概述

心脏病发作时,流向心脏的血液被阻断。堵塞通常是由于脂肪、胆固醇和其他物质堆积所致,这些物质在通向心脏的动脉(冠状动脉)中形成斑块。

有时,斑块可能破裂并形成阻塞血流的凝块。血液流动中断会损坏或破坏部分心肌。

心脏病发作,也称为心肌梗死,可能致命,但近年来,其治疗方法已大大改善。如果您认为自己可能心脏病发作,致电 911 或紧急医疗救助至关重要。

症状

常见的心脏病发作的体征和症状包括:

  • 胸部或手臂出现压迫、紧缩、疼痛、挤压或酸痛感,并且可以放射至颈部、颚或背部
  • 恶心、消化不良、胃灼热或腹痛
  • 气短
  • 出冷汗
  • 疲劳
  • 头重脚轻或突然感到头晕

何时就诊

立即行动。有些人因没有意识到重要的体征和症状而耽误了过多时间。请采取下列步骤:

  • 打电话寻求紧急医疗救助。如果怀疑心脏病发作,请马上行动。立即拨打 911 或当地急诊电话。如果无法获得紧急医疗服务,让人开车送您去最近的医院。

    只有在没有其他选择时,才能自己开车前往。由于病情可能加重,自己开车会给您和其他人带来危险。

  • 如果医生给您开了硝酸甘油,请服用硝酸甘油。在等待紧急救助时,请按指示服用。
  • 如有建议,请服用阿司匹林。心脏病发作时服用阿司匹林可帮助防止血液凝结,从而减小心脏损伤。

    但阿司匹林会与其他药物相互作用,因此除非医生或急救人员建议,否则请勿服用。不要因为服用阿司匹林而耽误拨打 911。请先打电话寻求紧急救助。

如果您看到有人可能出现心脏病发作,该做什么

如果您看到一个人失去意识和您认为正出现心脏病发作,首先拨打紧急医疗求助电话。然后检查这个人是否有呼吸和脉搏。如果这个人没有呼吸,或者您没有找到脉搏,直到那时您才应开始 CPR

以相当快地节律开始用力地快速按压此人胸部 — 每分钟按压 100 到 120 次。

如果您未曾接受过 CPR 培训,医生建议只进行胸部按压。如果您已接受过 CPR 培训,您可以继续打开气道,复苏呼吸。

病因

当一条或多条冠状动脉阻塞时,就会发生心脏病发作。随着时间的推移,脂肪沉积(包括胆固醇)会形成一种叫做斑块的物质,使动脉狭窄(动脉粥样硬化)。这种病症被称为冠状动脉疾病,这是大多数心脏病发作的病因。

在心脏病发作期间,斑块会破裂并将胆固醇和其他物质渗漏到血液中。破裂处会形成血凝块。如果血凝块很大,它会阻碍通过冠状动脉的血流,使心脏缺氧和缺乏营养(缺血)。

您的冠状动脉可能完全或部分阻塞。

  • 完全阻塞意味着您患上 ST 段抬高型心肌梗死(STEMI)。
  • 部分阻塞意味着您患上非 ST 段抬高型心肌梗死(NSTEMI)。

根据所患疾病的类型,诊断和治疗可能会有所不同。

心脏病发作的另一个原因是冠状动脉痉挛导致流向部分心肌的血流停止。使用烟草和可卡因等违禁药物会导致危及生命的痉挛。

感染 2019 冠状病毒病也可能损害您的心脏,导致心脏病发作。

风险因素

某些因素会导致脂肪沉积的不必要堆积(动脉粥样硬化),从而使全身动脉变窄。您可以改善或消除这些风险因素,以减少第一次或第二次心脏病发作的可能。

导致心脏病发作的风险因素包括:

