التشخيص

إذا نجوت من سكتة قلبية مفاجئة سيحاول طبيبك معرفة ما الذي تسبب فيها للمساعدة على منع نوبات مستقبلية. تتضمن الفحوص التي قد يصفها لك طبيبك ما يلي:

مخطط كهربية القلب (ECG)

خلال فحص مخطَّط كهربية القلب، يتمُّ لَصْق مجسَّات (أقطاب) تستطيع استبيان نشاطات قلبكَ الكهربائية بصدركَ، وفي بعض الأحيان بأطرافك. يستطيع فحص تخطيط كهربائية القلب أن يكتشف اضطرابات نظم القلب أو استبيان النمط الكهربائية غير الطبيعية، مثل إطالة الفاصل الزمني بين موجتي Q وT، التي يمكن أن ترفع من خطر الموت المفاجئ.

فحوص الدم

قد تُختبر عينة من دمك للتحقق من مستويات البوتاسيوم والماغنيسيوم والهرمونات والمواد الكيميائية الأخرى التي يمكن أن تؤثر على قدرة قلبك على العمل. يمكن أن تكتشف اختبارات الدم الأخرى الإصابات والأزمات القلبية.

اختبارات التصوير الطبي

قد تتضمن هذه:

  • تصوير الصدر بالأشعة السينية. يتيح هذا التصوير لطبيبك فحص حجم قلبك وأوعيته الدموية وشكلهما. وقد يوضح أيضًا ما إذا كنت تعاني من قصور في القلب.
  • مخطَّط صدى القلب. يستخدم هذا الاختبار الموجات الصوتية لتقديم صورة لقلبك. ويساعد هذا الاختبار في معرفة ما إذا كانت هناك منطقة من قلبك قد أصيبت بالضرر نتيجة للتعرض لنوبة قلبية، ومعرفة ما إذا كان القلب لا يضخ الدم بالقدر الكافي أو ما إذا كان هناك أي مشكلات أخرى متعلقة بصمامات قلبك.

    يمكن لهذا الاختبار وغيره من الاختبارات، ومن ضمنها الفحص النووي والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي والفحص بالأشعة المقطعية والقسطرة القلبية، تحديد قدرة قلبك على ضخ الدم، وهذا من خلال قياس ما يعرف باسم الكسر القذفي، وهو الذي يُعَد واحدًا من أهم العوامل التي تساعد على توقع خطورة تعرضك للإصابة بالسكتة القلبية المفاجئة. ويشير مصطلح «الكسر القذفي» إلى نسبة الدم التي تُضَخُّ من بطين ممتلئ مع كل نبضة.

    وتتراوح نسبة الكسر القذفي الطبيعية ما بين 50 إلى 70 في المائة. إذا انخفضت تلك النسبة لتصبح أقل من 40 في المائة، فإن ذلك سيزيد من خطورة تعرضك للسكتة القلبية المفاجئة.

  • الفحص النووي. يساعد هذا الاختبار، والذي عادةً ما يُجرَى مع اختبار الإجهاد، على تحديد مشكلات تدفُّق الدم في قلبك. يتم هنا حقن كميات ضئيلة من مادة إشعاعية، مثل الثاليوم، في مجرى دمك. ثم تتبع الكاميرات الخاصة المادة النشطة إشعاعيًّا وهي تتدفق عبر قلبك ورئتيك.
  • قسطرة الشريان التاجي (صورة وعائية). أثناء هذا الإجراء، تُحقن شرايين قلبك بصبغة سائلة عبر أنبوب طويل ورفيع (القسطرة) يمر عبر أحد الشرايين، عادةً في ذراعك، وصولًا إلى شرايين القلب. عندما تملأ الصبغة شرايينك، تصبح الشرايين مرئية على صورة الأشعة السينية والتصوير، كاشفة عن مناطق الانسداد.

