诊断

肝硬化常见问题解答

肝脏移植专家 Sumera Ilyas(内外全科医学士)解答有关肝硬化的最常见问题。

[音乐播放中]

Ask Mayo Clinic:肝硬化

妙佑医疗国际肝脏移植专家 Sumera I. Ilyas(内外全科医学士):大家好,我是妙佑医疗国际的肝脏移植专家 Sumera Ilyas 医生,在此解答大家对肝硬化可能存有的一些重要问题。

得了肝病还能饮酒吗?

任何数量的酒精对于肝硬化患者来说都不安全。肝硬化患者应完全避免酒精使用。

止痛药对肝病患者是否安全?

有些止痛药在一定剂量下服用是安全的,有些则不然。例如,肝硬化患者应避免服用布洛芬和萘普生等非甾体抗炎药,因为当肝脏有瘢痕时,这些类型的药物对肾脏造成损害的可能性更大。羟考酮之类的麻醉药可能对某些肝硬化并发症造成很大问题,因此不宜使用。对乙酰氨基酚可以安全服用,但要减小剂量。要缓解肝硬化引起的疼痛,我们建议每天最多服用 2 克对乙酰氨基酚。也就是在 24 小时内服用 4 片加强型片剂。

如何通过饮食控制肝硬化?

遵循营养均衡且富含果蔬的整体健康饮食很重要。蛋白质摄入很重要,可以从豆类或扁豆等来源摄入精益蛋白质。限盐也非常重要。将饮食中的盐摄入量限制在每日少于 2 克。

服用补充剂是否有助于控制肝硬化?

尽管有人尝试用奶蓟草之类的某些草本补充剂来治疗肝病,但尚无证据表明,草本补充剂或任何其他替代疗法可以有效地治疗肝硬化。草本补充剂也有可能对肝脏造成伤害,有时甚至导致肝功能衰竭,以至于需要进行肝脏移植。因此,我们建议避免使用任何草本补充剂。

为什么疫苗接种对肝硬化很重要?

疫苗接种是肝硬化患者应采取的一项重要预防措施。这是因为当肝脏形成瘢痕时,患者因某些感染而出现并发症的风险更高。建议肝硬化患者接种甲肝和乙肝疫苗,也建议所有成人肝硬化患者接种肺炎球菌疫苗,俗称肺炎疫苗。肝硬化患者还应每年接种流感疫苗。

如何减缓或逆转肝硬化?

肝损伤有时候可以减缓,但通常无法完全逆转。例如,如果患者因酒精使用而患肝硬化,则彻底戒酒可能会改善肝脏功能。同样,减重可能有助于改善脂肪肝病。丙肝引起的肝硬化是患者需要进行肝脏移植的主要原因。但目前有抗病毒药物可以十分有效地治愈丙肝。有证据表明,治愈丙肝可能会减缓甚至有助于逆转部分既有损害。但在某些情况下,当肝病已进入晚期,医疗干预无法逆转这一过程,此时就需要考虑进行肝移植。

怎样才能尽量配合医疗团队的治疗?

我们深知,这对患者及其亲人来说很艰难。我们希望竭尽所能为患者提供无缝流程。尽可能多地掌握有关您医疗状况的信息对我们很有帮助,包括任何既往药物疗法、任何新发症状或体征、任何药物、草本补充剂或您可能存在的任何其他医疗状况。收集所有这些信息,并与您的肝脏团队分享。对团队开诚布公。如有任何疑问或疑虑,请随时向医疗团队提出。掌握信息会让一切变得不同。感谢您花时间观看,祝您健康!

[音乐播放中]

早期肝硬化患者通常没有症状。通常,肝硬化一开始都是通过常规血液检测或在体检时发现的。为了帮助确诊,通常要结合化验和影像学检查。

检测

医务人员可能会安排一项或多项检测来检查您的肝脏,包括:

  • 实验室检测。医务人员可能会安排血液检测来检查是否存在肝脏功能障碍的体征,如高胆红素水平或某些酶。为了评估肾脏功能,需要检查血液中的肌酐。将测定您的血细胞计数。您将接受肝炎病毒筛查。还会检查国际标准化比值(INR),以确定血液凝固能力。

    根据病史和血液检测结果,医务人员也许能够诊断肝硬化的根本原因。血液检测还可以帮助确定您的肝硬化严重程度。

  • 影像学检查。可能会建议进行某些影像学检查,包括瞬态或磁共振弹性成像(MRE)。这些无创影像学检查可以检测肝脏硬化。也可能会进行其他影像学检查,如 MRICT 扫描和超声波检查。
  • 活检。诊断不一定需要组织样本(称为活检)。但是,医务人员可能会使用它来了解肝脏损伤的严重程度和原因。

