诊断

医务人员可能根据您日间嗜睡过度和突发肌肉失调(猝倒)的症状怀疑是发作性睡病。医务人员可能会将您转诊给睡眠专科医生。正规诊断需要您在睡眠中心过夜,以接受深度睡眠分析。

睡眠专科医生可能会根据以下几点来诊断发作性睡病并确定其严重程度:

  • 您的睡眠史。详细的睡眠史有助于诊断。您可能会填写爱泼沃斯嗜睡量表。该量表使用简短的问题来测量嗜睡程度。您将回答您在特定时间(比如午餐后坐下来)睡着的可能性有多大。
  • 您的睡眠记录。医生可能要求您详细记录自己的睡眠模式 1 到 2 周,便于医务人员对您的睡眠模式与您的警觉性的关系进行比较。

    医务人员也可能会要求您佩戴体动记录仪。这种设备像手表一样佩戴。它可以测量您活动和休息的周期,以间接地测量您的睡眠状态和时间。

  • 一项睡眠检查(多导睡眠图)。该检查将扁平的金属圆片(电极)放在您的头皮上,以测量您睡眠期间的各类信号。您必须在医疗机构过夜以完成该测试。这项检查测量您的脑电波、心率和呼吸。它还会记录您的腿部和眼球运动。
  • 多次睡眠潜伏时间试验。该测验会测量您每天需要多久才能入睡。将请您在睡眠中心小睡 4 或 5 次,每次需间隔 2 小时。专科医生将会观察您的睡眠模式。患发作性睡病的人能够很快速地睡着并且快速进入快速眼动(REM)睡眠。
  • 基因检测和腰椎穿刺(脊椎穿刺)。有时候,可能会进行基因检测,看看您是否有 1 型发作性睡病的风险。如果有,睡眠专科医生可能会建议您进行腰椎穿刺,检查脊髓液中下丘脑分泌素的水平。这种检测只在专门的中心进行。

这些检查还可以帮助排除其他可能的症状原因。睡眠剥夺、使用镇静药物和睡眠呼吸暂停也可能导致日间嗜睡。

治疗

发作性睡病尚无治愈方法,但药物和生活方式的改变可以帮助您管理症状。

药物

用于治疗发作性睡病的药物包括:

  • 兴奋剂。帮助发作性睡病患者白天保持清醒的主要治疗方法是使用可刺激中枢神经系统的药物。医务人员可能会推荐使用莫达非尼(Provigil)或阿莫达非尼(Nuvigil)。这些药物不像以前的兴奋剂那么容易上瘾,并且不会产生旧版兴奋剂导致的情绪高低起伏。其副作用并不常见,但可能会出现头痛、恶心或焦虑。

    索利氨酯(Sunosi)和替洛利生(Wakix)是用于治疗发作性睡病的新型兴奋剂。替洛利生可能还对猝倒有所帮助。

    有些人需要用哌甲酯(Ritalin、Concerta 等)或苯丙胺(Adderall XR 10、Dexedrine 等)来治疗。这些药物有效,但容易成瘾。而且还可能导致精神紧张和心跳过快等副作用。

  • 血清素和去甲肾上腺素再摄取抑制剂(SNRI)或选择性血清素再摄取抑制剂(SSRI)。这些药物会抑制快速眼动睡眠。医务人员会开这些药物以帮助缓解猝倒、幻觉和睡眠麻痹等症状。

    其中包括文拉法辛(Effexor XR)、氟西汀(Prozac)和舍曲林(Zoloft)。副作用可能包括体重增长、失眠和消化问题。

  • 三环类抗抑郁药。这类旧版抗抑郁药可能治疗猝倒。但也可能导致口干和头重脚轻等副作用。这些药物包括普罗替林、丙米嗪(Tofranil)和氯米帕明(Anafranil)。
  • 羟丁酸钠(Xyrem)和羟丁酸盐(Xywav)。这些药物在缓解猝倒方面效果很好。它们有助于改善夜间睡眠,而发作性睡病患者的夜间睡眠质量往往较差。它们还可能有助于控制日间嗜睡。必须分两剂服用,一剂在睡前服用,另一剂在之后四小时服用。

