مراحل ألزهايمر: كيفية تطور المرض

قد يستمر داء الزهايمر لأكثر من عقد. تعرف على أنواع السلوكيات الشائعة في كل مرحلة من مراحل تطور المرض.

من إعداد فريق مايو كلينك

يتطور داء الزهايمر ببطء ويتفاقم تدريجيًا على مدار عدة أعوام عادةً. وفي نهاية المطاف، يؤثر داء الزهايمر على أغلب المناطق في الدماغ. ويمكن أن يؤثر المرض على الذاكرة والتفكير والتقدير واللغة وحل المشكلات والشخصية والحركة.

توجد خمس مراحل لداء الزهايمر. وتشمل:

  • المرحلة قبل السريرية (الأولية) لداء الزهايمر
  • الاختلال المعرفي المعتدل الناتج عن داء الزهايمر
  • الخرَف البسيط الناتج عن داء الزهايمر
  • الخرَف المتوسط الناتج عن داء الزهايمر
  • الخرَف الشديد الناتج عن داء الزهايمر

الخَرَف مصطلح يُستخدم لوصف مجموعة من الأعراض التي تؤثر على القدرات الذهنية والاجتماعية بدرجة تتعارض مع الوظائف اليومية.

قد تساعدك المراحل الخمسة لداء الزهايمر في فهم ما قد يحدث، لكن من الأهمية بمكان معرفة أن هذه المراحل هي مجرد أطر عامة تقريبية، وأن هذا المرض حالة مستمرة. وتختلف تجربة كل شخص على حدة مع داء الزهايمر وأعراضه.

مرض ألزهايمر الأولي

تبدأ الإصابة بداء الزهايمر قبل ظهور أي أعراض له بوقت طويل. وتُسمى هذه المرحلة داء الزهايمر قبل السريري (الأولي). ولا تُكتشف عادة إلا عند إجراء الأبحاث، ما يعني أنك والمحيطون بك لن تلاحظوا أي أعراض أثناء هذه المرحلة.

ويمكن أن تستمر هذه المرحلة من داء الزهايمر لسنوات، وربما لعقود أيضًا. ورغم أنك لن تلاحظ أي تغيرات، يمكن للتقنيات الحديثة في تصوير الدماغ الكشف عن لويحات الأميلويد والحبيكات الليفية العصبية التي تظهر عندما يتغير شكل بروتينات تاو وتنتظم في هياكل واضحة. وهذه الهياكل هي السمات المميزة لداء الزهايمر.

هناك أهمية كبيرة لاكتشاف تلك التغيرات المبكرة، وبخاصة للتجارب السريرية. وتبحث التجارب القائمة فيما إذا كان علاج المصابين بالمرحلة قبل السريرية من داء الزهايمر قد يؤخر ظهور الأعراض أو يبطئه أم لا. كذلك فتقنيات التصوير لها أهمية تزامنًا مع ظهور علاجات جديدة لداء الزهايمر.

اكتشف الباحثون مزيدًا من المؤشرات الحيوية لداء الزهايمر. ويمكن اكتشاف تلك المؤشرات في عينات الدم، وقد تكون علامة على زيادة احتمال الإصابة بالمرض. ويمكن استخدام هذه المؤشرات في العادة لتأكيد تشخيص الإصابة بداء الزهايمر بعد ظهور الأعراض.

يمكن أن توضح الاختبارات الجينية أيضًا ما إذا كان احتمال إصابة شخص ما بداء الزهايمر مرتفعًا أم لا، وبالأخص داء الزهايمر المبكر. غير أن هذه الاختبارات لا يوصى بها في جميع الحالات. ويمكنك أنت والطبيب مناقشة ما إذا كانت الاختبارات الجينية مناسبة لحالتك أم لا.

ستتزايد أهمية دور وسائل التصوير الحديثة والمؤشرات الحيوية والاختبارات الجينية بالتزامن مع ابتكار علاجات جديدة لداء الزهايمر.

الإصابة بالاختلال المعرفي المعتدل (MCI) نتيجة الإصابة بمرض الزهايمر

يواجه الأشخاص المصابون بالاختلال المعرفي المعتدل تغيرات طفيفة في الذاكرة وفي قدرتهم على التفكير. إلا أن هذه التغيرات لا تكون كبيرة إلى درجة التأثير على أدائهم في العمل أو علاقاتهم بالآخرين. وإنما قد يتعرض المصابون بالاختلال المعرفي المعتدل لسقطات في الذاكرة فيما يتعلق بالمعلومات التي يمكن عادةً تذكُّرها بسهولة. وقد يشمل ذلك المحادثات أو الأحداث أو المواعيد القريبة.

