التشخيص

غالبًا ما يُكتشَف تمدُّدِ الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري أثناء الفحوصات الطبية الروتينية مثل التصوير بالأشعة السينية للصدر أو التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) أو الموجات فوق الصوتية للقلب والتي قد تُطلَب أحيانًا لسببٍ مختلف.

سيسألك طبيبك أسئلة عن العلامات والأعراض لديك، فضلاً عن تاريخ عائلتك المرضي المتعلق بالإصابة بتمدد الأوعية الدموية أو الموت المفاجئ.

إذا شكَّ طبيبك في إصابتك بتمدُّد الأوعية الدَّموية الأبهري الصدري، ستكون الاختبارات المُتخصِّصة ضروريةً لتأكيد ذلك. وتشمل هذه الاختبارات ما يلي:

  • مخطط صدى القلب. يستخدم مخطط صدى القلب الموجاتِ الصوتية لالتقاط صور في الزمن الحقيقي لقلبك والشريان الأبهري الصاعد. يوضِّح هذا الفحص مدى جودة عمل غرف القلب والصمامات. ويمكن استخدامه لتشخيص تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري وفحص أفراد عائلات المُصابين بتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري. في بعض الحالات، قد يُوصي طبيبك بإجراء مخطط صدى القلب عبر المريء لرؤية الشريان الأبهري بوضوح. في هذا الاختبار، يُوجَّه جهاز بلطف إلى أسفل المريء لتوليد الموجات الصوتية.
  • التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT). يستخدم التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) الأشعة السينية لتصوير صور مقطعية للجسم بما في ذلك الشريان الأبهري. ويُمكنه الكشف عن حجم تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية وشكله. أثناء الفحص بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT)، تستلقي على طاولة داخل جهاز أشعة سينية حلقي الشكل. يمكن حقن صبغة تسمى مادة التبايُن في الوريد لمساعدة شرايينك على أن تكون أكثر وضوحًا في الصور. يعد التعرُّض للإشعاع أحد سلبيات استخدام الفحص بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) في اكتشاف ومتابعة تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأورطية، لا سيما لمن تتطلب حالاتهم مراقبة متكررة، كالمصابين بمتلازمة مارفان. ومع ذلك يمكن استخدام أحدث تقنيات الفحص بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) لتقليل تعرضك للإشعاع.
  • التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI). يستخدم التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI)المجال المغناطيسي وموجات الراديو لالتقاط صور للجسم. يمكن استخدام التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) في تشخيص تمدد الأوعية الدموية وتحديد حجمه وموقعه. وفي هذا الفحص، تستلقي على طاولة تَنزلق إلى داخل النفق (المجال المغناطيسي). قد يحقن الأطباء صبغة في وريدك للمساعدة على ظهور أوعيتك الدموية بشكل أكثر وضوحًا في الصور (تصوير الأوعية بالرنين المغناطيسي). وقد يكون هذا الفحص بديلاً عن الفحوصات بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) لمن يحتاجون إلى متابعة تمدد الأوعية الدموية بشكل دوري، لتقليل تعرضهم للإشعاع.
طبيب يجلس مستخدمًا الكمبيوتر ويفحص الفحص بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب على الشاشة. الفحص بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب

يقيم الأطباء فحصًا بالتصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT).

يقف الاختصاصي جوار جهاز الفحص بالتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي في أثناء استلقاء المريض على المنصة خارج الجهاز. التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI)

شخص يخضع لفحص بالتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي

عمل تَنْظير شُعاعِي‎ للتحقُّق من تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري

قد تكون المشكلات المسببة لتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري من المشكلات المورّثة في العائلات. ولذلك قد يوصي طبيبك بإجراء فحص إذا كان أحد أقاربك من الدرجة الأولى - مثل أحد الوالدين أو الأشقاء أو الأبناء - مصابًا بمتلازمة مارفان أو حالة أخرى يمكن أن تسبب تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري.

وقد تشمل الفحوص المُجراة لاكتشاف تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري ما يلي:

  • مخطط صدى القلب. إذا أظهر مخطط صدى القلب وجود تضخُم في الشريان الأورطى أو تمدُّد في الأوعية الدموية، فستحتاج على الأرجح إلى إجراء فحص تصويري آخر خلال ستة أشهر أو 12 شهرًا للتأكد من عدم تمدده.
  • الفحص الجيني. إذا كان لديك تاريخ عائلي للإصابة بتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية أو حالة وراثية أخرى مشتبه فيها تؤدي إلى زيادة فرص الإصابة بتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري، فربما تحتاج إلى التفكير في إجراء الفحص الجيني. وربما تفكّر أيضًا في طلب المشورة الوراثية قبل بدء تكوين أُسرة.

