التشخيص

طبيب يستخدم سماعة طبية للاستماع إلى قلب شخص اختبار في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

طبيب يستمع إلى قلب شخص في Mayo Clinic.

ملاحظة: كُتِب هذا المحتوى قبل جائحة فيروس كورونا المستجد (كوفيد-19)، ولا يوضح البروتوكولات المناسبة للتعامل مع الجائحة. يرجى اتباع جميع الإرشادات التي توصي بها مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها بشأن ارتداء الكمامات والتباعد الاجتماعي.

سيفحصك الطبيب ويطرح عليكَ أسئلة عن مؤشرات المرض والأعراض والتاريخ الطبي والعائلي.

الفحوصات

من المحتمل أن يطلب الطبيب المعالج لك اختبارات لتشخيص اعتلال عضلة القلب الضُخامي أو استبعاد الحالات الأخرى التي يمكن أن تسبب أعراضًا مشابهة.

  • مخطط صدى القلب. يشيع استخدام مخطط صدى القلب لتشخيص اعتلال العضلة القلبية الضُخامي. ويستخدم هذا الاختبار الموجات الصوتية (الألتراساوند (محوّل الطاقة الفوق صوتي)) لمعرفة ما إذا كانت عضلة قلبك متخضمةً بشكل غير طبيعي. كما يوضح مدى جودة ضخ حجرات القلب والصمامات للدم.

    وفي بعض الأحيان، يتم إجراء مخطط صدى القلب أثناء ممارسة الرياضة، عادةً على جهاز المشاية. وهذا ما يسمى اختبار الجهد أثناء ممارسة الرياضة. وتُستخدم اختبارات الجهد على جهاز المشاية عادةً لتشخيص الأشخاص المصابين باعتلال العضلة القلبية الضُخامي.

  • مخطط كهربية القلب (ECG أو EKG). توضع المستشعرات (المسارات الكهربائية) الموصولة برفادات لاصقة على صدرك وعلى الساقين أحيانًا. وهي تقيس الإشارات الكهربائية من قلبك. يمكن أن يُظهر مخطط كهربية القلب نظم القلب غير الطبيعي وعلامات تضخم القلب. في بعض الحالات، هناك حاجة إلى إجراء مخطط كهربية القلب المحمول، والذي يسمى جهاز هولتر لمراقبة نظم القلب. ويسجل هذا الجهاز نشاط قلبك بشكل مستمر على مدار يوم إلى يومين.
  • تصوير القلب بالرنين المغناطيسي. يستخدم تصوير القلب بالرنين المغناطيسي مغناطيسات قوية وموجات راديوية لإنشاء صور لقلبك. وهو يعطي الطبيب المعالج لك معلومات عن عضلة قلبك ويوضح كيف يعمل قلبك وصمامات القلب. وغالبًا ما يُجرى هذا الاختبار مع مخطط صدى القلب.

العلاج

يهدف علاج اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي إلى تخفيف الأعراض ومنع الموت القلبي المفاجئ بين الأشخاص المعرضين لخطر كبير. ويعتمد العلاج المحدد لك على درجة حدة أعراضك. سيتناقش الطبيب معك لتحديد العلاج الأفضل لحالتك المرضية.

الأدوية

يمكن أن تساعد الأدوية في الحد من قوة انقباض عضلة القلب وإبطاء سرعة القلب حتى يتمكن القلب من ضخ الدم بصورة أفضل. قد تشمل الأدوية المستخدمة في علاج اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي وأعراضه ما يلي:

  • حاصرات بيتا مثل ميتوبرولول (لوبريسور، توبرول إكس إل) أو بروبرانولول (إنديرال، إنوبران إكس إل) أو أتينولول (تينورمين)
  • حاصرات قنوات الكالسيوم، مثل فيراباميل (فيريلان، كالان إس آر) أو ديلتيازيم (كارديزم، تيازاك)
  • أدوية نظم القلب مثل أميودارون (باسيرون) أو ديسوبيراميد (نوربيس)
  • مضادات التخثُّر مثل الوارفارين (كومادين، جانتوفين) أو دابيغاتران (براداكسا) أو ريفاروكسابان (زاريلتو) أو أبيكسابان (إليكويس) لمنع تجلط الدم إذا كنت مصابًا بالرجفان الأذيني

العمليات الجراحية أو الإجراءات الأخرى

تتوفر العديد من العمليات الجراحية أو الإجراءات المختلفة لعلاج اعتلال عضلة القلب أو أعراضه. وهي تتراوح من جراحة القلب المفتوح إلى زرع جهاز للتحكم في إيقاع قلبك.

  • استئصال عضلة الحاجز. قد يُوصى بإجراء جراحة القلب المفتوح هذه إذا لم تُحسِّن الأدوية من الأعراض. وهي تتضمن إزالة جزء من الجدار السميك المتضخم (الحاجز) بين غرف القلب. ويساعد استئصال عضلة الحاجز في تحسين تدفق الدم خارج القلب ويقلل من التدفق العكسي للدم عبر الصمام المترالي (قلس الصمام المترالي).

