التعرض للإصابة بالسرطان: ما تعنيه الأرقام

خصص بعضًا من وقتك لاستيعاب معنى التعرض لخطر الإصابة بالسرطان وكيفية قياس ذلك. فيمكن أن يساعدك هذا الأمر على إزالة أي لبس يحيط بفكرة التعر ض للإصابة بالسرطان.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

قد يتساءل الشخص عن فرص الإصابة بالسرطان. ويمكن للتقارير الحديثة أن تجعل المرء يشعر وكأن كل يوم يحمل أنباء جديدة بشأن زيادة الخطر بدرجة كبيرة. كما أن المرء يمكن أن ينخدع بتصنيف كل المعلومات ومعرفة ما الحقيقي منها.

ما خطر التعرض للإصابة؟

عندما يتحدث العلماء عن خطر التعرض للإصابة، فإنهم يشيرون إلى احتمالية تلك الإصابة؛ — أي إلى فرصة وقوع خطب ما، ولكن ذلك ليس ضمانًا بضرورة حدوثه. على سبيل المثال، إذا أجريت قرعة بعملة معدنية، فهناك احتمال واحد من اثنين، أو احتمال بنسبة 50 بالمئة، لأن تستقر العملة على الوجه الأعلى.

تُحدد تقديرات خطر الإصابة بالسرطان وغيره من الأمراض من خلال دراسة مجموعة كبيرة من الأفراد. يركز الباحثون على احتمالية إصابة فرد أو فئة من الأفراد بالمرض خلال فترة زمنية معينة. كما يبحثون بغية التعرّف على الخصائص أو السلوكيات المقترنة بزيادة خطر التعرض للإصابة أو انخفاضه.

كيف يمكن التعبير عن الخطر؟

تنقسم الخطورة عموما إلى فئتين: خطورة مطلقة وخطورة نسبية.

الخطورة المطلقة

تشير الخطورة المطلقة إلى الفرصة الفعلية العددية أو احتمالية ظهور السرطان خلال فترة زمنية محددة - على سبيل المثال، في خلال سنة، أو في خلال الخمس سنوات القادمة، أو عند سن 50، أو عند سن 70، أو طيلة حياتك.

نوع من الخطورة المطلقة هو الخطورة طيلة العمر والتي تعني احتمالية أن يظهر لدى الفرد سرطان على مدار عمره. على سبيل المثال تبلغ نسبة الخطورة المطلقة لدى الرجل الأمريكي للإصابة بسرطان البروستاتا على مدار عمره 12 بالمائة. بطريقة أخرى نحو 12 شخص من كل 100 رجل سيصابون بسرطان البروستاتا في مرحلة ما من عمرهم. هذا يعني أيضا أن 88 بالمائة من كل 100 رجل لن يصابوا بسرطان البروستاتا.

الخطورة على مدار العمر لا تعني أن الشخص سيصاب بالسرطان في العام التالي أو في الأعوام الخمسة القادمة. يرتبط خطر السرطان لدى الفرد بعوامل أخرى مثل السن. على سبيل المثال، خطورة إصابة امرأة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم على مدار العمر يبلغ أكثر من 4 بالمائة بقليل، أو نحو 42 من كل 1,000 امرأة. لكن خطورة إصابتها بسرطان القولون والمستقيم قبل سن 50 تبلغ 0.3 بالمائة، أو نحو 3 من كل 1,000 امرأة.

الخطورة النسبية

الخطورة النسبية تعطيك مقارنة أو نسبة أكثر من قيمة مطلقة. إنها تظهر قوة العلاقة بين عامل الخطورة ونوع معين من السرطان عن طريق المقارنة بين عدد أنواع السرطان في مجموعة من الناس الذين يحظون بحافز معين وبين عدد من أنواع السرطان في مجموعة من الناس ليس لديهم ذلك الحافز.

على سبيل المثال، قارن بين الخطورة النسبية للإصابة بسرطان الرئة للأشخاص المدخنين وبين الخطورة النسبية للإصابة بسرطان الرئة في مجموعة مماثلة للأشخاص غير المدخنين. قد تسمع الخطورة النسبية يعبر عنها هكذا: خطورة سرطان الرئة للمدخنين أعلى 25 مرة من الخطورة لدى غير المدخنين. لذا فإن الخطورة النسبية لسرطان الرئة للمدخنين هي 25.

