نظرة عامة

التهاب الفقار المُقسِّط هو مرض التهابي قد يسبب، بمرور الوقت، التحام بعض عظام (فقرات) العمود الفقري. ويؤدي هذا الالتحام إلى جعل العمود الفقري أقل مرونة، وقد يؤدي إلى تقوّس وضعية الجسم. وفي حالة إصابة الضلوع، قد يصبح التنفس بعمق أمرًا صعبًا.

ويُلاحَظ أن الْتِهابُ الفَقارِ المُقَسِّط يُصيب الرجال أكثر من النساء. وعادةً ما تبدأ المؤشرات والأعراض في بداية مرحلة البلوغ. كما يمكن أن يصيب الالتهاب أجزاء أخرى من الجسم؛ وغالبًا ما تكون العينان.

لا يوجد علاج شافِ لالتهاب الفقار المُقسِّط، لكن العلاجات المتاحة يمكنها أن تقلل من حدة الأعراض، وربما تبطئ تفاقم المرض.

الأعراض

قد تشمل المؤشرات والأعراض المبكرة لالتهاب الفقار المقسط: الألم والتيبُّس في أسفل الظهر والوركين، خاصةً في الصباح وبعد فترات من عدم النشاط والحركة. وآلام الرقبة والإرهاق من الأعراض الشائعة أيضًا. ومع مرور الوقت يُمكن لأعراضكَ أن تتفاقم أو تتحسَّن أو تتوقَّف على فتراتٍ مُتَقطِّعة.

والمناطق الأكثر ضررًا بشكل شائع هي:

  • المِفصل الذي بين قاعدة العمود الفقري والحوض
  • الفِقرات في أسفل الظهر
  • الأماكن التي تلتقي فيها الأوتار والأربطة بالعظام، وخصوصًا في العمود الفقري، ولكن أحيانًا على طول الجزء الخلفي من العَقِب (كعب القدم)
  • الغضاريف التي بين عظام الصدر والأضلاع
  • مفاصل الورك والكتفين

متى تزور الطبيب

اطلب الرعاية الطبية في حالة الشعور بألم يزداد ببطء في أسفل الظهر، أو ألم الإلية، الذي يتفاقم في الصباح أو يوقظك من النوم في النصف الثاني من الليل وخاصة إذا كان هذا الألم يتحسن مع التمارين ويتفاقم في اوقات الراحة. زر طبيب عيون متخصصًا على الفور في حالة الإصابة بالعين الحمراء المؤلمة، والتحسس الشديد للضوء أو تَغَيُّم الرؤية.

الأسباب

لا يوجد سبب مُحدَّد معروف لالتهاب الفَقَر المُقَسِّط، مع أنه يبدو أن العوامل الوراثية قد يكون لها دور في حدوثه. وعلى وجه الخصوص، الأشخاص الذين لديهم جين يُسمى HLA-B27 أكثر عُرضةً للإصابة بالتهاب الفَقار المُقَسِّط. ولكن فقط بعض الحاملين لهذا الجين يُصيبهم المرض.

عوامل الخطر

يُصاب الرجال بالتهاب الفقار المقسط بنسبة أكبر من النساء. ويظهر المرض عمومًا في مرحلة المراهقة المتأخرة أو في بداية البلوغ. وأغلب المصابين بالتهاب الفقار المقسط يكون لديهم جين HLA-B27، لكن لا يُصاب به كثيرون ممَّن لديهم هذا الجين أبدًا.

المضاعفات

في حالات التهاب الفقار المقسط الحادة، تتكون عظمة جديدة في محاولة من الجسم للشفاء. وتسد العظمة الجديدة الفجوات الموجودة بين الفقرات بالتدريج، وتلحم أقسام الفقرات معًا في النهاية. وتصبح هذه الأجزاء من العمود الفقري متيبسة وغير مرنة. وقد يسبب هذا الالتحام أيضًا تيبس القفص الصدري، ويعيق سعة الرئتين ووظائفهما.

وقد تتضمن بعض المضاعفات الأخرى ما يلي:

  • التهاب العين (التهاب العنبية). الالتهاب العنبي واحد من أكثر مضاعفات التهاب الفقار المقسط شيوعًا، ويمكنه أن يسبب ألمًا مفاجئًا في العين والحساسية تجاه الضوء وتشوش الرؤية. وعليك زيارة الطبيب فورًا إذا شعرت بهذه الأعراض.
  • الكسور الضاغطة. تضعُف عظام بعض الناس في المراحل الأولى من التهاب الفقار المقسط. ويمكن للفقرات الضعيفة أن تتقوّس، ما يزيد شدة الانحناء في وضعية الوقوف. يمكن أن تؤدي الكسور الفقارية إلى إحداث ضغط على الحبل النخاعي والأعصاب التي تمر من خلال العمود الفقري.
  • مشكلات القلب. قد يسبب التهاب الفقار المقسط مشاكل في الشريان الأورطي، وهو أكبر شريان في الجسم. يمكن للشريان الأورطي الملتهب أن يتضخم إلى درجة تجعله يشوّه شكل الصمام الأورطي بالقلب، وهذا يعيق وظيفته. يزيد الالتهاب المصاحب لالتهاب الفقار المقسط من خطورة الإصابة بأمراض القلب عمومًا.

