概述

慢性髓系白血病(CML)是一种罕见的骨髓癌,而骨髓是骨中生成血细胞的海绵状组织。CML 会导致血液中的白细胞数量增加。

慢性髓系白血病中的“慢性”一词表明,这种癌症的进展趋势要比急性白血病缓慢。慢性髓系白血病中的“髓性”一词是指受这种癌症影响的细胞类型。

慢性髓系白血病也称为慢性骨髓性白血病和慢性粒细胞性白血病。这种病症通常累及老年人,在儿童中很少见,但仍可能发生在任何年龄段。

治疗方法的进步有助于大大改善慢性髓系白血病患者的预后。大多数人在确诊后可得到缓解并存活很多年。

症状

慢性髓系白血病通常没有体征和症状。此疾病可能通过血液检测查出。

如果出现体征和症状,可能包括:

  • 骨痛
  • 容易出血
  • 只吃少量食物就有饱腹感
  • 感觉乏力或疲惫
  • 发热
  • 体重意外下降
  • 食欲不振
  • 左侧肋骨以下部位出现疼痛或饱胀感
  • 睡眠时出汗过多(夜间盗汗)

何时就诊

如果有任何持续的体征或症状令您担心,请与医生约诊。

病因

当骨髓细胞基因出现问题时,就会发生慢性髓系白血病。触发这一过程的原因尚不明确,但医生们已经发现慢性髓系白血病的进展过程。

出现异常染色体

人类细胞通常包含 23 对染色体。这些染色体由 DNA 构成,而 DNA 中含有控制体内细胞的指令(基因)。在慢性髓系白血病患者中,血细胞中的染色体片段相互易位。9 号染色体片段与 22 号染色体片段易位,形成一个额外的 22 号染色体短臂和一个额外的 9 号染色体长臂。

额外的 22 号染色体短臂被叫做费城染色体,这是以发现该染色体的城市命名。费城染色体存在于 90% 的慢性髓系白血病患者的血细胞中。

异常染色体产生新的基因

费城染色体会产生新的基因。9 号染色体基因与 22 号染色体基因结合,生成名为 BCR-ABL 的新基因。BCR-ABL 基因包含的指令会对异常血细胞发出指示,过多生成络氨酸激酶这种蛋白质。络氨酸激酶可让某些血细胞失控生长,从而刺激癌症的形成。

新的基因导致过多的病变血细胞产生

血细胞来源于骨髓,骨髓是骨骼内的一种海绵状物质。当骨髓功能正常时,它能够以受控方式产生未成熟细胞(造血干细胞)。然后,这些细胞会成熟并分化在您体内循环的各种类型的特定血细胞,包括红细胞、白细胞和血小板。

在慢性髓系白血病患者中,这一过程无法正常完成。BCR-ABL 基因引起的酪氨酸激酶会造成过多白细胞生长。这些细胞的大部分或全部都含有异常的费城染色体。病变的白细胞不会像正常细胞那样生长和死亡。病变的白细胞会大量聚集,挤走健康的血细胞,并损伤骨髓。

风险因素

可能增加慢性髓系白血病发生风险的因素包括:

  • 年龄较大
  • 男性
  • 辐射照射,例如治疗某些癌症的放射疗法

家族史不是风险因素

引起慢性髓系白血病的突变不会从父母遗传给儿童。该突变被认为是后天获得的,这意味着它是在出生后形成的。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

June 11, 2021
  1. Chronic myeloid leukemia. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed March 29, 2019.
  2. Kaushansky K, et al., eds. Chronic myelogenous leukemia and related disorders. In: Williams Hematology. 9th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2016. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed March 29, 2019.
  3. Hoffman R, et al. Chronic myeloid leukemia. In: Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 29, 2019.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Chronic myelogenous leukemia. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2019.
  5. Van Etten RA. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of chronic myeloid leukemia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 12, 2019.
  6. Zulbaran-Rojas A, et al. A prospective analysis of symptom burden for patients with chronic myeloid leukemia in chronic phase treated with frontline second- and third-generation tyrosine kinase inhibitors. Cancer Medicine. 2018;7:5457.
  7. Cancer-related fatigue. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed April 15, 2019.

Overview

Chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML) is an uncommon type of cancer of the bone marrow — the spongy tissue inside bones where blood cells are made. CML causes an increased number of white blood cells in the blood.