如果您患有肝硬化,医务人员可能建议定期进行检查,以确定肝病是否有进展或检查是否存在并发症的体征,尤其是食管静脉曲张和肝癌。无创检查正越来越广泛地用于监测肝病。

治疗

肝硬化的治疗取决于肝损害的原因和程度。治疗的目的是减缓肝脏疤痕组织的进展,并预防或治疗肝硬化的症状和并发症。如果您有严重肝损伤,可能需要住院治疗。

对肝硬化潜在病因的治疗

在早期肝硬化中,通过治疗潜在的病因,可最大程度减少对肝脏的损害。可选方案包括:

  • 治疗酒精依赖症。过度饮酒导致肝硬化的人应尽量戒酒。如果戒酒很困难,医务人员可能会推荐治疗酒精成瘾的方案。如果您患有肝硬化,则戒酒至关重要,因为饮酒量不论多少都会对肝脏产生毒性。
  • 减重。非酒精性脂肪性肝病引起的肝硬化患者若减轻体重、控制血糖水平,可能会变得更健康。
  • 治疗肝炎的药物。通过专门针对乙肝或丙肝病毒的治疗方法,药物可限制这些病毒对肝细胞的进一步损害。
  • 控制肝硬化其他病因和症状的药物。药物可减缓某些类型的肝硬化的进展。例如,对于早期诊断出的原发性胆汁性胆管炎患者,药物治疗可显著延缓肝硬化的进展。

其他药物可缓解某些症状,如瘙痒、疲乏和疼痛。营养补充剂可用来缓解肝硬化引起的营养不良,还可帮助预防骨弱(骨质疏松症)。

肝硬化并发症的治疗

医务人员会尽力治疗肝硬化的任何并发症,包括:

  • 体内积液。低钠饮食和预防体内积液的药物可能有助于控制腹水和腹部肿胀。更严重的积液可能需要手术排出积液,或者需要减压手术。
  • 门静脉高压症。某些降压药可能会控制为肝脏(门静脉高压症)供血的静脉血压升高,并预防严重出血。医务人员将定期进行上消化道内镜检查,以寻找食管或胃中可能出血的扩张静脉(静脉曲张)。

    如果您出现静脉曲张,您可能需要药物治疗,以降低出血风险。如果有静脉曲张出血或可能出血的迹象,您可能需要通过手术(套扎术)来止血或降低进一步出血的风险。在严重情况下,您可能需要在您的静脉中放置一个小导管(经颈静脉肝内门体分流术),以降低肝内血压。

  • 感染。针对感染,您可能接受抗生素治疗或者其他治疗。医务人员也有可能建议接种流行性感冒、感染性肺炎和肝炎疫苗。
  • 肝癌风险增加。医务人员可能建议您定期做血液检查和超声波检查,查看是否存在肝癌体征。
  • 肝性脑病。医生可能给您开处方药,帮助减少由于肝功能下降引起的毒素在血液中累积。

肝脏移植手术

在肝硬化的晚期病例中,如果肝脏停止正常工作,肝脏移植可能是唯一的治疗方案。肝脏移植是一项医疗程序,用已故捐献者的健康肝脏或活体捐赠者的部分肝脏來替代患者肝脏。肝硬化是肝脏移植最常见的原因之一。肝脏移植候选者需接受大量检测,以确定其是否足够健康,能在术后实现良好预后。

以前不考虑给酒精性肝硬化患者进行肝脏移植,因为他们有可能在移植后重拾旧习,饮酒伤身。但近期研究表明,经过精心挑选的重度酒精性肝硬化患者接受移植后,其存活率与因其他类型肝病而进行肝移植的患者的存活率相似。

如果您患有酒精性肝硬化且能够接受肝脏移植,您需要:

  • 寻找适合酒精性肝硬化患者的项目。
  • 满足该项目的要求,其中包括终身戒酒的承诺,以及特定移植中心的其他要求。

未来的潜在治疗方法

科学家们正在努力发展目前肝硬化的治疗方法,但成效有限。由于肝硬化有各种病因和并发症,因此有许多潜在的治疗方法。如能增加早期筛查、改变生活方式、使用新药物并结合其他途径,则肝损伤患者的结果可能得以改善。

