اعتلال الأعصاب السكري: هل بوسع المكملات الغذائية المساعدة؟

النظام الغذائي الصحي هو عامل حاسم في السيطرة على نسبة السكر في الدم، وهو أمر أساسي في التحكم في مرض السكري، ومنع أو إبطاء تطور مضاعفات مرض السكري مثل اعتلال الأعصاب السكري. وللمكملات الغذائية أيضًا دور في ذلك.

الاعتلال العصبي السكري هو تلف الأعصاب الناجم عن فرط السكر في الدم، والالتهاب، وانحصار الأوعية الدموية الصغيرة المرتبطة بالسكري. إذا لم يتم فحص الحالة، يمكن أن يسبب الاعتلال العصبي السكري مضاعفات مثل الألم والوخز في اليدين والقدمين. يمكن أن يؤدي أيضًا إلى صعوبات في الجهاز الهضمي ومشاكل جنسية. يمكن أن يؤدي الاعتلال العصبي المتقدم في القدم إلى الحاجة إلى بتر إصبع القدم، أو القدم، أو أسفل الساق.

يعتبر اتباع نظام غذائي صحي جزءًا مهمًا من علاج مرض السكري، وقد يساعد في الوقاية من مضاعفاته، بما في ذلك الاعتلال العصبي السكري. قد تساعد إدارة سكر الدم أيضًا على إبطاء تطور تلف الأعصاب.

قد تؤدي المكملات الغذائية دوراً في علاج الاعتلال العصبي السكري، على الرغم من الحاجة لمزيد من الأبحاث. تحدث إلى طبيبك قبل إضافة مكمل غذائي لأن البعض قد يتفاعل مع بعض أدوية السكري، وبعضها يمكن أن يزيد من خطر مشاكل الكلى.

كيف تفيد المكملات الغذائية

توجد عدة عناصر غذائية في الطعام تؤدي دورًا في حماية الأنسجة التي تتأثر باعتلال الأعصاب السكري وإصلاحها وأدائها لوظيفتها. لذلك فالباحثون مهتمون بالتغذية والمكملات الغذائية للمساعدة في الوقاية من اعتلال الأعصاب السكري ومعالجته.

لا يزال البحث في هذا المجال جديدًا نسبيًا، وكانت نتائج الدراسات السريرية متضاربة في هذا الشأن. ولكن المكملات الغذائية التالية قد تكون لها بعض الفائدة المحدودة في الوقاية من اعتلال الأعصاب السكري ومعالجته.

فيتامين B-12

يتواجد فيتامين B-12 بشكل طبيعي في بعض الأطعمة. حيث يؤدي عددًا من الأدوار في الجسم، مثل المساعدة في إنتاج كرات الدم الحمراء ومساعدة الأعصاب على القيام بوظائفها على النحو الصحيح.

تزداد خطورة نقص فيتامين B-12 عند كبار السن سواء كانوا مصابين بداء السكري أم لا — وبالأخص من يتبعون نظامًا غذائيًا نباتيًا — ما قد يتسبب في اعتلال عصبي أو مشكلات عصبية.

وقد تؤدي بعض الأدوية إلى نقص فيتامين B-12، مثل:

  • الميتفورمين (فورتاميت وجلوكوفاج، وغيرهما من الأدوية)، وهو من أدوية السكري
  • مثبطات مضخات البروتون للحدّ من حموضة المعدة (بريفاسيد، وبرايلوسيك، وغيرهما)
  • مضادات مستقبلات الهيستامين (H-2) للحد من حموضة المعدة (تجامينت، وبيبسيد، وغيرها)

ولا يزال من غير المؤكد ما إذا كان تناول مكملات فيتامين B-12 يساعد في علاج اعتلال الأعصاب السكري أم لا. أظهرت بعض الدراسات الصغيرة تخفيفًا في الألم، وغيره من الأحاسيس غير الطبيعية. ولكن تشير بعض التقييمات الحديثة لجميع الأبحاث أن تناول مكملات فيتامين B-12 ليست له فائدة كبيرة في التعامل مع اعتلال الأعصاب السكري لدى الأشخاص الذين لا يعانون من نقص الفيتامين.

ويعد مكمل فيتامين B-12 آمنًا في العموم عند تناوله حسب التوجيهات. والمصادر الطبيعية لفيتامين B-12 التي يمكنك إضافتها إلى نظامك الغذائي هي السمك، واللحوم الحمراء الخالية من الدهون، وحبوب الإفطار المعززة بالفيتامين.

حمض ألفا ليبويك

يعد حمض ألفا ليبويك، الموجود في الكثير من الأطعمة، مضادًا للأكسدة —مادة يمكن للجسم استخدامها لمنع عملية تلف الأنسجة التي تسمى الإجهاد التأكسدي أو السيطرة عليها. الإجهاد التأكسدي جزء من عملية مرض اعتلال الأعصاب السُّكَّري. كما أُثبت أن حمض ألفا ليبويك يقلل مستويات السكر في الدم.

