لقد قرأت أن الباحثين يغيرون تعريف مرض الزهايمر. ماذا يعني هذا بالنسبة لي ولأحبائي المصابين بهذا المرض؟

يقترح المعهد الوطني للشيخوخة وجمعية الزهايمر إجراء تغييرات على تعريف البحث لمرض الزهايمر. هناك معايير جديدة لتعريف ما هو مرض الزهايمر ومن هو مصاب به — ولكنها متعلقة بالتجارب والبحوث السريرية، وليس بالتشخيص في مكتب طبيبك.

في السابق، كان يتميز خرف مرض الزهايمر بأعراض مثل فقدان الذاكرة والتغيرات في التفكير والإدراك. ولا يزال هذا هو الحال عندما يشخص طبيبك خرف مرض الزهايمر.

يتم تحديد تعريف البحث المقترح لمرض الزهايمر من خلال وجود مؤشرات حيوية — بنية اللوحات والحبيكات في الدماغ — والتي يتم تحديدها بفحوصات الأشعة التي تجرى على المخ وعينات من السائل النخاعي. يتيح هذا التغيير للباحثين تصميم تجارب سريرية أفضل، تشمل مشاركة أشخاص مناسبين والتعرف على المزيد حول هذا المرض في مراحله المبكرة.

إليك سبب أهمية ذلك: الأعراض القديمة لمرض الزهايمر لا تُعرفه ولا تشخصه. حيث إنها مجموعة من التغيرات التي تحدث في الدماغ ويُعتمد عليها في تعريف المرض — ويمكن أن تحدث هذه التغيرات في المخ قبل أن تظهر الأعراض بفترة طويلة. قد يؤدي هذا التغير في البحث إلى تشخيص مبكر لمرض الزهايمر، والذي نأمل أن يؤدي إلى تأخر التقدم وعلاجات أفضل.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

I've read that researchers are changing the definition of Alzheimer's disease. What does that mean for me and my loved one affected by the disease?

Answer From Jonathan Graff-Radford, M.D.

The National Institute on Aging and the Alzheimer's Association are suggesting changes to the research definition of Alzheimer's disease. There are new criteria to define what Alzheimer's disease is and who has it — but only as it relates to clinical trials and research, and not the diagnosis in your doctor's office.

Previously, Alzheimer's disease dementia was characterized by symptoms such as memory loss and changes in thinking and cognition. And that's still the case when your doctor diagnoses Alzheimer's disease dementia.

The proposed research definition of Alzheimer's is defined by the presence of biomarkers — a buildup of plaques and tangles in the brain — which are identified by imaging scans of the brain and samples of cerebrospinal fluid. This change allows researchers to better design clinical trials, include the right participants and learn more about the disease in its earlier stages.

Here's why it's important: The classic symptoms of Alzheimer's disease don't define or diagnose it. They're a complication of the changes in the brain that do define the disease — and these brain changes can occur long before the symptoms show up. This change in research may lead to earlier diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease, which will hopefully lead to delayed progression and better treatments.

With

Jonathan Graff-Radford, M.D.

Aug. 31, 2018 See more Expert Answers