诊断

在检查过程中听到心脏杂音可能会导致您或您孩子的医生怀疑房间隔缺损或其他心脏缺陷。对于可疑的心脏缺陷,医生可能会要求进行以下一项或多项检查:

  • 超声心动图。 这是诊断房间隔缺损最常用的检查方法。该检查利用声波产生心脏的视频图像。它可以让您的医生看到您的心腔并测量它们的泵血力度。

    这项检测也检查心脏瓣膜,以寻找心脏缺陷的征兆。医生也可以用这个检测来评估您的病症,以确定您的治疗方案。

  • 胸部 X 线检查。这有助于医生看到您的心脏和肺部的状况。X 线可以识别除心脏缺陷以外的其他状况,这些状况可能解释您的体征或症状。
  • 心电图(ECG)。这项检测记录您心脏的电活动,有助于识别心律问题。
  • 心脏导管插入术。在腹股沟或手臂的血管处插入一根细软管(导管),并将其导入心脏。通过导管植入术,医生可以诊断先天性心脏病,检测心脏泵血功能,检查心脏瓣膜功能,测量肺部血压。

    然而,诊断房间隔缺损通常不需要这项检查。医生也可以使用导管植入术来修复心脏缺陷。

  • 磁共振成像(MRI)。它利用磁场和无线电波来创建心脏和其他器官及身体组织的三维图像。如果超声心动图不能明确诊断房间隔缺损或相关病症,医生可能要求做 MRI。
  • CT 扫描。此检查使用一系列 X 线来创建您心脏的详细图像。如果超声心动图不能明确诊断房间隔缺损,则其可用于诊断房间隔缺损及相关先天性心脏缺陷。

治疗

很多房间隔缺损会在儿童时期自行闭合。对于未闭合的患者,一些较小的房间隔缺损可能不需要治疗。但很多持续性的房间隔缺损最终需要手术。

医学监测

如果您或您的孩子有房间隔缺损,您的心脏病科医师可能建议监测一段时间,看其是否会自行闭合。您的医生将会根据您的情况以及您或您的孩子是否存在其他先天性心脏缺陷,来决定您或您的孩子何时需要治疗。

外科手术

许多医生都会建议对童年期或成年期诊断出的中等至巨大房间隔缺损进行修复,防止将来出现并发症。但如果您患有重度肺高压,则不建议手术,否则病情可能恶化。

成人和儿童手术需要缝合或修补心房之间的异常缺口。医生将评估您的病情,然后决定采用哪种手术:

  • 心脏导管插入术。医生将一根细软管(导管)插入腹股沟血管,然后利用成像技术将其引导至心脏医生通过导管放置网片或堵塞,封闭缺孔。心脏组织在网片周围生长,永久性闭合缺孔。

    这种手术仅用于修复继发孔型房间隔缺损。但一些大型继发孔型房间隔缺损可能需要心内直视手术。

  • 心内直视手术。这种手术在全麻状态下进行,需要使用心肺机。外科医生通过胸部切口,使用补片封闭缺孔。该手术是修复原发孔型、静窦脉和冠状窦房间隔缺损的唯一方法。

    对于某些类型的房间隔缺损,可通过小切口(微创手术)和使用机器人来完成手术。

生活方式与家庭疗法

如果您有先天性心脏缺陷或进行过手术修复此类缺陷,您可能会想知道需要限制进行哪些活动或者需要注意哪些问题。

  • 运动。患有房间隔缺损通常不会限制您的活动或运动。如果您出现并发症,比如心律不齐、心力衰竭或肺高压,则可能会建议您避免进行一些活动或运动。心脏病科医生可以帮助您了解哪些是安全的运动。

    如果您的缺陷未进行过修复,医生可能会建议您避免水肺潜水和高空攀爬。

  • 预防感染。有些心脏缺陷和缺陷修复会使得心脏表面发生变化,致使心脏更容易受到感染(感染性心内膜炎)。房间隔缺损一般与感染性心内膜炎无关,但是每次进行牙科治疗后,医生都可能会建议您在治疗结束后使用六个月的预防性抗生素。