    يمكن إجراء الجراحة باستخدام طرق مختلفة، اعتمادًا على موقع عضلة القلب المتضخمة. في أحد أنواع هذه الجراحة، ويسمى استئصال العضلة القِمِّيَّة، يقوم الجراحون بإزالة عضلة القلب المتضخمة بالقرب من طرف القلب. وأحيانًا يتم ترميم الصمام المترالي في الوقت نفسه.

  • استئصال الحاجز. يدمر هذا الإجراء عضلة القلب المتضخمة باستخدام الكحول. يُحقن الكحول من خلال أنبوب طويل رفيع (قسطرة) في الشريان الذي يمد هذه المنطقة بالدم. تشمل المضاعفات المحتملة حدوث خلل في النظام الكهربائي للقلب (انسداد القلب)، الأمر الذي يتطلب زرع جهاز تنظيم ضربات القلب.
  • مُقوِّم نظم القلب ومُزيل الرَّجَفان القابل للغرس (ICD). جهاز مُقوِّم نظم القلب ومُزيل الرَّجَفان القابل للغرس (ICD) هو جهاز صغير يراقب نبضات قلبك باستمرار. ويتم زرعه في صدرك مثل جهاز تنظيم ضربات القلب. وإذا حدث اضطراب النظم القلبي بحيث يمثل تهديدًا للحياة، فإن مُقوِّم نظم القلب ومُزيل الرَّجَفان القابل للغرس يصدران صدمات كهربائية يتم معايرتها بدقة لاستعادة نظم ضربات القلب الطبيعية. وقد ثبت أن جهاز تنظيم ضربات القلب ومزيل الرجفان القابل للزرع يساعد في منع الموت القلبي المفاجئ، والذي يحدث مع عدد قليل من الأشخاص المصابين باعتلال العضلة القلبية الضخامي.

اعتلال عضلة القلب الضخامي وخيارات العلاج

"ستيف آر أومن": اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي هو حالة لا تلقى حقها من التشخيص السليم، وهناك مخاوف كبيرة بشأن الإصابة بها حول العالم. فالولايات المتحدة وحدها يوجد فيها أكثر من نصف مليون شخص يواجهون اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي، والكثير منهم لا تظهر عليهم أية أعراض وهم غافلون تمامًا عن التشخيص السليم لحالتهم. وربما يفارق بعضهم الحياة فجأة. إذ قد تقع الوفاة القلبية المفاجئة بشكل عشوائي دون سابق إنذار.

"هارتزل في شاف": أكثر من ثلثي المرضى لديهم انسداد. وهذا الانسداد في مجرى تدفق البطين الأيسر يعد مؤشرًا يدعو لإخضاع المرضى أصحاب هذه الأعراض للعملية الجراحية. ولذلك فنحن نعلم الآن أن ثلثي المرضى المصابين باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي والانسداد مرشحون لإجراء عملية جراحية.

"ستيف آر أومن": اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي أحد أكثر أمراض عضلة القلب أو اعتلال عضلة القلب الوراثية شيوعًا. يولد الناس بعوامل وراثية للمرض، ولكن لا يبدو أن التضخم يبدأ في التطور إلا بعد الوصول إلى سن المراهقة أو بعد حدوث طفرة في النمو أو غير ذلك. من الممكن أن يولد الأطفال بعضلات قلب سميكة، لكن هذا من الحالات نادرة الحدوث، وهو عادة أكثر أوجه المرض حدة. وُصف هذا المرض أيضًا بأنه لن يحدث حتى يبلغ الناس العقد الخامس أو السادس من حياتهم. ولذلك فالواقع يشير إلى أن بدء المرض قد يكون في أي لحظة من الحياة. وبالتأكيد يمكن أن تظهر الأعراض طوال الحياة.

"هارتزل في شاف": الأعراض الشائعة التي يشعر بها المرضى عند الإصابة باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي الانسدادي هي ضيق النفس وألم في الصدر يشبه الذبحة الصدرية والإغماء. وبعض هذه الأعراض - للأسف - يتطور ببطء شديد وعلى مدى فترة طويلة بحيث لا يدرك المرضى شيئًا عن محدوديتها.

"ستيف آر أومن": دائمًا ما يكون الخيار العلاجي الأول للمرضى الذين تظهر عليهم أعراض الإصابة باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي هو إدارة الحالة طبيًا واستخدام الأدوية. ويعني هذا في العادة الاستعانة بأدوية إضافية معينة، لكن بعض المرضى قد يكونون خاضعين أحيانًا لنظام دوائي يؤدي إلى تفاقم حالتهم. وبالتالي فإن من بين العلاجات الأكثر فعالية التخلص من العوامل الخاطئة، ثم قد تضطر إلى إضافة العوامل المناسبة لمساعدتهم في تخفيف حدة الأعراض.