    بينما لا تزال القسطرة بالداخل، يمكن لطبيبك أن يعالج أي انسداد يراه بواسطة فتح الشريان (رأب الأوعية) وإدخال دعامة لإبقاء الشريان مفتوحًا.

العلاج

يتطلب توقف القلب المفاجئ اتخاذ إجراء فوري للنجاة.

الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي

إن الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي الفوري CPR أمر بالغ الأهمية لعلاج السكتة القلبية المفاجئة. وذلك يحدث من خلال الحفاظ على تدفُّق الدم الغني بالأكسجين إلى الأعضاء الحيوية للجسم، ويمكن للإنعاش القلبي الرئوي أن يوفر CPR رابطًا حيويًّا حتى تتوفَّر رعاية طوارئ أكثر تقدُّمًا.

إذا كنت لا تعرف شيئًا عن الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي CPR وشخص ما ينهار بالقرب منك فاقدًا الوعي، فاتصل على الرقم 911 أو اطلب المساعدة الطبية الطارئة. ثم إذا كان الشخص لا يتنفس بشكل طبيعي، فابدأ بالضغط بقوة وبسرعة على صدر هذا الشخص — بمعدل 100 إلى 120 ضغطة في الدقيقة، مما يسمح للصدر بالارتفاع تمامًا بين الضغطات. افعل هذا حتى يُتاح مزيل الرجفان الخارجي الآلي (AED) أو يصل رجل الإسعاف أو مسؤول حالات الطوارئ

إزالة الرجفان

إن الرعاية المتقدمة للرجفان البطيني، نوع من اضطراب نظم القلب يمكنه أن يؤدي إلى توقف القلب المفاجئ، تشمل عامة توصيل صدمة كهربية عبر جدار الصدر للقلب. يسمى هذا الإجراء الصدمة الكهربائية، ويوقف القلب مؤقتًا والنبض العشوائي. وغالبًا ما يسمح هذا لنبض القلب الطبيعي بالعودة.

إن مزيلات الرجفان مبرمجة للتعرف على الرجفان البطيني وإرسال صدمة فقط في حالة الحاجة إليها. وتتوفر مزيلات الرجفان المحمولة هذه بصورة متزايدة في الأماكن العامة بما في ذلك المطارات والمراكز التجارية والنوادي الليلية والنوادي الصحية والمراكز الاجتماعية ودور المسنين.

في غرفة الطوارئ

بمجرد وصولك إلى غرفة الطوارئ، سيعمل الطاقم الطبي على استقرار حالتك وعلاج النوبة القلبية المحتملة، أو قصور عضلة القلب، أو اختلال الكهارل. وقد يتم إعطاؤك أدوية تعمل على استقرار نظم القلب.

علاج على المدى الطويل

قبل الفحص، سيُناقِش معكَ طبيبكَ أو مع عائلتكَ الفحوصات الأخرى التي تساعد في معرفة سبب توقُّف القلب. سيُناقِش أيضًا طبيبكَ خيارات العلاج الوقائي معكَ؛ لتقليل خطر توقُّف آخَرَ للقلب.

قد تتضمَّن العلاجات:

  • أدوية. يَستخدِم الأطباء العديد من الأدوية المضادة لاضطراب النظم في حالات الطوارئ وعلاجات اضطراب النظم أو مضاعفات اضطراب النظم. تُستَخْدَم مجموعة من الأدوية تُسمَّى حاصرات مستقبلات بيتا للناس المعرَّضين لتوقُّف القلب الفجائي. قد تُسبِّب أدوية مضادات اضطراب النظم تَكرار اضطراب النظم، أو حتى تُسبِّب اضطراب نظم جديد كآثار جانبية.

    تُؤدِّي بعض الأدوية الأخرى المتاحة لعلاج الحالة لاضطراب النظم، مثل مثبطات الإنزيم المحول للأنغيوتنسين (ACE)، وحاصرات قنوات الكالسيوم.