العلاج

يهدف العلاج إلى منع تمدّد الأوعية الدموية من النمو وعلاجه قبل أن التشقق أو التمزق. قد تتراوح خيارات العلاج بين الانتظار اليقظ (المراقبة) والجراحة، وذلك بناءً على حجم تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري ومعدل نموه.

طبيب يجري استشارة لمريض في مايو كلينك. إجابات لكل تساؤلاتك

يصف طبيب مايو كلينك حالة طبية بمساعدة نموذج ثلاثي الأبعاد للقلب.

المراقبة

إذا كان تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري لديك صغيرًا، فربما يُوصِي طبيبك باختبارات التصوير لمراقبة الحالة بجانب الأدوية وإدارة الحالات الطبية الأخرى.

ستجري عادةً فحص مخطط صدى القلب، أو التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT)، أو تصوير الأوعية الدموية بالرنين المِغناطيسي (MRA) كفحوص متابعة منتظمة لمدة ستة أشهر على الأقل بعد تشخيص إصابتك بتمدد الأوعية الدموية. ويعتمد عدد مرات إجراء هذه الاختبارات على سبب تمدد الأوعية الدموية وحجمه ومدى سرعة نموه.

الأدوية

إذا كانت لديك مشكلة في ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو انسداد الشرايين، فمن المرجح أن يصف لك طبيبك أدوية لخفض ضغط الدم والكولسترول.

قد تتضمن هذه الأدوية ما يأتي:

  • حاصرات بيتا. تعمل حاصرات بيتا على خفض ضغط الدم لديك عن طريق إبطاء معدل ضربات القلب. وبالنسبة إلى الأشخاص المصابين بمتلازمة مارفان، قد تقلل حاصرات بيتا من سرعة توسع الشريان الأورطي. وتتضمن أمثلة حاصرات بيتا ميتوبرولول (لوبريسور، توبرول إكس إل، كابسبرغو سبرينكل)، وأتينولول (تينورمين)، وبيزوبرولول.
  • حاصرات مستقبلات الأنغيوتنسين 2. قد يصف طبيبك أيضًا تلك الأدوية إذا كانت حاصرات بيتا غير كافية للسيطرة على ضغط الدم، أو في حالة وجود ما يمنع تناول حاصرات بيتا. وعادةً ما يُوصى باستخدام هذه الأدوية للأشخاص المصابين بمتلازمة مارفان، حتى وإن لم يكونوا مصابين بارتفاع ضغط الدم. وتتضمن أمثلة حاصرات مستقبلات الأنغيوتنسين 2 عقار لوسارتان (كوزار) وفالسارتان (ديوفان) وأولميسارتان (بينيكار).
  • الأدوية الخافِضة للكولسترول. يمكن لهذه الأدوية أن تساعد على خفض مستوى الكولسترول، ما قد يساعد على تقليل حدوث الانسدادات في الشرايين وتقليل خطر حدوث المضاعفات الناتجة عن تمدد الأوعية الدموية. وتشمل أمثلة الأدوية الخافِضة للكولسترول أتورفاستاتين (ليبيتور) ولوفاستاتين (ألتوبريف) وسيمفاستاتين (زوكور، فلو ليبيد) وغيرها.

إذا كنت ممن يدخنون أو يمضغون التبغ، فمن الضروري أن تتوقف عن ذلك. وقد يؤدي تناول التبغ إلى تفاقم حالة تمدد الأوعية الدموية.

الجراحة

يُوصَى بالجراحة بشكل عام في حالة تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري بحجم يتراوح بين 1.9 بوصة إلى 2.4 بوصة (من 5 إلى 6 سنتيمترات تقريبًا) أو أكثر. وإذا كانت لديك متلازمة مارفان أو أي من أمراض الأنسجة الضامة أو تمزُّق الصمام الأبهر ثنائي الشرف، أو تاريخ عائلي مع تسلُّخ الأبهر، فقد يُوصي طبيبك بإجراء جراحة تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية البسيط بسبب ارتفاع خطر الإصابة بتسلُّخ الأبهر.