قد يواجه المصابون بالاختلال المعرفي المعتدل أيضًا صعوبة في تقدير الوقت اللازم لأداء مهمة ما. وربما يجدون صعوبة في تقدير عدد الخطوات اللازمة لإتمام مهمة ما أو ترتيب تلك الخطوات. وتصبح القدرة على اتخاذ قرارات صائبة أكثر عسرًا.

لا تعني إصابة بالشخص بالاختلال المعرفي المعتدل إصابته بالضرورة بداء الزهايمر. وغالبًا يُشخص الاختلال المعرفي المعتدل بناءً على مراجعة الطبيب للأعراض وبناءً على تقديره الموضوعي. ولكن إذا دعت الحاجة، يمكن للإجراءات نفسها المستخدمة لتحديد الإصابة بداء الزهايمر قبل السريري المساعدة على تحديد ما إذا كانت الإصابة بالاختلال المعرفي المعتدل ناتجة عن الإصابة بداء الزهايمر أو حالة مرَضية أخرى.

الخرف الطفيف بسبب مرض الزهايمر

تُشخص الإصابة بداء الزهايمر عادةً في مرحلة الخَرَف البسيط. وتلك المرحلة هي التي يُصبح واضحًا فيها للعائلة والأطباء أن الشخص لديه مشكلة ملحوظة في الذاكرة والتفكير، وتؤثر تلك الأعراض على وظائفه الحياتية اليومية.

قد يشعر الأشخاص في مرحلة الخَرَف البسيط بما يلي:

  • نسيان الأحداث الأخيرة. قد يُواجه الأشخاص صعوبة في تذكُّر المعلومات المتلقاة مؤخرًا. وقد يُكرِّرون طرح السؤال ذاته مرارًا وتكرارًا.
  • صعوبة حل المشكلات وأداء المهام المعقَّدة وإصدار الأحكام الصائبة. قد يُصبح التخطيط لمناسبة أسرية أو مراجعة دفتر الشيكات مثلاً أمرًا مرهقًا لهم. يُصاب الكثير من الأشخاص بهفوات في الحكم، مثلًا عند اتخاذ القرارات المالية.
  • حدوث تغيُّرات في الشخصية. قد يكبت الأشخاص مشاعرهم وينسحبون، لا سيما في المواقف المعقدة اجتماعيًا. وقد يصبحوا سريعي الاستثارة أو الغضب على غير عادتهم. ويكثُر بينهم أيضًا انخفاض الدافع نحو إتمام المهام المطلوبة منهم.
  • صعوبة ترتيب الأفكار والتعبير عنها. قد لا يتمكن الأشخاص في هذه المرحلة من إيجاد الألفاظ المناسبة لوصف الأشياء. وقد يواجهوا صعوبة في التعبير عن أفكارهم بوضوح.
  • فقدان الطريق، أو وضع الأغراض في غير مواضعها. يُواجه الأفراد مشكلة متزايدة في معرفة طريقهم، حتى في الأماكن المعتادة. ويشيع بينهم أيضًا فقدان الأغراض أو وضعها في غير مواضعها، بما في ذلك الأغراض القيِّمة.

الخرف المعتدل بسبب مرض الزهايمر

خلال مرحلة الخَرَف المتوسط من داء الزهايمر، تتزايد أعراض التشوش والنسيان مع مرور الوقت، وتبدأ حاجتهم إلى المزيد من المساعدة في الأنشطة اليومية والعناية الشخصية.

قد يُصاب مرضى الزهايمر في مرحلة الخَرَف المتوسط بما يلي:

  • إظهار ضعف التقدير على نحو متزايد والارتباك الكبير. يفقد الأفراد إدراكهم لمكان وجودهم، وأيام الأسبوع أو الفصل. قد يخلطون بين العائلة أو الأصدقاء المقرَّبين وأشخاص آخرين، أو يظنون الغرباء أشخاصًا مقرَّبين.

    قد يَهِيمون على وجوههم، ربما بحثًا عن الأماكن التي يعتبرونها مألوفة لهم بدرجة أكبر. وتجعل هذه السلوكيات ترك المرضى بمفردهم غير آمن.