  • مٌقَوِّم نظم القلب ومُزيل الرَّجَفان القابل للزرع (ICD). بعد استقرار حالتكَ، يُحتَمَل أن يُوصِي الطبيب بزرع مقوِّم نظم القلب القابل للزرع، وهو وحدة بطارية مشحونة تُوضَع في جسمكَ بالقرب من عظمة التَّرْقُوة. يَمُرُّ سلك بقطب طرفي أو أكثر عبر الأوردة إلى القلب.

    يُراقِب مقوِّم نظم القلب القابل للزرع نظم القلب. إذا تعرَّفَ على إيقاع قلب بطيء، فإنه سيدقُّ القلب كما يفعل منظم ضربات القلب. إذا تعرَّف على تغيُّرات خطيرة في إيقاع القلب، يُرسل صدمات طاقة ضعيفة أو عالية لإعادة القلب للإيقاع الطبيعي.

  • رَأْب الأوعية التاجية تَفتَح هذه العملية الشرايين التاجية المسدودة؛ لتسمح للدم بالتدفُّق بحرية للقلب؛ مما يُقلِّل خطر اضطراب نظم القلب. يَمُرُّ أنبوب طويل ورفيع (القسطرة) عبر شريان من الساق إلى الشريان المسدود في القلب. تكون هذه القسطرة مزوَّدة ببالون يُدخَل بلطف لفتح الشريان المسدود.

    وفي نفس الوقت، يَتِمُّ إدخال دعامة شبكية معدنية في الشريان؛ لإبقائها مفتوحة على المدى الطويل، واستعادة تدفُّق الدم إلى القلب. يَتِمُّ رأب الأوعية التاجية في نفس وقت القسطرة التاجية التي يستخدمها الأطباء لوصل الشرايين الضيقة بالقلب.

  • جراحة تحويل مسار الشريان التاجي. وتُسمَّى أيضًا برقع تحويلة الشرايين التاجية، وتتضمَّن جراحة تحول مسار المعدة الأوردة المسدودة أو الشرايين في مكان الشريان التاجي المسدود أو الضيق (عملية أو توسيع الفتحات الضيقة) وإعادة تدفُّق الدم للقلب يُحَسِّن هذا تدفُّق الدم للقلب، وتقليل مُعدَّل تسارُع ضربات القلب.

  • الاستئصال الجراحي باستخدام القسطرة بالموجات الرديوية. يُستخدَم هذا الإجراء لتعطيل الممرات الكهربية المفردة غير الطبيعية. تُمَرَّر قسطرة أو أكثر من خلال الأوعية الدموية لقلبك. تُوضَع هذه بطول الممرات الكهربية التي حدَّدها الطبيب كمسبِّبات لاضطراب نظم القلب.

    تُسخَّن الأقطاب الموجودة في طرفي القسطرة باستخدام طاقة الموجات الراديوية. يُدمِّر (يستأصل) هذا بقعًا صغيرة من نسيج القلب، وتُرسَل إشارات كهربية على طول الممرات المسبِّبة لاضطراب نظم القلب ليُوقَف اضطراب نظم القلب لديك.

  • جراحة القلب التصحيحية. إذا كنتَ لديكَ تشوُّه خلقي في القلب، مثل عيب في الصمام أو مرض أنسجة عضلات القلب بسبب اعتلال عضلة القلب، تُحَسِّن جراحة إصلاح الشذوذ من معدَّل ضربات قلبك وتدفُّق الدم، وتُقلِّل خطر اضطراب نظم القلب.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

نمَط الحياة والعلاجات المنزليَّة

للعيش بأسلوب حياة صحي للقلب:

  • امتنع عن التدخين.
  • حاول الوصول إلى وزن صحي والثبات عليه.
  • إذا كنت تشرب الكحول، فلا تسرف فيه: ولا تزِد عن كأس واحد في اليوم للنساء والرجال الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 65 عامًا، ولا تزِد عن كأسين في اليوم للرجال الأصغر سنًّا.
  • تناوَل نظامًا غذائيًّا مفيدًا لصحة القلب.
  • حافظ على نشاطك البدني.
  • تحكم في التوتر.