الخطورة النسبية تعطى أيضا كنسبة. على سبيل المثال، خطورة سرطان الرئة لدى المدخنين أعلى 2,500 بالمائة من مثيلتها لدى غير المدخنين.

حين تسمع عن الخطورة النسبية فليس هناك حد أعلى لنسبة زيادة الخطورة. يظن أغلب الناس أن 100 بالمائة هي أعلى خطورة ممكنة، لكن هذا ليس صحيحا في هذه الحالة.

خطورة نسبية مقدارها 100 بالمائة تعني أن خطورتك أعلى مرتين من شخص ليس لديه عامل الخطر. خطورة نسبية مقدارها 200 بالمائة تعني أنه من الأرجح أن تظهر لديك هذه الحالة بمقدار أعلى ثلاث مرات.

الخطورة تبدو أعلى حين توضع بهذه الطريقة. زيادة بمقدار 100 بالمائة في نسبة الخطورة قد تبدو هائلة، لكن إذا كانت الخطورة تبدأ عند 1 بين 100 شخص، فإن 100 بالمائة زيادة في الخطورة تعني أن 2 من كل 100 سيتأثرون.

من أين تأتي إحصاءات خطر السرطان؟

تأتي معظم المعلومات عن خطر السرطان وعوامل الخطر من الدراسات التي تركز على مجموعات كبيرة محددة جيدًا من الناس. لقد حدد الباحثون في أمراض السرطان الكثير من العوامل البيئية الرئيسية التي تساهم في الإصابة بالسرطان، بما في ذلك التدخين بالنسبة إلى سرطان الرئة وضوء الشمس بالنسبة إلى سرطان الجلد. لقد أثبت التوصل إلى مخاطر السرطان الأكثر تخفيًا أنه أصعب.

تعتمد الكثير من الدراسات عن عوامل الخطر في الإصابة بالسرطان على أساليب الملاحظة. في هذه الدراسات، يتابع الباحثون مجموعة من الأشخاص لعدة سنوات بدون محاولة تغيير حياتهم أو تقديم علاج خاص. يمكن أن يساعد هذا العلماء على اكتشاف ما يؤدي إلى حدوث مرض والأمور المشتركة بين هؤلاء الأشخاص، وكيف يختلفون عن الذين لم يصبهم المرض.

كيف ترتبط إحصاءات مخاطر السرطان بك؟

قد تكون إحصاءات المخاطر مخيبة للآمال لأنها لا تستطيع إخبارك بخطر الإصابة بالسرطان. قد تكون الدراسات توصلت إلى أن الرجال لديهم فرصة بنسبة 40٪ تقريبًا لتطور السرطان في حياتهم، ولكن هذا لا يعني أن مخاطر إصابتك تصل إلى 40٪. يعتمد خطر إصابتك بشكل فردي على العديد من العوامل المختلفة، مثل العمر والعادات (بما في ذلك عادات تناول الطعام) والتاريخ العائلي للسرطان والبيئة التي تعيش فيها.

وحتى في هذه الحالة فقد لا ينطبق عليك دمج عوامل الخطر معاً. السرطان مرض فردي. يمكن أن يكون لديك شخصان لديهما نفس العمر والجنس والعرق والحالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية وأنماط الحياة المقارنة ولا يزال لديهما تجارب مختلفة. تعد إحصاءات المخاطر مفيدة في البيانات العامة مثل "ممارسة الرياضة بانتظام تتزامن مع انخفاض خطر الإصابة بالأمراض المزمنة، مثل السرطان". ولكن ممارسة الرياضة بانتظام لن تضمن عدم إصابتك بالسرطان.

تحدث مع طبيبك حول مخاطر السرطان. فبإمكانه مراجعة العناصر الموجودة في حياتك والتي قد تزيد من احتمالية إصابتك. ومن ثم، يمكنك مناقشة الأمور التي يتعين عليك القيام بها للمساعدة على الحد من تلك المخاطر.

