هل هناك أي عقاقير لمرض السكري من النوع 2 يمكن أن تساعد الناس على فقدان الوزن وخفض سكر الدم لديهم؟ هل هناك آثار جانبية؟

إجابة من إم ريجينا كاسترو، (دكتور في الطب)

هناك فئة من أدوية داء السكري من النوع الثاني لا تقتصر فائدتها على تحسين التحكم في سكر الدم لكنها قد تؤدي أيضًا إلى فقدان الوزن. يُطلق على هذه الفئة من الأدوية عادةً ناهضات الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1 (GLP-1). وهناك فئة أخرى من الأدوية المرتبطة بفقدان الوزن وتحسين التحكم في نسبة السكر في الدم، هي مثبطات الناقل المشترك للجلوكوز والصوديوم 2 (SGLT-2). ويتضمن ذلك كاناجليفلوزين (إنفوكانا)، وداباغليفلوزين (فاركسيجا)، وأمباغليفلوزين (جارديانس).

يمكن أن يتباين فقدان الوزن ويتوقف ذلك على دواء GLP-1 الذي تستخدمه وجرعتك. ولكن قد يتراوح فقدان الوزن بين 3 و5.5 رطل (1.5 كيلوغرام أو كغم إلى 2.5 كغم) عند استخدام هذه الأدوية.

إذا كنت تحاول جاهدًا أن تقلل وزنك من خلال إجراء تغييرات في نمط الحياة بالإضافة إلى استخدام أحد هذه الأدوية، فقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن الأدوية قد تؤدي إلى تقليل إضافي في الوزن يتراوح بين 6 و9 أرطال (2.8 كغم إلى 4.2 كغم).

تشمل أدوية داء السكري في فئة ناهضات الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1:

  • دولاجلوتيد (Trulicity)، ويتم تناوله عن طريق الحقن أسبوعيًا
  • الإطلاق الممتد للإكسناتيد (بايدوريون)، عن طريق الحقن أسبوعيًا
  • إكسيناتيد (بييتا)، عن طريق الحقن مرتين يوميًا
  • سيماجلوتيد (أوزمبيك)، عن طريق الحقن أسبوعيًا
  • سيماجلوتيد (رايبيلسوس) عن طريق الفم مرة يوميًا
  • ليراجلوتيد (فيكتوزا)، عن طريق الحقن يوميًا
  • ليكسيسيناتيد (آدليكسين)، عن طريق الحقن يوميًا

وتشبه هذه الأدوية عمل الهرمون المسمى الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1 (GLP-1). فعندما تبدأ مستويات السكر في الدم في الارتفاع بعد تناول الطعام، تحفز هذه الأدوية الجسم على إفراز المزيد من الأنسولين. ويساعد الأنسولين الزائد جرعة الأنسولين على مزيد من الانخفاض لمستويات سكر الدم.

يساعد انخفاض مستويات سكر الدم في السيطرة على داء السكري من النوع الثاني، ولكن ليس من الواضح تمامًا كيف تؤدي أدوية الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1 إلى فقدان الوزن. يعلم الأطباء أن أدوية الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1 يبدو أنها تساعد على خفض الشهية. تؤخر هذه الأدوية حركة الطعام من المعدة إلى الأمعاء الدقيقة. وقد تشعر نتيجة لذلك بالشبع أسرع ولمدة أطول، بلذلك تأكل قدرًا أقل.

وإلى جانب المساعدة في السيطرة على سكر الدم وزيادة فقدان الوزن، يبدو أن مثبطات الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1s والناقل المشترك للجلوكوز والصوديوم 2 لها فوائد مهمة أخرى. وجدت الأبحاث أن بعض الأدوية في هذه الفئات من الأدوية قد تقلص خطر الإصابة بمرض القلب، بما في ذلك فشل القلب والسكتة الدماغية ومرض الكلى. لاحظ من تناولوا هذه الأدوية بتحسن في مستويات ضغط الدم والكوليسترول، على الرغم من أنه ليس واضحًا ما إذا كانت هذه المزايا تحدث نتيجة الدواء أم نتيجة فقدان الوزن.

أما الجانب السلبي لأدوية الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1 هو أنه يجب تناولها جميعًا عن طريق الحقن باستثناء دواء واحد. وهناك مخاطرة كذلك بآثار جانبية مثل أي دواء، وبعضها خطير. عادة ما تتحسن الآثار الجانبية الأكثر شيوعًا بعد أن تتناول الدواء بفترة.

تشمل بعض الآثار الجانبية الأكثر شيوعًا:

  • الغثيان
  • القيء
  • الإسهال

يعد انخفاض مستويات سكر الدم (نقص السكر في الدم) من المخاطر الأكثر خطورة المرتبطة بفئة الأدوية الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1. لكن خطر انخفاض مستويات السكر في الدم يزداد عادة فقط إذا كنت تتلقى دواءً آخر معروفًا بخفض نسبة السكر في الدم في نفس الوقت، مثل السلفونيل يوريا أو الأنسولين.

