circulation. 2022; doi:10.1161/CIR.0000000000001078.

Diagnosis

A doctor uses a stethoscope to listen to a person's heart An exam at Mayo Clinic

A doctor listens to a person's heart at Mayo Clinic.

Your doctor will examine you and ask questions about your signs, symptoms, and medical and family history.

Tests

Your doctor will likely order tests to diagnose hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM) or rule out other conditions that can cause similar symptoms.

  • Echocardiogram. An echocardiogram is commonly used to diagnose hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. This test uses sound waves (ultrasound) to see if your heart's muscle is abnormally thick. It also shows how well your heart's chambers and valves are pumping blood.

    Sometimes, an echocardiogram is done while you exercise, usually on a treadmill. This is called an exercise stress test. Treadmill stress tests are commonly used to diagnose people with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.

  • Electrocardiogram (ECG or EKG). Sensors (electrodes) attached to adhesive pads are placed on your chest and sometimes legs. They measure electrical signals from your heart. An ECG can show abnormal heart rhythms and signs of heart thickening. In some cases, a portable ECG, called a Holter monitor, is needed. This device records your heart's activity continuously over one to two days.
  • Cardiac MRI. A cardiac MRI uses powerful magnets and radio waves to create images of your heart. It gives your doctor information about your heart muscle and shows how your heart and heart valves work. This test is often done with an echocardiogram.

Treatment

The goal of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy treatment is to relieve symptoms and prevent sudden cardiac death in people at high risk. Your specific treatment depends on the severity of your symptoms. Together, you and your doctor will discuss the most appropriate treatment for your condition.

Medications

Medications can help reduce how strong the heart muscle squeezes and slow the heart rate so that the heart can pump blood better. Medications to treat hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and its symptoms may include:

  • Beta blockers such as metoprolol (Lopressor, Toprol-XL), propranolol (Inderal, Innopran XL) or atenolol (Tenormin)
  • Calcium channel blockers such as verapamil (Verelan, Calan SR,) or diltiazem (Cardizem, Tiazac)
  • Heart rhythm drugs such as amiodarone (Pacerone) or disopyramide (Norpace)
  • Blood thinners such as warfarin (Coumadin, Jantoven), dabigatran (Pradaxa), rivaroxaban (Xarelto) or apixaban (Eliquis) to prevent blood clots if you have atrial fibrillation

Surgeries or other procedures

Several different surgeries or procedures are available to treat cardiomyopathy or its symptoms. They range from open-heart surgery to implantation of a device to control your heart rhythm.

  • Septal myectomy. This open-heart surgery may be recommended if medications do not improve your symptoms. It involves removing part of the thickened, overgrown wall (septum) between the heart chambers. Septal myectomy helps improve blood flow out of the heart and reduces backward flow of blood through the mitral valve (mitral regurgitation).

    The surgery may be done using different approaches, depending on the location of the thickened heart muscle. In one type, called apical myectomy, surgeons remove thickened heart muscle from near the tip of the heart. Sometimes the mitral valve is repaired at the same time.

  • Septal ablation. This procedure destroys the thickened heart muscle with alcohol. The alcohol is injected through a long, thin tube (catheter) into the artery supplying blood to that area. Possible complications include disruption of the heart's electrical system (heart block), which requires implantation of a pacemaker.
  • Implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD). An ICD is a small device that continuously monitors your heartbeat. It's implanted in your chest like a pacemaker. If a life-threatening arrhythmia occurs, the ICD delivers precisely calibrated electrical shocks to restore a normal heart rhythm. ICD has been shown to help prevent sudden cardiac death, which occurs in a small number of people with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and treatment options

Steve R. Ommen: The hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is a condition that has been under-diagnosed and overly feared throughout the world. In the United States alone, there are over a half a million people that have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, many of whom are completely asymptomatic and unaware of their diagnosis. Some people can die suddenly. Sudden cardiac death occurs randomly without warning.

Hartzell V. Schaff: Over 2/3 of the patients will have obstruction. And the obstruction to the left ventricular outflow tract is an indication for operation in patients that have symptoms. So we know now that 2/3 of the patients with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and obstruction are candidates for surgery.

Steve R. Ommen: Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is the most common inherited cardiomyopathy or heart muscle disease. People are born with the genetics for it, but the hypertrophy doesn't appear to start developing until adolescence, growth spurts, or beyond. It is possible for infants to born with thick heart muscles, but that's really quite rare and usually more severe expressions of the disease. And it's also been described as not coming on until people were in their fifth or sixth decade of life. So really, the onset can be at any time of life. And certainly the symptoms can occur throughout life.

