概述

多导睡眠监测也称为睡眠研究,是一种用于诊断睡眠障碍的检测。在研究期间,多导睡眠监测记录您的脑波、血液中的氧气含量、心率和呼吸以及眼部和腿部动作。

多导睡眠监测通常在医院内的睡眠障碍病房或睡眠中心进行。该检测记录您的夜间睡眠模式。多导睡眠监测有时也可在白天进行,以适应习惯在白天睡眠的倒班工作者。

多导睡眠监测除了可以帮助诊断睡眠障碍,还可以在您已经被诊断出患有睡眠障碍的情况下,帮助调整您的治疗计划。

目的

多导睡眠脑电图可监测您的睡眠阶段和周期,以确定您的睡眠模式是否受到干扰或何时受到干扰以及原因。

正常的入睡过程的第一个睡眠阶段称为非快速眼动(NREM)睡眠。在此阶段,通过脑电图(EEG)记录的脑波会大幅减慢。

与睡眠后阶段相反,在 NREM 期间您的眼睛不会快速地来回动。在大约一两个小时的 NREM 睡眠后,您的大脑活动再次恢复,开始快速眼动(REM)睡眠。大多数梦境发生在 REM 睡眠期。

通常情况下,您会在一个晚上经历多个睡眠周期,在 NREM 和 REM 睡眠之间循环约 90 分钟。睡眠障碍会扰乱这个睡眠过程。

如果医生怀疑您患有以下疾病,则其可能会建议进行多导睡眠脑电图:

  • 睡眠呼吸暂停或另一种睡眠相关呼吸障碍。在这种疾病中,您的呼吸会在睡眠中反复停止并开始。
  • 周期性肢体运动障碍。在此睡眠障碍中,您在睡觉时会不由自主地弯曲和伸展双腿。这种疾病有时与不宁腿综合征有关。
  • 发作性睡病。这种疾病可以表现为整个白天嗜睡和突然发作的入睡。
  • 快速眼动(REM)睡眠行为障碍。这种睡眠障碍涉及到梦游。
  • 睡眠时异常行为。如果您在睡眠期间进行了异常活动,例如四处走动或有节奏的运动,则您的医生可能会进行此检查。
  • 原因不明的慢性失眠。如果您一直无法入睡或保持睡眠状态,您的医生可能会建议您进行多导睡眠脑电图。

风险

多导睡眠脑电图是一种无创、无痛的检测方法。最常见的副作用是胶带(用于将检测传感器粘到皮肤上)引起的皮肤刺激。

如何进行准备

医生会建议您在进行多导睡眠脑电图之前的下午和晚上避免进食含酒精或咖啡因的饮料或食物。酒精和咖啡因会改变睡眠模式,从而使一些睡眠障碍症状恶化。

医生也可能不建议您在睡眠研究之前午睡。医生通常会要求您在进行睡眠研究之前洗澡或淋浴。但不要在测试前使用乳液、凝胶、古龙水或化妆品,因为这些会干扰电极的使用。

可能出现的情况

多导睡眠脑电图期间

您晚上到达睡眠中心进行多导睡眠脑电图,并过夜。您可以随身携带就寝时用到的物品,也可以穿自己的睡衣睡觉。

进行多导睡眠脑电图的房间类似于酒店房间,并且在检查过程中既黑暗又安静。您不会与其他人同住。每个房间都有独立浴室。

睡眠区通常会有一个弱光摄像机,因此监测您的多导睡眠脑电图技术人员可以在灯光熄灭时看到房间里正在发生的事情。房间还有音频系统,因此技术人员可以与您交谈,并可以在房间外面的监视区域听到您的声音。

在您准备好就寝后,一名技术人员会使用诸如胶水或胶带之类的温和粘合剂将传感器放置在您的头皮、太阳穴、胸部和腿部。传感器通过电线连接到计算机,但是电线够长,足以让您在床上移动。还会在您的手指或耳朵上放一个小夹子,以监测您的血氧水平。

在您睡眠时,技术人员会监视您的以下体征:

  • 脑波
  • 眼动
  • 心率
  • 呼吸模式
  • 血氧水平
  • 体位
  • 胸部和腹部运动
  • 肢体运动
  • 打鼾声以及您在睡眠时发生的其他噪声

多导睡眠脑电图技术人员会整夜监视您。如果需要帮助,您可以通过监视设备与他们交谈。如果您需要在夜间起床,他们可以进入房间以断开电线。

在研究过程中,技术人员可能会让您尝试使用气道正压(PAP)机器来缓解睡眠呼吸暂停。这种装置包括一个密封的鼻套,通过它传送柔和气流,增强您的呼吸。

持续气道正压通气(CPAP)是 PAP 机器的一类。CPAP 设备提供恒定的空气流,让您睡觉时保持气道通畅。

对于某些人来说,双水平气道正压(简称 biPap 或 bPap)机器可能是更舒适的选择。这些设备在您吸气时提供更高的压力,而在呼气时提供更低的压力。

您可能有机会在睡眠研究开始之前试用 PAP 设备,这样如果技术人员建议您在晚上晚些时候尝试用该设备,您就不会感到意外。如有必要,在研究过程中也可以使用氧气来增强您的呼吸。

