诊断

胸主动脉瘤通常在由于其他原因进行影像学检查时发现。

如果有胸主动脉瘤的症状,医务人员可能会询问您的家族病史。一些动脉瘤可能会在家族中遗传。

检查

影像学检查可用于确认或筛查胸主动脉瘤。检查可能包括:

  • 超声心动图。该检查使用声波显示血液如何通过心脏和血管,包括主动脉。超声心动图可用于诊断或筛查胸主动脉瘤。如果标准超声心动图不能提供足够的主动脉信息,可通过经食管超声心动图来获得更好的视图。这种类型的超声心动图将包含超声探测棒的软管从咽喉引导至将口腔连接至胃的管道中。
  • 计算机断层成像(CT)。CT 扫描使用 X 线生成身体的横截面图,包括主动脉。这项检查可以显示动脉瘤的大小和形状。CT 扫描时,您通常需要躺在检查台上(位于环状的 X 线机器内侧)。可能会通过 IV 注射染料(造影剂),以帮助动脉在 X 线上更清楚地显示。
  • 心脏磁共振成像(MRI)。心脏 MRI 使用磁场和无线电波生成心脏和主动脉的详细图像。这项检查可帮助诊断动脉瘤,并显示其大小和位置。在这项检查中,您通常需要躺在滑入隧道的检查台上。可能会通过 IV 注射染料(造影剂),以帮助血管在图像上更清楚地显示。这项检查不使用辐射。对于需要频繁进行动脉瘤影像学检查的患者来说,这可能是 CT 扫描的替代选项。
医务人员坐在电脑前查看显示器上的 CT 扫描结果。 CT 扫描会诊

妙佑医疗国际的医务人员评估 CT 扫描。

一位医务人员站在 MRI 机器旁,一位患者躺在该机器外的检查床上。 磁共振成像

医务人员为患者准备 MRI 扫描。

治疗

胸主动脉瘤的治疗目标是防止动脉瘤生长和破裂。治疗取决于动脉瘤的大小及其生长速度。

胸主动脉瘤的治疗可能包括:

  • 定期进行健康检查(有时称为观察等待)。
  • 药物治疗。
  • 外科手术。
接诊患者

一位心脏病患者与妙佑医疗国际的医疗护理专业人员交谈,该专业人员正结合计算机上的成像结果与心脏 3D 模型向其解释病情。

如果胸主动脉瘤较小,医务人员可能会建议进行药物治疗,并通过影像学检查来监测动脉瘤。治疗并管理其他健康问题。

通常,在动脉瘤确诊后至少 6 个月,您将接受超声心动图、CT 或磁共振血管造影术(MRA)扫描。还可能会在定期复诊检查时进行影像学检查。进行这些检查的频率取决于导致动脉瘤的原因以及动脉瘤的大小和生长速度。

药物

医生可能开具治疗高血压和高胆固醇的药物。

这些药物可能包括:

  • β 受体阻滞剂。这些药物通过减慢心率来降低血压。对于马方综合征患者,这些药物可降低主动脉的扩张速度。
  • 血管紧张素 II 受体阻滞剂。如果无法服用 β 受体阻滞剂或其对高血压的控制效果不佳,则可能使用这类药物。此类药物通常建议用于勒斯-迪茨综合征患者,即使患者没有高血压。血管紧张素 II 受体阻滞剂包括氯沙坦(Cozaar)、缬沙坦(Diovan)和奥美沙坦(Benicar)。
  • 他汀类。此类药物有助于降低胆固醇、减少动脉阻塞以及降低出现动脉瘤并发症的风险。他汀类药物包括阿托伐他汀(Lipitor)、洛伐他汀(Altoprev)、辛伐他汀(Zocor、FloLipid)等。

如果您抽烟或嚼食烟草,戒烟至关重要。使用烟草可能导致动脉瘤和整体健康状况恶化。

外科手术

通常建议胸主动脉瘤大约为 5 至 6 厘米(1.9 至 2.4 英寸)或更大的患者接受手术治疗。如果有主动脉夹层或主动脉瘤相关疾病(例如马方综合征)的家族史,且所患动脉瘤的体积较小,可能会建议进行手术治疗。