يعالَج معظم المصابين بتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري بجراحة الصدر المفتوح، لكن في بعض الحالات المحددة قد يكتشف الطبيب قابليتك للعلاج بتدخل ترميمي أقل توغلاً يطلق عليه جراحة داخل الأوعية.

يعتمد نوع الجراحة التي ستجريها على حالتك ومكان تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري.

  • جراحة الصدر المفتوح. تنطوي جراحة الصدر المفتوح لترميم تمدد الأوعية الدموية في الشريان الأبهري الصدري بشكل عام على إزالة القسم التالف من الشريان الأبهر واستبداله بأنبوب صناعي (طُعم) يُخاط في مكانه. ويستغرق التماثل التام للشفاء من بعد هذا الإجراء شهرًا أو أكثر. إذا كنت مصابًا بمتلازمة مارفان أو غيرها من الحالات المرضية ذات الصلة، فقد تخضع لجراحة استبدال جذر شريان الأبهر. يزيل الجراح جزءًا من الشريان الأبهري وأحيانًا الصمّام الأبهري أيضًا، ويستبدل بالجزء الموجود في الشريان الأبهري طُعمًا. ويمكن استبدال صمام ميكانيكي أو بيولوجي بالصمّام الأبهري. وفي حال لم يُستأصل الصمام، يطلق على هذه الجراحة ترميم جذر الشريان الأبهري لاستبقاء الصمّام.
  • جراحة داخل الأوعية. يوصل الأطباء الطُّعم الاصطناعي بطرف أنبوب رفيع يُدخل من خلال شريان إلى الساق ثم يخاط جراحيًا في شريانك الأبهري. يُوضع الطُّعم - أنبوب نسيجي مغطى بشبكة معدنية داعمة - في موقع تمدد الأوعية الدموية. ويثبّت الطُّعم الاصطناعي في مكانه بخطافات أو دبابيس صغيرة. يدعم الطُعم الاصطناعي الجزء الضعيف من الشريان الأبهري لمنع تمزّق تمدد الأوعية الدموية. وبشكل عام، يكون وقت التعافي في هذا الإجراء أقصر منه في جراحة الصدر المفتوح، ومع ذلك لا يمكن إجراء الجراحة داخل الأوعية مع جميع المرضى. فاسأل طبيبك عن الخيار المناسب لك. ستحتاج بعد إجراء الجراحة داخل الأوعية إلى الخضوع لفحوص تصويرية منتظمة للمتابعة لضمان عدم التسريب من الطُعم.
  • جراحة الطوارئ. على الرغم من إمكانية علاج تمزق تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري من خلال إجراء جراحة طارئة، فإنها تنطوي على معدل خطر أعلى وفرصة أكبر لحدوث مضاعفات. ولذلك، يفضل الأطباء التعرُّف على حالات تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري وعلاجها قبل أن تتمزق، ومتابعتها بالمراقبة طوال العمر وإجراء الجراحة الوقائية المناسبة.

علاج تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول التطورات الجديدة في مجال العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والاختبارات المستخدمة للوقاية من هذه الحالة الصحية وعلاجها وإدارتها.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

إذا تم تشخيصك بتمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري، فسينصحك طبيبك على الأغلب بتجنب حمل الأشياء الثقيلة وبعض الأنشطة البدنية العنيفة حيث يمكنها زيادة ضغط الدم ما يضع حملاً إضافيًا على تمدد الأوعية الدموية لديك.

وإذا رغبت في الاشتراك في نشاط معين، فاسأل طبيبك إذا كان يمكنك أداء اختبار الجهد لمعرفة مقدار التمارين الذي يرفع ضغط الدم لديك. النشاط البدني المعتدل صحي عامة بالنسبة لك.

يمكن أن يؤدي الإجهاد إلى ارتفاع ضغط الدم؛ لذا حاول أن تتجنَّب الصراعات والمواقف المسببة للإجهاد قدر ما يمكن. إذا كنت تمر بفترة عاطفية على وجه الخصوص في حياتك، فأعلم طبيبك؛ فقد تحتاج إلى تعديل أدويتك لمنع ارتفاع مستويات ضغط الدم لديك ارتفاعًا شديدًا.