在睡眠中心时,您可能不会像在家中那样容易入睡或者睡得那么舒适,但这通常不会影响检查结果。不需要睡一整夜即可获得准确的多导睡眠脑电图结果。

多导睡眠脑电图后

早上,将取下传感器,您可以离开睡眠中心。将安排您与建议进行检查的医生随访复诊。多导睡眠脑电图后,您可以恢复平时的活动

After polysomnography

After polysomnography in a sleep center, the sensors are removed and you may leave the sleep center. You're given an appointment for a follow-up visit with the doctor who recommended the test. You can return to your usual activities after polysomnography.

In the morning following a home sleep apnea test, you can remove the sensors when you wake. You'll return the testing equipment to your doctor's office or by mail. Some home sleep apnea tests are now disposable, so they can be discarded when the test is over.

结果

多导睡眠监测记录的测量数据可提供有关您的睡眠方式的大量信息。例如:

  • 睡眠期间的脑波和眼球运动可以帮助您的医疗团队评估您的睡眠阶段,并确定发作性睡病和 REM 睡眠行为障碍等睡眠障碍可能导致的各阶段睡眠中断。
  • 在睡眠过程中异常的心率和呼吸率变化以及血氧的变化可能提示睡眠呼吸暂停。
  • 如果医生开在家使用的 PAP 或氧气这些疗法,请正确设置。
  • 干扰您睡眠的频繁腿部运动可能表明周期性肢体运动障碍。
  • 睡眠期间的异常运动或行为可能是 REM 睡眠行为障碍或另一种睡眠障碍的征兆。

多导睡眠监测期间收集的信息将首先由技术人员进行评估,其使用这些数据来绘制您的睡眠阶段和周期。然后,睡眠中心医生会查看这些信息。

进行随访时,医生会与您一起查看结果。根据收集的数据,医生将讨论您可能需要的任何治疗或其他评估。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

Dec. 01, 2020
  1. Mason RJ, et al. Obstructive sleep apnea. In: Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 21, 2018.
  2. Kramer NR. Overview of polysomnography in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  3. Sleep studies. American Thoracic Society. http://www.thoracic.org/patients/patient-resources/fact-sheets-az.php. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  4. Brain basics: Understanding sleep. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Understanding-Sleep. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  5. Overnight sleep study. American Academy of Sleep Medicine. http://yoursleep.aasmnet.org/Topic.aspx?id=12. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  6. What are sleep studies? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sleep-studies. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  7. Home sleep apnea. American Academy of Sleep Medicine. http://sleepeducation.org/essentials-in-sleep/home-sleep-apnea-testing/overview. Accessed Oct. 29, 2020.
  8. Olson EJ (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Oct. 31, 2020.

多导睡眠监测(睡眠研究)

Overview

Polysomnography, also called a sleep study, is a test used to diagnose sleep disorders. Polysomnography records your brain waves, the oxygen level in your blood, heart rate and breathing, as well as eye and leg movements during the study.

Polysomnography is usually done at a sleep disorders unit within a hospital or at a sleep center. The test records your nighttime sleep patterns. Polysomnography is occasionally done during the day to accommodate shift workers who habitually sleep during the day.

In addition to helping diagnose sleep disorders, polysomnography may be used to help adjust your treatment plan if you've already been diagnosed with a sleep disorder.

Why it's done

Polysomnography monitors your sleep stages and cycles to identify if or when your sleep patterns are disrupted and why.

The normal process of falling asleep begins with a sleep stage called non-rapid eye movement (NREM) sleep. During this stage, your brain waves, as recorded by electroencephalography (EEG), slow down considerably.

Your eyes don't move back and forth rapidly during NREM, in contrast to later stages of sleep. After an hour or two of NREM sleep, your brain activity picks up again, and rapid eye movement (REM) sleep begins. Most dreaming occurs during REM sleep.

You normally go through multiple sleep cycles a night, cycling between NREM and REM sleep in about 90 minutes. Sleep disorders can disturb this sleep process.

Your doctor may recommend polysomnography if he or she suspects you have:

  • Sleep apnea or another sleep-related breathing disorder. In this condition, your breathing repeatedly stops and starts during sleep.
  • Periodic limb movement disorder. In this sleep disorder, you involuntarily flex and extend your legs while sleeping. This condition is sometimes associated with restless legs syndrome.
  • Narcolepsy. You experience overwhelming daytime drowsiness and sudden attacks of sleep in this condition.
  • REM sleep behavior disorder. This sleep disorder involves acting out dreams as you sleep.
  • Unusual behaviors during sleep. Your doctor may perform this test if you do unusual activities during sleep, such as walking, moving around a lot or rhythmic movements.
  • Unexplained chronic insomnia. If you consistently have trouble falling asleep or staying asleep, your doctor may recommend polysomnography.

