概述

糖尿病性神经病变是一种可能发生于糖尿病患者的神经损伤。高血糖会损伤全身神经。糖尿病性神经病变最常损害您腿部和脚部的神经。

根据受影响的神经,糖尿病性神经病变的症状包括腿和脚的疼痛或麻木,以及消化系统、尿路、血管和心脏的问题。有些患者只有轻微症状。但对其他患者来说,糖尿病性神经病变可能相当痛苦并可能致残。

糖尿病性神经病变是一种严重的糖尿病并发症,可能影响多达 50% 的糖尿病患者。但是您可以通过持续的血糖管理和健康的生活方式来预防糖尿病性神经病变或减缓其发展。

产品与服务

症状

糖尿病性神经病变有四种主要类型。您可能患有一种或多种类型的神经病。

您的症状将取决于您的患病类型和受影响的神经。通常,症状会逐渐发展。在发生严重的神经损伤之前,您可能不会注意到任何问题。

周围神经病变

此类神经病变也可称为远端对称性周围神经病变。这是最常见的糖尿病性神经病变类型。这种疾病会先累及脚和腿,其次是手和手臂。周围神经病变的体征和症状往往在夜间更严重,并可能包括:

  • 麻木感或感受疼痛或温度变化的能力减弱
  • 麻刺感或灼热感
  • 剧烈疼痛或抽筋
  • 对触觉的敏感度增加,即便是床单的重量也会让一些人感到疼痛
  • 严重的脚部问题,如溃疡、感染、骨骼和关节疼痛

自主神经病变

自主神经系统控制人的心脏、膀胱、胃、肠、性器官和眼睛。糖尿病可影响这些区域的神经,可能导致:

  • 未察觉到血糖水平过低(无知觉性低血糖症)
  • 膀胱或肠道问题
  • 胃排空缓慢(胃轻瘫),引起恶心、呕吐和食欲不振
  • 改变眼睛从亮到暗环境的适应方式
  • 性反应降低

近端神经病变(糖尿病多发性神经根病)

这种类型的神经病变又称为糖尿病肌萎缩症,常累及大腿、髋关节、臀部或腿部的神经。还会累及腹部和胸部。症状常见于身体一侧,但也可能扩散至另一侧。您可能出现:

  • 髋关节和大腿或臀部剧烈疼痛
  • 最终导致大腿肌肉无力和萎缩
  • 坐下后难以站起
  • 重度胃疼

单神经病变(局灶性神经病)

一共有两种单神经病变,即颅神经和周围神经病变。单神经病变指特定神经受到损伤。单神经病变还可能会导致:

  • 难以集中注意力或复视
  • 单眼痛
  • 一侧面瘫(贝尔麻痹)
  • 手或手指麻木或刺痛(除小指外)
  • 手虚弱无力,可能会导致拿不住东西

何时就诊

如有以下情况,请预约医生就诊:

  • 脚上的伤口或疮口感染或无法愈合
  • 手或脚灼热感、麻刺感、无力或疼痛,影响日常活动或睡眠
  • 消化、排尿或性功能改变
  • 头晕和昏厥

美国糖尿病协会建议,糖尿病性神经病变筛查应在确诊 2 型糖尿病后立即开始,在确诊 1 型糖尿病后五年开始。之后,建议每年进行一次筛查。

病因

目前尚不清楚导致每种神经病变的确切原因。研究人员认为,长期未经控制的高血糖会损害神经并干扰其发送信号的能力,从而导致糖尿病性神经病变。高血糖还会削弱为神经提供氧气和营养的小血管(毛细血管)壁。

风险因素

任何糖尿病患者都可能发生神经病变。但以下是更容易导致您神经损伤的风险因素:

  • 血糖控制不佳。不控制血糖会让您面临各种糖尿病并发症的风险,包括神经损伤。
  • 糖尿病家族史。患糖尿病的时间越长,患糖尿病性神经病变的风险就越大,尤其是血糖控制不佳的时候。
  • 肾脏疾病。糖尿病会损害肾脏。肾脏损伤后,毒素会进入血液,从而导致神经损伤。
  • 超重。身体质量指数(BMI)≥ 25 可能会增加糖尿病性神经病变的风险。
  • 抽烟。吸烟会使动脉变窄和硬化,减少流向腿部和脚部的血液。这使得伤口更难愈合,从而损害周围神经。

并发症

糖尿病性神经病变会引起许多严重的并发症,包括:

  • 无症状低血糖症。血糖水平低于 70 毫克/分升(mg/dL)时,通常会引起颤抖、出汗和心跳加快。但如果您患有自主神经病变,您可能不会注意到这些警告信号。
  • 脚趾、足或腿部截肢。神经损伤可能使您的双脚失去感觉,因此即使轻微割伤也可能在您没有意识的情况下发展成疮疡或溃疡。在严重的情况下,感染会扩散到骨骼或导致组织死亡。可能需要切除(截肢术)脚趾、脚甚至小腿。
  • 尿路感染和尿失禁。如果控制膀胱的神经受损,您可能无法完全排空膀胱。细菌可能在膀胱和肾脏中积聚,引起尿路感染。神经损伤也会影响您需要排尿或控制释放尿液的肌肉时的感知能力,从而导致渗漏(失禁)。
  • 血压急剧下降。控制血液流动的神经受损会影响您身体调节血压的能力。可能在您由坐姿站起时导致压力急剧下降,从而可能引起头晕和昏厥。
  • 消化问题。如果神经损伤侵袭您的消化道,您可能出现便秘或腹泻,或同时出现这两种症状。糖尿病相关的神经损伤可导致胃轻瘫,此时胃排空过慢或根本没有排空,导致腹胀和消化不良。
  • 性功能障碍。自主神经病变通常会损害影响性器官的神经。男性可能会出现勃起功能障碍。妇女可能难以湿滑和激发性欲。
  • 出汗增加或减少。神经损伤会破坏汗腺的工作方式,导致身体难以适当控制其温度。

预防

您可以通过严格控制血糖并妥善护理双脚来预防或延迟糖尿病性神经病变及其并发症。

血糖管理

美国糖尿病协会建议糖尿病患者每年至少进行两次 A1C 检测。这项检测可以评估您过去两到三个月的平均血糖水平。

糖化血红蛋白的水平可能因人而异,但对许多成人而言,美国糖尿病协会建议其水平小于 7%。如果您的血糖水平过高,那么您可能需要改变日常管理,如增加/调整用药或者改变饮食。

足部护理

足部问题,包括无法愈合的酸痛、溃疡甚至截肢,都是糖尿病性神经病变的常见并发症。不过,通过每年接受至少一次彻底的足部检查、在每次就诊时让医生检查双脚以及在家精心呵护双脚,您可以预防很多这样的问题。

请遵循医生的建议,确保良好的足部护理。为了保护双脚健康:

  • 每天检查双脚。检查是否存在水疱、割伤、擦伤、龟裂脱皮、发红肿胀。利用一面镜子或者让朋友或家人帮助检查双脚上难以看到的部分。
  • 保持双脚清洁、干燥。每天用温水和温和的香皂洗脚。避免泡脚。仔细干燥双脚以及脚趾间的部位。
  • 做好脚部保湿。这样有助于防止龟裂。但不要在脚趾之间涂抹润肤乳,因其可能会促进真菌生长。
  • 认真修剪脚指甲。首先横剪脚指甲。然后认真锉指甲边,以免形成尖锐边缘。
  • 穿洁净、干燥的袜子。脚上应穿棉袜或用吸汗纤维制成的袜子,袜口不能太紧,接缝处不能太厚。
  • 穿有鞋垫并且合脚的鞋。始终穿鞋或拖鞋,以保护双脚。确保鞋子合脚,而且脚趾能够活动。足科医生可以教您如何购买合脚的鞋并预防鸡眼和老茧等问题。如果您符合联邦医疗保险资格,您的保险计划或许可以每年报销至少一双鞋子的费用。

July 02, 2022
  1. Ferri FF. Diabetic polyneuropathy. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 11, 2020.
  2. Diabetic neuropathy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/nerve-damage-diabetic-neuropathies/all-content. Accessed Jan. 10, 2020.
  3. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2020. Diabetes Care. 2020; doi:10.2337/dc20-SINT.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Peripheral neuropathy (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  5. Feldman EL, et al. Management of diabetic neuropathy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 10, 2020.
  6. Diabetes and foot problems. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/foot-problems#healthyfeet. Accessed Jan. 10, 2020.
  7. Daroff RB, et al. Disorders of peripheral nerves. In: Bradley's Neurological Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 11, 2020.
  8. Natural medicines in the clinical management of pain. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed Jan. 11, 2020.
  9. Feldman EL, et al. Diabetic neuropathy. Nature Reviews — Disease Primers. 2019; doi:10.1038/s41572-019-0092-1.
  10. Castro MR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 29, 2020.

Overview

Diabetic neuropathy is a type of nerve damage that can occur if you have diabetes. High blood sugar (glucose) can injure nerves throughout the body. Diabetic neuropathy most often damages nerves in the legs and feet.

Depending on the affected nerves, diabetic neuropathy symptoms include pain and numbness in the legs, feet and hands. It can also cause problems with the digestive system, urinary tract, blood vessels and heart. Some people have mild symptoms. But for others, diabetic neuropathy can be quite painful and disabling.

