هل يسري الرجفان الأذيني في العائلة؟

قد يكون كذلك. يدعى الرجفان الأذيني الموروث الرجفان الأذيني العائلي. قد يرتبط بتغيرات في جينات محددة في عدد صغير من الحالات. على الرغم من أن الحدوث الفعلي للرجفان الأذيني العائلي غير معروف، تقترح الدراسات الحالية أن ما يصل إلى 30 بالمائة من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الرجفان الأذيني قد يكون لهم قريب يعاني من الحالة نفسها.

يحدث الرجفان الأذيني - وهو خلل شائع في نظم القلب - نتيجة خلل أو تغيرات في هيكل قلبك. تزداد خطورة تكون الرجفان الأذيني مع التقدم بالعمر. تزداد الخطورة أيضا في الذكور، إذا كنت تعاني من مرض بالقلب، ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو داء السكري، وإذا كنت تعاني من الوزن الزائد.

يستمر البحث عن العوامل الوراثية المصاحبة للرجفان الأذيني على أمل أن يصبح الاختبار الجيني ممكنا يوما ما. قد يساعد مثل هذا الاختبار الأطباء في التحديد بدقة أكبر خطورة إصابة الشخص بالرجفان الأذيني وتطوير خطط لمقاومة أو التحكم بالحالة.

إذا كنت قلقا من أن تكون في خطر لأن أحد أقاربك يعاني من الرجفان الأذيني، فتحدث إلى طبيبك. يمكن لطبيبك توضيح الرجفان الأذيني بصورة أكبر والتأكد من إذا ما كان لديك عوامل أخرى يمكن علاجها مثل ارتفاع ضغط الدم.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

Does atrial fibrillation run in families?

Answers from Rekha Mankad, M.D.

It can. Atrial fibrillation that is inherited is called familial atrial fibrillation. It has been associated with changes in certain genes in a small number of cases. Although the exact incidence of familial atrial fibrillation is unknown, recent studies suggest that up to 30 percent of people with atrial fibrillation may have a relative with the condition.

Atrial fibrillation, a common heart rhythm disorder, is caused by abnormalities or changes to your heart's structure. Your risk of developing atrial fibrillation increases as you age. Risk also increases if you are male, if you have heart disease, high blood pressure (hypertension) or diabetes, and if you are obese.

Research into the genetic factors associated with atrial fibrillation continues with the hope that genetic testing might someday be possible. Such testing could help doctors more accurately determine a person's risk of atrial fibrillation and develop plans to prevent or manage the condition.

If you're concerned that you are at risk because a relative has atrial fibrillation, talk with your doctor. He or she can explain more about atrial fibrillation and check if you have other risk factors, such as high blood pressure, that can be treated.

With

Rekha Mankad, M.D.

Sept. 28, 2017 See more Expert Answers