لا يوصى بفئة الببتيد المشابه للغلوكاجون 1 من الأدوية إذا كان لديك تاريخ شخصي أو عائلي من الإصابة بسرطان الغدة الدرقية النخاعي أو تَكَوُّنُ الأورام الصَّمَّاوِيَّةِ المُتَعددة. لقد أشارت الدراسات المعملية إلى وجود ارتباط بين هذه الأدوية وأورام الغدة الدرقية في الفئران، ولكن إلى أن تكتمل الدراسات على المدى الطويل، يُعتبر الخطر على البشر مجهولًا. كما لا يوصى بها إذا كنت قد أصبت من قبل بالتهاب البنكرياس.

صُممت الأدوية التي نوقشت بالفعل للمصابين بداء السكري من النوع الثاني. هناك أيضًا دواء يحتوي على جرعة أعلى من ليراجلوتيد (ساكسيندا) المعتمد لعلاج السُمنة لدى غير المصابين بالسكري.

إذا كنت مصابًا بالسكري وتتساءل إن كان أحد هذه الأدوية مفيدًا لك، فتحدث إلى طبيبك.

With

إم ريجينا كاسترو، (دكتور في الطب)

29/07/2021 See more Expert Answers

Are there any type 2 diabetes drugs that can help people lose weight and lower their blood sugar? Are there side effects?

Answer From M. Regina Castro, M.D.

There's a class of type 2 diabetes drugs that not only improves blood sugar control but may also lead to weight loss. This class of drugs is commonly called glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) agonists. Another class of medications associated with weight loss and improved blood sugar control is the sodium glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT-2) inhibitors. These include canagliflozin (Invokana), dapagliflozin (Farxiga) and empagliflozin (Jardiance).

Weight loss can vary depending on which GLP-1 medication you use and your dose. But weight loss may average about 3 to 5.5 pounds (1.5 to 2.5 kilograms, or kg) when using these drugs.

If you're actively trying to lose weight through lifestyle changes and add the use of one of these medications, research has shown that the drugs may lead to around 6 to 9 pounds (2.8 to 4.2 kg) of additional weight loss.

Diabetes drugs in the GLP-1 agonists class include:

  • Dulaglutide (Trulicity), taken by injection weekly
  • Exenatide extended release (Bydureon), taken by injection weekly
  • Exenatide (Byetta), taken by injection twice daily
  • Semaglutide (Ozempic), taken by injection weekly
  • Semaglutide (Rybelsus), taken by mouth once daily
  • Liraglutide (Victoza), taken by injection daily
  • Lixisenatide (Adlyxin), taken by injection daily

These medications mimic the action of a hormone called glucagon-like peptide 1. When blood sugar levels start to rise after someone eats, these drugs stimulate the body to secrete more insulin. The extra insulin helps lower blood sugar levels.

Lower blood sugar levels are helpful for controlling type 2 diabetes, but it's not exactly clear how the GLP-1 drugs lead to weight loss. Doctors do know that GLP-1s appear to help suppress appetite. These drugs also slow the movement of food from the stomach into the small intestine. As a result, you may feel full faster and longer, so you eat less.

Along with helping to control blood sugar and boost weight loss, GLP-1s and SGLT-2 inhibitors seem to have other significant benefits. Research has found that some drugs in these classes of medications may lower the risk of heart disease, including heart failure; stroke; and kidney disease. People taking these drugs have seen improvements in their blood pressure and cholesterol levels, though it's not clear whether these benefits are from the medication or the weight loss.

The downside to GLP-1 drugs is that all but one has to be taken by injection. And, like any medication, there is a risk of side effects, some serious. More common side effects usually improve after you've taken the medication for a while.

Some of the more common side effects include:

  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea

Low blood sugar levels (hypoglycemia) are a more serious risk linked to the GLP-1 class of medications. But the risk of low blood sugar levels is usually only increased if you're taking another medication known to lower blood sugar at the same time, such as sulfonylureas or insulin.

The GLP-1 class of drugs isn't recommended if you have a personal or family history of medullary thyroid cancer or multiple endocrine neoplasia. Laboratory studies have linked these drugs with thyroid tumors in rats, but until more long-term studies are completed, the risk to humans isn't known. They're also not recommended if you've had pancreatitis.

The drugs already discussed are designed for people who have type 2 diabetes. There is also a drug that contains a higher dose of liraglutide (Saxenda) that's approved for the treatment of obesity in people who don't have diabetes.

If you have diabetes and wonder if one of these drugs may be helpful for you, talk to your doctor.

With

M. Regina Castro, M.D.

June 23, 2020 See more Expert Answers