Diabetic neuropathy is a serious diabetes complication that may affect as many as 50% of people with diabetes. But you can often prevent diabetic neuropathy or slow its progress with consistent blood sugar management and a healthy lifestyle.

Products & Services

Symptoms

There are four main types of diabetic neuropathy. You can have one type or more than one type of neuropathy.

Your symptoms depend on the type you have and which nerves are affected. Usually, symptoms develop gradually. You may not notice anything is wrong until considerable nerve damage has occurred.

Peripheral neuropathy

This type of neuropathy may also be called distal symmetric peripheral neuropathy. It's the most common type of diabetic neuropathy. It affects the feet and legs first, followed by the hands and arms. Signs and symptoms of peripheral neuropathy are often worse at night, and may include:

  • Numbness or reduced ability to feel pain or temperature changes
  • Tingling or burning feeling
  • Sharp pains or cramps
  • Muscle weakness
  • Extreme sensitivity to touch — for some people, even a bedsheet's weight can be painful
  • Serious foot problems, such as ulcers, infections, and bone and joint damage

Autonomic neuropathy

The autonomic nervous system controls blood pressure, heart rate, sweating, eyes, bladder, digestive system and sex organs. Diabetes can affect nerves in any of these areas, possibly causing signs and symptoms including:

  • A lack of awareness that blood sugar levels are low (hypoglycemia unawareness)
  • Drops in blood pressure when rising from sitting or lying down that may cause dizziness or fainting (orthostatic hypotension)
  • Bladder or bowel problems
  • Slow stomach emptying (gastroparesis), causing nausea, vomiting, sensation of fullness and loss of appetite
  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Changes in the way the eyes adjust from light to dark or far to near
  • Increased or decreased sweating
  • Problems with sexual response, such as vaginal dryness in women and erectile dysfunction in men

Proximal neuropathy (diabetic polyradiculopathy)

This type of neuropathy often affects nerves in the thighs, hips, buttocks or legs. It can also affect the abdominal and chest area. Symptoms are usually on one side of the body, but may spread to the other side. Proximal neuropathy may include:

  • Severe pain in the buttock, hip or thigh
  • Weak and shrinking thigh muscles
  • Difficulty rising from a sitting position
  • Chest or abdominal wall pain

Mononeuropathy (focal neuropathy)

Mononeuropathy refers to damage to a single, specific nerve. The nerve may be in the face, torso, arm or leg. Mononeuropathy may lead to:

  • Difficulty focusing or double vision
  • Paralysis on one side of the face
  • Numbness or tingling in the hand or fingers
  • Weakness in the hand that may result in dropping things
  • Pain in the shin or foot
  • Weakness causing difficulty lifting the front part of the foot (foot drop)
  • Pain in the front of the thigh

When to see a doctor

Call your health care provider for an appointment if you have:

  • A cut or sore on your foot that is infected or won't heal
  • Burning, tingling, weakness or pain in your hands or feet that interferes with daily activities or sleep
  • Changes in digestion, urination or sexual function
  • Dizziness and fainting

The American Diabetes Association (ADA) recommends that screening for diabetic neuropathy begin immediately after someone is diagnosed with type 2 diabetes or five years after diagnosis with type 1 diabetes. After that, screening is recommended once a year.

Get the latest health information from Mayo Clinic’s experts.

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

The exact cause of each type of neuropathy is unknown. Researchers think that over time, uncontrolled high blood sugar damages nerves and interferes with their ability to send signals, leading to diabetic neuropathy. High blood sugar also weakens the walls of the small blood vessels (capillaries) that supply the nerves with oxygen and nutrients.

Risk factors

Anyone who has diabetes can develop neuropathy. But these risk factors make nerve damage more likely:

  • Poor blood sugar control. Uncontrolled blood sugar increases the risk of every diabetes complication, including nerve damage.
  • Diabetes history. The risk of diabetic neuropathy increases the longer a person has diabetes, especially if blood sugar isn't well controlled.
  • Kidney disease. Diabetes can damage the kidneys. Kidney damage sends toxins into the blood, which can lead to nerve damage.
  • Being overweight. Having a body mass index (BMI) of 25 or more may increase the risk of diabetic neuropathy.
  • Smoking. Smoking narrows and hardens the arteries, reducing blood flow to the legs and feet. This makes it more difficult for wounds to heal and damages the peripheral nerves.