大多数胸主动脉瘤患者都会接受开胸手术,但有时也可能接受侵入性较小的血管内手术。

手术类型取决于具体病情和胸主动脉瘤的位置。

  • 开胸手术。此类手术通常会切除被动脉瘤损伤的部分主动脉。然后将一根人造管(移植物)缝合至相应部位,以置换主动脉被切除的部分。患者可能需要一个月或更长时间才能完全康复。
  • 主动脉根手术。此类开胸手术用于治疗部分膨大的主动脉,以预防主动脉破裂。靠近主动脉根的主动脉瘤可能与马方综合征及其他相关医疗状况有关。外科医生会切除部分主动脉,有时也会切除主动脉瓣。用移植物置换主动脉被切除的部分。主动脉瓣可以使用机械瓣膜或生物瓣膜代替。如果手术未切除主动脉瓣,该手术称为保留主动脉瓣的主动脉根部修复术。
  • 主动脉瘤腔内修复术(EVAR)。外科医生将一根细软管插入血管(通常为腹股沟血管),然后将其引导至主动脉。将导管末端的金属网管(移植物)放置在动脉瘤部位。然后,使用小钩子或别针将移植物固定到位。移植物可加强主动脉的薄弱部分,从而防止动脉瘤破裂。这种借助导管进行的手术可能能够缩短患者的恢复期。

    EVAR 并非适用于所有患者。请向医务人员咨询该手术是否适合您。接受 EVAR 后,您可能需要定期进行影像学检查,以查看移植物处是否存在血液漏出。

  • 紧急手术。胸主动脉瘤破裂需要接受紧急开胸手术。此类手术风险大,出现并发症的可能性很高。因此,进行终身健康检查和适当的预防性手术至关重要,这可以在胸主动脉瘤破裂前尽早确诊和治疗。

治疗胸主动脉瘤

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

如果您患有胸主动脉瘤,医务人员可能会嘱咐您避免提举重物和某些剧烈的身体活动。这些活动可能导致血压升高,对动脉瘤施加额外的压力。

如果您想参加特定活动,医务人员可能会建议您做运动负荷试验,看看运动会对您的血压造成什么影响。适度的身体活动通常有益于健康。

压力也可能导致血压升高,因此应寻找有助于减轻情绪压力的方法。加强运动和练习正念都可以减轻压力。

妥善处理与支持

一些胸主动脉瘤或相关医疗状况的患者可能会感到焦虑、担忧或抑郁。您可能会发现,与其他有类似情况的患者建立联系会有帮助。向医务人员咨询您所在地区的互助小组。

准备您的预约

如果您因为明显的家族史而认为自己可能患有胸主动脉瘤或为自己的动脉瘤风险感到担忧,请与医务人员约诊。早期发现的动脉瘤,治疗可能更容易而且更有效。

如果您要筛查主动脉瘤,医务人员可能会询问您的家族是否有人曾经患有主动脉瘤,因此请准备好这些信息。

因为就诊时间可能很短,而且往往有很多事情需要谈论,所以最好做足准备。以下信息可帮助您做好就诊准备,并了解医务人员的一般流程。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定。约诊时,请务必询问是否需要提前做好准备。例如,做超声心动图检查时,您可能需要事先禁食禁饮一段时间。
  • 写下您出现的任何症状,包括任何看似与胸主动脉瘤无关的症状。
  • 写下重要的个人信息,包括心脏病、动脉瘤或结缔组织病的家族史。
  • 列出您目前服用的所有药物、维生素或补充剂,包括剂量。
  • 尽可能让家人或朋友陪同就诊。有时可能难以记住就诊时提供给您的信息。陪同者可能会记住您遗漏或忘记的一些事项。
  • 准备讨论您的饮食、运动习惯和吸烟情况。如果您的饮食或运动习惯不规律,请告知医务人员您在尝试规律生活时可能面临的任何挑战。如果您现在吸烟或有吸烟史,一定要告诉医务人员。
  • 发送影像报告并携带记录。提前将影像报告发给医务人员,并在就诊时带上您的病历,这将大有帮助。
  • 写下要问医务人员的问题

由于就诊时间有限,因此提前准备好问题清单有助于充分利用就诊时间。请按照重要程度由高而低的顺序列出问题,以免时间不够。对于主动脉瘤,可向医务人员咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 确认胸主动脉瘤需要做哪些检查?
  • 我的动脉瘤有多大?
  • 有哪些治疗方法可供使用?您认为我应该使用哪种?
  • 适合进行什么程度的身体活动?
  • 我需要改变饮食习惯吗?
  • 我需要多久检查一次动脉瘤?
  • 我需要让其他家人进行动脉瘤筛查吗?
  • 我还有其他健康状况。如何才能最好地同时管理这些状况?
  • 您开的药物有仿制药替代品吗?
  • 有没有我可以带回家的手册或其他印刷资料?您建议访问哪些网站以获取更多信息?