Hartzell V. Schaff: The common symptoms that patients have when they have obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy are shortness of breath, angina-like chest pain and syncope. And unfortunately, some of these symptoms develop so slowly and over such a long time that the patients don't really understand how limited they are.

Steve R. Ommen: For patients who have symptoms due to hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, the first line of therapy is always to use medical management, medications. Usually, that's adding specific medications, but sometimes patients are on medications that can make their situation worse. And so some of the most effective therapy is removing the wrong agents, and then perhaps having to add in the right agents to help them with their symptoms down stream.

For patients who don't respond to those medical changes, or for whom those medications caused side effects that are intolerable, then that's when we move to things like surgical myectomy, which can more definitively relieve their symptoms.

Hartzell V. Schaff: The patients who are referred for surgery almost always have either failed medical treatment or have side effects from the medicines that limit them just as much as the symptoms from hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. So operation to relieve outflow tract obstruction is to relieve the symptoms. And in some patients, to allow them to get off of the medications that are having unwanted side effects.

Steve R. Ommen: Surgical myectomy has been a very successful operation for many of our patients. However, it is not utilized as much as it maybe could be in part owing to prior perceptions about increased risk with the operation, lack of universal availability of surgeons who can do it. But in the hands of expert centers, the complication rates are very low and our success rates are very high.

Hartzell V. Schaff: We now do a more extensive septal myectomy that extends towards the apex of the heart. And we've learned over the years that it's this distal portion of myectomy that's the most important in terms of relieving symptoms. The few patients who have had a second operation, who have been referred to us after having an operation that was unsuccessful, we found that the myectomy was not carried far enough into the ventricle. It's really not a regrowth of muscle. It's just an inadequate initial operation.

Steve R. Ommen: With surgical myectomy, the surgeon removes a portion of the hypertrophied septum, which is narrowing the path of blood, out of the heart. By doing this, it changes the direction the blood flows through the ventricle. It allows the mitral valve to function normally. And allows blood to leave the heart without increasing pressures or increasing forces. This muscle doesn't regrow over time. It is a permanent fix.

Hartzell V. Schaff: We found that it's rarely necessary to do something to the mitral valve. And the hazard with doing something to the mitral valve, where it turns out to be unnecessary, is there is a chance of injury. So we would prefer to do a septal myectomy, come off bypass, assess the mitral valve with an echocardiogram during surgery, before then addressing the mitral valve if there is residual regurgitation.

We can tell if the mitral regurgitation is relieved immediately after the myectomy once the aorta is closed and the heart is restarted. The echocardiogram is done in the operating room and we know right away whether the mitral regurgitation has been relieved. An operation is available for some patients that have non-obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. And these are patients with the apical distribution of hypertrophy.

Some of those patients have diastolic heart failure related to very small ventricular cavities. And in these patients, doing a transapical myectomy to enlarge the ventricle can improve their symptoms of heart failure.

Steve R. Ommen: While we see great results from the surgical myectomy as performed now, it is still something that should only be performed at true centers of excellence. Recent data that have come out have suggested that at low, medium, and even quote unquote "high volume" centers, there is a gradient of mortality, meaning it's highest at the low volume centers and lowest at the high volume centers.

But even those so-called high volume centers have mortality rates that are dramatically higher than what is reported from the true expert centers. And this is a procedure that should be done by those who are very familiar with this procedure, and doing a lot of them.

Hartzell V. Schaff: At Mayo Clinic, we've done over 3,000 operations for hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. We do 200 to 250 operations each year. The mortality for the procedure is less than 1%, especially for patients who are otherwise healthy.

Steve R. Ommen: One of the biggest parts of every interaction that I have with patients is helping them understand what their individual risk for sudden cardiac death might be, and whether they might consider having an implantable defibrillator. Our patients who have had surgery have a lower rate of sudden cardiac death and a lower rate for their defibrillators to discharge among those who have had them.

Hartzell V. Schaff: One of the things we've learned after doing septal myectomy is that actually the incidence of ventricular arrhythmia seems to be reduced. And this is shown in studies that look at defibrillator discharges and rates of sudden death.

Steve R. Ommen: The inheritance pattern of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is autosomal dominant, which means each of the children of a patient with HCM has a 50/50 chance of inheriting this disease. We do recommend screening for all first-degree relatives, which is either genetic testing or echocardiographic-based surveillance. When a family has chosen to use echocardiography as their screening tool, we recommend that adult first-degree relatives get screened every five years. First-degree relatives who are adolescents or athletes, we usually screen every 12 to 18 months.