ليس هناك أدوية يمكنك تناولها لمنع تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري على الرغم من أن تناول الأدوية للتحكم في ضغط دمك ومستوى الكوليستيرول قد يقلل من مخاطر حدوث المضاعفات الناتجة عن تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري.

وحتى وقتنا الحالي فإن أفضل أسلوب لمنع تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري أو منع حالة تمدد الأوعية الدموية من التفاقم هو الحفاظ على أوعيتك الدموية صحية قدر المستطاع. ويعني هذا القيام بخطوات معينة بما في ذلك ما يلي:

  • تجنَّب تعاطي التبغ.
  • حافظ على بقاء ضغط الدم تحت السيطرة.
  • مارس التمارين الرياضية بشكل منتظم.
  • قلل الكوليستيرول والدهون في حميتك.

إذا كانت لديك بعض عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بتمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري، فتحدث مع طبيبك. إذا كنت معرضًا للخطر، فقد يوصي طبيبك بوسائل علاجية تشمل أدوية لخفض ضغط الدم وتخفيف الضغط على الشرايين الضعيفة. وربما تفكر أيضًا في إجراء فحص مخخطات صدى القلب كل بضعة أعوام.

التأقلم والدعم

قد يكون التعايش مع مرض تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري أمرًا مجهدًا. فحاول تجنب المواقف المسببة للتوتر والمشاعر القوية، مثل الغضب، لأنها قد تزيد من ضغط الدم لديك.

وقد يشعر بعض الأشخاص المصابين بتمدد الأوعية الدموية أو الحالات ذات الصلة بالخوف أو القلق أو الاكتئاب. تحدث إلى طبيبك إذا تعرضت لهذه المشاعر. فقد يُحيلكَ إلى طبيب نفسي.

قد تجد أنه من المفيد الانضمام إلى إحدى مجموعات الدعم التي تضم أفرادًا مصابين بحالات مشابهة. فتحدث مع طبيبك عن مجموعات الدعم المتاحة في منطقتك.

التحضير من أجل موعدك الطبي

إذا كنت تعتقد أنك مصاب بتمدد الشريان الأبهري الصدري أو كنت قلقًا بشأن احتمالية إصابتك بتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية بسبب وجود سوابق عائلية قوية للإصابة به، فحدِّد موعدًا مع طبيب العائلة الخاص بك. فقد يكون علاج تمدد الأوعية الدموية أسهل وأكثر فعالية في حال اكتشافه مبكرًا.

إذا كنت تخضع لفحص تمدد الشريان الأبهري، فمن المحتمل أن يسألك الطبيب عما إذا كان أحد أفراد عائلتك قد أُصيب به، لذلك جهِّز هذه المعلومات.

نظرًا إلى أن المواعيد الطبية يُمكن أن تَكون قصيرة وغالبًا ما يكون هناك الكثير من الأمور المفترض مناقشتها، ففمن الجيد أن تستعد استعدادًا جيدًا لها. وإليك بعض المعلومات التي ستساعدك في الاستعداد لهذه المواعيد، ومعرفة ما تنتظره من طبيبك فيها.

ما يمكنك فعله؟

  • انتبه لأي محاذير يجب تجنبها قبل الموعد الطبي. وتأكد عند تحديد الموعد الطبي من السؤال عما إذا كان هناك ما تحتاج إلى فعله قبل الموعد، مثل تقييد نظامك الغذائي. فإذا كنت ستُجري مخططًا لصدى القلب - على سبيل المثال - قد تحتاج إلى الصيام فترة من الوقت قبل الإجراء.
  • دوِّن أي أعراض لديك، بما في ذلك أي أعراض قد لا تبدو ذات صلة بتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية للشريان الأبهري الصدري.
  • دوِّن المعلومات الشخصية الرئيسيَّة، بما في ذلك التاريخ العائلي للإصابة بأمراض القلب أو تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية أو أمراض النسيج الضام.
  • أَعدَّ قائمة بجميع الأدوية، أو الفيتامينات أو المكمِّلات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • اصطحب أحد أفراد العائلة أو الأصدقاء معك، إن أمكن. في بعض الأحيان يكون من الصعب أن تتذكر كل المعلومات المقدَّمة إليك خلال موعدك الطبي. وقد يتذكر الشخص الذي يرافقك شيئًا قد فاتك أو نسيته.
  • كُن مستعدًا لمناقشة نظامك الغذائي وعاداتك الرياضية واستهلاكك للتبغ. إذا كنت لا تتبع نظامًا غذائيًّا أو نظامًا لممارسة التمارين الرياضية، فاستعد للتحدث مع الطبيب عن جميع التحديات التي قد تواجهها عند البدء. تأكد من إخبار طبيبك ما إذا كنت مدخنًا حاليًا أو سابقًا.
  • أرسِل تقارير فحوص التصوير وأحضِر معك السجلات الطبية. سيكون مفيدًا إذا استطعت إرسال تقارير فحوص التصوير إلى طبيبك مسبقًا وإحضار تقاريرك الطبية معك.
  • دوِّن الأسئلة التي ترغب في طرحها على طبيبك.

