概述

胸主动脉瘤是指人体主动脉胸腔段的薄弱部位。体内的主要动脉称为主动脉。当主动脉壁较弱时,动脉可能变宽。当血管明显变宽时,即称为动脉瘤。

胸主动脉瘤又称为胸腔动脉瘤。

从定期体检到紧急手术,胸主动脉瘤的治疗方法各异。治疗类型取决于胸主动脉瘤的原因、大小和生长速度。

胸主动脉瘤的并发症包括主动脉破裂或主动脉壁层间出现导致生命危险的撕裂。这种撕裂称为主动脉夹层。破裂或夹层可能导致猝死。

胸主动脉瘤比腹主动脉瘤(即主动脉下部的动脉瘤)少见。

症状

胸主动脉瘤通常生长得比较缓慢。而且通常没有症状,因此很难检测出来。有些动脉瘤出现时很小,且始终保持同样的大小。有些动脉瘤会逐渐变大。胸主动脉瘤的生长速度难以预测。

随着胸主动脉瘤的生长,其症状可能包括:

  • 背痛。
  • 咳嗽。
  • 声音微弱、沙哑。
  • 气短。
  • 胸部压痛或疼痛。

胸主动脉瘤破裂或形成夹层的症状包括:

  • 上背部突然剧痛,并向下蔓延。
  • 胸部、颚、颈部或手臂疼痛。
  • 呼吸困难。
  • 低血压。
  • 意识丧失。
  • 气短。
  • 吞咽困难。

有些动脉瘤可能永远都不会破裂或形成夹层。

何时就诊

大多数主动脉瘤患者没有症状,除非发生夹层或破裂。主动脉夹层或动脉瘤破裂是一种医疗急症。请拨打 911 或您当地的急救电话寻求即时援助。

病因

主动脉瘤可能出现在身体主要动脉(称为主动脉)的任何位置。主动脉始于心脏,行经胸部和腹部。当主动脉瘤出现于胸部时,称为胸主动脉瘤。

如果动脉瘤出现在主动脉上部和下部之间,则称为胸腹动脉瘤。

胸动脉瘤可以是球状或管状。

动脉瘤可出现在胸主动脉的任何位置,包括靠近心脏处、主动脉弓内以及胸主动脉下部。

导致胸主动脉瘤的原因可能包括:

  • 动脉硬化(动脉粥样硬化)。动脉壁斑块堆积会导致动脉弹性下降。额外的压力可能导致动脉变弱变宽。高血压和高胆固醇会增加患动脉粥样硬化的风险。这在老年人中比较常见。
  • 遗传病。年龄较小者的主动脉瘤通常由遗传所致。马方综合征(一种影响身体结缔组织的遗传状况)可能导致主动脉壁变得脆弱。

    与主动脉瘤和夹层以及破裂相关的其他遗传状况包括血管埃勒斯-当洛斯综合征、勒斯-迪茨综合征和特纳综合征。

  • 血管炎症。涉及血管炎症的医疗状况(如巨细胞动脉炎和大动脉炎)与胸主动脉瘤有关。
  • 主动脉瓣不规则。主动脉瓣位于左下心脏腔室与主动脉之间。出生时主动脉瓣只有两瓣而不是三瓣的人士患胸动脉瘤的风险会升高。
  • 未经治疗的感染。如果感染(如梅毒或沙门氏菌)未经治疗,就可能导致胸主动脉瘤,尽管这种情况很少见。
  • 创伤性损伤。极少数情况下,某些因跌倒或机动车车祸受伤的人可能出现胸主动脉瘤。

主动脉紧急情况

发生主动脉夹层时,主动脉壁出现撕裂。这导致血液流入并沿主动脉壁流动。有时血液完全流出主动脉。这种状况称为主动脉破裂。

主动脉夹层是一种有可能危及生命的紧急情况,具体取决于主动脉中形成夹层的位置。为了防止形成夹层而对主动脉瘤进行治疗很重要。即使形成夹层,仍然可以通过手术进行治疗。但通常会有较高的并发症风险。

风险因素

胸主动脉瘤的致病风险因素包括:

  • 年龄。变老会增加患主动脉瘤的风险。胸主动脉瘤最常见于 65 岁及以上的人群。
  • 烟草使用。抽烟和使用烟草会显著增大患主动脉瘤的风险。
  • 高血压。血压升高会损害人体血管,导致患动脉瘤的风险增大。
  • 动脉斑块堆积。脂肪和其他物质在血液中堆积可能会损坏血管内膜,增加患动脉瘤的风险。这种风险更常见于老年人群。
  • 家族史。如果父母、兄弟姐妹或子女患有主动脉瘤,您患主动脉瘤和动脉瘤破裂的风险会增加。您可能会在年轻时患上动脉瘤。
  • 遗传病。如果您患有马方综合征或相关病症(例如勒斯-迪茨综合征或血管性埃勒斯-当洛斯综合征),那么罹患胸主动脉瘤的风险会显著增大。同样地,主动脉或其他血管出现夹层或破裂的风险也会增大。
  • 二叶主动脉瓣。如果主动脉瓣有两个而非三个尖瓣,会导致患主动脉瘤的风险增大。

并发症

胸主动脉瘤的主要并发症是主动脉壁撕裂和主动脉破裂。但是,有些生长缓慢的小动脉瘤可能永远不会破裂。通常,动脉瘤越大,破裂的风险就越大。

胸主动脉瘤和主动脉破裂的并发症包括:

  • 危及生命的体内出血。这被称为内部出血。为避免这一状况导致死亡,需要进行急救手术。
  • 血凝块。主动脉瘤区域可形成小血凝块。如果血凝块从动脉瘤内壁脱落,可能阻塞身体其他部位的血管。这可能引发严重症并发症。
  • 卒中。卒中的体征和症状包括身体一侧无力或无法移动。它还可能导致说话困难。

预防

保持血管尽可能健康对于预防动脉瘤很重要。医务人员可能会建议以下有益心脏健康的方法:

  • 不要吸烟或使用烟草制品。
  • 控制血压和胆固醇水平。
  • 定期煅炼。
  • 减少饮食中的胆固醇和脂肪含量。

目前没有药物能够预防主动脉瘤。但是,可以使用药物来治疗与动脉瘤有关的高血压、高胆固醇及其他病症。妥善管理此类病症可能会降低胸主动脉瘤并发症的风险。

筛选和基因检测

导致胸主动脉瘤的疾病可能有家族遗传性。医务人员可能建议筛查一级亲属(例如父母、兄弟姐妹、子女)是否患有马方综合征等遗传病或其他与胸主动脉瘤相关的医疗状况。

筛查是指定期进行影像学检查,通常为超声心动图,以确认是否存在动脉瘤。如果心脏超声检查显示主动脉或动脉瘤增大,则可能需要在 6 至 12 个月内再次进行影像学检查,以确保其没有继续生长。

如果您有主动脉瘤家族史,尤其是如果您正在考虑备孕,还建议进行基因检测。

April 25, 2023

Living with 胸主动脉瘤?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Aortic Aneurysms support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Aortic Aneurysms Discussions

Brownsman
Can you still golf with an Ascending Aortic root aneurysm?

10 Replies Thu, Jul 18, 2024

Jen
Celiac Artery Aneurysm: Anyone else with same illness?

504 Replies Sun, Jul 14, 2024

Kanaaz Pereira, Connect Moderator
Aortic Aneurysms – Introduce yourself & meet others

459 Replies Thu, Jul 11, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Aortic aneurysm. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/aneurysm. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  2. Ostberg NP, et al. The genetics of thoracic aortic aneurysms and dissection: A clinical perspective. Biomolecules. 2020; doi:10.3390/biom10020182.
  3. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/diseases-of-the-aorta-and-its-branches/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  4. Black JH, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, pathogenesis, and natural history of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  5. Burke CR, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  6. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2022. 61st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  7. Burke CR, et al. Management of thoracic aortic aneurysm in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  8. Marfan syndrome. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/mar. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  9. Rurali E, et al. Precise therapy for thoracic aortic aneurysm in Marfan syndrome: A puzzle nearing its solution. Progress in Cardiovascular Diseases. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.pcad.2018.07.020.
  10. Upchurch GR, et al. Society for Vascular Surgery clinical practice guidelines of thoracic endovascular aortic repair for descending thoracic aortic aneurysms. Journal of Vascular Surgery. 2021; doi:10.1016/j.jvs.2020.05.076.
  11. Nguyen, HT. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Feb. 27, 2023.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Thoracic aortic aneurysm (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  13. Connolly HM (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 17, 2020.
  14. Phillips SD (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Feb. 28, 2022.