  • 年龄。45 岁及以上的男性和 55 岁及以上的女性比年轻的男性和女性更容易患心脏病。
  • 烟草。这包括吸烟和长期接触二手烟。
  • 高血压。随着时间推移,高血压会使通往心脏的动脉受损。伴有其他疾病(如肥胖症、高胆固醇或糖尿病)的高血压会增加您的患病风险。
  • 高血胆固醇或甘油三酯水平。高水平的低密度脂蛋白(LDL)胆固醇(“坏”胆固醇)最有可能导致动脉狭窄。高水平的甘油三酯类(一种与饮食相关的血脂)也会增加心脏病发作的风险。但高密度脂蛋白(HDL)胆固醇(“好”胆固醇)水平较高可能会降低您的风险。
  • 肥胖症。肥胖症与高血胆固醇水平、高甘油三酯水平、高血压和糖尿病有关。只需减掉 10% 的体重就可以降低这种风险。
  • 糖尿病。胰腺分泌的一种激素(胰岛素)分泌不足或对胰岛素的反应异常会导致人体血糖水平升高,增加心脏病发作的风险。
  • 代谢综合征。当您有肥胖症、高血压和高血糖时,就会出现这种综合征。代谢综合征患者患心脏病的几率是正常人的两倍。
  • 心脏病家族史。如果您的兄弟姐妹、父母或祖父母发生过早期心脏病发作(男性 55 岁前,女性 65 岁前),您的患病风险可能更高。
  • 缺乏身体活动。不运动会导致血液胆固醇水平过高和肥胖。经常运动的人心脏更健康,包括血压更低。
  • 压力。您应对压力的方式可能增加心脏病发作的风险。
  • 非法药物使用。使用兴奋剂,如可卡因或安非他明,可能引发冠状动脉痉挛,从而导致心脏病发作。
  • 子痫前期病史。这种疾病会导致妊娠期高血压,并增加终生患心脏病的风险。
  • 自身免疫性疾病。患有类风湿关节炎或狼疮等疾病会增加心脏病发作的风险。

并发症

并发症通常与心脏病发作期间对心脏造成的损害有关,可能导致:

  • 异常心律(心律不齐)。可能出现电“短路”,导致心律异常。其中一些心律异常可能较严重,并可能致死。
  • 心力衰竭。心脏病发作可能严重损伤心脏组织,导致剩余的心肌无法从心脏泵出足够的血液。心力衰竭可能暂时性出现,也可能在对心脏造成大范围和永久性损伤之后形成长期病症。
  • 心搏骤停。在没有任何预兆的情况下,您的心脏由于电干扰而停止跳动,从而导致心律异常(心律不齐)。心脏病发作会增加心搏骤停的风险,如果不立即治疗,可能致死。

预防

采取措施来预防心脏病发作,永远为时不晚,即使您已经有过心脏病发作。以下是预防心脏病发作的方法。

  • 药物治疗。服用药物可以降低您以后心脏病发作的风险,并帮助您受损的心脏更好地运转。继续服用医生开的药物,并询问医生需要多久监测一次。
  • 生活方式因素。您知道的:保持有利于体重与心脏健康的饮食习惯,不吸烟,定期运动,管理压力和控制可能导致心脏病发作的病情,如高血压、高胆固醇和糖尿病。

在妙佑医疗国际的体验与患者故事

患者告诉我们,互动质量、关注细节以及就医效率都是他们从未经历过的医疗体验。查看妙佑医疗国际满意患者的故事。

June 23, 2022
  1. Heart attack. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-attack. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  2. Reeder GS, et al. Diagnosis of acute myocardial infarction. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  3. About heart attacks. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/heart-attack/about-heart-attacks. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Cardiac rehabilitation: Indications (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  5. Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans. 2nd ed. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. https://health.gov/our-work/physical-activity/current-guidelines. Accessed April 28, 2020.
  6. Percutaneous coronary intervention. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/percutaneous-coronary-intervention. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  7. Heart attack or sudden cardiac arrest: How are they different? American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HeartAttack/AboutHeartAttacks/Heart-Attack-or-Sudden-Cardiac-Arrest-How-Are-They-Different_UCM_440804_Article.jsp#.WqfnPoJG3yw. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  8. Non-invasive tests and procedures. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HeartAttack/DiagnosingaHeartAttack/Non-Invasive-Tests-and-Procedures_UCM_303930_Article.jsp#.Wqfp4YJG3yw. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  9. Wilson PW, et al. Prognosis after myocardial infarction. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  10. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR): First aid. Mayo Clinic. https://www.mayoclinic.org/first-aid/first-aid-cpr/basics/art-20056600. Accessed May 1, 2020.
  11. Rethinking drinking: Alcohol and your health. National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/RethinkingDrinking/Rethinking_Drinking.pdf. Accessed April 2, 2020.
  12. 2015–2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and U.S. Department of Agriculture. http://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015/guidelines/. Accessed April 2, 2020.
  13. Mankad R (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 1, 2020.
  14. AskMayoExpert. COVID-19: Myocardial injury (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.