وقتك مع طبيبك محدود، لذلك سيساعدك إعداد قائمة بالأسئلة على الاستفادة القصوى من وقتكما معًا. رتِّبْ أسئلتك من الأكثر أهمية إلى الأقل أهمية تحسُّبًا لنفاد الوقت. من الأسئلة الأساسية التي يمكنك طرحها على طبيبك بشأن تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري:

  • ما السبب الأرجح لما أشعر به من أعراض؟
  • ما أنواع الفحوص التي سأحتاج إلى إجرائها للتأكد من وجود تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري؟
  • ما العلاجات المتاحة، وما العلاج الذي تُوصيني به؟
  • ما مستوى النشاط البدني الملائم؟
  • هل أحتاج إلى تغيير نظامي الغذائي؟
  • كم مرة يجب أن أخضع لفحص تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية؟
  • هل يجب أن أنصح أفراد أسرتي الآخرين بالخضوع لفحص تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية؟
  • لديَّ مشكلات صحية أخرى. كيف يمكنني إدارة هذه الحالات معًا على أفضل نحو؟
  • هل هناك دواء بديل من نفس نوعية الدواء الذي تصفه لي؟
  • هل هناك أي منشورات أو مواد مطبوعة أخرى يُمْكِنُني اصطحابها معي؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تنصحني بزيارتها للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات؟

لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة إضافية أثناء الموعد الطبي بالإضافة إلى الأسئلة التي أعددتها لطرحها على طبيبك.

ما تتوقعينه من الطبيب

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة. وقد يوفر الاستعداد للإجابة عليها الوقت لمناقشة أي نقاط تود قضاء المزيد من الوقت في بحثها. قد يطرح عليك الطبيب الأسئلة التالية:

  • متى بدأت في الشعور بالأعراض؟
  • هل تظهر الأعراض وتزول، أم أنها مستمرة طوال الوقت؟
  • إلى أي مدى تفاقمت الأعراض؟
  • هل لديك تاريخ عائلي من تمدد الأوعية الدموية أو غيرها من الأمراض الوراثية، مثل متلازمة مارفان؟
  • هل سبق لك التدخين؟
  • هل سبق أن قيل لك إنك مصاب بارتفاع في ضغط الدم؟
  • هل هناك أي شيء يبدو أنه يُحسّن من الأعراض التي تشعر بها؟
  • ما الذي يجعل أعراضك تزداد سوءًا، إن وُجد؟

ما الذي يُمكنُك القِيام به في هذه الأثناء؟

ليس مبكرًا أبدًا إجراء تغييرات صحية على نمط الحياة، مثل الإقلاع عن التدخين، وتناول الأطعمة الصحية، وممارسة المزيد من التمارين. اتخاذ هذه الخطوات يمكنه المساعدة على الوقاية من تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري ومضاعفاته.

إذا شُخِّصت حالتك بالإصابة بتمدُّد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري، فيتعين عليك أن تسأل عن حجم تمدُّد الأوعية الدموية لديك، وما إذا كان طبيبك قد لاحظ أي تغيُّرات أم لا، وعن عدد المرات التي يجب عليك فيها زيارة الطبيب لتحديد مواعيد المتابعة الطبية.