    但是如果您除了患有房间隔缺损外,还有其他心脏缺损,或者您在过去六个月内接受过房间隔缺损修补术,则您可能需要在进行某些牙科或外科手术前使用抗生素。

准备您的预约

如果医生怀疑您或您的孩子患有房间隔缺损,您或您的孩子很可能会被转诊给在治疗心脏病方面训练有素的医生(心脏病专家)。以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

请列出以下内容:

  • 您或您孩子的症状,以及您发现症状的时间
  • 关键个人信息,包括主要压力或近期生活变化,以及心脏病家族史
  • 您或您孩子使用的所有药物、维生素或其他补充剂,包括剂量
  • 需要向医生咨询的问题

关于房间隔缺损,要向医生咨询的一些问题,包括:

  • 最有可能引起这些症状的原因是什么?
  • 还有其他可能的原因吗?
  • 需要做哪些检查?
  • 这种病症是暂时问题还是长期病症?
  • 有哪些治疗方案?
  • 心脏导管插入术或外科手术的风险是什么?
  • 您建议哪些活动限制规定?
  • 是否有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷材料?您建议哪些网站?

如果还有其他问题,请随时提出。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会询问您一些问题,包括:

  • 这些症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 运动会使症状恶化吗?
  • 是否有任何因素看似会加重您的症状?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会令症状好转?
  • 您是否有先天缺陷家族史?

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Dec. 20, 2019
  1. Ferri FF. Atrial septal defect. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 7, 2019.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Atrial septal defect. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  3. Facts about atrial septal defect. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/heartdefects/atrialseptaldefect.hutml. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  4. How the healthy heart works. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/how-the-healthy-heart-works. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  5. St. John Sutton MG. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of atrial septal defects in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  6. Atrial septal defect (ASD). American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/atrial-septal-defect-asd. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  7. Atrial septal defect (ASD). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/atrial-septal-defect-asd. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  8. Overview of congenital cardiovascular anomalies. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/overview-of-congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies#v1095812. Accessed Nov. 8, 2019.
  9. Connolly H, et al. Surgical and percutaneous closure of atrial septal defects in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  10. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Accessed Aug. 5, 2019.

Diagnosis

Hearing a heart murmur during a checkup might cause your or your child's doctor to suspect an atrial septal defect or other heart defect. For a suspected heart defect, your doctor might request one or more of the following tests:

  • Echocardiogram. This is the most commonly used test to diagnose an atrial septal defect. Sound waves are used to produce a video image of the heart. It allows your doctor to see your heart's chambers and measure their pumping strength.

    This test also checks heart valves and looks for signs of heart defects. Doctors can also use this test to evaluate your condition and determine your treatment plan.

  • Chest X-ray. This helps your doctor see the condition of your heart and lungs. An X-ray can identify conditions other than a heart defect that might explain your signs or symptoms.
  • Electrocardiogram (ECG). This test records the electrical activity of your heart and helps identify heart rhythm problems.
  • Cardiac catheterization. A thin, flexible tube (catheter) is inserted into a blood vessel at your groin or arm and guided to your heart. Through catheterization, doctors can diagnose congenital heart defects, test how well your heart is pumping, check heart valve function and measure the blood pressure in your lungs.

    However, this test usually isn't needed to diagnose an atrial septal defect. Doctors might also use catheterization techniques to repair heart defects.

  • MRI. This uses a magnetic field and radio waves to create 3D images of your heart and other organs and bodily tissues. Your doctor might request an MRI if echocardiography can't definitively diagnose an atrial septal defect or related conditions.
  • CT scan. This uses a series of X-rays to create detailed images of your heart. It can be used to diagnose an atrial septal defect and related congenital heart defects if echocardiography hasn't definitely diagnosed an atrial septal defect.

Treatment

Many atrial septal defects close on their own during childhood. For those that don't close, some small atrial septal defects might not require treatment. But many persistent atrial septal defects eventually require surgery.

Medical monitoring

If you or your child has an atrial septal defect, your cardiologist might recommend monitoring it for a time to see if it closes on its own. Your doctor will decide when you or your child needs treatment, depending on your condition and whether you or your child has other congenital heart defects.

Medications

Medications won't repair the hole, but they may be used to reduce some of the signs and symptoms that can accompany an atrial septal defect. Drugs may also be used to reduce the risk of complications after surgery. Medications may include those to keep the heartbeat regular (beta blockers) or to reduce the risk of blood clots (anticoagulants).