أما المرضى الذين لا يستجيبون لتلك التغييرات الطبية، أو أولئك الذين سببت لهم الأدوية آثارًا جانبية لا يمكن تحملها، فعندئذ ننتقل إلى حلول أخرى مثل استئصال العضلة جراحيًا الذي يمكن أن يخفف أعراضهم بشكل قاطع.

"هارتزل في شاف": غالبًا ما يكون المرضى الذين أحيلوا إلى الجراحة قد فشل علاجهم طبيًا أو ظهرت عليهم آثار جانبية من الأدوية التي حد قدراتهم تمامًا مثل أعراض اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي. ولذلك فإن عملية تخفيف انسداد مجرى تدفق الأوعية الدموية تهدف إلى تخفيف حدة الأعراض. وتُجرى لبعض المرضى لتمكينهم من التخلي عن الأدوية التي لها آثار جانبية غير مرغوب فيها.

"ستيف آر أومن": لقد كانت عملية استئصال العضلة جراحيًا عملية ناجحة جدًا للعديد من مرضانا. ومع ذلك، فإنها لا يُعتمد عليها بالقدر الذي ينبغي لها، ويرجع السبب في ذلك جزئيًا إلى التصورات المسبقة عن زيادة المخاطر المرتبطة بالعملية الجراحية، وعدم توفر ما يكفي من الجراحين لإجرائها على مستوى العالم. لكن مع وجود مراكز الخبراء، صارت معدلات المضاعفات منخفضة جدًا بالتوازي مع الارتفاع الكبير في معدلات نجاحنا.

"هارتزل في شاف": نجري الآن عمليات استئصال عضلة الحاجز على نطاق أوسع يمتد ليشمل قمة القلب. وقد اكتشفنا بمرور سنوات عديدة أن هذا الجزء البعيد المستأصل من العضلة، هو الأكثر أهمية عند النظر إلى تخفيف حدة الأعراض. وقد اكتشفنا في المرضى القلائل الذين خضعوا لعملية جراحية ثانية وكانوا قد أحيلوا إلينا بعد خضوعهم لعملية سابقة غير ناجحة، أن عملية استئصال العضلة لم تُجر لقدر كافٍ من البُطين. ما حدث لم يكن بالضبط عودة العضلة للنمو. وإنما كان عملية جراحية أوّلية أجريت بشكل غير صحيح.

"ستيف آر أومن": يستأصل الجرّاح في عملية استئصال العضلة جراحيًا جزءًا من الحاجز المتضخم، الذي يضيق مسار الدم المتدفق من القلب. وبتنفيذه هذا الإجراء فإنه يغير اتجاه الدم المتدفق عبر البُطين. ويؤدي ذلك إلى السماح للشريان التاجي بأداء وظيفته الطبيعية. ويسمح أيضًا للدم بالخروج من القلب دون الحاجة إلى المزيد من الضغط أو القوة. ولا تعود هذه العضلة للنمو بمرور الوقت. أي أنه إصلاح مستدام.

"هارتزل في شاف": وجدنا أنه نادرًا ما يكون من الضروري التداخل بإجراء ما في الصمام التاجي. فالخطر الكامن في اتخاذ أي إجراء مع الصمام التاجي - عند تبيُّن أن هذا الإجراء لم يكن ضروريًا - هو احتمالية التعرض للإصابة. ولذلك فإننا نفضل استئصال عضلة الحاجز وفصلها عن المجازة، ثم تقييم الصمّام التاجي باستخدام مخطط صدى القلب أثناء الجراحة، قبل أن نتعامل بعدئذ مع الصمام التاجي إن كان هناك قلس متبقٍ.

يمكننا معرفة ما إذا كان القلس التاجي قد خفّت حدته بعد استئصال العضلة فورًا وبمجرد إغلاق الشريان الأورطي وعودة القلب للعمل أم لا. يُجرى مخطط صدى القلب في غرفة العمليات، ونعرف على الفور ما إذا كان القلس التاجي قد خفّت حدته أم لا. يمكن أن يخضع بعض المرضى المصابين باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي غير الانسدادي لنوع من العمليات الجراحية. وهم مرضى التوزيع القمّي للتضخم.

يعاني بعض هؤلاء المرضى فشل القلب الانبساطي المرتبط بالصغر الشديد للتجاويف البُطينية. وقد يؤدي خضوع أولئك المرضى لإجراء جراحي لاستئصال العضلة عبر القمّية من أجل تكبير البُطين إلى تحسين أعراض فشل القلب الظاهرة عليهم.

"ستيف آر أومن": بينما نرى نتائج رائعة لاستئصال العضلة جراحيًا على النحو الذي يجري الآن، فإن ثمة شيء ينبغي ألا يُجرى إلا في مراكز التميُّز الحقيقية. تشير بيانات حديثة إلى تدرُّج معدل الوفيات من المراكز صغيرة ومتوسطة الحجم، وحتى كبيرة الحجم أيضًا؛ بما يفيد أنها تبلغ أعلى مستوى لها في المراكز صغيرة الحجم، وأدنى مستوى لها في المراكز كبيرة الحجم.