الدواء

إذا كنت تعاني بالفعل من أمراض القلب أو الحالات التي تجعلك أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض القلب، فقد يوصي طبيبك باتخاذ خطوات لتحسين صحتك، مثل تناوُل أدوية لارتفاع الكوليستيرول في الدم أو التحكم في مرض السكري.

إذا كنت تعاني من أمراض قلبية معينة تعرضك لخطر توقف القلب المفاجئ، فقد يوصي طبيبك بالأدوية المضادة لاضطراب النظم.

الأجهزة

إذا كان من المؤكد أنك معرضٌ للإصابة بتوقف القلب، فقد يوصي طبيبك بِجهاز مُقَوِّم نظم القلب ومُزيل الرَّجَفان القابل للزرع (ICD). ربما عليك أن تفكر في شراء جهاز مُزيل الرَّجَفان الخارجي الآلي للاستخدام المنزلي. ناقش هذه المسألة مع طبيبك. قد تكون أجهزة مُزيل الرَّجَفان الخارجي الآلي مكلفة ولا يشملها التأمين الصحي في الأحوال العادية.

التدريب

إذا كنت تعيش مع شخص معرض لخطر توقف القلب المفاجئ، فمن المهم أن تكون مدرّبًا على الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي. يقدم الصليب الأحمر الأمريكي ومنظمات أخرى دورات في استخدام جهاز الإنعاش القلبي الرئوي واستخدام مُزيل الرَّجَفان.

هذا التدريب لن يساعد أحبائك فقط ولكنه قد يساعد الآخرين. كلما زاد عدد الأشخاص الذين يعرفون كيفية الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ القلبية، زاد معدل بقاء الذين يصابون بالنوبة القلبية المفاجئة على قيد الحياة.

توقف القلب المفاجئ - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

18/12/2018
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Cardiovascular collapse, cardiac arrest, and sudden cardiac death. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  2. Sudden cardiac arrest. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/scda/. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  3. Podrid PJ. Overview of sudden cardiac arrest and sudden cardiac death. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  4. About cardiac arrest. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/cardiac-arrest/about-cardiac-arrest. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  5. CPR steps: How to save a life. National Safety Council. https://www.nsc.org/home-safety/tools-resources/infographics/cprsteps?gclid=CjwKCAjwyOreBRAYEiwAR2mSkgMUOGmOKcYNNGV9ZM-eyhHhM38XfqGDG6FzITGlBdHfCfbExXGySBoCoWIQAvD_BwE. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  6. Heart failure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-failure#Diagnosis. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  7. Common tests for heart failure. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/diagnosing-heart-failure/common-tests-for-heart-failure. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  8. Ejection fraction heart failure measurement. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/diagnosing-heart-failure/ejection-fraction-heart-failure-measurement. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  9. Sudden cardiac arrest (SCA). Heart Rhythm Society. https://www.hrsonline.org/Patient-Resources/Heart-Diseases-Disorders/Sudden-Cardiac-Arrest-SCA . Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  10. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 14, 2018.

Diagnosis

If you survive sudden cardiac arrest, your doctor will try to learn what caused it to help prevent future episodes. Tests your doctor may recommend include:

Electrocardiogram (ECG)

During an ECG, sensors (electrodes) that can detect the electrical activity of your heart are attached to your chest and sometimes to your limbs. An ECG can reveal disturbances in heart rhythm or detect abnormal electrical patterns, such as a prolonged QT interval, that increase your risk of sudden death.

Blood tests

A sample of your blood might be tested to check the levels of potassium, magnesium, hormones and other chemicals that can affect your heart's ability to function. Other blood tests can detect recent heart injury and heart attacks.

Imaging tests

These might include:

  • Chest X-ray. This allows your doctor to check the size and shape of your heart and its blood vessels. It might also show whether you have heart failure.
  • Echocardiogram. This test uses sound waves to produce an image of your heart. It can help identify whether an area of your heart has been damaged by a heart attack and isn't pumping hard enough or whether there are problems with your heart valves.