تمدد الأوعية الدموية الأبهري الصدري - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

05/03/2020
  1. Aortic aneurysm. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/arm. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
  2. Pagon RA, et al., eds. Heritable thoracic aortic disease overview. In: GeneReviews. University of Washington, Seattle; 1993-2017. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1116/. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
  3. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/diseases-of-the-aorta-and-its-branches/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms?query=Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
  4. Black JH, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, pathogenesis, and natural history of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
  5. Woo YJ, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
  6. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2020. 59th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2020. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Jan. 2, 2020.
  7. Woo YJ, et al. Management of thoracic aortic aneurysm in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
  8. Marfan syndrome. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/mar. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
  9. Rurali E, et al. Precise therapy for thoracic aortic aneurysm in Marfan syndrome: A puzzle nearing its solution. Progress in Cardiovascular Diseases. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.pcad.2018.07.020.
  10. Calero A, et al. Overview of aortic aneurysm management in the endovascular era. Seminars in Vascular Surgery. 2016; doi:10.1053/j.semvascsurg.2016.07.003.
  11. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Dec. 30, 2019.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Thoracic aortic aneurysm (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  13. Connolly HM (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 17, 2020.

Diagnosis

Thoracic aortic aneurysms are often found during routine medical tests, such as a chest X-ray, CT scan or ultrasound of the heart, sometimes ordered for a different reason.

Your doctor will ask questions about your signs and symptoms, as well as your family's history of aneurysm or sudden death.

If your doctor thinks that you have an aortic aneurysm, imaging tests can confirm it. Tests for thoracic aortic aneurysm include:

  • Echocardiogram. An echocardiogram uses sound waves to capture real-time images of your heart and the ascending aorta. This test shows how well your heart chambers and valves are working. It may be used to diagnose thoracic aortic aneurysms and screen family members of those with thoracic aortic aneurysm. In some cases, your doctor may recommend a transesophageal echocardiogram to better view the aorta. For this test, the sound waves are generated from a device that's gently guided down your esophagus.
  • Computed tomography (CT). CT uses X-rays to create cross-sectional images of the body, including the aorta. It can detect the size and shape of an aneurysm. During a CT scan, you lie on a table inside a doughnut-shaped X-ray machine. A dye, called contrast, may be injected into a vein to help your arteries be more visible on the images. One downside of the use of a CT in detecting and following aortic aneurysms is the exposure to radiation, particularly for people who require frequent monitoring, such as those with Marfan syndrome. However, newer CT scan techniques may be used to reduce your radiation exposure.
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). An MRI uses a magnetic field and radio waves to make pictures of the body. MRI may be used to diagnose an aneurysm and determine its size and location. In this test, you lie on a table that slides into the tunnel (magnet). Doctors may inject a dye into your vein to help your blood vessels to be more visible on images (magnetic resonance angiography). This test may be an alternative to CT scans for people who need frequent monitoring of aneurysms, to reduce their exposure to radiation.
Doctors sit at a computer and look at a CT scan on the monitor. CT scan

Doctors evaluate a CT scan.

A specialist stands by an MRI machine as a person lays on a platform outside the MRI machine. MRI

A person undergoes an MRI scan.

Screening for thoracic aortic aneurysms

Conditions that cause a thoracic aortic aneurysm may run in families. Your doctor may recommend screening if a first-degree relative — such as a parent, sibling, son or daughter — has Marfan syndrome or another condition that could cause a thoracic aortic aneurysm.

Tests used to screen for thoracic aortic aneurysms may include:

  • Echocardiogram. If an echocardiogram shows an enlarged aorta or an aneurysm, you'll likely need another imaging test within six or 12 months to make sure it hasn't grown larger.
  • Genetic testing. If you have a family history of aneurysm or another suspected genetic condition that raises your risk of thoracic aortic aneurysm, you may want to consider genetic testing. You may also want to consider genetic counseling before starting a family.

Treatment

The goal of treatment is to prevent your aneurysm from growing and to treat it before it dissects or ruptures. Depending on the size and growth rate of your thoracic aortic aneurysm, treatment may vary from watchful waiting (monitoring) to surgery.

A doctor has a consult with a patient and uses a heart model and heart image in the discussion. Patient consult

A Mayo Clinic doctor conducts a patient consult.

Monitoring

If your thoracic aortic aneurysm is small, your doctor may recommend imaging tests to monitor the aneurysm, along with medication and management of other medical conditions.

Usually, you'll have an echocardiogram, CT or magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) scan at least six months after your aneurysm is diagnosed, and at regular follow-up exams. How often you have these tests done depends on the cause and size of the aneurysm, and how fast it's growing.

Medications

If you have high blood pressure or blockages in your arteries, your doctor will likely prescribe medications to lower your blood pressure and cholesterol.