احتفظ بإحصائيات خطر الإصابة بالسرطان في منظورها الصحيح.

قد تسمع تقريرًا إخباريًا حول دراسة يبدو أنها تشير إلى احتمال تعرضك لنوع معين من السرطان. لا تقفز لاستنتاجات تعتمد على هذا التقرير الواحد. تراجع وفكر فيما يعنيه الخطر حقًا.

لا تعتبر الدراسات القائمة على الملاحظة دراسات مؤكدة. يتفق الباحثون على أنه لا يمكن اعتبار دراسة واحدة موثوقة في حد ذاتها. هذا هو السبب في أنك ترى أحيانًا دراسات ذات نتائج متناقضة ظاهريًا.

ويقوم العلماء بتقدير الأدلة للعديد من الدراسات البحثية مع مرور الوقت لتحديد ما إذا كانت النتيجة صحيحة أم لا. غير أن التقارير الإخبارية تركز على كل دراسة جديدة بصورة منفصلة عن غيرها، وذلك بدلًا من كونها جزءًا من صورة متطورة. قد يسبب ذلك أحيانًا ذعر أو ارتباك غير ضروري.

عند قراءتك أو رؤيتك لتقرير حول إحصائيات خطر الإصابة بالسرطان، عليك الانتباه إلى هذه التفاصيل:

  • من الأشخاص الذين تم وضعهم تحت الملاحظة؟ قد يذكر التقرير الإخباري أن نشاط معين يزيد خطر الإصابة بالسرطان لدى جماعة من الناس. ولكن من هم الأشخاص الذي تم وضعهم تحت الملاحظة في هذه الدراسة؟ عليك بالانتباه إلى أعمار الأشخاص وسماتهم. على سبيل المثال، يكون بعض الأشخاص مستعدين جينيًا للإصابة بأنواع معينة من السرطان.
  • كم عدد الأشخاص الذين أُجريت عليهم الدراسة؟ على وجه العموم، تعدّ الدراسات التي تتضمن آلاف الأفراد أكثر دقة من تلك التي تفحص مجموعة صغيرة من الناس.
  • هل أجريت دراسات مشابهة؟ تكون نتائج دراسة ما أكثر موثوقية إذا ما حُصل على نتائج مشابهة من خلال دراسات أخرى. وأحيانًا، لا تُجرى الدراسة لعدد كافٍ من السنوات كي تكون ذات مغزى من الناحية الإحصائية.

إن تقارير الأخبار التي تركز على الإحصائيات المثيرة للقلق مثل ارتفاع نسبة الخطورة بمعدل 300 في المائة، ولكن لا تعطيك أي سياق، ليست مفيدة. إذا كنت قلقًا بشأن المخاطر، فاجمع المزيد من المعلومات، وتحدث إلى طبيبك.

27/09/2018 انظر المزيد من التفاصيل الشاملة

Cancer risk: What the numbers mean

Take the time to understand what cancer risk is and how it's measured. This can help you put your own cancer risk into perspective.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

You might wonder about your chances of developing cancer. News reports can make it sound as if every day something is found to dramatically raise your risk. Sorting through all the information and figuring out what's valid can be tricky.

What is risk?

When scientists talk about risk, they're referring to a probability — the chance that something may occur, but not a guarantee that it will. For example, if you flip a coin, there is one chance in two, or a 50 percent chance, that the coin will land heads up.

Risk estimates for cancer and other diseases are determined by studying large groups of people. Researchers focus on the probability that any person or category of people will develop the disease over a certain period of time. They also look to see what characteristics or behaviors are associated with increased or decreased risk.

How is risk expressed?

Risk is generally divided into two categories: absolute risk and relative risk.

Absolute risk

Absolute risk refers to the actual numeric chance or probability of developing cancer during a specified time period — for example, within the year, within the next five years, by age 50, by age 70, or during the course of a lifetime.

One type of absolute risk is lifetime risk, which is the probability that an individual will develop cancer during the course of a lifetime. For instance, an American man's absolute risk of developing prostate cancer in his lifetime is about 12 percent. Put another way, about 12 out of every 100 men will develop prostate cancer at some time in their lives. This also means that 88 out of every 100 men won't develop prostate cancer.