واختبرت تجارب سريرية قليلة أيضًا تأثير علاج حمض ألفا ليبويك الذي يعطى كعلاج تكميلي أو بصيغة حقن عن طريق الوريد. سجلت الحالات المصابة باعتلال الأعصاب السكري تحسنًا في درجة الشعور بالألم، بالإضافة إلى تحسينات في اختبارات الوظائف العصبية وتحسينات في التدابير السريرية الأخرى الخاصة باعتلال الأعصاب السكري. ولكن، هناك حاجة للمزيد من الدراسات طويلة المدى.

تعدّ مكملات حمض ألفا ليبويك عمومًا آمنة عند تناولها بالطريقة الموصى بها. ومع ذلك، قد يحدث تسمم إذا أخذت هذا المكمل عندما تعاني من نقص حاد في الثيامين (فيتامين ب-1). لا تستخدم حمض ألفا ليبويك إذا كنت تشرب الكحول بشراهة.

تتضمن المصادر الطبيعية لحمض ألفا ليبويك السبانخ والبروكلي والخميرة.

أستيل ال-كارنتين

إن "أستيل ال-كارنتين" عبارة عن مركب كيميائي ينتجه الكبد والكليتين طبيعيًا. ويلعب "أستيل ال-كارنتين" دورًا هامًا في مستوى خفض الإجهاد التأكسدي، ويوجد اعتقاد بأن له تأثير على وظائف الخلايا العصبية وتجدد الخلايا.

وتم إجراء اختبارات في عدد قليل من التجارب السريرية لتحديد التأثير العلاجي لمركب "أستيل ال-كارنتين". وشهدت تلك الدراسات انخفاض الشعور بالألم لدى من يعانون من الاعتلال العصبي السكري، والشعور بالتحسن فيما يتعلق بالمشكلات الحسية، فضلاً عن الشعور بتحسن كشفت عنه اختبارات الوظائف العصبية، وبالرغم من ذلك فإن هذه الفوائد ما زالت بحاجة إلى إجراء المزيد من الدراسات لتأكيدها. ويرجح بعض من هذه الدراسات ارتفاع درجة التأثير العلاجي عند البدء في العلاج في مرحلة مبكرة من المرض.

وتُعد مكملات "أستيل ال-كارنتين" بوجه عام آمنةً عند تناولها حسب توجيهات المختصين. وقد تشتمل الآثار الجانبية على الغثيان أو القيء أو الهياج.

تجنب استعمال "أستيل ال-كارنتين" إذا كنت تتناول دواء "وارفارين" (كومادين وجانتوفين)، وهو دواء مضاد لتخثر الدم، لأن الجمع بين الاثنين يزيد من تأثير دواء "وارفارين" ومن المحتمل أن يعرضك لخطر النزيف. وربما يؤدي تناول "أستيل ال-كارنتين" إلى تدهور الأعراض المرضية لدى من يعانون من قصور الغدة الدرقية أو من كان لديهم تاريخ مرضي للإصابة بنوبات.

من الضروري اتباع نظام غذائي صحي

على الرغم من أن البحث في دراسة العلاقة بين المكملات الغذائية والاعتلال العصبي السكري لا يزال مستمراً، إلا أنه مُعترف بأن النظام الغذائي الصحي جزءًا أساسيًا لإدارة سكر الدم ومضاعفات مرض السكري مثل الاعتلال العصبي السكري.

إن استهداف خطة تناول الطعام الصحي الغني بالمواد المغذية الطبيعية ويحتوي على القليل من الدهون والسعرات الحرارية. تُركز خطط الوجبة الصحية على ما يلي:

  • الخضروات والفاكهة والبقوليات والحبوب الكاملة
  • منتجات الألبان الخالية من الدهون وقليلة الدهون
  • اللحوم الخالية من الدهن والسمك والدواجن المنزوعة الجلد

يؤدي الوزن عند الولادة دورًا مهمًا أيضًا.

تعد ممارسة الرياضة شيئًا أساسيًا للتعامل مع سكر الدم جيدًا. استشر طبيبك قبل أن تبدأ نشاطًا بدنيًا جديدًا، لا سيما إذا كنت تتناول الأدوية التي تخفض السكر في الدم. ينبغي أن يخصص الأشخاص المصابون بداء السكري 30 دقيقة على الأقل من النشاط القوي معظم أيام الأسبوع.

اشرب الماء قبل ممارسة نشاط وأثناءه وبعده لمنع الجفاف. واحرص على ارتداء أحذية مريحة وداعمة.