Hartzell V. Schaff: Septal myectomy cures the symptoms of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy when it relieves the obstruction. But of course, patients still have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, still need to be followed by their physician for the other problems related to hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. But hopefully, are relieved of the shortness of breath, chest pain, or light-headedness that leads to the operation.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Lifestyle changes can reduce your risk of complications related to hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Your doctor may recommend lifestyle changes, including:

  • Using caution when playing sports. Competitive sports are generally not recommended for people with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, with the possible exception of some low-intensity sports. You may be able to participate in low- to moderate-intensity exercise as part of a healthy lifestyle. Discuss specific recommendations with your doctor.
  • Eating a healthy diet. A healthy diet is an important part of maintaining your heart health.
  • Maintaining a healthy weight. Maintaining a healthy weight will prevent excessive stress on your heart and reduce health risks associated with surgery or other procedures.
  • Reducing alcohol use. If you have symptoms or a history of rhythms provoked by alcohol, ask your doctor for guidance about safe levels of alcohol use. Drinking too much alcohol can trigger irregular heart rhythms and can lead to increased blockage of blood flow in your heart.
  • Taking your medications. Make sure to take your medications as prescribed.
  • Having regular medical appointments. Your doctor may recommend regular follow-up appointments to evaluate your condition. Let your doctor know if you have any new or worse symptoms.

Pregnancy

Women who have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy can generally have normal pregnancies. However, if you have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, your doctor may recommend that you see a doctor experienced in caring for women with high-risk conditions during your pregnancy.

Coping and support

Being diagnosed with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy can cause a range of difficult emotions. Like many people with this condition, you may experience feelings of grief, fear and anger. These responses are appropriate to the lifestyle changes that come with your diagnosis.

To cope with your condition:

  • Reduce your stress. Find ways to reduce your stress.
  • Get support. Get support from your friends and family.
  • Follow lifestyle changes your doctor recommends. Making healthy lifestyle changes, such as eating a healthy diet and maintaining a healthy weight, can help you cope with living with your condition.

Preparing for your appointment

You may be referred to a doctor trained in diagnosing and treating heart conditions (cardiologist). Here's some information to help you prepare for your appointment.

What you can do

  • Find out if you need to follow any pre-appointment restrictions, such as changing your activity level or your diet.
  • Write down your symptoms and how long you've had them.
  • Take a list of all your medications, vitamins or supplements.
  • Write down your key medical information, including other diagnosed conditions.
  • Write down key personal information, including any recent changes or stressors in your life.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Questions to ask your doctor

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • What kinds of tests do I need?
  • What treatments can help?
  • What risks does my heart condition create?
  • How often will I need follow-up appointments?
  • Do I need to restrict my activities?
  • Should my children or other first-degree relatives be screened for this condition, and should I meet with a genetic counselor?
  • How will other conditions that I have or medications I take affect my heart problem?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may make time to go over points you want to spend more time on. You may be asked:

  • When did you begin experiencing symptoms, and how severe are they?
  • Have your symptoms changed over time? If so, how?
  • Does exercise or physical exertion make your symptoms worse?
  • Have you ever fainted?
  • Do you have a family history of heart disease?

What you can do in the meantime

Before your appointment, ask your family members if any relatives have been diagnosed with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy or have experienced unexplained, sudden death. It will help your doctor to know as many details as possible about your family medical history.

If exercise makes your symptoms worse, avoid strenuous exercise until you have seen your doctor and received specific exercise recommendations.

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy care at Mayo Clinic

June 02, 2020
  1. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/Cardiomyopathy/Hypertrophic-Cardiomyopathy_UCM_444317_Article.jsp#.WbMHH9jrvIU. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  2. What is cardiomyopathy? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/cm. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  3. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  4. Maron MS. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  5. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Nov. 14, 2019.
  6. Maron MS. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Management of ventricular arrhythmias and sudden cardiac death risk. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 29, 2017.
  7. AskMayoExpert. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  8. Dearani JA, et al. Surgery insight: Septal myectomy for obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy — The Mayo Clinic experience. Nature Clinical Practice Cardiovascular Medicine. 2007; https://www.nature.com/articles/ncpcardio0965. Accessed April 23, 2020.
  9. Kirklin JW, et al. Surgical relief of diffuse subvalvular aortic stenosis. Circulation. 1961; doi:10.1161/01.cir.24.4.739.
  10. Prevention and treatment of cardiomyopathy. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/Cardiomyopathy/Prevention-and-Treatment-of-Cardiomyopathy_UCM_444176_Article.jsp#.WbbYzdjrvcs. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  11. Basu J, et al. Exercise and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Two incompatible entities? Clinical Cardiology. 2020; doi:10.1002/clc.23343.