Overview

A heart attack occurs when the flow of blood to the heart is blocked. The blockage is most often a buildup of fat, cholesterol and other substances, which form a plaque in the arteries that feed the heart (coronary arteries).

The plaque eventually breaks away and forms a clot. The interrupted blood flow can damage or destroy part of the heart muscle.

A heart attack, also called a myocardial infarction, can be fatal, but treatment has improved dramatically over the years. It's crucial to call 911 or emergency medical help if you think you might be having a heart attack.

Symptoms

Common heart attack signs and symptoms include:

  • Pressure, tightness, pain, or a squeezing or aching sensation in your chest or arms that may spread to your neck, jaw or back
  • Nausea, indigestion, heartburn or abdominal pain
  • Shortness of breath
  • Cold sweat
  • Fatigue
  • Lightheadedness or sudden dizziness

Heart attack symptoms vary

Not all people who have heart attacks have the same symptoms or have the same severity of symptoms. Some people have mild pain; others have more severe pain. Some people have no symptoms; for others, the first sign may be sudden cardiac arrest. However, the more signs and symptoms you have, the greater the likelihood you're having a heart attack.

Some heart attacks strike suddenly, but many people have warning signs and symptoms hours, days or weeks in advance. The earliest warning might be recurrent chest pain or pressure (angina) that's triggered by exertion and relieved by rest. Angina is caused by a temporary decrease in blood flow to the heart.

When to see a doctor

Act immediately. Some people wait too long because they don't recognize the important signs and symptoms. Take these steps:

  • Call for emergency medical help. If you suspect you're having a heart attack, don't hesitate. Immediately call 911 or your local emergency number. If you don't have access to emergency medical services, have someone drive you to the nearest hospital.

    Drive yourself only if there are no other options. Because your condition can worsen, driving yourself puts you and others at risk.

  • Take nitroglycerin, if prescribed to you by a doctor. Take it as instructed while awaiting emergency help.
  • Take aspirin, if recommended. Taking aspirin during a heart attack could reduce heart damage by helping to keep your blood from clotting.

    Aspirin can interact with other medications, however, so don't take an aspirin unless your doctor or emergency medical personnel recommend it. Don't delay calling 911 to take an aspirin. Call for emergency help first.

What to do if you see someone who might be having a heart attack

If you see someone who's unconscious and you believe is having a heart attack, first call for emergency medical help. Then check if the person is breathing and has a pulse. If the person isn't breathing or you don't find a pulse, only then should you begin CPR to keep blood flowing.

Push hard and fast on the person's chest in a fairly rapid rhythm — about 100 to 120 compressions a minute.

If you haven't been trained in CPR, doctors recommend performing only chest compressions. If you have been trained in CPR, you can go on to opening the airway and rescue breathing.

Causes

A heart attack occurs when one or more of your coronary arteries become blocked. Over time, a coronary artery can narrow from the buildup of various substances, including cholesterol (atherosclerosis). This condition, known as coronary artery disease, causes most heart attacks.

During a heart attack, one of these plaques can rupture and spill cholesterol and other substances into the bloodstream. A blood clot forms at the site of the rupture. If large enough, the clot can block the flow of blood through the coronary artery, starving the heart muscle of oxygen and nutrients (ischemia).

You might have a complete blockage or partial. A complete blockage means you've had an ST elevation myocardial infarction (STEMI). A partial blockage means you've had a non-ST elevation myocardial infarction (NSTEMI). Diagnostic steps and treatment might be different depending on which you've had.

Another cause of a heart attack is a spasm of a coronary artery that shuts down blood flow to part of the heart muscle. Using tobacco and illicit drugs, such as cocaine, can cause a life-threatening spasm.

Risk factors

Certain factors contribute to the unwanted buildup of fatty deposits (atherosclerosis) that narrows arteries throughout your body. You can improve or eliminate many of these risk factors to reduce your chances of having a first or another heart attack.