These medications could include:

  • Beta blockers. Beta blockers lower your blood pressure by slowing your heart rate. For people with Marfan syndrome, beta blockers may reduce how fast the aorta is widening. Examples of beta blockers include metoprolol (Lopressor, Toprol-XL, Kapspargo Sprinkle), atenolol (Tenormin) and bisoprolol.
  • Angiotensin II receptor blockers. Your doctor may also prescribe these medications if beta blockers aren't enough to control your blood pressure or if you can't take beta blockers. These medications are often recommended for people who have Marfan syndrome even if they don't have high blood pressure. Examples of angiotensin II receptor blockers include losartan (Cozaar), valsartan (Diovan) and olmesartan (Benicar).
  • Statins. These medications can help lower your cholesterol, which can help reduce blockages in your arteries and reduce your risk of aneurysm complications. Examples of statins include atorvastatin (Lipitor), lovastatin (Altoprev), simvastatin (Zocor, FloLipid) and others.

If you smoke or chew tobacco, it's important that you quit. Using tobacco can worsen your aneurysm.

Surgery

Surgery is generally recommended for thoracic aortic aneurysms about 1.9 to 2.4 inches (about 5 to 6 centimeters) and larger. If you have Marfan syndrome, another connective tissue disease, a bicuspid aortic valve or a family history of aortic dissection, your doctor may recommend surgery for smaller aneurysms due to the higher risk of aortic dissection.

Most people with a thoracic aortic aneurysm have open-chest surgery, but in some select cases your doctor may determine you're a candidate for a less invasive repair called endovascular surgery.

The type of surgery you have depends on your condition and the location of your thoracic aortic aneurysm.

  • Open-chest surgery. Open-chest surgery to repair a thoracic aortic aneurysm generally involves removing the damaged section of the aorta and replacing it with a synthetic tube (graft), which is sewn into place. It generally takes a month or more to fully recover from this procedure. If you have Marfan syndrome or other related conditions, you may have aortic root replacement. Your surgeon removes a section of your aorta and sometimes the aortic valve and replaces the section of the aorta with a graft. The aortic valve may be replaced with a mechanical or biological valve. If the valve is not removed, the surgery is called valve-sparing aortic root repair.
  • Endovascular surgery. Doctors attach a synthetic graft to the end of a thin tube that's inserted through an artery in your leg and threaded up into your aorta. The graft — a woven tube covered by a metal mesh support — is placed at the site of the aneurysm. Small hooks or pins keep the graft in place. The graft reinforces the weakened section of the aorta to prevent rupture of the aneurysm. Recovery time is generally faster with this procedure than with open-chest surgery, but endovascular surgery can't be done on everyone. Ask your doctor whether it's right for you. After endovascular surgery, you'll need to have regular follow-up imaging scans to ensure that the graft isn't leaking.
  • Emergency surgery. Although it's possible to repair a ruptured aortic aneurysm with emergency surgery, the risk is much higher and there is a greater chance of complications. Because of this, doctors prefer to identify and treat thoracic aortic aneurysms before they rupture, and to follow through with lifelong monitoring and appropriate preventive surgery.

    Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm Treatment

    Clinical trials

    Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

    Lifestyle and home remedies

    If you've been diagnosed with a thoracic aortic aneurysm, your doctor will likely advise you to avoid heavy lifting and some vigorous physical activities, as these can increase blood pressure, putting additional pressure on your aneurysm.

    If you want to participate in a particular activity, ask your doctor if it would be possible to perform an exercise stress test to see how much exercise raises your blood pressure. Moderate physical activity is generally healthy for you.

    Stress can raise your blood pressure, so try to avoid conflict and stressful situations as much as possible. If you're going through a particularly emotional time in your life, let your doctor know because your medications may need to be adjusted to keep your blood pressure levels from going too high.

    There are no medications you can take to prevent an aortic aneurysm, although taking medications to control your blood pressure and cholesterol level may reduce your risk of having complications from a thoracic aortic aneurysm.

    For now the most appropriate approach to prevent an aortic aneurysm or keep an aneurysm from worsening is to keep your blood vessels as healthy as possible. This means taking certain steps, including these:

    • Don't use tobacco products.
    • Keep your blood pressure under control.
    • Get regular exercise.
    • Reduce cholesterol and fat in your diet.

    If you have some risk factors for aortic aneurysm, talk to your doctor. If you are at risk, your doctor may recommend treatment, including medications to lower your blood pressure and relieve stress on weakened arteries. You may also want to consider screening echocardiograms every few years.