研究人员正在研究专门针对肝细胞的疗法,该疗法旨在帮助减缓甚至逆转导致肝硬化的纤维化。然而,还没有完全成熟的靶向疗法。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

如果您有肝硬化,要小心预防进一步肝受损。

  • 切勿饮酒。无论您的肝硬化是由长期饮酒还是其他疾病所致,切勿饮酒。饮酒可能导致进一步肝受损。
  • 低钠饮食。多余的盐可能引起体内液体滞留,加剧腹部和腿部肿胀。使用植物性调味品来替代盐。选择低钠预加工食品。
  • 健康饮食。肝硬化患者可能营养不良。遵循包含各种水果和蔬菜的健康饮食有助于应对这一问题。选择精蛋白,如豆类、禽类和鱼类食物。切勿生吃海鲜。
  • 保护自己免受感染。肝硬化会增大您抵御感染的难度。通过避免与病人接触以及勤洗手来保护自己。接种甲肝、乙肝、流行性感冒和肺炎疫苗。
  • 谨慎使用非处方药。肝硬化使肝脏更难以代谢药物。因此,请在使用任何药物(包括非处方药)前咨询医务人员。切勿服用阿司匹林和布洛芬(Advil、Motrin IB 等)。如果您肝脏受损,医务人员可能建议您不要用对乙酰氨基酚(Tylenol 等)止痛;即使用,也只能采用小剂量。

准备您的预约

如果您患有肝硬化,您可能会被转诊给专长于治疗消化系统的医务人员(消化科医生)或肝脏的医务人员(肝病科医生)。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备,并了解医务人员可能会做些什么。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定,例如就诊前一天的饮食限制规定。
  • 写下您的症状,包括症状开始的时间,以及症状随时间会如何改变或恶化。
  • 列出您所服用的所有药物,以及任何维生素或补充剂。
  • 写下您的关键医疗信息,包括其他确诊病症。
  • 提供迄今为止所做的医学检查的结果,包括 CTMRI 或超声图像的数字副本和肝活检切片(如果有)。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括生活中近期出现的任何变化或压力。
  • 请一名家人或朋友陪您就诊,帮助您记住各种事项。
  • 写下需要向医生咨询的问题。

要向医生咨询的问题

提前准备好问题清单有助于您充分利用时间。要咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 我的肝硬化最可能是什么原因造成的?
  • 有什么方法可以减缓或阻止我的肝脏损伤?
  • 可以选择哪些治疗方案?
  • 是否有会伤害我肝脏的药物或补充剂?
  • 我应该注意哪些并发症的体征和病状?
  • 我还有其他健康状况。如何以最佳方式同时进行管理?

如果还有其他问题,请在就诊时随时提出。

医生可能做些什么

请准备好回答下列问题:

  • 您什么时候开始出现症状?
  • 您的症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 有没有什么情况似乎会改善您的症状?
  • 有没有什么情况似乎会加重您的症状?
  • 您多长时间喝一次酒?
  • 您是否接触或服用过毒性药物?
  • 您是否有肝病、血色素沉着症或肥胖症的家族史?
  • 您是否患过病毒性肝炎?
  • 您是否患过黄疸?
  • 您是否曾经输血或注射过药物?
  • 您有文身吗?

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

April 21, 2023

Living with 肝硬化?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Transplants support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Transplants Discussions

kaegee
Loss of taste after liver transplant

41 Replies Fri, May 17, 2024

jovanna
Mood changes after transplant

29 Replies Fri, May 17, 2024

nikkispk
SPK (simultaneous pancreas and kidney) transplants

77 Replies Thu, May 16, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Gines P, et al. Liver cirrhosis. The Lancet. 2021; doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(21)01374-X.
  2. Feldman M, et al., eds. Overview of cirrhosis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 6, 2023.
  3. Wilson R, et al. Cirrhosis. Medical Clinics of North America. 2022; doi:10.1016/j.mcna.2021.12.001.
  4. Goldman L, et al., eds. Cirrhosis and its sequelae. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 6, 2023.
  5. Tonon M, et al. Acute on chronic liver failure in cirrhosis. Clinical and Molecular Hepatology. 2022; doi:10.3350/cmh.2022.0036.
  6. Cirrhosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/cirrhosis. Accessed Jan. 5, 2023.
  7. Dove LM, et al. Liver transplantation in adults: Patient selection and pretransplantation evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 5, 2023.
  8. Friedman SL, et al. Hepatic fibrosis 2022: Unmet needs and a blueprint for the future. Hepatology. 2022; doi:10.1002/hep.32285.
  9. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Nov. 23, 2022.
  10. Khanna S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 8, 2023.