لكن حتى تلك المراكز التي يُطلق عليها مُسمى كبيرة الحجم، تشهد معدلات وفيات أعلى بدرجة مريعة من المراكز التي يشار إليها بأنها مراكز خبراء حقيقية. وهذا الإجراء من النوع الذي ينبغي أن يجريه من هم على دراية كبيرة به ويجرون الكثير منه.

"هارتزل في شاف": أجرينا في Mayo Clinic أكثر من 3000 عملية لاعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي. إذ نجري كل عام من 200 إلى 250 عملية. ولا يتجاوز معدل الوفيّات في هذه العمليات نسبة 1%، لا سيما بين المرضى الذين يتمتعون بصحة جيدة.

"ستيف آر أومن": أحد أهم العناصر في كل تواصل بيني وبين المرضى هو مساعدتهم في فهم احتمالية تعرض كل منهم على حدة للموت القلبي المفاجئ، وما إذا كان ينبغي لهم التفكير في الحصول على مُزيل الرَّجَفان القابل للزرع. ينخفض معدل حالات الموت القلبي المفاجئ بين مرضانا الذين خضعوا للعمليات الجراحية وتقل معدلات تفريغ مزيلات الرجفان المزروعة لهم بين غيرهم من المرضى.

"هارتزل في شاف": أحد الأشياء التي تعلمناها بعد إجراء عملية استئصال عضلة الحاجز هو أن معدل حدوث اضطراب النظم القلبي البطيني يبدو أنه قد انخفض فعلاً. وهذا ما ظهر في الدراسات التي تبحث في تفريغ جهاز مُزيل الرَّجَفان ومعدلات الموت المفاجئ.

"ستيف آر أومن": النمط الوراثي لاعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي هو صفة صبغية جسدية سائدة، ما يعني أن كل واحد من أطفال المريض المصاب بمرض اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي قد يرث هذا المرض أو لا يرثه بنسب متساوية. نوصي بفحص جميع الأقارب من الدرجة الأولى، إما بالفحص الوراثي أو الفحص القائم على تخطيط صدى القلب. عندما تختار أسرة ما استخدام تخطيط صدى القلب كأداة فحص، فإننا نوصي بإجراء الفحص للأقارب البالغين من الدرجة الأولى كل خمس سنوات. أما أقارب الدرجة الأولى من المراهقين أو الرياضيين، فإننا نعيد الفحص عادة كل 12 إلى 18 شهرًا.

"هارتزل في شاف": يعالج استئصال عضلة الحاجز أعراض اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي عند نجاحه في تخفيف الانسداد. لكن ما يزال المرضى الذين لديهم أعراض اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي محتاجين حتى الآن إلى متابعة من قبل طبيبهم لمعالجة المشكلات الأخرى المتعلقة باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي. ولكننا نأمل أن يتخلصوا من ضيق النفس أو ألم الصدر أو الصداع الذي أدى إلى إجراء العملية.

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول التطورات الجديدة في مجال العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والاختبارات المستخدمة للوقاية من هذه الحالة الصحية وعلاجها وإدارتها.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

يمكن أن تقلل التغييرات في نمط الحياة من خطر التعرض لمضاعفات تتعلق باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي. ومن التغييرات في نمط الحياة التي قد يوصي طبيبك بها:

  • توخي الحذر عند ممارسة الرياضة. لا يُنصح عمومًا بأن يمارس المصابون باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي الرياضات التنافسية، مع استثناء بعض الرياضات منخفضة الشدة. وربما يكون بإمكانك المشاركة في تمارين رياضية تتراوح شدتها بين الخفيفة والمتوسطة كجزء من نمط حياتك الصحي. ناقش هذه التوصيات المحددة مع طبيبك.
  • اتباع حِمية غذائية صحية. يشكل اتباع نظام غذائي صحي عنصرًا مهمًا للحفاظ على صحة قلبك.
  • الحفاظ على وزن صحي. يقيك الحفاظ على وزن صحي من الإجهاد المفرط لقلبك، ويقلل من المخاطر الصحية المصاحبة للجراحة أو غيرها من الإجراءات.
  • الحد من تناوُل الكحوليات. إذا كانت لديك أعراض لاضطراب نظم القلب الذي يسببه الكحول أو سوابق للإصابة به، فاستشر طبيبك بشأن المستويات المأمونة من الكحوليات. يمكن أن يؤدي الإفراط في تعاطي الكحوليات إلى اختلال نظم القلب وقد يؤدي مزيد من الانسداد في تدفق الدم من قلبك وإليه.
  • تناول أدويتك. تأكد من تناوُل أدويتك كما هو موصوف طبيًا.
  • الانتظام في المواعيد الطبية. قد يوصي طبيبك بتحديد مواعيد للمتابعة المنتظمة لتقييم حالتك الصحية. أخبر طبيبك إذا ظهرت عليك أي أعراض جديدة أو تفاقمت.

