糖尿病性神经病:膳食补充剂能有所帮助?

健康的饮食是控制血糖的关键因素,而血糖是控制糖尿病以及预防或减缓糖尿病并发症(如糖尿病性神经病)进展的关键。膳食补充剂也可能发挥作用。

糖尿病性神经病变是一种可能发生于糖尿病患者的神经损伤。这种疾病会引起手脚疼痛和刺痛、消化问题和性问题。脚部晚期神经病变可导致:

  • 感觉丧失
  • 溃疡无法愈合
  • 需要切除(截肢)脚趾、脚或小腿

健康饮食是管理糖尿病的一个重要组成部分,并且有助于预防糖尿病性神经病变和其他并发症。控制血糖有助于减缓神经损伤的进展。

膳食补充剂有助于减轻糖尿病性神经病变的症状,但仍需要开展更多研究。在服用膳食补充剂之前,请咨询医生。某些补充剂可能会与特定糖尿病用药产生相互作用,并且某些补充剂会增加出现肾脏问题的风险。

维生素 B-12

维生素 B-12 存在于一些食物中,并且有助于维持正常的神经系统功能和红细胞的合成。维生素 B-12 摄入不足的人患神经病变和其他神经系统(神经性)疾病的风险较高。

某些药物可能会导致维生素 B-12 缺乏,包括:

  • 用于治疗 2 型糖尿病的二甲双胍(Glumetza、Riomet 等)
  • 胃酸还原质子泵抑制剂(Prevacid 24 HR、Prilosec OTC 等)
  • 胃酸还原组胺(H-2)阻滞剂(Tagamet HB、Pepcid AC 等)

目前尚不确定服用维生素 B-12 补充剂是否有助于治疗糖尿病性神经病变。一些小规模研究显示,服用维生素 B-12 补充剂能减轻疼痛和其他异常感觉。但是对于不缺乏维生素 B-12 的人来说,尚没有研究表明服用 B-12 补充剂有助于治疗糖尿病性神经病变。

通常认为按指示服用维生素 B-12 补充剂是安全的。可在膳食中添加的天然维生素 B-12 来源,包括鱼类、瘦红肉和维生素加强型早餐麦片。

硫辛酸

硫辛酸是一种抗氧化剂,存在于许多食物中。抗氧化剂是人体可以用来预防或控制组织损伤过程(氧化应激反应)的物质。氧化应激反应对糖尿病性神经病变发展过程具有重要作用。硫辛酸也已被证明可以降低血糖水平。

在一些小型研究中,它可使糖尿病性神经病变患者疼痛减轻、神经功能测试性能改善以及其他体征和症状得到改善。需要开展更多研究。

当按医生建议服用硫辛酸补充剂时,一般认为很安全。但是,如果您在严重缺乏硫胺素(维生素 B-1)的情况下服用该补充剂,则可能会发生硫辛酸中毒。如果您是重度酗酒者,请勿使用硫辛酸。

硫辛酸的天然来源包括菠菜、西兰花和酵母。

乙酰左旋肉碱

乙酰左旋肉碱是肾脏和肝脏中天然产生的一种化合物。乙酰左旋肉碱有助于减少氧化应激反应。它被认为与神经细胞功能和再生有关。

在一些临床试验中,患有糖尿病性神经病变的患者疼痛得到减轻,其他感觉问题出现改善,且在神经功能测试方面也有所改善。其中一些研究还表明,在疾病早期开始治疗时,治疗效果显著。需要开展更多研究。

如果按照指示使用,乙酰左旋肉碱补充剂一般认为很安全。副作用可能包括恶心、呕吐或激动。

如果您使用稀释血液的药物华法林(Coumadin、Jantoven),则不要使用乙酰左旋肉碱,因为这种药物会增加华法林的效果和潜在的出血风险。对于甲状腺功能减退或有癫痫发作病史的人,乙酰左旋肉碱可能会使这些状况恶化。

健康饮食必不可少

尽管有关膳食补充剂与糖尿病性神经病变之间关系的研究仍在进行中,但人们普遍认为健康饮食是控制血糖和糖尿病并发症(如糖尿病神经病变)的关键部分。

制定一个自然富含营养、低脂肪、低热量的健康饮食目标。健康膳食计划的重点是:

  • 蔬菜、水果、豆类和全谷物
  • 无脂和低脂奶制品
  • 瘦肉、鱼类和无皮家禽

身体活动也起着重要作用

运动对控制血糖至关重要。在开始新的身体活动之前,请咨询您的医生,特别是如果您正在服用降低血糖的药物。糖尿病患者每周应至少进行 150 分钟中等强度到剧烈的活动。例如,在一周中的大多数日子里,每天快走大约 30 分钟。

在活动前、活动中和活动后喝水,防止脱水。一定要穿舒适、有支撑力的鞋子。

July 02, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Diabetic neuropathy: Can dietary supplements help?

A healthy diet is a critical factor in controlling blood sugar, which is key in managing diabetes and preventing or slowing the progression of diabetes complications such as diabetic neuropathy. Dietary supplements also may play a role.

Diabetic neuropathy is damage to nerves caused by excess blood sugar, inflammation and blocked small blood vessels associated with diabetes. Left unchecked, diabetic neuropathy can cause complications such as pain and tingling in the hands and feet; it can also result in digestive difficulties and sexual problems. Advanced neuropathy in the feet can lead to the need for amputation of a toe, foot or lower leg.

Eating a healthy diet is an important part of managing your diabetes and may help prevent its complications, including diabetic neuropathy. Tight blood sugar management might also help slow the progression of nerve damage.

Dietary supplements also may play a role in managing diabetic neuropathy, although more research is needed. Talk to your doctor before adding a dietary supplement because some may interfere with certain diabetes medications, and some can increase the risk of kidney problems.

How dietary supplements might help

Various nutrients in food play a role in the protection, repair and function of tissues affected by diabetic neuropathy. So, researchers are interested in nutrition and nutritional supplements to help prevent and manage diabetic neuropathy.

Research in this field is still relatively new, and the results of clinical studies have yielded mixed results. However, the following dietary supplements may have some limited benefit in preventing and managing diabetic neuropathy.

Vitamin B-12

Vitamin B-12 is present naturally in some foods. It plays a number of roles in the body, including helping with proper nerve function and red blood cell production.

Older adults with or without diabetes — particularly those who follow a vegetarian or vegan diet — have an increased risk of vitamin B-12 deficiency, which may cause neuropathy and other neurological problems.

Certain drugs may lead to a B-12 deficiency, including:

  • Metformin (Fortamet, Glucophage, others), a diabetes drug
  • Stomach acid-reducing proton pump inhibitors (Prevacid, Prilosec, others)
  • Stomach acid-reducing histamine (H-2) receptor antagonists (Tagament, Pepcid, others)

The jury is still out on whether or not taking vitamin B-12 supplements can help treat diabetic neuropathy. Some small studies have shown a lessening of pain and other abnormal sensations. But, recent reviews of all of the research suggest that there's no significant benefit in taking B-12 supplements for diabetic neuropathy for people without a deficiency of the vitamin.

A vitamin B-12 supplement is generally considered safe when taken as directed. Natural sources of vitamin B-12 that you may include in your diet are fish, lean red meat and vitamin-fortified breakfast cereals.

Alpha-lipoic acid

Alpha-lipoic acid, which is found in many foods, is an antioxidant — a substance the body can use to prevent or manage a tissue-damaging process called oxidative stress. Oxidative stress is a part of the diabetic neuropathy disease process. Alpha-lipoic acid also has been shown to reduce blood sugar levels.

A few small clinical trials have tested the treatment effect of alpha-lipoic acid given either as a supplement or intravenously. People with diabetic neuropathy had reduced pain, improvements in nerve function tests and improvements in other clinical measures of diabetic neuropathy. But long-term studies are needed.

Alpha-lipoic acid supplements are generally considered safe when taken as recommended. However, toxicity might occur if you take this supplement when you have a significant thiamin (vitamin B-1) deficiency. Don't use alpha-lipoic acid if you're a heavy user of alcohol.