12/01/2022
  1. Ankylosing spondylitis: In depth. National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. https://www.niams.nih.gov/health-topics/ankylosing-spondylitis/advanced. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  2. Goldman L, et al., eds. The spondyloarthropathies. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  3. Kellerman RD, et al. Rheumatology and the musculoskeletal system. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Ankylosing spondylitis. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  5. Yu DT, et al. Clinical manifestations of axial spondyloarthritis in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  6. Yu DT, et al. Treatment of axial spondyloarthritis in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.

Overview

Ankylosing spondylitis is an inflammatory disease that, over time, can cause some of the bones in the spine (vertebrae) to fuse. This fusing makes the spine less flexible and can result in a hunched posture. If ribs are affected, it can be difficult to breathe deeply.

Ankylosing spondylitis affects men more often than women. Signs and symptoms typically begin in early adulthood. Inflammation can also occur in other parts of the body — most commonly, the eyes.

There is no cure for ankylosing spondylitis, but treatments can lessen symptoms and possibly slow progression of the disease.

Products & Services

Symptoms

Early signs and symptoms of ankylosing spondylitis might include pain and stiffness in the lower back and hips, especially in the morning and after periods of inactivity. Neck pain and fatigue also are common. Over time, symptoms might worsen, improve or stop at irregular intervals.

The areas most commonly affected are:

  • The joint between the base of the spine and the pelvis
  • The vertebrae in the lower back
  • The places where tendons and ligaments attach to bones, mainly in the spine, but sometimes along the back of the heel
  • The cartilage between the breastbone and the ribs
  • The hip and shoulder joints

When to see a doctor

Seek medical attention if you have low back or buttock pain that came on slowly, is worse in the morning or awakens you from your sleep in the second half of the night — particularly if this pain improves with exercise and worsens with rest. See an eye specialist immediately if you develop a painful red eye, severe light sensitivity or blurred vision.

Causes

Ankylosing spondylitis has no known specific cause, though genetic factors seem to be involved. In particular, people who have a gene called HLA-B27 are at a greatly increased risk of developing ankylosing spondylitis. However, only some people with the gene develop the condition.

Risk factors

Men are more likely to develop ankylosing spondylitis than are women. Onset generally occurs in late adolescence or early adulthood. Most people who have ankylosing spondylitis have the HLA-B27 gene. But many people who have this gene never develop ankylosing spondylitis.

Complications

In severe ankylosing spondylitis, new bone forms as part of the body's attempt to heal. This new bone gradually bridges the gap between vertebrae and eventually fuses sections of vertebrae. Those parts of the spine become stiff and inflexible. Fusion can also stiffen the rib cage, restricting lung capacity and function.

Other complications might include:

  • Eye inflammation (uveitis). One of the most common complications of ankylosing spondylitis, uveitis can cause rapid-onset eye pain, sensitivity to light and blurred vision. See your doctor right away if you develop these symptoms.
  • Compression fractures. Some people's bones weaken during the early stages of ankylosing spondylitis. Weakened vertebrae can crumple, increasing the severity of a stooped posture. Vertebral fractures can put pressure on and possibly injure the spinal cord and the nerves that pass through the spine.
  • Heart problems. Ankylosing spondylitis can cause problems with the aorta, the largest artery in the body. The inflamed aorta can enlarge to the point that it distorts the shape of the aortic valve in the heart, which impairs its function. The inflammation associated with ankylosing spondylitis increases the risk of heart disease in general.

Nov. 25, 2021
  1. Ankylosing spondylitis: In depth. National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. https://www.niams.nih.gov/health-topics/ankylosing-spondylitis/advanced. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  2. Goldman L, et al., eds. The spondyloarthropathies. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  3. Kellerman RD, et al. Rheumatology and the musculoskeletal system. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Ankylosing spondylitis. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  5. Yu DT, et al. Clinical manifestations of axial spondyloarthritis in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.
  6. Yu DT, et al. Treatment of axial spondyloarthritis in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 5, 2021.