    This test and others, including a nuclear scan, MRI, CT scan and cardiac catheterization, can all determine your heart's pumping capacity by measuring what's called the ejection fraction, one of the most important predictors of your risk of sudden cardiac arrest. Ejection fraction refers to the percentage of blood that's pumped out of a filled ventricle with each heartbeat.

    A normal ejection fraction is 50 to 70 percent. An ejection fraction of less than 40 percent increases your risk of sudden cardiac arrest.

  • Nuclear scan. This test, usually done with a stress test, helps identify blood flow problems to your heart. Tiny amounts of radioactive material, such as thallium, are injected into your bloodstream. Special cameras can detect the radioactive material as it flows through your heart and lungs.
  • Coronary catheterization (angiogram). During this procedure, a liquid dye is injected into the arteries of your heart through a long, thin tube (catheter) that's advanced through an artery, usually in your arm, to arteries in your heart. As the dye fills your arteries, the arteries become visible on X-ray and videotape, revealing areas of blockage.

    While the catheter is in position, your doctor may treat a blockage by opening the artery (angioplasty) and inserting a stent to hold the artery open.

Treatment

Sudden cardiac arrest requires immediate action for survival.

CPR

Immediate CPR is crucial for treating sudden cardiac arrest. By maintaining a flow of oxygen-rich blood to the body's vital organs, CPR can provide a vital link until more-advanced emergency care is available.

If you don't know CPR and someone collapses unconscious near you, call 911 or emergency medical help. Then, if the person isn't breathing normally, begin pushing hard and fast on the person's chest — at a rate of 100 to 120 compressions a minute, allowing the chest to fully rise between compressions. Do this until an automated external defibrillator (AED) becomes available or emergency personnel arrive.

Defibrillation

Advanced care for ventricular fibrillation, a type of arrhythmia that can cause sudden cardiac arrest, generally includes delivery of an electrical shock through the chest wall to the heart. The procedure, called defibrillation, momentarily stops the heart and the chaotic rhythm. This often allows the normal heart rhythm to resume.

Defibrillators are programmed to recognize ventricular fibrillation and send a shock only when it's appropriate. These portable defibrillators are increasingly available in public places, including airports, shopping malls, casinos, health clubs, and community and senior citizen centers.

At the emergency room

Once you arrive in the emergency room, the medical staff will work to stabilize your condition and treat a possible heart attack, heart failure or electrolyte imbalances. You might be given medications to stabilize your heart rhythm.

Long-term treatment

After you recover, your doctor will discuss with you or your family what other tests might help determine the cause of the cardiac arrest. Your doctor will also discuss preventive treatment options with you to reduce your risk of another cardiac arrest.

Treatments might include:

  • Drugs. Doctors use various anti-arrhythmic drugs for emergency or long-term treatment of arrhythmias or potential arrhythmia complications. A class of medications called beta blockers is commonly used in people at risk of sudden cardiac arrest. As a side effect, an anti-arrhythmia drug might cause your arrhythmia to occur more frequently — or even cause a new arrhythmia.

    Other possible drugs that can be used to treat the condition that led to the arrhythmia include angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors and calcium channel blockers.

  • Implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD). After your condition stabilizes, your doctor is likely to recommend an ICD, a battery-powered unit that's put into your body near your left collarbone. One or more electrode-tipped wires from the ICD run through veins to your heart.

    The ICD constantly monitors your heart rhythm. If it detects a rhythm that's too slow, it paces your heart as a pacemaker would. If it detects a dangerous heart rhythm change, it sends out low- or high-energy shocks to reset your heart to a normal rhythm.

  • Coronary angioplasty. This procedure opens blocked coronary arteries, letting blood flow more freely to your heart, which might reduce your risk of serious arrhythmia. A long, thin tube (catheter) is passed through an artery, usually in your leg, to a blocked artery in your heart. This catheter is equipped with a special balloon tip that briefly inflates to open the blocked artery.

