جينات الزهايمر: هل أنت في خطر؟

يرتبط العديد من الجينات بداء الزهايمر، ولكن يلزم إجراء المزيد من البحث.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

بعض الجينات تجعلك أكثر عرضة للإصابة بداء الزهايمر.

تتحكم الجينات في وظيفة كل خلية في الجسم. وبعض الجينات تحدد الصفات الأساسية مثل لون العينين والشعر. وبعض الجينات الأخرى يمكن أن تجعلك أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض معينة، ومنها داء الزهايمر.

قام الباحثون بتحديد عدد من الجينات المرتبطة بداء الزهايمر. تزيد بعض الجينات من احتمالات إصابتك بالمرض (الجينات الخطرة). يضمن البعض الآخر أنك ستصاب بمرض (جينات حتمية)، على الرغم من أنها نادرة الحدوث. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، فإن عوامل الخطر الوراثية ليست سوى واحدة من العوامل التي تساهم في الإصابة بداء الزهايمر.

جين الزهايمر متأخر الظهور الأكثر شيوعًا

يبدأ عادةً النوع الأكثر شيوعًا من داء الزهايمر بعد سن 65 (داء الزهايمر متأخِّر الظهور). يُسمَّى الجين الأكثر شيوعًا المصاحب لداء ألزهايمر متأخِّر الظهور، وهو جين خطير، يسمى صميم البروتين الشحمي E ‏(APOE).

لدى صميم البروتين الشحمي E ثلاثة أشكال مشتركة:

  • يُقَلِّل صميم البروتين الشحمي e2 الأقل شيوعًا من خطر الإصابة بداء الزهايمر.
  • يَزيد صميم البروتين الشحمي e4 — الأكثر شيوعًا بعض الشيء من خطر الإصابة بداء الزهايمر.
  • لا يبدو أن صميم البروتين الشحمي e3 — الأكثر شيوعًا — يُؤثِّر في خطر الإصابة بداء الزهايمر

الجينات ليست العامل الوحيد

لأنكَ تَرِثُ جينًا واحدًا من صميم البروتين الشحمي E من والدتكَ وآخر من والدكَ، فيكون لديكَ نسختان من جين صميم البروتين الشحمي APOE. وجود جين واحد على الأقل من صميم البروتين الشحمي e4 يَزيد من خطر الإصابة بداء ألزهايمر. إذا كان لديكَ جينان من صميم البروتين الشحمي e4، فستكون الخطورة أعلى.

ولكن ليس كل من لديه جين واحد أو حتى جينا APOE e4 يتطوَّر لديه الأمر للإصابة بداء الزهايمر. ويَحدُث المرض لدى العديد من الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم حتى جين APOE e4؛ مما يُوحي بأن جين APOE e4 يُؤثِّر في الخطر ولكنه ليس السبب. من المحتمَل أن تكون عوامل وراثية وبيئية أخرى متورِّطة في تطوُّر داء الزهايمر.

جينات أخرى متأخِّرة الظهور

مع تقدُّم البحث حول العوامل الوراثية لداء الزهايمر، يكشف الباحثون عن روابط بين داء ألزهايمر متأخِّر الظهور وعدد من الجينات الأخرى. تتضمَّن العديد من الأمثلة:

  • ABCA7. إن دور جين ABCA7 الفعلي غير واضح، ولكن يبدو أن الجين مرتبط بخطر إصابة أكبر بداء ألزهايمر. يعتقد الباحثون بأنه قد يكون لديه ما يفعله مع دور الجين في كيفية استخدام الجسم للكوليستيرول.
  • جين CLU. يُساعد هذا الجين على تنظيم التخلُّص من أميلويد - بيتا من المخ. يدعم الباحثون نظرية أن حدوث اختلال في إنتاج وإزالة أميلويد - بيتا شيء أساسي في تطوُّر داء الزهايمر.
  • CR1. قد يُساهم نقص البروتين الذي ينتجه هذا الجين في حدوث التهاب حاد في المخ. يُعَد الالتهاب من العوامل المحتمَلة الأخرى في تطوُّر داء الزهايمر.
  • جين PICALM. يرتبط هذا الجين بالعملية التي تتواصل من خلالها خلايا المخ العصبية (العصبونات) مع بعضها البعض. يعتبر التواصُل السلس بين العصبونات أمرًا ضروريًا لأداء وظيفة عصبون بشكل مناسب وتكوين الذاكرة.
  • PLD3. لا يعلم العلماء الكثير حول دور جين PLD3 في المخ. ولكن تمَّ ربطه مؤخرًا بزيادة خطر الإصابة بداء الزهايمر بشكل ملحوظ.
  • TREM2. وتشمل مهام هذا الجين تنظيم استجابة المخ للالتهاب. تمَّ ربط متغيِّرات نادرة في هذا الجين بزيادة خطر الإصابة بداء الزهايمر.
  • SORL1. ظهر أن بعض التغييرات في جين SORL1 على الكروموسوم 11 مرتبطة بداء ألزهايمر.

يستمرُّ الباحثون في تعلُّم المزيد حول الآليات الأساسية لداء ألزهايمر، والتي من المحتمَل أن تقود إلى طرق جديدة لعلاج المرض والوقاية منه.

كما هو الحال مع جين APOE، تُعَدُّ تلك الجينات عوامل خطر وليست مسبِّبات مباشرة للمرض. بطريقة أخرى، قد يَزيد امتلاك أحد تنوُّعات تلك الجينات من خطر الإصابة بداء ألزهايمر. ومع ذلك، ليس كل الأشخاص من لديهم أحد تلك الجينات سيصاب بداء الزهايمر.

ألزهايمر المبكر

نسبة مئوية قليلة جدًّا من المصابين بداء الزهايمر يُصابون بالنوع المبكر. تظهر عادةً علامات وأعراض هذا النوع بين سن 30 و60 عامًا. ويرتبط هذا النوع من داء الزهايمر بقوة بالجينات الوراثية.

وقد حدَّد العلماء ثلاثة جينات حيث تؤدي الطفرة الجينية إلى داء الزهايمر المبكر. في حالة وراثة أحد هذه الجينات المصابة بالطفرات الجينية من أحد الوالدين، تظهر أعراض داء الزهايمر على الشخص قبل بلوغ سن 65 عامًا. وتتضمن الجينات المتعلقة ما يلي:

  • بروتين سلائف الأميلويد (APP)
  • بريسينيلين 1 (PSEN1)
  • بريسينيلين 2 (PSEN2)

تسبب الطفرات بهذه الجينات إنتاج الكميات الزائدة من أجزاء البروتين السام المعروف باسم ببتيد بيتا أميلويد. يمكن لهذا الببتيد أن يتراكم في الدماغ لتشكيل تكتلات معروفة باسم لويحات الأميلويد، والتي تُعد من خصائص داء الزهايمر. يمكن أن يؤدي تراكم ببتيد بيتا أميلويد السام ولويحات الأميلويد إلى وفاة الخلايا العصبية والعلامات والأعراض التي تشير إلى تفاقم الاضطراب.

أثناء تجمُّع لويحات الأميلويد في الدماغ، تتعطل وظيفة بروتين تاو ويتجمّع لتشكيل حُبَيْكات ليفية عصبية. وتقترن هذه الحُبَيْكات بالوظائف غير الطبيعية للدماغ التي تظهر في حالة داء الزهايمر.

ومع ذلك، بعض المرضى المصابين بداء الزهايمر المبكر ليست لديهم طفرات في هذه الجينات الثلاثة. وهذا يشير إلى أن بعض أشكال داء الزهايمر المبكر ترتبط بالطفرات الجينية الأخرى، أو العوامل الأخرى التي لم يحددها الأطباء بعدُ.

الفحص الجيني

لا ينصح معظم الخبراء بإجراء الفحص الجيني لداء الزهايمر متأخر الظهور. ومع ذلك، في بعض حالات داء الزهايمر المبكر، قد يكون الفحص الجيني مناسبًا.