The term "chronic" in chronic myelogenous leukemia indicates that this cancer tends to progress more slowly than acute forms of leukemia. The term "myelogenous" (my-uh-LOHJ-uh-nus) in chronic myelogenous leukemia refers to the type of cells affected by this cancer.

Chronic myelogenous leukemia can also be called chronic myeloid leukemia and chronic granulocytic leukemia. It typically affects older adults and rarely occurs in children, though it can occur at any age.

Advances in treatment have contributed to a greatly improved prognosis for people with chronic myelogenous leukemia. Most people will achieve remission and live for many years after diagnosis.

Symptoms

Chronic myelogenous leukemia often doesn't cause signs and symptoms. It might be detected during a blood test.

When they occur, signs and symptoms may include:

  • Bone pain
  • Easy bleeding
  • Feeling full after eating a small amount of food
  • Feeling run-down or tired
  • Fever
  • Weight loss without trying
  • Loss of appetite
  • Pain or fullness below the ribs on the left side
  • Excessive sweating during sleep (night sweats)

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have any persistent signs or symptoms that worry you.

Causes

Chronic myelogenous leukemia occurs when something goes awry in the genes of your bone marrow cells. It's not clear what initially sets off this process, but doctors have discovered how it progresses into chronic myelogenous leukemia.

An abnormal chromosome develops

Human cells normally contain 23 pairs of chromosomes. These chromosomes hold the DNA that contains the instructions (genes) that control the cells in your body. In people with chronic myelogenous leukemia, the chromosomes in the blood cells swap sections with each other. A section of chromosome 9 switches places with a section of chromosome 22, creating an extra-short chromosome 22 and an extra-long chromosome 9.

The extra-short chromosome 22 is called the Philadelphia chromosome, named for the city where it was discovered. The Philadelphia chromosome is present in the blood cells of 90 percent of people with chronic myelogenous leukemia.

The abnormal chromosome creates a new gene

The Philadelphia chromosome creates a new gene. Genes from chromosome 9 combine with genes from chromosome 22 to create a new gene called BCR-ABL. The BCR-ABL gene contains instructions that tell the abnormal blood cell to produce too much of a protein called tyrosine kinase. Tyrosine kinase promotes cancer by allowing certain blood cells to grow out of control.

The new gene allows too many diseased blood cells

Your blood cells originate in the bone marrow, a spongy material inside your bones. When your bone marrow functions normally, it produces immature cells (blood stem cells) in a controlled way. These cells then mature and specialize into the various types of blood cells that circulate in your body — red cells, white cells and platelets.

In chronic myelogenous leukemia, this process doesn't work properly. The tyrosine kinase caused by the BCR-ABL gene allows too many white blood cells to grow. Most or all of these cells contain the abnormal Philadelphia chromosome. The diseased white blood cells don't grow and die like normal cells. The diseased white blood cells build up in huge numbers, crowding out healthy blood cells and damaging the bone marrow.

Risk factors

Factors that increase the risk of chronic myelogenous leukemia:

  • Older age
  • Being male
  • Radiation exposure, such as radiation therapy for certain types of cancer

Family history is not a risk factor

The mutation that leads to chronic myelogenous leukemia isn't passed from parents to children. This mutation is believed to be acquired, meaning it develops after birth.

Chronic myelogenous leukemia care at Mayo Clinic

May 14, 2019
References
  1. Chronic myeloid leukemia. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed March 29, 2019.
  2. Kaushansky K, et al., eds. Chronic myelogenous leukemia and related disorders. In: Williams Hematology. 9th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2016. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed March 29, 2019.
  3. Hoffman R, et al. Chronic myeloid leukemia. In: Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 29, 2019.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Chronic myelogenous leukemia. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2019.
  5. Van Etten RA. Clinical manifestations and diagnosis of chronic myeloid leukemia. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 12, 2019.
  6. Zulbaran-Rojas A, et al. A prospective analysis of symptom burden for patients with chronic myeloid leukemia in chronic phase treated with frontline second- and third-generation tyrosine kinase inhibitors. Cancer Medicine. 2018;7:5457.
  7. Cancer-related fatigue. Plymouth Meeting, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/default.aspx. Accessed April 15, 2019.