Complications

Diabetic neuropathy can cause a number of serious complications, including:

  • Hypoglycemia unawareness. Blood sugar levels below 70 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL) — 3.9 millimoles per liter (mmol/L) — usually cause shakiness, sweating and a fast heartbeat. But people who have autonomic neuropathy may not experience these warning signs.
  • Loss of a toe, foot or leg. Nerve damage can cause a loss of feeling in the feet, so even minor cuts can turn into sores or ulcers without being noticed. In severe cases, an infection can spread to the bone or lead to tissue death. Removal (amputation) of a toe, foot or even part of the leg may be necessary.
  • Urinary tract infections and urinary incontinence. If the nerves that control the bladder are damaged, the bladder may not empty completely when urinating. Bacteria can build up in the bladder and kidneys, causing urinary tract infections. Nerve damage can also affect the ability to feel the need to urinate or to control the muscles that release urine, leading to leakage (incontinence).
  • Sharp drops in blood pressure. Damage to the nerves that control blood flow can affect the body's ability to adjust blood pressure. This can cause a sharp drop in pressure when standing after sitting or lying down, which may lead to lightheadedness and fainting.
  • Digestive problems. If nerve damage occurs in the digestive tract, constipation or diarrhea, or both are possible. Diabetes-related nerve damage can lead to gastroparesis, a condition in which the stomach empties too slowly or not at all. This can cause bloating and indigestion.
  • Sexual dysfunction. Autonomic neuropathy often damages the nerves that affect the sex organs. Men may experience erectile dysfunction. Women may have difficulty with lubrication and arousal.
  • Increased or decreased sweating. Nerve damage can disrupt how the sweat glands work and make it difficult for the body to control its temperature properly.

Prevention

You can prevent or delay diabetic neuropathy and its complications by closely managing your blood sugar and taking good care of your feet.

Blood sugar management

The ADA recommends that people living with diabetes have a glycated hemoglobin (A1C) test at least twice a year. This test indicates your average blood sugar level for the past 2 to 3 months.

A1C goals may need to be individualized, but for many adults, the ADA recommends an A1C of less than 7.0%. If your blood sugar levels are higher than your goal, you may need changes in your daily management, such as adding or adjusting your medications or changing your diet or physical activity.

Foot care

Foot problems, including sores that don't heal, ulcers and even amputation, are common complications of diabetic neuropathy. But you can prevent many of these problems by having a thorough foot exam at least once a year. Also have your health care provider check your feet at each office visit and take good care of your feet at home.

Follow your health care provider's recommendations for good foot care. To protect the health of your feet:

  • Check your feet every day. Look for blisters, cuts, bruises, cracked and peeling skin, redness, and swelling. Use a mirror or ask a friend or family member to help examine parts of your feet that are hard to see.
  • Keep your feet clean and dry. Wash your feet every day with lukewarm water and mild soap. Don't soak your feet. Dry your feet and between your toes thoroughly.
  • Moisturize your feet. This helps prevent cracking. But don't get lotion between your toes because it might encourage fungal growth.
  • Trim your toenails carefully. Cut your toenails straight across. File the edges carefully so that you have smooth edges. If you can't do this yourself, a specialist in foot problems (podiatrist) can help.
  • Wear clean, dry socks. Look for socks made of cotton or moisture-wicking fibers that don't have tight bands or thick seams.
  • Wear cushioned shoes that fit well. Wear closed-toed shoes or slippers to protect your feet. Make sure your shoes fit properly and allow your toes to move. A foot specialist can teach you how to buy properly fitted shoes and to prevent problems such as corns and calluses. If you qualify for Medicare, your plan may cover the cost of at least one pair of shoes each year.

April 29, 2022
  1. Ferri FF. Diabetic polyneuropathy. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 17, 2021.
  2. Diabetic neuropathy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/nerve-damage-diabetic-neuropathies/all-content. Accessed Jan. 10, 2020.
  3. American Diabetes Association. Standards of medical care in diabetes — 2021. Diabetes Care. 2021. https://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/44/Supplement_1. Accessed Nov. 11, 2021.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Peripheral neuropathy (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  5. Feldman EL, et al. Management of diabetic neuropathy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 17, 2021.
  6. Diabetes and foot problems. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/foot-problems#healthyfeet. Accessed Jan. 10, 2020.
  7. Jankovic J, et al., eds. Disorders of peripheral nerves. In: Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 11, 2020.
  8. Baute V, et al. Complementary and alternative medicine for painful peripheral neuropathy. Current Treatment Options in Neurology. 2019; doi:10.1007/s11940-019-0584-z.
  9. Feldman EL, et al. Diabetic neuropathy. Nature Reviews — Disease Primers. 2019; doi:10.1038/s41572-019-0092-1.
  10. Cutsforth-Gregory (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Dec. 24, 2021.
  11. Castro MR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 21, 2022.