Natural sources of alpha-lipoic acid include spinach, broccoli and yeast.

Acetyl-L-carnitine

Acetyl-L-carnitine is a chemical compound naturally produced in the kidneys and liver. Acetyl-L-carnitine plays an important role in reducing oxidative stress, and it's believed to be involved in nerve cell function and regeneration.

A few clinical trials have tested the treatment effect of acetyl-L-carnitine. In these studies, people with diabetic neuropathy had reduced pain, improvements in other sensory problems and improvements in nerve function tests, though these benefits need to be confirmed in additional studies. Some of these studies suggest that the treatment effect is greater when started early in the course of the disease.

Acetyl-L-carnitine supplements are generally considered safe when taken as directed. Side effects may include nausea, vomiting or agitation.

Don't use acetyl-L-carnitine if you use warfarin (Coumadin, Jantoven), a blood-thinning medication, because the combination increases warfarin's effect and potentially the risk of bleeding. The use of acetyl-L-carnitine may worsen symptoms in people with hypothyroidism or who have a history of seizures.

A healthy diet is essential

Although research into the relationship between dietary supplements and diabetic neuropathy is ongoing, eating a healthy diet is widely recognized as a key part of managing your blood sugar and diabetes complications such as diabetic neuropathy.

Aim for a healthy-eating plan that's naturally rich in nutrients and low in fat and calories. Healthy meal plans focus on:

  • Vegetables, fruits, legumes and whole grains
  • Fat-free and low-fat dairy products
  • Lean meats, fish, and poultry without the skin

Physical activity plays an important role, too

Exercise is essential to managing your blood sugar well. Check with your doctor before starting a new physical activity, especially if you're taking medications that lower your blood sugar. People with diabetes should aim for at least 30 minutes of moderate to vigorous activity most days of the week.

Drink water before, during and after activity to prevent dehydration. And, be sure to wear comfortable, supportive shoes.

Oct. 23, 2019 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Abdominal pain
  2. Adult bed-wetting: A concern?
  3. Anhidrosis
  4. Anti-seizure medications
  5. Autonomic neuropathy
  6. Bell's palsy
  7. Bezoars: How do they happen?
  8. Bladder control: Lifestyle strategies
  9. Bladder control problems: Medications
  10. Bladder control problems in women: Seek treatment
  11. Carpal tunnel exercises: Can they relieve symptoms?
  12. Carpal tunnel syndrome
  13. Carpal Tunnel Tune-Up
  14. Chronic pain: Medication decisions
  15. Diabetic Gastroparesis
  16. Diabetic neuropathy
  17. Types of diabetic neuropathy
  18. Diarrhea
  19. Erectile dysfunction dietary supplements
  20. Dizziness
  21. Ease the pain of diabetic neuropathy
  22. Electromyography (EMG)
  23. Erectile dysfunction
  24. Erectile dysfunction: Nonoral treatments
  25. Erectile dysfunction: A sign of heart disease?
  26. Erectile dysfunction and diabetes
  27. Erectile dysfunction treatment: How can your partner help?
  28. Erectile dysfunction medications
  29. Foot pain
  30. Gastroparesis
  31. 'Herbal viagra': Is it safe?
  32. Hyperglycemia in diabetes
  33. Hyperhidrosis
  34. Hypothyroidism: Can it cause peripheral neuropathy?
  35. Joint pain
  36. Joint pain: Rheumatoid arthritis or parvovirus?
  37. Managing diabetic neuropathy complications
  38. Nausea and vomiting
  39. Nerve conduction studies
  40. Numbness
  41. Numbness in hands
  42. Orthostatic hypotension (postural hypotension)
  43. Peripheral neuropathy
  44. Recreational ED drug use
  45. Sexual dysfunction
  46. Unexplained weight loss
  47. Urinary incontinence
  48. Urinary incontinence surgery in women
  49. Urinary tract infection (UTI)
  50. Vaginal dryness after menopause: How to treat it?
  51. Carpal tunnel symptoms: Role of nonsurgical treatment
  52. Carpal tunnel syndrome surgery: Immediate and long-term results