    Xywav 是一种减少了含钠量的新配方药物。

    这些药物可能有副作用,例如恶心、尿床和梦游。与其他安眠药、麻醉止痛药或酒一起服用可能导致呼吸困难、昏迷,甚至死亡。

如果您使用此类药物治疗其他健康问题,请咨询医务人员,它们与治疗发作性睡病的药物之间如何相互作用。

部分非处方药可能导致嗜睡。包括抗过敏药和感冒药。如果您患有发作性睡病,医生可能建议您不要服用这些药物。

研究者正在研究发作性睡病的其他潜在治疗方法。正在研究的药物包括针对下丘脑分泌素化学系统的药物。研究人员还在研究免疫疗法。在这些药物上市之前,还需开展进一步研究。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

改变生活方式对控制发作性睡病的症状极为重要。以下措施可能让您获益:

  • 保持规律作息。每天(包括周末)都在同一时间就寝和起床。
  • 午睡。白天定时午睡一会儿。在白天小睡 20 分钟会让人精神焕发,还可以改善 1 到 3 小时的困倦。有些人可能需要更长的午睡时间。
  • 避免使用尼古丁和饮酒。使用这些物质(尤其是在夜间)可能导致症状恶化。
  • 定期锻炼。计划至少在睡前 4 到 5 小时进行适度的定期运动,这可能会让您白天更有精神。

妥善处理与支持

应对发作性睡病可能具有挑战性。可以考虑以下建议:

  • 讨论您的情况。将自己的情况告诉雇主或老师,并与他们共同寻找能够满足您需求的方法。包括在白天小睡,或者可以拆分重复的任务。可以录制会议或课程,以便日后参考。您可能还会发现,在开会或上课时站着,以及在白天快步走会很有帮助。

    《美国残疾人法》禁止歧视患有发作性睡病的工人,并要求雇主为符合资格的雇员提供合理的便利。

  • 开车时注意安全。如果必须长途驾车,请与您的医务人员一起寻找保证行车安全的方法。制定一个最能让您在开车时保持清醒的服药时间表。当您感到昏昏欲睡时,请停下来小睡一会儿并活动一下身体。如果觉得很困,请不要开车。

互助团体和咨询有助于您和您的亲人应对发作性睡病。请医务人员帮助您寻找所在地区的互助团体或合格咨询师。

准备您的预约

您可能需要先去看初级保健医生。但是,如果医生怀疑您有发作性睡病,可能会将您转诊给睡眠科医生。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定。请务必在约诊时询问是否需要提前进行任何准备。
  • 写下您目前的所有症状,包括看似与您本次约诊原因无关的任何症状。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括任何重大压力或近期生活变化。
  • 列出您正在使用的所有药物、维生素或补充剂。
  • 请家人或朋友与您一同前往。有时,您可能很难记住就诊时获得的所有信息。陪同者可能会记住您遗漏或忘记的一些事项。
  • 写下要问医务人员的问题

提前列出要向医生咨询的问题有助于充分利用就诊时间。请按照从最重要至最不重要的顺序列出问题。对于发作性睡病,要向医生咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 最有可能引发我症状的原因是什么?
  • 还可能有其他原因吗?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 我需要做睡眠检查吗?
  • 我的状况可能是暂时性的还是长期性的?
  • 您推荐采用哪种治疗?
  • 除了您建议的主要方法外,还有哪些替代方法?
  • 我还有一些其他健康状况。我怎样才能同时管理好这些病症?
  • 是否有仿制药可以替代您开的药物?
  • 有没有我可以带回家的手册或其他印刷资料?您推荐哪些网站?

就诊时可以随时询问其他问题。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问您一些问题,包括:

  • 您何时开始出现症状?
  • 您的症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 您白天多久睡一次觉?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 是否有任何因素会改善您的症状?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会加重您的症状?
  • 您家中是否有人有类似症状?