Heart attack risk factors include:

  • Age. Men age 45 or older and women age 55 or older are more likely to have a heart attack than are younger men and women.
  • Tobacco. This includes smoking and long-term exposure to secondhand smoke.
  • High blood pressure. Over time, high blood pressure can damage arteries that feed your heart. High blood pressure that occurs with other conditions, such as obesity, high cholesterol or diabetes, increases your risk even more.
  • High blood cholesterol or triglyceride levels. A high level of low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol (the "bad" cholesterol) is most likely to narrow arteries. A high level of triglycerides, a type of blood fat related to your diet, also ups your risk of heart attack. However, a high level of high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol (the "good" cholesterol) lowers your risk of heart attack.
  • Obesity. Obesity is associated with high blood cholesterol levels, high triglyceride levels, high blood pressure and diabetes. Losing just 10 percent of your body weight can lower this risk, however.
  • Diabetes. Not producing enough of a hormone secreted by your pancreas (insulin) or not responding to insulin properly causes your body's blood sugar levels to rise, increasing your risk of heart attack.
  • Metabolic syndrome. This occurs when you have obesity, high blood pressure and high blood sugar. Having metabolic syndrome makes you twice as likely to develop heart disease than if you don't have it.
  • Family history of heart attack. If your siblings, parents or grandparents have had early heart attacks (by age 55 for male relatives and by age 65 for female relatives), you might be at increased risk.
  • Lack of physical activity. Being inactive contributes to high blood cholesterol levels and obesity. People who exercise regularly have better cardiovascular fitness, including lower high blood pressure.
  • Stress. You might respond to stress in ways that can increase your risk of a heart attack.
  • Illicit drug use. Using stimulant drugs, such as cocaine or amphetamines, can trigger a spasm of your coronary arteries that can cause a heart attack.
  • A history of preeclampsia. This condition causes high blood pressure during pregnancy and increases the lifetime risk of heart disease.
  • An autoimmune condition. Having a condition such as rheumatoid arthritis or lupus can increase your risk of heart attack.

Complications

Complications are often related to the damage done to your heart during an attack, which can lead to:

  • Abnormal heart rhythms (arrhythmias). Electrical "short circuits" can develop, resulting in abnormal heart rhythms, some of which can be serious, even fatal.
  • Heart failure. An attack might damage so much heart tissue that the remaining heart muscle can't pump enough blood out of your heart. Heart failure can be temporary, or it can be a chronic condition resulting from extensive and permanent damage to your heart.
  • Sudden cardiac arrest. Without warning, your heart stops due to an electrical disturbance that causes an arrhythmia. Heart attacks increase the risk of sudden cardiac arrest, which can be fatal without immediate treatment.

Prevention

It's never too late to take steps to prevent a heart attack — even if you've already had one. Here are ways to prevent a heart attack.

  • Medications. Taking medications can reduce your risk of a subsequent heart attack and help your damaged heart function better. Continue to take what your doctor prescribes, and ask your doctor how often you need to be monitored.
  • Lifestyle factors. You know the drill: Maintain a healthy weight with a heart-healthy diet, don't smoke, exercise regularly, manage stress and control conditions that can lead to heart attack, such as high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes.

4 Ways to Prevent Heart Attack

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

May 30, 2018
References
  1. Heart attack. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/heart-attack. Accessed March 9, 2018.
  2. Reeder GS, et al. Criteria for the diagnosis of acute myocardial infarction. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 9, 2018.
  3. About heart attacks. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HeartAttack/Heart-Attack_UCM_001092_SubHomePage.jsp. March 9, 2018.
  4. Acute coronary syndrome. American College of Cardiology. https://www.cardiosmart.org/Heart-Conditions/Acute-Coronary-Syndrome. Accessed March 13, 2018.
  5. 2014 Hands-Only CPR fact sheet. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/CPRAndECC/HandsOnlyCPR/Hands-Only-CPR_UCM_440559_SubHomePage.jsp. Accessed March 13, 2018.
  6. Percutaneous coronary intervention. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/percutaneous-coronary-intervention. Accessed March 13, 2018.
  7. Heart attack or sudden cardiac arrest: How are they different? American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HeartAttack/AboutHeartAttacks/Heart-Attack-or-Sudden-Cardiac-Arrest-How-Are-They-Different_UCM_440804_Article.jsp#.WqfnPoJG3yw. Accessed March 13, 2018.
  8. Non-invasive tests and procedures. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HeartAttack/DiagnosingaHeartAttack/Non-Invasive-Tests-and-Procedures_UCM_303930_Article.jsp#.Wqfp4YJG3yw. Accessed March 13, 2018.
  9. Wilson PW, et al. Prognosis after myocardial infarction. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 9, 2018.