Overview

A thoracic aortic aneurysm is a weakened area in the body's main artery (aorta) in the chest. When the aortic wall is weak, the artery may widen. When the vessel is significantly widened, it's called an aneurysm.

A thoracic aortic aneurysm is also called a thoracic aneurysm.

Treatment of a thoracic aortic aneurysm may vary from regular health checkups (watchful waiting) to emergency surgery. The type of treatment depends on the cause, size and growth rate of the thoracic aortic aneurysm.

Complications of a thoracic aortic aneurysm include rupture of the aorta or a life-threatening tear between the layers of the aorta's wall (aortic dissection). Rupture or dissection can lead to sudden death.

Thoracic aortic aneurysms are less common than aneurysms that form in the lower part of the aorta (abdominal aortic aneurysms).

Symptoms

Thoracic aortic aneurysms often grow slowly. There are usually no symptoms, making them difficult to detect. Many start small and stay small, although some grow bigger over time. How quickly a thoracic aortic aneurysm may grow is difficult to predict.

As a thoracic aortic aneurysm grows, signs and symptoms may include:

  • Back pain
  • Cough
  • Weak, scratchy voice (hoarseness)
  • Shortness of breath
  • Tenderness or pain in the chest

Signs and symptoms that a thoracic aortic aneurysm has ruptured or dissected include:

  • Sharp, sudden pain in the upper back that spreads downward
  • Pain in the chest, jaw, neck or arms
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Low blood pressure
  • Loss of consciousness
  • Shortness of breath
  • Trouble swallowing

Some aneurysms will never rupture or lead to dissection.

When to see a doctor

Most people with aortic aneurysms don't have symptoms unless a tear (dissection) or rupture occurs. An aortic dissection or aneurysm rupture is a medical emergency. Call 911 or your local emergency number for immediate help.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Aortic aneurysms can develop anywhere in the body's main artery (aorta). The aorta runs from the heart through the chest and belly area (abdomen). When an aneurysm occurs in the chest, it's called a thoracic aortic aneurysm.

If an aneurysm forms between the upper and lower parts of the aorta, it's called a thoracoabdominal aneurysm.

A thoracic aneurysm is further categorized by its shape. If the weakened artery wall bulges like a balloon, it's called a saccular aneurysm. If it is symmetrically enlarged, it's called a tubular aneurysm.

Aneurysms can occur anywhere in the thoracic aorta, including near the heart, in the aortic arch and in the lower part of the thoracic aorta.

Causes of thoracic aortic aneurysms may include:

  • Hardening of the arteries (atherosclerosis). Plaque buildup on the artery walls causes the arteries to become less flexible. Additional pressure can cause the arteries to weaken and widen (dilate). High blood pressure and high cholesterol increase the risk of atherosclerosis. This is more common in older people.
  • Genetic conditions. Aortic aneurysms in younger people often have a genetic cause. Marfan syndrome, a genetic condition that affects the connective tissue in the body, may cause weakness in the wall of the aorta.

    Other genetic conditions linked to aortic aneurysm and dissection and rupture include vascular Ehlers-Danlos, Loeys-Dietz and Turner syndromes.

  • Blood vessel inflammation. Conditions that involve blood vessel inflammation, such as giant cell arteritis and Takayasu arteritis, are associated with thoracic aortic aneurysms.
  • Irregular aortic valve. The aortic valve is between the lower left heart chamber and the aorta. People who are born with an aortic valve that has only two flaps instead of three (bicuspid aortic valve) have an increased risk of a thoracic aneurysm.
  • Untreated infection. Though rare, it's possible to develop a thoracic aortic aneurysm if you've had an untreated infection, such as syphilis or salmonella.
  • Traumatic injury. Rarely, some people who are injured in falls or motor vehicle crashes develop thoracic aortic aneurysms.

Aortic emergencies

In aortic dissection, a tear occurs in the wall of the aorta. This causes bleeding into and along the aortic wall. Sometimes the bleeding moves completely outside the aorta (rupture).

An aortic dissection is a potentially life-threatening emergency, depending on where in the aorta it occurs. It's important to treat an aortic aneurysm to try to prevent dissection. If dissection occurs, people can still be treated with surgery, but they will have a higher risk of complications.