Lifetime risk isn't the risk that a person will develop cancer in the next year or the next five years. An individual's cancer risk has a lot to do with other factors, such as age. For instance, a woman's lifetime risk of developing colon and rectal cancer is just over 4 percent, or about 42 out of every 1,000 women. But her risk of developing colon and rectal cancer before the age of 50 is 0.3 percent, or about 3 out of every 1,000 women.

Relative risk

Relative risk gives you a comparison or ratio rather than an absolute value. It shows the strength of the relationship between a risk factor and a particular type of cancer by comparing the number of cancers in a group of people who have a particular trait with the number of cancers in a group of people who don't have that trait.

For instance, compare the relative lung cancer risk for people who smoke with the relative lung cancer risk in a similar group of people who don't smoke. You might hear relative risk being expressed like this: The risk of lung cancer for smokers is 25 times higher than the risk for people who don't smoke. So the relative risk of lung cancer for smokers is 25.

Relative risk is also given as a percentage. For example, the risk of lung cancer for smokers is 2,500 percent higher than it is for people who don't smoke.

When you hear about relative risk, there's no upper limit to the percentage increase in risk. Most people think 100 percent is the highest possible risk, but that isn't true in this case.

A relative risk of 100 percent means your risk is twice as high as that of someone without that risk factor. A 200 percent relative risk means that you are three times as likely to develop that condition.

Risk seems greater when put in these terms. A 100 percent increase in risk may seem enormous, but if the risk began as 1 in 100 people, a 100 percent increase in risk means that 2 out of 100 will be affected.

Where do cancer risk statistics come from?

Most information about cancer risk and risk factors comes from studies that focus on large, well-defined groups of people. Cancer researchers have identified many of the major environmental factors that contribute to cancer, including smoking for lung cancer and sunlight for skin cancer. Uncovering more subtle cancer risks has proved more difficult.

Many studies of cancer risk factors rely on observational approaches. In these studies, researchers keep track of a group of people for several years without trying to change their lives or provide special treatment. This can help scientists find out who develops a disease, what those people have in common, and how they differ from those who didn't get sick.

How do cancer risk statistics relate to you?

Risk statistics can be frustrating because they can't tell you your risk of cancer. Studies may have found that men have a nearly 40 percent chance of developing cancer in their lifetimes, but that doesn't mean your risk is 40 percent. Your individual risk is based on many different factors, such as age and habits (including eating habits), family history of cancer, and the environment in which you live.

Even then, the combination of risk factors might not apply to you. Cancer is individualistic. You can have two people with the same age, sex, race, socio-economic status and comparative lifestyles and still have different experiences. Risk statistics are helpful in general statements such as "exercising regularly coincides with a reduced risk of chronic diseases, such as cancer." But exercising regularly won't guarantee that you won't get cancer.

Talk with your doctor about your risk of cancer. He or she can review what elements in your life may increase your risk. You can then discuss what to do to help lower this risk.

Keep cancer risk statistics in perspective

You might hear a news report about a study that seems to indicate you may be at increased risk of a particular type of cancer. Don't jump to conclusions based on this one report. Take a step back and think about what the risk really means.

Observational studies aren't foolproof. Researchers agree that one study by itself isn't authoritative. This is why you sometimes see studies with seemingly contradictory results.

Scientists weigh the evidence of many research studies over time to better determine whether a finding is true. News reports, though, focus on each new study in isolation, rather than as a part of an evolving picture. This can sometimes cause unnecessary alarm or confusion.

When you read or see a report about cancer risk statistics, pay attention to these details:

  • Who's being observed? A news report may say a certain activity increases the risk of cancer for a group of people. But who was being observed in the study? Pay attention to the ages of the people and their characteristics. For instance, some people are genetically predisposed to certain types of cancer.
  • How many people were studied? In general, studies involving thousands of people are more accurate than are those that examine a small group of people.
  • Have similar studies been done? The findings of one study are more reliable if they're similar to findings by other studies. Sometimes, the study wasn't carried out for enough years to make it statistically significant.