22/10/2019 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

اطلع كذلك على

  1. Abdominal pain
  2. Adult bed-wetting: A concern?
  3. Anhidrosis
  4. Anti-seizure medications
  5. Autonomic neuropathy
  6. Bell's palsy
  7. Bezoars: How do they happen?
  8. Bladder control: Lifestyle strategies
  9. Bladder control problems: Medications
  10. Bladder control problems in women: Seek treatment
  11. Carpal tunnel exercises: Can they relieve symptoms?
  12. Carpal tunnel syndrome
  13. Carpal Tunnel Tune-Up
  14. Chronic pain: Medication decisions
  15. Diabetic Gastroparesis
  16. Diabetic neuropathy
  17. Types of diabetic neuropathy
  18. Diarrhea
  19. Erectile dysfunction dietary supplements
  20. Dizziness
  21. Ease the pain of diabetic neuropathy
  22. Electromyography (EMG)
  23. Erectile dysfunction
  24. Erectile dysfunction: Nonoral treatments
  25. Erectile dysfunction: A sign of heart disease?
  26. Erectile dysfunction and diabetes
  27. Erectile dysfunction treatment: How can your partner help?
  28. Erectile dysfunction medications
  29. Foot pain
  30. Gastroparesis
  31. 'Herbal viagra': Is it safe?
  32. Hyperglycemia in diabetes
  33. Hyperhidrosis
  34. Hypothyroidism: Can it cause peripheral neuropathy?
  35. Joint pain
  36. Joint pain: Rheumatoid arthritis or parvovirus?
  37. Managing diabetic neuropathy complications
  38. Nausea and vomiting
  39. Nerve conduction studies
  40. Numbness
  41. Numbness in hands
  42. Orthostatic hypotension (postural hypotension)
  43. Peripheral neuropathy
  44. Recreational ED drug use
  45. Sexual dysfunction
  46. Unexplained weight loss
  47. Urinary incontinence
  48. Urinary incontinence surgery in women
  49. Urinary tract infection (UTI)
  50. Vaginal dryness after menopause: How to treat it?
  51. Carpal tunnel symptoms: Role of nonsurgical treatment
  52. Carpal tunnel syndrome surgery: Immediate and long-term results

Diabetic neuropathy: Can dietary supplements help?

A healthy diet is a critical factor in controlling blood sugar, which is key in managing diabetes and preventing or slowing the progression of diabetes complications such as diabetic neuropathy. Dietary supplements also may play a role.

Diabetic neuropathy is damage to nerves caused by excess blood sugar, inflammation and blocked small blood vessels associated with diabetes. Left unchecked, diabetic neuropathy can cause complications such as pain and tingling in the hands and feet; it can also result in digestive difficulties and sexual problems. Advanced neuropathy in the feet can lead to the need for amputation of a toe, foot or lower leg.

Eating a healthy diet is an important part of managing your diabetes and may help prevent its complications, including diabetic neuropathy. Tight blood sugar management might also help slow the progression of nerve damage.

Dietary supplements also may play a role in managing diabetic neuropathy, although more research is needed. Talk to your doctor before adding a dietary supplement because some may interfere with certain diabetes medications, and some can increase the risk of kidney problems.

How dietary supplements might help

Various nutrients in food play a role in the protection, repair and function of tissues affected by diabetic neuropathy. So, researchers are interested in nutrition and nutritional supplements to help prevent and manage diabetic neuropathy.

Research in this field is still relatively new, and the results of clinical studies have yielded mixed results. However, the following dietary supplements may have some limited benefit in preventing and managing diabetic neuropathy.

Vitamin B-12

Vitamin B-12 is present naturally in some foods. It plays a number of roles in the body, including helping with proper nerve function and red blood cell production.

Older adults with or without diabetes — particularly those who follow a vegetarian or vegan diet — have an increased risk of vitamin B-12 deficiency, which may cause neuropathy and other neurological problems.

Certain drugs may lead to a B-12 deficiency, including:

  • Metformin (Fortamet, Glucophage, others), a diabetes drug
  • Stomach acid-reducing proton pump inhibitors (Prevacid, Prilosec, others)
  • Stomach acid-reducing histamine (H-2) receptor antagonists (Tagament, Pepcid, others)

The jury is still out on whether or not taking vitamin B-12 supplements can help treat diabetic neuropathy. Some small studies have shown a lessening of pain and other abnormal sensations. But, recent reviews of all of the research suggest that there's no significant benefit in taking B-12 supplements for diabetic neuropathy for people without a deficiency of the vitamin.

A vitamin B-12 supplement is generally considered safe when taken as directed. Natural sources of vitamin B-12 that you may include in your diet are fish, lean red meat and vitamin-fortified breakfast cereals.