الحَمل

يمكن للنساء المصابات باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي أن يحملن عمومًا بشكل طبيعي. لكن إذا كنتِ تعانين اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي، فقد يوصي طبيبكِ بمراجعة طبيب لديه الخبرة اللازمة في رعاية النساء اللاتي يعانين مشكلات مرتفعة الخطورة في أثناء الحمل.

التأقلم والدعم

قد يؤدي تشخيصك باعتلال عضلة القلب الضخامي إلى شعورك بمجموعة من المشاعر العصيبة. فقد تشعر بالحزن والخوف والغضب، تمامًا مثل العديد من الأشخاص المصابين بهذه الحالة. وهذه الاستجابات مناسبة لتغييرات نمط الحياة المصاحبة لتشخيصك.

للتعامل مع حالتك:

  • قلل من الإجهاد. اكتشف طرقًا تساعدك على تقليل تعرضك للإجهاد.
  • احصل على الدعم. اطلب الدعم من أصدقائك وعائلتك.
  • اتبع تغييرات نمط الحياة التي يوصي بها طبيبك. من الممكن أن يساعدك إجراء بعض التغييرات الصحية على نمط حياتك، مثل اتباع حمية صحية والحفاظ على وزن صحي، على التعايش مع حالتك المرضية.

الاستعداد لموعدك

من المحتمل أن تتم إحالتك إلى طبيب مدرب على تشخيص أمراض القلب وعلاجها (طبيب القلب). إليك بعض المعلومات لمساعدتك على الاستعداد لموعدك.

ما يمكنك فعله

  • ينبغي التعرف على التعليمات التي ينبغي اتباعها قبل الموعد مع الطبيب، مثل مستوى النشاط البدني أو النظامك الغذائي.
  • دوِّن الأعراض التي تعانيها ومدة الإصابة بها.
  • أحضر قائمة بجميع أدويتك والفيتامينات والمكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • دوِّن المعلومات الطبية الرئيسية الخاصة بك، بما في ذلك الحالات الأخرى التي تم تشخيصها.
  • دوِّن بياناتك الشخصية الرئيسية، بما في ذلك أي تغييرات أو ضغوط حدثت مؤخرًا في حياتك.
  • دوِّن أسئلتك لطرحها على الطبيب.

الأسئلة التي يجب طرحها على طبيبك

  • ما أكثر الأسباب احتمالاً لإصابتي بهذه الأعراض؟
  • ما أنواع الفحوصات التي قد أحتاج إلى إجرائها؟
  • ما العلاجات التي قد تساعدني؟
  • ما المخاطر المحتمَلة بسبب حالة قلبي؟
  • كم مرة يجب عليّ إجراء المواعيد الطبية للمتابعة؟
  • هل سأحتاج إلى تقييد نشاطي؟
  • هل يحتاج أطفالي أو أقاربي من الدرجة الأولى إلى إجراء الفحوصات لهذه الحالة، وهل يتعين عليّ الذهاب إلى مستشار في علم الوراثة؟
  • كيف ستؤثِّر الحالات المرضية الأخرى التي أعاني منهاَّ أو الأدوية الأخرى التي أتناولها على مشكلات قلبي؟

لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة أثناء الموعد الطبي، بالإضافة إلى الأسئلة التي أعدَدْتَها لطرحها على طبيبك.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة. قد يُوفِّر استعدادكَ للإجابة عليها الوقت لمناقشة أي نقاط تودُّ قضاء المزيد من الوقت في البحث عنها. قد تُسأل عن:

  • متى بدأت أعراضكِ في الظهور، وما مدى شدتها؟
  • هل تغيّرت أعراضكَ مع مرور الوقت؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، فكيف؟
  • هل ممارسة التمارين الرياضية أو المجهود البدني يزيد أعراضك سوءًا؟
  • هل سبق أن أُغمِيَ عليك؟
  • هل لدى عائلتك تاريخ مرضي للإصابة بمرض القلب؟

ما الذي يمكنك القيام به في هذه الأثناء

قبل موعدك، اسأل أفراد عائلتك إذا كان قد أصيب أي من الأقارب باعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي، أو عانى من الوفاة المفاجئة بدون سبب. سوف يساعد هذا طبيبك في معرفة أكبر قدر من التفاصيل عن التاريخ الطبي للعائلة.

إذا كانت التمارين تزيد من سوء الأعراض لديك، فتجنب التدريبات الشاقة حتى تزور طبيبك ويعطيك توصيات معينة بالتدريبات.