في حالة APOE،لا يعني أن يكون لديك مجموعة جين e4 أنك ستصاب بداء الزهايمر. على الرغم من أن الكثير من الأشخاص الذين لديهم جين APOE e4 يصابون بداء الزهايمر، فإن هناك الكثير من الأشخاص لا يصابون به. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، فإن بعض الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم جينات APOE يصابون بداء الزهايمر.

لا يُشجع معظم الاختصاصيين السريريين الفحص للنمط الجيني APOE لأن النتائج يصعب تفسيرها. يمكن للأطباء تشخيص داء الزهايمر بشكل عام دون استخدام الفحص الجيني.

قد توفر الفحص للجينات المتحورة التي تم ربطها بداء الزهايمر المبكر — APP، و PSEN1 و PSEN2 — مزيدًا من النتائج المحددة إذا كنت تظهر عليك أعراض مبكرة أو إذا كان لديك تاريخ عائلي للإصابة المبكرة بالمرض. قد يكون للفحص الجيني لداء الزهايمر المبكر آثارًا مترتبة للتجارب الدوائية العلاجية الحالية والمستقبلية أيضًا.

قبل إجراء الفحص، من المهم تقييم العواقب العاطفية جراء الحصول على تلك المعلومات. قد تؤثر النتائج على أهليتك للحصول على بعض أشكال التأمين، مثل تأمين الإعاقة، والرعاية طويلة الأجل والتأمين على الحياة.

الباحثون والجينات

يعتقد الباحثون أن العديد من الجينات التي لم يتم التعرف عليها حتى الآن تؤثر في خطر الإصابة بداء الزهايمر. قد تكون هذه المعلومات بالغة الأهمية في تطوير طرق جديدة لعلاج داء الزهايمر أو حتى الوقاية منه في المستقبل.

تتناول دراسة العوامل الوراثية لداء الزهايمر، التي يرعاها المعهد الوطني للشيخوخة، المعلومات الجينية من الأُسر التي لديها على الأقل اثنان من أفراد الأسرة أصيبا بداء الزهايمر بعد سن 65. إذا كانت عائلتك مهتمة بالمشاركة في هذه الدراسة، فتفضل بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني لمستودع الخلايا الوطني لداء الزهايمر.

يقوم عدد من الدراسات الأخرى بتقييم العوامل الوراثية للأشخاص المصابين بداء الزهايمر وأفراد أسرهم. لمعرفة المزيد عن هذه الدراسات، وما إذا كانوا يوظِّفون متطوعين أم لا، قم بزيارة الموقع الإلكتروني لمركز داء الزهايمر للتعليم والإحالة التابع للمعهد الوطني للشيخوخة، أو اسأل طبيبك عن الدارسات التي قد تكون متاحة.

07/09/2019 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

Alzheimer's genes: Are you at risk?

Several genes have been linked to Alzheimer's disease, but more research is needed.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Certain genes increase the risk of getting Alzheimer's disease.

Genes control how every cell in the body works. Some genes decide basic traits, such as the color of the eyes and hair. Other genes can increase the risk of getting certain diseases, including Alzheimer's disease.

Researchers have found a number of genes that are linked to Alzheimer's disease. Some genes increase the likelihood of getting the disease, called risk genes. Others ensure getting the disease, called deterministic genes. Deterministic genes are rare. However, genes are just part of what's involved in getting Alzheimer's disease.

Most common late-onset Alzheimer's gene

The most common type of Alzheimer's disease usually begins after age 65, called late-onset Alzheimer's disease. The most common gene linked to late-onset Alzheimer's disease is a risk gene called apolipoprotein E (APOE).

APOE has three common forms:

  • APOE e2. This is the least common. It reduces the risk of Alzheimer's.
  • APOE e4. This gene is a little more common. It increases the risk of Alzheimer's. And it's linked to getting a worse form of the disease.
  • APOE e3. This most common gene doesn't seem to affect the risk of Alzheimer's.