除了您准备咨询医务人员的问题外,您还可以在就诊期间随时提出其他问题。

医生可能做些什么

医务人员可能会问您一些问题。请做好回答这些问题的准备,这样有利于更好地安排时间,去详细了解您所关注的任何方面。医务人员可能询问:

  • 您第一次出现症状是在什么时候?
  • 您的症状是时有时无,还是一直存在?
  • 您症状的严重程度如何?
  • 您是否有动脉瘤或马方综合征等遗传性疾病的家族史?
  • 您吸过烟吗?
  • 您是否曾被告知有高血压?
  • 有没有什么情况会改善您的症状?
  • 有没有什么情况似乎会加重您的症状?

在此期间您可以做些什么

转变为健康的生活方式越早越好,例如戒烟、健康饮食以及积极运动。采取这些措施有助于预防胸主动脉瘤及其并发症。

如果您被诊断患有胸主动脉瘤,请询问应该多久复诊一次。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

April 25, 2023
  1. Aortic aneurysm. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/aneurysm. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  2. Ostberg NP, et al. The genetics of thoracic aortic aneurysms and dissection: A clinical perspective. Biomolecules. 2020; doi:10.3390/biom10020182.
  3. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/diseases-of-the-aorta-and-its-branches/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  4. Black JH, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, pathogenesis, and natural history of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  5. Burke CR, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  6. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2022. 61st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  7. Burke CR, et al. Management of thoracic aortic aneurysm in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  8. Marfan syndrome. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/mar. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  9. Rurali E, et al. Precise therapy for thoracic aortic aneurysm in Marfan syndrome: A puzzle nearing its solution. Progress in Cardiovascular Diseases. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.pcad.2018.07.020.
  10. Upchurch GR, et al. Society for Vascular Surgery clinical practice guidelines of thoracic endovascular aortic repair for descending thoracic aortic aneurysms. Journal of Vascular Surgery. 2021; doi:10.1016/j.jvs.2020.05.076.
  11. Nguyen, HT. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Feb. 27, 2023.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Thoracic aortic aneurysm (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  13. Connolly HM (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 17, 2020.
  14. Phillips SD (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Feb. 28, 2022.

Diagnosis

Thoracic aortic aneurysms are often found when an imaging test is done for a different reason.

If you have signs or symptoms of a thoracic aortic aneurysm, your health care provider may ask about your family's medical history. Some aneurysms can run in families (be inherited).

Tests

Imaging tests can be used to confirm or screen for a thoracic aortic aneurysm. Tests may include:

  • Echocardiogram. This test uses sound waves to show how blood moves through the heart and blood vessels, including the aorta. An echocardiogram may be used to diagnose or screen for thoracic aortic aneurysms. If a standard echocardiogram doesn't provide enough information about the aorta, a transesophageal echocardiogram may be done to get a better view. For this type of echocardiogram, a flexible tube containing an ultrasound wand is guided down the throat and into the tube connecting the mouth to the stomach (esophagus).
  • Computerized tomography (CT). CT uses X-rays to create cross-sectional images of the body, including the aorta. It can detect the size and shape of an aneurysm. During a CT scan, you typically lie on a table inside a doughnut-shaped X-ray machine. Dye (contrast) may be given by IV to help the arteries show up more clearly on the X-ray.
  • Cardiac magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). A cardiac MRI uses magnetic fields and radio waves to create detailed images of the heart and aorta. MRI may be used to diagnose an aneurysm and determine its size and location. In this test, you typically lie on a table that slides into the tunnel (magnet). Dye (contrast) may be given by IV to help blood vessels show up more clearly on the images. This test may be an alternative to CT scans for people who need frequent monitoring of aneurysms, to reduce their exposure to radiation.
Care providers sit at a computer and look at CT scan results on a monitor. CT scan consult

Health care providers evaluate a CT scan at Mayo Clinic.