Surgery

Many doctors recommend repairing a medium to large atrial septal defect diagnosed during childhood or adulthood to prevent future complications. However, surgery isn't recommended if you have severe pulmonary hypertension because it might make the condition worse.

For adults and children, surgery involves sewing closed or patching the abnormal opening between the atria. Doctors will evaluate your condition and determine which of two procedures to use:

  • Cardiac catheterization. Doctors insert a thin, flexible tube (catheter) into a blood vessel in the groin and guide it to the heart using imaging techniques. Through the catheter, doctors place a mesh patch or plug to close the hole. The heart tissue grows around the mesh, permanently sealing the hole.

    This type of procedure is used to repair only the secundum type of atrial septal defects. Some large secundum atrial septal defects, however, might require open-heart surgery.

  • Open-heart surgery. This type of surgery is done under general anesthesia and requires the use of a heart-lung machine. Through an incision in the chest, surgeons use patches to close the hole. This procedure is the only way to repair primum, sinus venosus and coronary sinus atrial defects.

    This procedure can be done using small incisions (minimally invasive surgery) and with a robot for some types of atrial septal defects.

Follow-up care

Follow-up care depends on the type of defect, the treatment suggested and whether other defects are present. Repeated echocardiograms are done after hospital discharge, one year later and then as requested by your or your child's doctor. For simple atrial septal defects closed during childhood, only occasional follow-up care generally is needed.

Adults who've had atrial septal defect repair need to be monitored throughout life to check for complications, such as pulmonary hypertension, arrhythmias, heart failure or valve problems. Follow-up exams are typically done yearly.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

If you have a congenital heart defect or you've had surgery to correct one, you might wonder about limitations on activities and other issues.

  • Exercise. Having an atrial septal defect usually doesn't restrict you from activities or exercise. If you have complications, such as arrhythmias, heart failure or pulmonary hypertension, you might be counseled to avoid some activities or exercises. Your cardiologist can help you learn what is safe.

    If you have an unrepaired defect, your doctor will likely advise you to avoid scuba diving and high-altitude climbing.

  • Preventing infection. Some heart defects and the repair of defects create changes to the surface of the heart that make it more prone to infection (infective endocarditis). Atrial septal defects generally aren't associated with infective endocarditis, though your doctor will likely recommend preventive antibiotics for about six months after closure whenever you have dental work done.

    But if you have other heart defects besides an atrial septal defect, or if you've had atrial septal defect repair within the last six months, you might need to take antibiotics before certain dental or surgical procedures.

Preparing for your appointment

If your doctor suspects an atrial septal defect, you or your child will likely be referred to a doctor trained in heart disorders (cardiologist). Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

Make a list of:

  • Your or your child's symptoms, and when you noticed them
  • Key personal information, including major stresses or recent life changes, and family history of heart defects
  • All medications, vitamins or other supplements you or your child takes, including doses
  • Questions to ask your doctor

For atrial septal defect, questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of these symptoms?
  • Are there other possible causes?
  • What tests are needed?
  • Is this condition temporary or long lasting?
  • What are the treatment options?
  • What are the risks of cardiac catheterization or surgery?
  • Are there activity restrictions you recommend?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you questions, including:

  • Have the symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • Do symptoms get worse with exercise?
  • Does anything else seem to make the symptoms worse?
  • Is there anything that seems to improve the symptoms?
  • Is there a family history of birth defects?

Atrial septal defect (ASD) care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 20, 2019
  1. Ferri FF. Atrial septal defect. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 7, 2019.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Atrial septal defect. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  3. Facts about atrial septal defect. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/heartdefects/atrialseptaldefect.hutml. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  4. How the healthy heart works. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/how-the-healthy-heart-works. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  5. St. John Sutton MG. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of atrial septal defects in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  6. Atrial septal defect (ASD). American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/atrial-septal-defect-asd. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  7. Atrial septal defect (ASD). Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/atrial-septal-defect-asd. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  8. Overview of congenital cardiovascular anomalies. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies/overview-of-congenital-cardiovascular-anomalies#v1095812. Accessed Nov. 8, 2019.
  9. Connolly H, et al. Surgical and percutaneous closure of atrial septal defects in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 31, 2019.
  10. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Accessed Aug. 5, 2019.