العلاج بالإشعاع البروتوني

فيفيان ويليامز: العلاج الإشعاعي التقليدي من الطرق الفعالة في علاج العديد من أنواع السرطان، لكنه لا يخلو من العيوب. فمع أنه يقتل الخلايا السرطاني، فإنه يقتل في طريقه الخلايا الصحية في مختلف أنحاء الجسم أيضًا. وهذا أحد الأسباب التي دفعت مايو كلينك لتوفير نوع جديد من العلاجات الإشعاعية لمرضاها. ويسمى "العلاج بأشعة البروتون" وله مزايا واعدة لعلاج أنواع إضافية من السرطان وبمستوى أمان أكبر مع المساعدة في إطالة حياة المريض.

لقد استخدم الأطباء العلاج الإشعاعي لقتل الخلايا السرطانية لعدة سنوات. وتُطلِق التكنولوجيا التقليدية أشعة سينية أو فوتونات على الأورام أملًا في التخلص منها.

د. روبرت فوت، برنامج العلاج بأشعة البروتون في مايو كلينك: تَكمن مشكلة الأشعة السينية في أنها تمر بالكامل عبر الجسم.

فيفيان: ولذلك فإن الإشعاع يقتل الخلايا الصحية كما يقول د. روبرت فوت. ويقلل ذلك من مقدار الأشعة التي يمكن استخدامها على المريض بأمان لأنها قد تضر بالأنسجة والأعضاء المحيطة. ولكن هناك تكنولوجيا جديدة تسمى العلاج بأشعة البروتون وهي أدق وبالتالي أكثر فعالية. يرأس كل من د. فوت و د. ستيفين شيلد برنامج مايو كلينك للعلاج بأشعة البروتون.

د. ستيفن شيلد، برنامج العلاج بأشعة البروتون في مايو كلينك: البروتون أحد المكونات الرئيسية للمادة.

فيفيان: ويتميز بإمكانية تصويبه نحو الورم والتوقف عند الوصول إليه.

د. ستيفين شيلد: وتعتمد طريقة إيقاف الورم على التصويب الدقيق وإطلاق كمية الطاقة المناسبة بحيث لا تتجاوز الموضع المطلوب.

فيفيان: يسمى هذا الجهاز الضخم سينكروترون. فهو يسرّع البروتونات إلى ما يقارب سرعة الضوء ويطلقها نحو الجسم. فيما يلي مقارنة بين العلاج بأشعة البروتون والعلاج الإشعاعي التقليدي. تَصِلُ الأشعةُ السينية المستخدمة في العلاج الإشعاعي التقليدي إلى كل شيء في طريقها. بما في ذلك أجزاء الجسم الواقعة أمام الورم وخلفه. لكن بالإمكان التحكم بشكل أفضل بعرض وعمق حُزم البروتون الصادرة من تقنية العلاج بأشعة البروتون. وتوجِهُ التقنيةُ حُزَمَ البروتون باستخدام ما يسمى المسح الإشعاعي القلمي. يُرْسَم الشعاع ذهابا وإيابا عبر الورم. ولأن الحزمة الإشعاعية لا تتجاوز الورم، بإمكان الأطباء تقديم جرعات إشعاعية أعلى دون الإضرار بالأنسجة المحيطة.

د. ستيفين شيلد: عندما تحتاج إلى أن تكون دقيقًا للغاية، كأن يكون الورم بجانب عضو حرج كالعين أو بجوار الحبل الشوكي، فهذه هي المواضع التي ستحقق فيها منفعة كبيرة.

د. روبرت فوت: وبما أنه عالي الدقة، فهل يمكننا إعطاء جرعة إشعاعية أكبر ضمن كل جلسة علاجية وتقليل عدد الجلسات؟ هل يمكننا اختصار دورة العلاج من تسعة أسابيع إلى أسبوع واحد؟

فيفيان: العلاج بأشعة البروتون مفيد بشكل خاص للأطفال.

د. ستيفين شيلد: عند علاج أورام الأطفال، ينبغي الحرص قدر الإمكان على تقليل كمية الإشعاع التي يتعرضون لها، ويعني ذلك أن جسدهم سوف يتعرض لجرعة أقل عموما.

فيفيان: العلاج بأشعة البروتون. هي طريقة لاستهداف الأورام بدقة أكبر لمساعدة المزيد من مرضى السرطان على العيش لفترة أطول. سيكون برنامج مايو كلينك للعلاج بأشعة البروتون جاهزًا للمرضى في سنة 2015. وانبثق البرنامج عن هِبة من أحد المتبرعين ممن تعالجوا لدى مايو كلينك لفترة طويلة، واسمه ريتشارد جاكوبسون.

كانت معكم فيفيان ويليامز من برنامج ميديكال إيدج.

29/07/2021

Proton Beam Therapy

Vivian Williams: Standard radiation therapy is an effective way to treat many cancers but it isn't perfect. It kills cancer cells but it also kills healthy cells in its path through the body. That is just one of the reasons Mayo Clinic is bringing a new type of radiation therapy to its patients. It's called proton beam therapy and it has the potential to cure more cancers with greater safety and help people live longer.

Doctors have used radiation therapy to kill cancer cells for many years. The standard technology fires x-rays or photons at tumors in hopes of eradicating them.

Robert Foote, M.D. — Mayo Clinic Proton Beam Therapy: The downside to the x-rays is that they pass all the way through the body.

Vivian: Mayo Clinic Dr. Robert Foote says that means the radiation also kills healthy cells. This limits how much radiation you can safely give to patients because it can damage surrounding tissues and organs. But a new technology called proton beam therapy is more precise and therefore more effective. Dr. Foote and Dr. Steven Schild head the Mayo Clinic Proton Beam Therapy Program.

Steven Schild, M.D. — Mayo Clinic Proton Beam Therapy: A proton is one of the key constituents of matter.

Viviani: They are like little bullets that can be made to stop when they hit tumors.

Dr. Steven Schild: The way it stops tumors is that you have to aim it properly and you have to give it the proper amount of energy so it stops in just the right place.

Vivian: This massive machine is called the synchrotron. It accelerates the proton to nearly the speed of light and fires them into the body. Here is how proton beam therapy compares to conventional radiation therapy. The x-rays of conventional radiation therapy radiate everything in their path. Structures both in front of and behind the tumor. The proton beams of intensity modulated proton beam therapy can be better controlled in both width and depth. The technology aims the proton beams with what is called pencil beam scanning. It paints the beam back and forth through the tumor. Because the beam does not go beyond the tumor, doctors can deliver higher doses of radiation without damaging surrounding tissues.

Dr. Steven Schild: But where you need to be very precise, where the tumor is next to something critical like next to your eye or next to your spinal cord, that is where you'll have a major advantage.

Robert Foote, M.D: Since this is so accurate and so precise, can we give a larger dose of radiation with each treatment and give fewer treatments? Can we convert a nine-week course of treatment into a one-week course of treatment?

Vivian: Proton beam therapy is particularly beneficial to children.

Dr. Steven Schild: Pediatric tumor and tumors in children, you really what them exposed to as little radiation as possible and this means that there body will be exposed to a lower dose overall.

Vivian: Proton beam therapy. A way to target tumors more precisely to help more people with cancer live longer. The Mayo Clinic Proton Beam Therapy Program will be ready for patients in 2015. It is the result of a gift of long-time Mayo patient and philanthropist Richard O. Jacobson.

For Medical Edge, I'm Vivian Williams.

Dec. 22, 2020