    At the same time, a metal mesh stent might be inserted into the artery to keep it open long term, restoring blood flow to your heart. Coronary angioplasty can be done at the same time as a coronary catheterization (angiogram), a procedure that doctors do to locate narrowed arteries to the heart.

  • Coronary bypass surgery. Also called coronary artery bypass grafting, bypass surgery involves sewing veins or arteries in place at a site beyond a blocked or narrowed coronary artery (bypassing the narrowed section), restoring blood flow to your heart. This can improve the blood supply to your heart and reduce the frequency of racing heartbeats.

  • Radiofrequency catheter ablation. This procedure can be used to block a single abnormal electrical pathway. One or more catheters are threaded through your blood vessels to inside your heart. They're positioned along electrical pathways identified by your doctor as causing your arrhythmia.

    Electrodes at the catheter tips are heated with radiofrequency energy. This destroys (ablates) a small spot of heart tissue and creates an electrical block along the pathway that's causing your arrhythmia to stop your arrhythmia.

  • Corrective heart surgery. If you have a congenital heart deformity, a faulty valve or diseased heart muscle tissue due to cardiomyopathy, surgery to correct the abnormality might improve your heart rate and blood flow, reducing your risk of fatal arrhythmias.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

To live a heart-healthy lifestyle:

  • Don't smoke.
  • Achieve and maintain a healthy weight.
  • If you drink alcohol, do so in moderation — no more than one drink a day for women and men older than 65 and no more than two drinks a day for younger men.
  • Eat a heart-healthy diet.
  • Stay physically active.
  • Manage stress.

Medication

If you already have heart disease or conditions that make you more vulnerable to heart disease, your doctor might recommend that you take steps to improve your health, such as taking medications for high cholesterol or managing diabetes.

If you have a certain heart conditions that put you at risk of sudden cardiac arrest, your doctor might recommend anti-arrhythmic drugs.

Devices

If you have a known risk of cardiac arrest, your doctor might recommend an implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD). You might consider purchasing an automated external defibrillator (AED) for home use. Discuss this with your doctor. AEDs can be expensive and aren't always covered by health insurance.

Training

If you live with someone who is at risk of sudden cardiac arrest, it's important that you be trained in CPR. The American Red Cross and other organizations offer courses in CPR and defibrillator use.

Being trained will help not only your loved one, but your training might help others. The more people know how to respond to a cardiac emergency, the greater the survival rate for sudden cardiac arrest is likely to be.

Sudden cardiac arrest care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 18, 2018
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Cardiovascular collapse, cardiac arrest, and sudden cardiac death. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  2. Sudden cardiac arrest. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/scda/. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  3. Podrid PJ. Overview of sudden cardiac arrest and sudden cardiac death. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  4. About cardiac arrest. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/cardiac-arrest/about-cardiac-arrest. Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  5. CPR steps: How to save a life. National Safety Council. https://www.nsc.org/home-safety/tools-resources/infographics/cprsteps?gclid=CjwKCAjwyOreBRAYEiwAR2mSkgMUOGmOKcYNNGV9ZM-eyhHhM38XfqGDG6FzITGlBdHfCfbExXGySBoCoWIQAvD_BwE. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  6. Heart failure. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-failure#Diagnosis. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  7. Common tests for heart failure. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/diagnosing-heart-failure/common-tests-for-heart-failure. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  8. Ejection fraction heart failure measurement. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-failure/diagnosing-heart-failure/ejection-fraction-heart-failure-measurement. Accessed Nov. 1, 2018.
  9. Sudden cardiac arrest (SCA). Heart Rhythm Society. https://www.hrsonline.org/Patient-Resources/Heart-Diseases-Disorders/Sudden-Cardiac-Arrest-SCA . Accessed Oct. 30, 2018.
  10. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 14, 2018.