اعتلال عضلة القلب التضخمي - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

02/06/2020
  1. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/Cardiomyopathy/Hypertrophic-Cardiomyopathy_UCM_444317_Article.jsp#.WbMHH9jrvIU. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  2. What is cardiomyopathy? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/cm. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  3. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  4. Maron MS. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  5. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Nov. 14, 2019.
  6. Maron MS. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Management of ventricular arrhythmias and sudden cardiac death risk. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 29, 2017.
  7. AskMayoExpert. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  8. Dearani JA, et al. Surgery insight: Septal myectomy for obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy — The Mayo Clinic experience. Nature Clinical Practice Cardiovascular Medicine. 2007; https://www.nature.com/articles/ncpcardio0965. Accessed April 23, 2020.
  9. Kirklin JW, et al. Surgical relief of diffuse subvalvular aortic stenosis. Circulation. 1961; doi:10.1161/01.cir.24.4.739.
  10. Prevention and treatment of cardiomyopathy. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/Cardiomyopathy/Prevention-and-Treatment-of-Cardiomyopathy_UCM_444176_Article.jsp#.WbbYzdjrvcs. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  11. Basu J, et al. Exercise and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Two incompatible entities? Clinical Cardiology. 2020; doi:10.1002/clc.23343.

Diagnosis

A doctor uses a stethoscope to listen to a person's heart An exam at Mayo Clinic

A doctor listens to a person's heart at Mayo Clinic.

Your doctor will examine you and ask questions about your signs, symptoms, and medical and family history.

Tests

Your doctor will likely order tests to diagnose hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM) or rule out other conditions that can cause similar symptoms.

  • Echocardiogram. An echocardiogram is commonly used to diagnose hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. This test uses sound waves (ultrasound) to see if your heart's muscle is abnormally thick. It also shows how well your heart's chambers and valves are pumping blood.

    Sometimes, an echocardiogram is done while you exercise, usually on a treadmill. This is called an exercise stress test. Treadmill stress tests are commonly used to diagnose people with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.

  • Electrocardiogram (ECG or EKG). Sensors (electrodes) attached to adhesive pads are placed on your chest and sometimes legs. They measure electrical signals from your heart. An ECG can show abnormal heart rhythms and signs of heart thickening. In some cases, a portable ECG, called a Holter monitor, is needed. This device records your heart's activity continuously over one to two days.
  • Cardiac MRI. A cardiac MRI uses powerful magnets and radio waves to create images of your heart. It gives your doctor information about your heart muscle and shows how your heart and heart valves work. This test is often done with an echocardiogram.

Treatment

The goal of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy treatment is to relieve symptoms and prevent sudden cardiac death in people at high risk. Your specific treatment depends on the severity of your symptoms. Together, you and your doctor will discuss the most appropriate treatment for your condition.

Medications

Medications can help reduce how strong the heart muscle squeezes and slow the heart rate so that the heart can pump blood better. Medications to treat hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and its symptoms may include:

  • Beta blockers such as metoprolol (Lopressor, Toprol-XL), propranolol (Inderal, Innopran XL) or atenolol (Tenormin)
  • Calcium channel blockers such as verapamil (Verelan, Calan SR,) or diltiazem (Cardizem, Tiazac)
  • Heart rhythm drugs such as amiodarone (Pacerone) or disopyramide (Norpace)
  • Blood thinners such as warfarin (Coumadin, Jantoven), dabigatran (Pradaxa), rivaroxaban (Xarelto) or apixaban (Eliquis) to prevent blood clots if you have atrial fibrillation

Surgeries or other procedures

Several different surgeries or procedures are available to treat cardiomyopathy or its symptoms. They range from open-heart surgery to implantation of a device to control your heart rhythm.

  • Septal myectomy. This open-heart surgery may be recommended if medications do not improve your symptoms. It involves removing part of the thickened, overgrown wall (septum) between the heart chambers. Septal myectomy helps improve blood flow out of the heart and reduces backward flow of blood through the mitral valve (mitral regurgitation).

    The surgery may be done using different approaches, depending on the location of the thickened heart muscle. In one type, called apical myectomy, surgeons remove thickened heart muscle from near the tip of the heart. Sometimes the mitral valve is repaired at the same time.

  • Septal ablation. This procedure destroys the thickened heart muscle with alcohol. The alcohol is injected through a long, thin tube (catheter) into the artery supplying blood to that area. Possible complications include disruption of the heart's electrical system (heart block), which requires implantation of a pacemaker.
  • Implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD). An ICD is a small device that continuously monitors your heartbeat. It's implanted in your chest like a pacemaker. If a life-threatening arrhythmia occurs, the ICD delivers precisely calibrated electrical shocks to restore a normal heart rhythm. ICD has been shown to help prevent sudden cardiac death, which occurs in a small number of people with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and treatment options

Steve R. Ommen: The hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is a condition that has been under-diagnosed and overly feared throughout the world. In the United States alone, there are over a half a million people that have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, many of whom are completely asymptomatic and unaware of their diagnosis. Some people can die suddenly. Sudden cardiac death occurs randomly without warning.

