Tricuspid valve regurgitation care at Mayo Clinic

妙佑医疗国际为心脏瓣膜病患者提供手术治疗,包括三尖瓣修复术和三尖瓣置换术

您的妙佑医疗国际医护团队

一群人围着笔记本电脑在讨论 妙佑医疗国际的团队

妙佑医疗国际的团队共同评估和治疗患者。

在妙佑医疗国际,接受过心脏病(心脏科医生)、心脏手术(心脏外科医生)培训的医生与其他医疗专家合作,评估和治疗三尖瓣反流患者。这种协作方式意味着医务人员通常可以在两三天内对您进行评估并制定个性化的治疗计划。

Jack Long — 长寿,心脏跳动强劲,找到治愈办法

在飓风“桑迪”席卷新泽西州之际,Long 一家面临着两场“风暴”:一场是正在小镇上空肆虐的狂风暴雨,另一场则是关于他们 14 岁的孩子 Jack 的健康问题。

他需要进行手术。这对于我们来说无疑是个晴天霹雳。

Jack 患有一种名为“三尖瓣下移畸形”的罕见先天性心脏缺陷,需要进行心内直视手术才能修复。

我非常紧张,感到很害怕。

虽然 Jack 出生时就患上了这种疾病,但直到十几岁时才开始出现症状。而且这些症状只有在他参加体育运动时才会出现。

我感到呼吸困难,并且很快就感觉非常疲惫。

我们知道,现在进行手术可以防止将来出现更大的问题。

妙佑医疗国际的专家团队为 Jack 实施了这台手术。Jack 患有一种名为“三尖瓣发育异常 异型增生”的先天性心脏缺陷,又称“三尖瓣下移畸形”。三尖瓣是心脏中的四个瓣膜之一,而三尖瓣下移畸形是胎儿期心脏发育异常所致。

Ben Eidem 医生说,三尖瓣的作用是让从身体各处流回心脏的血液流向右心室,然后心脏将其泵送至肺部以获取氧气。如果三尖瓣存在渗漏,血液可能会回流,导致心脏需要更用力地泵送血液。随着时间的推移,这会导致心脏变大和功能异常。

之所以进行手术,就是要试图中断这种变化。

外科医生 Joseph Dearani 为 Jack 主刀,实施了“锥形重建术”。手术期间,Dearani 医生分离出变形的三尖瓣小叶,然后将其重新塑形,使其正常发挥功能。

Jack 的手术很成功。他可以继续尽情地踢球和冲浪。但他的故事并没有就此结束。手术之前,Jack 决定做点什么。在家人、朋友和老师的帮助下,他成立了一个慈善基金会。

我给它取名叫“生命不息,心跳不止”。希望能找到先天性心脏缺陷的治愈方法,从而帮助更多小朋友或是大人过上更好的生活。

他以 2.00 美元的价格出售手环,以 10.00 美元的价格出售 T 恤。妈妈 Karen 说,Jack 曾问我:“你觉得我们能筹到接近 1000 美元吗?能超过 1000 美元吗?”我说,当然,我觉得我们应该能筹到超过 1000 美元。

我每天晚上都会数一数,看已经筹到了多少。我想,我们都可以努力做出一些改变。我们可以做点什么来帮助别人。

得知 Jack 的善举之后,在那个曾被飓风桑迪蹂躏的海边小镇上,人们纷纷慷慨解囊。

甚至有很多远在外地的人也寄来了支票。他们给我们寄来支票,对 Jack 表示支持。

他募集的资金远远超过了 1000 美元。差不多有 10,000 美元吧。

在我看来,Jack 的故事中最为宝贵的一点是,Jack 所做的事情不是为了他自己,而是为了别人。

我觉得很开心,因为我们不仅能帮助自己渡过难关,还可以帮助其他人。

妙佑医疗国际新闻网,Vivien Williams 报道。

专长与排名

一群医生站在走廊上。 心血管疾病和心脏外科团队

妙佑医疗国际的心脏病专家和心脏外科医生团队共同合作。

妙佑医疗国际心脏瓣膜疾病门诊的医生在治疗三尖瓣反流及其他类型的心脏瓣膜疾病方面具备丰富的经验与专业知识。妙佑医疗国际的医生每年为 8500 多例三尖瓣疾病患者提供治疗。

先天性心脏病治疗专业知识

在妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州院区的先天性心脏病中心儿科心脏病学、成人先天性心脏病、先天性心血管外科和其他领域训练有素的妙佑医疗国际的医生齐心协力,共同治疗患有可能导致三尖瓣反流的先天性心脏病(例如三尖瓣下移畸形)的成人和儿童。妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州和佛罗里达州院区的医务人员也可以为三尖瓣下移畸形和其他先天性心脏病的成人患者进行评估。