A health care provider stands by an MRI machine as a person lays on a table outside the machine. MRI

A health care provider prepares a person for an MRI scan.

Treatment

The goal of treatment for a thoracic aortic aneurysm is to prevent the aneurysm from growing and rupturing. Treatment depends on the aneurysm's size and how fast it's growing.

Treatment for thoracic aortic aneurysm may include:

  • Regular health checkups (watchful waiting)
  • Medications
  • Surgery
A doctor has a consult with a patient and uses a heart model and heart image in the discussion. Patient consult

A Mayo Clinic health care provider talks to a patient

Monitoring

If your thoracic aortic aneurysm is small, your health care provider may recommend imaging tests to monitor the aneurysm, along with medication. Other health conditions will be treated and managed.

Usually, you'll have an echocardiogram, CT or magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) scan at least six months after your aneurysm is diagnosed, and at regular follow-up exams. How often you have these tests done depends on the cause and size of the aneurysm, and how fast it's growing.

Medications

Medications may be prescribed to treat high blood pressure and high cholesterol.

These medications could include:

  • Beta blockers. Beta blockers lower blood pressure by slowing the heart rate. These drugs may reduce how fast the aorta is widening in people with Marfan syndrome.
  • Angiotensin II receptor blockers. These medications may be used if beta blockers can't be taken or if they don't adequately control blood pressure. They are often recommended for people who have Loeys-Dietz syndrome even if they don't have high blood pressure. Examples of angiotensin II receptor blockers include losartan (Cozaar), valsartan (Diovan) and olmesartan (Benicar).
  • Statins. These medications can help lower cholesterol, which can help reduce blockages in the arteries and reduce the risk of aneurysm complications. Examples of statins include atorvastatin (Lipitor), lovastatin (Altoprev), simvastatin (Zocor, FloLipid) and others.

If you smoke or chew tobacco, it's important that you quit. Using tobacco can worsen an aneurysm and overall health.

Surgery

Surgery is generally recommended for thoracic aortic aneurysms about 1.9 to 2.4 inches (about 5 to 6 centimeters) and larger. Surgery may be recommended for smaller aneurysms if you have a family history of aortic dissection or a condition linked to aortic aneurysm, such as Marfan syndrome.

Most people with a thoracic aortic aneurysm have open-chest surgery, but sometimes a less-invasive procedure called endovascular surgery can be done.

The type of surgery done depends on the specific health condition and the location of the thoracic aortic aneurysm.

  • Open-chest surgery. This surgery generally involves removing part of the aorta damaged by the aneurysm. The section of aorta is replaced with a synthetic tube (graft), which is sewn into place. Full recovery may take a month or more.
  • Aortic root surgery. This type of open-chest surgery is done to treat an enlarged section of the aorta to prevent a rupture. Aortic aneurysms near the aortic root may be related to Marfan syndrome and other related condition. A surgeon removes part of the aorta and sometimes the aortic valve. A graft replaces the removed section of the aorta. The aortic valve may be replaced with a mechanical or biological valve. If the valve is not removed, the surgery is called valve-sparing aortic root repair.
  • Endovascular aortic aneurysm repair (EVAR). The surgeon inserts a thin, flexible tube (catheter) into a blood vessel, usually in the groin, and guides it to the aorta. A metal mesh tube (graft) attached to the end of the catheter is placed at the aneurysm site. Small hooks or pins hold it in place. The graft reinforces the weakened section of the aorta to prevent rupture of the aneurysm. This catheter-based procedure may allow a faster recovery.

    EVAR can't be done on everyone. Ask your health care provider whether it's right for you. After EVAR, you'll need regular imaging tests to check the graft for leakage.

  • Emergency surgery. A ruptured thoracic aortic aneurysm requires emergency open-chest surgery. This type of surgery is risky and has a high chance of complications. That's why it's important to identify and treat thoracic aortic aneurysms before they rupture with lifelong monitoring and appropriate preventive surgery.

Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm Treatment

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Lifestyle and home remedies

If you have a thoracic aortic aneurysm, your health care provider will likely tell you to avoid heavy lifting and some vigorous physical activities. Such activities can increase blood pressure, putting additional pressure on your aneurysm.

If you want to participate in a particular activity, your health care provider may recommend an exercise stress test to see how exercise affects your blood pressure. Moderate physical activity is generally healthy for you.