Hartzell V. Schaff: Over 2/3 of the patients will have obstruction. And the obstruction to the left ventricular outflow tract is an indication for operation in patients that have symptoms. So we know now that 2/3 of the patients with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and obstruction are candidates for surgery.

Steve R. Ommen: Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is the most common inherited cardiomyopathy or heart muscle disease. People are born with the genetics for it, but the hypertrophy doesn't appear to start developing until adolescence, growth spurts, or beyond. It is possible for infants to born with thick heart muscles, but that's really quite rare and usually more severe expressions of the disease. And it's also been described as not coming on until people were in their fifth or sixth decade of life. So really, the onset can be at any time of life. And certainly the symptoms can occur throughout life.

Hartzell V. Schaff: The common symptoms that patients have when they have obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy are shortness of breath, angina-like chest pain and syncope. And unfortunately, some of these symptoms develop so slowly and over such a long time that the patients don't really understand how limited they are.

Steve R. Ommen: For patients who have symptoms due to hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, the first line of therapy is always to use medical management, medications. Usually, that's adding specific medications, but sometimes patients are on medications that can make their situation worse. And so some of the most effective therapy is removing the wrong agents, and then perhaps having to add in the right agents to help them with their symptoms down stream.

For patients who don't respond to those medical changes, or for whom those medications caused side effects that are intolerable, then that's when we move to things like surgical myectomy, which can more definitively relieve their symptoms.

Hartzell V. Schaff: The patients who are referred for surgery almost always have either failed medical treatment or have side effects from the medicines that limit them just as much as the symptoms from hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. So operation to relieve outflow tract obstruction is to relieve the symptoms. And in some patients, to allow them to get off of the medications that are having unwanted side effects.

Steve R. Ommen: Surgical myectomy has been a very successful operation for many of our patients. However, it is not utilized as much as it maybe could be in part owing to prior perceptions about increased risk with the operation, lack of universal availability of surgeons who can do it. But in the hands of expert centers, the complication rates are very low and our success rates are very high.

Hartzell V. Schaff: We now do a more extensive septal myectomy that extends towards the apex of the heart. And we've learned over the years that it's this distal portion of myectomy that's the most important in terms of relieving symptoms. The few patients who have had a second operation, who have been referred to us after having an operation that was unsuccessful, we found that the myectomy was not carried far enough into the ventricle. It's really not a regrowth of muscle. It's just an inadequate initial operation.

Steve R. Ommen: With surgical myectomy, the surgeon removes a portion of the hypertrophied septum, which is narrowing the path of blood, out of the heart. By doing this, it changes the direction the blood flows through the ventricle. It allows the mitral valve to function normally. And allows blood to leave the heart without increasing pressures or increasing forces. This muscle doesn't regrow over time. It is a permanent fix.

Hartzell V. Schaff: We found that it's rarely necessary to do something to the mitral valve. And the hazard with doing something to the mitral valve, where it turns out to be unnecessary, is there is a chance of injury. So we would prefer to do a septal myectomy, come off bypass, assess the mitral valve with an echocardiogram during surgery, before then addressing the mitral valve if there is residual regurgitation.

We can tell if the mitral regurgitation is relieved immediately after the myectomy once the aorta is closed and the heart is restarted. The echocardiogram is done in the operating room and we know right away whether the mitral regurgitation has been relieved. An operation is available for some patients that have non-obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. And these are patients with the apical distribution of hypertrophy.

Some of those patients have diastolic heart failure related to very small ventricular cavities. And in these patients, doing a transapical myectomy to enlarge the ventricle can improve their symptoms of heart failure.

Steve R. Ommen: While we see great results from the surgical myectomy as performed now, it is still something that should only be performed at true centers of excellence. Recent data that have come out have suggested that at low, medium, and even quote unquote "high volume" centers, there is a gradient of mortality, meaning it's highest at the low volume centers and lowest at the high volume centers.

But even those so-called high volume centers have mortality rates that are dramatically higher than what is reported from the true expert centers. And this is a procedure that should be done by those who are very familiar with this procedure, and doing a lot of them.

Hartzell V. Schaff: At Mayo Clinic, we've done over 3,000 operations for hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. We do 200 to 250 operations each year. The mortality for the procedure is less than 1%, especially for patients who are otherwise healthy.

Steve R. Ommen: One of the biggest parts of every interaction that I have with patients is helping them understand what their individual risk for sudden cardiac death might be, and whether they might consider having an implantable defibrillator. Our patients who have had surgery have a lower rate of sudden cardiac death and a lower rate for their defibrillators to discharge among those who have had them.

Hartzell V. Schaff: One of the things we've learned after doing septal myectomy is that actually the incidence of ventricular arrhythmia seems to be reduced. And this is shown in studies that look at defibrillator discharges and rates of sudden death.

Steve R. Ommen: The inheritance pattern of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy is autosomal dominant, which means each of the children of a patient with HCM has a 50/50 chance of inheriting this disease. We do recommend screening for all first-degree relatives, which is either genetic testing or echocardiographic-based surveillance. When a family has chosen to use echocardiography as their screening tool, we recommend that adult first-degree relatives get screened every five years. First-degree relatives who are adolescents or athletes, we usually screen every 12 to 18 months.