全美广受认可的专业实力

妙佑医疗国际各院区在心脏病学和心血管外科方面的专业技术享誉全国:

  • 妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区和妙佑医疗国际佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区均在《美国新闻与世界报道》心脏和心脏手术“最佳医院”排名中名列前茅。
  • 在《美国新闻与世界报道》2023–2024 年“最佳儿童医院”评选中,位于罗切斯特的妙佑医疗国际儿童中心在明尼苏达州以及爱荷华、明尼苏达、北达科塔、南达科塔和威斯康星州五州地区均荣获第一。

With Mayo Clinic's emphasis on collaborative care, specialists at each of the campuses — Minnesota, Arizona and Florida — interact very closely with colleagues at the other campuses and the Mayo Clinic Health System.

了解更多关于妙佑医疗国际心血管医学心血管外科科室的专业知识和排名。

妙佑医疗国际儿童中心

技术精湛的儿科专家针对所有类型的儿童状况提供诊断和治疗。我们以团队的形式,携手寻找答案和设定目标,并根据孩子的不同需求来制定治疗计划。

详细了解儿童中心

位置、旅行和住宿

妙佑医疗国际在亚利桑那州凤凰城和斯克茨代尔、佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔和明尼苏达州罗切斯特设有主要院区。妙佑区域医疗系统在若干个州设有几十处地点。

如需了解前往妙佑医疗国际的更多信息,请在下面选择您的地点:

费用与保险

妙佑医疗国际与数百家保险公司合作,是数百万人的网络内医疗服务提供者。

大多数情况下,来妙佑医疗国际就诊不要求医生的转诊证明。部分保险公司有转诊要求,或对某些医疗护理有其他要求。所有约诊均根据医疗需求安排优先顺序。

详细了解在妙佑医疗国际约诊的信息。

请联系您的保险公司,核实承保范围,并在就诊前获得所需要的任何授权。您保险公司的客户服务号码通常印在保险卡背面。

March 12, 2024

Living with 三尖瓣反流?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Heart & Blood Health support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Heart & Blood Health Discussions

dpframing
I have a very high calcium score. What next?

346 Replies Sun, Jun 23, 2024

pop77
Living with high calcium score

58 Replies Thu, Jun 20, 2024

csage1010 (Sue)
Anyone else out there with extremely high lipoprotein (a)?

106 Replies Wed, Jun 19, 2024

See more discussions

Tricuspid valve regurgitation care at Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic provides surgical treatment, including tricuspid valve repair and tricuspid valve replacement, for people with heart valve disease.

Your Mayo Clinic care team

A group of people in a discussion looking at a laptop A team at Mayo Clinic

A team works together to evaluate and treat people at Mayo Clinic.

Mayo Clinic doctors trained in heart disease (cardiologists), heart surgery (cardiac surgeons) and other medical specialists work together to evaluate and treat people with tricuspid valve regurgitation. This collaborative approach means health care providers can often evaluate you and develop a personalized treatment plan within two or three days.

Advanced diagnosis and treatment

With state-of-the-art research and laboratory facilities, Mayo Clinic tricuspid valve experts use advanced technology and sophisticated imaging tests to accurately diagnose heart valve disease. They work together to determine the cause of your symptoms and to determine the most appropriate treatment for you.

Surgical experience and expertise

Cardiovascular surgeons at Mayo Clinic's campus in Minnesota have extensive experience and expertise treating tricuspid valve regurgitation, Ebstein anomaly and other heart diseases with advanced surgical techniques in adults and children. Surgeons at Mayo Clinic's campuses in Arizona and Florida also perform tricuspid valve regurgitation surgery for adults.

Treatment expertise

Mayo Clinic heart specialists have experience providing treatment for tricuspid valve regurgitation due to a variety of conditions, including:

  • Ebstein anomaly. Mayo Clinic cardiologists and cardiac surgeons have many years of experience in treating Ebstein anomaly, a congenital heart defect.
  • Carcinoid heart disease. Mayo Clinic cardiologists are experts in evaluating and treating carcinoid heart disease — a rare condition that causes thickening of the tricuspid valve.
  • Heart device leads. Tricuspid valve regurgitation sometimes occurs due to pacemaker and defibrillator wires, which cross the tricuspid valve. Mayo Clinic surgeons have expertise in special techniques to repair or replace the tricuspid valve, while repositioning the device lead.

Jack Long — Live Long, Beat Strong to Find a Cure

When Hurricane Sandy slammed into New Jersey, the Long family braced for two storms — the water and winds that raged in their town and their fears about the health of 14-year-old Jack.

He needs to have surgery. And we were like, you could have picked us up off the floor.

Jack needed open heart surgery to repair a rare congenital heart defect called Ebstein's anomaly.