Stress also can raise blood pressure, so find ways to help reduce emotional stress. Getting more exercise and practicing mindfulness are some ways to tame stress.

Coping and support

Some people with a thoracic aortic aneurysm or related conditions may feel anxious, worried or depressed. You may find that connecting with others who have experienced similar situations may be helpful. Talk to your health care provider about support groups in your area.

Preparing for your appointment

If you think you may have a thoracic aortic aneurysm or are worried about your aneurysm risk because of a strong family history, make an appointment with your care provider. If an aneurysm is found early, treatment may be easier and more effective.

If you're being screened for an aortic aneurysm, your health care provider will likely ask if anyone in your family has ever had an aortic aneurysm, so have that information ready.

Because appointments can be brief and there's often a lot to discuss, it's a good idea to be prepared for your appointment. Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment, and what to expect from your health care provider.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. At the time you make the appointment, be sure to ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as restrict your diet. For an echocardiogram, for example, you may need to fast for a period of time beforehand.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to a thoracic aortic aneurysm.
  • Write down key personal information, including a family history of heart disease, aneurysms or connective tissue disease.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements that you take.
  • Take a family member or friend along, if possible. Sometimes it can be difficult to recall all of the information provided to you during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.
  • Be prepared to discuss your diet, exercise habits and tobacco use. If you don't already follow a diet or exercise routine, tell your care provider about any challenges you might face in getting started. Be sure to tell your health care provider if you're a current or former smoker.
  • Send imaging reports and bring records. It's helpful if you can send imaging reports to your health care provider in advance and bring your medical records.
  • Write down questions to ask your health care provider.

Your time with your health care provider is limited, so preparing a list of questions will help you make the most of your time together. List your questions from most important to least important in case time runs out. For an aortic aneurysm, some basic questions to ask your health care provider include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • What kinds of tests will I need to confirm a thoracic aortic aneurysm?
  • What treatments are available, and which do you recommend for me?
  • What's an appropriate level of physical activity?
  • Do I need to change my diet?
  • How often should I be screened for an aneurysm?
  • Should I tell other family members to be screened for an aneurysm?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage these conditions together?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing me?
  • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can take home with me? What websites do you recommend visiting for more information?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your health care provider, don't hesitate to ask additional questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your health care provider is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to spend more time on. Your health care provider may ask:

  • When did you first begin experiencing symptoms?
  • Do your symptoms come and go, or do you have them all the time?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • Do you have a family history of aneurysms or other hereditary diseases, such as Marfan syndrome?
  • Have you ever smoked?
  • Have you ever been told you have high blood pressure?
  • Does anything seem to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?

What you can do in the meantime

It's never too early to make healthy lifestyle changes, such as quitting smoking, eating healthy foods and getting more exercise. Taking these steps can help prevent thoracic aortic aneurysm and its complications.

If you're diagnosed with a thoracic aortic aneurysm, you should ask about the size of your aneurysm, whether your health care provider has noticed any changes and how frequently you should visit your health care provider for follow-up appointments.

Thoracic aortic aneurysm care at Mayo Clinic

May 05, 2022
  1. Aortic aneurysm. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/aneurysm. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  2. Ostberg NP, et al. The genetics of thoracic aortic aneurysms and dissection: A clinical perspective. Biomolecules. 2020; doi:10.3390/biom10020182.
  3. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/diseases-of-the-aorta-and-its-branches/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  4. Black JH, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, pathogenesis, and natural history of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  5. Burke CR, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  6. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2022. 61st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  7. Burke CR, et al. Management of thoracic aortic aneurysm in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  8. Marfan syndrome. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/mar. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  9. Rurali E, et al. Precise therapy for thoracic aortic aneurysm in Marfan syndrome: A puzzle nearing its solution. Progress in Cardiovascular Diseases. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.pcad.2018.07.020.
  10. Upchurch GR, et al. Society for Vascular Surgery clinical practice guidelines of thoracic endovascular aortic repair for descending thoracic aortic aneurysms. Journal of Vascular Surgery. 2021; doi:10.1016/j.jvs.2020.05.076.
  11. Braswell-Pickering EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 25, 2021.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Thoracic aortic aneurysm (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  13. Connolly HM (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 17, 2020.
  14. Phillips SD (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Feb. 28, 2022.