    Coping and support

    Living with a thoracic aortic aneurysm can be stressful. Try to avoid stressful situations and strong emotions such as anger, as these can increase your blood pressure.

    Some people with an aneurysm or related conditions may feel fear, anxiety or depression. Talk to your doctor if you experience these emotions. He or she may refer you to a psychologist.

    You may find it helpful to join a support group with people who have similar conditions. Talk to your doctor about support groups in your area.

    Preparing for your appointment

    If you think you may have a thoracic aortic aneurysm or are worried about your aneurysm risk because of a strong family history, make an appointment with your family doctor. If an aneurysm is found early, your treatment may be easier and more effective.

    If you're being screened for an aortic aneurysm, your doctor will likely ask if anyone in your family has ever had an aortic aneurysm, so have that information ready.

    Because appointments can be brief and there's often a lot to discuss, it's a good idea to be prepared for your appointment. Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment, and what to expect from your doctor.

    What you can do

    • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. At the time you make the appointment, be sure to ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as restrict your diet. For an echocardiogram, for example, you may need to fast for a period of time beforehand.
    • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to a thoracic aortic aneurysm.
    • Write down key personal information, including a family history of heart disease, aneurysms or connective tissue disease.
    • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements that you take.
    • Take a family member or friend along, if possible. Sometimes it can be difficult to recall all of the information provided to you during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.
    • Be prepared to discuss your diet, exercise habits and tobacco use. If you don't already follow a diet or exercise routine, be ready to talk to your doctor about any challenges you might face in getting started. Be sure to tell your doctor if you're a current or former smoker.
    • Send imaging reports and bring records. It's helpful if you can send imaging reports to your doctor in advance and bring your medical records.
    • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

    Your time with your doctor is limited, so preparing a list of questions will help you make the most of your time together. List your questions from most important to least important in case time runs out. For an aortic aneurysm, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

    • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
    • What kinds of tests will I need to confirm a thoracic aortic aneurysm?
    • What treatments are available, and which do you recommend for me?
    • What's an appropriate level of physical activity?
    • Do I need to change my diet?
    • How often should I be screened for an aneurysm?
    • Should I tell other family members to be screened for an aneurysm?
    • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage these conditions together?
    • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing me?
    • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can take home with me? What websites do you recommend visiting for more information?

    In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask additional questions during your appointment.

    What to expect from your doctor

    Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to spend more time on. Your doctor may ask:

    • When did you first begin experiencing symptoms?
    • Do your symptoms come and go, or do you have them all the time?
    • How severe are your symptoms?
    • Do you have a family history of aneurysms or other hereditary diseases, such as Marfan syndrome?
    • Have you ever smoked?
    • Have you ever been told you have high blood pressure?
    • Does anything seem to improve your symptoms?
    • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?

    What you can do in the meantime

    It's never too early to make healthy lifestyle changes, such as quitting smoking, eating healthy foods and getting more exercise. Taking these steps can help prevent thoracic aortic aneurysm and its complications.

    If you're diagnosed with a thoracic aortic aneurysm, you should ask about the size of your aneurysm, whether your doctor has noticed any changes and how frequently you should visit your doctor for follow-up appointments.

    Thoracic aortic aneurysm care at Mayo Clinic

    March 05, 2020
    1. Aortic aneurysm. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/arm. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
    2. Pagon RA, et al., eds. Heritable thoracic aortic disease overview. In: GeneReviews. University of Washington, Seattle; 1993-2017. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1116/. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
    3. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/diseases-of-the-aorta-and-its-branches/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms?query=Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
    4. Black JH, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, pathogenesis, and natural history of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
    5. Woo YJ, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
    6. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2020. 59th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2020. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Jan. 2, 2020.
    7. Woo YJ, et al. Management of thoracic aortic aneurysm in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
    8. Marfan syndrome. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/mar. Accessed Dec. 30, 2019.
    9. Rurali E, et al. Precise therapy for thoracic aortic aneurysm in Marfan syndrome: A puzzle nearing its solution. Progress in Cardiovascular Diseases. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.pcad.2018.07.020.
    10. Calero A, et al. Overview of aortic aneurysm management in the endovascular era. Seminars in Vascular Surgery. 2016; doi:10.1053/j.semvascsurg.2016.07.003.
    11. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Dec. 30, 2019.
    12. AskMayoExpert. Thoracic aortic aneurysm (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2019.
    13. Connolly HM (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 17, 2020.