I'm really nervous and kind of scared.

Even though Jack was born with the condition, he didn't have symptoms until he was a teen. And only when he played sports.

It's harder to breathe and I got tired a lot faster.

We know that doing the surgery now prevents damage in the future.

The surgery that helped Jack was performed by a specialized team at Mayo Clinic. Jack was born with a congenital heart defect called tricuspid valve dysplasia, or Ebstein's anomaly. And that's one of the four valves in the heart, called the tricuspid valve, that when his heart was forming, as a fetus, just didn't form correctly.

Dr. Ben Eidem says the tricuspid valve's job is to allow blood flowing into the heart from the body to flow to the right ventricle where it's pumped to the lungs for oxygen. If the tricuspid valve is leaky, blood can flow backwards, causing the heart to pump harder. Over time, the heart becomes enlarged and functions poorly.

So the idea with surgery is to try to halt that process.

Surgeon Dr. Joseph Dearani performed Jack's operation, called the cone procedure. During the operation, Dr. Dearani isolates the deformed leaflets of the tricuspid valve, he then reshapes them so they function properly.

Jack's surgery was a success. He's back to playing soccer and catching waves. But his story doesn't end there. Before his operation, Jack decided to make a difference. With the help of family, friends, and a teacher, he started a foundation.

It says Live Long, Beat Strong. To find a cure for any of the congenital heart defects just so you can help kids, anybody, have a better life.

He sold bracelets for $2.00, t-shirts for $10.00 His mom, Karen, remembers Jack asking — He goes, do you think we're going to get close to $1,000? Do you think we'll break $1,000? And I said, yeah, I think we could probably break $1,000.

And I would count it every night and look to see how much and I'm like, we could actually make a change here. We could make a difference and help other people.

People from Jack's small coastal town that was ravaged by Hurricane Sandy, lined up to donate.

People dropping off checks and they're not even living in their homes. Dropping of checks to us to support Jack.

He raised well over $1,000. Just about $10,000.

The thing about Jack's story to me that is the most precious is that it wasn't about him, for Jack. It was about everybody else.

I'm just happy that we could not just help me get through, but help everyone else.

For May Clinic News Network, I'm Vivien Williams.

Expertise and rankings

A group of doctors stand in a hallway. Cardiovascular diseases and cardiac surgery team

A team of cardiologists and cardiac surgeons work together at Mayo Clinic.

Mayo doctors in the Valvular Heart Disease Clinic have extensive experience and expertise treating tricuspid valve regurgitation and other types of heart valve disease. Mayo Clinic doctors care for more than 8,500 people with tricuspid valve disease annually.

Congenital heart disease treatment expertise

Mayo doctors trained in pediatric cardiology, adult congenital heart disease, congenital cardiovascular surgery and other areas work together in the Center for Congenital Heart Disease at Mayo Clinic's campus in Minnesota to treat adults and children with congenital heart diseases that may cause tricuspid valve regurgitation, such as Ebstein anomaly. Health care providers at Mayo Clinic's campuses in Arizona and Florida also evaluate adults with Ebstein anomaly and other congenital heart diseases.

Nationally recognized expertise

Mayo Clinic campuses are nationally recognized for expertise in cardiology and cardiovascular surgery:

  • Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, is ranked among the Best Hospitals for heart and heart surgery by U.S. News & World Report.
  • Mayo Clinic Children's Center in Rochester is ranked the No. 1 hospital in Minnesota, and the five-state region of Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin, according to U.S. News & World Report's 2022–2023 "Best Children's Hospitals" rankings.
  • Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona, and Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida, are ranked among the Best Hospitals for heart and heart surgery by U.S. News & World Report.

With Mayo Clinic's emphasis on collaborative care, specialists at each of the campuses — Minnesota, Arizona and Florida — interact very closely with colleagues at the other campuses and the Mayo Clinic Health System.

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's Cardiovascular Surgery and Cardiovascular Medicine departments' expertise and rankings.

Locations, travel and lodging

Mayo Clinic has major campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona; Jacksonville, Florida; and Rochester, Minnesota. The Mayo Clinic Health System has dozens of locations in several states.

For more information on visiting Mayo Clinic, choose your location below:

Costs and insurance

Mayo Clinic works with hundreds of insurance companies and is an in-network provider for millions of people.

In most cases, Mayo Clinic doesn't require a physician referral. Some insurers require referrals, or may have additional requirements for certain medical care. All appointments are prioritized on the basis of medical need.

Learn more about appointments at Mayo Clinic.

Please contact your insurance company to verify medical coverage and to obtain any needed authorization prior to your visit. Often, your insurer's customer service number is printed on the back of your insurance card.

More information about billing and insurance:

Mayo Clinic in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota

Mayo Clinic Health System

April 06, 2022