Genes aren't the only factor

One copy of the APOE gene comes from the mother and another from the father. Having at least one APOE e4 gene doubles or triples the risk of getting Alzheimer's disease. Some people have two APOE e4 genes, one from each parent. Having two genes increases the risk of getting Alzheimer's disease even more, about eight- to twelvefold.

But not everyone who has one or even two APOE e4 genes gets Alzheimer's disease. And many people who don't have an APOE e4 gene get the disease. That suggests that the APOE e4 gene increases risk but is not a cause. There's likely more to getting Alzheimer's disease than just genes, such as lifestyle, race, ethnicity and environment.

Other late-onset genes

As gene research goes on, researchers are finding links between late-onset Alzheimer's and a number of other genes. Examples include:

  • ABCA7. This gene seems to be linked to a greater risk of Alzheimer's disease. Researchers suspect that it may have something to do with the gene's role in how the body uses cholesterol.
  • CLU. This gene helps the brain clear the protein called amyloid-beta. Research suggests that an imbalance in the making and clearing of amyloid-beta is key to getting Alzheimer's disease.
  • CR1. Not enough of the protein this gene makes might cause chronic swelling and irritation, called inflammation, in the brain. Inflammation is another possible factor in getting Alzheimer's disease.
  • PICALM. This gene is linked to how brain nerve cells, called neurons, talk to each other. How they talk to each other is important for them to work well and to form memories.
  • PLD3. Scientists don't know much about the role of PLD3 in the brain. But it's recently been linked to a significantly increased risk of Alzheimer's disease.
  • TREM2. This gene affects how the brain responds to swelling and irritation, called inflammation. Rare changes in this gene are lined to an increased risk of Alzheimer's disease.
  • SORL1. Some forms of SORL1 on chromosome 11 appear to be linked to Alzheimer's disease.

Researchers are continuing to learn more about Alzheimer's disease. Knowing more about how the disease works might lead to new ways to prevent and treat it.

As with APOE, these genes are risk factors, not causes. In other words, having one of these changed genes might increase the risk of Alzheimer's. But not everyone who has a changed gene will get Alzheimer's disease.

Young-onset Alzheimer's

A very small number of people who get Alzheimer's disease have the young-onset type. Symptoms of this type usually appear between ages 30 and 60. This type of Alzheimer's disease is strongly linked to genes.

Scientists have found three genes in which changes cause early-onset Alzheimer's disease. Anyone who gets one of these gene changes from either parent is likely to get Alzheimer's symptoms before age 65. The genes are:

  • Amyloid precursor protein (APP).
  • Presenilin 1 (PSEN1).
  • Presenilin 2 (PSEN2).

Changes in these genes cause the making of too much of a part of a protein called amyloid-beta peptide. This toxic peptide can build up in the brain to form clumps called amyloid plaques. These plaques are a hallmark of Alzheimer's disease. A buildup of toxic amyloid-beta peptide and amyloid plaques can lead to the death of nerve cells and the symptoms of Alzheimer's disease.

As amyloid plaques collect in the brain, proteins called tau proteins don't work as they should. Instead, they stick together to form tau tangles. These tangles are linked to how Alzheimer's disease affects the brain.

However, some people who have early-onset Alzheimer's don't have changes in these three genes. That suggests that some early-onset types of Alzheimer's disease are linked to other gene changes or other things that have yet to be found.

Genetic testing

Most experts don't routinely recommend genetic testing for late-onset Alzheimer's. In some instances of early-onset Alzheimer's, however, genetic testing may be helpful.

Usually, health care providers don't test for APOE genes. The results can't fully predict who will get Alzheimer's disease. And providers usually can diagnose Alzheimer's disease without the use of genetic testing.

But for certain treatments, called anti-amyloid therapies, testing for APOE genotype is important. If you're thinking about taking these medicines, testing can show how likely you are to have side effects. Talk to your health care provider about whether APOE testing makes sense for you.