  • فقدان الذاكرة بشكل أكبر. قد ينسى المرضى تفاصيل تاريخهم الشخصي، مثل عناوينهم أو أرقام هواتفهم أو أماكن دراستهم. ويأخذون في تكرار قصصهم المفضلة أو اختلاق القصص لسد الفجوات في ذاكرتهم.
  • الحاجة إلى المساعدة في بعض الأنشطة اليومية. قد يحتاج المرضى إلى مساعدة في اختيار الملابس الملائمة لمناسبة أو طقس ما. وربما يحتاجون أيضًا في هذه المرحلة إلى المساعدة عند الاستحمام والعناية بالمظهر ودخول الحمام وغيرها من أنشطة العناية الشخصية. وقد يفقد البعض أحيانًا السيطرة على التبول أو التبرُّز.
  • حدوث تغيرات ملحوظة في الشخصية والسلوك. لا يُستبعد أن يبدأ المصابون بالخرَف المتوسط في الشعور بشكوك لا أساس لها. فقد يكتسبون على سبيل المثال قناعة بأن أصدقاءهم وأفراد أسرهم أو مقدمي الرعاية المتخصصين يسرقونهم. أو ربما يتهمون زوجاتهم (أو أزواجهم) بالخيانة. وبعض المرضى الآخرون يرون أو يسمعون أشياء غير حقيقية.

    غالبًا يزداد المرضى قلقًا أو هُياجًا، خاصةً في وقت متأخِّر من اليوم. وقد تنتاب البعض نوبات من التصرفات البدنية العنيفة.

الخرف الشديد بسبب مرض الزهايمر

في المرحلة المتأخِّرة من المرض -التي تُسمَّى بالخَرَف الحاد الناتج عن داء الزهايمر- تواصل الوظائف الذهنية التدهور. وهذا المرض له تأثير متزايد على الحركة والقدرات البدنية.

يشعر المصابون بالخَرَف الحاد الناتج عن داء الزهايمر عادةً بما يلي:

  • فقدان القدرة على التواصُل. لا يعود بإمكان الشخص الحديث أو الحوار بشكل مفهوم، بل قد لا يستطيع سوى التلفظ بكلمات أو عبارات متفرقة بين الحين والآخر.
  • الحاجة إلى المساعدة اليومية في احتياجات العناية الشخصية. ويتضمَّن هذا المساعدة الكاملة في تناوُل الطعام، وارتداء الملابس، واستخدام الحمام، وجميع مهام الرعاية الذاتية اليومية الأخرى.
  • تدهور القدرات البدنية. قد يصير الأشخاص في هذه المرحلة عاجزين عن المشي دون مساعدة. بل إنهم حتى قد يعجزون عن الجلوس أو تثبيت رؤوسهم دون مساند. وقد تتيبّس العضلات وتصبح استجاباتها اللا إرادية غير طبيعية. وفي نهاية المطاف، يفقد الشخص القدرة على البلع والتحكُّم في البول والبراز.

معدل التقدم عبر مراحل الإصابة بداء ألزهايمر

تتفاوت معدلات تقدّم داء الزهايمر تفاوتًا كبيرًا. وفي المتوسط، يعيش المرضى المصابون بداء الزهايمر بين 3 أعوام و 11 عامًا بعد التشخيص، وقد يعيش المرضى في بعض الحالات 20 عامًا أو أكثر. ويمكن أن تؤثر درجة الاعتلال عند التشخيص على متوسط العمر المتوقع. وترتبط عوامل الخطر المتعلقة بالأوعية الدموية التي لم يجرِ علاجها، مثل ارتفاع ضغط الدم، بزيادة معدل تقدّم داء الزهايمر.

إن الالتهاب الرئوي هو أحد الأسباب الشائعة للوفاة، لأن عسر البلع يسمح للأطعمة أو المشروبات بالدخول إلى الرئة، ما قد يؤدي للإصابة بالعدوى. وتشمل الأسباب الأخرى الشائعة للوفاة، الجفاف وسوء التغذية والسقوط وغير ذلك.