Risk factors

Thoracic aortic aneurysm risk factors include:

  • Age. Growing older increases the risk of aortic aneurysms. Thoracic aortic aneurysms occur most often in people age 65 and older.
  • Tobacco use. Smoking and using tobacco greatly increases the risk of an aortic aneurysm.
  • High blood pressure. Increased blood pressure damages the blood vessels in the body, raising the risk of an aneurysm.
  • Buildup of plaques in the arteries. The buildup of fat and other substances in the blood can damage the lining of a blood vessel, increasing the risk of an aneurysm. This is a more common risk in older people.
  • Family history. Having a parent, brother, sister or child with an aortic aneurysm increases the risk of an aortic aneurysm and rupture. You may develop aneurysms at a younger age.
  • Genetic conditions. If you have Marfan syndrome or a related condition, such as Loeys-Dietz syndrome or vascular Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, you have a significantly higher risk of a thoracic aortic aneurysm. The risk is also increased for an aortic or other blood vessel dissection or rupture.
  • Bicuspid aortic valve. Having an aortic valve with two cusps instead of three increases the risk of aortic aneurysm.

Complications

Tears in the wall of the aorta and rupture of the aorta are the main complications of thoracic aortic aneurysm. However, some small and slow-growing aneurysms may never rupture. In general, the larger the aneurysm, the greater the risk of rupture.

  • Life-threatening bleeding inside the body (internal bleeding). Emergency surgery is required to try to prevent death.
  • Blood clots. Small blood clots can develop in the area of the aortic aneurysm. If a blood clot breaks loose from the inside wall of an aneurysm, it can block a blood vessel elsewhere in the body, possibly causing serious complications.
  • Stroke. Signs and symptoms of stroke include weakness of or an inability to move (paralysis) one side of the body. It may be difficult to speak.

Prevention

Keeping the blood vessels as healthy as possible is important in preventing an aneurysm. A health care provider may recommend these heart-healthy strategies:

  • Don't smoke or use tobacco products.
  • Keep blood pressure and cholesterol levels under control.
  • Get regular exercise.
  • Reduce cholesterol and fat in the diet.

There are no medications to prevent an aortic aneurysm. However, medications may be used to treat high blood pressure, high cholesterol and other conditions linked to aneurysm. Proper management of such conditions may lower the risk of thoracic aortic aneurysm complications.

Screening and genetic testing

Conditions that cause a thoracic aortic aneurysm may run in families. A health care provider may recommend screening if a first-degree relative — such as a parent, brother, sister, son or daughter — has a genetic disease such as Marfan syndrome or another condition linked to thoracic aortic aneurysms.

Screening means you have regular imaging tests, usually an echocardiogram, to check for an aneurysm. If an ultrasound of the heart (echocardiogram) shows an enlarged aorta or an aneurysm, another imaging test is usually done within 6 to 12 months to make sure it hasn't grown.

Genetic testing may also be recommended if you have a family history of aortic aneurysms, particularly if you're considering pregnancy.

Thoracic aortic aneurysm care at Mayo Clinic

May 05, 2022
  1. Aortic aneurysm. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/aneurysm. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  2. Ostberg NP, et al. The genetics of thoracic aortic aneurysms and dissection: A clinical perspective. Biomolecules. 2020; doi:10.3390/biom10020182.
  3. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/cardiovascular-disorders/diseases-of-the-aorta-and-its-branches/thoracic-aortic-aneurysms. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  4. Black JH, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors, pathogenesis, and natural history of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  5. Burke CR, et al. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of thoracic aortic aneurysm. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  6. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Thoracic aortic aneurysms. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2022. 61st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  7. Burke CR, et al. Management of thoracic aortic aneurysm in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  8. Marfan syndrome. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/mar. Accessed Feb. 1, 2022.
  9. Rurali E, et al. Precise therapy for thoracic aortic aneurysm in Marfan syndrome: A puzzle nearing its solution. Progress in Cardiovascular Diseases. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.pcad.2018.07.020.
  10. Upchurch GR, et al. Society for Vascular Surgery clinical practice guidelines of thoracic endovascular aortic repair for descending thoracic aortic aneurysms. Journal of Vascular Surgery. 2021; doi:10.1016/j.jvs.2020.05.076.
  11. Braswell-Pickering EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 25, 2021.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Thoracic aortic aneurysm (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  13. Connolly HM (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 17, 2020.
  14. Phillips SD (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Feb. 28, 2022.