Diagnosis

Cirrhosis FAQs

Transplant hepatologist Sumera Ilyas, M.B.B.S. answers the most frequently asked questions about cirrhosis.

[Music playing]

Ask Mayo Clinic: Cirrhosis

Sumera I. Ilyas, M.B.B.S., Transplant Hepatologist, Mayo Clinic Hi, I'm Dr. Sumera Ilyas, a transplant hepatologist at Mayo Clinic, and I'm here to answer some of the important questions you may have about cirrhosis.

Can I still drink alcohol with liver disease?

No amount of alcohol is considered safe in patients with cirrhosis. They should avoid all alcohol use.

Are pain medications safe to take with liver disease?

Well, some pain medications are safe to take in certain doses, and some are not. For instance, nonsteroidal, anti-inflammatory drugs such as ibuprofen and naproxen, they should be avoided in patients with cirrhosis, because when the liver is scarred, there's a greater chance of hurting the kidneys with these types of medications. Narcotics such as oxycodone are not a good idea either as they can be quite problematic with certain complications of cirrhosis. Acetaminophen, on the other hand, is safe to take, but at smaller doses. For pain relief in cirrhosis, we recommend taking acetaminophen up to two grams a day. So that's four extra strength tablets within a 24-hour period.

How can diet help manage my cirrhosis?

So it's important to eat an overall healthy diet that is balanced and full of fruits and vegetables. It's important to have protein intake, and that can be from lean sources of protein such as beans or lentils, and salt restriction is also very important. Limit the amount of salt in your diet to less than two grams of total intake a day.

Will taking supplements help my cirrhosis?

Although certain herbal supplements such as milk thistle have been tried in liver disease, there's no evidence to suggest that herbal supplements or any other alternative therapies can effectively treat cirrhosis. However, there is a chance of herbal supplements causing harm to the liver, sometimes to the point of liver failure requiring a liver transplant. So we recommend avoiding any and all herbal supplements.

Why are vaccines important with cirrhosis?

Well, vaccinations are an important preventive measure in patients with cirrhosis because when the liver is scarred, patients are at higher risk of complications from certain infections. For patients with cirrhosis, we recommend vaccination against hepatitis A and B. We also recommend the pneumococcal vaccine, which is commonly referred to as the pneumonia vaccine, for all adult patients with cirrhosis. And patients with cirrhosis should also get the annual flu shot.

How can I slow or reverse cirrhosis?

There are instances when damage to the liver can be slowed although complete reversal generally does not happen. For example, if a patient has cirrhosis due to alcohol use, we know that completely abstaining from alcohol can improve the function of the liver. Similarly, weight loss can help improve fatty liver disease. And cirrhosis from hepatitis C was a major reason patients required liver transplants, but we now have medications, antiviral drugs, that are very effective at curing it. There's evidence to suggest that getting rid of the hepatitis C can slow or maybe even help reverse some of the damage done. But there are instances when the liver disease is too advanced and medical interventions cannot reverse the process and that's when we consider liver transplantation.

How can I be the best partner to my medical team?

We know that this is tough for our patients and their loved ones and we want to do everything we can to make the process seamless for our patients. It's helpful for us if we have as much information about your condition as possible--any prior medical therapies, any new symptoms or signs, any medications, herbal supplements or any other medical conditions that you may have. Collect all of this information and share it with your liver team. Be open and transparent with your team. Never hesitate to ask your medical team any questions or concerns you have. Being informed makes all the difference. Thanks for your time, and we wish you well.

[Music playing]

People with early-stage cirrhosis of the liver usually don't have symptoms. Often, cirrhosis is first found through a routine blood test or checkup. To help confirm a diagnosis, a combination of laboratory and imaging tests is usually done.

Tests

Your health care provider may order one or more tests to check your liver, including:

  • Laboratory tests. Your provider may order blood tests to check for signs of liver malfunction, such as high bilirubin levels or certain enzymes. To evaluate kidney function, your blood is checked for creatinine. Your blood count would be measured. You'll be screened for the hepatitis viruses. Your international normalized ratio (INR) is also checked for your blood's ability to clot.

    Based on history and blood test results, your provider may be able to diagnose the underlying cause of cirrhosis. Blood tests also can help identify how serious your cirrhosis is.