07/06/2023 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Alzheimer's sleep problems
  2. Alzheimer's: New treatments
  3. Alzheimer's 101
  4. Understanding the difference between dementia types
  5. Alzheimer's disease
  6. Alzheimer's drugs
  7. Alzheimer's genes
  8. Alzheimer's prevention: Does it exist?
  9. Antidepressant withdrawal: Is there such a thing?
  10. Antidepressants and alcohol: What's the concern?
  11. Antidepressants and weight gain: What causes it?
  12. Antidepressants: Can they stop working?
  13. Antidepressants: Side effects
  14. Antidepressants: Selecting one that's right for you
  15. Antidepressants: Which cause the fewest sexual side effects?
  16. Anxiety disorders
  17. Atypical antidepressants
  18. Caregiver stress
  19. Clinical depression: What does that mean?
  20. Corticobasal degeneration (corticobasal syndrome)
  21. CT scan
  22. Depression and anxiety: Can I have both?
  23. Depression, anxiety and exercise
  24. What is depression? A Mayo Clinic expert explains.
  25. Depression in women: Understanding the gender gap
  26. Depression (major depressive disorder)
  27. Depression: Supporting a family member or friend
  28. Diagnosing Alzheimer's
  29. Did the definition of Alzheimer's disease change?
  30. Intermittent fasting
  31. Lecanemab for Alzheimer's disease
  32. Male depression: Understanding the issues
  33. MAOIs and diet: Is it necessary to restrict tyramine?
  34. Marijuana and depression
  35. Mayo Clinic Minute: 3 tips to reduce your risk of Alzheimer's disease
  36. Mayo Clinic Minute: Alzheimer's disease risk and lifestyle
  37. Mayo Clinic Minute New definition of Alzheimer's changes
  38. Mayo Clinic Minute: Women and Alzheimer's Disease
  39. Memory loss: When to seek help
  40. Monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs)
  41. MRI
  42. Natural remedies for depression: Are they effective?
  43. Nervous breakdown: What does it mean?
  44. New Alzheimers Research
  45. Pain and depression: Is there a link?
  46. Phantosmia: What causes olfactory hallucinations?
  47. Positron emission tomography scan
  48. Posterior cortical atrophy
  49. Seeing inside the heart with MRI
  50. Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs)
  51. Serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs)
  52. Brain anatomy
  53. Sundowning: Late-day confusion
  54. Treatment-resistant depression
  55. Tricyclic antidepressants and tetracyclic antidepressants
  56. Video: Alzheimer's drug shows early promise
  57. MRI
  58. Vitamin B-12 and depression
  59. Young-onset Alzheimer's

Alzheimer's stages: How the disease progresses

Alzheimer's disease can last more than a decade. See what types of behaviors are common in each of the stages as the disease progresses.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Alzheimer's disease tends to develop slowly and gradually worsens over several years. Eventually, Alzheimer's disease affects most areas of your brain. Memory, thinking, judgment, language, problem-solving, personality and movement can all be affected by the disease.

There are five stages associated with Alzheimer's disease: preclinical Alzheimer's disease, mild cognitive impairment due to Alzheimer's disease, mild dementia due to Alzheimer's disease, moderate dementia due to Alzheimer's disease and severe dementia due to Alzheimer's disease. Dementia is a term used to describe a group of symptoms that affect intellectual and social abilities severely enough to interfere with daily function.

The five Alzheimer's stages can help you understand what might happen, but it's important to know that these stages are only rough generalizations. The disease is a continuous process. Each person has a different experience with Alzheimer's and its symptoms.

Preclinical Alzheimer's disease

Alzheimer's disease begins long before any symptoms become apparent. This stage is called preclinical Alzheimer's disease, and it's usually identified only in research settings. You won't notice symptoms during this stage, nor will those around you.

This stage of Alzheimer's can last for years, possibly even decades. Although you won't notice any changes, new imaging technologies can now identify deposits of a protein called amyloid-beta that is a hallmark of Alzheimer's disease. The ability to identify these early deposits may be especially important for clinical trials and in the future as new treatments are developed for Alzheimer's disease.

Additional biomarkers — measures that can indicate an increased risk of disease — have been identified for Alzheimer's disease. These biomarkers can be used to support the diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease, typically after symptoms appear.

Genetic tests also can tell you if you have a higher risk of Alzheimer's disease, particularly early-onset Alzheimer's disease. These tests aren't recommended for everyone, but you and your doctor can discuss whether genetic testing might be beneficial for you.

