هل بإمكان هوبيرزاين "أ" منع فقدان الذاكرة وتحسين الوظيفة الإدراكية لدى الأشخاص المصابين بداء الزهايمر؟

إجابة من برنت أيه باور، (دكتور في الطب)

يحظى هوبيرزاين "أ"، وهو أحد المكملات الغذائية المستخلصة من الأشنة الصينية هوبيرزيا سيراتا، ببعض الاهتمام كإحدى طرق العلاج المحتملة لداء الزهايمر.

يمثل هوبيرزاين "أ" أحد مثبطات الكولينستيراز، وهو دواء يعمل على تحسين مستويات الناقلات العصبية في الدماغ. وقد أشارت دارسات مبكرة مصغرة أن هوبيرزاين "أ" ربما يحسن الذاكرة ويحمي الخلايا العصبية، مما قد يساهم في إبطاء الانخفاض الإدراكي المصاحب لداء الزهايمر.

وقد كشفت بعض الدراسات عن دليل على أن هوبيرزاين "أ" ربما يحسِّن من الأداء الإدراكي لمرضى داء الزهايمر. ومع ذلك كشف استعراض منهجي حديث عن ضعف جودة دليل فعالية هوبيرزاين "أ".

كما صرح استعراض منهجي آخر أن هوبيرزاين "أ" لديه بالفعل تأثير مفيد على وظيفة الإدراك. ولكن الاستعراض نوَّه إلى أنه يجب تفسير النتائج بحذر بسبب المشكلات التي تصاحب طريقة إجراء التجارب.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا تتوافر بيانات كافية للسلامة على المدى الطويل؛ حيث استمرت معظم الدراسات لمدة ثلاثة أشهر أو أقل؛ كما تعرض العديد من المشاركين في التجارب لآثار جانبية تشمل الغثيان والقيء. ويلزم إجراء المزيد من الدراسات لتحديد الفوائد والمخاطر المحتملة لهوبيرزاين "أ" على المدى الطويل.

لا توصي رابطة الزهايمر بتناول هوبيرزاين "أ" إذا كنت تتناول أحد مثبطات الكولينستيراز الموصوفة طبيًّا، مثل: دونيبيزل (آرسيبت)، وريفاستيجمين (إكسيلون)، وجالانتامين (رازادين). فتناول هوبيرزاين "أ" مع أحد هذه الأدوية يزيد من خطورة حدوث آثار جانبية بالغة.

استشِر الطبيب قبل بدء تناول أي مكملات غذائية، ويشمل ذلك هوبيرزاين "أ".

07/09/2019 See more Expert Answers

Can huperzine A prevent memory loss and improve cognitive function in people with Alzheimer's disease?

Answers from Brent A. Bauer, M.D.

Huperzine (HOOP-ur-zeen) A, a dietary supplement derived from the Chinese club moss Huperzia serrata, is sparking some interest as a potential treatment for Alzheimer's disease.

Huperzine A acts as a cholinesterase inhibitor — a type of medication that works by improving the levels of neurotransmitters in the brain. Small early studies suggest that huperzine A might improve memory and protect nerve cells, which could slow the cognitive decline associated with Alzheimer's.

Some studies have found evidence that huperzine A might significantly improve cognitive performance in people with Alzheimer's disease. However, a recent systematic review found that the quality of the evidence of huperzine A's effectiveness was low.

Another systematic review found that huperzine A did have a beneficial effect on cognitive function. But, the review noted that the results should be interpreted with caution because of problems with the way the trials were conducted.

In addition, there's a lack of long-term safety data — most studies have lasted three months or less — and many participants in the trials had side effects, including nausea and vomiting. More studies are needed to determine possible benefits and long-term risks of huperzine A.

The Alzheimer's Association recommends not taking huperzine A, especially if you're taking a prescribed cholinesterase inhibitor, such as donepezil (Aricept), rivastigmine (Exelon) or galantamine (Razadyne). Taking both could increase your risk of serious side effects.

Consult your doctor before starting any dietary supplement, including huperzine A.

Nov. 04, 2017 See more Expert Answers