  • Imaging tests. Certain imaging tests, including transient or magnetic resonance elastography (MRE), may be recommended. These noninvasive imaging tests look for hardening or stiffening of the liver. Other imaging tests, such as MRI, CT and ultrasound, also may be done.
  • Biopsy. A tissue sample, called a biopsy, is not necessarily needed for diagnosis. However, your provider may use it to find out how severe liver damage is and what's causing it.

If you have cirrhosis, your health care provider is likely to recommend regular tests to see if liver disease has progressed or check for signs of complications, especially esophageal varices and liver cancer. Noninvasive tests are becoming more widely available for monitoring liver disease.

Treatment

Treatment for cirrhosis depends on the cause and extent of your liver damage. The goals of treatment are to slow the progression of scar tissue in the liver and to prevent or treat symptoms and complications of cirrhosis. You may need to be hospitalized if you have severe liver damage.

Treatment for the underlying cause of cirrhosis

In early cirrhosis, it may be possible to minimize damage to the liver by treating the underlying cause. The options include:

  • Treatment for alcohol dependency. People with cirrhosis caused by excessive alcohol use should try to stop drinking. If stopping alcohol use is difficult, your health care provider may recommend a treatment program for alcohol addiction. If you have cirrhosis, it is very important to stop drinking since any amount of alcohol is toxic to the liver.
  • Weight loss. People with cirrhosis caused by nonalcoholic fatty liver disease may become healthier if they lose weight and control their blood sugar levels.
  • Medicines to control hepatitis. Medicines may limit further damage to liver cells caused by hepatitis B or C through specific treatment of these viruses.
  • Medicines to control other causes and symptoms of cirrhosis. Medicines may slow the progression of certain types of liver cirrhosis. For example, for people with primary biliary cholangitis that is diagnosed early, medicine may significantly delay progression to cirrhosis.

Other medicines can relieve certain symptoms, such as itching, fatigue and pain. Nutritional supplements may be prescribed to counter malnutrition associated with cirrhosis. Supplements also can help prevent weak bones, known as osteoporosis.

Treatment for complications of cirrhosis

Your health care provider will work to treat any complications of cirrhosis, including:

  • A buildup of fluid in your body. A low-sodium diet and medicine to prevent fluid buildup in the body may help control ascites and swelling. More-severe fluid buildup may require procedures to drain the fluid or surgery to relieve pressure.
  • Portal hypertension. Certain blood pressure medicines may control increased pressure in the veins that supply the liver, called portal hypertension, and prevent severe bleeding. Your provider will regularly perform an upper endoscopy to look for enlarged veins in the esophagus or stomach that may bleed. These veins are known as varices.

    If you develop varices, you likely will need medicine to lower the risk of bleeding. If you have signs that the varices are bleeding or are likely to bleed, you may need a procedure known as band ligation. Band ligation can stop the bleeding or reduce the risk of further bleeding. In severe cases, you may need a small tube — a transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunt — placed in your vein to reduce blood pressure in your liver.

  • Infections. You may receive antibiotics or other treatments for infections. Your provider also is likely to recommend vaccinations for influenza, pneumonia and hepatitis.
  • Increased liver cancer risk. Your provider will likely recommend regular blood tests and ultrasound exams to look for signs of liver cancer.
  • Hepatic encephalopathy. You may be prescribed medicines to help reduce the buildup of toxins in your blood caused by poor liver function.

Liver transplant surgery

In advanced cases of cirrhosis, when the liver stops working properly, a liver transplant may be the only treatment option. A liver transplant is a procedure to replace your liver with a healthy liver from a deceased donor or with part of a liver from a living donor. Cirrhosis is one of the most common reasons for a liver transplant. Candidates for liver transplant have extensive testing to determine whether they are healthy enough to have a good outcome following surgery.

Historically, those with alcoholic cirrhosis have not been liver transplant candidates because of the risk that they will return to harmful drinking after transplant. Recent studies, however, suggest that carefully selected people with severe alcoholic cirrhosis have post-transplant survival rates similar to those of liver transplant recipients with other types of liver disease.

For transplant to be an option if you have alcoholic cirrhosis, you would need to:

  • Find a program that works with people who have alcoholic cirrhosis.
  • Meet the requirements of the program. These would include lifelong commitment to alcohol abstinence as well as other requirements of the specific transplant center.

Potential future treatments

Scientists are working to expand current treatments for cirrhosis, but success has been limited. Because cirrhosis has a variety of causes and complications, there are many potential avenues of approach. A combination of increased screening, lifestyle changes and new medicines may improve outcomes for people with liver damage, if started early.