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Jan. 14, 2023
  1. Kryger M, et al., eds. Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 19, 2022.
  2. Martin VP, et al. Sleepiness in adults: An umbrella review of a complex construct. Sleep Medicine Reviews. 2022; doi:10.1016/j.smrv.2022.101718.
  3. Ferri FF. Narcolepsy. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 19, 2022.
  4. Ropper AH, et al. Sleep and its abnormalities. In: Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology. 11th ed. McGraw Hill; 2019. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Dec. 19, 2022.
  5. Narcolepsy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Fact-Sheets/Narcolepsy-Fact-Sheet. Accessed Dec. 19, 2022.
  6. Chien P-Y, et al. Pharmacological interventions for excessive daytime sleepiness in adults with narcolepsy: A systematic review and network meta-analysis. Journal of Clinical Medicine. 2022; doi:10.3390/jcm11216302.
  7. Narcolepsy following 2009 Pandemrix influenza vaccination in Europe. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccinesafety/concerns/history/narcolepsy-flu.html. Accessed Dec. 30, 2022.
  8. Justinussen JL, et al. How hypocretin agonists may improve the quality of wake in narcolepsy. Trends in Molecular Medicine. 2023; doi:10.1016/j.molmed.2022.10.008.
  9. Sodium oxybate oral. Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. https://fco.factsandcomparisons.com. Accessed Jan. 4, 2023.
  10. Oxybate salts (calcium, magnesium, potassium and sodium). Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. https://fco.factsandcomparisons.com. Accessed Jan. 4, 2023.
  11. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 6, 2022.

Diagnosis

Your doctor may make a preliminary diagnosis of narcolepsy based on your excessive daytime sleepiness and sudden loss of muscle tone (cataplexy). After an initial diagnosis, your doctor may refer you to a sleep specialist for further evaluation.

Formal diagnosis may require staying overnight at a sleep center, where you undergo an in-depth analysis of your sleep by sleep specialists. Methods of diagnosing narcolepsy and determining its severity include:

  • Sleep history. Your doctor will ask you for a detailed sleep history. A part of the history involves filling out the Epworth Sleepiness Scale, which uses a series of short questions to gauge your degree of sleepiness. For instance, you indicate on a numbered scale how likely it is that you would doze off in certain situations, such as sitting down after lunch.
  • Sleep records. You may be asked to keep a detailed diary of your sleep pattern for a week or two, so your doctor can compare how your sleep pattern and alertness are related.

    Often, in addition to this sleep log, the doctor will ask you to wear an actigraph. This device has the look and feel of a wristwatch. It measures periods of activity and rest and provides an indirect measure of how and when you sleep.

  • Polysomnography. This test measures a variety of signals during sleep using electrodes placed on your scalp. For this test, you must spend a night at a medical facility. The test measures the electrical activity of your brain (electroencephalogram) and heart (electrocardiogram) and the movement of your muscles (electromyogram) and eyes (electro-oculogram). It also monitors your breathing.
  • Multiple sleep latency test. This examination measures how long it takes you to fall asleep during the day. You'll be asked to take four or five naps, each nap two hours apart. Specialists will observe your sleep patterns. People who have narcolepsy fall asleep easily and enter into rapid eye movement (REM) sleep quickly.

These tests can also help doctors rule out other possible causes of your signs and symptoms. Other sleep disorders, such as sleep apnea, can cause excessive daytime sleepiness.

Treatment

There is no cure for narcolepsy, but medications and lifestyle modifications can help you manage the symptoms.

Medications

Medications for narcolepsy include:

  • Stimulants. Drugs that stimulate the central nervous system are the primary treatment to help people with narcolepsy stay awake during the day. Doctors often try modafinil (Provigil) or armodafinil (Nuvigil) first for narcolepsy because it isn't as addictive as older stimulants and doesn't produce the highs and lows often associated with older stimulants. Side effects of modafinil are uncommon, but they may include headache, nausea or dry mouth.

    Some people need treatment with methylphenidate (Aptensio XR, Concerta, Ritalin) or various amphetamines. These medications are very effective but may sometimes cause side effects such as nervousness and heart palpitations and can be addictive.

  • Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) or serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs). Doctors often prescribe these medications, which suppress REM sleep, to help alleviate the symptoms of cataplexy, hypnagogic hallucinations and sleep paralysis. They include fluoxetine (Prozac, Sarafem, Selfemra) and venlafaxine (Effexor XR). Side effects can include weight gain, sexual dysfunction and digestive problems.
  • Tricyclic antidepressants. These older antidepressants, such as protriptyline (Vivactil), imipramine (Tofranil) and clomipramine (Anafranil), are effective for cataplexy, but many people complain of side effects, such as dry mouth and lightheadedness.
  • Sodium oxybate (Xyrem). This medication is highly effective for cataplexy. Sodium oxybate helps to improve nighttime sleep, which is often poor in narcolepsy. In high doses it may also help control daytime sleepiness. It must be taken in two doses, one at bedtime and one up to four hours later.