Testing for the gene changes that have been linked to early-onset Alzheimer's might be useful for someone showing symptoms or someone who has a family history of early-onset disease. Gene testing for early-onset Alzheimer's also may affect current and future medicine trials and help with family planning.

However, test results might have other effects. For instance, they might affect being able to get a job. And test results might keep you from getting certain types of insurance, such as disability, long-term care and life insurance.

Researchers and genes

Researchers suspect they still haven't found many genes that affect the risk of Alzheimer's disease. Learning about those genes may be vital to finding new ways to treat, or even prevent, Alzheimer's disease in the future.

Researchers are also studying genes that may protect against Alzheimer's disease. One APOE gene, called APOE Christchurch, seems to be a protector, like APOE e2. More research is needed.

One of the active research trials is the Dominantly Inherited Alzheimer Network (DIAN), which studies individuals with dominant Alzheimer's mutations (PSEN1, PSEN2 or APP). This research network includes observational studies and clinical trials.

The Alzheimer's Disease Genetics Study, sponsored by the National Institute on Aging, is looking at gene information from families that have at least two living family members who have gotten Alzheimer's after age 65. If your family is interested in participating in this study, visit the website for the National Cell Repository for Alzheimer's Disease.

Other studies are looking at the genes of people with Alzheimer's disease and their family members. To learn more about these studies and whether they need volunteers, visit the National Institute on Aging's Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center website. Or ask your health care provider what trials might be available.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips, current health topics, and expertise on managing health. Click here for an email preview.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

April 29, 2023 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Alzheimer's sleep problems
  2. Alzheimer's: New treatments
  3. Alzheimer's 101
  4. Understanding the difference between dementia types
  5. Alzheimer's disease
  6. Alzheimer's drugs
  7. Alzheimer's prevention: Does it exist?
  8. Alzheimer's stages
  9. Antidepressant withdrawal: Is there such a thing?
  10. Antidepressants and alcohol: What's the concern?
  11. Antidepressants and weight gain: What causes it?
  12. Antidepressants: Can they stop working?
  13. Antidepressants: Side effects
  14. Antidepressants: Selecting one that's right for you
  15. Antidepressants: Which cause the fewest sexual side effects?
  16. Anxiety disorders
  17. Atypical antidepressants
  18. Caregiver stress
  19. Clinical depression: What does that mean?
  20. Corticobasal degeneration (corticobasal syndrome)
  21. CT scan
  22. Depression and anxiety: Can I have both?
  23. Depression, anxiety and exercise
  24. What is depression? A Mayo Clinic expert explains.
  25. Depression in women: Understanding the gender gap
  26. Depression (major depressive disorder)
  27. Depression: Supporting a family member or friend
  28. Diagnosing Alzheimer's
  29. Did the definition of Alzheimer's disease change?
  30. Intermittent fasting
  31. Lecanemab for Alzheimer's disease
  32. Male depression: Understanding the issues
  33. MAOIs and diet: Is it necessary to restrict tyramine?
  34. Marijuana and depression
  35. Mayo Clinic Minute: 3 tips to reduce your risk of Alzheimer's disease
  36. Mayo Clinic Minute: Alzheimer's disease risk and lifestyle
  37. Mayo Clinic Minute New definition of Alzheimer's changes
  38. Mayo Clinic Minute: Women and Alzheimer's Disease
  39. Memory loss: When to seek help
  40. Monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs)
  41. MRI
  42. Natural remedies for depression: Are they effective?
  43. Nervous breakdown: What does it mean?
  44. New Alzheimers Research
  45. Pain and depression: Is there a link?
  46. Phantosmia: What causes olfactory hallucinations?
  47. Positron emission tomography scan
  48. Posterior cortical atrophy
  49. Seeing inside the heart with MRI
  50. Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs)
  51. Serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs)
  52. Brain anatomy
  53. Sundowning: Late-day confusion
  54. Treatment-resistant depression
  55. Tricyclic antidepressants and tetracyclic antidepressants
  56. Video: Alzheimer's drug shows early promise
  57. MRI
  58. Vitamin B-12 and depression
  59. Young-onset Alzheimer's