Alpha-lipoic acid

Alpha-lipoic acid, which is found in many foods, is an antioxidant — a substance the body can use to prevent or manage a tissue-damaging process called oxidative stress. Oxidative stress is a part of the diabetic neuropathy disease process. Alpha-lipoic acid also has been shown to reduce blood sugar levels.

A few small clinical trials have tested the treatment effect of alpha-lipoic acid given either as a supplement or intravenously. People with diabetic neuropathy had reduced pain, improvements in nerve function tests and improvements in other clinical measures of diabetic neuropathy. But long-term studies are needed.

Alpha-lipoic acid supplements are generally considered safe when taken as recommended. However, toxicity might occur if you take this supplement when you have a significant thiamin (vitamin B-1) deficiency. Don't use alpha-lipoic acid if you're a heavy user of alcohol.

Natural sources of alpha-lipoic acid include spinach, broccoli and yeast.

Acetyl-L-carnitine

Acetyl-L-carnitine is a chemical compound naturally produced in the kidneys and liver. Acetyl-L-carnitine plays an important role in reducing oxidative stress, and it's believed to be involved in nerve cell function and regeneration.

A few clinical trials have tested the treatment effect of acetyl-L-carnitine. In these studies, people with diabetic neuropathy had reduced pain, improvements in other sensory problems and improvements in nerve function tests, though these benefits need to be confirmed in additional studies. Some of these studies suggest that the treatment effect is greater when started early in the course of the disease.

Acetyl-L-carnitine supplements are generally considered safe when taken as directed. Side effects may include nausea, vomiting or agitation.

Don't use acetyl-L-carnitine if you use warfarin (Coumadin, Jantoven), a blood-thinning medication, because the combination increases warfarin's effect and potentially the risk of bleeding. The use of acetyl-L-carnitine may worsen symptoms in people with hypothyroidism or who have a history of seizures.

A healthy diet is essential

Although research into the relationship between dietary supplements and diabetic neuropathy is ongoing, eating a healthy diet is widely recognized as a key part of managing your blood sugar and diabetes complications such as diabetic neuropathy.

Aim for a healthy-eating plan that's naturally rich in nutrients and low in fat and calories. Healthy meal plans focus on:

  • Vegetables, fruits, legumes and whole grains
  • Fat-free and low-fat dairy products
  • Lean meats, fish, and poultry without the skin

Physical activity plays an important role, too

Exercise is essential to managing your blood sugar well. Check with your doctor before starting a new physical activity, especially if you're taking medications that lower your blood sugar. People with diabetes should aim for at least 30 minutes of moderate to vigorous activity most days of the week.

Drink water before, during and after activity to prevent dehydration. And, be sure to wear comfortable, supportive shoes.

Oct. 23, 2019 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Abdominal pain
  2. Adult bed-wetting: A concern?
  3. Anhidrosis
  4. Anti-seizure medications
  5. Autonomic neuropathy
  6. Bell's palsy
  7. Bezoars: How do they happen?
  8. Bladder control: Lifestyle strategies
  9. Bladder control problems: Medications
  10. Bladder control problems in women: Seek treatment
  11. Carpal tunnel exercises: Can they relieve symptoms?
  12. Carpal tunnel syndrome
  13. Carpal Tunnel Tune-Up
  14. Chronic pain: Medication decisions
  15. Diabetic Gastroparesis
  16. Diabetic neuropathy
  17. Types of diabetic neuropathy
  18. Diarrhea
  19. Erectile dysfunction dietary supplements
  20. Dizziness
  21. Ease the pain of diabetic neuropathy
  22. Electromyography (EMG)
  23. Erectile dysfunction
  24. Erectile dysfunction: Nonoral treatments
  25. Erectile dysfunction: A sign of heart disease?
  26. Erectile dysfunction and diabetes
  27. Erectile dysfunction treatment: How can your partner help?
  28. Erectile dysfunction medications
  29. Foot pain
  30. Gastroparesis
  31. 'Herbal viagra': Is it safe?
  32. Hyperglycemia in diabetes
  33. Hyperhidrosis
  34. Hypothyroidism: Can it cause peripheral neuropathy?
  35. Joint pain
  36. Joint pain: Rheumatoid arthritis or parvovirus?
  37. Managing diabetic neuropathy complications
  38. Nausea and vomiting
  39. Nerve conduction studies
  40. Numbness
  41. Numbness in hands
  42. Orthostatic hypotension (postural hypotension)
  43. Peripheral neuropathy
  44. Recreational ED drug use
  45. Sexual dysfunction
  46. Unexplained weight loss
  47. Urinary incontinence
  48. Urinary incontinence surgery in women
  49. Urinary tract infection (UTI)
  50. Vaginal dryness after menopause: How to treat it?
  51. Carpal tunnel symptoms: Role of nonsurgical treatment
  52. Carpal tunnel syndrome surgery: Immediate and long-term results