As with newer imaging techniques, biomarkers and genetic tests will become more important as new treatments for Alzheimer's disease are developed.

Mild cognitive impairment (MCI) due to Alzheimer's disease

People with mild cognitive impairment have mild changes in their memory and thinking ability. These changes aren't significant enough to affect work or relationships yet. People with MCI may have memory lapses when it comes to information that is usually easily remembered, such as conversations, recent events or appointments.

People with MCI may also have trouble judging the amount of time needed for a task, or they may have difficulty correctly judging the number or sequence of steps needed to complete a task. The ability to make sound decisions can become harder for people with MCI.

Not everyone with mild cognitive impairment has Alzheimer's disease. MCI is often diagnosed based on the doctor's review of symptoms and professional judgment. But if necessary, the same procedures used to identify preclinical Alzheimer's disease can help determine whether MCI is due to Alzheimer's disease or something else.

Mild dementia due to Alzheimer's disease

Alzheimer's disease is often diagnosed in the mild dementia stage, when it becomes clear to family and doctors that a person is having significant trouble with memory and thinking that impacts daily functioning.

In the mild dementia stage, people may experience:

  • Memory loss of recent events. Individuals may have an especially hard time remembering newly learned information and ask the same question over and over.
  • Difficulty with problem-solving, complex tasks and sound judgments. Planning a family event or balancing a checkbook may become overwhelming. Many people experience lapses in judgment, such as when making financial decisions.
  • Changes in personality. People may become subdued or withdrawn — especially in socially challenging situations — or show uncharacteristic irritability or anger. Reduced motivation to complete tasks also is common.
  • Difficulty organizing and expressing thoughts. Finding the right words to describe objects or clearly express ideas becomes increasingly challenging.
  • Getting lost or misplacing belongings. Individuals have increasing trouble finding their way around, even in familiar places. It's also common to lose or misplace things, including valuable items.

Moderate dementia due to Alzheimer's disease

During the moderate dementia stage of Alzheimer's disease, people grow more confused and forgetful and begin to need more help with daily activities and self-care.

People with the moderate dementia stage of Alzheimer's disease may:

  • Show increasingly poor judgment and deepening confusion. Individuals lose track of where they are, the day of the week or the season. They may confuse family members or close friends with one another or mistake strangers for family.

    They may wander, possibly in search of surroundings that feel more familiar. These difficulties make it unsafe to leave those in the moderate dementia stage on their own.

  • Experience even greater memory loss. People may forget details of their personal history, such as their address or phone number, or where they attended school. They repeat favorite stories or make up stories to fill gaps in memory.
  • Need help with some daily activities. Assistance may be required with choosing proper clothing for the occasion or the weather and with bathing, grooming, using the bathroom and other self-care. Some individuals occasionally lose control of their bladder or bowel movements.
  • Undergo significant changes in personality and behavior. It's not unusual for people with the moderate dementia stage to develop unfounded suspicions — for example, to become convinced that friends, family or professional caregivers are stealing from them or that a spouse is having an affair. Others may see or hear things that aren't really there.

    Individuals often grow restless or agitated, especially late in the day. Some people may have outbursts of aggressive physical behavior.

Severe dementia due to Alzheimer's disease

In the late stage of the disease, called severe dementia due to Alzheimer's disease, mental function continues to decline, and the disease has a growing impact on movement and physical capabilities.

In late stage severe dementia due to Alzheimer's disease, people generally:

  • Lose the ability to communicate coherently. An individual can no longer converse or speak in ways that make sense, although he or she may occasionally say words or phrases.
  • Require daily assistance with personal care. This includes total assistance with eating, dressing, using the bathroom and all other daily self-care tasks.
  • Experience a decline in physical abilities. A person may become unable to walk without assistance, then unable to sit or hold up his or her head without support. Muscles may become rigid and reflexes abnormal. Eventually, a person loses the ability to swallow and to control bladder and bowel functions.

Rate of progression through Alzheimer's disease stages

The rate of progression for Alzheimer's disease varies widely. On average, people with Alzheimer's disease live between three and 11 years after diagnosis, but some survive 20 years or more. The degree of impairment at diagnosis can affect life expectancy.

Pneumonia is a common cause of death because impaired swallowing allows food or beverages to enter the lungs, where an infection can begin. Other common causes of death include dehydration, malnutrition, falls and other infections.

Dec. 12, 2018 See more In-depth