Hartzell V. Schaff: Septal myectomy cures the symptoms of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy when it relieves the obstruction. But of course, patients still have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, still need to be followed by their physician for the other problems related to hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. But hopefully, are relieved of the shortness of breath, chest pain, or light-headedness that leads to the operation.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Lifestyle changes can reduce your risk of complications related to hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Your doctor may recommend lifestyle changes, including:

  • Using caution when playing sports. Competitive sports are generally not recommended for people with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, with the possible exception of some low-intensity sports. You may be able to participate in low- to moderate-intensity exercise as part of a healthy lifestyle. Discuss specific recommendations with your doctor.
  • Eating a healthy diet. A healthy diet is an important part of maintaining your heart health.
  • Maintaining a healthy weight. Maintaining a healthy weight will prevent excessive stress on your heart and reduce health risks associated with surgery or other procedures.
  • Reducing alcohol use. If you have symptoms or a history of rhythms provoked by alcohol, ask your doctor for guidance about safe levels of alcohol use. Drinking too much alcohol can trigger irregular heart rhythms and can lead to increased blockage of blood flow in your heart.
  • Taking your medications. Make sure to take your medications as prescribed.
  • Having regular medical appointments. Your doctor may recommend regular follow-up appointments to evaluate your condition. Let your doctor know if you have any new or worse symptoms.

Pregnancy

Women who have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy can generally have normal pregnancies. However, if you have hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, your doctor may recommend that you see a doctor experienced in caring for women with high-risk conditions during your pregnancy.

Coping and support

Being diagnosed with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy can cause a range of difficult emotions. Like many people with this condition, you may experience feelings of grief, fear and anger. These responses are appropriate to the lifestyle changes that come with your diagnosis.

To cope with your condition:

  • Reduce your stress. Find ways to reduce your stress.
  • Get support. Get support from your friends and family.
  • Follow lifestyle changes your doctor recommends. Making healthy lifestyle changes, such as eating a healthy diet and maintaining a healthy weight, can help you cope with living with your condition.

Preparing for your appointment

You may be referred to a doctor trained in diagnosing and treating heart conditions (cardiologist). Here's some information to help you prepare for your appointment.

What you can do

  • Find out if you need to follow any pre-appointment restrictions, such as changing your activity level or your diet.
  • Write down your symptoms and how long you've had them.
  • Take a list of all your medications, vitamins or supplements.
  • Write down your key medical information, including other diagnosed conditions.
  • Write down key personal information, including any recent changes or stressors in your life.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Questions to ask your doctor

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • What kinds of tests do I need?
  • What treatments can help?
  • What risks does my heart condition create?
  • How often will I need follow-up appointments?
  • Do I need to restrict my activities?
  • Should my children or other first-degree relatives be screened for this condition, and should I meet with a genetic counselor?
  • How will other conditions that I have or medications I take affect my heart problem?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may make time to go over points you want to spend more time on. You may be asked:

  • When did you begin experiencing symptoms, and how severe are they?
  • Have your symptoms changed over time? If so, how?
  • Does exercise or physical exertion make your symptoms worse?
  • Have you ever fainted?
  • Do you have a family history of heart disease?

What you can do in the meantime

Before your appointment, ask your family members if any relatives have been diagnosed with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy or have experienced unexplained, sudden death. It will help your doctor to know as many details as possible about your family medical history.

If exercise makes your symptoms worse, avoid strenuous exercise until you have seen your doctor and received specific exercise recommendations.

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy care at Mayo Clinic

June 02, 2020
  1. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/Cardiomyopathy/Hypertrophic-Cardiomyopathy_UCM_444317_Article.jsp#.WbMHH9jrvIU. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  2. What is cardiomyopathy? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/cm. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  3. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  4. Maron MS. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  5. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Nov. 14, 2019.
  6. Maron MS. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Management of ventricular arrhythmias and sudden cardiac death risk. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 29, 2017.
  7. AskMayoExpert. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  8. Dearani JA, et al. Surgery insight: Septal myectomy for obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy — The Mayo Clinic experience. Nature Clinical Practice Cardiovascular Medicine. 2007; https://www.nature.com/articles/ncpcardio0965. Accessed April 23, 2020.
  9. Kirklin JW, et al. Surgical relief of diffuse subvalvular aortic stenosis. Circulation. 1961; doi:10.1161/01.cir.24.4.739.
  10. Prevention and treatment of cardiomyopathy. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/More/Cardiomyopathy/Prevention-and-Treatment-of-Cardiomyopathy_UCM_444176_Article.jsp#.WbbYzdjrvcs. Accessed March 27, 2020.
  11. Basu J, et al. Exercise and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: Two incompatible entities? Clinical Cardiology. 2020; doi:10.1002/clc.23343.