Researchers are working on therapies that will specifically target liver cells, helping to slow or even reverse the fibrosis that leads to cirrhosis. However, no targeted therapy is quite ready.

Get the latest liver transplant-related health information from Mayo Clinic

Sign up for free, and receive liver transplant and decompensated cirrhosis content, plus expertise on liver health.

Location

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Lifestyle and home remedies

If you have cirrhosis, be careful to limit additional liver damage:

  • Don't drink alcohol. Whether your cirrhosis was caused by chronic alcohol use or another disease, don't drink alcohol. Drinking alcohol may cause further liver damage.
  • Eat a low-sodium diet. Excess salt can cause your body to retain fluids, worsening swelling in your abdomen and legs. Use herbs for seasoning your food, rather than salt. Choose prepared foods that are low in sodium.
  • Eat a healthy diet. People with cirrhosis can experience malnutrition. Combat this with a healthy diet that includes a variety of fruits and vegetables. Choose lean protein, such as legumes, poultry or fish. Don't eat raw seafood.
  • Protect yourself from infections. Cirrhosis makes it more difficult for you to fight off infections. Protect yourself by avoiding people who are sick and washing your hands frequently. Get vaccinated for hepatitis A and B, influenza, and pneumonia.
  • Use over-the-counter medicines carefully. Cirrhosis makes it more difficult for your liver to process medicines. For this reason, ask your provider before taking any medicines, including nonprescription ones. Don't take aspirin and ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others). If you have liver damage, your provider may recommend that you not take acetaminophen (Tylenol, others) or take it in low doses for pain relief.

Preparing for your appointment

If you have cirrhosis, you may be referred to a health care provider who specializes in the digestive system, called a gastroenterologist, or the liver, called a hepatologist.

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment and what to expect from your provider.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions, such as diet restrictions on the day before your appointment.
  • Write down your symptoms, including when they started and how they may have changed or worsened over time.
  • Take a list of all your medicines, as well as any vitamins or supplements.
  • Write down your key medical information, including other diagnosed conditions.
  • Bring results of medical tests done so far, including digital copies of CT, MRI or ultrasound images and biopsy slides if a liver biopsy has been done.
  • Write down key personal information, including any recent changes or stressors in your life.
  • Take a family member or friend along to help you remember things.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Questions to ask your doctor

Preparing a list of questions can help you make the most of your time. Some basic questions to ask include:

  • What is most likely causing my cirrhosis?
  • Is there a way to slow or stop my liver damage?
  • What are my treatment options?
  • Are there medicines or supplements that can hurt my liver?
  • What signs and symptoms of complications should I watch for?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?

Don't hesitate to ask additional questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Be prepared to answer questions, including:

  • When did you first begin experiencing symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • How often do you drink alcohol?
  • Have you been exposed to or taken toxic drugs?
  • Do you have a family history of liver disease, hemochromatosis or obesity?
  • Have you ever had viral hepatitis?
  • Have you ever had jaundice?
  • Have you ever had a blood transfusion or used injection drugs?
  • Do you have any tattoos?

Cirrhosis care at Mayo Clinic

Feb. 11, 2023

Living with cirrhosis?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Transplants support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Transplants Discussions

kaegee
Loss of taste after liver transplant

42 Replies Thu, May 23, 2024

Lori, Volunteer Mentor
My Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT/SCT) story: Will you share yours?

382 Replies Sat, May 25, 2024

jovanna
Mood changes after transplant

29 Replies Sat, May 18, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Gines P, et al. Liver cirrhosis. The Lancet. 2021; doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(21)01374-X.
  2. Feldman M, et al., eds. Overview of cirrhosis. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 6, 2023.
  3. Wilson R, et al. Cirrhosis. Medical Clinics of North America. 2022; doi:10.1016/j.mcna.2021.12.001.
  4. Goldman L, et al., eds. Cirrhosis and its sequelae. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 6, 2023.
  5. Tonon M, et al. Acute on chronic liver failure in cirrhosis. Clinical and Molecular Hepatology. 2022; doi:10.3350/cmh.2022.0036.
  6. Cirrhosis. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/liver-disease/cirrhosis. Accessed Jan. 5, 2023.
  7. Dove LM, et al. Liver transplantation in adults: Patient selection and pretransplantation evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 5, 2023.
  8. Friedman SL, et al. Hepatic fibrosis 2022: Unmet needs and a blueprint for the future. Hepatology. 2022; doi:10.1002/hep.32285.
  9. Ami TR. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Nov. 23, 2022.
  10. Khanna S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Jan. 8, 2023.