    Xyrem can have side effects, such as nausea, bed-wetting and worsening of sleepwalking. Taking sodium oxybate together with other sleeping medications, narcotic pain relievers or alcohol can lead to difficulty breathing, coma and death.

If you have other health problems, such as high blood pressure or diabetes, ask your doctor how the medications you take for your other conditions may interact with those taken for narcolepsy.

Certain over-the-counter drugs, such as allergy and cold medications, can cause drowsiness. If you have narcolepsy, your doctor will likely recommend that you avoid taking these medications.

Emerging treatments being investigated for narcolepsy include hypocretin replacement, hypocretin gene therapy and immunotherapy, but further research is needed before any may be available in clinical practice.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Lifestyle modifications are important in managing the symptoms of narcolepsy. You may benefit from these steps:

  • Stick to a schedule. Go to sleep and wake up at the same time every day, including weekends.
  • Take naps. Schedule short naps at regular intervals during the day. Naps of 20 minutes at strategic times during the day may be refreshing and reduce sleepiness for one to three hours. Some people may need longer naps.
  • Avoid nicotine and alcohol. Using these substances, especially at night, can worsen your signs and symptoms.
  • Get regular exercise. Moderate, regular exercise at least four to five hours before bedtime may help you feel more awake during the day and sleep better at night.

Coping and support

Dealing with narcolepsy can be challenging. Making adjustments in your daily schedule may help. Consider these tips:

  • Talk about it. Tell your employer or teachers about your condition and work with them to find ways to accommodate your needs. This may include taking naps during the day, breaking up monotonous tasks, recording meetings or classes, standing during meetings or lectures, and taking brisk walks at various times throughout the day.

    The Americans With Disabilities Act prohibits discrimination against workers with narcolepsy and requires employers to provide reasonable accommodation to qualified employees.

  • Be safe. If you must drive a long distance, work with your doctor to establish a medication schedule that ensures the greatest likelihood of wakefulness during your drive. Stop for naps and exercise breaks whenever you feel drowsy. Don't drive if you feel your sleepiness is not well-controlled.

Support groups and counseling can help you and your loved ones cope with narcolepsy. Ask your doctor to help you locate a group or qualified counselor in your area.

Preparing for your appointment

You're likely to start by seeing your family doctor or a general practitioner. However, in some cases when you call to set up an appointment, you may be referred to a sleep specialist.

Here's some information to help you prepare for your appointment.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. At the time you make the appointment, be sure to ask if there's anything you need to do in advance.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements you're taking.
  • Ask a family member or friend to go with you. Sometimes it can be difficult to recall all the information you get during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Preparing a list of questions for your doctor will help you make the most of your time together. List your questions from most important to least important. For narcolepsy, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is likely causing my symptoms or condition?
  • Other than the most likely cause, what are other possible causes for my symptoms or condition?
  • What kinds of tests do I need?
  • Do I need a sleep study?
  • Is my condition likely temporary or chronic?
  • What is the best course of action?
  • What are the alternatives to the primary approach you're suggesting?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Are there any restrictions that I need to follow?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can take home with me? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions anytime during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • When did you begin experiencing symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How often do you fall asleep during the day?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • Does anyone in your family have similar symptoms?

Narcolepsy care at Mayo Clinic

Sept. 01, 2015
References
  1. Ferri FF. Narcolepsy. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2016. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 10, 2015.
  2. Ropper AH, et al. Sleep and its abnormalities: Introduction. In: Adams & Victor's Principles of Neurology. 10th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2014. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Aug. 10, 2015.
  3. Narcolepsy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/narcolepsy/detail_narcolepsy.htm. Accessed Aug. 10, 2015.
  4. Scammell TE. Clinical features and diagnosis of narcolepsy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 10, 2015.
  5. Sheldon SH, et al. Narcolepsy. In: The Principles and Practice of Pediatric Sleep Medicine. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 10, 2015.
  6. Sodium oxybate. Micromedex 2.0 Healthcare Series. http://www.micromedexsolutions.com. Accessed Aug. 11, 2015.
  7. Scammell TE. Treatment of narcolepsy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Aug. 10, 2015.