News reports that focus on alarming statistics, such as a 300 percent increase in risk, but don't give you context aren't helpful. If you're concerned about the risk, gather more information and talk to your doctor.

Nov. 03, 2018 See more In-depth

See also

  1. Adjuvant therapy for cancer
  2. After a flood, are food and medicines safe to use?
  3. Alternative cancer treatments: 10 options to consider
  4. Atypical cells: Are they cancer?
  5. Biological therapy for cancer
  6. Biopsy procedures
  7. Blood Basics
  8. Bone marrow transplant
  9. Bone scan
  10. Cancer
  11. Cancer blood tests
  12. Myths about cancer causes
  13. Infographic: Cancer Clinical Trials Offer Many Benefits
  14. Cancer diagnosis: 11 tips for coping
  15. Cancer diagnosis? Advice for dealing with what comes next
  16. Cancer-related fatigue
  17. Cancer pain: Relief is possible
  18. Cancer-prevention strategies
  19. Cancer surgery
  20. Cancer survival rate
  21. Cancer survivors: Care for your body after treatment
  22. Cancer survivors: Late effects of cancer treatment
  23. Cancer survivors: Managing your emotions after cancer treatment
  24. Cancer survivors: Reconnecting with loved ones after treatment
  25. Cancer treatment decisions: 5 steps to help you decide
  26. Cancer treatment for men: Possible sexual side effects
  27. Cancer treatment for women: Possible sexual side effects
  28. Cancer treatment myths
  29. Cancer Vaccine Research
  30. Cellphones and cancer
  31. Chemo Targets
  32. Chemoembolization
  33. Chemotherapy
  34. Chemotherapy and hair loss: What to expect during treatment
  35. Chemotherapy and sex: Is sexual activity OK during treatment?
  36. Chemotherapy nausea and vomiting: Prevention is best defense
  37. Chemotherapy side effects: A cause of heart disease?
  38. Complete blood count (CBC)
  39. Cough
  40. CT scan
  41. CT scans: Are they safe?
  42. Curcumin: Can it slow cancer growth?
  43. Cancer-related diarrhea
  44. Eating during cancer treatment: Tips to make food tastier
  45. Fatigue
  46. Fertility preservation
  47. Get ready for possible side effects of chemotherapy
  48. Ginger for nausea: Does it work?
  49. High-dose vitamin C: Can it kill cancer cells?
  50. How plant-based food helps fight cancer
  51. Intrathecal chemotherapy
  52. Joint pain
  53. Joint pain: Rheumatoid arthritis or parvovirus?
  54. Low blood counts
  55. Magic mouthwash
  56. Medical marijuana
  57. Mediterranean diet recipes
  58. Mindfulness exercises
  59. Monoclonal antibody drugs
  60. Mort Crim and Cancer
  61. Mouth sores caused by cancer treatment: How to cope
  62. MRI
  63. Muscle pain
  64. Night sweats
  65. No appetite? How to get nutrition during cancer treatment
  66. Palliative care
  67. Palliative care
  68. PALS (Pets Are Loving Support)
  69. Pelvic exenteration
  70. PET/MRI scan
  71. Pet therapy
  72. Radiation therapy
  73. Infographic: Scalp Cooling Therapy for Cancer
  74. Secondhand smoke
  75. Seeing Inside the Heart with MRI
  76. Self-Image During Cancer
  77. Sentinel lymph node mapping
  78. Sisters' Bone Marrow Transplant
  79. Sleep tips
  80. Mediterranean diet
  81. Radiation simulation
  82. Small cell, large cell cancer: What this means
  83. Stem Cells 101
  84. Stem cells: What they are and what they do
  85. Thalidomide: Research advances in cancer and other conditions
  86. Treating pain: When is an opioid the right choice?
  87. Tumor vs. cyst: What's the difference?
  88. Ultrasound
  89. Unexplained weight loss
  90. Stem cell transplant
  91. How cancer spreads
  92. MRI
  93. PICC line placement
  94. Compassionate use
  95. When cancer returns: How to cope with cancer recurrence
  96. X-ray
  97. Your secret weapon during cancer treatment? Exercise!