Risks

Polysomnography is a noninvasive, painless test. The most common side effect is skin irritation caused by the adhesive used to attach test sensors to your skin.

How you prepare

You may be advised to avoid drinks or food containing alcohol or caffeine during the afternoon and evening before polysomnography. Alcohol and caffeine can change your sleep patterns, and they may make symptoms of some sleep disorders worse.

Napping in the afternoon before a sleep study is discouraged. You'll usually be asked to bathe or shower before your sleep study. But don't put on lotions, gels, colognes or makeup before the test, as these can interfere with the use of the electrodes.

What you can expect

During polysomnography

You arrive at the sleep center in the evening for polysomnography and stay overnight. You may bring items you use for your bedtime routine, and you can sleep in your own nightclothes.

The room where polysomnography is done is similar to a hotel room, and it's dark and quiet during the test. You won't share the room with anyone else. Each room has its own bathroom.

The sleeping area will typically have a low-light video camera, so the polysomnography technologists monitoring you can see what's happening in the room when the lights are out. It also has an audio system, so they can talk to you and hear you from their monitoring area outside the room.

After you get ready for bed, one of the technologists will place sensors on your scalp, temples, chest and legs using a mild adhesive, such as glue or tape. The sensors are connected by wires to a computer, but the wires are long enough to let you move around in bed. A small clip also is placed on your finger or ear to monitor the level of oxygen in your blood.

While you sleep, a technologist monitors your:

  • Brain waves
  • Eye movements
  • Heart rate
  • Breathing pattern
  • Blood oxygen level
  • Body position
  • Chest and abdominal movement
  • Limb movement
  • Snoring and other noise you may make as you sleep

Polysomnography technologists monitor you throughout the night. If you need assistance, you can talk to them through the monitoring equipment. They can come into the room to detach the wires if you need to get up during the night.

During the study, the technologist may have you try a positive airway pressure (PAP) machine for sleep apnea. This is a device that consists of a tight-sealing nosepiece through which a gentle stream of air is delivered to enhance your breathing.

Continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) is one type of PAP machine. CPAP devices deliver a constant stream of air that keeps the airway passages open while you sleep.

For some people, bi-level positive airway pressure (biPap or bPap) machines may be a more comfortable choice. These devices deliver more pressure while you're breathing in, and lower pressure when you exhale.

You may have the opportunity to try on a PAP device before the sleep study begins so that you are not surprised by it if the technologist suggests you try the device later in the night. If necessary, oxygen also may be used during the study to bolster your breathing.

Although you probably won't fall asleep as easily or sleep as well at the sleep center as you do at home, this usually doesn't affect the test results. A full night's sleep isn't required to obtain accurate polysomnography results.

After polysomnography

In the morning, the sensors are removed, and you may leave the sleep center. You're given an appointment for a follow-up visit with the doctor who recommended the test. You can return to your usual activities after polysomnography

Results

The measurements recorded during polysomnography provide a great deal of information about your sleep patterns. For example:

  • Brain waves and eye movements during sleep can help your health care team assess your sleep stages and identify disruptions in the stages that may occur due to sleep disorders such as narcolepsy and REM sleep behavior disorder.
  • Heart and breathing rate changes and changes in blood oxygen that are abnormal during sleep may suggest sleep apnea.
  • Correct settings for PAP or oxygen in case your doctor would like to prescribe these for home use.
  • Frequent leg movements that disrupt your sleep may indicate periodic limb movement disorder.
  • Unusual movements or behaviors during sleep may be signs of REM sleep behavior disorder or another sleep disorder.

The information gathered during polysomnography is evaluated first by a polysomnography technologist, who uses the data to chart your sleep stages and cycles. Then that information is reviewed by your sleep center doctor.

At a follow-up appointment, your doctor reviews the results with you. Based on the data gathered, your doctor will discuss any treatment or further evaluation that you may need.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Nov. 17, 2018
References
  1. Mason RJ, et al. Obstructive sleep apnea. In: Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine. 6th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 21, 2018.
  2. Kramer NR. Overview of polysomnography in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  3. Sleep studies. American Thoracic Society. http://www.thoracic.org/patients/patient-resources/fact-sheets-az.php. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  4. Brain basics: Understanding sleep. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Understanding-Sleep. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  5. Overnight sleep study. American Academy of Sleep Medicine. http://yoursleep.aasmnet.org/Topic.aspx?id=12. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.
  6. What are sleep studies? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sleep-studies. Accessed Oct. 22, 2018.

Polysomnography (sleep study)